Mixed feelings for Lotus Racing at the Australian GP

Malaysian owned Lotus Racing had a mixed weekend at yesterday’s Australian GP. Thanks to Heikki Kovalainen’s second finish in as many races (he finished 13th, two laps behind the race winner, but well ahead of HRT’s Karun Chandhok, the only other finisher among the new teams), Lotus is starting to cement its reputation as the team to beat in the rookie mini league. The downside was that teammate Jarno Trulli failed to make the start due to a hydraulics problem.

“Obviously a very disappointing start. Jarno had a hydraulic power pack fail on the grid, not something we’ve seen before and we couldn’t get it changed in time,” explained technical chief Mike Gascoyne. The Italian driver was also struck with misfortune in qualifying when his seat broke, but managed to bring the car home in 20th place.

“I guess we’ve got to have had some bad luck at some point and unfortunately it was today. I’m disappointed for Jarno, but Heikki did us proud – three places away from a point, and he was keeping pace with most of the other cars throughout the race. Maybe it would have been nice if three other cars had gone out so we could get a point, but, joking aside, it is good that at this stage of the season we’re already thinking about points. We’re in a nice position for Malaysia. We’re looking forward to going home, and really looking forward to giving our fans something to shout about,” said team principal Tony Fernandes.

After boring Bahrain, Albert Park and Melbourne’s dark skies served up a really exciting race, with plenty of gripping battles, mishaps and the “customary” Sebastian Vettel car failure while leading the race. Let’s hope that the Malaysian GP this weekend will be as good to watch, if not better. Will you make the trip to Sepang this year?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jenglot on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:11 am

I really wanna go there, but hav something else to do…to bad :(

go go Lotus Racing, we're right behind u, owh plus Mercedes GP Petronas..yay!!

• Kazuhito on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:26 am

I'm going (hopefully…)!

• How about instead of stealing the Lotus name, you call it like it is, Malaysian Rat Racing

• Andalucia on Mar 29, 2010 at 2:39 pm

First? GoGo Lotus!! I like their optimism attitude!! Nothing is impossible, maybe they can get a point in Sepang!~!

• fasgen on Mar 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm

I think better change with fairuz.. dont talk about experiences.. no use if have many experiences but stuck at grid!!!!!! he is slow han fairuz…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Mar 29, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Crap, there's no such thing as rookie mini league. This is Formula Uno and it demands a very competitive and precised environment, whether its the crew, the cars, the driver, the logistics bla bla bla……

Its a fact that nothing is to be proud of Lotus F1 this weekend and the result shows.

However, kudos to them coz they dare to enter the Xtreme zone, the Hameed Koyakuti's zone.

• hmm, it seems that heikki is having the best of luck among the both of them…

• MalaysiaKu on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Something to shout about ?

Hey Tony enough of your marketing talk.

Time to finish the race – on the same lap… .. not 2 laps behinds

• Tiadaid on Mar 29, 2010 at 6:25 pm

There's nothing they can do on the flyaway races. Lets wait until the European races start.

• AlexFan on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Lotus performance is horrid ! worst than Alex Yoong in the Minardi…

Minardi reputation was destroyed by F1… .. became a joke of the commentators even. F1 makes or break a brand if unable to finish on podium.

Clever of BMW, Toyota, Honda… all quit

Dollar for dollar , Alex in his A1 brought more glory to "Malaysia"

• trav_da_man on Mar 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm

U call urself a f1 fan? At least lotus fared alot better than minardi for now.

• Budget Race on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:25 pm

"Maybe it would have been nice if three other cars had gone out so we could get a point"

Yes TONY you finally got it right !!!

You will only get points at others failure…

Jarno car seat broke ??? !! Stop using cheap second hand parts !

• frossonice on Mar 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm

The seat is made from carbon fibre. Not some ah beng seat you bought from Brothers. Maybe it broke because Trulli driving style is harder/more aggressive than Heiki.

• GelakF1 on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Apa ini … sampai kerusi F1 pun boleh cabut ??? Lotus apa ini ??

jangan sampai helmet terbang keluar pulak ! kakaka

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Hahaha, jeng jeng jeng, I wonder which 'local car company' supply the hydraulic parts and the broken seat? :P

Hints: See the logo at the side of the rear wing.

• biggie on Mar 29, 2010 at 6:34 pm

UMW Toyota?

• Tiadaid on Mar 29, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Naza?

• tayar kitar semula on Mar 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Perodua?

• monash.u on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:36 pm

don simply say say if u don knw things.

the supplier for hydraulic is XTrac which not found on the car sponsors. XTrac responsible for Lotus, VR and HRT transmission development with Cosworth Racing. however, the seat is inhouse manufacturing.

• oldman on Mar 30, 2010 at 4:37 am

dont say the seat coming from the same 'always-fails-power-window' maker ? Damn…….

• kimi_ on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:43 pm

OUR LOVELY PROTON?

• You? No wonder it broke.

*p.s.

Think before you talk. If not, you will only look like an idiot.

• that is the best they can do with the current engine. Their source is limited and they are doing their best with what ever they have. Am proud of them.. Go go Lotus..

• iskett on Mar 30, 2010 at 1:36 am

No, no. It's NOT the engine. Its not good enough to get to the podium, but cosworth engine is good enough to finish the race without being lapped. Just look at the williams team.

It's the overall package of the car. Among others the level of down-force and the whole setup, etc. I actually expected a more competent car from Mike Gayscoyne, being one of the highest paid car designer in F1.

That said, the regulatins are new, and they had a short time to build the car, so, a few solid finishes is expected at this time. Do hope they get better.

• wallstreet on Mar 29, 2010 at 6:42 pm

To those who has supported this team on the first race when they celebrated for finishing 3 laps behind AND those who buy the comment by Mike Gascoine about 'getting the car reliable (by finishing last) and now start to concentrate on speed, THIS IS WHAT THEY GET NOW. As i mentioned earlier, is easy to get both car finish the race but to have both reliability and speed is totally different matter altogether!!

• Tiadaid on Mar 29, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Well what do you expect? It's hard for ANY TEAM to improve on flyaway races. Not Ferrari, not McLaren, not Red Bull! Wait until the European races to see some improvements. If the improvement isn't forthcoming then feel free to bash, but if you bash right now just goes to show that your knowledge of F1 is limited.

• yeah…it is more easy to talk than act….

err…like you sesamestreet…oh sorry wallstreet?

• carfan on Mar 29, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Going to Sepang??? Not after last year debacle- race started at 5pm and for only about 45min before it got too dark to race. Carparks were flooded. Sepang must the only place where food stalls were so low end and sold out too!!! Maybe shd get those Sepang bigwigs to come over to the Grandstand to see how to improve. And I hv been to 6 races but last yr the final one. Maybe I will try Spore this year.

• portman on Mar 29, 2010 at 7:27 pm

People, be fair… Given that this is their debut, and considering the resources they have available we should try to be a little more supportive. If CNN sees it fit to sponsor the team, we as Malaysian should be a little bit more encouraging. From the reliability aspect to have finished the race, team Lotus did better than some better and more experienced teams. So credit where it is due..

• BMW-logy on Mar 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm

F1 seat also can come loose? what a joke !

You think tis is like running Airasia ka… cheapskate !

• frossonice on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Now I understand what Azlano (Proton's Chief Designer) said about the defeatist mentality among Malaysian. We just love to see other people fail.

• fasgen on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:42 pm

agree… these are malaysian mentalities… always negatives…

• I second that.

• trav_da_man on Mar 30, 2010 at 2:42 am

Agree as well. That why we never be a 1st world mentality country. At least Tony Fernandez is working hard to change malaysians to become positive.

• oldman on Mar 30, 2010 at 4:43 am

Yeah, thanks to Perkosa who think 67% of mesian still need some crutches to live in this Bolehland….these peoples own the MOTHER of defeatist mentality….

• Mohd Fadzil Non on Mar 30, 2010 at 5:11 am

I agree with you guys. and some of them have no idea what F1 is all about. but still think they know everything.

• Squawk on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Carbon fiber seat breaking is a first for me.

With limited testing time, don't expect any of the new teams to make significant improvements in the first season.

• monash.u on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:40 pm

carbon fibre seat broken is not the 1st time. happened once in awhile due to manufacturing process in the factory. tis normally due to QC issue during seat fitting.

• Tiadaid on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:21 pm

For those who couldn't believe driver's seat can come loose, here's the FIA regulation concerning driver's seat, from their website.

14.8 Seat fixing and removal:

14.8.1 In order that an injured driver may be removed from the car in his seat following an accident, all cars must be fitted with a seat which, if it is secured, must be done so with no more than two bolts. If bolts are used they must:

– be clearly indicated and easily accessible to rescue crews;

– be fitted vertically;

– be removable with the same tool for all teams and which is issued to all rescue crews.

14.8.2 The seat must be equipped with receptacles which permit the fitting of belts to secure the driver and one which will permit the fitting of a head stabilisation device.

14.8.3 The seat must be removable without the need to cut or remove any of the seat belts.

14.8.4 Details of the tool referred to above, the belt receptacles and the head stabilisation device may be found in the Appendix to these regulations.

The seat must be bolted with no more than two bolts, so it's understandable if it somehow gets loose!

• kimi_ on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Bad performance aside, i wonder how our PM promote 1Malaysia through F1 REALLY ?????

FYI, there are 95 % foreign staff or workers in Lotus team and only a few malaysian ( all

malay i think) work together can achieve unity in Malaysia…WHAT A JOKE….ISNT there

other better way to do it, PLEASE COMMENT!

• Thanks for the info kimi. I didn't know all Malaysian Lotus staff were Malay. Damn these modern Malay parents… can't they give their kids good old fashioned Malay names like Abu or Ali instead of Alex or Tony ? It's just so confusing.

• staff on Mar 30, 2010 at 2:08 am

you are limiting your mind, please see things beyond the team itself…

if malaysian team are joining big competition like this, Malaysians as one should speak the same word which is supporting the team… that will bring unity… everybody has the same team to support and proud of…

but, you are among who failed to understand it….

• race fan on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Didn't a certain Dato' promised '200 Malaysians' as pit crew then later said 20 Malaysians to be inducted into the team?? Was he counting himself and his biz partners? So what happened to the 20?? If not the 200..

Words are cheap.

• i bought my ticket but i can make it on that day!!!…darn!..lol

• staff on Mar 29, 2010 at 9:46 pm

When they bad at something… ppl bash them like there's mo tomorrow…

If they are good… suddenly this no-face bashers so proud of them…

MUNAFIK!

• not_ah_beng on Mar 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm

HAHAHAHA………"proud" to finish 13th kaaa??

What a joke man.

Finish 13th is finish 13th. Not a laughingstock (at least not for rookie year) BUT stop dreaming like its a great accomplishment. Especially 2 laps behind.

Usual Potong Jaguh Kampung bullshit.

• staff on Mar 30, 2010 at 2:04 am

from your statement, seems like you never been in a competition before…

Imagine, you are joining a marathon for the first time, other ppl got injured and you are among who finish the race…

dont you feel something to be proud for yourself? of your own capabilities?

If you never been in that situation, i think you never ever appreciate an accomplishment.

• Jarum on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:36 am

Hi not_ah_beng,

Let me help you answer Mr. Staff here….

Firstly I would not want to make too much of an hot air being so proud coming in second last. In other words, coming in 13th in a race of 14 finishes… I wouldn't be so proud of this fact.

Secondly, every team there started with 2 cars on the grid, except for "ours". What happened? Malaysian reliability? I guess so. Unless it was Tony Fernandes' wise idea of having a no frill bullshit race by letting only car compete.

Thirdly, where is all the noise now about being the only new team to have both cars crossing the finish line? Guess the team principle know when to shut his big gob after all.

And mind you Staff, I have been competing in races before.

Some of you keep saying that Lotus Racing is a "baby". Just to let you know, Lotus Racing dominated F1 back in the 60's and 70's. They were the Ferrarri back in the day with a huge following of world-wide supporters. They had a slump in the form in the 80's and by the 90's they decided to "take a break" from F1. What I am trying to get at is that they nearly 40 years of experience. This is comparable to the big teams like Ferrarri, McLaren, Williams who also have a huge history in their team. So please stop staying that!

• Tiadaid on Mar 30, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Jarum, comparing this Lotus and the old Lotus is absolutely WRONG! Heck, even the name is different. They are Lotus Racing while the old Lotus is Team Lotus. They DON'T have 40 years of experience because the people HAVE NO CONNECTION WHATSOEVER WITH TEAM LOTUS! So in essence THEY ARE A NEW TEAM.

And yes, finishing the race in 2nd to last position is not a big deal. But unlike all the established team, the new teams designed their cars in a short period of time, with limited resources. You're comparing Lotus with Williams, McLaren and Ferrari who have ample time and resources to design their car and fine tune it, of course they fall short. Try designing an F1 car in a short period, that's what you get!

Besides, the first three races are flyaway races, which meant that they could not bring the new parts that could improve the car, like the aerodynamic parts. So wait until the European races are underway before passing comment! Their designer Mike Gascoyne already said they are bringing in new parts for the start of the European Season, so wait!

Typical bashers, have no knowledge but simply want to bash.

• Steven on Mar 29, 2010 at 10:47 pm

The organisation of the Malaysian GP needs to buck-up. The hospitality is really poor. We the real fans also deserve to be taken cared of. Not only those in the Paddock Club. Even then, compare our Paddock Club with Singapore's, miles away. In racing, you need to finish. If you dont finish, you will not win. Hence its good to see that Lotus can finish races and be at the higher-up (albeit at the expense of those who DNF). Its surely a positive step forward.

• Brahams on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Lotus Racing…. prove to us by finishing in Top-10 consistently.

What so proud of or kudos if it always finished at the bottom of the table!!!

• Brahams on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Lotus Racing…. prove to us by finishing in Top-10 consistently.

What so proud of or kudos if it always finished at the bottom!!!

• Dato' Francis D on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:29 pm

I don't understand why everyone is so angered by these results. These results are specifically the targets that Lotus wanted to hit. Lotus and management had said from THE VERY BEGINNING that they simply wanted to be the "best of the new teams" and as of now, they are, which is great.

You're expecting a brand new team with brand new car, brand new chassis and brand new management to be the top of the league in their first year? Come on…let's try to be realistic. Do you look at your new born child and scold it for not being able to run? I hope not otherwise you are bad parents. >__> Lol.

Terrible analogies aside…Lotus is doing exactly what they should be doing and they should be applauded for it. Do we all want to see them at pole position? Hell yeah we do…but let's be realistic at the same time.

• Do you look at your new born child and scold it for not being able to run? I hope not otherwise you are bad parents. >__> Lol

I guess most of the basher here are like that.

• Scuddie on Mar 30, 2010 at 5:08 am

Stupid retards..This is not a concern to nursing and or encouraging to ur new born baby..it's all about f-1 racing….Mind you,we weren't simply bashing here instead we are criticizing based on their poor result by overlapped of two..unlike some of u diot like supporter only know how to support them blindly with out any conciousness and dignification..To sum everything up,shameless is the best adjective for certain people here..spew~

• 1st of all, why u so mad to those who support lotus f1. i just dont get it. did they disturb you by supporting lotus team?

2nd is why you care so much? owh…they used your HARD EARNED MONEY to build the car?

3rd chill out dude. go get some fresh air. whuzzahhh….

if your IQ are higher than your toe you will find out that they're newbie. 5 months ago there are no lotus f1. what do you expect?

• oldman on Mar 30, 2010 at 4:46 am

born child =/= f1 cars….

yeah, so very bad analogy

• denaihati on Mar 29, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Tak sabar nak tunggu race kat Malaysia ni

• lencongan on Mar 30, 2010 at 2:04 am

go check out the pavilion tomorrow!

• little_dragon on Mar 30, 2010 at 2:05 am

Sigh! whoever mentality thinks the new team is just a baby, better wait probably 20 years later then compete in F1.

Meantime suggest nursing at Formula 2 or Formula 3 racing… don't waste time in F1

• Tiadaid on Mar 30, 2010 at 3:41 am

Racing in F3 didn't do any difference for Manor, who's running Virgin Racing. And before you say Manor wasn't successful, you're wrong. They were. Takuma Sato won the F3 championship with them. F2 uses the same chassis for every team, so no point.

• incredible on Mar 30, 2010 at 10:17 am

i would think that lotus can do better if they change their engine to ferrari or mercedes, nowdays the cosworth engine seem can't keep up with other engine.

maybe tony can think about it…..

coz lotus did have 2 good driver but only the cars not fast enough ,just check how good schumacher will be if he drive petronas mercedes ,he 's also below position 5…..

• Ferruccio on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Yes, Lotus (or any team) would love to have a Ferrari or Mercedes engine to power their car. Problem is they can't afford it.

Having said, you'd be delusional to think that swapping to Ferrari engine will suddenly make Lotus as fast as Ferrari. Even Toro Rosso, powered by Ferrari couldn't do that.

If you think that Cosworth is to blame for them running at the bottom you're still delusional. Where did the Williams-Cosworth cars finished in Melbourne. Hint: both in top 10

• yippi33 on Mar 30, 2010 at 9:18 pm

for the time being..cosworth engine, as its name, is cost worth..im eager to see what are the effects of the performance upgrade on the coming races. top ten after this maybe??

• Ferruccio on Mar 31, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Top ten this year is not a realistic target for the team yet. Though they will have performance upgrades introduced in Barcelona, so will everyone else. The 'goal post' is constantly moving further ahead.

Lotus was simply lucky to finish as high as 13th in Melbourne due to misfortune of others . Melbourne has always been a race of attrition.