Renault Wind – CC with the fastest folding roof!

The Renault Wind only takes 12 seconds to transform from coupe to convertible, which should make it the fastest of its kind (the Peugeot 207 CC needs about 25 seconds to strip). This is thanks to a simple central pivot setup instead of the regular hinge system, which also ensures that the Wind’s boot volume of 270 litres remains whether the roof is up or down. Interestingly, that figure is 40 litres more than the standard Twingo hatchback, which the Wind is based on. It’s also said that the boot opens with no more effort than would be needed for a conventional saloon.

The Wind looks tiny in the metal, and it’s 3830 mm overall length is quite a bit shorter than the 207 CC, which goes past four metres. The car will be launched in Europe this summer with two of the Twingo’s engines: a 133 bhp/160 Nm 1.6-litre from the Renaultsport model and a 100 bhp/152 Nm 1.2-litre TCe engine. Renault says that it paid particular attention to the acoustic tuning for the former, which has a “telltale, fiery pitch”.

Renault plans to offer a wide range of options including a rear diffuser with twin tailpipes, front foglamp backing plates, chrome exterior mirror housings and a chrome finish for the rear bumper. Inside, customers can choose from different instrument housing designs and door pulls, plus an alternative gear lever knob or pedal set.

Live images and the official gallery is after the jump.

Renault Wind live images from Geneva
[zenphotopress number=999 album=945]
Renault Wind official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=946]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Can i use it to cut a Cucumber, or Papaya?

• linear_system on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:42 pm

looks like gen2 brake light..anyway..nice design :)

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Good looks this one, hope it will be affordable , we can expect a bumper crop of new cars this including the Giuletta , get your Rm ready.

• ago87 on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:03 pm

See,even Renault is copying Proton's design…

• Gajen on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

i think it looks cute and sporty….nice design!

• Ishak on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:29 pm

even gen-2 design similar with previous renault megane..

http://www.carstyling.ru/resources/poster/renault…

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:51 pm

ago87 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:03 pm

See,even Renault is copying Proton’s design…

————————————————————

Well .. . . . Renault and Proton DID have a collaboration of some-sorts. If you look closely, the Gen2 & Persona also share similarity (of looks) with Renault Megane!!!!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Honda CRX Del Sol revisited!?

• Cpt Shopalot on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:11 pm

so pretty in blue!

• Alpha on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:35 pm

will we get ths car in bolehland??if it's out by November,i'm so gonna get ths~

• paultang on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:49 pm

if they'd make nissan cars like this, maybe there'd be more people buying nissan cars… ;-)

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari’sCousin said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:54 pm

Honda CRX Del Sol revisited!?

—————————————————————–

Agreed…no wonder look familiar

• Black Dog on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:44 am

New Gen2 should copy this rear lights

• lambov12 on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:25 am

well, it does look similiar to the Euro version Honda Civic hot hatchback ..

• i broke wind ?

• carsenthusiast.blogs on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:37 am

AlfaRomeo=Ferrari’sCousin said,

"Well .. . . . Renault and Proton DID have a collaboration of some-sorts. If you look closely, the Gen2 & Persona also share similarity (of looks) with Renault Megane!!!!"

_____________________________________________________________________________

What about the engine?

Our previous 1.8 Waja also use renault engine, and now(the engine) it be use to develope Neo S2000 for MEM project

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:36 am

is cute and nice as a city coupe!!!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 06, 2010 at 1:56 pm

bring it to india

Please

we badly need a cheap roadster here

there is not a single cheap roadster available in India.

the cheapest we can get is the mercedes slk and well that is not cheap.

other than that assembled in the backyard San Storm we have absolutely nothing