Next generation S-Class to go all-hybrid?

It seems that Mercedes-Benz is considering making the next generation S-Class a 100% hybrid line-up. It would help portray the company as an eco-aware automaker as well as help with the company’s fleet-wide fuel efficiency average figures. The S-Class has also been the model that traditionally showcased the latest forefront of technology and thus Mercedes-Benz executives feel it should be used to shout about the company’s fuel efficiency technology – hence the standard hybrid engine line-up.

Now we probably won’t even know about this so prematurely if it were not for frustrated American dealers that don’t agree with this move and have complained in an interview with Automotive News. The US dealer argument is that American customers are not perceived as ‘true performers”. “The most important thing in the American market — regardless of hybrid, lithium or electric cars — is that we Americans are different than any market and we are going to want those gasoline engines. For S-Class buyers, the goal is not gas mileage,” said Tommy Baker, chairman of the Mercedes-Benz dealer board. Baker operates a Mercedes-Benz dealership in Charleston.

I don’t completely agree with Baker though – I’m sure Mercedes-Benz is not talking about tiny 1.8 litre engines for S-Classes supported by electric motors. If it fits the buyer profile, there should be completely no issue for Mercedes-Benz to continue to have V8 and V12 engines but with start-stop technology and hybrid motor assist. Look at BMW’s ActiveHybrid offerings – do you think the X6 ActiveHybrid sounds anything NOT like a “true performer” with X6 M-beating torque thanks to its 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8 mated to an electric motor?

The smaller engined models like the S300 sold here in Malaysia is not offered in many parts of the world anyway, so Mercedes-Benz can develop truly efficient hybrid powertrains mated to inline-4s (just an example) for these non-American offerings and still maintain the S-Class as a hybrid-only vehicle.

The current S-Class only comes with one hybrid model – an S400 which uses a 3.5 litre V6 mated to an electric motor, hence the S400 moniker, representing the extra power boost provided by the electric motor. It is also the only V6 S-Class sold in the US – the rest are V8 and V12 only. Not even the S350 is sold there.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MNAZRI.tan` on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:29 pm

perhaps proton should follow the same step with their new perdana

• Geforce on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Proton cannot even develop a new engine other than their 1.6L Campro unless they decide to use the engine in the Proton Emas concept car.

• how in the world is proton gonna compare with mercedes? – –

• ismail on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:34 pm

You can’t just produce a hybrid engine with your limited
      Lotus technology.
      P1 many moons behind time. VW , MB and BMW are moving towards
      efficient dynamics /hybrid tech and only now P1 wants to produce a
      turbo inspired engine.
      Perdana gearbox problem not settled yet they are still producing it !!!

• khaix19a on Apr 06, 2010 at 8:45 am

agree…other car maker already have their own turbo in their car long time ago….i think proton should focus on their hybrid engine now because many car maker focusing on putting hybrids engine in their car right now….

• mnazri.tan on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:06 am

Engineering point of view, Hybrid engine is not a big obstacle…and very possible to compare proton with merc…not so great obstacle…However, on the financial part…we dont have the economic of scale…It is too expensive to develop those…

However on contrary, Proton are already on the way into hybrid, hence there is strong possibility that they actually could replicate merc idea on S class with the new perdana.

Take note that Perdana gearbox is actually Mitsubishi…it is the Jap who like to throw old technology to country like us and reap big profit of dying technology.However, again due to economic of scale how can we make fuss…Malaysian can only afford 100k for perdana…throw in better gearbox might just caused us 150k in which we are not willing to pay…

On my personal view, as engineer I hope proton would make more effort on Diesel engine rather than hybrid…The facilities is everywhere, the price is cheap, the diesel is cleaner nowadays and the engine is very reliable…They should put some money on that…

I hope Malaysia still continue their support to Proton…or else where would some of my families…and some of my friends who work there, supporting their family with the earning of proton would work…there are thousands of malaysian worker there…hope you guys would think about it carefully…the day Proton collapse you would see a lots of family struggling for a bowl of rice…it is not easy to get a decent jobs nowadays…

It is easier to voice out you complaint rather than actually to make things better…tahu cakap jer buat apa ???

• huahuahua on Apr 06, 2010 at 11:52 am

agree with u
          proton should opt for diesel engine
          make it 2.4 commonrail intercooler turbo diesel, installed with vector unit
          6 semi auto tranny
          and surely u can bagi asap byk2 to hilux vigo
          hahahha

• Diesel klater klater on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:25 am

Proton can’t claim lack of Economy of Scale for its failures because it has been around for almost 30years. Malaysian consumers sacrificed a lot to give Proton a start, and Proton is suppose to grow up through exports, otherwise it is a failure by global standard, and is already a big mill-stone to the Malaysian population struggling with a very expensive place to buy a car which is a necessity given the poor public transport.

• Alpha on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:06 pm

aahh..the world’s not gonna revolve around US anymore la.so,wat’s the hassle??i agreed with u,Paul.it’s not like MB is gonna use any cheapo entry level engine like the 1.8.

• subhero on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:00 am

s-class hybrid?..

what ever type of car S-class doing, for me even C class i can afford to have it. :P

• rexis on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:27 am

Maybe its a good idea for merc to turn a whole class into hybrid, you know, while we calculated our mileage by 1/10 of a cent, those rich man couldn’t care much about their fuel usage, therefore they would rather prefer the cheapest BMW rather then Prius(for M’sia), and would be more likely to sucka more fuel with their V6-V12.

With the hybridized Merc brand, its kinda one stone two birds.

• do correct me if im wrong , proton already stop producing perdana , what they selling rite now is the old stock …

• budlee on Apr 06, 2010 at 7:42 pm

i think the hybrids is to reduce the overall C02 emission of the company, important in Europe… but then most of the car manufacturers there would just focus on turbo diesels which does have lower C02 emission…

I also agree if Proton starts to sell and develope diesel engines again, but its going to be very hard to convince the normal consumer the advantanges of odd sounding, low revvign diesel to their normal petrol.

i prefer if proton heads into Volkswagon territory and start producing small turbo charge petrols engines..

Anyways, back to topic, Hybrids are huge in the US, its like stating to their peers that I have money and I care for the enviroment.. even though they drive practically everywhere..