Matt black MX-5 from Mazda France

Here’s what Mazda France came up with to celebrate 20 years of the MX-5 in the country – a matt black version of Mazda’s super successful roadster. To be paraded at the Lors du salon du cabriolet, coupé & SUV show, this (relatively) sinister looking MX-5 comes with matching black alloys. It is based on the folding metal top 2.0i variant, which 2.0-litre MZR engine puts out 158 bhp and 188 Nm of torque via the rear wheels.

I would take out the chrome surround on the “mouth”, but this MX-5 looks quite cool if you ask me, although the lady in the gallery looks very intimidating! Matt black seems to be very “in” these days, and many in the car modifying scene are opting for this finish – I’ve seen everything from Perodua Myvis to Nissan GT-Rs in matt black running around KL. Would you have your car in matt black? And for those who have already joined “the dark side”, is it easy to care for and maintain?

More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=980]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xenith (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Nice! The front end really reminds me of the Austin-Healy Sprite Mk 1.

• Eric G on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:54 pm

i have yet to find any Car detailing product for matt black finish. mostly either solid or clear coat.

• Support Malaysia on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:59 pm

You talking about the one on the right or on the left (holding the katana)?

• MBX Boy on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:01 am

Matt black ? Not for me… To me, it makes the car less appealing. Maybe one day my stance may change. Tho i'm not 30 yet, almost but not yet, matt black looks "older". I dunno how the other young readers think , interesting to see their opinions.

• megpan on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:12 am

it wud be fun looking at this smiley on our mid mirror trying to woo us away from the fast lane with that grind of hers hahaha

• highway04 (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:25 am

saw a waja matt black few days ago at sg besi tol i guess…. and its sucks big time… mayb due to bad maintainence… its uneven around the car…. looks more like a black car wif paint fallin/fading…

all of them tat i hav met looks good to me… but nt tis waja

• eisyam on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:27 am

nice car, it look 'dark' if u look from back angle…..but when u look at the front of the car…really turn down…..a smiling face doesn't match the dark theme…..

• MSIA = MONEY on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:31 am

WOW….

• papa radzi on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:32 am

mmm… i minat sgt tgk matte color nieh.. tp kat malaysia nie lepas ke pkai color matte nieh ye??? i wonderrrrrr

• Woosa on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:36 am

oh my.. the cute smiley face is even more distinctive in matt black!! :D

• overdrive on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:44 am

Still somehow feel matt black looks nicer on cars that have flat and sharp edges, e.g. civic, celica, lancer etc..

• Sakit Sakit Sedap on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:45 am

Wowwowwwowooww..that girl sooo HOT

• T4VR-Ralph on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:48 am

nice!

Matte is the new 'IN'!

• lkf0512 on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:53 am

I find the girl is more interesting… :)

• konoha on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:56 am

What smile2?Ade hutang ka?

• fisker on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:56 am

Kereta itu tersenyum gatal semasa melihat wanita itu~

• MazdaAstina on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:58 am

friend did it to his merc s300. he told me its a sticker. ez to maintain. wash and dry. dun like it, peel off sticker.

• Cutester on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:59 am

Saw a matt black Honda Jazz (1st gen) in Penang. Looks cool like bat mobile.

• up for d babes…

• No way on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:03 am

my fav. car..! give me 1 plz. tq tq

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:04 am

first.?

got upgrade the engine??

• make it yellow, n u got traditional smiley face…

• Aaron on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:10 am

Oh I am not sure.

Don't think you call a car with a cartoonish smiley face sinister.

• ago87 on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:13 am

Memang SUI…

• Nerddy on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:32 am

wow… so beutiful, love the skin, the pose. Love everthing….

The car nice too…

• i was thinking about respraying my car to matte black as well. anyone can give a rough estimate for a satria neo? and also, like paul asked, is it easy to maintain? will scratches appear after driving on the highway?

• stop complaining at least ur car smiles

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:07 am

kalau tangan makan KFC then pegang menangislah

• hyrax on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:16 am

just make up…dont talk to much on small stuff

• Abraham Tawi on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:44 am

MBX Boy said,

March 19, 2010 @ 4:01 pm

Matt black ? Not for me… To me, it makes the car less appealing. Maybe one day my stance may change. Tho i’m not 30 yet, almost but not yet, matt black looks “older”. I dunno how the other young readers think , interesting to see their opinions.

—————————————————————-

Well I'm 18, and I totally dislike the matte black paint, its just plain and dull

• tishaban on Mar 20, 2010 at 2:50 am

It's spelled matte not matt.

However I have to agree with most people here, the color doesn't do anything for me. I'd prefer glossy black.

Danny Tan says: Both 'matt' and 'matte' are applicable, according to Oxford

• jagung lembik on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:05 am

why the girl so furious and holds a sword? The mazda owner two-timed her izit??

Anyway, the car looks great, even without the matt black.

• Alpha on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:11 am

I'm 18 too,and personally,i kinda like matte black.but when i wanna paint my car into matte black my dad said,"matte black makes the car look really old.it'll make your car looks like the London black cab."

i like matte black due to its "Mafia looks~"

• perkasa on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:17 am

nice smiling dude

• Mufasa on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:38 am

grrrrr….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:55 am

boring colour

• armandd on Mar 20, 2010 at 3:55 am

this type of paint nearly burn my hand a few days ago..

• No Mat Hitam for me

• just me on Mar 20, 2010 at 4:43 am

HATE it!

for me only RED and SILVER…

• MazdaAstina on Mar 20, 2010 at 6:55 am

To Eric G & Jon, if you want contact to do your car in matt finish, you can mail me at [email protected] . i can ask my friend whom did up his merc 300SE in matt black. As i mentioned, his is a sticker type but done beautifully.

• mohgui (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 7:00 am

what's with mazda and smiley faces these days? are they imitating cars from the animated movie 'Cars'?

• matt black tends to look better on cars that are bigger or bulkier, like the hummer or honda crossroad.

it doesnt reflect light so wont be glaring and when driving around at night, no one can see your car except the lights.

so if you wanna be adventurous like jack neo, a matt black car will be near indetectable around bushes. hahahaha.

• I think lotus matte black looks better

• noAP4u (Member) on Mar 20, 2010 at 8:12 am

Saw a Cayenne being re-sprayed into matte black at body shop in Serdang.

I think matte paint for cars pose a safety hazard. It's not reflective unlike normal body paint. It's gonna be difficult to see a matte black car in the night,compared to a normal/glossy painted car. I know, the car has lights back & front, but still the silhouette of the vehicle is not visible.

Just pray your matte black car doesn't break down along the North-South expressway in the night.

Owners should really consider the safety aspect of using this sort of body paint, aesthetics notwithstanding.

• skiborne on Mar 20, 2010 at 10:16 am

this matte thingy may look garang, bt the car wit this particular color my god, so effing hot man under the blazing sun,. and i think that this finish is somehow cheaper to do bcs one need not to polish the finish, otherwise, it'll look like a normal glossy black

• Melissa A. Bryson on Mar 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm

This is really striking., i just hope that QC is tip top shape and there will be no recalling thing int he near future. This has been the in thing lately right?

I find matte not so striking though, but maybe its just that I am not used to it, it re evaluate in the next few months.

• i would luv gold rims and gold mouth and gold plated emblems.

• Centurio-Cohors Prim on Mar 20, 2010 at 4:43 pm

EH MANA PG KOMEN AKU??

• I agree with one of the posters up there, matte black looks good with cars that have sharp edges and flat surfaces.

You cant do it on a BMW with flame surfacing, otherwise you can see the lovely curves, its all meant to bounce light around. Itll just look flat and dumb.

Gotta love the Skyline in matte black though. Its a roadgoing stealth plane in disguise

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 20, 2010 at 8:16 pm

haha…..if diz car wos not een mat black, j'ai will aime beaucoup diz car

• mohdjiman on Mar 20, 2010 at 9:41 pm

oh..matt black…saw quite frequent lately…

• ninjaGAIDEN on Mar 21, 2010 at 2:18 am

Saw an X6 in matte black. Saw a few GTRs in matte black. Am loving the colour. It makes your car even the more stealthier. And yes it does look good on cars with sharp angles like the Civic, Lancer, Celica, and the R34.. A Levin might look good, but I don't know, haven't seen one in matte black yet..

And it helps a lot too when you're a ninja. ;)

• ninjaGAIDEN on Mar 21, 2010 at 2:29 am

how bout a matte black RS4 Avant?

http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4102772&…

looks good to me. =)

• mitlanevo on Mar 21, 2010 at 2:30 am

i've seen matte black m3, 5-series, gen2, myvi, gallardo…

all looks very cool~

that matte black 5-series with dark tinted glass and black wheels is simply awesome !!

• austin_cipan on Mar 21, 2010 at 5:18 am

This is definitely cool, I'm 24 and I adore the colour with much enthusiastsm… This colour makes the car looks kinda "I'm sophisticated, but I don't want to show off too much of what's beneath me". Defenitely the new white…

• Cool..

This black is very sharp…

But can't get along to ride at my kampung lor..

• i heard this colour is even harder to maintain than metallic or solid..because of no clear coating. not suitable in malaysia where it's scorching hot..

but it definitely look sexy..will make head turns lah this colour..

• l3ryan on Mar 21, 2010 at 7:22 pm

the 'matt black' we have here are mostly stick-ons where else these stock finish that comes with the car are paints, hence some of the locally done ones are really horrible, sometimes even with bubbles.

• barca fan on Mar 21, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Matte black seems like trend today high performance car with matte black finishing….

• anonymous on Mar 22, 2010 at 4:47 am

Should it be matte or matt black?

• Mazda MPS is a stoop on Mar 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

is there matt white or blue or red or any color other that black?

• Mazda MPS is a douch on Mar 22, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Beauty is in the eye of beholder..

I totally dig it.

• RamuNik on Mar 22, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Miata always ends up "girlish" look alike car. Matte makes this car cool & lovely; but not necessarily adorable. With this extreme bodypaint, by right it should look more mascular. But holding the steering & feel this car's soul- its totally different story. If i have RM 200k to be wasted I still prefer Elise/ Exige. Sorry Miata, I love u but…

Dear Paul & fellow friends,

I am interested in the fact that Matte body paint makes the car "invisible" in night. This is d**n dangerous. Car driver always curse bike rider without tail lamp- I do that all the time. What if the matte car fuse burnt & loss all the lamp? what if the car parked @ road side?

• i can't take my eyes off the girl!!

• premasingam on Mar 23, 2010 at 7:26 pm

wish that girl can hold my sword just like that way……… :-P

• kowreck on Mar 23, 2010 at 9:52 pm

I like matte black. looks very stealthy, but it still doesnt make my kancil look cool.

• Arcane (Member) on Mar 23, 2010 at 10:56 pm

There is a clear coat that is flat, but functions the same as normal clearcoat. The diff was that normal clearcoats are glossy

• Well, if you happen to see a Nissan Murano with plate number MAF14, it's in matte black colour :) I saw it once in JB last year.

• Matte black ni, kalau kat Siberia ke, Alaska ke, Greenland ke, okey la sebab negara sejuk…

Kalau duduk kat Malaysia, tambah lagi sekarang ni panas macam nak gila, haaaa…masak la ko dalam kereta. Aircond gas pun asyik refill je, macam isi minyak every week, sebab panas sangat.

Boleh masak burger ngan telur goreng kat atas bonet…

• gfunk on Mar 25, 2010 at 9:13 pm

yeah..d model in this pic r so HOTTT

d car?? biasa saja :)

• where do tis matte black paint job? I prefer sticker wrap tho…