Nissan X-Trail revealed – RM149,500, CBU, 2.0 CVT, 2WD

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has unveiled the new Nissan X-Trail to the media today. As previously speculated and captured on this blog, the X-Trail is imported CBU from Indonesia, which is the production hub of the SUV for our region. It is priced at RM149,500 OTR including insurance.

We only get one engine option – the MR20DE 2.0-litre engine that also powers the Sylphy. However, in the X-Trail this all-aluminium CVTC equipped engine makes 137 bhp and 198 Nm of torque, slightly more than the Sylphy’s 131 bhp/191 Nm. Like the C-segment sedan, the engine is mated to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT, but the stepless gearbox gets a manual shift mode here with six virtual ratios to play with. Power goes solely to the front wheels.

Size wise, the X-Trail is longer than the old model by 175 mm and slightly wider too, although wheelbase is only up by 5mm to make 2,630 mm. I believe that the picture above shows where all that extra length has gone too – the silver X-Trail is the new model, and the section aft of its rear doors is obviously longer.

That makes for a huge boot. Despite carrying a full sized spare tyre inside the vehicle, the versatile cargo area has a square space of 603 litres. That’s in the single floor mode; in the double floor mode, the “false floor” covers 2 drawers, the right one with configurable compartments, the left one for long items like umbrellas. Like its predecessor, the luggage board is washable, perfect for the mountain bike! A tonneau cover is standard.

The interior ditches the central instruments for a more conventional layout. Fit and finish as well as material quality is good – the main dash moulding and all door caps feature soft touch plastics. Here, you’ll find a 2-DIN stereo with USB/AUX/Bluetooth and SD card capability sandwiched by two cubby holes.

The air-con may be manual, and the steering has no buttons or leather wrap, but the X-Trail does come with features like rear air-con vents, powered front seats (6-way adjustable for driver, 4-way for passenger), keyless entry and start and bi-xenons with washer and auto levelling. Two cupholders up front and two behind have cooling functions. Safety kit includes 2 airbags, ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, pre-tensioner seatbelts and active head restraints. According to ETCM, this is the exact same spec that attained six stars in JNCAP crash tests.

On a separate note, ETCM has confirmed that the D-segment Teana, which has been spotted on our roads, will be launched at the “end of the year” in Malaysia. The Camry/Accord fighter will be locally assembled and priced competitively, unlike their previous CBU attempt at this model.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anti Proton on Jul 29, 2010 at 9:30 pm

too basic

• yah lo, NO GPS like shyply

• Later will get IMPUL version, than add more RMXX will do, too expensive if compare to Tucson, Hyundai 164hp with 5 years or 300,000 km warranty, price tag less than RM140K and stylish looking but Nissan 137hp with 3 years or 100,000 km warranty, price tag RM150, and not a stylish looking but feel 80″ design. I think Nissan now do not know what the consumer want from them.

• Maybe Nissan thinks Retro look is in trend now.

Just my 2 sens, Compared to the new Hyundai Tucson,

This X-Trail look like a 4×4 from the 80’s

• nipah on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:06 pm

I agree, Tucson looked much nicer, but the interior plastic quality is not the soft touch kind of material which draw back significantly from the overall rating.

• agree….. Tucson looks like “baby Harrier” with baby price

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:24 am

According to Nissan officials, the first X-Trail was a huge success for the company, and most owners surveyed like the “authentic SUV” looks, so the fact that this new model’s looks are evolutionary (despite all body panels being new) is intentional.

Some might prefer a tougher image over today’s crossover style. To each their own I guess…

• but the rear end turns out looking more like an MPV…..Unser!

• Mate! they have Nissan X-Trail AUTECH version over at Indonesia.

2.0CVT is priced at about RM112K only.

http://www.nissan.co.id/id/web/models/X-TRAIL%20AUTECH/home/hpage.htm

ETCM tot we all stupid wan lah!

• nasurudin on Jul 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Buy one today @ RM 149K, tomorrow the value is RM 80K

• linear_system on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:19 pm

why did u say that?nissan brand not good or malaysian dont like nissan?

• peugeot 3008 is a better choice

• lkf0512 on Jul 30, 2010 at 7:47 am

3008 anytime

• Agree! pug’s 3008 is value for money. Fully loaded with all the toys.
        But i guess the X-trail is targeted at those who love off road. Very basic interior spec.
        Wait for the CKD version better. For now its very expensive. I would opt for CRV now given a choice.

• 3008 look small

• Seriously on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:15 pm

the 3008 isn’t exactly on the same segment as the X-trail

• fantausy on Jul 29, 2010 at 9:47 pm

First is the car is ugly than the previous version

• This thing would be more appeal if it’s came out in 2000. Now it’s getting old.

• Yeah I was right but I don’t think this will steal any share from Honda ot Toyota . Ay least its s refreshing change

• qadya on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:00 pm

wth?!this x-trail’s interior has less electronic than the japanese one.so,can i change the new x-trail’s dashboard with the japanese spec one?

• still 2 Air-bag, the jap cannot offer anything more, Panoromic sunroof ??? Should consider Tucson

• GeeCy on Jul 30, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Just how many people really use the sunroof here? Panoramic sunroof = green house in tropical country. Pity the diesel version which is available in Australia is not available here, again cos of the poor diesel allowed by dumb govment.

• dont blame the jap. Blame Tanchong!

• think on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:13 pm

for the price and size this xtrail should be a 7 seater…compared to the latest hyundai tucson,,this one doesn’t promise a very well package…low engine ouput,,no stability control,unatractive dashboard (all looks plasticy ),,and importantly no audio and cruise buttons on the steering wheel…wonder whether have cruise control or not…the passanger powered seat can be eliminated for this abovementioned functions…i wonder why big suvs such this models do not wants to be fitted with seven seats…..really dissapointed…think

• expensive,under power,less feature,old model… all negative , I wonder how is it going to outsell Honda or Hyundai

• The Loner on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:45 pm

ETCM always not a favourite from the authority for approving new vehicles. So do not expect Nissan will have several options on its initial launch.

• roy_Hodgson on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:50 am

what a shame…why blame the authority? get rid ETCM, we shall see more models coming in with good price..

• letstorque on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Let face it, ETCM is not GLC and gov gave special attention for GLCs like UMW-Toyota, DRB-Honda and Sime-Hyundai.

Only Naza the other company face this problem, but then again, Naza didn’t had any internal family business problem after the late SM Nasimudin passed away, unlike Tan Chong, up to a point, if my memory serve me right, Nissan Japan threaten to appoint another distributor for Malaysia if tan Chong problem not solve.

• Roy_Hodgson on Aug 02, 2010 at 9:05 am

who cares about ETCM?? nissan japan should know this..and get this people out. let others take over

• nipah on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:10 pm

ETCM should have brought in the Dualis to replace the current X-trail !

• Yes. If they can CKD it and price it at 150k im sure will make an impact.

• batman on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:24 pm

its 2×2 really, from the 70s. U-G-L-Y. from a company that makes the GTR, seems like Nissan has dual personalities.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:27 pm

this car is pure joke,tukar la design,
    this is the 21st century la,aiyo

• 2kereta on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:30 pm

aging model…yet facelifted, disappointed, go buy korean made

• BSLee on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Dont think TCM will sell many of this model..Basically it’s over-priced, unattractive,offer less features. Yes, it’s all negative.

• X-Trail at RM149,500 basic spec no sunroof

Tucson at RM139,888 high spec with panaromic sunroof. That is RM10,000 discount with new engine technology, 6 speed gear box

• ProtonSucks on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Well, for the price they are selling this car , its hard to imagine anyone would have the taste to go for one . Its not much different from the previous model i’ll say , no offence though , I can’t imagine the same company which made the Nissan GTR which was next to Perfect made this car

• mobil on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:35 pm

better buy honda CRV or Camry 2.0G……..x-trail is for ah pek

• nisoncentra on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:06 am

dr. ang is ah pek what.

• hello mobil,
      go sell your petrol, you don’t know how to compare apple to apple.

Honda CRV vs Nissan X-Trail vs Hyundai Tucson = winner Tucson

Toyota Camry vs Hyundai Sonata = winner Hyundai again.

How to compare CRV vs Camry vs X-Trail = different market segment car la.

• mobil on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:34 am

I’m not comparing the car segment. Don’t be too fast to give your hash commend. What I mean is if I got 150K, I rather buy CRV or Camry 2.0G…….. This is in terms of the 150K price range car that is worth buying….it is like when you have 150k….you want to buy apple or orange or mango and others……not just apple A or apple B or apple C (you so narrow minded)

• Jimmy on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm

COCKY lah this ETCM. Not even one feature that is better than CRV which has 4 airbags, ESP, telescopic steering, nicer exterior & interior, better resale value, more ‘elegance’. ETCM tidak tahu hati pelanggan. Oh sorry, there is only one feature that is nice for car-layman: keyless entry and start button, that is not available in CRV. JUST TELL ME WHY ADD HEADLIGHT AUTO-LEVELLING which is not useful in day-in and day-out use!!!! Why not add auto-air con instead? Why not leather seats+steering instead of power seats??? Bi-xenon? Might as well make the interior nicer. Will not sell well; maybe can rasuah sikit and get tender from goverment, ha ha joking only ya.

• Now that you see ETCM offer on the X-trail, you probably want to say HSDM is better.

• normal_user on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:53 am

Yup I agree. ETCM doesn’t really understand what the consumer wants. The manual air-con makes the interior looks so bland. For a jap SUV with 150K price tag, its kind of Overpriced. ETCM should send their top executives & planners to study MBA Marketing (enroll again if already earned!!).

“Congrats”, ETCM had done it again!

• BeemerFreak on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Tan Chong has wasted its time bringing in this model. Would they ever listen and bring in the Dualis instead.We need the car of the future not the past. Wake up Tan Chong, you have been here long enough to know what works.

• The Loner on Jul 30, 2010 at 7:12 am

As I said before, as long as ETCM improves its relationship between the approving authorities then you may have the latest models of Nissan vehicles without long grueling waiting.

• drMpower on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:44 pm

is this a new model or refresh one?

• The SUV from previous century. sigh!!!!

• Alpha on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:45 pm

more expensive than a CRV??seriously??

• Jimmy on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Remember, they sacrifice 4×4 for the CVT. So CVT is not a better feature over CRV.

• tucson on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:46 pm

design too boxy…tucson much much more better than this ugly box…tucson 2.0L oredi 166hp…17″ rim….fludic sculpture design….aiseh…

• mfahd on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:00 pm

4 me,this new x-trail is just like 55-years old woman make-upped with blusher+ lipstick.
    i believe TCM will have a though time to sells this car

• nabill on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm

the CRv makes so much more sence , looks better,better features(traction control),and it will look new even 5 yrs frm now , this one ody looks old barely out from factory ! jus bcos ETCM says this is a new car , it doesnt mean its a new car , this car been out in europe n other parts of the world abt 2 yrs ago….

for me , price should NOT be more than 120k , otherwise get the sylphy same engine/gearbox combo

• raybrig85 on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:18 pm

i wonder why nissan didn’t bring the dualis…its really a good looking car…

• melisa on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:17 am

the problem is tan chong here…sigh…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:31 am

The Qashqai/Dualis is only made in the UK and Japan. Will be quite costly for such a small crossover if brought in

• raybrig85 on Jul 30, 2010 at 7:03 am

i know it is quite costly..but still got buyer..for sure..

• BeemerFreak on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:17 am

Tan Chong Singapore did it and priced it similar to the Honda CRV.

• thumb down if you agree with me on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:45 am

I thought Qashgai not availabe in US cause they have Rouge…also Qashqai available in down under n middle east

• Truck role! on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:24 pm

To all basher here,

you thought its easy to bring in any car from principal? You need to pay a huge amount of technical fee then only u can talk want to ckd here, and that only if Nissan Japan allow it. This happen to the 1st gen of Teana, TC can’t ckd it coz Nissan dont allow! You thought TC dont want bring those car? cummon, it will bring more profit la, just as i said, its all depends on the principal Nissan Japan, you know la, Japanese keep their best thing for their own only.

• Thank goodness, finally someone else has spoken about this. All the bashers here keep bashing ETCM, but never think if if ETCM’s hands were tied.

• PakAbu on Jul 30, 2010 at 3:18 pm

So the visit by Carlos Ghosn to ETCM was for nothing lah (?) If a country franchisee — for the country with the biggest passenger car market in ASEAN some more — is treated like beggar, then how to do business like that?

Are you sure that’s how things are?

• Bro,

How about Honda, Toyota..it’s look easy for them to export their car here!Principal Nissan Japan dont trust Malaysian market???or market here is not gud enough??

• BeemerFreak on Jul 30, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Tan Chong employee or huge X-Trail fan? All Mazda vehicles were brought in straight from Japan, so too is Mitsubishi like the Evo. Its all about passion and not just plain profit. If you have never tried the model here, how you know whether it works or not? UMW Toyota brought in the Rav-4 directly from Japan 2 years ago, and it didn’t sell, so they shifted it out. If you dont try you will never know. Further more the Koreans importers are edging closer into the Japanese car market share these days, gone are the haydays of Japanese domination, and even if it is Japanese, it is still Toyota and Honda, not Nissan. So if ETCM does not be bold, how can they go back to the days of the 120Y and 130Y?

• torque on Aug 01, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Agreed with BeemerFreak! Those r definately TC employee who’s like to fan their bosses ar*e…hello Truck role, automotive market these days r getting tougher n more competitive each years if not by months. If u want more market share then u got to b very bold n aggresive. EVERY bussiness got losses n win, it’s a risk u got to take! As I c it, both Nissan and Carlos Ghosn has a vision, as for TC…sorry mate, I don’t c it since I used to work there! It’s just abt money, money, money…no passion towards cars!! PERIOD!

• Malaysia being the largest passenger car market in this region..

Nissan shd come and setup Nissan Malaysia.
        Or maybe Nissan 51%, ETCM 49% .. if that’s the case, maybe we can see more up to date Nissan models over here.

.. instead of the so called 2010 Sentra with Impul bodykit…What a joke!

• disappointment!!!
    what a stupid move of tc…

• Great, more road bulls on the road. :(

• Foong on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:42 pm

it’s a pre facelift model …WTF! should price at RM100k to fight T. RUSH.

• X-trail fans on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:50 pm

my family used to be a hardcore X-trail fans due to its functionality and solid look…but this gen of X-trail …so sorry!! I would prefer to stick to old model…better horsepower and torque and more macho look!! Very sad and disappointed to look at this car..!!

• Boring interior, boring exterior,, stone age car..

• shawal on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:00 am

Isn’t that too much money for a god-knows how long model..?

• thumb down if you agree with me on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:41 am

because it long-time model la mesti mahal….evergreen maa

• shawal on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:41 pm

hahahahhaahaha !!! evergreen…
        buy 1 free 1 lorr , or free 1 micra

• It’s similar to the old model. Over-priced, lower hp. Outdated look.
    Disappointed. I guess designers are running out of ideas.
    I’m quite sure the market size is only 450/mth. After a yr, 250/mth.

• x trail, sentra,
    people buy these really a taste blind

• alamak, I was so hoping for a 4WD and more comfort features in it, tak jadi beli for now.

• PakAbu on Jul 30, 2010 at 7:25 am

Since people who’d buy this, will look at practicality over style, I think 4wd is a must. If not, people will never stop comparing it with cr-v.
      *Sigh*

• yes, i was seriously looking forward to getting this new X-Trail so I can get a new hobby called “off-roading”, but no 4WD available so tak jadi.

again, I’m still a Nissan fan, but this latest X-Trail has dissapointed me. Hopefully a 2.5 engine or a 2.0 diesel, 4WD, feature-packed, latest JDM-facelifted X-Trail comes soon later, so I can live up to my upgrade plans.

CR-V is such a ladies car, not suitable for me at all.

• nipah on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:43 pm

DK, you were saying you want to buy the new Teana….look at the x-trail launch with “this kind of spec”, don’t you worry what kind of spec would come out? HOPE ETCM reading this blog carefuly.

• don’t worry, the exterior/interior spyshots of the CKD Teana is already promising a more competently-specced car.

• RedLine on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:38 am

That is one UGLY suv….The exterior design is so outdated. The headlamp looks like a bug. The interior look very basic, does not even have leather wrap on steering wheel (for a RM149k suv), let alone leather seats. The seats fabric look very cheap, like proton wira’s seats back in late 90’s.

What on earth is ETCM thinking?

• Toyoltak on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:30 am

dammm… Nissan s’pore is selling the normal qashqai & the 7 seater version…. they don’t sell x-trail over there…

• _xXx_ on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:38 am

1st, long outdated impul tuned sentra junk for 100+k. Now, fugly box-on-wheels with CVT sh!t. ETCM, u r hopeless…..

• Limahpek on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:18 am

Is new x-trail is underpowered compare the first gen X-trail. The old x-trail 2.0l has 150bhp and 200nm torque to compare to the current one which is bigger and heavier.

• letstorque on Jul 30, 2010 at 3:02 pm

I think 2.0l 1st gen Xtrail hp is lower than 150hp.Around 130hp I think.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:55 am

Just wanna ask if they had released the Navara facelift. The facelift versions has more torque and power. Anyone knows if they had brought it over here?

• Husna on Jul 30, 2010 at 3:19 am

so classic..better sorento design :D

• Fortunately CBU from Indonesia. Anytime ETCM can cancelled or reduce the order. Very to sell 1000 per year, Nissan put RM149k so they can throw a MASSIVE overtrade to customers thinking of having new car for RAYA and after that the prices will make them die. Stupid behavior for the faithful if they think they can plays customer emotion using PRICE.

INSENSITIVE move by Nissan ETCM. They should bring Dualis or Roque if not Murano 2.5 petrol/diesel.

Timely for Nissan takeover ETCM for good.

• Seriously on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:10 am

one word: UG-GLY!

it’s as bad as how a mahindra looks, in it’s own way.

• As an xtrailer myself, felt dissapointed when ETCM introduced the new model without 4wds…Mind you, the selectable 2wd, auto and lock mode functions in the old model are quite and useful good for Malaysia terrain and climate conditions…

No leather seat, no leather wrapped steering wheel, no gps, no 4wds and few others for an SUV priced nearly RM150K??? Come on ETCM..:(

• nipah on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:56 pm

What consumers in Indo want or affordable is NOT Equal what Malaysian want. Different market, different need. If Honda Malaysia can give a better spec with CKD CRV at every facelift or new model, why not ETCM on X-trail ? Really hard to understand ETCM business direction?! For the sake of to phase off the x-trail, just simply take in what the other country doing is not that wise, so … if you are Nissan lover / fan, would you confidence ETCM wud bring what we want and up to date vehicle into our land ? wud you expect anything out from the coing Teana?

• pomen_gtr on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:29 am

i see the front bumper start buldging….just like between old crv and new crv…..

-and from the picture i reckon that the body was completely new….not just a minor facelift model…especially when coming to add 175mm of metal over previous model….its just nissan doesnt want to change this X-trail outer look too much….

• Rode in on of the new X trail while I was in Tokyo few months back…Somehow felt my older gen X trail interior felt much more organised and comfortable compared to the new version…

• Edited….Rode in ONE of the new X trail while I was in Tokyo few months back…JWA Government’s car…Fully equipped minus the leather seat, but, somehow felt my older gen X trail interior felt much more organised and comfortable (leather seats) compared to the new version…

• littlefire on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:40 am

Nissan ETCM, u have made a mistake by not introducing 4wd to the local market. Now if people compare to CRV, they will said at least CRV give me 4wd compare to ur new x-trail 2wd… Somemore the price also the same range wif CRV & more expensive compare to previos gen!!!

• mitlanevo on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:07 pm

ya, i myself would rather get a CRV……

not to say X-Trail is bad, but it just doesnt look quite right at the moment……

• GeeCy on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Just get a Suzuki Vitara (Japan made) if you just want a 2wd and 5 seater. You save a whole lot RM.

• I would not even buy it even if they reduce the price up to 50%! The engineering team behind the design must be a pool of retirees that have been rehired to work. This suv will be history in no time….the countdown begins!!!!

• Tassadar on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:50 am

With this pricing, better buy the Pajero Sport GL; way better. ETCM sucks!

• no doubt on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:58 am

i rather go and buy the previous 2.5 version than this no leather seat, no leather wrapped steering wheel, no 4×4, under power but yet priced nearly RM150K…
    maybe x trail will be the first model which, the second-hand car price of previous model keep increased after new version was launching.

• dagaro on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:08 am

If that happens, its gonna be the 2nd. The 1st model of Proton Saga actually sold higher than its original price in the 2nd hand market, if not mistaken in year ’88 – ’89

• alibaba on Jul 30, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Nope, it also happened to the 3rd and 4th generation Honda Accord. Those were really go-go days!

• patrick on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:02 am

such a bad fugly looking suv with usch a cbu high price…let’s see what is the “competitive price” for the delayed launch ckd teana..dont try to skin us again ETCM, we are not silly hehe

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:18 am

Wondering why this model still can be #1 SUV in Japan for 3 years in a row(http://www.nissan.co.jp/X-TRAIL/)? Is it really good from Japanese point of view? May be like what Danny said, most owners surveyed like the “authentic SUV” looks. But I think for Malaysian, majority car enthusiastic will prefer the non-square /futuristic/fluidic type of SUV than this like Murano & Qashqai/Dualis. ETCM should conduct a survey in Malaysia to understand better the taste of Malaysian car buyers before bringing in or assembling any new model. In fact, they should able to tell from the sales report of which model is not popular & phase out it. X-trail definitely won’t be #1 in Malaysia.

• zanggief on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:18 am

the G1 x trail is more making sense, with its tough design, all mode drive compare to this G2 x trail with 2wd drive and output is less. Is that bcoz of CBU which cost more for the original with intelligent all mode drive that quite comparable with G1 x trail? i would say TC shud consider bring in the G2 facelifted with diesel engine that launched in japan recently, this would be making sense…with tat will make nissan follow the latest trend like x3, x5, santa fe, fortuner are diesel version tat more fuel efficient…

• squawk on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm

I did notice in the G1 that the muffler is really low. Ground clearance would have been better if it was higher.

• lchan on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:37 am

Again…how tan chong screws it up with the price, this time round…..with rubbish specs.

• roy_Hodgson on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:55 am

get rid ETCM. enough is enough. nissan should appoint new dealer

• disappointingly old fashioned.the koreans have overtaken the japs in design. at least the previous X trail had a real 4WD as an ace over the CRV but now 2WD only at this price?I wonder who would buy it.

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:11 am

Danny Tan It’s Not imported CBU from Indonesia, Its imported CBU from Japan. Thanks To ECTM….. The Second Generation Nissan X-Trail is From Japan!!!!!

• If looking for SUV…might as well get a Tucson…the 2.4 liter version price looks better against this plus well equip & good looks too

• the only thing decent is the alloy rims… ;)
    good job TC

• william on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:28 am

I can’t find any reason to buy this car… way toooooooo fugly for a car that price RM150k. Hyundai Tucson beats the Xtrail in every area, really a waste of time to bring in this model.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:35 am

ETCM, have u read all the comments??….thats what majority of people on the streets think bout ur new ugly X trail…u better buck up & gave us a good exciting product,else ur fate will be the same as Kah motor!!

• squawk on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:39 am

Paul/Danny,

So what other Nissan models are assembled in ASEAN? That’ll give us a gauge of what else we can expect.

• trav_da_man on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:40 am

ETCM has made a few wrong moves recently. Apart of soldering its ancient sentra, made worse by putting Impul tuning and put ridiculous pricing, now its the new X trail which was made unattractive by its spec and pricing.

The only way to say ETCM is either Nissan to take over or if ETCM join merger with a Bumi company, so they can get APs to get CBU at an attractive price. Sad but that how NAP works here…….pathetic.

• ETCM is a big joke. somebody’s got to report this to Nissan Japan and to have their rights revoked. give it to a fresh, young group (me?) to do the job.

please la people. skip this and go for the 3008.

• chuakz on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:57 am

nisan X-traugly

• Peter on Jul 30, 2010 at 11:01 am

Kinda old and outdated…

• petrol head on Jul 30, 2010 at 11:04 am

Yucks!!! Sorry for being overly blunt…

At a quick glance from the 2/3 rear view, the body design has hints of Unser to me :)

• pultat on Jul 30, 2010 at 11:49 am

Get used to it people, Malaysia is starting to be used as a dumping ground for expensive crappy looking, crappy specs cars…expect more to come…

• patrick on Jul 30, 2010 at 4:51 pm

agreed, look at the “new” teana..it is almost 3 yrs in sg and thailand, we are still yet to have it…surely not long after our bolehland got it, nissan will have a new model coming up.

• The AP already done that by bring all those used BM, Merc to come in as “expensive car”..where other country thrown out of the country.

2020 to be developed country? HA HA HA. Which developed country do that?

• 112bz on Jul 30, 2010 at 11:59 am

so disappointed !!

• NoDeal on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Guys ! Don’t get con ‘cos not new model from Nissan but ETCM buy old stocks from Nissan and Refurbish just like Proton once upon a time.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jul 30, 2010 at 12:31 pm

I bought one in 2007. Overall its a good car. I use it every day for my work on construction site and oil palm estate. The four wheel system is good for light offroad but would not be very handy in the mud during monsoon in my estate due to its lack of LSD in the rear. One thing I find most lacking in this car is CRUISE CONTROL. I would have saved quite a sum over the three years I used if there was one. I just can’t figure WHY ETC would not put one in this new Xtrail. SUCKS

• Ugly

• mitlanevo on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:05 pm

put the Murano side by side with this, its like 2 cars from different company……

just bring in the big daddy Armada to fight with Pajero Sport and Everest….

• nebula87 on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:07 pm

the design rily remind me of Honda CRV…but X-rail oways not dat popular among us…dunno y…

• hyundai tucson pay less get more,nissan x-trail pay more get less

• Big Foot on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Have anybody really sit inside and test the new X-trail, please share with me.

• weirder looking and bad engine option..where’s the 2.5L version??

• Great Outdoor on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Wahliu..wif all the comments like this I wonder how tan cheong going to sell this car man..Look all all the comment says naye to this model..The question is why does ETCM choose a smaller hp engine mated wif CVT n only comes wif 2wd?

Haf u all thought of that??

• Nissan in im malaysia, is not releveant anymore, they need a new Distributor here. Such a crap!!!. Just by the thought of them still offering the old junky sentra here and priced at a premium price. Get in new model la.

• ae101rulez on Jul 30, 2010 at 3:25 pm

lets wait and see whether the numbers on the road talk or issit truely a failure..lol..lots of critiz on the vios, cities, altis, civics but yet numbers on the road speak louder than all the crap comments here…lols..haha…

• mr_3m on Jul 30, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Danny said it’s CBU from Indonesia, another person commented it is from Japan!!! So who is correct?

Either way a slight smaller Grand Vitara 2.0 2WD (this is really a CBU from Japan) is only selling for around RM115k…. RM149k is waayyyy overpriced for a 2WD SUV…

• loollool on Jul 30, 2010 at 4:03 pm

once again. TAN CHONG sucks!!!!

• better off with more powerful ford everest wif tis price…and tis new xtrail good for carrying mountain bike bcoz she cant climb

• Disappointed. Selling expensive! Nissan soon out from Malaysia market la n losing to korean manufacture like Hyundai! They really thought consumer nowday so stupid n prefer the words CBU where willing to pay expensive with nothing new! After waiting long for nothing, i better trade in my old x trail for hyundai tucson!

• redwings on Jul 31, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Agreed. Tucson appearence is superb.. I was driving in KL and saw a CRV n tuscon side by side.. I would said, CRV also lose out in term of appearence.. Abt this X-trail… those who buying this junk is actually big fan of nissan, nothing else.

look at the streering wheel..they use the same one from GL

• k_man on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:13 pm

96 comments as im writing this….and about 99% of it giving negative feedback on this car. there u go ETCM…….good job!

• PCTAN on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:15 pm

not worth at all, them teruk model. can close shop

• hanifhamzah on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:28 pm

the’ lekuk-lekuk’ thing on the boot reminds me of the new cr-v….

• squawk on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Honda marketing staff will be relieved they don’t have to crack their heads on CRV promo strategies to counter this.

• Supertram on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:43 pm

The new “design” doesnt go well with the old body, kotak2 here n there for what? now it look even more horrible. Tougher look? please la.. boxy ? yea but it’s no Hummer looking

With Tucson n hopefully Sportage ( this one look like a blown forte, so awsome! ) the Korean are well ahead in the design department.

• FWD only.. what happened to the famous Skyline 4X4 system from the old X-Trail?

Over at Indon they have the X-Trail AUTECH sports version!!!! price is cheaper somemore!!

http://www.nissan.co.id/en/web/models/X-TRAIL%20AUTECH/home/hpage.htm

• alibaba on Jul 30, 2010 at 7:47 pm

TCM and Nissan just bloody deserve to FAIL. Potential buyers should wait a while for discounts, crappy bodykits, cheap gadgets etc. etc.

• mata katak on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:28 pm

thanks but no thanks

Even I have 150k to spend, I’ll buy OTHER brand than this old-design X-trail….

the X-trail is sooooo totally outdated…..

• No stability control. That is a little disappointing.

• pultat on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:36 pm

What happened to the CKD F10 BMW article that came after this one ? It got yanked off

• apamau on Jul 30, 2010 at 10:37 pm

IT will be voted, one of the most Fugly Car of the Year.
    IT will be voted, one of the most ugly replacement model ever built on earth. Period.

• Nissan sooner will be catching up by mitsubishi mazda peugeout etc. Look at what nissan tanchong selling here. Totally cannot accept. I vote nissan as the worst brand of the year.

Please go for Honda CRV or Hyundai Tucson rather than this shit. Look at the pricing also. All i can say is Proton Exora dashboard is better than this.

If this is CBU from japan, i can understand juz like what mazda doing, but this is CBU indonesia, as if Honda Freed. Ntg special…. i like at the design and technology is way back to 2005 which is 5 years back.

• Sorry, just not my taste. Won’t want to be seen ridding in one either…

• tanchong motors is waisting their resources. Always acts like IDIOT!

• alex tye on Aug 01, 2010 at 7:50 am

ha…new X-trial ? launch many years ago at others country !!sell rm 149k…..so suck and shit!!what happen to nissan?i rather buy HYUNDAI TUCSON !! ==.==

• alex tye on Aug 01, 2010 at 7:59 am

SALUTE to ETCM ,so brave bring this model and announce this price !! hahaha!! so shame ! @%#%@$%#$@%$#$@#%$@%#$

• 388900wow on Aug 01, 2010 at 2:18 pm

its a NEW model in 2010 ???

cant’ believe what i see !!!!

two steps backward specs ~~

old & boring interior design~~

nothing good in off road since 2 wheel drive ~~

price not cheap ~~

so wat the fark is the TAN CHONG is doing???

We love Nissan !! We need to change dealer!!

who is following me??!!

• Toyota on Aug 02, 2010 at 3:18 pm

I think TCM now is surviving by depeding on Grand Livina MPV alone. If nobody buying Grand Livina, then TCM will be forever disappear from malaysia.
    Good luck TCM !!
    Your new x-Trail will only worth less than RM100,000.

• Toyota on Aug 02, 2010 at 3:20 pm

I am waiting for the new HILUX 3.0 diesel 4WD VNT Intercooler engine. Only sell around RM106,000. Any comment ?

• new x trail still look ugly as before..who was the designer?

• JB TAN on Aug 02, 2010 at 7:06 pm

150K……………SANGAT MAHAL

• Ferarri on Aug 03, 2010 at 5:55 am

First, they re-invent their 10 year old sentra by adding impul and increasing the hi line to Rm100k, now they use a slyphy engine on the x trail and charge Rm149k because it is imported from Indonesia?

They use sylphy engine on Teana 2.0 too and also charges RM149k for that. That means the best buy from Tan Chong would be the sylphy because it is the cheapest car with that MR20 engine and xtronic cvt. No point shelving out another 25k for a different shell, same engine.

• Ferarri on Aug 03, 2010 at 6:12 am

You guys seriously think that Japan would cbu this model for just Malaysia? Japan is stupid? I dont believe it unless I see the import docs.

I still think it is indonesia despite what TC says.

• bring in the pathfinder please

• paganfarmer on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:58 am

I waited for years for the X-trail to be upgraded. BUt what in the world was Tan chong thinking? F***ing 2WD? 2WD?!! and it looks like a f***ing van!!

• Tan Chong need a wake up call and they have the cheek to state that this is a new model as it is more a facelift and what they need is forklift lah……

• ckkhoo on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:22 pm

car company in malaysia is making ton of money from consumer, that why they think launch very out date modal still consumer will buy?????UMW toyota also going to same direction.this few year korean are doing well n here to stay in term design n price

• Drive on Aug 15, 2010 at 12:36 am

Ayo.. RM150K but without 4WD??? Captiva/CRV is better.. ETCM always get wrong marketing stratergy laa..

CKCK : hey u, u org Korea ka??? jangan angan2 lebih la.. or u r Hyundai salesman..

• my fen @ Brunei juz buy Chevy Captiva..only BD$ 48K.. around RM105 in Malaysia currency..
    kesian la Malaysians.. buta2 byr kereta mhl.. nasib baik i got CRV

• Booked Xtrail in 2008 BUT A screwed UP saleswomen from ETCM cheras went back on the trade in value of my Unser AFTER issuing a SALES ORDER & agreed price. I refused to pay up the difference & canceled the order. Then I thought I wait for the new Xtrail, WHAT a disappointment is THIS ‘NEW XTRAIL’. Cost more by 15K minus 4 wheel drive What a ripoff.So Called fully imported. BUT from INDONESIA not Japan .Better go for Pajero Sports

• jusoh4x4 on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:41 pm

aku dah test drive x-trail baru….sampah……tak pikat langsung….dah lah nak pikat kena masuk gear rendah….jadi apa guna auto……kereta bodoh….dah lah kelam-kabut tukar gear…sampai 6 gear…giloooo…

• jusoh4x4 on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:42 pm

ntah apa guna eletrin seat…kalau bateri weak…macam mana….keyless entry….sebenarnya useless…..

• nazuri yamada on Aug 29, 2010 at 5:03 am

i think the old version is batter one, compare to new one.NO 4WD, always 2WD…

• X-trial ??????? ….xD

• X-trail ??????…..xD

• Henson on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:36 am

stupid…. 2wd xtrail.. bring in the 4wd xtrail as an option.
    and come on 2wd at close 150k??? get real ETCM!!