Proton to announce Volkswagen tie-up talks results in 1 to 2 weeks, posts profit for FY2009/10

Proton 25th Anniversary

When Proton first announced that it was not proceeding with a supposedly finalized tie-up with Volkswagen quite some time ago, to be honest I had abandoned hope in such a tie-up happening.

But that feeling stayed only for a moment as over the past few Proton events between then and now, the responses from Proton management especially Datuk Syed Zainal when answering questions from the media regarding the revival of such a tie-up seemed to say no comment officially but somehow you just had the feeling that Proton was up to something exciting when you looked at the good Datuk’s facial expression.

And then last night at its AGM where it announced its latest financial numbers, the chairman confirmed it – Proton and Volkswagen is indeed in talks and an outcome of what is being discussed would be announced in two weeks time. He declined to mention any specifics for now, saying he prefers not to jump the gun, so we don’t know if its something like a contract assembly agreement or perhaps something larger involving an equity tie-up or a technical collaboration.

We suspected that something was going on – while going in and out of the Proton COE HQ in Shah Alam to pick up cars for our Driven shoot in the past few months, we’ve seen visiting Touaregs parked near the higher management parking a few times and had a feeling it was perhaps Volkswagen officials over for a visit.

Proton CEO Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin also revealed that Proton is expected to launch a new model around October or November 2010. This is quite interesting actually as Datuk Syed Zainal said the new model will contribute significantly to Proton’s ability to further increase market share both at home and in export markets. If it is in fact a rebadged Mitsubishi, this means we also have export rights for the car.

At its AGM earlier this week, Proton posted a consolidated profit before tax of RM285 million for the financial year ending 31st March 2010, an improvement of over 150% compared to the last financial year’s RM319 million loss. It reported an increase in domestic sales volume of 8%, despite a 2% vehicle sales volume (TIV) contraction. Cumulative revenue was RM8.23 billion – a 27% increase over the RM6.49 billion posted in the previous financial year. Proton attributes this improvement to encouraging sales of the Saga, Persona and the Exora, which are Proton’s three core models.

Look after the jump for a PDF scan of the last quarter’s results.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theanswer on May 27, 2010 at 10:08 am

good2. hopefully p1 gets a new engine. vw engine is superb.

• 4agze (Member) on May 27, 2010 at 10:11 am

good for them

• Alifz on May 27, 2010 at 10:13 am

Invaders are coming back!

• pelams on May 27, 2010 at 10:27 am

new waja is coming??

• razoraz on May 27, 2010 at 10:27 am

if proton complicated partnership with VW, the impact of very large market can achieve! as an example of technology partnership between Mercedes-Nissan-Renault. If so Nissan Vannette convert to Mercedes Vannette for the next model, i think so many uncle at pasar malam are very proud of their vans. hahaha

• hope that proton will use vw’s 1.4 tsi engine in their cars..

• barry on May 27, 2010 at 10:32 am

Hopefully, the rumoured stories of the new Perdana rebadged from the Passat. And that it will be a 5-seater instead of the stupid 4-seater arrangement of the Passat CC. And if it sells for around RM100K, boy will it shake up the D-segment market!

• Syarif on May 27, 2010 at 11:01 am

If VW gives the Passat CC to Proton, then VW are killing their own market, worldwide. Most possibly, it will be a watered down version of the normal Passat to become the new Perdana.

• p4k4bu on May 27, 2010 at 11:24 am

I think different market (region) have different taste/requirement lah. China want long version. Europeans want ride & handling; maybe diesel thrown in as well.

For Malaysian/ASEAN market, maybe big boot (big enough to fit 5 golf bags), super cold air-con…. bigger radiator too or maybe just add another fan, use cheaper or low-tech local parts so that maintenance cost will be lower…

Yeah… watered down a lot la…. but always have option for leather seat …. ;-)

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:41 am

Volkswagen Passat CC only allowed to sell in Malaysia and ASEAN ( AFTA ) lor I thk. Volkswagen cant give permission Proton to export it other than ASEAN country

• theanswer on May 27, 2010 at 11:27 am

passat cc already have 5 seater la. nway most of us dont expect p1 going to rebadge vw..but getting some engine tech is more than enough especially the turbo tech.

• but guys..do u remember the last time when Paul posting article about strange clay model appear in proton short clip (i don’t know when..maybe around end of last year)…the model looks identical to Passat..could be?….

• mystvearn on May 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm

VW ain’t that stupid to give Proton the Passat CC, though I think everyone who wants a D-segment car would really wish for it. Pray so much proton to do some extra sweet talk so that VW are willing to give the Passat CC.

I think it will be the same with Seat. VW will give proton a car, but not current car. More like last generation car and proton can go work on exterior details of the car. Then again, the last gen Passat/Audi A4/A6 is still significantly younger than the Perdana which has been around before I sat for UPSR….15 years now…

Hope it all goes well, and Proton gets a decent model. Not an audi A8 which is just difficult to park and hugely unnecessary. I bet you the moment Proton launch whatever D-segment cars, all government agencies will swtich to it. They are not that patient now. Before they run to Camry’s, Merc’s, might as well satisfy the market.

• u want a good car…but with cheap price?? come oNnnnnn…..

• BRAZBUZ on May 28, 2010 at 12:14 am

i’m sure vw will give the mk6 passat and not passat cc

• Emerson Cilipadi on May 27, 2010 at 10:32 am

yay….mamak’s car company is expanding …kuch kuch hota hai

• kerelbort on May 27, 2010 at 10:33 am

most likely VW after Carnivoure

• normal_user on May 27, 2010 at 10:38 am

I hope this one is for real. The last time was so dissapointing. Without an established partner, DSZ knows that Proton can’t survive alone to compete globally. I thought
    Khazanah’s analyst had come up with a findings that support such tie-up between VW & Proton.

Hopefully the government will realize that protection & ‘national pride’ is no longer feasible.

• Cynical on May 27, 2010 at 10:42 am

Hopefully the deal will get tied up this time.

• hope vw will have some stake in proton, where proton can play as the assemble/manu of vw cars for this region, and vw will make proton focus on smart city car based on EMAS for the world market.

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:52 am

I thk the deal will be like that. Proton will become as Volkswagen partner in South East Asia contries. I means Volkswagen will use Proton facilities to build car and sell it to SEA countries. Thk about AFTA

• nighttrain on May 27, 2010 at 10:46 am

hopefully VW can supply top quality interior and exterior parts at much cheaper price to Proton. Sorry local vendors, it’s just business. hopefully.

• Manuel Ferrari on May 27, 2010 at 11:16 am

Much as I wanted be hopeful like you, I just don’t see it’s happening. Cronisme still plays a big role in Malaysian society with Proton not excluded. Thus we can expect the quality issues will not go away.

What I really hopeful and could see is the local vendors improving their quality and starts supplying parts for VW globally, now that is something we can be proud of.. if the marriage between P1 and VW materialized that is.

• venven81 on May 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm

talking about local vendors supplying parts to VW, just like u mentioned, they’ll need to GREATLY improve their quality before even thinking about supplying parts to VW.

• MoFaz on May 27, 2010 at 3:07 pm

our local vendors have been supplying parts for Boeing / Airbus. if they can meet stringent specifications imposed in aviation industries, why not for automotive?
          it’s just because Proton sourcing parts from wayyyy too many small vendors.

• Helmet on May 27, 2010 at 11:02 am

So do this mean I can finally get my hands on a Scirocco at competitive prices? Insanely cool!

• 4agze (Member) on May 27, 2010 at 11:27 am

yeah..keep dreaming on..talking about rebadge current VW models is not feasible and not a win-win for VW at the moment..i think main talking point is gonna be the utilization of tanjung malim plant..a high tech plan which capable to produce 1mill car per year..so expect more VW CKD version coming down to town like the passat, polo n golf… n yeah, minus the GTIs and Scirocco..

• theanswer on May 27, 2010 at 11:29 am

i read this sms in newspaper “proton own lotus, why lotus cant sell elise under 100k? ” lol.

• malaysia memang boleh on May 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm

in uk itself,the price is more than that,if proton own lotus doesn’t mean that they can sell lotus car cheaper than that,lotus only produce 1000++ per year,so they can’t sell it cheaper,or at the end they will suffer.

• mujahid on May 27, 2010 at 11:39 am

yeap, proton scirocco

• Jumbsuck on May 27, 2010 at 11:09 am

Habis lah jagoh kampong. Proton better quit or die trying before VW found out just how crappy power window problem as school kid error. Look at huge inventory write off, still cannot get rid of savvy junks. WTF Proton got govt r&d grants wang rakyat gone just to waste tons of good steels.

• mufasa on May 27, 2010 at 12:00 pm

ermm..power window issue…havent heard that for soo long…. :)
      and i dont understand why we need to open our market to outsider ,as other country outside there make p1 very hard to enter their market….. our market,our way aa

• Sentra_lize on May 27, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Jumbsuck…u r so funny…why u so sensitive with power window? u c even lamborghini recalled their product, lexus and u c toyota and honda struggle to get back their customer in US..Proton will be okay ma….the problem is malaysian minded itself, not proton..every country oso got their own problem..kroni ka,politic ka..everywer got..

• you moron, proton ZERO recall= car very quality??? b0d0h la you, memang b0d0h, thats why you driving second hand proton.

• Tiadaid on May 27, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Who said proton never recall? Savvy got recall due to wheel bearing problems. Perdana also was recalled during the mitsubishi recall scandal. But simple minded Malaysians think every small problem must recall! See if toyota would recall their cars if power window got problem! They only recall when SAFETY of the user at risk!

• Salamander on May 28, 2010 at 10:40 am

Stupid people never understand the statement. He was trying to say that each carmaker has their own problem.

• jazzer on May 27, 2010 at 11:13 am

what a great synergy of proton,lotus n vw..
    this one can kill honda n toyota ma…

• venven81 on May 27, 2010 at 2:03 pm

VW doesn’t need this so-called synergy to kill the japs le…

• Squawk on May 27, 2010 at 11:15 am

We will be getting Skodas. And if we piss off the Germans, we’ll be getting SEATs. :-P

• Last year profit is not mean is future you stii can keep the profit, PROTON, you should know your CAMPRO engine limitation and no. years had been use, u have no noice, need to develope the new engine, new car, more horse power and torqe to beat your competitor, HYUNDAI CAN BEAT HONDA & TOYOTA, WHY PROTON CANT BEAT ALL THESE THREE.

• mujahid on May 27, 2010 at 11:46 am

of course la only this year profit, next yr still do no…. but at least the vw know now proton is in the right direction…. increase the chance to make jv ….

• Body volkswagen with Campro fuel guzzler engine. Hahaha.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 5:31 pm

syoh.. you always call campro furl guzzler.. you surely mutta shitta…. people know new iafm use less fuel… cps use less fuel than iafm.. u better don’t compare cps 1.6 with viva 1.0 engine, or people will know that u r very stupid…. compare with vios 1.5 also is not fair!!!! campro got 100cc more than that dugong meh..

• redxdevil on May 31, 2010 at 10:09 am

compare with same cc la =)

• Prismo on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:07 pm

before this SY0H driving kancil 850.. and now he driving persona and he still wonder why the fc are doubled…

• after tax….that small company wat? one year rev? da tax ker

• I want a proton re-badged new sharan wt sliding door mpv (at RM100k) wt either the 1.4tsi petrol or the 2.0tdi diesel. Will be a big bro to the exora.(exora can have the 1.4 turbo engined from the Touran – settle the underpowered issues)

• owner don complain pun underpowered

• My fren says its adequate for normal usage….but no harm in putting a better VW’s 1.4 TSI from the Touran MPV which equates to a cheaper road tax, better FC and more power (very diesel like huge torque at low rpm) ; )

• Motorist on May 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Four our sake (& tax payers money), I dearly hope Proton will be serious about it.

I’ve said it so many times. Proton needs to go back to being an assembler with a big boy(s). Though it’s good & prideful to create your own car from scratch, it’s a loss making venture. Proton does not have the capacity & economy of scale to even meet the big boys in an open market.

Lose the pride. It’s only business & in business, you do the right thing to survive. Face is when you succeed as an equal, not when your competitors are suppressed artificially by a Government policy that favours the special ppl.

• Seriously on May 27, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Amen bro, amen.

• Elvis on May 27, 2010 at 3:06 pm

1000% agree

• P4k4bu on May 27, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Yup.
      Proton can only afford to make ONE model. At most, two models. Just make plenty of variants.
      The rest, just rebadge or assemble.

• kopi-man on May 27, 2010 at 3:59 pm

after 25 yrs only realized?
      so what is the import car tax about to “help build an automotives industries”
      so where is the R&D funds all this years leads to?

We should be ASHAME if we goes back to rebadge. Then the Gov, please remove all import car tax. That makes no sense to help a rebadge car company.

This shows how weak the company direction and strategy.

You have been protected for 25 yrs, and ends up doing this. China car company fly already.

Proton supporter, aren’t you ashame if we goes back to re-badge?

• Lewis on May 27, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Why would develop a new car if it is sure that it will not return the profit. Better rebadge in order to cater for all the segments like Nautica. For sure they are going to bank rupt again if followed all the nice to have but not sure they have buyer or not.

• ‘You have been protected for 25 yrs, and ends up doing this. China car company fly already.’

There’s a big difference between China and Malaysia: The market here is much smaller. In 2009 only 536,905 cars were sold in Malaysia, while i.e. Cherry alone produced 508,500 units in China.

It’s easier for the Chinese to pass the costs for new developments to many customers, than for Proton to pass the costs to less customers.

Look at VW: They are putting their 1.4TSFI engine in every model they can. Not only because it’s a good engine, but to build more engines and get the costs per unit down. The more engines of this specific type they build, the less the single customer have to pay for it’s development… ;)

• iLOVEkimchi on May 27, 2010 at 9:11 pm

agree with you bro..

china market is so big compare to us..

in fact, malaysia should not be went in to car making industry in the first place..!! am i right??
          25 years ago..someone made this up, giving a big hat for all the nation, till not the hat still too big for us to fit in! not to mention how the govt protection on local car..making we suffer…

think as a whole.. if the industry cannot help the country economy, wat for doing tat?

just look at Thailand…govt are making good money with all the car makers planting their factory on their land.. and their ppl drive good car with affordable price… u win i win… all happy…

let think of this the other way round,

if 25 years ago, Proton didn’t exist….till now…will we be ashame of if we dun have our own car in malaysia?? will we?

i guess nope rite?

• The only way I can see for Proton to survive is export, export, export…

It’s still a mystery for me, why Proton withdraw from continental Europe. Cheap cars like Dacia are selling like hot cakes there. And there’s demand for a cheap, fast, sporty car like the Satria Neo too…

Not to forget, that there are still markets in the world without import restrictions. Look at the african countries.

But you’re right. The car industry is not as important for Malaysia as for i.e. Germany. Malaysia has it’s strongholds in the electronics industry and other industries.

• Elvis on May 28, 2010 at 1:18 am

Yes, you are rite. In the first place PROTON got into car business because of fast profit from rebadge. Later, most of the component are made locally. THEN our PM got greeder(as usually). Want to make our cars, R & D, internal politic of Proton got worse, vendors mostly cronies until today. Malaysia is a small market, and for years export is not profitable for Proton. Wake up Malaysians. Proton tried and failed to expand further. And when it got problem, G always bailed out. This thing should stop, and i think now is the best time for change. Rebadge is good and later on, to make the components all local. But dont go making your own cars anymore.

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:21 am

also i agree. the key is export and thk as globally brand rather only hope malaysia market. plus malaysia market have two nasional car company. Max we can produce is only 500, 000 car ( if get 95 % market share ).

but i thk DSZ has start Proton to became global brand.

• Salamander on May 28, 2010 at 10:46 am

I think they made a right choice. You can only see 1 side of the story, but the thing is making our own car company has its value in the long run.

Just imagine how many engineers, designer and professionals are created?

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:15 am

but I thk Proton must look South East Asia as their market rather than only see Malaysia market. and I thk DSZ in right direction. He just mention 5 year later, Proton will export 70 % of their car, only 30 % sales com from Malaysia market. I thk they begin think globally.

AFTA gift benefit to Proton. AFTA giving Proton an access to 2, 000, 000 passenger car potential market. And I thk it will be grow rapidly because demand from Vietnam ( new potential market future )

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:16 am

also Indonesia and Kemboja market will be bigger

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 5:37 pm

DO YOU KNOW THAT AUDI SOLD 75000 AUDI A8 IN FIRST 5 DAY IN CHINA!!!! YES!!! SEVENTY FIVE THOUSAND AUDI A8 IN CHINA IN THE FIRST 5 DAY!!!! IF THEY HAVE MANY PEOPLE THAT CAN AFFORD AUDI A8.. OF COZ THEY HAVE 10 TIMES PEOPLE THAT CAN AFFORD CHERRY AND GEELY!!!!

• Sorry, not true:

“Ingolstadt/Changchun, 2010-04-07
            Best first quarter for Audi in China
            Car deliveries exceed 50,000 in a single quarter for first time (up 77 percent on prior-year period)
            Sales Director Schwarzenbauer: “Clear confirmation of Audi’s position as premium-segment market leader in China”
            AUDI AG achieved its best quarterly figures ever in China (including Hong Kong) in the first three months of the year and delivered a total of 51,449 vehicles – a rise of 77 percent compared with the first quarter of 2009. Audi is thus clearly asserting the leading position of the brand with the four rings in the Chinese premium market.

Audi sold a total of 158,941 cars in China in 2009.”

https://www.audi-mediaservices.com/publish/ms/content/en/public/pressemitteilungen/2010/04/07/best_first_quarter.standard.gid-oeffentlichkeit.html

• peYno on May 27, 2010 at 10:21 pm

dear kopiman. its norm to see car manufacturer rebadging.. 20% re badge, 80 home ground… Daihatsuoso rebadge toyota car but at the same time produce its own homeground model

but i felell ashame to see car manufacturer doing 100% rebadge and claim as NATIONAL CAR

prrrfthh

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:09 am

i really agree open market fairly. remove all the duty tax. so malaysian people will be happy. Honda, Toyota, Kia, Nissan, Chery, Volkswagen, BMW and Merc etc also will be happy. Our minister will be happy also becoz can buy luxury car at affordable price.

and i thk Proton will be better if we open our market fairly. See what happen to MAS after Air Asie enter their market, They successfulling making more money

• yippi33 on May 28, 2010 at 11:12 am

yeah..and remove the government subsidies for gas, rice, sugar etc in the name of open market……in that way we’ll be back to square one!!!…the point is, the G needs to find some ways to find income and reduce the deficit..

• paultan fan on May 29, 2010 at 9:55 am

yippi33

dont sempitkan pemikiran. we have a lot of resource. if a small country like DUTCH can maximize their land and resource, why we can’t?

the question is are our minister enough brillient to maximize resource in making more money? look at singapore. compare temasek with our khazanah. temasek making money globally but our khazanah 70 % income only come from malaysia. BE A GLOBAL

and your question about removal all subsidies. ya our gov want remove all subsidies. they said malaysia will be bancrup 2019. aiyoo. how thy manage our country. we borrow huge amount of money. hundred bilion

if we very smart managing our resources ( oil, land, forest, tourism sector etc ), i thk we can beat South Korea, Singapore also Taiwan.

• iLOVEkimchi on May 27, 2010 at 9:20 pm

AGREE 1,000,000 %

if we have enuf fund(loan money,1 of the tower is actually by bruenai)

i tell you, there will build 10 more TWIN TOWER in each state i guess!!

• oldwira on May 27, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Dey brainless,
    P1 only made profit 20 mil from Jan to Mar 2010 because they reinvested the money for the development of a new model to be launched this coming Oct. Use your brain wisely.

• Jumbsuck on May 27, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Considered very lucky that space-age VW willing to buy stone-age Proton as BN now really broke any single cent counts. BN, Broke Nation.

• Elvis on May 27, 2010 at 3:15 pm

I hope Malaysians will stop the hidden slogan “Pride First, No Money Later” or Biar papa asal bergaya. Malaysia is fast depleting its 1# source of income which is Tapis Crude Oil, the most expensive oil in the world. By 2013, we will have to let go of all form of subsidies or end up like you said, Broken Nation. I find it very odd that our PM is calling for High Income Society when we had better chances during PM Dr. Mahathir times. GDP are not as high as last time in fact for the past 6 years, we are actually experiencing dwelling growth. Salary for most private firms are actually stagnanted for so long that increasing the salary scale across all sectors will kill every industry in Malaysia. Just because our rakyat spending their future money now, doesnt mean that they will get more money later. Please ponder what happen to high debt countries like USA, Europe etc. these countries will never recover from their financial disaster.

• Motorist on May 27, 2010 at 3:52 pm

The politicians are so busy lining thier own pockets that they dont really care about what’s going to happen 5-10 yrs from now. It’s all about plunder, plunder, plunder.. as much & as fast as you can.

Slogans are to fool the masses that has been brained washed for over 50 yrs.

We were at par with South Korea in the 60’s. We had natural resources, unlike South Korea. We had no major war, unlike South Korea. But look at where we are now vs South Korea.

Our ppl have no desire to be a first world nation. We are not hungry enough to want to be successful. All this because the ruling party has been spoon feeding the masses with slogans & coddling them, when they should have been taught to advance themselves. The masses are now lazy, rather rent seek than to do an honest day’s work. To them, it’s “I’m the lord & master of this land. You feed me & my family. You owe me for stealing my wealth. You pay me back now”.

So what if the country is going bankrupt. The big G will still provide for me as I am the lord & master of this land.

We are doom if this ruling party cont. to plunder & brain wash the masses.

• Tiadaid on May 27, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Meh, you can blame the politicians, but truth is EVERY Malaysian is a fault. We’re becoming greedy and it shows. Just look at how many private companies paying pittance for the small fry workers while rewarding their bigwigs handsomely. Look at how many businesses cheat consumers by offering low quality products at exorbitant prices, as well as needlessly raising prices whenever there’s a rise, whether it’s petrol prices or salary. These are the cause of Malaysia’s ills, and we are the ones causing it. But we also have the power to change it. So instead of blaming others, do it yourself! If everyone changed for the better, then things could surely be better

• iLOVEkimchi on May 27, 2010 at 10:15 pm

surely u r doing doing business dude.. dun blame the businessman.

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:29 am

i will change gov for next election. we almost bancrupcy. very sad. huge debt because to support mega project like Petronas twin tower ( now the tallest building is Burj Khalifa in Dubai, 2nd.., 3rd.. so where KLCC?.. only happy as tallest building less than 5 years ) , sepang circuit ( who manage – mokhzani mahathir ) and etc..

• Elvis on May 28, 2010 at 9:42 am

Depends on our leaders first and formost. If we have leaders like in Singapore, we dont talk about small things like corruption, cronies, multiracial etc. Look, corruption is Malaysia is very apparent across the board, inter racial relationship have gotten worse, and sadly our leaders famous for kick backs. If you blame the rakyat, better change the G then.

• ON-OFF BUTTON on May 29, 2010 at 1:50 am

Elvis..

Dude, If u feel like Singapore is the best compared to Malaysia.. why don’t u apply for becoming a Singaporean then..?

U should be grateful to live in this country, although our country is not as “perfect” as Singapore, but our country is not that “bad enough” as to compare with our surrounding countries thus it is more peaceful here..

Btw, i’m proud to be a Malaysian.. :-)

• paultan fan on May 29, 2010 at 10:01 am

why our citizen if we compare to developed one, so they will say be singaporean, be american, be korean. so are you want to say that all people all civil must key their mouth. only talk good about gov.

aiyoo. i want my country to become better. i thk as rakyat, we must tell our gov that they not done a good job in managing our country. so hopefully they will change their leadership style to be better

• ON-OFF BUTTON on May 30, 2010 at 1:02 am

I’m not saying that our people cannot criticize our govt.. can, but, sometime, it must be show in a positive manner.. n what we can do is to help the govt with some supportive ideas.. n not always criticizing(COMPLAINING),

n with that, in my point of view, we can together build up our nation with our style in order to achieve our goal to becoming a good nation.. thus there is no need for us to imitate or to follow as what as the developed countries had done to their own homeland..

P/S ; I’m not a pro-govt , neither a pro-opposition..

Malaysia Boleh..!

• staff on May 27, 2010 at 6:11 pm

If you look back at the Vision 2020 planning bfore economy crisis 1997, Malaysia might be a high income country today… that was during Mahathir time… dont just say without getting a knowledge about it…

read some news can you?

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:32 am

but 1998 – 2004 I thk finance minister is Mahathir Mohamed. so why growth of GDP lower than 8 %. You must remember Mahathir Mohamed say that we must consistently have a GDP growth more than 8 % until 2020. How many years our GDP growth lower than 8%? I thk almost 12 years

• Salamander on May 28, 2010 at 10:52 am

Swt. That is because our country got financial crisis on 1997. Before that the GDP is constantly at 7-8%.

• paultan fan on May 29, 2010 at 10:10 am

so finincial crisis is 1997, why after 13 years, the situation has not change. The circle I thk is 10 years. but now is almost 13 years.

if you say mahathir done a better job compared other finance minister, so please show me the data that show mahathir as successfull finance minister.

also i want to ask you,
            why our country have a huge debt. hundred biillion in USD currency. 2019 we will be bancrupt if subsidy not remove. IDRIS JALA said in tv3.

• ON-OFF BUTTON on May 30, 2010 at 1:37 am

yes, i agreed on that on that matter.. the govt has bear a huge debt.. b’coz what? b’coz for the sake of the rakyat’s convenience..

but i want to ask u back.. are u willing to pay ur groceries, petrol, toll, health care service, etc. at higher price..?? the answer is NO n of course some peoples might accuse/criticize the govt as not being good enough for its people..
            n i can predict that the rakyat will launch a huge demonstration all over the country..

n that why u have to understand by the meaning of “subsidies”..

the govt had done so much to us, that they willing to give subsidies almost to all of our daily goods..
            n b’coz of that, the govt willing to reduce the huge debt by slowly cut the subsidies.. it means that the price of goods is more likely to increase.. but it will not burden the rakyat.. n of course lah, if there an announcement of increasing the price of goods, some people may accuse/criticize the govt is no good for the rakyat..

but bear in mind, if the subsidies is not been slowly cut by the govt, then the govt has to bear a huge debt.. and again some people may accuse/criticize that the govt bears a huge debt and also may trying to compare us with another developed nations..

• staff on May 27, 2010 at 6:39 pm

So many comments of dreamers and losers…

these are answering my long question, why malaysia is very slow in becoming developed nation…

my some sort of answer is, Malaysian has very low esteem that their own achievement is so weak compared to others…

and hoping to see their own fellow malaysians failure is a celebration…

• mini fan on May 27, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Why don’t you make satria 5 doors? at least can steal myvi portion perhaps few 1000s. anybody agree?

• Elvis on May 27, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Well, because it will kill Proton Savvy bro…

• Manuel Ferrari on May 27, 2010 at 3:27 pm

I don’t think P1 has resources to do that. It will be like designing a new car all together, you know how much cost and engineering work that will take.

I’m sure P1 is ambitious enough to be a major player that produce lots of models, after 25 years they have to! the best way is to merge with other brands and share platforms, just like Renault-Nissan and now with Samsung did (their cars in Korea goes with SM -Samsung Motors- badge).

Kudos to DSZ and my fingers are crossed for P1 to make beneficial decisions. Try to stay away from Malaysian politics as mush far as possible!

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:33 am

i agree. if 5 seater, sure it will sell like hot cake

• nabill on May 27, 2010 at 1:40 pm

i jus hope our hopless politicians wont get involved otherwise thr will be no tie up watsoever

• Kronie on May 27, 2010 at 2:10 pm

If Proton didn’t keep on insisting on using their crony suppliers, the VW / Proton deal would have been settled long ago.

Without Proton the crony companies would have died with VW in the management and demanding that they get rid of sub-par parts. The same happened for Skoda but look at where Skoda is now.

I say down with the cronies and aye to quality Proton cars even if it is built by VW.

• Congrate in advance ,one thing no matter proton tier with who the only thing that i want to advise proton is pls put more attention on QC department i bought my first national car Persona it makes me sad with 08 defects .

• Seriously on May 27, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Knew there was something fishy when VW took on IDG! Although there could be no relation, but I’m just guess. There will be interesting times ahead :) Proton, please don’t screw this up seriously.

• Mujahiddin on May 27, 2010 at 2:33 pm

CKD VW GTis & Scirocco? Only in your dreams. Most likely it will be bread & butter models like low specced Passat , Golf, Jetta..

• BRAZBUZ on May 28, 2010 at 12:08 am

from what i know the 1st model that will be ckd is golf gti if the deal is successful…

• Yea, this is a chance for proton to step up, hope that both companies do get advantages and profits over each other, this is your chance to make things right proton. All the best to you proton make it happen yo, malaysia boleh right ???…

• Elvis on May 27, 2010 at 3:18 pm

REBADGE, REBADGE, REBADGE…YAHOO…HAPPY DAYS ARE HERE AGAIN..!!!!!

• kopi-man on May 27, 2010 at 3:53 pm

After throwing so many R&D fund, and ends up going to rebadge?
      The China company swallow US car factories to gain technology and now can export even to Msia.

China car company starts in 1999! They never see rebadge to be proud.

We should be ashame after 25 yrs still goes back to re-badge!!

• Elvis on May 27, 2010 at 11:38 pm

You have to take it in a perspective. China has 1 billion consumer excluding chinese outside of China. China is producing engineers in all field at break neck pace. Their learning curve is also very high, as high as Korea and Taiwan. Malaysia unfortunately taking things at slower curve. But Malaysia is bless with lower population. Its better to let go of pride and face the realtiy faster. Many Malaysians still dont realise that growth has dwelled, quality of education got worse and human resources under utilised. So its better to be ashamed that holding to past glory. PROTON IS CHANGING FOR THE BETTER…SAYA SOKONG VW PROTON..

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:39 am

we not perfome better comparing to company you just mention bcoz our politician want to make their cronies rich

• keman on May 27, 2010 at 3:19 pm

VW will shove SEAT’s unpopular designs down P1 throat !!! And, best of all, gullible Malaysian will shout “horrayyyy” affordable VW’s qualities had reached our shores….

Just keman’s 2 cents

• pomen_GTR (Member) on May 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm

keep finger crossed..

• Eric G on May 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

i read Edge just now, they reckon that Proton might rebadge VW Passat as their Persona replacement.

• meteoraniac on May 27, 2010 at 3:40 pm

More like VW passat as Perdana replacement.. but either replacement wont be possible considering the passat is fairly new here…

• kimi_ on May 27, 2010 at 3:46 pm

For those who always condemn P2 only rebadge daihatsu car….

Proton on the same way now, first is lancer, then other…..like those 1980an …..I AM THE HAPPIEST MAN NOW as P1 no longer produce weird, crappy styling…

But the WORST is for P1 is they retain their PROUD “SHITTY” campro engine which consume fuel FASTER than us DRINKING WATER unlike P2.

• Lewis on May 27, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Only you that drink that fast not us.

• peYno on May 27, 2010 at 10:23 pm

kimi
        think again…. most car manufacturers in the world also do rebadge.. but not 100% rebadge like perodua…Nissan, daitahsu, subaru also have their rebadge model and own model

• aksMs on May 27, 2010 at 3:53 pm

The old Passat kinda look a bit like Waja from certain angle. =)

• kimi_ on May 27, 2010 at 3:31 pm

This is a life-time chance for proton to SURVIVE, not RISE you know….

still remember last time that the proposed deal with VW was cancelled and Proton say they still can perform better INDEPENDENTLY….I almost VOMIT BLOOD when i saw this in newspaper….WHAT A FANTASTICLY AWFUL JOKE EVER i had in my live.

Please wake up, you will need guidaince and collaboration to improve, ELSE you will go no where and continue to be CHAMPION OF NATION–JAGUH KAMPUNG, become laughing stock of all

• staff on May 27, 2010 at 6:44 pm

then, what is your answer to the profit proton get?

they achieve it independently right?

and, are you very JAGUH to be exact? at what level?

• Elvis on May 27, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Government pumping money, car industry under government protectionlah bro..wake up loorrr…where were you….sleeping kah?

• Salamander on May 28, 2010 at 10:34 am

Than you should say the same to Korean and Japanese too. They protect their automotive industries as well.

Wake up kid.

• kimi_ on May 27, 2010 at 3:40 pm

So next time, all Proton cars will have the tagline…

” tuned by Lotus, styling by VW” to attract customers :)

• mujahid on May 27, 2010 at 4:29 pm

of course, free promo…. hehehe

• hen rou on May 28, 2010 at 11:49 am

they do that so that malaysian will not simply bash them.
        try to put tuned n styling by proton, sure ppl will bash. but sty to put tuned by lotus, styling by vw, they maybe thick twice….

• kopi-man on May 27, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Bye Bye to VW to bet in those lousy quality parts supplier if they let Proton supply parts.

Unless its assemble agreement, and re-badge for LOCAL only of VW certain model. (like the previous Passat model for Perdana), Jetta for Wira.

Then bye bye also to all those WAJA/Persona buyers since they will phased out for sure.

But I see it will kill of all currently buyers of the VW cars…pity them. Since the OEM VW will be Proton, and lower down the selling price, like NAZA doing with Kia.

If this comes true, so, end of the day, after 25 yrs, Proton goes back to the same re-badge model, instead of from Mitsubishi, now Volkswagen. All those R&D fund to Proton all these years flashed to toilet if that comes through.

• hen rou on May 28, 2010 at 11:47 am

who said that proton will rebadge vw? where did u get this news? :<

• ibex7 on May 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm

proton, please make sure the negotiation with VW is successful. then, ask VW to let u to assemble VW Polo BlueMotion bcos i want that model so much n it’s not available here..cheers =)

• YeapyEvo on May 27, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Imagine if we can have :

Savvy = Polo + Polo Gti

Satria = Golf + Golf Gti

Perdana = Passat

Then I will be proud of Proton

• peYno on May 27, 2010 at 10:25 pm

i dont think malaysia will appreciate it..
      coz most malaysian are ah beng typical Japanese wannabe… they like japanese DNA car so much…

european DNA?? ah beng say high maintenance, no resale value, kuat makan minyak bla bal

prrrfthhhh

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:50 am

i thk most malaysian like conti but bcoz price factor, so japanese wannabe is a good choice for the

• peYno on May 28, 2010 at 9:34 am

not a price factor, but malaysian mindset
          ah beng mindset
          conti car – no resale value, engine and FC not economical.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 5:53 pm

i agree…. but i dun care.. still i get a peugeot for me.. handling is better than T and H…. Space is bigger than T and H… Engine is better than T and H… price is low than T and H…. actually maintenance is not big problem.. there are many conti car specialist in malaysia… people just don know… that is why they are afraid… maintenance cost also is not high like what people say… u can see this clearly if you compare CAMRY AND ACCORD with PEUGEOT 407.. In paper spec, Peugeot win… If u test drive also u will know that Peugeot 407 is better.. dun believe me?? okay.. u can go and test drive by urself… test all three car.. than u will know…

• paultan fan on May 29, 2010 at 10:14 am

i agree with you. peugeot 407 is a winner. only maybe the bad about peugeot is because Naza

• tanasi on May 27, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Proton Scirocco IAFM facelift – RM38,000 supercool

• Martin on May 27, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Hey, Proton cars are not bad…..please give proton a chance. The proton cars quality have definitely improved over the years, it now only have to deal with its legacy problem.

• Proton-VW I will give chance. If nothing changed after this, forget it!

• iLOVEkimchi on May 27, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Why should we give chance>??? dude…

does Proton subsidize us for buying a local -made car??
      they sell us the lousy car with premium price tag…

and if u dun wan to drive those lousy car (and all of us are) you have to pay even premium price to get imported cars….!!~~

think!!

Proton is not here for 3 years or 5 years.. its already been freaking 25 years +++

wat are we getting??

who dun wan support own country? i also wish malaysia can win in the Thomas cup..
      but the fact is other ppl are stronger ..hence we lost~

fact is fact… dun give so much emotion dude!

• The production of the Passat MK6 was stopped 31st March this year in Germany.

Therefore, I think it’s possible that Proton will get a license to use the technology of the Passat MK6….

The Passat has nothing to do with the Passat CC btw. It’s a sedan and it’s a five seater:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Passat#Passat_Mk6_.28B6_PQ46.2C_2005.E2.80.93present.29

• 2fast on May 27, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Well, we have down this road before.
    VW seems to enjoy the pain dished out by Proton :)

I hope Proton’s hot shots finally realized that it is impossible to be small and competitive in the globalized economy especially if you are creating normal passenger cars. For all the hard work and good model line up they have created, Proton only posted a small profit in the recent financial results. They need a big partner for support and VW could be the best on the table.

Lets hope there is no last minute flip flop on this again.

• I hope so.

What I really hope in this deal is to get crownie out of the Proton cycle. Proton can do good but with those ppl around, all hope is lost.

• najibest on May 27, 2010 at 7:44 pm

don’t be expecting too much guys. i’m pretty sure the tie up would be in regards to utilizing the Tanjung Malim plant for VW contract assembly. perhaps VW want to make Malaysia the hub for this region. I doubt it would be any sort of technical collaboration. On the plus side, Proton would get more money from renting their assembly plant…..

• ibex7 on May 28, 2010 at 1:02 pm

if they do achieve agreement on letting vw cars to be assemble here, then i suppose we should get a very affordable vw car…unfortunately, our imbecile government is still greedy! they still want to hoard all sort of money from the tax that they possible could get…

• clemenza on May 27, 2010 at 7:52 pm

One step ahead for proton..congrats..a bad news for proton basher…

• peYno on May 28, 2010 at 9:13 am

and also bad news for ah beng japanese wannabe… cant afford real JDM car end up with perodua and vios..

now we have more choices… Conti DNA….ah beng in trouble

prrrrtfhhh

• iLOVEkimchi on May 27, 2010 at 8:50 pm

good news!!!!!

this is the way man~~

at least let our tourist ride on a VW taxi not some cheap proton saga~~

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 1:58 am

I thk our tourist will be proud with new taxi. new Exora taxi. i thk its comfort and the problem compare to other MPV lack of pick up ( power ok but lack pick up )

• Yea, but what’s the most common taxi you see on road? Yeap, it’s the saga/iswara… =_=

• tokmoh on May 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Those Exora taxi most likely will be M/T. So pick-up issue wouldn’t be too bad.

• lambov12 on May 27, 2010 at 8:52 pm

can we have vw engine and gearbox and also vw build quality wif proton money ?

• akupunya on May 27, 2010 at 8:59 pm

kalau VW partnership with proton, confirm the plant in Shah Alam will be used for VW car production. and the 1.6 cc above will rebadged the VW car. proton will be proton till in the end of the world!!..

• xptmsb07-09 on May 28, 2010 at 11:55 pm

kenapa shah alam.. kenapa tak tanjung malim.. kenapa nak sewa tapak padahal tanjung malim banyak tanah kosong?? lebih baik tukar semua plant shah alam ke tanjung malim.. kenapa nak buang banyak duit utk sewa lori?? nak buat enjin campro ulang alik tanjung malam – shah alam sampai 2X , WTH… pejabat kat tg mlm RM berjuta bg sewa kat org lain.. ada untung ka?? sewa tapak kat shah alam 2 lg malah la.. suruh perkeja jimat2.. sendiri menbazir.. go to hell..

• Too much politics ruin the business. Lets go back to basic. Why people invest so much in a business? They all want non other than PROFIT aka MONEY. So, need to get balance between MONEY and SOCIAL OBLIGATION especially when it comes to national interest.

• proton do need modernization, (engine)
    even its under the shell of lowly proton saga.

cheap reasonably powered engine with great litre to kilometer.
    it will be a ‘rational national peoples car that will go international at far’.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 6:17 pm

myvi rm50=350km…. saga blm rn50=380km… saga bigger.. saga cheaper… saga faster.. saga got more power.. saga got better handling… no doubt that the engine is good oredi… saga surely better than myvi..

• paparazi (Member) on May 27, 2010 at 9:39 pm

99.9% by VW pls!

• odi862 on May 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm

The G should know when to stop having the so called “national car” when all it can do is selling old tech cars at high price to the people in this nation. Personally I think the G still backing P1 because this is TM brainchild. Right now if they are in trouble, the tiger will run back to momma asking for help even after 25 years in business. Maybe after the guardian meets the Maker, the tiger will finally learn to live in the wild or die starving or even eaten by others.

• infinitt on May 28, 2010 at 12:58 am

good move proton. congrats..to sime darby u better recheck on your organization seriously. others GLC also !!

• waimak on May 28, 2010 at 6:46 am

I think what proton doing is pure to stay competitive in the ‘tough’ automotive market.. so is everybody else.. the only think that I dont know is whether Proton has an ultimate long term plan, such as in the case of VW – to be the biggest automotive company in 2013/ 15 for example.. Maybe proton also need to enchance its capability in certain aspects such as engineering and manufacturing, because these two are becoming more and more crucial these days. If you observe, more and more new makers are making an appearance in the automotive market. China is going to take over the world soon, and Saudi Arabia is having their own marque in a couple of years..

all the best..

• peYno on May 28, 2010 at 9:10 am

can u see the differ??
    proton
    new saga.. homeground
    new persona.. home ground
    new waja.. rebadge Lancer
    exora.. homeground
    new perdana.. rebadge passat??

perodua
    rusa.. rebadge
    kembara.. rebadge
    viva.. berbadge
    myvi.. rebadge…

REBADGE..REBADGE,….REBADGE

prrrfthhh

• WAH, like that gone lor all the current VW owners… sure resale value drop like hell… How VW malaysia going tom protect their customers which bought the cars at premium price?

• hen rou on May 28, 2010 at 10:56 am

WAJALUTION!!!!! YESSS~~~~
    i’ve been waiting for this!!!!!

• carfan on May 28, 2010 at 11:26 am

partnership or win-win situation is the best way for Proton.This is how the life should be..we need each other in daily life and we cannot live alone

• ezracopters on May 28, 2010 at 12:09 pm

i dono…i hate rebadge..it’s poser..well, i used to ride in my fren wajalution car…on a traffic light, the real evo park aside..and the evo owner clearly laughin at us..man i swear i never wana be the wannnabe again..even the wajalution is way faster than real evo..

so the point is, no matter how much u change ur car to their ori set..it wont change the fact ur still a different unit..passo wana be, mira wanna be, evo wanna be, etc they all looks gud but prideless…i rather drove standard kancil hehe..hmmmm i said yes to plant assemble and asean hub deal for vw, technology and interior transfer for proton..

proton is a gud car but globally thanks to malaysian basher..the world had bad perception on proton..even when they still on a concept..newey im pretty sure with lotus handling, vw engine techonology and quality perhaps …proton might have a better chance to shine globally…beside marketing issues not a big deal nymo since proton vision up to 70% export..ir ur the boss..do u want to exp a rebadge product..it will hurt not only ur company, but also ur gud father if ur not up to perception…

proton better not stop their r&d…keep on rolling..look at ur neo or persona..thats a gud car with a gud price.. even compare to dugong… and fuel guzzin???? i dont know, i drove neo, persona, japs car and conti car…i think u sir u said that either never drove proton or never drove japs n conti..

• Sexythang on May 31, 2010 at 1:15 am

in global markets , there are better cars for a better price than proton. besides if you’re going to spend money on a car….why buy a proton? this export talk is just talk. been that way for 25 years. the matter of fact is…in global markets….buying a jap econobox or euro car within the same price range of a proton u pay about a week to 1 months extra wages/income only. so the case for buying a proton in global markets is pretty moot….especially with hyundai doing a good job at the lower end and european marques also moving into the ultra budget sector.

proton needs vw to survive in the malaysian market only. vw just wants proton to get an easy share in the profits in a protected market.

• rosdi on May 28, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Everyone!.. hold off your purchase on Golf now!!.. CKD Golf is coming and price is going down at least 50K!

• Zamri_GG on May 28, 2010 at 3:11 pm

My uncle is somebody in proton top management. Told my father that VW will give SEATs for rebadge. SPecifically, the SEATS Exeo as replacement for aging Perdana.

http://www.seat.co.uk/generator/su/uk/Exeo/site/gallery/main.html

• normal_user on May 28, 2010 at 4:37 pm

The Proton-VW deal is OFF! No partnership.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/proton-vw-deal-off-new-directors-to-come-in/

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm

promoting peugeot.. hahah.. sorry… cannot tahan meh..
    Peugeot 407SR (P) vs. Camry 2.0G? vs. Honda Accord 2.0 Vti (H)
    Engine
    Type: P-EW10A ,C-1AZ-FE ,H-4 Cylinder, 16 valve,
    i-VTEC
    Variable valve timing : P-Yes ,C-yes ,H-yes
    Bore & Stroke (mm): P-85 x 88 ,C-86.0×86.0 ,H-86.0 x 86.0
    Displacement (cc): P-1997 ,C-1998 ,H-1998
    Compression Ratio: P-Not mentioned ,C-9.8:1, H-9.8 : 1
    Maximum H/power: P-140bhp/6000rpm,C-108kW/6000rpm,H-150bhp / 6,000rpm
    Maximum Torque : P-200Nm/4000rpm, C- 190Nm/4000rpm , H-186Nm / 4,500 rpm

Transmission : P-4-AT Autoadaptive Porshe Tiptronic, C-4AT with Super ECT ,H-5 Speed Automatic

Suspension
    Front: P-Double wishbone, C-Mc Pherson, H-Double wishbone
    Rear: P-Multilink ,C-Dual link independent strut ,H-Double wishbone

Safety & Security
    Airbags: P-7 airbags ,C-Dual front airbags ,H-Dual front airbags
    International Certification: P-5star EuroNCAP ,C-Internally tested ,H-Internally tested

Stability Assist program: P-Yes-ESP, C-No, H-No

Brakes
    ABS : P-yes ,C-yes, H-yes
    EBD : P-yes, C-yes ,H-yes
    EBA : P-yes ,C-yes, H-No
    front/rear : P-vent.disc/solid ,C-vent/solid ,H-Ventilated Disc/Solid disc
    Sports mode & traction Control : P-yes, C- No , H-N0.
    Control
    Tilt and telescopic power steering: P-yes, C-yes ,H-yes
    Power windows: P-yes, C-yes ,H-yes
    Power side mirror: P-yes ,C-yes ,H-yes
    Self illumination meter: P-yes, C-yes ,H-yes
    Vehicle information display: P-yes, C-yes , H-yes
    Cruise control: P-yes, C-yes, H-No
    Steering wheel audio control: P-yes, C-yes ,H-yes
    Audio system: P-JBL hi-fi/subwoofer, 240W amplifier ,C-6 cd changer,6 speaker , H-6 cd changer,6 speaker
    Seat belt reminder: P-yes ,C-yes, H-yes
    Adjustable power seat belt: P-yes ,C-yes, H-no

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Automatic ON headlight : P-yes,C -No, H-No
      Automatic Viper : P-Yes,C- No, H-No
      Follow-me-home headlights: P-yes, C-No, H-No.
      Electric control adjustable seat: P-yes,C-No,H-No
      Other features
      Adjustable headlights: P-yes ,C-yes, H-yes
      Headlights lamp: P-Xenon, C-HID ,H-HID
      leather seat: P-yes ,C-yes ,H-No
      GPS Sat. Navi System: P-Yes, C-No, H-No
      Integrated AV, USB and iPod interface : P-yes, C-No, H-No

After sales services: P-Nasim S/B ,C-Toyota Malaysia ,H-Honda Malaysia

CKD/CBU: P-CKD, C-CBU, H-CKD
      Warranty Period: P-3 years ,C-3 years, H-3 years

On The road Price Around: P-RM133,000.00 ,C-RM149,000 ,HRM143,800.00
      So which car would you choose? Smart user sure have the right choice.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 28, 2010 at 6:13 pm

maintenance?? remember.. 407 is ckd u know…

• paultan fan on May 29, 2010 at 10:26 am

for me, i choose Peugeot 407. bcoz it conti. hehehe. ride and handling conti better compare to japan. build quality also good compare to japan. only lack after sales service. NASIM – NAZA. I hate NAZA name

• CopyCat on May 28, 2010 at 6:38 pm

if u see ‘thundercats’ badge logo, you will faced same quality & after sale & service issue.

• kayel on May 28, 2010 at 8:12 pm

yuppp…the deal is off….what a shame, the’re a lot of numerous speculation and countless meeting to discuss about this but at the end, there’s nothing materialized…

• Elvis on May 28, 2010 at 9:58 pm

I think we are going to hear a dissapointing news. VW and Proton TIDAK JADI AGAIN!!!

• littlefire on May 28, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Seems like Proton still have some flip flop decision from the previous management… Haiz…

• littlefire on May 29, 2010 at 7:49 am

Hmmm…. See P1 share rose up so high… I think P1 is using VW issue to cheat ppl to buy their shares! So they can sell the share price is high and buy when it is low ( Before spreading the rumours)..

• Barry Waine on May 29, 2010 at 6:05 am

Eh, f*** la Proton, the tie with VW canceled, AGAIN for the million th time? DSZ should go into retirement, Proton sold lock,stock & barrel to some Chinese company and Tg Malim plant turned into a high tech amusement park. All the vendors should commit harakiri.

Save the majority of the rakyat and billion RM from being wasted for another 25 years. So, after 25 years of Proton, what is the cutting edge technology that Malaysian have acquired so far? Have we put a man on the moon?

Go fxxxx and die la Proton, your very existence denies Malaysian of cheaper, safer and wider choice of cars.

• venven81 on May 29, 2010 at 8:03 am

VW pls stop having any future talks v proton. It will nv materialise no matter what. Let proton do whatever they want and we shall see what they are capable to do

• ezracopters on May 29, 2010 at 12:48 pm

thts wut happened when GLSs in taks with completely private company..WV is lookin for profit alone..while proton need to consider both profit and country as well as malaysian car industry interest as well..

gov cant afford to lose proton to foreign n VW hate being control by small company like proton..i dont know, let us pray for the best then..im excite to see wut sort of next plan by proton..

dude..Go fxxxx and die la Proton, your very existence denies Malaysian of cheaper, safer and wider choice of cars…hahahaha im pity u dude, well go get a better job n income..be well deserve to earn such a car..dont u think those who bought newly launch BMWs, mers, lambo, ferreri, gtr earn every cent of their penny??? i pretty sure u’ll b saying yeah r8 they were cronies..thats y they can afford it..wut a joke..

u and me and all those low income group can only satisfy to had those luxuries on our pcs wallpaper dude.. earn some mo n we’ll be driving those cars with pride coz thats wut we deserve for.. wuts gud if all of u can afford all those car..there’s no prestige anymore la..haha..sory dont mean to be a jerk n sarcastic..thts a fact of life..perhaps u wana change ur citizenship..im sure lots of immigrant ready 2 offer u a gud money for ur ic out there..n maybe u can afford a gud car in others country…

• Motorist on May 29, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Yup, Proton VW Deal Called Off (what a surprise)
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/proton-vw-deal-off-new-directors-to-come-in/

Rakyat F&%ked again.

Ketuanan face di utamakan
    Untung kroni di dahulukan

Rakyat di kongkek sekali lagi

• Barry Waine on May 29, 2010 at 6:35 pm

ezracopter, are you a BN running dog, did they fed you and your family with Alpo for lunch?

You imbecile, unlike Singapore where public transport is near perfect, KL public transport, KL…not even the entire country, but KL’s public transport is in disarray.
    LRT doesn’t operate at 99% at all times, buses routes are but uncoordinated, so on and so on.

In developed countries, while income tax are high, the social security is adequately enough to sustain the gaps. While income tax in the city of Chicago is at 40%, the State of Illinois or DC doesn’t impose 300% tax on foriegn cars or even excise duty on local made ones.

Maybe you reckon your writings about being rich, then only can afford big cars can fool other Alpo & bone munching BN running dogs…the pro-Proton, Pro-BN folks, but we’re not dogs like you. Pro-Proton = Pro-BN…Pro UMNO,Pro-MIC,Pro-MCA etc.

Go bark elsewhere, oh if you or your family need a bag of Alpo, here come and get it.

• Sexythang on May 31, 2010 at 1:26 am

isnt ezra …from my memory….a medical students or perhaps a doctor by now and problably working in a foreign country. whats strikes me more is that he is classifying himself as a low income earner.

• bmpower on May 30, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Proton EMAS will marketed as VW in german.
    bot colabo is a great thing!

• wow….

we’ll hv proton polo… proton golf GTI (tuned by lotus)… proton passat…..soon?

• venven81 on May 31, 2010 at 9:57 am

dude, this deal has been called off. nothing will ever materialise…

• Dream the impossible dream…

• dacing on Jun 01, 2010 at 8:38 am

As long as DSZ and Tun is around.
    P1 will NEVER change …still needs protection
    even after 25 years ..
    no use supporting a sinking ship – with nothing to show for
    esp the engine development. CPS is outdated and a dinosaur.
    Looking at the sales numbers will show that P1 is a gone case !!!
    Arrogant and with zero vision.!!

• JUST GIMME THE PROTON LANCER TO ME PLSSSSSSSSS…. I’VE WAITED SOOOOO LOnnnngggggggggggggggggggg

• What about Proton Saga 25th edition photos that was unveiled on 9th July 2010? Hope you can post the photos too.