Nido EV is Pininfarina’s version of the Proton EMAS

Possibly tired of drawing up Ferraris, Pininfarina tries their hand at the whole eco car thing and have released this electric car concept called Nido EV. A development of the similarly named 2004 concept, the Nido EV, which is slightly bigger than a Smart fortwo, is designed both to explore the electrification of a small city car and a modular floorpan.

The body structure of this first running prototype is a tubular steel frame, while the final version will have an aluminium space frame. The structure was designed to adapt to four different configurations: 2-seater, 2+2, pickup and light van. They can be completely electric or hybrid. Doesn’t it sound like a certain concept from a rival Italian design house that captured Proton’s attention?

The Nido EV is powered by a 30 kW electric motor housed in the rear of its 900 kg shell. With 125 Nm of instantaneous torque, the 100 km/h mark is reached in only 6.7 seconds, faster than a Golf GTI. Top speed is electronically limited to 120 km/h. Instead of the common NiMh or Li-ion batteries, the Nido is powered by salt batteries. The Zebra Z5 Ni-NaCl battery is said to guarantee high levels of safety and reliability and a full charge delivers 140 km of emissions free driving. The battery is 100% recyclable at the end of its life.

Also, as if already expecting plenty of questions about the Nido’s unfinished interior, Pininfarina explains that the cabin is still at the “technical prototype” stage, with no attempt at stylistic research. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1152]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• PROTON… MUAKS !!!

Proton is Ecogreen

• vertigo on May 24, 2010 at 3:17 pm

hybrid sounds better. i don’t really trust the reliability of the total electric engine. but the 0-100kph time is impressive, lol. :P

• Jimmy Dean on May 25, 2010 at 9:26 pm

There is only 1 moving part in an electric ‘engine’/motor compared to intrenal combustion engine with many more moving parts to fail. There is no oil change needed for an electric ‘engine’ compared to internal combustion engine. Most likely you just need to replace the bearing after 10 years. How’s that for reliability?

• Tengokaje.. on May 24, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Another competitor for Proton EMAS.

• Freddie on May 24, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Not a competitor, another version of Proton EMAS designed by Pininfarina.

Very cute car, just look at the smiling face! haha.

• Squawk on May 24, 2010 at 8:20 pm

One designed by Pininfarina, one by Giugiaro… I’d call it competition.

• athlonium on May 24, 2010 at 3:29 pm

design wise, even better than proton emas… but emas more sporty

• P4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm

140km for full charge. Not bad. Not bad at all. Even if the real production version only get 100km, still practical for daily commuting .

• kerelbort on May 24, 2010 at 4:10 pm

now that Proton has better spectacle to see the future, hope the title of pioneer does help in their marketing division. let’s get this thing on the road, and be the trend-setter.

• nerdeliteonline on May 24, 2010 at 4:53 pm

still think hybird is more pratical…. who want to plug their car to a wall socket…??? How long it gonna take for a fully recharge?

• The answer is battery-hot-swap at battery-hot-swap station. All car brands in the world shud agree to use same battery platform

• nerdeliteonline on May 25, 2010 at 8:22 am

EV is good… no emission what so ever (except at the power plant…) no question about it…. but as right now hybrid is the way to go… I think people dislike hybrid in this forum because proton want to use it in their car… if it vice verse, they will said it in the other way… Look around, there others imported brand use hybrid too… if you have the money.. And hybrid doesn’t mean petrol only generator… It could be any fuel…even cooking oil…

• Squawk on May 26, 2010 at 9:13 am

Cooking oil… yes, good intention, but what happens when too many cars start doing that? Supermarket shelves will run out of it, cooking oil producers will divert supply to fuel cars instead because of good sales and in the end cooking oil price will go up making your plate of char kuey teow more expensive.

Currently, those running biodiesel cars in UK go to restaurants to ask for used cooking oil which they filter themselves. But it’s a matter of time before the restaurants start charging for it when demand exceeds supply.

• Jimmy Dean on May 25, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Quick swap of battery… 3 minutes. It’s now being tested in Japan. Fast charging might be possible in 15 minutes up to 80% full charge. Charging at home, perhaps 4-5 hours depending on battery size. Paying only 30% of what you’d pay for fuel for the same distance traveled… priceless.

• shokubeni on May 24, 2010 at 5:34 pm

is this really another version of ‘proton’ emas? i dont really understand he title

• imbhotep on May 24, 2010 at 6:33 pm

of course…proton emas design by italian..so no point we been very proud on italian that rakyat thought proton emas’ design is our own..rubbish proton!!

• Nutty Dad on May 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Proton Emas design look like something taken out from a fantasy movie or cartoon. On the other hand, this Nido EV looks like a production ready car waiting for a driver to take it home:)

• Nutty Dad on May 24, 2010 at 6:06 pm

For those of u very optimistic that Proton actually able to produce & sell the EMAS….I afraid it’s only some fancy advertisement to amuse the rakyat so we won’t complain why we cannot buy EV car that’s already in the market or coming into market in the coming year…..
    We haven’t see any real planning for charging station or any infrastructure that ev car needs in order to make this shift to ev car practical!!
    Unless I have seen for myself an actual ev charging station in KL, I believe this Proton Emas EV may just be an expensive eye wash:(

• Shaekey on May 24, 2010 at 10:39 pm

Dude… you still put petrol in Proton Emas! The engine is the generator that recharge the battery which in turns power up the electric motor that makes the car wheels turn. Public charging station is not as crucial as you think. You charge that sort of car when you got home… just plug it in and leave it be while you’re sleeping and the next morning when you’re ready to go to work you car battery will be all juiced up!

• MyVISE on May 25, 2010 at 4:14 pm

huh? sure ka charge at home?
        tomorrow morning wake up than ur electricity bill naik kaw kaw punya
        should be a special station for this

• Jimmy Dean on May 25, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Electricity bill goes up but you save on petrol. Electric motor much more efficient than engine; 90% eficiency compared to only 30% or less for the engine.

• fique on May 26, 2010 at 11:40 pm

I think it can be solved by battery exchange programme.. similar to your cooking gas tank…

• P4k4bu on May 24, 2010 at 10:46 pm

AFAIK plug-in hybrids like EMAS, and EV like like this are for daily commute. Plug in at home during the night, drive to office/school / shops in the morning.
      It’s not for balik kampung kind of trips. Thats why they are small.
      For longer distance there are hybrids. No need to plug in.
      All the above are designed so that we don’t need new infrastructure.
      When people are comfortable with EV, and demand bigger cars, or gov decides to use EV buses and taxis then we build the infra.
      It’s a chicken n egg thing. Besides, who knows what kind of vehicle we will really use in the future? Maybe hydrogen fuel cell. Then what do we do with all the charging stations?

• nerdeliteonline on May 25, 2010 at 8:08 am

Yeah… and EMAS use Hybrid engine… not EV. Still good for long travelling…

• this look nicer then the Emas…

• Put a small petrol engine in, offer a ‘left hand drive’ version for a reasonable price and sell it in continental europe.

Citroen/Peugeot/Toyota are selling their C1/107/Aygo there with great success…

• Squawk on May 24, 2010 at 8:22 pm

100% recyclable batteries (thumbs up) is a good thought.

• ezracopters on May 24, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Nutty Dad says:
    24/5/2010 at 6:06 pm

For those of u very optimistic that Proton actually able to produce & sell the EMAS….I afraid it’s only some fancy advertisement to amuse the rakyat so we won’t complain why we cannot buy EV car that’s already in the market or coming into market in the coming year…..
    We haven’t see any real planning for charging station or any infrastructure that ev car needs in order to make this shift to ev car practical!!
    Unless I have seen for myself an actual ev charging station in KL, I believe this Proton Emas EV may just be an expensive eye wash:(

WHAT’S WRONG WITH U MAN?? what r u?? some kind of bitter man..hating everything around u and swearin n yellin like nut case.. give Proton a break.. they’re tryin over there..so give them a break… u’r definitely the lowest type of human being.. even Indon, Bangla n all those immigrant know how to be proud of their country n products.. perhaps ur some kind of an angel..never did wrong!!!

be proud with ur country..this is where we were born..if u dont agree with proton or any GLCs or goverment..then try ur best, gathered all ur folk..vote down the current goverment..make the whole change u want to..dont be an arse..in the mean time..stick to country..be a good Malaysian..i dont see any constructive view in ur words…i wonder how much ur paid ur taxs to malaysia ???? what make u so important … u n ur words r rubbish.. please be more wise..

nothing wrong if u can afford to and naturally prefer import..but dont ever swear down ur country… people like u really dont know how to appriciate being Malaysian..u n all those stupid basher should let be adrift on the open sea n start ur own country.

• Seriously on May 25, 2010 at 9:49 am

another blind patriotic…

• Nutty Dad on May 25, 2010 at 1:44 pm

As long as Proton local R&D is dominated by 1community, they will never archieve anything good bcos Proton have steadfastly ignored the contribution & worth of the lain-lain community. I don’t want to state the obvious. Pls go figure. U can dig out the weekend NST & there is an article about Proton (funnily, it’s an old story…like 4 months late. See here http://paultan.org/2010/01/10/proton-employees-show-off-creative-concepts-at-its-2010-family-day-celebration/ )
      U will find the answer there. Peace man. Peace on earth^^
      >>Blind patriotic is for dumba**™

• khaix19a on May 25, 2010 at 5:47 pm

i have to agree with that….but the Proton Emas is different the design is not made by local people but italian…at least proton try to make an improvement…..even lexus and ford have some their car design by italian….

• think on May 24, 2010 at 9:50 pm

the design is really impressive..still toyota iq looks cute and stunning..

• Shaekey on May 24, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Even the small window opening is kinda like Proton Emas :)

• hmm i’ll take the EMAS lah, more stylish, more ergonomic, more interior space, 280nm torque and higher speed too. and oh its a hybrid, longer range maaa :P

• wochomi on May 24, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Give respect where respect is due. Being proud of something which you think is worth the piece of spoonfed glory?….. wakeup dude… condeming proton isn’t condeming the country. It’s a business unit so why cannot complaint bout it? Slap on a ‘national flag’ badge on something and it becomes unquestionable.We ain’t living in a communist country, you know.
    We need to see the seperation between patriotism and capitalism. Car is car, and there’s nothing worse than spoiled car manufacturer.

• bmpower on May 25, 2010 at 12:18 am

even italian copying proton Idea.

but many of us still japanese wannabe.

what a shame!

• Seriously on May 25, 2010 at 9:46 am

6.7secs? Damn I’m impress… I’ll take one! Although the interior is off… by alot!

• kremer on May 25, 2010 at 11:37 am

ugly…EMAS much more better….

• khaix19a on May 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm

for those who like to complaint a lot….if you dont like what you see just leave it alone…..dont just bash it ….

• cute!

• ezracopters on May 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm

well..guys..proton may be lose almost half a billion..even urs truly “blind patriotic” think that’s nonsense kind of business..but then again..we’re talking bout u and my money there…proton is not just a unit of business…and definitely not concurred by 1 community..u see..without proton, there wont be no vendors, less spare part producers, less workshop, less insurance company and lots more related business either with license or out..proton one way or another generate some kind of industry there…and we both know all the other related industry dominated by who..definitely not that 1 community..well thats ok, either 1 community @ lain2 community get rich, Malaysia win!!

after all those critics, proton slowly react..i know we want them to speed up..but gov also cant afford to support solely proton..proton had to find their way and start generate money..and thats wut happened now..gov had put d r8 man to head proton r8 now..read some more u’ll see his vision..money means mo r&d hence much batter quality product..plz..dont stop ur critic..it help proton to become much better but plzzzzzzzz…i mean stop bashin without a cause..eg, proton EMAS is still a concept car..will it be produce or not, thats no 2, but they dare to change n try new thing..thats wut we should be support of as malaysian…same thing happened when u grow a tree, this year it produce bad apple..next year perhaps it’ll be better..but we dont cut em before they fruit.

im speaking on behalf of silent community..we’re definitely had nothing to do with proton, but bcoz of proton some people can afford a car for a family n some of us making money out of it even only as mechanics..yes, i agree We need to see the seperation between patriotism and capitalism. Car is car, and there’s nothing worse than spoiled car manufacturer….

so wut do we do here…ask em to stop manufacturing,..we’re talking not just bout proton..but thousands of related business and workforces that could be reflected. mmm sell em to foreign company, man that not even an option, having share yes..but sell em no..proton part of Malaysia..when we lose our grip on proton..yes perhaps proton will make tons of money..but will the new proton give local a chance like they had today to share with..if im foreign investor..yes i’ll buy proton and close malaysian plant n setup new plant in china..lower cost n bigger domestic market.. so wut do we left with???

when we’re talking bout GLCs please noted that this is not just about profit…gov exist to serve the rakyat…so malaysian plz support by giving proton gud and constructive opinions, buy their product.not bashin..give em a chance to rise again..i dono bout u..but proton seem on a r8 path today..

by the way, 6.7..impressive..do i wanna own it…haha..no way..too fcute n futuristic for me..even EMAS..im down with top gear..the smell of a burning fuel..ahhhhhhhh

• wochomi on May 26, 2010 at 9:04 pm

It’s time Proton put the the ‘do or die’ policy on their vendors. For one moment (actually every saturday) when I get to ride in my colleague’s GTi Satria (not that I can afford one then), I tot we had something to be proud of. It’s arguably the damn best car they ever put together. A car manufacturer isn’t all about who puts what together, it’s also about how they response to customer/potential customer. And when I wanted to test drive the new saga… the guy doesn’t have the keys with him in the office… “do you really need to test drive?”… yah rite….buy pasar malam stuff also can test…

• Squawk on May 26, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Give people a good product at acceptable value and they will buy. If people don’t feel cheated, they won’t complain.

• just visiting on May 26, 2010 at 10:46 pm

u know what.. EMAS wont be sold in M’sia..the price will be too high..
    I think the car battery itself cost up to Savvy BOM cost.

• just visiting on May 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm

I think EMAS wont be sold in M’sia..the price will be too high..
    I think the car battery itself cost up to Savvy BOM cost..so mostly the price will be more than 100K..Mlysian mind set wont buy anything more 100K if its proton except the special edition neo

• i don't know on May 27, 2010 at 3:39 am

design is cute so do emas… somehow, i’m a really fat and big ( a little bit taller than most adult ), so i can’t really consider these car…
    the thing is why don’t gov start to implement NGV on EMAS? cheap, and lots of resources… what gov need to do is to make sure every single petrol station start to offer NGV… a northern man told me that at most only 2 petrol station offer NGV in KEDAH… what with that?
    fine, our gov want to go along with eco and green vehicle, so why don’t they start to consider to use nitrogen(liquid)? in california, there are several petriol station offer them since several years ago.. what come out from exhaust is water and the car that running using it is HONDA Clarity…

• will malaysian buy it?even at kl where ngv stations are abundance, how many kl drivers use it?aside from cab of course…

• i don't know on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:04 am

when did the riot of using NGV start? precisely when people heard that our gov want to increase petrol price due to crude oil current market price was over US100,,, the current situation is that the petrol price is stabilize and seem like new crude oil storage found, our people really don’t care about using NGV anymore…

will malaysian buy it? that question need a poll as it need people answer, not just me… however, if it me, i rather to use NGV if, for example my merc came with NGV tank… i heard a lot of talk say that using NGV show that you didn’t have money and no pride… why spend money on material A which cost 8 time more than material B when what they do just moving your car safely from one point to another point? if it for motor sport, that’s another matter? what i want is, to reduce my monthly spending regardless of what vehicle i used…