Nissan X-Trail caught in the open, to be launched soon

I was driving on the NKVE when I saw a car transporter ferrying Nissan cars. Thought nothing of it initially, but I took a second glance and realised that the two X-Trails on the bottom rung looked slightly different – they were indeed the second generation X-Trail and I duly whipped out my Nokia. Unlike the also soon to be launched Teana, there was no disguise attempt by Tan Chong for the X-Trail – maybe because it looks so similar to the outgoing model that they thought no one would have noticed!

Two X-Trails were on the move, one red and the other in grey. This isn’t the latest facelifted model recently launched in Japan but the pre-facelift car that’s assembled in Indonesia, also the source of X-Trails for Thailand. If you look closely at the tailgate, there’s a small half-blue badge on the right side, which I reckon says Xtronic CVT.

Nissan’s slick CVT should be partnering the MR20DE 2.0-litre engine (also seen in the Sylphy) for the Malaysian market, a combo that’s also exported to Thailand. In Indonesia, the other engine option is a 2.5-litre four cylinder from the QR series, the same engine that powers our current X-Trail 2.5. Expect a 2WD version of the SUV without Nissan’s All Mode 4X4 system; shouldn’t be an issue for urban cowboys and families.

What else can we see from the pictures? Those decent looking five-spoke wheels are 16-inch items and the reverse lamps are mounted very low on the bumper. I’m guessing that most of the extra 175 mm in overall length over the old model is aft of the rear wheels, as that section looks a bit expanded – the new X-Trail’s 2,630 mm wheelbase is just 5 mm longer than before.

The launch is near and we will be driving the car soon, so watch this space!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This is why I like Paul Tan, Spy shots rule…:)

• The Loner on Jul 27, 2010 at 11:31 am

Final ETCM gets rid of the aged X-Trail.

• ETCM replaced the aged X-Trail with an aging X-Trail. Good job ETCM. Don’t be suprised to see this current X-Trail on sale in 5 years time, but with additional NISMO body kit just like the old old old Sentra.

• PakAbu on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:48 pm

IINM this is the second generation x-trail. 2007. But look almost the same as the 1st generation. Look kind of dated but can use off-road (??)

The “softer” version is the Dualis/Qashqai (??). Looks sleeker but can’t really go off-road (??)

IINM ;-)

• CiCakMan on Jul 27, 2010 at 11:36 am

CR-V wannabe ?????

• still fugly as before

• paultan fan on Jul 27, 2010 at 11:46 am

way to go Paul :-)

• ..... on Jul 27, 2010 at 11:54 am

can’t wait to get one already, i had waiting for the 6speed auto came out and i think here it came.

• callenish on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Good to see they will replace the out dated X-Trail.

the question now, what is the price tag & level of safety equipment?

• longjaafar on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:04 pm

I thought they are going to launch the ones with the spotlights on the roof rack?

• Aiyoh…Ugly Car!

• cargeek on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Believe Singapore / Taiwan once revised the front lights so it wouldn’t be so squarish.. but ETCM will always sell an aged Nissan

• Anti Proton on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm

yippie!!!!!!

• altimate on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:22 pm

That’s a fantastic news !
    Finally, TC is doing something.. this should’ve been in ages ago.. but at least it’s here finally.

Thanks for taking that second glance.. haha

• BeemerFreak on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:24 pm

It would be nice if Tan Chong brings in the Dualis/Qashqai instead. Would be interesting to know the price of the new teanas in 2.0L and 2.5L guise. Spec of these cars inported by Tan Chong Singapore even features air-conditioned seats.

• PakAbu on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:50 pm

I think ETCM don’t want to go head-to-head with CR-V :D

They can claim that X-trail can really go off-road, at least.

:mrgreen:

• littlefire on Jul 27, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Yup, if compare both 4wd system.. Nissan X-trail wins.. As they have 3 option to choose for if not mistaken, compare to Honda…

• this is the one with the meter cluster in front of the steering wheel right? i hate the ones with the middle meter cluster…

• littlefire on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:50 pm

It’s been long due already.. But hopefully NTCM can bring the diesel version in here.. Even the 2.0 turbo diesel engine would be quite welcome here as there are non of these competitors engine spec selling in Malaysia here!

• Erm, the sold-in-Malaysia-too Chevrolet Captiva 2.0 Diesel AWD comes to mind.

• littlefire on Jul 28, 2010 at 8:23 am

Captiva is consider as 7 seater, as X-trail is a 5 seater and can go off-road compare to others..

• number of seats don’t actually matter when you are buying an SUV, as opposed to buying an MPV.

But as you said, there is a reason why people buy an SUV, and off-roading is one of the things the X-Trail can actually do. Comparing it to pathetic soft-roaders the others are mentioning here is just…. wrong.

• roy_hodgson on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:05 pm

same design? ETCM is crap. raised the sales fig by given huge discount to gov dpts. expect new crv next year and worth try the new 3008 or tucson. nissan in malaysia is going nowhere if it still under ETCM dealership. Nissan’s japan should take control, the way Honda did by get rid the Kah.

• eh, do some research lah, it’s NOT a facelift. As if ETCM designs cars.

• nipah on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Tucson looked much better ! Hope they bring in the up to date spec for Teana !!!

• I agree. ETCM’s got to GO. Let Naza or Sime do the job. With their capabilities and government connections, we should be able to get latest Nissans at competitive prices.

• cargeek on Jul 28, 2010 at 10:17 am

does this implies that the goverment didn’t give a fair share of benefit to ETCM as compare to Naza OR SIME?

• nabill on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:25 pm

i tink this is the one with a normal dashboard rather than the meters located at the center right ?

anyway good car bt its jus outdated , not enough of a facelift to make it new…

• just me on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:43 pm

is this the new x-trail with the 6-speed auto transmission?

• sutheshkumar on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:56 pm

a bit too late, aren’t it?

• wolfsburg on Jul 27, 2010 at 1:57 pm

X-Trail vs Tucson vs CRV!!!

• chaos on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:53 pm

and don’t forget the 3008….can someone please do a comparison?

• How on earth can you compare a proper SUV with bloody soft-roaders? You people are mad.

• ooooh… new Teana or new X-Trail….which one should I get…..

decisions decisions….

• Paul Tan on Jul 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm

I think its also worth noting that because we didn’t see this X-Trail going around taped up like the Teana, instead just being shipped on a trailer this way, it’s very likely that this new X-Trail is CBU.

• this will launch AUG 2010, teena will launch on NOV 2010

• no way … for this

get a Tucson or the next gen Kia Sorento , Kia Sportage

if worst get a CR-V instead

• inderaloka on Jul 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Trying to find out what car is drived by Danny Tan by looking at the dashboard reflection on the windscreen. Is it an Iswara?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm

The “Quartz” on the clock should be a giveaway!
      I drive a Saga Megavalve, one of the last few before the Iswara came along

• callenish on Jul 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm

somehow the memory of my dad 1992 megavalve hit me..

• ya… same here… i had a 1990 megavalve til last year… tho very old but was strong and dependable…

• KOROK_MU on Jul 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Who gives a rat’s ass.
    UGLY N BOXY!!

• Nissan should takeover ETCM and reduced it to mere superdealer since they’re NOT USED TO PLCs matter like understand by Honda Mazda Hyundai BMW MB AUDI etc. Keep selling outgoing models over 10
    years. they should let nissan itself participate then we can see GTR & SKYLINE from authorized distributor not from AP HOLDER

• So you are saying Manufacturers do better if they come and set up shop in this country instead? Your reasoning is not backed up by FACTS lah.

Honda Malaysia is currently in a debacle now. Why don’t you make your way over to Google, and type “MY HONDA TAK GUNA”

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=my+honda+tak+guna&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

• PakAbu on Jul 28, 2010 at 10:56 am

Whoa!….

If got +ve re-action from the company, maybe others want to do the same (?)

• scooobydoo on Jul 27, 2010 at 4:23 pm

These have been selling for a while in Indonesia. Primarily it is the same car, with some cosmetic changes to the tail and front lights

• adrian on Jul 27, 2010 at 4:33 pm

talked to the SA … seems this this xtrail launching in sep / oct..
    engine option onli on 2.0l
    the old xtrail will still contd…2.5l still avail on the older platform

need more source to confirm this.

• adrian on Jul 27, 2010 at 4:35 pm

talked to the SA … seems this this xtrail launching in sep / oct..
      engine option onli on 2.0l
      the old xtrail will still contd…2.5l still avail on the older platform

need more source to confirm this….
      indicative price : rm150k

• I too is hard-pressed to understand why ETCM dediced to bring this to our shore and not the Dualis / Qashqai.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 27, 2010 at 6:13 pm

The Qashqai/Dualis is only made in England and Japan, and will be quite costly for such a small crossover if brought in

• cargeek on Jul 28, 2010 at 10:20 am

however this X-Trail was release 2008 to some parts of the world. That is about 2yrs and normally with 2yrs time frame, a complete new model can be developed from drawing board

• akupunya on Jul 27, 2010 at 5:44 pm

the Nissan X trail design is ugly.
    not sporty, no luxury. old fashion for old guys.

not interested.

• NoDeal on Jul 27, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Stiil a square box unlike the new Hyundai Tucson and Kia Sportage. yawn…

• I told you so! Anyway it is cbu unit. Price around same as previous gen 2
    140k to 150k

• nazrin on Jul 27, 2010 at 8:05 pm

when is new nv200 vanette coming in? nissan car is outdated already especially sentra and vanette

• mata katak on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:11 pm

the x-trail is 5 years late…….

No matter what, MAlaysian will still rush to Nissan showroom and buy this outdated x-trail…….

As long as the car has 4 wheels, Malaysian will buy it…..

• Anti Proton on Jul 27, 2010 at 10:35 pm

i wonder what is the interior like…i hope it would be nice..with a screen…not sure what it would look like without it

• Anti Proton on Jul 27, 2010 at 10:37 pm

oh yes and also please ditch those rims and give us those we see in the promo shots

• brutus on Jul 28, 2010 at 8:17 am

haih! why ETCM still bring this X-Trail?! though it was revolutionary back in the early 2000s, pls bring in the Dualis/Qashai la!!
    sure a lot of lengluis will want to drive the Dualis/Qashai if compared to the X-Trail/CRV.

• you obviously don’t understand a modern lenglui’s thinking.

If a lenglui wants to avoid road bullies, you think she prefers the styling of a soft-roader or a more macho SUV?

Think.

I see more women driving Hiluxes and Alphards nowadays.

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 28, 2010 at 11:02 am

Better buy Tucson than this outdated model.

• You take a Tucson and I take a new X-Trail into the middle of a rainforest, let’s see who gets out first.

• I can bet with you that the tucson gets out first from the malaysian rainforest!!…Tucson had been tested in the rough rocky dessert terrain of Oman!!..

• Roy_Hodgson2 on Jul 28, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Get rid ETCM. Gor for other brands. With Sub RM 150k, there are plenty of choices, even the re-conds (e.g RAV 4) are better. Just don’t buy nissan from ETCM. Their strategies are outdated..subsidized loan interest, Impul skirting.. holiday voucher (hehhh).. special price for gov ppl. crap. Where are new models

• Way to go ETCM, although a bit late…

From me, an xtrailer myself…

• transformer on Jul 28, 2010 at 7:49 pm

hate those kancil middle odo(1st Gen.) but not anymore in this latest incarnation(2nd Gen.)! its good hat Nissan listen to its customer feedback…..

overall dimension +175(length) against +5mm wheelbase is not good…..

• goodman on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:02 pm

is it a new car, i prefer tucson

• What a load of rubbish…it loooks the same as the old model, jez a bit wider & longer.. Why cant Nissan come up with a futuristic new design for 2010/2011!!..look at Tucson, CBU Korea and a design that can last for the next 10years!!… I bought a new tucson & I’m amazed with its sculptic design and performance!!…

• Tusco on Aug 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

But tucson waiting period darn lonnnnnnnnnnnnnnng……booked mine in June and still waiting…

in 2005 i was looking for SUV…its X-trail vs Escape…Escape won
      in 2010 another round…this time Tucson won without me comparing with any other cars.

CBU from Busan which caters for the whole world…so Tucson we drive in M’sia same as in the ones in US / Euro…thus the long waiting period

• chan lan chia on Jul 31, 2010 at 3:10 pm

wher is my comment ?

• Any one have experienced Engine Shutdown while climbing up hill? I drive 2005 , 2.0 X’trail. Experience 6 -7 times for last 3 years. Complaint to Nissan Service in Penang as well as KL HQ.
    My brother in law X’trail having the same issue. One family already have 2 X’trail having the same issue. I heard from there are few cases same issue until the owner frustrated and sold the car.

A lot of excuses given but no solution.
    Reason: Throttle body dirty, Accelerator pedal, sensor, fully sintetic oil, Petrol Ron 95 and etc. All action taken but still happened. latest sent to KL HQ for 3 weeks, nothing found , only change thermostat.
    Nissan do not have solution and do not want to gurantee after the service that it will not happened again. FYI my car is fully service by Nissan till now.
    What is the consumer right in Malaysia, even CAP can’t help, Nissan Malaysia just drag the issue until the owner frustrated and sell of the car.

Please check with KL Service (HQ) – Mr Chong . (Technical Dept)
    They are quite aware of the 2 Xtrail (Black and Silver color).. Please advise any Nissan Japan email which I can divert this issue as Japanese Embassy also keep quite.
    Nissan Malaysia HOPE LESS. Think twice when you select X’trail. Really SUCKS