Italdesign-Giugiaro to work exclusively with VW?

Volkswagen LogoThe announcement that VW has taken up 90.1 percent stake in Italdesign will come as a sigh of relief to its workforce. VW has stated that there will be no redundancies among the 800-strong work force. This takeover though may be bad news for other auto companies as apparently, it has been said that they will gradually relinquish relationships with other auto manufacturers such as BMW. Giugiaro has been credit for alot of the design and engineering work on BMW’s second generation MINI.

This would mean that they would eventually be designing exclusively for Volkswagen. “VW Group assured us [we would] keep our freedom and identity – we will keep our creative independence.” according to a spokesman from Italdesign. He also went on to add that Italdesign would also retain its technical engineering departments and would still be based in Turin.

“Giugiaro said it was a decision he took thinking of the opportunities looking to the market, which is becoming more and more global. Because we are a small company, we were fighting in such a big market – it could be a risk.” added the spokesman. The spokesman also confirmed that they will be working progressively with every brand within the VW group.

Though workers and employees of Italdesign will be safe, it would be a shame that the design and engineering concepts of the company will not be available to other fledgling automotive manufacturers. But if this even happens it’s likely to be slow and progressive and should not affect current contracts.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Seriously on May 26, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Guess my little conspiracy theory has some truth in it after all :) Kinda figured that’ll happen.

• staff on May 26, 2010 at 2:10 pm

So, IDG will become a branch of design dept for VW.. that’s all…

• bryan.jones on May 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

what about EMAS? i believe we could be able to secured the design patent at least..

• Proton paid for EMAS and therefore EMAS is Proton’s intellectual property. It would be a serious offence, if VW would use any EMAS work without Protons permission.

Not only that VW would lose every lawsuit concerning EMAS. More seriously, a lawsuit would damage VW’s reputation. Keep in mind how much money is spend for advertisements anually…

If VW wanted to use some parts of the EMAS design, it would simply contact Protons management and pay a few millions for it. This is not new in the car industry, as behind the curtain car companies are frequently working together. Examples: The Mercedes Vito is using VW TDI engines and the VW ‘crafter’ (a small lorry) is a Mercedes development, Lotus is using Toyota engines and even Toyota is using Peugeot diesel engines in their european ‘Aygo’… ;)

• venven81 on May 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm

i don’t see why VW would want to use EMAS for its own vehicles. It has got the whole IDG for their own consumption. So, save the EMAS for Proton.

• already said in last sentence..”But if this even happens it’s likely to be slow and progressive and should not affect current contracts.”

• malaysia memang boleh on May 26, 2010 at 2:12 pm

So how about proton emas and persona replacement?

• ibex7 on May 26, 2010 at 2:45 pm

there gone already opportunity for other auto car makers to access Giugiaro’s technical expertise…haih…VW is monopolising such a great design firm …

• venven81 on May 26, 2010 at 2:52 pm

it’s sigh of relief for the employees but not for other car manufacturers that are using/going to use its design since they will be working exclusively with VW only. those who love IDG works will eventually need to buy cars from VW whether they like VW or not. But…i thought most ppl would buy cars because of branding’s sake and then only follow by design? No?

• trav_da_man on May 26, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Proton to be bought by VW is invertible!!!!

• feisal on May 26, 2010 at 6:43 pm

So Proton is to be bought by VW but is reversible? Or Proton buying VW, which is impossible! What you want to say lah…

• pultat on May 26, 2010 at 6:52 pm

I think he meant inevitable.

• P4k4bu on May 26, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Naah…. I think it’s enviable…
          ;-)

• trav_da_man on May 27, 2010 at 2:59 am

My bad. I mean its unavoidable! Soon Proton will be under VW, either directly or indirectly. Apologies for my bad spelling though!

Btw check out the malaysian insider and news emerged that there will be announcement between proton n volks in a couple of weeks! So does this rings the bell folks?

• tokmoh on May 26, 2010 at 3:20 pm

“VW Group assured us [we would] keep our freedom and identity – we will keep our creative independence.”

Independence? How is that so when in the future their only client is VW n its subsidiaries?

VW shouldn’t be too greedy =.=

• I think they have their right to do so since they are now the owner of the company. By the way, you talked about greed. Who’s the greedy one in our country? :-)

• kerelbort on May 26, 2010 at 4:26 pm

yeah.. it finally out in open… VW has shown us what they really want to do.. they can’t compete with China low price. why give them good design? so stop it from design…

unsure what going to happen with persona replacement and EMAS concept. will SZA making announcement soon? hope we would still have the patern for that 2, the first and last design from giugiaro for Proton.

unless being taken over by VW. anyway SEAT would be up for sale to counter IDG buy over. :P

• read la last sentence

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:30 am

tak boleh lawan China. please la check di China kereta jenama apa yang paling laku macam goreng pisang panas. Volkswagen no 1

Its VOLSWAGEN. selling million unit every year only in China. China is bigger overseas market for Volkswagen and bigger market for GM USA. Volkswagen get a bigger pie in China passanger car.

• johnny on May 26, 2010 at 5:57 pm

bring over IDG employees to lotus or proton. we need them.. badly!

• Don’t be unfair.

Proton’s head of design, Azlan Othman, is a gifted designer.

• A car is not designed by a single person.

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:33 am

agree. designed not by a single person but good design come from good teamwork

• ruma salee on May 26, 2010 at 8:06 pm

azlano – gifted?? man, look at his “masterpiece”.. that’s not what proton should do, even 7 yo carmaker in China could do better!

• And what chinese car is designed by chinese designers?

I.e. Brilliance BS6 was designed by Giugiaro and Pininfarina.

I’m sure you can tell me many chinese designed cars, come on… ;)

• malaysia memang boleh on May 26, 2010 at 9:48 pm

even he can design and you see even 7 years old from china can design and how about you?
          You’re insulting a person who can really design,so what’s the best car you can design….ermm 2D boxy car?
          You can just shut up if you can’t design a car,you can see how good is azlano’s design,you can see how ugly is japanese car design,especially the toyota dugong and the ugly city

• morondetector on May 27, 2010 at 9:35 am

so, which Proton design are you so proud and that he can be proud of ? yes, he is a designer but there are thousands of designers who graduated every year and who can design. just because he can design does not mean his design is good. all the self-designed Proton look like shit, feel like shit and drive like shit.

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:34 am

orang Malaysia pandai design cuma tak diberi peluang untuk tonjolkan design mereka. Siapa tau Azlan punya design yg bagus. Maybe design nya tak dpt dijelma sbb Proton hanya tumpu market kelas rendah dan pertengahan

• redfueler on May 26, 2010 at 6:45 pm

next vw buy proton…huhuw

• proton have confirmed that there in talks with vw. results in two weeks.

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2010 at 9:13 pm

The EMAS program would still be Proton.

No reason for VW to need the EMAS program…they already had the Up! concept up (pun intended) and running a long time ago.

I suppose I spoke too soon about Giugiaro continue to work for other manufacturers.

• Squawk on May 26, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Other design companies will benefit from IDG closing itself off to non VW companies.

• alamak, proton the first and the last concept car is emas. Proton in malaysia is no 1, can bully rakyat jual proton mahal kat malaysia kat luar jual murah. Vw is the world leader no 1 tau tapi tak bully orang pun.

• Artz3 on May 27, 2010 at 1:07 am

Any thought bout Nazmi announcement of possible deal with VW?

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:36 am

http://paultan.org/2010/05/27/proton-to-announce-volkswagen-tie-up-talks-results-in-1-to-2-weeks-posts-profit-for-fy200910/

• kerelbort on May 27, 2010 at 8:55 am

KZM – i did read the last sentences, but anything could happen, its a business world anyway, they would honor the current business but something must have happen thus making Proton have to make such haste announcement in a week time on collaboration with VW.