Lexus recalling LS460L and the LS460 in Malaysia

Toyota Motors recently issued a press statement regarding an issue with their VGRS steering system globally. We can now confirm that a few models in Malaysia has been affected by the problem, which include the Lexus LS460L and the LS460. Cars in Malaysia that may be affected is said to be lower than 10.

Lexus Malaysia will be in contact with the respective owners to consolidate the issue. The VGRS system helps the handling of the car. This is done by providing more stability when driving at high speeds and better manoeuvring at low speeds.

The problems is at low speeds, when the steering wheel exhibits a temporary steering wheel off-centre condition which happens after driving away from a tight turn where the steering was at a full lock position. the steering wheel usually will be corrected after 5 seconds of this happening but feedback from customers has spurred the company to correct this little niggle in the system.

Fortunately it doesn’t greatly affect safety and this will not happen when changing lanes or turning at intersections. UMW Toyota Motor have stated that they will be booking in the owners as soon as the parts are available to carry out the ‘corrective measure’ and customers can expect to wait no longer than an hour.

Customers who have booked the LS460L or LS460 Sport needn’t fear as Lexus Malaysia have maintained that all the models will go through corrective measures before they’re delivered.

For more information customer can also contact their helpline which is 1-800-8-LEXUS (53987)

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• punisher on May 25, 2010 at 3:01 pm

really …toyota or for that matter Lexus is a global shame……paying a fortune to own a Lexus ……

• Jonnie on May 25, 2010 at 3:07 pm

I already sold my 460L because of the problem.. can I get compensated?

• theanswer on May 25, 2010 at 3:16 pm

even global player cant keep their quality at the top.

• mitlanevo on May 25, 2010 at 3:33 pm

hopefully my new is-f dont have any problem…

• raybrig on May 25, 2010 at 3:41 pm

pursuit of perfection…not that really perfect…

• trav_da_man on May 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm

I lol at the replies here. I bet none of u owns Lexus and all mainly taking chance to bash toyota. What a bunch of losers here…..

• Jonnie on May 25, 2010 at 4:22 pm

good for them.. it is waste of money.. the brake is so bad..

• I just try to imagine that the steering wheel is ‘off-center’ after a u-turn and you can’t stop the car because the gas pedal is sticking… :D

• haha ya , you know what they say , nothing is perfect in this world, i wonder is recalling a trend nowadays ?…

• leng chai on May 25, 2010 at 4:06 pm

toyota maaa…normal like that …

• Where is the problem? The steering wheel is ‘off-centre’ for five seconds only and will be corrected automatically then.

Just wait five seconds after a tight turn, no need to recall… :D

• wuttaheck on May 25, 2010 at 5:27 pm

haha
      i bet if this faulty happens to proton, sure get bashed like theres no tomorrow…haha

• Jumbsuck on May 25, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Toyota US even recall for free f.o.c some model dated way back 90s, unlike Proton here. It is a beggar belief that only recalls that pose high safety risk is applicable so faulty power window, door carrier, door handle etc NOT considered Proton mass recall f.o.c. But it is high safety risk too for Proton car owners, risk for their WALLET safety. Or here just another case of the lesser of two evils Toyota or Proton, in constantly hiding ignoring procastinating all the faulty car parts like a serial cheats.

• Tiadaid on May 25, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Your argument makes no sense! You think Toyota recalls cars because of WALLET SAFETY? Hell, they didn’t even recall for the stuck accelerator pedal until a family DIED and they were FORCED to do so! If they were to recall cars because of door handle being broken then they’d ran the risk of being bankrupted because some opportunistic idiot would claim for a recall when he’s responsible for breaking the part in the first place! Go anywhere in the world, and you’ll see that recalls are often for SAFETY issues only, NO SUCH THING AS WALLET SAFETY!

• Jaybond on May 25, 2010 at 4:37 pm

That’s the risk of having everything computerized.

• myvec on May 25, 2010 at 6:15 pm

How advance the computer technology but it cannot compare our God gifted brain. Don’t to relay on computer 100% to take control.

What if skynet (terminator trilogy) really exist nowadays? Human too relay on computer to protect them self but the computer itself destroy mankind.

Scare if this kinda thing happen in the future…..

• staff on May 25, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Wow… some ppl comparing Lexus to Proton~~~

• Prelude on May 25, 2010 at 10:19 pm

it’s good right…i am waiting ..they comparing proton with bmw..haha

• Motorist on May 25, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Toyota has learned the lesson & now pro-actively take action.

Companies that wish to uphold it’s reputation will do what is necessary to ensure future sales are not affected. Some may say consumers have short memory but the impact of swepping under the carpet or worse still, deny, will be catastrophic.

The example of a company that did the right thing during a crisis was Johnson&Johnson 1982 Tylenol tampering crisis. William Carpenter, Product Director, took the bold step of recalling ALL Tylenol in the market. Although, the majority wasnt tampered with, the total recall made J&J the trusted brand that it is today. William did not hide the facts nor did he sit on it. He also did a PR campaign to reassure consumers. Sure, Tylenol was hit in the short term but you cant let one lousy crisis ruin the whole company’s product profile. What William did not only saved the product but also saved the company. It is now the case study of what to do correctly in a crisis (MBA students can vouch for this).

An example of how not to do it. Bausch & Lomb 2006 Renu contact lens solution fungus infection crisis. Denial followed by wait and see. By the time they decided to do a global recall, it was too late. Fungus infection was reported worldwide. Until today, there are lawsuits pending in the US by affected consumers. The brand’s other products suffered in sales & till today, confidence in the brand has yet to go back to it’s heydays.

• White Jack on May 25, 2010 at 6:41 pm

My advice to all car makers: Keep the car design basic and simple with quality !! The more features you add, the more recalls you will get !!

• alpha999 on May 26, 2010 at 10:57 am

agree…..this is what happens when new models comes with too many electronics incorporated inside….

• mati katak on May 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm

hahahaha….shame shame Lexus brand.

Kete proton pun takde problem like this…..

• Sophian on May 25, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Like my german friend said….LEXUS…another version of Toyota. still toyota quality for the LEXUS…

• Toyota and Honda drivers are idiots on May 25, 2010 at 7:39 pm

I’ve driven the Malaysian pre-facelift LS460L and I always thought their steering lack feel and very woody. It feels very numb and doesn’t communicate as it feels too light. It is very dangerous when you are doing more than 90km/h when changing lanes or take on a corner. I believe it has the same steering rack as the Corolla Altis since both of the car has an identical feel. I am not bashing up the Lexus, but this is what I’ve experienced from the LS 460L. The GS 300 is rather good actually.

• bmpower on May 25, 2010 at 8:07 pm

toyota should close their shop.
    80 years still cannot make a good car ahhh?

• Motorist on May 26, 2010 at 11:15 am

BMW, founded 1916, still cannot make good cars & bikes ahhh?

May 2010: BMW said Tuesday it would recall 122,000 motorcycles worldwide owing to brake problems.

A BMW spokesman told AFP the company had uncovered a risk of leaks in the K 1200 GT motorcycle’s braking system.

source: http://www.france24.com/en/20100518-bmw-recall-more-hundreds-thousands-motorcycles-brake-problems

Feb 2010: MY BMW 550i Gran Turismo and the 2009-2010 BMW 7-Series recall.
      Due to a failure to comply with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety standard No. 110, “Tire Selection and Rims.” The tire pressure label on the vehicles incorrectly indicates the vehicle’s seating capacity as five passengers when its actual seating capacity is four. In the 7-Series the recall refers only to the luxury package that adds the option of “rear comfort seats,” which adds power seats and reduces rear-seating capacity from three to two.

source: http://www.egmcartech.com/2010/02/23/bmw-recalls-2010-550i-gran-turismo-and-2009-2010-7-series/

Jan 2010: BMW issued a recall on 2010 models of BMW X5 and X6 for poorly bonded windshields. In the event of a rollover, the stability of the roof may be compromised, allowing the roof to cave and increasing risk of injuries.

source: http://www.mncaraccidentlaw.com/2010-bmw-recall-windshield-problems.html

July 2009: BMW recalls X5 and X6 model year 2009 and the R1200 RT motorbike MY 2007-2009, all three vehicles having issues with the braking system.

source: http://www.autoevolution.com/news/bmw-recalls-2009-x5-x6-and-r1200-rt-bike-in-the-us-8770.html

Nov2008: Recall on BMW 2008 or 2009 M3s equipped with the DCT double clutch gear box. Under hard braking the transmission’s software is prone to initiate a multi-stage downshift, which could cause the car to stall.

source: http://www.autoblog.com/2008/11/20/bmw-m3-recalled-over-new-double-clutch-gearbox/

Aug 2008: BMW have issued a recall of 200,000 of their vehicles. The recall covers both cars and SUVs, the models affected are the 2006 3 Series, 2004-06 5 Series and 2004-06 X3 SUVs.

The reason for the recall is a faulty airbag which does not deploy when the car is involved in an accident.

source: http://www.product-reviews.net/2008/08/13/bmw-recall-affects-200000-3-series-5-series-x3/

• huhu…noting possible…
    lexus also now like proton in term of quality..

• BMW M-Problem on May 26, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Well Lexus or not …..There is no such thing as 100% defect free.
    Own up and fix the problem quickly rather than keep the owners
    guessing. Or even better ….you will love this which I personally have seen.
    Wait for the warranty period to be over and get the owner to pay for it……

Sounds familiar…….

• coldhand on Jul 05, 2010 at 8:58 pm

But as i know there are quite many from grey import….do Lexus cover them as well? those car named as Lexus also although the cars sell by grey importers….