FIA pushing for 107% qualifying rule, new teams to speed up or risk exclusion from race

FIA President Jean Todt has expressed intention to push for the 107% qualifying rule in Formula 1. This would mean that cars that aren’t within 107% of the pole time will be excluded from the race. F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone has said that he will back the decision to reapply the rule.

As it stands, if FIA wants an immediate rule change they would have to get a 100% agreement from all the teams competing this season, which is highly unlikely as the rookies will oppose. But if they wait till the 2011 season, only 70% agreeable teams are required.

Ecclestone was quoted by a French publication as saying: “We will introduce the rule, next year and not this year.” The same report also said Bernie is aiming for an even tighter 105% rule for the 2011 season.

Put into perspective, 107% of Sebastien Vettel’s Bahrain pole time is about 8 seconds, which would mean that none of the HRT drivers would have raced. If it was 105%, all three new teams including best of the lot Lotus would struggle to qualify. This move, if implemented, will force rookie teams to speed up or risk being left out.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• lorenzo on May 21, 2010 at 1:33 pm

nice, so lotus cannot give up 2010 to focus on 2011. That’s how it’s suppose to be done.

• Makes no big diferrent, the 3 new teams hardly feature during the race.

• mitlanevo on May 21, 2010 at 1:58 pm

NICE!!! let everyone boycott F1, padan muka~

• azrai on May 21, 2010 at 2:39 pm

This mean nno more road hogging + bye bye Lotus?

• Eyesore on May 21, 2010 at 2:49 pm

road hogging only done by you… stupid! Tell me which F1 team had an instant success??? don’t mention Brawn GP…they bought a well established team and changed the name… stupid…

• trav_da_man on May 21, 2010 at 2:40 pm

F1 n its crappy zany rules. Sekejap welcome new teams, sekejap torturing them……

• Motorist on May 21, 2010 at 2:49 pm

F1 is the most inconsistent (so called)sports governing body.

You dont see WRC or Le Mans 24hours simply making rule changes along the way.

Some more these changes are not to improve safety.

• mohgui on May 21, 2010 at 3:27 pm

F1 is not a sports governing body… it is a sporting event. FIA is the motorsports governing body.

• it same body that control F!,F2,WRC, WTCC..etc..the FIA..just like FIM for moto gp, superbike racing, motocross la bro…………………..

• mujahid on May 21, 2010 at 3:35 pm

itu ada la yg bising, sponsor cabut kat team cikai-cikai, rugi la team yg selalu kat depan tak de org nk sponsor sbb mahal….

• chaos on May 21, 2010 at 3:01 pm

good…more exciting and more accidents to see during qualifying

• michaelk on May 21, 2010 at 3:13 pm

at least d backmarkers wont waste any taxpayers $$ and time..u will see tony F wil make d trip back to the airport to board d next flight to d next race destination without even warming his seat in d pitlane…the 3 new teams were WAY TOO OFF d current crop of F1 team. u wil know what i mean when u follow F1 races & history long enoughhh….

• that y they r new of cause way off….the current crop had (especially the mid field team n current top team redbull) to suffer if before if u know n follow the real race n history my friend

• i follow f1 since Michael Schumacher in Benetton days…that time my cita2 to be F1 driver..i think thats quit long time follow f1..that when im in darjah 5 or 6

• dickybird on May 22, 2010 at 9:33 pm

well i have been watching F1 since even before senna crashed into prost at suzuka to win the 1989 world championship. the 3 rookie teams may not even be around into 3 let alone the 5 years it took for redbull to get good. anyway, you cannot even comparing with redbull since they have the backing of a billionaire drinks maker, so does force india, do you think any of the 3 rookies have or will find that kind of backing?
          107% of P1 rule should come back is what i think.

• ribut on May 21, 2010 at 3:20 pm

it’s all because of costworth engine…. better get renault engine soonest possible.

• drMpower on May 21, 2010 at 3:43 pm

i would say, no 107%. instead, for for 110%, WITH the old style 1 hour time frame for qualifying.

i never been a fan for the new qualifying cutting off style, simply because for the first cut off list, even with 15-20 minutes allocated, the track will be full of cars. so in a way it does not fair.

please get back to the 1 hour who-go-first-doesnt-matter qualifying format. thats the best thing. and for improvement, get 110& rule passed.

this way, it will be fairer and at the same time teams are encouraged to go faster.

• michaelk on May 21, 2010 at 4:37 pm

the current format is preferred by all drivers & in fact d 1 lap rule is in actual fact not motorsport racing…F1 drivers view & NOT my personal view. logical also as that is what RACING is all about….every team gets their chances in a few laps w different strategies…nothing is fair & if u cannot handle d traffic lap after lap, something must be very wrong w d superlicence F1drivers……

• watever on May 21, 2010 at 4:09 pm

They want more cars on the grid, and then they implement this rule. Then how the hell are the new teams gonna race ? They think chopping off 2 seconds is easy ar ? Even minardi (now force india) takes a few years to be where they are now

• silencer on May 21, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Force india is not originated from minardi
      it’s toro rosso that was before a minardi team

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scuderia_Toro_Rosso

there’s a possibility that lotus will use Renault costumer engine in 2011
      just wait for news on that development

• Ford_GT on May 21, 2010 at 4:12 pm

F1 is meant for elite sport only ( damn freaking expensive yo ) , either you stay or jump out from the Boeing 747. Selamat Berjaya.

• theanswer on May 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm

a bit selfish i guess.. small teams are nothing to them.

• Squawk on May 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Stewpit latuk todt wants this rule again. The reason why it was scrapped was so that it doesn’t leave backmarkers out of the races. The top teams have loads of money to spend on R&D but not the lesser teams. Teams like Minardi, Prost, Orange etc etc quit because it was pointless for them to continue flying to each venue only to sit out race day.

And now that there’re more teams on the grid, FIA wants to chase them away again? Dumb move. If they wanna do it, they should cap the expenditure to make sure every team is equally crappy. But then, it won’t be Formula One anymore, just like if they gave teams standardized chassis and/or engines (another dumb dumb idea).

• why going back to old times rules? the disadvantages outruns the advantages and does not fulfilling the spirit of sportmanship either

• Squawk on May 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm

F1 related news:

Fernandes: Get rid of blue flags

Lotus Racing owner Tony Fernandes believes that support is growing to bring an end to blue flags in Formula 1. The Malaysian businessman, who entered the sport as a Team Principal at the start of this season, is sure that the sport would be better off without blue flags as it would improve safety on-track.

The three 2010 newcomers to Formula 1 – Lotus Racing, HRT and Virgin Racing – are still clearly off the pace and busy keeping an eye on the blue flags (which oblige drivers to allow quicker runners through) this season during race weekends. Fernandes now hopes the Formula One Teams Association (FOTA) will agree that blue flags are creating dangerous situations.

“It was shrieked about when I first mentioned it, even within my team,” Fernandes told British local newspaper the Norfolk Eastern Daily Press. “It’s certainly worth looking at and it’s gathering a bit of speed.”

Earlier this year Fernandes raised the topic in a FOTA meeting. “It raised a few eyebrows but I got a better reaction than I thought, to be honest,” he continued. “In the good old days there were no blue flags. There are no blue flags in NASCAR or IndyCar and it’s more exciting and I think it’s actually safer, to be honest.

“I do think blue flags sometimes actually cause more headaches and are bigger safety issues than not having blue flags. The driver who has to make way is constantly thinking, ‘Should I maybe go left? Right?'”

• Squawk on May 21, 2010 at 9:30 pm

This is a nice track surrounded by greenery. Until they put in more parking and seating, that is.

Upstate New York track hoping to welcome F1

Monticello Motor Club (MMC), an Upstate New York racing circuit located at the foot of the Catskill Mountains, is believed to be in discussions with Formula 1 commercial rights holder Bernie Ecclestone with regards to hosting the next American Grand Prix at the venue.

The United States is yet to stage a Grand Prix since Indianapolis last did so in 2007 although now, just over a fortnight after New Jersey decided to scrap plans for a nighttime street race, Monticello has emerged as a possible contender according to a letter exchanged between its President and members, seen by Autoweek.

‘Within the next day, you may read that Formula 1 is planning a return to the United States and has their sights on a special location in New York: Monticello Motor Club,’ reads the letter, addressed to club members from Ari Strauss.

It goes on to explain that Hermann Tilke, the preferred track architect of Ecclestone, has visited the track recently and that MMC has ‘continued to secure the backing and support of local, state and federal politicians and organisations’.

Upstate New York is yet to be the scene of a Grand Prix since the popular Watkins Glen venue was in 1980, hosting the season-ending race which saw Australia’s Alan Jones and Williams clinch victory at the end of their triumphant season together.

The longest configuration – of which there are twelve – of the Monticello track is 4.1 miles long. The circuit was designed by driver Brian Redman with architect and engineer Bruce Hawkins and is located 90 minutes by car from downtown Manhattan. The nearest international airport is just ten minutes away.

• ReactiX on May 21, 2010 at 10:26 pm

idiotically idiot rule changes…

• Ferruccio on May 21, 2010 at 10:44 pm

The new teams, especially Lotus and Virgin are not in any real threat if the 107% rule is introduced this year. Of course we’ll have to see how much progress the leading car makes in the rest of the season.

I think a 105% rule for 2011 would probably make things interesting. The teams are now thinking about their 2011 cars so they could try and react now (back at the factory) should the 105% rule for next season is indeed introduced. Better to try and face the challenge now then to try and do it once they’ve finalized their base designs

• osh_kosh on May 21, 2010 at 10:47 pm

& Fernandes dare to ask FIA to scrap the ‘blue flag’ system?? i see a solution here.. apply 105% rule & scrap the blue flag system.. a win-win solution eh Fernandes?

• osh_kosh on May 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

they don’t see your cars on track in race day & your drivers don’t have to see the blue flag anymore… LMAO..

• for those team like HRT, Virgin & Lotus must push very very hard in engine and car development, make sure it can be compete with the tops, dont give any excuses to them self and the supporter, like Mercedes Petronas Team must find the way to beat Red Bull Renault.

Success is from the 99.9% of failre, from Mr. Soichiro Honda.