Mkini reports petrol and diesel to go up RM0.05 tonight?

Fuel-Wallet GaugeAccording to Malaysiakini, both petrol and diesel prices will go up by RM0.05 effective midnight tonight. That’s pretty much all their brief news piece says, but if all three types of fuel are hiked that would mean new prices of RM1.85 per litre for RON95, RM2.10 per litre for regulated RON97 and RM1.75 per litre for Euro 2M diesel.

Just as a recap, here is Idris Jala’s proposed plan to cut down on fuel subsidies in Malaysia as part of the PEMANDU think tank project:

• Current 2010 Price – RM1.80 per litre RON95
  • Q3/Q4 2010 Price Hike – RM1.95 per litre RON95
  • 2011 Price Hike – RM2.16 per litre RON95 (broken into 2 hikes, once per 6 months)
  • 2012 Price Hike – RM2.20 per litre RON95
  • 2013 Price Hike – RM2.34 per litre RON95
  • 2014 Price Hike – RM2.52 per litre RON95
  • 2015 Price Hike – RM2.60 per litre RON95

Stay tuned for more updates!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Whatever on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Here we go again. We pay to feed those pathetic hungry dogs

• Stupid Rela Killed Tiger on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Ya, tamak cronies. Idris Jala used to be one of the respected ppl, now he’s one of them liao.

• kl_boy on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:40 pm

I think it’s unfair for you to paint Idris in the same brush as them. He was merely doing his job. If you wanted to bring in issues like excise duties and others, you should curse Tun Rafidah and Dr M’s administration for bringing us to this 25 years ago….

• yeah, he’s just the puppet, the g really swift in ripping the rakyat money but play dumb on corruption issues. Hey G whats the PKFZ billions Corruption status now?

• Stupid Rela Killed Tiger = idiot on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:14 am

Don’t ASSUME, because you’re making ASS out of U and ME, silly

• Boo...leh...boo..leh, M'sia boo...leh! on Jul 17, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Actually you’re right. Support your ‘name’. ‘Stupid Rela Killed Tiger = idiot’. In fact that particular Rela officer should be fined, jailed (imprisonment) or maybe hang to death for killing an endangered species who was hungry.

There are other alternatives instead of killing like shooting a jab/needle that will put the tiger to sleep. If the tiger was still alive, it could help in increasing the population in any means (whether it’s a male or female) ;-)

P/s Sorry out of topic.

Btw, now G said wanna appoint officers at borders to prohibit owners of petrol stations from selling RON97 to foreign-registered vehicles. Haha, i doubt it will work. Now u see where do our tax$$$ go to: $$$ used for plans that are not studied carefully for their viability & effectiveness.

• tikus on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:17 pm

wat to do..Malaysia Boleh!

• kimi_ on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Cronies on the run again…..BN= Barang Naik

Yeah, the price will rise UNTIL 2013 when we have a new G…

• feisal on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Then it will rise even further. Nothing is going down anywhere nowadays.

• hybrin gen2 on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:56 pm

i think you are the pathetic loser!

a. Pertama, kesemua subsidi ini tidak menepati sasaran – ia memberi faedah juga kepada pihak yang tidak layak, iaitu warga asing dan rakyat yang berpendapatan tinggi yakni mereka yang mampu untuk membayar petrol tanpa subsidi. Fokus kita sepatutnya ialah bagi membantu golongan yang berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana bukan mereka yang memandu kereta import yang mewah. Subsidi gula yang berlebihan pula memberi faedah kepada industri-industri dan bukannya keluarga. Hampir dua kali ganda subsidi gula ini digunakan oleh sektor perniagaan berbanding isi rumah.

b. Kedua, barangan yang bersubsidi tinggi selalunya membawa kepada aktiviti penyeludupan kerana pemberian subsidi telah menjadikan barangan ini paling murah di rantau ini. Pada tahun 2009 sahaja, ramai penyeludup telah ditangkap ketika cuba membawa keluar lebih 200 tan metrik gula. Sebenarnya, jumlah yang tidak dapat ditangkap kerana penyeludupan ini adalah lebih besar. Diesel terus diseludup dan dijual secara haram di negara jiran. Pihak berkuasa telah meningkatkan pengawalan untuk menghalang penyeludupan, tetapi selagi adanya perbezaan harga yang besar, penyeludup akan terus dengan kegiatan haram ini.

• wutaheck on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:28 pm

points to ponder; high income citizen pays more income tax…so they are also entitled for the subsidy as much as you & me…

• ouch!!!!!! on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:04 pm

G cannot just increase petrol price. G should first abolish the excise duties and sales tax on cars first, upgrade all roads and patch up nicely all pot holes. We do not mind paying world price petrol but first, treat the rakyat decently… give us fair car price and well maintained roads first.

• ricaza on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:05 pm

totally agreed…fair play like in football…

• Motorist on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Our G is like the referee in the England-Germany game.

Soooo obvious it was a goal but disallowed cos’ the ref says so. Final, no discussion. The ref word is law.

• The Loner on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Totally agree with this. Want to take money from rakyat, do the long term one, not short term one like setting the price of the vehicles sky high.

• tokmoh on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:38 pm

I just want good public transport, but obviously pigs will fly first before that happens.

If any of you were to believe in latest round of “improve public transport” announcements, latest being said to cost “RM30bil”, harhar, good luck. How many times they’ve made those kinda announcements and the only thing that improves is the amount said to be allocated. Komuter is still a goddamn fcuking time-waster, LRT (which I admit is pretty good) stations still remain where they are, despite I remember them making announcements of expanding to Subang Jaya since 2006, but it’s been 4 years and…???

• dickybird on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:15 pm

this govt talk oni ma, bila nak execute kena cari foreign consultant la!

• tokmoh on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm

What did I just say, now the figure had been increased to RM43bil: http://goo.gl/wCX2

Foreign consultant (and rolling stocks) is of course important, I don’t see a problem with that. Hyundai makes some of Komuter’s rolling stocks, while LRT uses Bombardier.

China has the world’s fastest high-speed rail that averages >300km/h, it’s naive to think China did it all on its own.

• omahabojan on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:05 pm

It may be his decision or someone big behind him pressuring him to carry out such work. speculation

• well done Malaysia Gov…well done!!

• jlooi on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Gov no more $$$ to subsidy our petrol. Got pro & con. Pro if those $$$ being use in good hand. Con is we will get more white elephant project coming soon.

• tokmoh on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm

No $$$? Msian overpaid tax to them billions every year, n they haven’t refunded yet to those who overpaid since 2006, and they say they no $$$? Going bankrupt in 9 more years? Man, just why do we still vote those monkeys into power…

http://goo.gl/IW78

• just me on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:39 pm

i’m not pro gov, but the LHDN has refunded my overpaid tax.

• tokmoh on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:25 pm

That’s you, but what about the govt? What’ve they been doing with the tax money they’ve yet to refund?

Come to think of it… yes it does seem govt no $$$… they have debts to taxpayers who overpaid, and they can’t settle it since 2006… if that is not mismanagement/corruption, I dunno what that is. Act of God maybe.

• kubuddy on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm

BNM car loan interest rate increased , today gov increase petrol $. & tomorrow inflation….

• boss coffee on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm

About damn time the G increases the petrol prices. People should learn to use the public transport.

Been using the bus and lrt for the past 1 year. Loving it!

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Silly comment. No public transportation where I live lah…..

• ricaza on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm

in kl boleh la..in other city?? such as kuantan?

• MonfereBlogspot on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm

The problem is the public transport is not convenience in here yet…

• i would love to use it too. but when u have overcharging cabs for a short distance and sardine pack metrobuses around, i dont give 2 hoots about it. Just take my car to work.

• tarmiziali on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Not everyone in entire Malaysia gets to enjoy public transport availability to where they go to work. Think east coast, sabah n sarawak. Dont limit Selangor and KL only.

• Are u sere public transport in malaysia good,

go watch back the DRIVEN where they test out by driving car, bike and take public transport.. then u can see the different.

• 1Malaysia on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Walk Is even better can exercise and it’s free…..Wellcome to the 60” Sigh!!!!!!!

• Artz3 on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm

hey at least in the 60’s the car prices is without those ridiculous import taxes, according to my Grandpa la.

• tokmoh on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Irrelevant. We’re talking about pub transport.

I remember reading somewhere that in the old times, KL had decent pub transport thanks to bus mini. But somehow, I dunno why, the cronies takeover the bus mini’s operation which previously was run by the ‘pendatang’ and the rest is history.

boss coffee is lucky his home n office are close to lrt access, but the lrt network just doesn’t cover wide enough areas.

• Chris on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:25 pm

you know what?
      F U!!!
      big time F U!!!
      public transport is the worst mode of transport in malaysia!
      even cycling is faster than taking a bus!
      so thanks for stupid crap from your mouth and again, F U!!!

• celicazz on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

so, what you recommend on ppl with no access of public transport?

• bryan.jones on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm

must be one of the crony. blind2 support anything dumb.

• Motorist on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm

Let the Ministers & MP’s start taking public transport first lah.

Ministers are chauffeur driven & some even have police escort to clear the roads for them.

How the heck will they know the sufferings of the common man when they themselves are insulated & isolated from us.

• David.Beckham on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:35 pm

BIG F U!!!!!!
      Come to live in Sarawak,F’er!!!
      In some place here,kids have to walk for hours to go to school.
      HAPPY BIG F U !!!!!!

• littlefire on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Well… We should thanks those who vote BN in the previos election!!!

BN = Barang NAIK!!!!!

• nabill on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:28 pm

thank you ,i will vote for u again, for ur incedible ability to make ppl’s life more miserable…wat a rare talent !

• Anti Proton on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Screw this G

• samkhairul on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm

well no point gaji naik minyak pun naik…..

• wait to see whether the news is true or false…..

• langit hitam on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Float the fuel price, reduce the excise duty and import tax for all car, and let the automotive industries in Malaysia be competitive enough.

Take all the toll concessionaire, with this, no more subsidies on Toll rite, only need to manage the toll road with a merely charge(toll).

Then,let the people choose what G’s on next election.

• rafqin on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:39 pm

pru13..u will take it back G..

• WHAT THE HELL?????!

• mari ramai2, we isi minyak tonight….

• udasalleh on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:44 pm

political news website unreliable. making offhand statements that cannot be corroborated. as good as rumour mongering. why bother.

• khairil jamil on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:50 pm

if this really happen, tok jib surely digging BN grave… but my guts say that its not possible… suprise present for rakyat usually from pak lah era… for now, tok jib era always got feedback from rakyat first.. and the PR make it big even before they implement it… wahh.. no automot talk.. politic talk.. talk kok onli

• Tommy on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:52 pm

seriously guys, I’m not pro G, but, look at all subsidy we have. Rice, sugar, flour, cooking oil, almost all of the daily needs were subsidised. I don’t think its all about corruption (maybe a lil bit). And stop giving baseless speculations or anything that say bla2… we don’t know what’s up with the G right now. I bet, even if we change the G, the fuel price will still hiking, because, its not just us, its whole over the world. What can we do? right? like sum of us says that, reduce car import tax or taxes, but then we want cheaper fuel, how can that be? where shall the G get those money? even sum of us owe the G money through our millions ringgit worth of saman. right? World is just so terrible these days. I wish I’m still a kid, never ever worried about cost of living… haih…

• Bankrupt on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Alright now the petrol goes up, car tax go down? how about tat, fair enough. But it wont ever happen.

• KJsucks on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:26 pm

it wont, it is almost the most impossible thing

• wutaheck on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm

have u ever thought of the effect of reducing the car tax? your current car will have no value! what r u going 2 say 2 that?
        i’d say give each citizen one AP each & up to us to decide what to do with it…

• khaix19a on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:39 am

i agree if all the things people want subsidies so the tax will be increase because government use this tax to pay the subsidies to help the citizen that not include to pay the civil servant. that is my opinion. correct me if im wrong

• Some may say is ok if their have high income like u.. How about people at rural area until now their suffer..

• dickybird on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:44 pm

srsly! it remains to be seen what an opposition led govt would do coz we never had the guts to vote in 1 even when this bn govt was untenable. but as far as i can see, this will only get worse and not better! they are bankrupt of ideas and soon will bankrupt our country! and when that happens, who will be left to pick up the pieces?!

• phas3r on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:54 pm

even rm2.70/L still many cars on the road.

• That may be true…but you notice the usual boy racers are more sedate….nursing every drop of fuel…heheh

• Why just layman likes us only must contribute for the nation??? Why not GLC, their also subsidize from Gov.

• ricaza on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm

i think they want to cover FELDA money..hurrmmmm..

• confirm RON 95 & Diesel price hike by 5 cent and ron 97 – floated…damn G..can’t think other people difficulties…Why cant they line up the exact plan rather than hike & seek game..stupid

• Ericboy on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm

1 Car = 200 Liter/Month

If m’sia a month 5 Million Car visit petrol station,then it will be…

200 Liter x 5m = 1B Liter

1B Liter = RM50,000,000.00/Month!!!

Brilliant G!!

• Bankrupt on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Petrol Hike = Hike of all things. Public transportation, food and so on.
    Hike of transportation fees did not go down on the last hike of RM2.70/liter , now increase 0.05sen I’m sure it will be increasing again. And it will just go up and up. Till every rakyat cannot afford to go out anymore. My personal point of view, by cutting down the subsidization of Petrol will not help m’sia economy to growth but making it worst while Govt still pouring big money into things tat are unnecessary and rakyat/malaysian are suffering. There are still people, family that couldn’t cope with the increasing price of petrol/cost of living. Govt should cut down the big spending and start doing things right. Not every state in M’sia have good public transportation. Many states in msia still need cars to go around.

• mackdePoco on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

How about east malaysia asshole, we don’t have LRT and the Buses system are the lousiest. Try taking public transport here and you’ll miss all your appointments

• Just as I expected.

Expect price increase all everything tomorrow.

• Lou Lou on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Yea, public transport… if the bus system and the lrt system is schedule on time, especially the bus system !!! so damn not efficient !
    besides, personal safety while taking public transport is compromised

• ron95 is used mostly byordinary car and low to mid class society. i think gov should mantain the price. on the other hand ron 97 is used by abigger class car in which the owner from higher class. why not just increrse the ron97 and these higer class people shoul not complaint because if the 97 is more expensive then just use ron 95, rite?

• wutaheck on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:41 pm

no, it wont do justice to high income citizen since they also pay income tax…as a matter of fact higher than you & me…

• rosdi on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Nevermind… I will be driving a Volkswagen TSI anyway…

• knight_mmc on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:44 pm

not only petrol, sugar , gas lpg also increased

• huiyoo on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:44 pm

quite high petrol hike in between 2010 – 2011. just increase by 5 cent every year is enough la. haha

• NeuroOne on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:52 pm

increase bit by bit still ok. everything goes up ever since money was invented. should be thankful our petrol/diesel price still low. also should be thankful for other subsidied stuff. but then, less jalan2 for me.. Stay at home watch astro la…

• motorist on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:04 pm

aiyyoooo…. today already spend RM5 perday on petrol (motorbike).. tomorrow maybe rm6.. luckily i use bike, not car.. but consider if i use car, today can buy by RM15per day, but later will be rm20..
    now thinking about using public transport.. better get early tomorrow.. i dont know what time for the earliest bus.. hahaha

• kimi_ on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Wonder where the money gone.???

Remember the interview with DR. Mahathir last week in TV1, he says those cronies in UXXO used to get 8 AP a month, roughly RM80k at that time :(

So, what you think?

• aku noob on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm

best giler ..aku pon nak jadi ccroni la mcm tuu :-D

• ricaza on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:07 pm

yep!!! i know that..tv1 forum rmk10 …

• Motorist on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Cronies are singing…..

That aint workin’
      That’s the way you do it
      Money for nothing and your chicks for free

• ahshuy on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:10 pm

its confirmed that will be increased for 5cent for ron95 and diesel, as for ron 97 will be floating according to the market.

• voxxo on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm

boss coffee,

Can you tell me how to take public transport to work at USJ?

• farkow de gomen on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:40 pm

diu de gomen! bikin susah saja.

• shawal on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

all the tropical climate country has the most oil, we are meant to drive and use our air-conditioners to the lowest temperature

• bryan.jones on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:13 pm

REDUCE THE CAR DUTIES THEN UP THE PRICE.. DUMB G. SCREW EVERY CORNER OF PEOPLE MONEY. AND YET THEY LIVE HAPPILY WITH THEIR FLEET OF LUXURY CARS.

• tricycle on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:20 pm

so F stupid, like others have said, where is the justice when the G increase the price of the fuel but the tax on on cars are still high?

on G says that it save RM750 million, WTF? where does the money go? It doesn’t benefit the rakyat at all! Everything goes to cronies! tell me what has the rakyat benefited so far?

This is what happen when the rakyats including the non-muslims opposed the JUDI BOLA PIALA DUNIA, now the G has to pay back what they owed Vincent T contribution in the past by-elections

The present regime is full of S**t, and we should use our rakyat power to topple them down in the next GE, we failed in 1969 due to our lack of cohesiveness, let that be a lesson for all of us.

• kurikuri on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm

pasal pasir, yg kene Selangor jek, tp bising satu Malaysia

nk tengok, harga naik yg kene satu Malaysia ni, korang (TV3,PERKASA,UTUSAN) bising x..

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:04 am

This is what we call Malaysia Boleh!!

Pls vote wisely in the next GE…..

Wish ordinary folks all the best!!!!

• thinker989 on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:17 am

wonder how Malaysia like if the G never give subsidy to people…….
    all these argument will never happen

• Once again, rakyat in the lose site…

• Man, Malaysia should be the Asian Detroit…

No more turn, it has gone to Thailand because of our policy…

Can imagine how much that FDI will help Malaysia economic, it will not end up use rakyat money…so sick…

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:18 am

very sad but true.born and living in Malaysia. My tanahairku..tempat makan dan berak!!!! Rich country but ruined by Bar…al!!! It’s true dude..”Rakyat didahulukan(sengsara),Pencapaian (sendiri dan kroni) diutamakan”..Syabas bebey!!!
    p/s:knape asal dekat nak raya jer..minyak kena naik?? pelik!!

• Common la guys…for those who study economics…plz speak up

u thing wat…if we put the new G, our national fuel price will drop ka…idiot x skolah

Cronies…Curi pasir n paki toyota camry….y so silence about it

If the new G masuk…then semua perdana tukar Camri…dont tell me toyota parts are more cheaper then proton and dont tell me the NEW G’s Cronies will use thier own money to pay thier fuel usage and parts…..sure claims masuk+untung sikit

Dont tell me the new G’s will lower thier salary as compare to now

Sape mau rugi…mesti ada hidden untung…jual top up pun dapat untung

Y so sempit n kolot…the whole world share the same thing n u say the new G’s will control the wolrd’s market……

• Kalau dah kena “tapau” oleh kerajaan yang sama utk 50 tahun kan bodoh dan bangang namanya! Oit, fikir elok-elok siot. Orang sanggup tukar government pasal tak nak kena tipu 50 tahun lagi.

• i hope goment will create a law that state all smugglers can be shot/hanged. no matter what is the smuggled item is. hukuman bunuh ke atas semua penyeludup. coz to me, they r all traitors.

• The real traitors are the people who kept on increasing price of essential goods and services. Name it; fuel, gas, food, cars (including Tin Milo Proton) and etc.

• y not G set-up a policy tat employee must have increment every year since they are so damn good in increagin price !!1

• terrence on Jul 18, 2010 at 4:43 pm

what’s the fuss? They cant even think or dare to think to bring down the automobile price. In PH., the price of Vigo 2.5 disel is RM 71,000.00. So much so the propaganda Only lunatics think every thing’s right