Second-generation Nissan X-Trail Test Drive Report

The Nissan X-Trail will be officially launched on the first week of August, but Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) organised a media preview of sorts to Port Dickson, where we brought you the new SUV’s selling price – RM149,500 OTR including insurance. As a recap, our X-Trail is imported CBU from Indonesia and is powered by a 137 bhp/198 Nm 2.0-litre engine paired to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT gearbox with six virtual ratios in its manual mode.

Yours truly got to sample the X-Trail both from the driver’s seat and as a passenger, and it’s mostly a pleasant experience. Let’s start from the back. One sits high up, and the bench is set at the perfect height and length for my legs. Although legroom isn’t as good as the Honda CR-V’s, it’s adequate if the person in front isn’t particularly long legged. In any case, there’s room under the front seats for feet to tuck in.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

The X-Trail comes with rear air vents, which is good, but I also like the storage ideas in this car. Fold down the centre rear armrest and you’ll find two mini “shelves”, good for mobile phones or music players. You can also access bags in the boot from this opening. The dash top has a big storage bin (should be big enough for a tissue box) and the glove box is very deep. Meanwhile, all cupholders located near air vents (2 in front, 2 behind) have cooling functions which can be shut off.

A flexible boot is one of the X-Trail’s highlights. A “false floor” sits on top of two drawers. The one on the right comes with separators that let you configure your own space. As my boot doubles up as a shoe rack, I can imagine fully utilising this space. The surface of the floor is easy to wipe clean and is washable. Take off the drawers and the well shaped boot has a max capacity of 603 litres, impressive when considering there’s a full-sized spare stored under it. Rear seats fold flat, 40:60. All these are not gimmicks and I can imagine owners making good use of them.

Similarly, there are also no gimmicks up front, but the dashboard looks a little too spartan to this writer and could do with a bit more flair and flash. Fit and finish is good, and the plastics (dash and doors) are impressively soft to the touch, but unfortunately they won’t be as apparent in the showroom as the manual air-con and the lack of leather/buttons on the steering wheel. The collection of blank buttons don’t help the cause. The instrument cluster is simply styled and easy to read, although at times glare gets in the way. Ergonomics and outward visibility are good.

A fellow media member asked me if I’d rather have climate control and a better steering wheel OR the X-Trail’s star features over the CR-V (keyless entry and start, electric front seats, bi-xenons with washer). Personally, I’ll take the latter, as I don’t use the AUTO function of climate control anyway. How about you?

Second-generation Nissan X-Trail Test Drive ReportOn the move, the drivetrain’s refinement stands out immediately. Just like in the Sylphy, engine noise is kept away nicely, and the CVT is great for quiet, seamless urban progress. Nissan champions CVT as an auto ‘box replacement, and their Xtronic CVT is the best of its kind. If you have a smooth driving style, you’ll have no trouble in adapting to it from a normal auto ‘box. The manual mode with six ratios is a welcome bonus over the Sylphy, providing rather quick changes and immediate response when you need it (like when overtaking on trunk roads).

The MR20DE makes 137 bhp and 198 Nm of torque here, slightly more than the Sylphy’s 131 bhp/191 Nm but still unspectacular. With three on board, there were times where I wished there was more grunt, but there also wasn’t a situation where I thought of the X-Trail as badly underpowered. It’s just about adequate, although stronger acceleration from low revs would be welcome. At a highway cruise, the lack of drivetrain and rolling noise was very impressive, so much so that it made the wind buffeting more apparent. Can’t have it all!

ETCM says that the X-Trail’s suspension (front struts/rear multi link) had input from Sachs Germany and there’s a firmness to how it flows along that’s a little bit European. The light steering is precise, if not the most feelsome, and although there’s slightly more body roll than “big hatchbacks” like the Peugeot 3008, it’s never off putting or nausea inducing. In fact, the chassis copes with uneven back roads pretty well and isn’t easily unruffled. Understeer sets in at a stage where most owners would have long backed off.

Although we get the 2WD version, the X-Trail was build with off roading in mind, and I was pleasantly surprised at how it handled itself when driven briskly on twisty roads. It’s no hot hatch of course, but quite good for what it is. However, I reckon that Nissan could also have dialled in more compliance over bigger bumps and potholes – we should have heard and felt less of it.

Well, as for the looks, it’s either you like it or you don’t. Nissan says that the same-same design is deliberate; the old X-Trail exceeded sales expectations and was well loved by owners, so they wanted to maintain the “authentic SUV” looks to contrast today’s crossover styled rivals. They took the evolutionary theme to the extreme, and as a result, it takes a keen observer to spot old from new – drivers of the many old X-Trails we passed didn’t even bat an eyelid!

The new X-Trail is quite unique in the marketplace and not easy to peg. It offers the rugged looks of a true 4X4, but not the off road ability of one. It looks no-nonsense and uncompromising in and out, but is actually a refined, and practical family vehicle that’s perfectly at home in the city.

PS: Some might be wondering why we’re getting the pre-facelift second-gen T31 X-Trail instead of the latest one recently launched in Japan. That’s because Japan was the first market to get this generation of X-Trail and the facelift follows the product’s natural life cycle there. Indonesia (the production hub for ASEAN) got the T31 later than Japan, and will only start assembling the facelifted car in 1 1/2 to 2 years from now. So we’ll have to wait till then for it to be brought in.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1372]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• littleboy on Jul 31, 2010 at 7:14 am

bravo ETCM…but the design looks very indon…..coz here can see some indon van and suv with the similar design…..:P

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 31, 2010 at 7:34 am

Design what very “indon”….? like you can isolate that particular design language.

The Xtrail has been what it was. Utilatarian 2 box design off the original pickup based Xterra.

I like the idea of it dropping the 4WD to save weight and increase fuel efficiency. I always thought that if you needed 4WD, there are plenty of other options available, even within Nissan like the aformentioned Xterra or the Frontiers we have here.

XTrails have been proven reliable and decent to drive, albeit the 2.0 feels very underpowered on highway drives perhaps due to the lazy autobox. This CVT and new engine would definately make the car a lot better than its predecessors.

The price however, could use a little more work.

• indon hv better engine capacity. if not mistaken, is 2.4

CRV in Indo is competing head to head wth this x trail

• Ridz1 on Jul 31, 2010 at 7:39 am

can’t match the previous x trail interior….

• MyCarMyLife on Jul 31, 2010 at 8:40 am

Nissan is 6 years late, I purchased my CRV in 2004 CBU and sold it in 2008, others have gone far ahead especially Hyundai and KIA, sleeping on your laurels ETCM or just plain dumping old stocks into MY ??

• theanswer on Jul 31, 2010 at 8:49 am

looks decent..serve the purpose. but suv at this price without control button at steering wheel? it might look unimportant but crv looks more ‘heavy’ in terms of spec.

• The look is still a bit dull.

Interior wise, not as good look and feel as latest Tucson.

• Whitefox on Jul 31, 2010 at 10:11 am

overall everything look not bad only the headlight is part that not really like. Feel a bit outdated

• Maserati on Jul 31, 2010 at 10:45 am

The previous Xtrail is so much nicer than this version in terms of design and specs

You can actually select the driving mode,and yes the engine is very very smooth.

Prefer the old one over this one..

• zhang on Jul 31, 2010 at 10:50 am

Waste of time, just disappointed with ETCM, can understand what logic is with you, why cant you guy bring in other more interesting model than this, just compare with H, T and now the koreans….

• Farhat on Jul 31, 2010 at 10:50 am

http://bit.ly/a1xJS9

New CAPTIVA

• ismazri on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:18 am

It is Renault engine.

• aghast on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:22 am

Wow, isnt it great to have another car imported!! Unfortunately not from Japan, but our neighbours, Indonesia…

We are a very distinctive nation, we must love imported cars, whether they be used, recon, rebadged (think Kia) or simply other nations junks and discards. And they command great profits for the biz too.

Wow, this should be a subject at ‘What they dont teach you at Business school’. Definitely a new thesis for Phd students. Aren’t we a great nation.

• longjaafar on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:51 am

What happened to the model with spotlights on the roof rack? I suspect this particuler version(2 wheel drive at that) is a compromise and we are not getting their best.

• maxchock on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:53 am

if compare to 3008…. 3008 win 2 head infront..

• mitlanevo on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:58 am

not a bad suv, it actually looks huge and tough…

but anyway, still very hard to sell in bolehland, most of us prefer something ‘softer’ like crv and tucson…

that’s why everyone is buying the sissy triton instead of those bold ranger, navara and dmax…

• JonLing on Jul 31, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Actually im a fan of original X-Trail, coz it’s really a breath of fresh air to normally-occupied-by-some-urban-suv-that-doesn’t-have-offroad-capability market of compact suv. but this model for me is really too bare in terms of spec, and it lacks 4×4 drivetrain. it’s a bit of a letdown, coz in terms of handling and ride, i don’t think it can be comparable with CR-V. The only advantages that it has over CR-V, for me, are its real off-roader look and off-road capability. But now without real off-road capability, i really don’t know if that real off-roader look can be justified or not, especially when it demands such a high price, and with a look that can easily deter many urban suv lovers, interior that is so blank, and a spec list that can give nissan sales personnels some tough time to sell the car.

Having said that, I believe that new X-Trail being a CBU could be the trade-off that ETCM had to do, since they will start Teana assembly works soon. Previously X-Trail was a CKD model, and Teana was a CBU model. So in order for Teana to be assembled here, X-Trail might have to be imported from Indonesia. It might because the factory capacity issue, or simply Nissan HQ deemed it is not cost effective enough to have both the models assembled here at the same time. So for that, I won’t point my fingers at ETCM. They must have some tough time in making decisions.

• Alex Khoo on Jul 31, 2010 at 12:28 pm

I prefer manual seats.
    I don’t really like CVT gearboxes.
    Even the car got keyless entry also I use the key.
    So, I still like the CR-V. (Maybe because I drive one, hahaha)

But, nonetheless, this is still a nice car. Although ETCM took three years to launch this model here, even in Japan they have the facelifted model out already.

• CHANG VOON CHING on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:54 pm

ACTUALLY CR-V IS NOT A REAL GOOD CAR..IF U COMPARE WITH CHEVROLET CAPTIVA….100 TIME BETTER THAN CRV…CRV PERFORMANCE LIKE SUCK..

• etudiante on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:15 am

are you sure ???
        did u have drove one ???
        did u have drove captiva as well ???

both are good..

• OK lah, at least the test-drive report of the X-Trail was a bit more favourable to the model.

I hope when ETCM brings in the facelifted T31 within the next 2 years, it would be better specced (cough, 4WD, cough) so I could hopefully book one then.

• Thumbs up for going a step backwards!!

• Neutral on Jul 31, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Mmm sorry,I still prefer to have CRV2007 than this new XTrail.The exterior & interior styling can beat CRV yet :)

• the Hyundai Tucson is better

• CHANG VOON CHING on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:59 pm

HYUNDAI TUCSON IS BETTER THAN CRV…CHEAPER THAN CRV…THAT IS MOST IMPORTANT

• Farhat on Sep 12, 2010 at 10:18 pm

In this segment, theres a comparison between Xtrail and CRV since both a large compact SUVs, similarly priced, but this Xtrail has electric seats and bi-xenon.

and both Japs.

We dont want to hear you blabbering about the 3 year lifespan 2010 Compact SUV, Tuscon.

• White Jack on Jul 31, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Happy to see the speedometer now positioned in front of the steering :)

• Oh goosh!!! 2 wd???
    I would rather keep my existing 2.0 4wd 4 x-trail.
    How to have fun driving 2wd to genting, cameron & coaster roads?

• EView on Jul 31, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Definitely the UGLIEST SUV available in Malaysia.

• JonLing on Aug 02, 2010 at 8:48 am

No. Those SUVs from SsangYong, except maybe Rexton, are the ugliest. Compared with them, this X-Trail is like those sexy models in fashion world already.

• Tusco on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:49 pm

May not be the ugliest but surely close to that….for that px and looks…oh my…

• fh006 on Jul 31, 2010 at 1:46 pm

really dispointed…only 2WD & under power…price not worth-it. NOT justified for my next car to purchase soon. Wasting my time to wait for this.

• Geronimo on Jul 31, 2010 at 2:17 pm

I have the same prefer as you Paul. Bi-xenon and stuff.

The climate control on Honda is kinda hit and miss. I normally override the control.

I’m no fan of Nissan but cubby holes and rear boot floor I must say is one of the best thing by Nissan and they’re no hi-tech thing. Just well thought off.

• acerman on Jul 31, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Nowadays, cars should be practical. If the looks nice but not practical, better have second thoughts. The way Nissan use all the space in the car is brilliant though with the old school look.

p/s you’ll never know when those spaces might come handy. :)

• dickybird on Aug 01, 2010 at 3:45 pm

agreed! but its still got looks only a mother would love.

• It is confirmed. God knows what they feed that chaps at R&D Nissan…crappy designs something like SsangYong….But i can tell you the Korean chaps must be eating steriods with futuristic designs… including GM. Only cock eyed buggars will go for this shit!

• Trinity on Jul 31, 2010 at 7:14 pm

if you dont like it, then dont buy it..as simple as that. What gives you the god-like right to degrade others? one man’s meat is another one man’s poison. Be a little more civilized. Jeezzzz!

• alibaba on Jul 31, 2010 at 8:36 pm

LL is only airing his/her views. You should practice what you preach and comment on the car instead of degrading others about their etiquette. And yes, this car is utter crap!

• Trinity on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:18 pm

LIkewise kettle. The keyword here is to comment on the car instead of degrading others.

• Yes comment on the car so tit for tat. It’s not my fault the Nissan fellas eat bad sushi.

• dickybird on Aug 01, 2010 at 4:00 pm

when did he degrade you? have you been eating sushi too? let us agree to disagree!

• Heh thanks Alibaba…stick to the car and not the person man….and…The Tucson is way futuristic and a whole lot better.

• huh, must be a Nissan fan, mediocre and just plain boring. Majority of morons out there too. All cockeyed.

It’s just a shame the Koreans are working overtime to churn out mega good looking cars.

• Err.. are u related to anybody over at ETCM or their sub-con?

• Trinity on Aug 01, 2010 at 3:04 pm

No, I am not related to anyone nor a fan of a particlar brand.

• Farhat on Sep 12, 2010 at 10:24 pm

OMG finally. Im not on anyones side but wheres this kinda debate on Korean car segments? Usually there would be this LOVE PASSION thing for Hyundais esp the Tuscon and Forte. and when someone talks on how much they hate it, the Korean car fanatic would smash their heads.

Now theres the “showing opinion” side to Jap car segments…

I got the 2010 CRV recently, i kinda feel ashamed not waiting to test drive the ‘new’ xtrail, but ill just keep on driving and wait 6 years to see if i would sell the CRV and buy another SUV..

• akupunya on Jul 31, 2010 at 2:29 pm

ugly..super outdated design…
    nothing to be categorised as new..boring x trail..

• donaldyeap on Jul 31, 2010 at 2:49 pm

This car interior is like tech of 5 years back. Tucson and CRV is up to date.. thumb down to nissan tan chong.

• ViosUser on Jul 31, 2010 at 2:54 pm

writer keep comparing the unit with Honda CRV. CRV get VERY BAD verdict from most UK car magazine.

• Trinity on Jul 31, 2010 at 7:14 pm

because there are many honda fanboy here

• David on Aug 02, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Trinity,
        Yeap, agree with you. Don’t forget even more Toyota fanboys around M’sia too!

• CHANG VOON CHING on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:04 pm

HONDA MADE IN MALAYSIA IS NOT GOOD AS HYUNDAI TUCSON,,,,,VERY GOOD PRICE

• ah yat on Jul 31, 2010 at 3:18 pm

so dated design…. boring n over price

• MINI FREAK! on Jul 31, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Just love this car…. Love the boxy design.

• Tusco on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

No offense but for someone to have “FREAK” in nickname and LOVING this x-trail says a lot about this car

• nissan fans on Jul 31, 2010 at 4:32 pm

nissan’s sports cars is very nice. especially the new R35. The design was brilliant and powerful!!

but the normal family cars was suck!! the design is too boring. really disappointed!!

why? can someone tell me? izit nissan is lack of R&D? or capital?

• 388900wow on Jul 31, 2010 at 5:43 pm

nissan has few nice designs car

just that ETCM bring in the boring models~~~ screw the china man biz!

• Cordoba1 on Jul 31, 2010 at 4:34 pm

X trail has always been an average SUV easy to live with type but no wow factor..the interior looks fairly basic and this is the weakest area of an overall good package…

• JACk LIm on Jul 31, 2010 at 5:59 pm

less attraction with that price…. >.<
    i dun think any big different compare to previous….
    Hard to hit market malaysia….
    Hyundai and kia had really work out with something even advance…
    honestly, the interior is s**K…

• kaskas_pepper on Jul 31, 2010 at 6:01 pm

nampak biasa je..design terlalu sama dgn model lama..tak rasa menarik langsung..

no fresh look..

• 388900wow on Jul 31, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Nissan Murano looks good but its luxury level..

but then where is the following???

Nissan Qashqai
    Nissan Rogue

perhaps.. its suit us tough…X-trail is meant for third world country like us~~!

• deuter_backpack on Jul 31, 2010 at 6:41 pm

the latest x trail design still stays at previous CRV era. they are one step behind of CRV, how to compare?

• deuter on Jul 31, 2010 at 6:44 pm

i think too much of TC family conflicts, now x trail is as bad as how the family feud looks. lol

• kichiki on Jul 31, 2010 at 8:38 pm

hi paul,

may i know max torque n power of the powertrain unit in this X-trail?
    TQVM…

• Piece of crap at RM149K.
    Tucson is much better.

• Exactly, tell that to Trinity.

• Trinity on Jul 31, 2010 at 11:25 pm

What’s your problem? If you have the money, then go buy your Tuscon.

• I got no problem, you insulted me earlier, so get it back…I cant help if the Koreans are better.

• Trinity on Aug 01, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Well, you insulted the general potential buyer. Why of course, the Koreans are the best ;-)

• slumber on Aug 01, 2010 at 2:39 pm

One thing that Tucson can’t match this X-trail is the rear boot space.

• Jonnie on Jul 31, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Made in Indon also got many specs la…
    Because our FDI lower than ID, SG, PH, TH, VN.. the specs we get also lousier – 2×4, no leather, plain steering, manual aircond; abs ebd got ah?.. only better than Cambodia .. jiaklat

• Jimmy on Aug 01, 2010 at 12:13 am

Plain and tasteless test drive report (read in details please). Something purposely missed out and a lot are saleman’s presentation. ?cause. No comments no improvement.

• Paul Tan on Aug 01, 2010 at 3:08 pm

What are you referring to?

• JonLing on Aug 02, 2010 at 9:06 am

I think it is very unappropriate to criticize the writer in that sense. That is his style of writing. I have no problem or whatsoever with his style of writing ever since he started writing in another publication years ago. Call it bad as you like, but call it plain and tasteless is just too insulting. And I think it is unfair to add in some really negative comments into the article, just because it is rather bad based on what we’d expect when it comes to urban SUV, since Nissan has different strategy to launch X-Trail.

We can say as many negative comments as we like, coz we are not writing the articles, we are just giving feedbacks to the car. But as a writer of a rather respectable blog, I would expect the writer to be more neutral, and not too biased like some english publications. And I think by doing so, he actually gave a different perspective to look at the car. I really appreciate that.

• kd8800 on Aug 01, 2010 at 12:16 am

actually i have waiting for this suv for 2 month since i read from the net. BUT after reading from our friends here and there, OH! I deside to go to CRV.
    TC, weak up please, bring in more new look cuv.
    I asking my friend around, they all say x trail no good, no good looking, MAHAL.
    CRV is beautiful.

• yang suka kereta on Aug 29, 2010 at 1:35 pm

what ??? CRV ??? Beautiful ??? CRV is ugly ..fat looks…fat bumper…expensive…very high..and only 4 star EURONCAP….answer me know….if u still do agree with me…go buy ur fat looking and ugly CRV

• nice crossover

• bohtakcheck on Aug 01, 2010 at 1:09 am

why all japanese car manufacturer are cashing in on malaysian?? the rest of the Asean SUV price is not as hefty as in malaysia!?……. so far i see the 3008 offer the best value for money!! CKD or CBU … as long as it hits more than 40% local content which i believe it does, then where is the issue? no single party campaign to remove this stupid car tax!? imagine when the petrol price at MYR2.90-MYR3.20 range … and the car price still the highest in the world!! …….. is malaysia government sane ka??

crv, nissan, rusher… all money sucker!! … 3008 though expensive still but still has the best specs, and engine specs…

• Nice call bohtakcheck !!!
      Look at our neighbor up north.
      Petrol is around RM2.50 to RM2.90 per liter.
      A basic Vios, City or Jazz is just RM50K.

Our G sayz ..Petrol over here is still the cheapest in the region…
      But never say out car price is the highest in the world!!

why reduce the car price and let the raykat use the money to pay for petrol instead??

The current G has been farking the rakyat since the 1986 (birth of Proton Saga)

• dickybird on Aug 01, 2010 at 4:09 pm

yo yo! agree!

• JonLing on Aug 02, 2010 at 9:13 am

No no no, who said our car price is the highest in the world?? Everything has to be counted in RM whenever it comes to price of petrol, bus / airplane / taxi fares, cars lah etc. So in return, Spore has the higher car price than us. See, the govt never wrong, right…….Oh wait, sporeans are earning SGD, aren’t they?? Gosh…..

• michaelooi on Aug 01, 2010 at 1:11 am

The interior looks boring and cheap, 2WD and expensive like hell.

I don’t think it’s gonna sell well.

• andrew on Aug 01, 2010 at 10:00 am

The exterior is nothing to shout about. Interior wise is super dull. It will definitely lose out to Honda CRV or even the Tucson

• Izhar on Aug 01, 2010 at 10:05 am

nissan good in mechanical part…engine…gearbox, fuel consumption,..bla..bla…but in design…always look old school…
    on their luxury model….really2 awesome….but in mid level model the design…..hmmm….
    for people who don’t mind about design…maybe ok….

• Eric T on Aug 01, 2010 at 10:11 am

Agree with the interior. If you ever check out the original Xtrail from Japan, the steering comes with control buttons. Pretty nice with that. I wonder why M’sia always pay the higher price with the lower end products.

• Great job!

For going a step backwords.

• Jimmy on Aug 01, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Toyota Rush + CVT + keyless entry + headlights = Nissan X-trail. Trade in the third row for the rear aircon vents. I think these 3 items can cost RM55K, how do you think. Ha ha. Power seats for what?? Are there 20 persons using your car???

• 388900wow on Aug 01, 2010 at 2:11 pm

given this case..

CRV is always well presented all the while… and this old fashion looking X-trail without any good specs and yet selling the price same as CRV…. How can it do well??? HOW???

so forget about X-trail…

just look at the battle between new Tucson and CRV !! and soon i expect the KIA sportage join us boleh land too!!

• adrian on Aug 01, 2010 at 4:19 pm

does anyone knows a good place to test drive a vehicle, the car is a left hand drive type preferable someplace with lots of curves and highway and view along the route?

• hewyk on Aug 01, 2010 at 8:17 pm

at this kind of price, I’d rather look at a Peugeot 3008 crossover – more innovative & unique styling to boot

• Ian CHEONG on Aug 02, 2010 at 12:14 am

So many comments, dunno where to start!
    1. When I got my 1st Xtrail back in 2003, so happy dat it leapfrogged CRV back then. But due to no fault of ETCM, they were handcuffed by bolehland gomen NOT to bring in new models (FDI restriction and AFTA policies in action)
    2. Ditched the Xtrail in 2005 (yeah, major loss) and set foot in Doha, Qatar to find my new love, the Murano, at just RM 130k BRAND NEW. Fast forward 5 years back in Bolehland, still can’t find RECON at that 130k level!
    3. Tucson is the current SUV killa in da mart now, and maybe overshadowed by Schreyer’s 2010 Sportage later in the year, unlike all the “DUMP OLD STOCK HERE” campaign by ETCM! Much like like the Teana (which in actual fact is the CEFIRO replacement, which debuted in SG back in 2007!) If that came in then, Camry and Accord can bungkus! But, we are a sentimental lot, love to use 10 year old Sentras (when the new one was launched in US back in 2007 also) and ancient Xtrails!
    4. On Pricing issue, ETCM handcuffed by the cheese brained JABATAN KASTAM & EKSAIS also. Who doesn’t like multi function steerings, auto climate aircons, multi airbags, etc. But then, the BLACK BOOK (Buku panduan cukai) imposes taxes on every frigging SAFETY feature dumped into a vehicle (no surprises why most fatalities are in Kancils / Vivas!) Insurance premiums should be REDUCED with MORE safety features!
    5. Xtrails in Mideast are placed at the REAR of the showroom, with the major stuff like the beautiful Made in USA 4 litre Xterra for RM 95k, 7 seater 4 litre Pathfinder for 150k, Rough riding PATROLS for 130k or the GARGANTUAN Armada for a mere RM 120k also! The Xtrail? Somewhere back there at about RM 75k! Even the Qashqai / Dualis (now with 7 seater) is about 70k only!
    Latest pricing in a WEALTHY nation here: http://bit.ly/bZCAqS
    6. Check current UK pricing. A superb Nissan 370z is only 200 quid more than the Xtrail (hey, former seats two persons only, so wucha expect?) http://bit.ly/cp6ZPX
    7. Finally, where da heck is my Altima? (which had start/stop ignition back in 2006!) Not to mention the rest of the Nissan family like Fuga, Pixo, Cube, Micra, Juke & Note, to name a few? Expected answer “Kami tidak mempunyai keupayaan untuk membuat kereta kecil yang selamat, ekonomi dengan rupa ramping yang akan mencabar dan mencabuli pasaran kereta pasangan tempatan”

• altimate on Aug 02, 2010 at 12:18 am

waited in great anticipation ended up in disappointment
    come on, this is really a bare empty spec model with exorbitant price tag !

• Roy_Hodgson on Aug 02, 2010 at 9:02 am

Boring….so dull..so uncle..Come on this is 2010. Go for otherss…

• namawee on Aug 02, 2010 at 11:13 am

with 137bhp, it’s a bit on the low side for a 2.0 car. nowadays Nissan’s competitors can produce cars with 155bhp. that’s an almost 20hp more.

• Jonnie on Aug 02, 2010 at 11:39 am

Not so sure bout this HP thing la.. dunno how they measure… on wheel or on crank or …

• come on ETCM……from bad to worst. This model is 2WD, no audio control on steering, manual AC, cheap CD player, non leather steering etc etc
    and best of all, headlight washer for tropical country !!!!!!

• wallstreet on Aug 03, 2010 at 8:06 am

wait for next year with the new Mazda CX5, all these models including CRV will look like uncles..

• AWFUL INTERIOR…even from the photos it gives you the boring and cheapness feel

• NissanX on Aug 04, 2010 at 9:04 pm

i can’t rly see the diff between this and the previous generation..

if rly there’s a diff i will say is the 2nd gen looks ulgier

• paganfarmer on Aug 07, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Waited for more than a year for this. When it came out i went early in the morning to see and test-drive. Went home straight after that and cried. the x-trail has become a pondan.

• Toyota on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Test-drive yesterday. It is underpower and Avanza like interior…and bumpy car…

• tHeRiSinG on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:07 pm

i think tucson is bumpier…i test-drive both on the same day

• The 1st generation has higher hp, torque and is a 4 wheel drive.

This does not match it.

The new model is a step backwards.

Why is that?

• Ah kit on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Lol..My car number is 9206.. Tis X-trail num is 9203..Pssstt.

• Anti Proton on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:31 am

the rear seats are tight. saw today at one utama.

• Yamiya on Aug 15, 2010 at 4:32 am

I have been driving x-trail for 6 years. Mine is the very first generation with the good looking large front grille. A bit regret of getting 2.0. It’s underpower and less fuel economy than 2.5. Anyhow I love my x-trail :D It’s more spacious than my old Landrover Discovery and I can fit two bikes in by removing the front wheels only in which the stupid Landrover can’t despite it’s sheer size. The best part, soft drinks can cooler besides the car stereo which I used to joke to my friends who ask about it that’s torpedo launcher.

Not sure what happen to Nissan these few years. Besides Skyline GTR their car are getting ugly. Latio is horrible. Teana shaped like a soap, while the facelift x-trail added unnecessary deco which is less cool. Much like iPhone 4 with bumper case. The original front grille makes x-trail looks so fierce, then Nissan tamed it down by adding two teeth. Now it looks like a rabbit. 

Now the 2nd generation model for Malaysia is even worst. 2WD? Do you have any idea how important 4WD is for such a high center of gravity car driving on highway during thunderstorm? Manual air con? CRV has climate control! Rubber steering wheel? You must be kidding me. The first generation is full leather. No buttons on steering wheel? Tan Chong, go drive a CRV and feel the buttons. Where are all the wood trim? It looks so plastic. Yes I know in Malaysia x-trail is driven by large number of housewives, but please, there are a large group of outdoor enthusiast who loves x-trail too. Go take a look at Nissan x-trail Australia. The interior is so much better and with 4WD. 

For that price I rather get Honda CRV with 4WD, climate control, leather steering wheel with buttons. At least CRV doesn’t differ much from overseas model. Think the only thing I will miss is the torpedo launcher. 

• samson on Aug 21, 2010 at 10:18 am

Ian CHEONG, if life is soooo good in the Middle-East why’d you come back? Oh wait, is it becoz Arabs treat all non-white foreigners like 3rd class citizens? eg.You need to give way to an arab in a car when u’re at a junction although u’re in the right way?, etc.. better to be treated as a ‘pendatang’ here in yr motherland than elsewhere, rite..? No need to compare what is outside of bolehland while 90% of us here have to slog and see our disposable income getting less unless u’re an Umnoputra.

We may never get to own the car we want if prices still stay the same, so unless we literally wake up and start exercising our rights to vote for the proper govt. we will still be in this limbo. Least u all forget, when petrol was raised to RM2.70/lit, where were the promises to improve public transport with the savings made by the govt.? More likely to channel those monies into private accts outside to purchase luxury yachts and private jets..back to our argument here..TanChong is not Umno/Bumi owned, so they gey taxed more than the so-called 3rd National car producer who can bring in imported cars and sell at local assembled prices…dun blame TC so much after all we voted in the present govt due to the our ‘tidak peduli’ attitude…lol!

I tired of buying local made substandard cars at inflated prices..are you?

• boyke on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:15 am

wow, thats a nasty price for a 2.0 auto. rm150k? in indo can get one of these for rm105k. even the topspec 2.5 auto is rm120k and u get leather(steering wheel to), steering buttons with silver touches, touchscreen tv+dvd audio, much better alloys, roofrack foglights and i think also vsa altho no climate control. just for comparison, crv 2.0 auto in indo is rm125k.

• alex tye on Sep 25, 2010 at 2:35 am

NISSAN salesman tell me,a bit hard to sell this car……coz of the looks and the price!!

• dr kohler on Sep 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm

after reading all your comments, i still want to get the 2004 x trail 2.5 cos i believe i am buying a good car in this country. i hope i am lucky enough that this 2nd owner car doesnt give me trouble cos its mileage is 43k. i got it for rm67500++. i love its interior and the x terior rugged looks. care for any constructive comments……tqvm

• john c. keller on Oct 23, 2010 at 9:36 pm

dr kohler,

that’s the rightest decision. 1st generation X-Trail is indeed the best, especially the 2.5.

powerful, torquey, stable, fast, don’t worry to take corner at 100km/h.

at 67.5k? wow! that’s below market price! u’re lucky dude. are you sure it’s 04 model or 03?

since it’s been 1 month since your last post, i assume u’ve gotten the truck?

don’t forget to have all new four tires, change engine oil & spark plugs, if possible new transmission oil, other fluids and belt. typical@favourite@known sickness of these QR25DE and QR20DE engine is the “Crank Position Sensor”, which are 2 sensors at the side and behind the engine. do not worry. cheap (RM169) each (times 2) and easy to change.

i just change my belt (turning aircon compressor, alternator, power-steering pump & water-pump) this afternoon. just cost me RM90+RM40 (workmanship)=RM130.

tires tend to get imbalanced easily. balance them frequently.

enjoy your ride, doctor!