Tun Dr M test drives the Exora Turbo

Tun Dr M test drives the Exora TurboAs the ‘father of Proton’, its only right that Tun Dr Mahathir’s brainchild occasionally updates him on the progress of the company from time to time. Tun Dr Mahathir probably gets to see lots of stuff happening behind the scenes that will only come to our knowledge months or years later, but thankfully for us he blogs so sometimes we get juicy bits of information.

The ex-PM was in Europe lately visiting a few Malaysian-related ventures such as Tony Fernandes’s Lotus Racing, the Lotus Factory, a Petronas-owned lubricant plant and finally Italdesign Giugiaro, the Italian design firm that has had a hand at developing the new Proton concept cars that will be unveiled at Geneva in just a few hours time.

According to Dr M, Italdesign-Giugiaro was developing a new small car (likely based on the Proton concept to be unveiled today) and an all-new Proton Persona. About 20 Malaysian designers and engineers are currently there to work on the projects with the Italdesign consultancy. Man, I wish I was there to see what was being worked on!

He also managed to test drive a turbocharged Proton Exora, the Tesla Roadster and the Lotus Evora. It looks like the Exora Turbo is ready to be driven. It was also revealed in December 2009 by Datuk Syed Zainal himself that there are some Proton Exora Hybrid prototypes running around in Lotus UK, using technology developed in collaboration with Lotus and various hybrid-related component suppliers like battery manufacturers. At that time, DSZ said the hybrid Exoras would be shipped to Malaysia for further testing latest by early 2010. But there was no mention of these Exora hybrids by Tun Dr M.

Read Tun Dr M’s full blog post here. Stay tuned for more updates from Geneva from this blog where two Malaysian-based car manufacturers would be showcasing their latest – Bufori and Proton.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lanwm on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:21 pm

let him have fun with it

• carsuta on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:23 pm

kewl!!!

• Quattro (Member) on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:24 pm

wow lau!!!!!

• Mysticmind on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:26 pm

vroooommm.. kecessss…

woww! Tun M on turbo!. :D

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Tun Dr.mahathir said;

"Some people said that the price of cars in Malaysia is very high because the Government is protecting Proton. Actually the high price is due to the Government's attempt to discourage petrol guzzling big cars. Whether there is Proton or not Malaysians will pay a high price for their cars. Cheap cars will lead to even worse jams than now."

——

yes, u're right Tun.. but basher always basher…

Paul,

who is "Father of Perodua" from your view??… haha

• last time i saw him driving kancil in kl. sekarang driving lotus?.. sudah upgrade ka Tun?

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:40 pm

corrupted man in his corrupted junk

• chyan on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:41 pm

My, Proton has been doing a lot lately, specifically in the year 2010.

• Uncyclopedia on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Maybe we can find out here

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Perodua

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Uncyclopedia said,

March 2, 2010 @ 2:41 pm

———

HAHAHAHAHA.. lawak pecah perut… HAHAHAAHAHAHA.. Cowcil, Mawi..

• pulsar fan on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:49 pm

good day to mr paul.

saya ada terbaca dalam suratkhabar yang mengatakan bahawa proton akan menggantikan model waja dengan mitsu lancer fortis.

mr paul ada berita lanjut?

TQ.

• 1. Since the appointment of Dato Nazmi Salleh as the chairman a lot of improvements have been shown by Proton. It is once again making money. More Proton cars are appearing on the streets, particularly the new Saga, the Persona and the Exora.

Not since Nadzmi as the chaiman! but since Syed Zainal become CEO!

Look like he still prefer TM rather than DSZ…mmm

• nigttrain on Mar 02, 2010 at 11:35 pm

There has been no traffic jam on 90% of Malaysian soil since 1902. Another better reason, please. As I said before, there has never been a valid reason for highest car prices in the world, by anyone. And this reason is one of the funnier ones. No offence, Tun.

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:03 am

THe old man is trying to justify the return on investment for proton….It generate billion and G only few hundred invested millions…

I wonder how many been killed direct or indirectly contribute by the poor safety feature of National car in the country…

Is he dare to appoint a 3rd party investigator to check if all the diely accident involved with P is contributing by the safety limitation or the human factor itself?

For toyota case, they are investigate back 3 years for all accident that involved their car to knowif they have contribute by them…

Only after the study, take those life cost into consideration and we will know what is the cost!!!

• kimi_ on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:08 am

CayaNunAlif said,

Tun Dr.mahathir said;

“Some people said that the price of cars in Malaysia is very high because the Government is protecting Proton. Actually the high price is due to the Government’s attempt to discourage petrol guzzling big cars. Whether there is Proton or not Malaysians will pay a high price for their cars. Cheap cars will lead to even worse jams than now.”

——————————————————————

This is the FUNNIEST JOKE i ever heard…..stupid reasons/ alasan

The real reason is The G implement HIGH TAX on car besides protect proton is to pay back the dept for the RUSH and not well development during DR. M time like building Twin towers, Putrajaya that involve huge money which we still pay the debt now…

2) " high price to Government’s attempt to discourage petrol guzzling big cars.—–MOST IDIOTIC REASON I EVER HEARD

The 1.5 vios and city is way better fuel consumption than 1.6 waja, persona and high consumption saga due to thristy CAMPRO engine,

So, the proton should prive higher than CITY and VIOS, IS IT ?????????????????

AND also, the BMW 7 series diesel is better consumption than the HONDA CIVIC HYBRID as the BMW does 16/l per km compare to civic hybrid 15.4l per km from the AUTOCAR ASEAN report!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3) If G not protecting proton, why malaysia is the only country that VIOLENT the AFTA agreement that allow free trade from ASEAN COUNTRY by impose high tax of cars from thailand(toyota)……..

well they later does waive the tax but impose new tax on it again so that the price is same as before !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hopeless G

• I have nothing personal against TDM but lately, all that is coming out from his mouth is just 'male chicken'. Cars are expensive cos the Govt sees it as a cash cow and there are traffic jams cos the Govt is not serious about having a world class transport infrastructure.

• oldwira on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:23 am

Mazda MP3,

Watch out your words, idiot!

• oldwira on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:28 am

Old proton such as old saga, wira and perdana came from Mitsu, i juzz blame Mitsu for the lack of qualities. I wonder my old 13+ years wira still works well!

• oldwira on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:31 am

My sister always complain about her Vios guzzles a lot of fuel as compared to her old Iswara. What a loser you japanese wanabe.

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:39 am

Entah lah…Proton always COPYCAT…Perodua pun sama jer

• oldwira on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:39 am

Because of you people are not like Japanese, Germans, French and Koreans, therefore the G has to impose rules like that in order to protect local automotive industry and money from flow abroad. Poor typical Malaysians!

• madimat on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:40 am

Just the same clown, putting some same stupid comments, again. sigh.

• elite on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:41 am

proton too ashamed to use just their own name, and too embarassed to be associated with the kind of advance technology they did not develop themselves, so everytime have to partner other companies like Lotus and Giugiaro.

• bryan lee on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:44 am

No proton anymore for me. I want the CEO of Proton to the parliament and grilled by the MP on the all the problem.

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:50 am

vbkcheng said,

March 2, 2010 @ 4:03 pm

THe old man is trying to justify the return on investment for proton….It generate billion and G only few hundred invested millions…

I wonder how many been killed direct or indirectly contribute by the poor safety feature of National car in the country…

Is he dare to appoint a 3rd party investigator to check if all the diely accident involved with P is contributing by the safety limitation or the human factor itself?

For toyota case, they are investigate back 3 years for all accident that involved their car to knowif they have contribute by them…

Only after the study, take those life cost into consideration and we will know what is the cost!!!

————————

I wonder how many deaths caused by RECKLESS DRIVING? It's easy to blame the car for all those death, but time and time again have shown that even in the most safest car deaths are inevitable if the person behind the wheel drives like a madman!

What we really need is a revamp of the driving licence curriculum. We are not tought how to control the car at high speed if there's any problem, how to recover a skidding car etc. And yet we drive at high speed. Really, can you control your car if anything happens at 160kmh? I doubt it. What we need is a curriculum like that tought in Finland. The things they tought a student driver can actually be used if the kid wants to be a racing driver! No wonder Finland produces the most amount of WRC & F1 champions! Sure, it'll cost more, but it'll help weed out those weaklings who can't operate a vehicle safely.

• biggie on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:53 am

bryan,

what problem for Proton CEO to answer?

• DIO, MBBS(MAL), MRCP on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:54 am

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

March 2, 2010 @ 2:40 pm

corrupted man in his corrupted junk

——————————————————————

at least he did lot of things for our country.But you dumbass, what have you done to our country?

I don't have to list down everything b'cos I am pretty sure that you realised it but just don't want to admit it. Right?

• rally_fan on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:54 am

"elite said,

March 2, 2010 @ 4:41 pm

proton too ashamed to use just their own name, and too embarassed to be associated with the kind of advance technology they did not develop themselves, so everytime have to partner other companies like Lotus and Giugiaro."

you are very right!!! its just like how ferrari runs to pininfarina to design their cars, or how VW has to work with american company borg warner to come up with their DSG gearboxes, or even why 2 giant companies like peugeot and bmw have to work together just to come up with a little 1.6 turbo engine.. don't all these companies have no shame???

• nigttrain on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:56 am

Just give ONE reason why cars here are most expensive in the world and I will stop commenting for a month. Hehe, ONE reason so valid, that nobody can deny or contradict. Nobody can say anything about it. *let's go trolling*

• elite said,

March 2, 2010 @ 4:41 pm

proton too ashamed to use just their own name, and too embarassed to be associated with the kind of advance technology they did not develop themselves, so everytime have to partner other companies like Lotus and Giugiaro.

—————————————————————–

Where on earth are you staying? Proton owns Lotus.IDIOT

• perotiga on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:00 am

my 14 year-old wira works well too..no window problem whatsoever

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:01 am

cfa said,

March 2, 2010 @ 4:20 pm

there are traffic jams cos the Govt is not serious about having a world class transport infrastructure.

————————

That may be so, but do you ever think that YOU can actually contribute to reduce traffic jams? Ever heard of carpooling? Everytime I'm stuck in a traffic jam, I look around and see the cars around me all have only ONE occupant. If you're a bus company, how can you effectively run a schedule, if your bus is using the same road as all the cars that packed the road? In fact, there are many advantages to carpooling, one of which is reduced expenditure since you can share fuel costs with your carpoolers. Your car wouldn't travel much, since you can take turns using the car of your carpoolers for a given week. And parking cost would be reduced too, obviously.

In fact, I blame P1 & P2 for the traffic jam, because it made cars accessible to anyone who can afford to buy a car. Unlike in the olden days when cars are considered a luxury, you'd be hard pressed to find a household with only 1 car. My aunt owns 3 cars, while my next door neighbour owns 5 cars! Heck, he even have to park his car in my porch because his porch isn't big enough! My housing area looks like a used car lot with all the cars parked inside and outside the houses. Do we really need all those cars?

• its already 5pm!!!!!!….

• pedarr01 on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:14 am

taniah kepada exora krana brjaya..(enth betul ke x)

aq bg 3star la kpad exora..tp kn..

aq nk tnye la knpa exora bising erx??

kwn aq pkai exora 2010 bising tol kt office

aq pkai kete honda city (grade e) x de pon bsing mcm tu

bkn nk mngutuk tpi sedar la skit kt proton nie

• jpegeson on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:18 am

aiyo, Tun M really Bo Kian SI, and proton really bo kian lang tu lan, go turbo for what, go for safety issue and upgrade the engine to another level la, still using 10 years old back technology.

• 1. Our public transport suck and if there were a bus from my hse to office, I would take it. If I were to take the bus, the waiting time and journey (per trip) would take more than 2 hrs. I have tried before.

2. There is also no LRT where I stay and there is no LRT within walking distance from my office

3. Carpooling is not a viable solution in the long term as you need everyone shedule to be more or less the same. Try working late sometime until 3 am and see whehet carpool is viable

4. The honest truth is that the Gamen does not give a 'GARPU' about Public Transport since none of them or their relatives would take public transport other than for publicity purposes.

• mr_yusteroy (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:30 am

To oldwira,

Beside 'protect' our proton, what benefit does malaysians get from this so called 'protection'?? Our petrol is still high & low grade, road tax high, toll a lots & lots, national car quality hampeh. Simple like this la friend, they (G) give us RM10 and tell world how good they was but at the back they charge us RM15 for other 'things' from time to time..tipah tertipu lagik..so licik..poor proton, only depend on G to sell their product if not I think they only can sell basikal..hahahaha…

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:31 am

cfa said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:23 pm

1. Our public transport suck and if there were a bus from my hse to office, I would take it. If I were to take the bus, the waiting time and journey (per trip) would take more than 2 hrs. I have tried before.

2. There is also no LRT where I stay and there is no LRT within walking distance from my office

3. Carpooling is not a viable solution in the long term as you need everyone shedule to be more or less the same. Try working late sometime until 3 am and see whehet carpool is viable

4. The honest truth is that the Gamen does not give a ‘GARPU’ about Public Transport since none of them or their relatives would take public transport other than for publicity purposes.

——————-

1. Waiting time – maybe because of the jam? Ever thought of that?

2. LRT – It's not easy to have an LRT system built into a city. All those disruption. Plus all the hassles of dealing with greedy landowners, people who don't want the noise to disrupt their houses etc. Reminds me of the Penchala Link onramp in Mont Kiara, how because of a land dispute the onramp is unusable, causing massive jams all the way from the Pusat Sains Negara.

3. Do you work late every day? If so, carpool with your office mates. Sure they are on the same schedule.

4. Really, how do you know? Are you one of them?

Nak seribu daya, tak nak seribu dalih.

• commuter on Dec 11, 2010 at 12:04 pm

1. waiting time – bus service frequency is low even at peak hours. ever thought of that? need to impose congestion charges for cars/motorcycles entering the city centre as penalty for taking private transport instead of public transport.

2. LRT / MRT – government need not spend multi billion ringgit for the system. just buy thousands of buses and thus creating employment as bus drivers an maintenance staff. increase bus frequencies at 3-5 minutes interval during peak hours.

Nak seribu daya, tak nak seribu dalih – you should direct this phrase to goverment on their commitment to improve public transport for the masses.

• Tee Lim on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:34 am

dang… I mistakenly read "EVORA Turbo"… that would have been more exciting :P

TL

• Darius on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:37 am

Thank god I could always buy something else apart from a proton! And for that matter, a Lotus too! Better drive a 20 year old Volvo 740 for RM 5000 than RM 70k for some plastic piece of turd.

And since when was this old man concerned about fuel consumption? I dont recall any of that when they launched proton back in 1982 (before many of the commentors here were born it seems) . Then, it was all about " a car for all the people….everyone should have one"…..and now….save fuel? LOL

BTW, a brand new Ford Cortina cost around 15k at the time. So dont give me shit about car prices relative to Proton. I for one was around before he was PM, I can make some before-after comparisons. Too bad for the children of the 80s and 90s, they only know the propoganda they are brainwashed with in school….pretty obvious from some of the comments here…

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:39 am

pedarr01 said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:14 pm

taniah kepada exora krana brjaya..(enth betul ke x)

aq bg 3star la kpad exora..tp kn..

aq nk tnye la knpa exora bising erx??

kwn aq pkai exora 2010 bising tol kt office

aq pkai kete honda city (grade e) x de pon bsing mcm tu

bkn nk mngutuk tpi sedar la skit kt proton nie

————————

Tunggu la, tak lama lagi Honda City ko pun akan berbunyi…

Sbb aku pun bawak Honda City.

• Darius on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:39 am

Thank god I could always buy something else apart from a proton! And for that matter, a Lotus too! Better drive a 20 year old Volvo 740 for RM 5000 than RM 70k for some plastic piece of turd.

And since when was this old man concerned about fuel consumption? I dont recall any of that when they launched proton back in 1982 (before many of the commentors here were born it seems) . Then, it was all about " a car for all the people….everyone should have one"…..and now….save fuel? LOL

BTW, a brand new Ford Cortina cost around 15k at the time. So dont give me shit about car prices relative to Proton. I for one was around before he was PM and can make some before-after comparisons. Too bad for the children of the 80s and 90s, they only know the propoganda they are brainwashed with in school….pretty obvious from some of the comments here…

• boleh on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:45 am

this is a failed nation.

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:46 am

Tiadaid said,

If you thing the accident is all contributed by human factor, let do below test and see if you still have the chance to write your next word.

1) You get a car, which do not have air bag, do not have ABS, try to speed at highway at 120KM

2) Suddently, there is a cow cross road and see what happen…

THat the result you will alway see on the road, those car fly to opporsite direction, kill yourself and the other at opporsite drive.

Unless you are telling me that even one should drive less than 110 KM/H in highway…and until you see there is no more speed summon…

THe problem is, when you break, without a proper breaking system, you loose control and your car will then spring and hit others….

But if you have ABS, EBD, airbag, that will make a different and you can come back to argue this human factory vs technical factor with me!!

Seriously, think about it, when problem happen, we shall not always blame on human factor, there are infact some technical factor that involve..

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:48 am

Darius said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:39 pm

And since when was this old man concerned about fuel consumption? I dont recall any of that when they launched proton back in 1982 (before many of the commentors here were born it seems) . Then, it was all about ” a car for all the people….everyone should have one”…..and now….save fuel? LOL

BTW, a brand new Ford Cortina cost around 15k at the time. So dont give me shit about car prices relative to Proton. I for one was around before he was PM and can make some before-after comparisons. Too bad for the children of the 80s and 90s, they only know the propoganda they are brainwashed with in school….pretty obvious from some of the comments here…

————————————-

I'm sorry, but I have to ask you, how many people can afford to buy a car in those days?

• Green Fuel on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:48 am

For those in KL, you have LRT, Monorail, Rapid KL, how bout those in rural area? They may only have limited bus travelling around (some no public transport at all) , and what they can do to go work? There is no choice for them to buy car. And the car is so expensive, they will go for cheap but bad condition old car. Or there will be overloading of the car. At the end, the accident record is sky high. Japan sell their car cheap there, and they have very good infrastructure to support the traffic volume. Remember the Look East Policy by our Tun M.

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:50 am

And for your statement:

"Really, can you control your car if anything happens at 160kmh? I doubt it. "

160 KM/H is my normal speed at highway… My ex-italian made car can go to 230KM/H.

And if anything happen, at 160KM/H, try prosche breaking system, it can bring 100 to 0 in 2.6 second…

160 km/h, you will still hit, but the impact will be reduced. Most probally, you just hit the road side and bumper need to be replace instead of killing people and yourself…

• budleee on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:51 am

haha.. i knew everyone would be ticked off by Dr M remarks on car price..

hehe I knew I was…

that has to be like "shooting your own foot" remark..

i do like the concept car, but i wonder how much would it cost to have a car that uses a generator to recharge its bateries so that it could run its electric motor..

i can just imagine putting those "pasar malam" generator in a car to power a 10 car bateries to run an electric motor to move car :D

• Darius on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:02 am

Er….actually a lot of people could, relative to the population and income.

Considering, average executive salary was about RM 1000 or so, RM 15k for a continental car?

Whats the salary now, and how much is a basic conti saloon (say lah, Ford Focus).

I presume you are a post 80s generation?

• sudha on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:05 am

excerpt from Dr. M's Blog:-

"but the car itself had been undergoing trial races in Spain. They had brought back the car for me to sit in and start the engine. The next day they were to take the car back to Spain for further speed trials."

——————————————————————

What a moron!!!

He had them bring the car all the way from Spain, just so he could "sit in" and "Start" the car.

And then send it back to Spain almost immediately!?

Imagine the amount of resources wasted just so he can do that!!

An urgent logistics like that could have cost between 30k to 50k Euros… Imgaine, packing an f1 car, packing the highly advanced equipments, transport from testing base to airport, chartered flights,?

they don't come cheap.

If you ask me, they should have just flown Dr. M and his Crony Bunnies to Spain for a fraction of the costs..

Morons!…Total Morons!

• Tiadaid on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:05 am

vbkcheng said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:46 pm

Tiadaid said,

If you thing the accident is all contributed by human factor, let do below test and see if you still have the chance to write your next word.

1) You get a car, which do not have air bag, do not have ABS, try to speed at highway at 120KM

THat the result you will alway see on the road, those car fly to opporsite direction, kill yourself and the other at opporsite drive.

Unless you are telling me that even one should drive less than 110 KM/H in highway…and until you see there is no more speed summon…

THe problem is, when you break, without a proper breaking system, you loose control and your car will then spring and hit others….

But if you have ABS, EBD, airbag, that will make a different and you can come back to argue this human factory vs technical factor with me!!

Seriously, think about it, when problem happen, we shall not always blame on human factor, there are infact some technical factor that involve..

—————————-

Even if you have ABS, EBD, Airbags and such, it won't make a difference if you're doing 160-180, which is where I find most of the cars that are equipped with this (well, since they're all expensive performance models obviously they're equipped with the latest gizmos).

Crash test are often done at 64kmh, so all those NCAP ratings are based on that speed. Even the experts argue that at higher speeds survival rates will drop. That's why I said you have to focus on the madman behind the wheel before you can talk about safety.

And about the cow scenario, why do you think the car go to the other side? It's because the driver, lacking the skills to drive fast overreacted and overcorrected. Thus causing the loss of control. If you are tought how to recover from that kind of situation you can recover with only a soiled pants as damage. That's why we need a revamp of our driving curricular! It's no use to have safety standards in the car if the guy behind the wheel is the same old person now does it?

And what's wrong with driving at 110 kmh on the highway? Our highway is not the Autobahn!

• Tiadaid, do u actually car-pool? Where do u work and stay and what line are u in?

• I agree that people like me make excuses not to car pool but I would seriously like to see how long you can car-pool if u do. But hey, if it works for you good but pls don't be 'holier than thou' like that MP from Kulim

• staff on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:22 am

Fool… why drive so fast on the road…? proudly say "i drive 160kmh… i drive 230kmh~~"

even you have abs or what, speed kills… thats all about.. dont talk about car with safety feature if you never think of your life and others…

think about you drive at that speed.. you have airbag, you have aBS, ESC.. and you hit ppl pn the road…you live, others died, so you are still a F**kin Stpid Driver…

So, Drive Carefully… Speed Kills…

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:35 am

what I try to say is, without the proper breaking, car loose control… is is nothing to do with skill. I rember when I was young, fisrt time bawa auto, the Vovlo S60, I terpijak the break with left leg (like manual pijak cutch) at 100 KM/ H in middle of highway, guess what.. the car stop without any loose control.

Do this with 2001 Wira and see if you can walk out from the car…

110 KM is the legal speed in Malaysia. However, > 50% of the driver will never follow.

Like me, driving at NS highway at 110 KM from PG to KL, I will kill halfway because sleepy… I need 150 KM and above to make me alert….that the reason most people drive very fast in Highway….

And, 64 KM/H is taking into consider that you drive at 150 KM/H, with good break system and you hit somethng at 64 KM/H after you slow down the car.

If we all drive at 80KM/ H with porsche breaking system, the crush test will be performe at speed of 10 KM/H? or even not need crash test.

If ever single human can be teach and follow law, speed limit, man not even create car or airplane cause we jsut follow the norn and no creativity

Hope you got my point.

• hiruma kecil on Mar 03, 2010 at 2:57 am

Mahathir the best… People who critic him is BODO….

• staff on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:14 am

150kmh to make you alert? What if you still got sleepy?

it is OK if you die by yourself… but what if involve other cars? kill other family? Even PORSCHE and THEIR BRAKING SYSTEM cant bring back the death…

You sleepy… STOP… Take a COFFEE… then drive again… Easy isnt it?

Accident is not about you… its about others too… When you are on the road, you are together with other ppl… so, respect them, abide the speed limit and drive safely…

It is attitude and speed that kills ppl… Not car… safety features are just supplement… it is still you who determine the level of safety…

Hope you get my point…

• rally_fan on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:23 am

vbkcheng "He problem is, when you break, without a proper breaking system, you loose control and your car will then spring and hit others….

But if you have ABS, EBD, airbag, that will make a different and you can come back to argue this human factory vs technical factor with me!!"

what a load of B*ll. just because a car doesn't have ABS and EBD, does not mean it doesn't have a braking system. Cars have been stopping perfectly fine for far longer than cars have had ABS.

the problem is today, drivers lack ability. those are the facts. everyone is so spoiled by their cars, they've forgotten time honoured driving skills that people in the past knew about. a car is potentially a lethal weapon in the hands of a bad driver regardless of what safety features it has. thank you.

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 3:36 am

Let them all government people "syok sendiri" wasting tax payers money. Just make sure we "rakyat" get the last laugh. We will tell them in the next general election. ;)

• shooter on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:06 am

vbkcheng said,

"If we all drive at 80KM/ H with porsche breaking system, the crush test will be performe at speed of 10 KM/H? or even not need crash test"

—————————————————————–

which car besides a porsche , has a porsche brake system? A Ford Fiesta? how about the Golf GTI? or maybe the land cruiser?…

lets compare an apple with an apple. a porsche is a sports car. so forget about any other P1 or your parents S60 for that matter, their all not sports car. i hope i made that clear enough for you.

and as for your sleepy antics on the hiway, be advised that authorities in OZ land (Australia) has imposed mandatory rest time to reduce fatigue induced accidents. so since u look up so much to the white men, maybe you could also copy some very good driving habits of theirs like:-

-taking 10 mins break for every 1 hr drive,

-using the indicators to change lanes,

-keeping safe distances,

-not hogging the fast lane,

-not weaving in and out of trafic like an ah beng

-respecting and giving priority to pedestrians

but above all else, they ( the white men u love), understand that a driver's license is not a right, it is a privilage. u have to earn it. and when you get it you have to follow rules to keep it.

• shooter on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:11 am

but honestly, if there's anyone here who wants kill themselves on the road, then be my guest. just dont go around and die and bother all the people who has to come pull your retched body out of the wreck and clean up your mess.

• Littlefire on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:46 am

Tiadaid,

A lot of people did afford to buy cars during 80's! Even G servants, teachers & businessman of those day drive what?!? VW beetle, volvo and even merc! Toyota K30, K70, Nissan Datsun 120y is nothing those days! Did u know what VW beetle is also know as what? Teachers car! How old are u?!?

Darius i agree with u and must admit that BTN have brainwash a lot of kids parents today, that why kids are not getting the right info nowadays… If not why almost 300k people have migrated since Mahathir time until now? Not to say Malays also..

• Littlefire on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:52 am

Before u all comment about ABS bla bla bla

See this youtube link before u comment!

How Effective is Stability Control: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3m24bjkfg0

Mostly world class car test their cars in most extreme weather to see the result. (For sure P1 supporter say no need coz we r in hot climate) Think of raining season or going to highland like Genting or Cameron Highlands. Ur life only got once, one simple mistake will sent u & ur family go back to…

• the fighter on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:40 am

SY0H said,

March 2, 2010 @ 7:36 pm

Let them all government people “syok sendiri” wasting tax payers money. Just make sure we “rakyat” get the last laugh. We will tell them in the next general election. ;)

i heard this for years …"lets tell them in the next general election" ..yeah u can post this in DSA blog man..but here its just to emotional i think..

• taikmasam on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:02 am

Most of you dislike bolehland and bolehland founder, maybe your homeland better but still poorer + urine beside the road. fu..kgly…..

• magna on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:22 am

littlefire,please dont jump to conclusions without knowing anything…

P1 do test their cars in extreme weather condition for ABS etc..

I know because I worked with them on some projects…

please research more before commenting ok,or you'll look stupid

• I remember reading and seeing pictures of Protons testing in snow conditions in Scandinavia and desert Australia in a UK auto magazine. No wonder Satria Neo S2000 is doing well, very strong chasis.

• Green Fuel said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:48 pm

For those in KL, you have LRT, Monorail, Rapid KL, how bout those in rural area? They may only have limited bus travelling around (some no public transport at all) , and what they can do to go work? There is no choice for them to buy car. And the car is so expensive, they will go for cheap but bad condition old car. Or there will be overloading of the car. At the end, the accident record is sky high. Japan sell their car cheap there, and they have very good infrastructure to support the traffic volume. Remember the Look East Policy by our Tun M.

———————-

lame excuse…….we rarely hear news bout xcident at rural area but urban area…but u give gud example using japan…do u know y the car there cheap n did u know y they don drive car to work. search the answer urself..if im answer then u say im G dog, proton gayman..give u the link.. from they just type only..no hassle.. http://www.google.com.my/

• Littlefire on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:41 am

magna, i mention only P1 supporter. Since Proton is so good in showing video, why not show as what fifth gear show in the local add? add the ESP test also, since P1 mention their ride & control is so great that can avoid the blockage.. Besides that i only notice u put ABS only? Where is traction control & ESP from Proton? I think i already highlighted a few years back.. But mostly ppl here think they are Pro driver no need anything to survive.. Please bare in mind, even sports car have roll cage bar & 4 point seat belts to secure their life.. Yup, this also for Perodua also. Japan Toyota & Daihatsu already have ESP/VSA where is urs?!?

• Salamander on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:00 am

Tiadaid said,

—————————————————————-

Since when cow can enter highway freely?

What tiadad want to stress is that the reason of high mortality rate in Malaysia is caused by reckless driving, lorry tire suddenly explode, lorry parked at sideway.

You are just taking into consideration the low contributing factor that caused the high mortality rate (Safety Feature) while ignoring the main factor that contribute (Human Error)

Shouldnt we concentrate on the bigger factor first rather that tackling these smaller one?

• S.Roma on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:33 pm

Our road jam jammed due to the road condition sux, public transportation sux, road infrastructure sux, etc etc la…

Don blame the car la, pity them !

Did u ever make a study why is that the road jammed badly? Prove it to me ! I thk only minor part that will show it is coz by the car.

Take it positive, Singapore is selling the big bike cheap to avoid trafic jam, why not us?

I wonder ????

• S.Roma on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:39 pm

I thk, why not letting the car at competetive price? No tax to foreign car, P1 and P2 will be dead la…

Example like this, u saw a DVD Player at the price of RM 100, one is brand BMW and one is Proton. All the spec is same. Would u prefer to buy Proton? Logically, u wont !

In 25 years, compare to Hyndai in 25 years, i thk Hyundai win big time for its development.

Well, it is just my opinion.

• Abeng on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:31 pm

i welcome those not happy live here to move out. i love malaysia.

• biggie on Mar 03, 2010 at 4:46 pm

littlefire,

nobody brainwashed, maybe you do by a P2. only teachers and above can buy cars at the time. How many teachers are there then? Cars are luxury item, and very few household has more then one car. trying to sound old but has yet to finish spm

• Amokio on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Don't complaint so much la..i bet 80% of you all complaining about proton, still keen to drive or buy one in your future..so, mind your words..

• learner on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Uncyclopedia said,

March 2, 2010 @ 2:41 pm

______________________________________________-

really funny, but don't you think this is too much already. don't afraid being sued by P2 or the little-D sister or the big-T brother?

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Go and read more from others country transport policy….Safety is the one to reduce th accident rate! Have you ever ask your self, why those car travel at Germany highway at 250 KM/H is safer then what we have in Malaysia, the 120 KM/H.

Porsche Breaking system is just one of the example of the breakinng system. We still have a lot good one out there….

If you still think that mankind should suit the product and not product suit to mankind, then you all will jsut like Proton, asking the G to protect and fault people to buy their low end product.

If I am driving Proton, I dare not travel more than 120 KM/H.

I am confident that my rise is safe at 150 KM/H. THis has taken into consider iof any car just come to fast lane at the speed of 100 KM/H.

I do calculation and determine my car stopping ability, have you?

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Of course, stop 10 min every hour is the idea case, but, back to real world, a lot of people need to rush to time, not like what the G think, that we can find and enjoy all sweet time…

• vbkcheng on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Salamander said,

Yes, lorry stop a side is the factor.

But then, those we see, the car flying to the other side of the road, do you really think it is loose control because of high speed, or it is because when the driver put n break, loose control?

Even the human factory is in, but, if the car is good to takecare the unpriditor thing, there will not be an accident…

Simple example, those old day, we use to have the clerk to do manual data entry at ever process and translattion. WE all know that human will not be 100%. So, we have system, info is enter once, check and recycle reuse for next process, that how we illiminate error. We even have 3d bar code to store info now.

If we would to follow those guy say, human factor, you replace the cleark with another clerk, get another clerk again to replace the replacement, get another person to check what the person is doing, man, we will never more as far as what we are today…

Think and think again… beside human factor, do you think there is something else that can help you to solve problem?

• arius said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:37 pm

And since when was this old man concerned about fuel consumption? I dont recall any of that when they launched proton back in 1982 (before many of the commentors here were born it seems) . Then, it was all about ” a car for all the people….everyone should have one”…..and now….save fuel? LOL

BTW, a brand new Ford Cortina cost around 15k at the time. So dont give me shit about car prices relative to Proton. I for one was around before he was PM, I can make some before-after comparisons. Too bad for the children of the 80s and 90s, they only know the propoganda they are brainwashed with in school….pretty obvious from some of the comments here…

—————————————————————-

Yeap, in those old days…my school teachers driving & can afford alfa/opel/pug/ford/austin martin/volvo….all arnd RM20k….but nowadays school teachers salary are almost the same but RM20K ….a new kancil/viva???

Thanks P1!

• malaysia best on Mar 03, 2010 at 6:20 pm

myvi …suck! toyota suck! perodua's car is cut & paste car….

korean car just a copy from europe car and then develope it until paste with korean brand… dont be fool by korean & japanese or u all just stupid proud of korean & japan tech…

• Unknown on Mar 03, 2010 at 7:17 pm

I'm no Proton basher or supporter, but all those who bash blindly and support blindly should sit back and have a think about what other countries are doing and how they are progressing before spewing incoherent crap for all to see.

Reading comments from Tun M's blog about this topic shows the amount of ball lickers and gullible people that buy into his justifications for high prices of cars and how much Proton has done blah blah blah. Sickening. WHere has all the money from Proton's contributions gone to? Lining pockets I guess, since I don't see any significant improvements in the daily lives of ordinary Malaysians.

All these years, our hard earned $ has gone into propping up this lame excuse of the Malaysian version of the auto industry while other countries like Thailand and Indonesia have charged ahead.

We used to compare Proton to Hyundai just 5-8 years ago. Look at where they are now. They have moved on to the top ranks of JD Powers and other internationally acclaimed Consumer reports. Now we have to start comparing with the Chinese death traps. For how long? Another 5 years before we have to start comparing with the Indians and then the Africans?

Its too bad that I believe the concept of Proton will remain nothing more than just a concept. Remember the Campro engine? How long did they take to get that going??? The Perdana replacement??? I still don't see it, despite existing platforms to build it on. What about the fabled Proton FP1 bike? Never even took off the ground. The New Saga? Updated design, prehistoric technology. Ditto the Persona/Gen2/Neo. A little progress in the Exora, but that's about it. As what they say, in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

We the tax paying public deserve much better. Proton supporters pay too much for too little and bashers (assuming you drive non-Protons (haha) ) pay too much for too little while a select few reap the gains and live in obscene luxury funded by the common man. As a developing nation, we deserve a lot better.

Sorry abt the rant, all opinions are mine, of course you are entitled to your own and don't have to agree with ANYTHING I say, but I had to say it because BS this big smells from miles away.

• Mysticmind on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Funny…

Some stupid basher thought they were smarter than Tun. Hahaha..

you should see the mirror more and more .

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Darius said,

March 2, 2010 @ 5:39 pm

BTW, a brand new Ford Cortina cost around 15k at the time.

Actually Darius, thinking back, I have to agree with your statement. I can recall seeing quite a lot of those cars (Ford Cortinas, Escorts, Fiat 131) back in the day, but don't know what were they called at that time since I'm only 6 years old in '86. But I still remembered what those cars look like to this day (hence, knew their model names as I grew older and years passed). This shows that those brands back in the day were affordable to most.

• scottloeb on Mar 03, 2010 at 10:51 pm

If ask my late grandmother do you know what will here answer? "Zaman orang puteh, Jepun perintah murah je, ikan sekati sekupang. Baik bagi orang puteh merintah, sekolah jugak kome budak2". Well, we can pardon her since she went to school for only 2 years to learn to read and write (in jawi) then the Jap came and introduce duit cap pokok pisang, but for us who have the internet, that is a very low standard to follow.

Those days gaji pon 800, sekarang gaji fresh grad 3500. Why no contest? Those days Nasi lemak 1 packet 50 cent, nowadays 1 packet rm 1.50. How about interest rates? Loan tenure? Technology even? You really like Fiat/Alfa that comes with soul but rust like nobody business? Or the european car that cant stand the torrential rain and tropical heat? Perhaps Japs car that everybody look down like the bluebirds sss, or 120y who is used by driving school but glorifying the 131 mirafiori? Inflation, currency, GDP growth all must be taken into account. The best (for me) is to strengthen Ringgit, but learning from France and other EU nation experience, the high inflation (not like hyper inflation in Zimbabwe) might taken its course here if its not being done correctly. Also to do so the government deficit must be reduced, and one of the way is to increase tax and remove subsidies. Do you really want that? Harga gula naik 15sen pon bising, kalau betul berani main market price la, dont just limit to car prices.

And memang Malaysian driver is one of the worse in the world. If everyone start driving tanks around (not Saga LMST) there will be civil war every 5 km apart.

• scottloeb on Mar 03, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Oh another one, TDM is a politician. I do not contest his brilliance but he is not always right. Sometimes his writing is the exact opposite of what he does. Have to take it with a pinch (or a bowl) of salt. It seams that today half truths is the way to go. Kids, read, and do read a lot. From both sides, neutral & third force and put a proper thinking cap with proper filter before digesting.

• Darius on Mar 04, 2010 at 1:12 am

I dont know why a discussion about car prices now and then has to turn into some political-emotional rant. This is the problem when something as personal as a choice of car (or religion for that matter) is made into national policy. Never ending.

Scottloeb: its not about Alfas rusting or whatever. There are good cars and bad cars as always. Its about freedom of choice and what is affordable to buy. We still have choice now, but its no longer affordable compared to the past. Simple comparison. Nothing to do with Forex rates.

BTW, I also called for complete removal of every kind of subisidies in another thread. I am ready for it, are you? Guess not.

• scottloeb on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:07 pm

That means cars those days are made simpler. Nowadays it gone to minimum 3 paint treatment, and some goes to 7 different types of treatments. Furthermore it is made heavier, inclusive of more gadgetry than you could imagine, more computer/computing power in its ECU and numerous sensor whereby those days its carb, cable and pumps/pressure. So relatively the cost is different, plus ringgit is not where its used to be. Look at regional price if you said that car prices in Malaysia is 300% tax or whatever myth you ought to believe. The different for almost the same spec in around ASEAN is about 15 to 20K. That is the rate of tax we pay to the government. I do have issues but that depends on the car company too. UMWT for instance opt to bring in lowest spec Vios and what matters for them is the volume as they assemble the car over here and they are close to achieve their intended volume. Whereas Honda for instance believe that City must be put certain notch higher, thus no lower spec than medium grade introduced here. The idea of RM 50 K Corolla in Thailand is a purely a myth and will never happen, as the cheapest Corolla is about 75K and that is as bare as you could imagine. And if choice if what you want why in Thailand the street is still 65 to 75% Toyotas as well? Where are the Ford, Mazda, Volvo and all that? Dont talk about taxi and police cars, the government of Thai have the arrangement with Toyota Motor Thailand on utilising only corolla as taxi and government fleet cars and everything else.

If you want the government to remove the subsidies for everything and increase the personal level income tax with higher GST, i believe you will be the first to curse the current government when its implemented as you will say that all the tax you pay will be going for corruption and out of sudden your salary reduced by 40% each month. Pay higher personal tax and no subsidies especially where it matters most: fuel so that you can drive a Bimmer? that will be the most idiotic selfish principle you could get. Dont brag about your income here, we know internet is just a place where anonymous annoying people come to talk crap. I know I can afford but have to cut on non essential but those with household income level below RM 3000 will suffer and these are the majority of the pop. Talk about talking through your arse. Only 5% of Malaysian working population pay tax, and I'm included and this is a fact.

• Darius on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Gosh you are an economist indeed. maybe you are in the MOF or EPU. Great work! Strong ringgit policy huh? See what our exporters say about that.

Get your basic econs right first my friend. All subsidies and protection are distortions. As such, standards of living are distorted over so many years, and now we are caught in that rock/hard place situation. Why else are we having this meaningless internet discussion (as is some many other people)

To be honest, I've curse the government more for all the subsidies and protection. Go through all the posts and you sees people seem to want subsidies, but dont want protection for Proton (in the case of cars). Cheap fuel and cheap cars? LOL, your tax money aint worth that much. You cant have the cake and eat it.

On the issue of car prices, why does a fresh grad in the UK for example, earn 2k pounds, Yet a Mini would cost about 15k pounds. A pint of milk is less than 1 pound. Books cost 4.99. CD's cost anything from 99p to 13 pounds. Look at Singapore, Hong Kong and other free economies. Dollar for dollar, you tell me if it makes sense? Its called relative earning power. We dont have it, and why? Because our economy is distorted beyond belief.

So what do we do? Only solution – earn more. And yes, I pay the taxes. I earn the money, and frankly other people are not my problem. I am not a social charity. I work just as hard for my income, like everyone else and I take no free rides.

So dont give me this "social justice" crap. You want it, you earn it. Thats whats called meritocracy. It separates winners from losers. Pretty obvious who is who here.

Cheerio!

• Darius on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:38 pm

And oh yeah, in case you were wondering….gue pun melayu gaks, but I grew up!

• website pasal kereta ke malaysiakini ni?

• MoFaz on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:19 am

AG, i can't help it either. everytime we discuss about proton, this kind of fight would happen. plus, combination of Dr. M and Proton in one topic would definitely bring Malaysia into civil war in the cyber world.

• Norman on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:18 am

About the Uncyclopedia thing about Perodua i think its aint funny at all.More to racism and discrimination towards the Malays.Look at the brighter side if there are no Kancils,Sagas i would think low income family will have to ride motorbike with their children as well.Here in Singapore even Proton Saga are expensive not to mention Toyotas or Audis.To add salt more to injury every vehicle had a 10 year renewable lifespan which contribute to already fat pay check government there.The grass is always greener on the other side.