Webber is to blame says Red Bull bosses

After the dust had settled from yesterday’s race, Red Bull’s boss stood behind Sebastian Vettel in regards to the crash with Mark Webber. Webber went on to take third place after the incident with his team mate’s car in Turkey.

Team advisor Helmut Marko is now pushing the blame onto Webber and his race engineer Ciaron Pilbeam. “Webber was slower and Vettel had immense pressure from Hamilton, unfortunately Mark was not told about the situation accurately by his race engineer,” maintained Marko.

He apparently had radioed the pits to say that he was slower than Vettel on the straights.”Vettel was so much faster. If Webber and he had braked together, then Hamilton would have passed Vettel,” continued Marko.

In the end Horner indicated that he was angry with both drivers, but Webber had to swallow the bitter pill. Horner went on to say that Webber didn’t leave Vettel enough space and it was very clear that Vettel was at his side and in front. He went on to say that he will speak to both drivers about the incident.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post express a mix of opinions, with many blaming Vettel for the incident with Webber, citing reckless passing and lack of respect. Some comments criticize the team for creating tension and suggest poor teamwork. Others defend Webber, mentioning Webber's innocence and the possibility of bad luck or miscommunication. Several comments criticize Vettel's arrogance and behavior, like making finger gestures. There are off-topic comments about nationality, politics, and sports unrelated to the incident. Overall, the sentiment shows frustration with Vettel’s actions, concern over team dynamics, and some support for Webber, but a significant number of comments diverge into unrelated issues.

• nabill on May 31, 2010 at 7:14 pm

yup , its webbers fault , he was too stiff , never gave room,he was the slower of the two he had no chance….

• konek_memanjang on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:28 pm

my main question is ” wasn’t he instructed into turn into fuel safe mode”? Then Marko blame him(webber) that he was slower and ought to be passed, Sounds fishy. They purposely want to schedule a victory for Vettel since Webber has won 3 GP in a row and dun forget vettel in a german (same country as redbull) and webber is australian. If u wan to plan someone to win , why not join NASCAR or WWE instead? All main wayang kulit.

• osh_kosh on Jun 01, 2010 at 8:01 pm

ignorant comment (& what a stupid nickname)… Webber wasn’t told to save fuel, the McLarens was too close & there’s still a lot of laps left till the race end… Webber was greedy & PLAIN STUPID!!! RBR should just let him go, i love to see which team want him.. Webber is not that good.. he is Jenson Button in Red Bull clothing.. nothing spectacular about him (u’ll know if u follow F1 long enough)..

• Brembo brakes on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Mind explaining Jenson Button’s capability/attitude ?. sorry i dun follow F1 history long enuf. So JB is another badass and there is nothing great about him? So wonder ppl keep telling that vettel is THE schumi in the making. Dunno how true it is.

• osh_kosh on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:11 pm

let see… Jenson is very good at managing his tyres & drive very smooth… don’t get me wrong, it’s good but the thing is it’s not that spectacular… tactical wise he’s better than Hammy (coz of the maturity) but not as good as Schuey… credit where it due, but the fact remained that his 2 wins this year was also helped by luck from his gamble on tyres choice… he never look ‘on the limit’ or squeezing every inch of performances out from his car.. he didn’t overtake a lot & will look helpless when ‘stuck’ behind aggressive drivers… by saying that Webber is like Jenson i was referring to the fact that both of them are good but not that good.. of coz both of them have different skills but in the end their good side are not that great.. there r others on the track that have a lot more combination of good skills compared to them… i leave it to u to find out by yourself…

• Squawk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Red Bull is Austrian.

• Brembo brakes on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:13 pm

i though Austrian and German adik beradik wan. both speak german :)
          Austria got conquered by Germany b4 too.

• osh_kosh on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Maxican speak spanish… Spain conquered and colonized the territory before too… so Mexico & Spain r siblings? funny logic…

• Brembo brakes on Jun 04, 2010 at 8:41 pm

not a fair analogy used. a mahathiristic comparison . It should be like Malaysia and indon adik beradik. similar culture n language only the difference lies between the political border.

• hehehe on May 31, 2010 at 7:51 pm

aiya..u blame blame some more what for huh?d fact is Mclaren got 1-2..pointing fingers in public is bullshit..meet both drivers, race engineers, see the replay, then talk to them and prepare for the next race and make sure they get as many points as possible…no point of regretting and pointing fingers coz somebody will get angered and morale down, then lose some more…haiya…

• S.Roma on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Wow solution thinking eh? So nice…

• hehehe on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:59 pm

its not solution thinking basher. its excepting the fact that the drivers and the team have made mistakes, u cannot turn back time bro..at the end of the day, if u keeping on blaming, its not good for the team>>TEAM..u dont have team work, u’ll die..if webber and seb are rivals, then up to them, but now they r teammate, if they cannot work together for the upcoming races then siapa yg susah? just get rid of the mistakes and make sure that silly mistake will never ever happen again..its clear that both drivers and the engineer are those who respnsible for that, so no need to drag things until some one got upset then u will got a weaker team??u got that Mr.ROMA?

• kone_k_pendek on May 31, 2010 at 10:16 pm

dun care who fault is but both driver r childish n selfis. dun our PM Najib cultivate us 1 Malaysia to more toleransi also some give n take? we dunwan take that as example? we malaysia can do better prove from Lotus F1 because got 1 malaysia spirit show we a lot give and take which is very very strong, and cultural harmonious, spiritually and also some sportmanship in our soul.

• michaelk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:28 am

this is F1 racing dude..2 top drivers going at top speed into lap 40 ..u think there is give and take at that split moment?

• kone_k_pendek on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:33 pm

why u talking la , about this is F1 la.. Give and take theori not only aplikasi other sports but also F1 sports la. 1 Malaysia spirit example waste not given publisiti not only malaysia but the world. you just look at lotus F1 sticker “1 Malaysia” big big like promosi “cuti cuti malaysia in Mas kapal terbang? you think the cut and paste stiker to main syiok or for stim merencap only ah? 1 malaysia also provide vaksination to korruptsi and neppotisma. you think i am from kampung and katak bawah tempurung? this moden world internet abundant lot lot we people can read without air liuh dripping bantal busuk

• michaelk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:08 pm

u r the real katak here..u think F1 is just to main2 sticker ah? when u r into racing more so in F1, there must be the burning desire to WIN in every race….that’s the diference btw d sportmen from other countrries compared to ours!.. .u think ur give & take theory boleh pakai everywhere ah..it will be a laughing stock in F1 dude….i let u win today la & u let me win tmrw,.. deal? u talk more like a politician……no rojak language here…

• Brembo brakes on Jun 02, 2010 at 2:06 pm

agree with you michaelk. wat an ridiculous statement and ROTTEN english used here. too bad this is the example set by our perineum minded ministers….sighhhh

• P4k4bu on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:22 pm

LOL :D :D :D

• lewis is a very happy man..huhu

• osh_kosh on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:29 am

not so happy if u see his face right after the race & on the podium.. 1st time i saw podium finisher with sad faces.. Webber, Hammy & Jense… obviously Jense & Hammy have some issue between them.. Webber? he just a greedy moron..

• azlan on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:51 am

yeah! blame webber..

* i’m the vettel fan

• brother on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:13 am

HUHU.. it’s not just about racing… but the emosion too.. who else can control the machine and emosion better have a good chance to become a winner.
    Red Bull must compulsary their driver attend the Team work courses.. ee

• sexythang on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:05 am

lotus f1 is mainly british if u bothered to check. Only thing malaysians are tolerant about is donating thier tax dollars for this expensive futile venture. Malaysians dont need lotus f1 to show that we can be tolerant to each other.

• kopi-man on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:39 am

Paul, I think there is too much F1 news now. If your website is divert into motor racing that much, then there is GP2, Nascar, Super bike racing. Its good to have some news that we can get normally, but a F1 covers soooo many rounds from practice, qualifying and result + + + is too much for 1 circuit. 1 or 2 news about 1 circuit is ok, this is not a motor racing website anyhow. Just my 2 cents.

• mr5zal on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:09 pm

agree. it’s like ur cheapen your blog by posting an article about F1. u never been so interested in F1 before. is it influenced by Lotus F1? hahaha. stupid team.

• Paul Tan on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Mind telling me how writing about the number 1 motorsport in the world cheapens a blog?

• osh_kosh on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:22 am

some ppl r just plain ignorant.. Malaysian.. what u expect Paul?

• kone_k_pendek on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:46 pm

paultan cheap the blog so people yang kurang berada can read his blog. It is not like goummennt now remove subsidi , orang kurang berada no money siphon petrol mode. More oval, Lotus F1 give motivatisi and catalyst for u publisiti more about F1 like what mahathir contemplate sepang to publisiti F1 by using his intelligent perineum and grey matter.

• konek_memanjang on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:29 pm

F1 is the “world cup” of motorsports. i dun think many ppl know waht the heck is NASCAR, indy or any fat ass obescenity american sports. Try ask a mak cik jual nasi lemak kangkang about F1 they also will know wat it is. not a Nasty car.

• vigoss on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:30 pm

nice name konem memanjang

• Honda Civic on Jun 01, 2010 at 7:21 pm

F1 is just overrated. It is so FAMOUS because the it involves lots of money and popularity(car brands etc). The same goes to NASCAR etc, you go to USA, you ask them about F1 and Nascar and see which one they know best. YOU are in malaysia and not somewhere else. KEEP your stupid and childish thinking to yourself. Fat ass obescenity american sport you say? Try saying that to Jimmie Johnson and Mark Martin, and look yourself in the mirror and see who is sexier. Different people have different interest, i was very interest in F1 BEFORE, but today i am tired of watching this so call motosport where tonnes of politics are going on! When i say motosport, it is all about passion, excitement, extreme and pushing every potential to the limit. Nowadays i usually watch more eurosport and american sport more than F1, why? Think about it yourself!

• konek_memanjang on Jun 01, 2010 at 8:48 pm

so american Honda Civic.. u wan personal attacks in this blog? trying to be more american than malaysian,F1 is famous in all the world EXCEPT your country, AMerica. I have american friends and they humbly admitted it but they are not as snobbish and jerky as you . Stop your childish personal attack here. Here is the place to make comments not bashing other people like a small american kid

• Squawk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:16 pm

To be fair, Americans do call their league finals (whatever sport) World Championships and the winners as World Champions… when there’re no foreign teams playing. That’s a bit egotistically silly. :-)

• michaelk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:20 pm

american = nascar but F1 = global. statistics showed otherwise as interest in F1 is second to world cup or olympics..no passion or pushing to the limit in F1? any other motor racing that is faster & more tech advanced than F1? by the way, why r u here in d first place?

• lack of mutual respect, should learn from the mclaren, they too did fight for 1st place but
    they finished wit syle. Always move on & focus for the next race, thats what f1 should b.

• squawk on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:51 am

Red Bull shouldn’t even be blaming any one of their drivers publicly. Guess they haven’t learned McLaren-speak yet. Now there’s tension between the 2 drivers, which isn’t very good for teamwork. Unless the ulterior motive is to get rid of one of them at the end of the season.

• Vettel fault.
    He hit Webber at the back. Webber did nothing wrong.

If he wants to overtake, just overtake like a gentlement, dont cry for space…
    “Please give me some space…i wants to be a winner too”

• Lexus on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Its ok for me having F1 news because Malaysia have 2 teams to cheer up this year plus their favorite drivers.

• S.Roma on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:46 pm

I thk, no teamwork la…

This race about teamwork, not solo… u cant win if u solo la…

• Gerakan Anti-Vettel on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:59 pm

same as playing football ( or basketball or etc…)…just like everyone wants to be a striker….keep the ball to them self instead of passing to other team mate when they are tackled. Some players dun bother how the team fare…as long as their name is in the goal list.

• red bullshit on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:34 pm

vettel should be blamed making a suicidal pass. but due to favoritism, webber became scape goat….poor webber. At first i support red bullshit.. but now i only side webber. Hopes he earns the championship title this year by red bullshit’s ticket and jump ship to other teams who treat their drivers equally.

• BMALOI on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Accident does happen everyday and of course there is always right and wrong but unintentionally. Otherwise, we wouldn’t call it as accident.

The incident happened too fast that webber didnt has a chance to give room to vettel who is forcing into the inner track just before the corner. If you can recall, vettel actually was slowing down his car just before the corner where webber didnt realized his already into vettel’s car and the accident happened because of the both rear tyres are rubbing each others.

I would say it is just bad luck for vettel whose tyre couldnt stand the friction. That’s why webber was still on the track because of his luck. They are using same tyres and by right both tyres should burst at the same time as such friction.

I think no one should be blame in this incident. Vettel, just blame on your luck then i guess.

Cheers.

• Thirtyone on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Vettel has always been arrogant from the start. See how he shows his finger everytime he is in pole position. Sad, so young, so arrogant. he probably thought Weber should have let him pass since he thinks he is the ‘driver to watch’!

• Squawk on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:18 pm

I think Lewis is worse. :-)

But Horner had mentioned earlier that he’s tipping Vettel as the potential champion so that’s probably why they seem biased.

• kone_k_pendek on Jun 01, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Haiya i am muak with Redbull gimmik. main sandiwara. it is a futhermore of a Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor. he been more hansem that why it criteriad him as been promoted to repensent malaysia angkasawan ambassador without embassy. It is not about skill and courageosly or ethically politically correct or sovereignity right.
    It is same as Susan boyle which has muka dinasour would mission impossible become famous singer like Lady Gagak or Kajol Rosli.

Case same like vettel, Vettel more youngest , hensem compared webber. So the team has no chose but to handpicked the choosen wan to represent the team as victor and so upon returning he will be fortnighted as datuk seri vettel.(sami vettel) I think this proses liken a staged stationary like the 911 by avatar team in bollywood as mention and realisasi by Mahathir wisdom.

• NasRule on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:46 pm

whatever it is, hamilton’s chick that day quite a hottie aay?

but i support webber.

• osh_kosh on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:18 am

hammy really had bad taste in girl… yuck.. i’ll take Jessica anyday…

• Korean on Jun 01, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Helmut Marko, you must be a nincompoop. Look at the replay, Vettel changed direction and hit Webber. If I were Redbull’s boss, I would fire this guy.

• osh_kosh on Jun 01, 2010 at 8:20 pm

if u see the replay u’ll notice that Webber didn’t even yield to give Vettel enough room.. Vettel was clearly in front & faster, he’s going into the corner, he need to take the line (what else can he do?), Webber should expect this by giving him enough room (& yield if necessary).. more over Vettel is his team-mate, if it’s other drivers i can understand Webber move… take a look at how Hammy overtake Button after being overtaken, Hammy ‘jump’ in front of Button & give a little ‘push’ on Button at the 1st corner, they touched, but Button give enough room to him & react by yielding when it was clear that Hammy was in front & have the line.. it’s a clean move.. that’s how u do it & i believe what Vettel expect from Webber… please don’t comment when u didn’t even understand the situation.. imagining about being RB’s boss when the fact is u didn’t even understand the sport.. *sigh*

• Korean on Jun 02, 2010 at 12:39 pm

You better go and check your spectacles or eyes, or you are not even know what is racing. What have in your mind is favoritism toward Vettel, how can a racer sway his car violently to another car. Common don’t talk c**k like a nincompoop.
        According to your logic, Webber better stop and let Vettel pass, if not Vettel will cry like a spoiled brat.

• osh_kosh on Jun 02, 2010 at 10:35 pm

i can say the same, u r biased toward Webber… weak point huh? i didn’t even said that Webber must stop to let Vettel pass didn’t I? that’s silly… i’ve suggested to you to take a good look at Hammy-Button fight… that’s how u do it.. that’s what profesional drivers expect from each other… either u didn’t understand what i’ve said or just plain ignorant… btw, Vettel didn’t sway violently, they were both traveling sub 300kmh & even a small touch would created a big impact, that’s what really happen & basicly can be prevent if Webber give enough room… in the end it show how much your understanding toward racing dynamics… ROFL

• Cannot simply fire him bro. Coz he’s ‘anak emas’ in Redbulli racing. Aslo german nationality. Webber will be the victim next. Poor him.