Mark Webber: Not bad for a number two driver!

Mark Webber: Not bad for a number two driver!The temperature at Red Bull is near boiling at the moment. The RB6 is the fastest machine on the grid and its two very fast pilots have the World Championship firmly in sight; some might say that the resulting friction (litreally!) between Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel is “a good problem” to have, but the team is clearly having trouble in dividing attention and favour between the Aussie and his young German teammate.

It seems though that Red Bull is backing Vettel. After initially putting the blame on Webber for that infamous collision in Turkey, the team took the Aussie’s newly designed front wing and handed it to Vettel for qualifying at Silverstone on Saturday. Vettel then took pole ahead of Webber, who was fuming at the decision. Mark then channeled his anger to win the British GP, sarcastically saying “not bad for a number two driver” on the radio to team boss Christian Horner on his victory lap.

Showing that he was still angry, Webber said after the race: “Yesterday was really a unique situation, and it was the first time we had one bit. I would never have signed a contract for next year if I believed that was the way going forward. I was disappointed. We will see how it goes in the future, I will keep doing what I am doing and I hope it is enough.

Mark Webber: Not bad for a number two driver!

“I don’t think it should happen, honestly. I wasn’t massively in favour of the decision but that is the way it goes sometimes. Some of the drivers offered me front wings on the parade lap from their cars but I said stick with what I’ve got. Seb didn’t!” he added.

Horner did not regret the decision however. “We are pushing as hard as we can to produce the fastest cars that we can. Sometimes decisions have to be made. We found ourselves in a situation we didn’t want to be in with one wing, that we wanted to run – and whichever side of the garage it was going to go to, one side was going to be unhappy,” he said, adding that should there be a repeat of such a situation, it would favour its leading driver in the championship.

After yesterday’s win, Webber is third in the standings with 128 points, 7 ahead of Vettel.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• what to do, Red Bull is a German company and Seb is a German. If it was an Aussie company, you can be sure that the tables would be turned.

However, Mark has proven that he is the better driver. Just imagine, Mark and Alex started off together and today, Alex is Head of Driver Development at Lotus. Look has far Alex has gone and poor Mark, still driving and may even end up as World Champion.

• leonardo on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:15 pm

If this issue of driver No1 and No2 is not resolved by Red Bull, very soon it will become Red Bullsh**! It is silly just to have one front wing for 2 equally fast cars and drivers. They ran out of funds and produce just one?
    This story reminds me of Senna-Prost rivarly when they were both in the same team.

• Tiadaid on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:45 pm

The Senna-Prost rivalry was perhaps the biggest and most heated rivalries in F1 bar none. Heck, Senna was so livid because he lost the 1989 championship in Suzuka after he was disqualified that he rammed Prost on purpose the next year. By then they weren’t even teammates!

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Both cars had the new front wing, but the one on Vettel’s broke during practise. So they took the one from Webber’s car and put it on Vettel’s.

• pomen_gtr on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:58 am

what will u do if your dad give u and your little brother an expensive toy….that u already love it and design it according to your preference…where suddenly your dad take it away from u and give it to your little bro’ since his was damaged…

still happy eh?

• squawk on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:34 pm

LOL!!!!!!!!!! 2 thumbs up for Mark.

• Thirtyone on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Hope Webber gets the title. Just cannot stand that spoilt brat Vettel and his constant showing of his finger indicating he is number one. Its just pure utter arrogance.

• nabill on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:37 pm

very childish….jus do ur job…n prove ppl wrong rather than say those things that mite creat tension with ur teamates….

vettel is a better driver i tink…more consistent,bt hes been having alot of bad luck so far

• trav_da_man on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:42 pm

This is a complete opposite to Mclaren where they have both drivers are former champions and they seems to have a healthy but cooperative rivality. Button & Hamilton respect each other while Vettel and Webber are strangling each other’s neck!

• squawk on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Hamilton doesn’t show any respect when his position in the team is threatened. Button’s the more gentleman of the 2.

• scanzew on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:11 pm

mclaren and hamilton will win constructor and driver champion…no doubt!!

• mystvearn on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Something unthinkable during Rubens era at Ferrari

• Bloggerooi on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Mark has the gut to go against his bosses despite knowing that at the age of 33, he could be ditched any time for there are plentiful of young and fast driver queuing up for his seat in Red Bull. That’s the quality of a fighter, he will surely fight all the way even though the team may not favor him at times.

• ABTguy on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Sorry I think RBR is a UK based company, not German based !

I don’t like Seb, he looks like a norty boy, always show his finger when he secure pole. At the end, dropped down the order also what…… But Mark is reach official retiring age for F1 :D

Well, Lewis better lah, more talented. Scored higher points even he does not have the best car in the circuit, thumb up..

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:53 pm

When they win, the Austrian national anthem is played.

Red Bull Racing is one of two Formula One teams owned by Austrian beverage company Red Bull (the other being Scuderia Toro Rosso). The team is based in Milton Keynes in the UK[2] but holds an Austrian licence.

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Missing URL:
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Bull_Racing

• Ferruccio on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm

The team operation is based in Milton Keynes, UK. The team however is owned by Red Bull, out of Austria. Certainly not German.

• .. I too hope Webber will win the Driver’s Championship this year, or at least finish ahead of Vettel. That’ll shut everybody’s mouth up especially the obviously Vettel-backed camp.

On the McLaren team? I have always thought that Hamilton is a spoilt brat. It must be the age. Look at Vettel, both of them are of similar age. They should take a leaf outta the book of gentlemens Webber and Button

• tokmoh on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Vettel is 2 years younger than Hamilton.

• leonardo on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:22 am

They both have similar aggressive driving styles, sometimes at the peril of other drivers.

• raybrig on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:31 am

i still hope schumacher will give them a lesson..just wait for next year…

i dont like lewis and fernando…those 2 are the most arrogant driver u can find today…

• vettel: naughty boy
    webber: the old australian driver in the top of his career