Hide the kids, Mitsuoka releases Premium Gold Orochi!

The Mitsuoka Orochi is one of the most scary looking cars of all time, but the design is deliberate since the car is inspired by a monster from Japanese folklore that has eight heads and eight tails! Introduced as a concept at the 2001 Tokyo Motor Show, the serpent started life as a production car in 2007.

“Yamata no Orochi was a gigantic snake with a body that was the length of eight hills. Its fiery orange eyes struck fear in all who saw it, and its belly was blood red. This giant had eight heads and eight tails. Mitsuoka Orochi’s stylish body replicates the firm muscles of the Yamata no Orochi, the power and energy of the legendary snake captivating your attention whichever angle you view it,” explains the car’s designer Takanori Aoki.

Hide the kids, Mitsuoka releases Premium Gold Orochi!

Mitsuoka, a company more famous for rebodied mass market cars with old world styling, has now introduced a special edition of the Orochi called Premium Gold. As its name suggests, the car has a new gold paint job along with additional spoilers at the front and rear. Only 20 Premium Gold Orochis will be made.

The hand crafted Orochi is powered by a Toyota 3.3-litre V6 which produces 233 bhp and 328 Nm of torque paired to a five-speed automatic – not bad, but the pace won’t be as fearsome as the looks with those kind of figures. Interested? The Orochi is actually available in Malaysia, alongside Mitsuoka’s other “classic cars”. It was launched here back in August 2007, with Malaysia being the second country to sell it after Japan. Last we heard, it carried a price tag of RM1,025,000! The local distributor is Able Automobile, which has a showroom in Petaling Jaya opposite the University Hospital.

Gallery of the Premium Gold is after the jump. Also inside are images of Mitsuoka’s 2007 event featuring the Orochi, dug up from Danny’s image archive.

Mitsuoka Orochi Premium Gold

Mitsuoka event in Malaysia, 2007

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Hideaki Tokunaga on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Mcm muncung ikan…

• perkasa on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:50 pm

a million rm for this??? erkkkkkk….

• So basically it looks like a SuperCar, priced like one, but actually NOT a supercar hehe. It’s a motherFxxxer joke on the road oh yeah!! LOL

• theanswer on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:10 pm

for 1Mil u get 3.3 V6 from toyota…at least give powerful v8 la.. hadoi.. with 1 mil i can buy 360 modena la.

• i got my senior here at my college who drives mitsuoka. seriously i dont understand why her father bought her with this brand..such a crap and sooo expensive..

• mitlanevo on Jun 09, 2010 at 6:52 pm

simply ugly……………..

• carsut on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:22 pm

frankly speaking, this car is so wierdoo.. but beauty lies on the eye of the beholder..

• normal_user on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Paul, this car is based on the NSX right? I thought I’ve read that somewhere very long time ago during its concept launch(2001).

• apooo samy on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:39 pm

walauwehhh look like ikan sembilang aka cat fish kakakaka

• pomenF1 on Jun 09, 2010 at 8:24 pm

this look like orochimaru in naruto….hahaha

• A potato of an engine and a slushbox automatic. So totally Japan. Don’t worry, some tuner will lower it, add LEDs, and turbo it. Then it’ll totally be Japanese.

• shawal on Jun 09, 2010 at 9:54 pm

ini kalau accident….. tukang ketuk mannyyyaaa susah wooo… haiya… satu juta linggit woo..

No one in their Right Mind will buy this car….

• shawal on Jun 09, 2010 at 9:57 pm

The Orochi has the EXACT same wheelbase as the Honda NSX

• pelams on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:11 pm

mcm biskut kena cicah milo

• Aalloonngg on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:29 pm

wahhh…macam-macam ada!

• Super Anonymous Chicken on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:31 pm

the car that inspired Transformers Alternity Starscream, Skywarp & Thundercracker. (:

• neokid on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:43 pm

personally, i think its FUGLY..

• Proton Club on Jun 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

mcm pelik je aku tgk nih..

• sakoz on Jun 10, 2010 at 4:16 am

urghhhhh FUGLY!!! scared to death looking at this weirdo!!!

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 10, 2010 at 7:38 am

BMW shud do this

• 1 mil for 233bhp? !….. wordless………

• if i give u all this car..for sure u all want it…who do not want free xpensive car…if me just take it

• Jumbsuck on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

Or here we call it as Proton Savvy, the equally fugly lost twin of Orochi on smaller bug scale.

• The hand crafted Orochi is powered by a Toyota 3.3-litre V6 which produces 233 bhp and 328 Nm of torque paired to a five-speed automatic
    ————————————————————————————————————————-

The beemer 2.0 liter 320D produce 350NM of torque …..even the Focus 2.0 TDCI reach 320NM wt overboost to 340NM…very gutless for 3.3 liter V6

• exora1 on Jun 10, 2010 at 3:11 pm

you bummer, those engine you talked about is diesel engine, of cos it has more torque!!!

diesel engine has more torque then petrol engine. go google!!

• GET A LIFE!
    Stop designing all these ugly junks.
    Fix your toyota cars problem.

• Overrated joke!

Just like what Lexus trying to do with their super-overrated LF-A…

Design something which belongs to earth, not ‘avatar’ world… :P

• Elvis on Jun 10, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Mitsuoka designer must get his eyes check. Design getting worse and worse. Tell me, how to attract chick with such fugly looking car?!!! Only Zizie would would be attracted considering shes married old bugger like Bung…

• RM1 million for this car ! Haha…better get a ferrari ! Dont want to be a laugh stock driving this “Cat Fish” around town !

• nighttrain on Jun 10, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Hey, they actually managed to sell some units.. what does that mean to you? Crazy rich eccentrics?

• khaix19a on Jun 10, 2010 at 3:55 pm

the name is orochi and based on monster snake that’s why the car is ugly because it is based on monster not based on princess etc.

• techart touch on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm

with 1 million bole dpt le nissan skyline gtr 35 2 biji…br lg lo…plus 480 bhp ma…such a waste money if someone bought it….

• shiro on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:12 am

this is what some people call “collectors item”..
    other cars are just the usual and mass produced….

when money is not an issue, a really rich person will look for something exclusive.. so they can ask you, “you got money to waste on something like this?? cos i do…. “

• call me weird, but I actually love the design.