Ford Focus ST discontinued, it’s too dirty for Europe!

Let’s make the Honda Civic Type R funeral a joint one, as the Ford Focus ST has just joined the hot hatchback casualty list for not being clean enough for Europe. Like the British built Honda’s high revving 2.0-litre four pot, the Ford’s 2.5-litre turbo five-cylinder does not meet Euro 5 emission standards, which will come into force for all new cars in next year.

According to Autocar UK, who broke the news, other engines that are facing the chop for the same reason includes Alfa’s tuneful 3.2-litre V6, the Mazda RX-8’s rotary engine and the VW Group’s 5.0-litre V10 TDI engine. This will affect models like the Alfa Brera/Spider and the VW Touareg. I remember Wald selling the V10 TDI Touareg here a couple of years ago.

The Focus ST, which sits below the Focus RS in pecking order, will get a new engine at the upcoming Paris show. It’s likely that Ford will drop in a modern direct injection four-cylinder Ecoboost in there.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Squawk on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Wow. Europe is cleaning up. Sad to hear but i think it’s necessary.

• Hdriver on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

I love fast car as well as our mother earth.

It’s a good move to force manufacturer to design a “cleaner” performance car. Well as they EU is working on it. Why Asia (especially our gov) is always fallen behind in green effort?

• squawk on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

Actually in Asia, South Korea, China & Japan are already on the green effort. But it’s a bit difficult for China to enforce it over a large area and population.

Has anyone seen the S. Korean biodegradable kids’ dinnerware sets made from corn starch & fibers? You can tell it’s not plastic/melamine. (thumbs up)

• squawk on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Meant to say ‘you CAN’T tell it’s not plastic/melamine’

• mohsin on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Welcome to Malaysia!
      we have Euro2 Diesel.

• FAReast on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:39 pm

how about proton’s campro engine?
      is it clean enough? hehe…

• Proton’s campro has at least EURO4.

EURO4 is already mandatory for new cars in the UK now.

As car dealers won’t put cars on stock which cannot be sold next year, I’m quite sure that they fullfill EURO5 already now… ;)

• PutraRocker on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

nice!

• Mastergayles on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Sad indeed…

• whateverrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr~~~~~~~~~

• mystvearn on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Alamak, RX-8 gone. Dream car no more on sale. Suddenly you see Honda’s CR-Z hybrid sports car making a lot of sense.
      Video review:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vn_8uJ60GvY

Honda please bring this to Malaysia. Is that NAP free tax thing still in effect?

• abdhakim on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm

safety first, but all the money invest gone away…..

• nabill on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:01 pm

this thng is getting rediculous , cars ONLY contribute less than 5% of enviroment pollution , thy should go after factories not cars….bt probably thy axe it due to economic conditions , maybe thy r using this ‘clean’ thing as an excuse ,thats why alot of hot hatches are being discontinued…

• Dinozilla on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:20 pm

Euro5 axing dirty engine….
    Msia5/Euro2 allows it….so don’t worry….just throw your dirty engine to Msia… XD

• MyCarMyLife on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:26 pm

What about the F1 engines and other WRC cars racing in Europe? change to diesel perhaps

• trav_da_man on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Goodbye high revving engines, but now its time for direct injection and turbocharged engines!

• likahsing on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm

i dont see what the big deal about the standard.

• in the early year of automotive industries, who got the biggest displacement, his the big boss..than change to who the lightest will win the race..after that, turn to who got more hp and goes 100km/h faster, his the king till now..in the next 10 to 20++ years..we will hear our child say..hey dad..how much Voltage you got in your GT-R?…and we answer…12v son..waawawa~

• Too dirty for Europe, but still clean for Malaysia, please come over here and make it dirt cheap (that is, if the NAP do not screw you first) haha.

• guest on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm

omg if cars like these have to face the chop, then what about our local cars here…..?

• BolehlandProton on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Good! Too bad in Asia we’re still 3rd world, can’t accept such high standards.

• carsut on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm

wandering how those ferrari, lambo or bently can meet this standards??

• Cinta Malaysia on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Malaysia biler mau start cleaning???

• junaidi on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:04 pm

I wonder if those europeans have seen our diesel buses and lorry mercedez.

• this news is not news to many of us sadly because Malaysians generally don’t care. Malaysians love their plastic bags and polystyrene boxes way too much.

• Redwings on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Rx8 also not clean huh..? Are we getting a cleaner engine for it…

• jualkeretasaya on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Oh! Really???

• hadi75 on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm

goodbye focus st…..so long civic type r…adieu alfa…mazda rx8….vw v10 tdi….

• vertigo on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:25 pm

then bring it here!!!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:47 am

agreed

we need one in india

may be a sedan variant to compete with the new dude Chevrolet CRUZE and to scare off the too beauty salon civic or the too inert corolla

• Green Fuel on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm

No more RX-8 on Europe? Hope Mazda will come out with more “green” rotary engine to replace the RX-8. Come back to Malaysia, I wander what is the emission level of our campro engine? Euro 2?

• can malaysia government do this for greener nations?
    i dont think so..

• handsome*Dude on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:06 pm

cleaner engine~! stupid

• fatcat on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm

bring both cars to malaysia please !

• karpal sinking on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm

the Mazda RX-8..
    hemmm

• bring it here bring it here nowwww :P

• Hmm….. one of the biggest world polluters are the european countries….. So, a good move by them to cut emissions. Isit possible to bring in these ‘unwanted scraps’ into Malaysia, let’s say unreg/recond ones from UK?? It’ll certainly favour the AP/Grey importers.

• kimi fan on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:22 pm

How good if our country implement this as well

• fazron80 on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:24 pm

what about the campro engine?

• I think the new type of energy sources is a must.

• dooby on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:33 pm

No worries lah.. they can sell the ex-stocks to Malaysia ..cheap cheap price :)

• Mozilla Chrome on Aug 24, 2010 at 7:57 pm

It wont be cheap here..still ‘doubled’ the price!

• KCivic on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Call me ignorant! why are we all listening only to Europe side of the story? Clean engine, clean emission, clean crap….. too pretentious for my liking! are u saying Civic Type R and Focus ST or cars with only 2.0L or 3.0L engine below burn more crap than the Ferrari, Lambo and other performance cars!!! what a load of crap… why not ban performance cars altogether. why do we need to be so environmentally correct when it comes to driving a nice high revving car? dont sell me petrol, and i am very sure, even trees can grow in the air. must be the recent Compenhagen clean everything meeting that the politicians had not too long ago.

• brader, obviously you haven’t seen a 125cc yamaha motobike blowing out more smoke than a 760Li or S600L ?

bigger engine doesn’t mean more dirty…

• Salamander on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Owh It is because of the Euro 5 emission standards. I thought because in UK ST stands for Sanitary Towel (TG Joke).

• adrian yap on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Is there any emmission standard in asia countries?

• China: ‘China IV ‘ = EURO4 (since 03/2008)

Indonesia: EURO2 (since 2006), EURO4 mandatory from 2012

• alldisc on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:12 pm

japan does have it.

• what happened to all our proton and perodua sold over there?
    what i know is that for proton with their 4GXX engine series for earlier models like wira, perdana, satria and putra can barely pass the emission standards

• alldisc on Aug 24, 2010 at 4:21 pm

the process of ‘cleaning up’ has started since late 80s. many cars were fitted with catalytic converter or known as cat. This was why all UK spec Iswara from 92 above has EFI while malaysia got the special edition 2,500 units of Iswara CARES (Clean Air Regulated Emission System). its all about regulations.

and speaking of a kapcai, a smoky 1 cylinder engine does not necessarily means more harm to environment than a 12 cyl 5000cc BMW. for all we know, a petrol engine emission can be more poisonous than an equivalent diesel one because of the carbon monoxide it produces is more while diesel is less even though a lot more soot.

toyota admits between the 1.8 Prius and a conventional 1.8 Avensis, over a period of one year the Avensis will have produced over a 1,000kg more carbon (or 1 tonne) than Prius with similar drive pattern especially in start-stop running.

• squawk on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Hate to be buzzkill but this could potentially be a problem for us. As you know the Japanese & American carmakers have decided on Thailand and Indonesia as their bases. So we’re only left with European carmakers to court for assembly business, to some extent the Koreans too though there’s notably only 2 of them.

We only just moved to Euro 2 (donno what the heck our ‘M’ is for) diesel and at the rate we’re going I don’t see us at Euro 4 in the next 5 years. Especially with the ancient standards of our heavy duty vehicles. It’s the same with our petrol standard. That means if we want the Europeans to set up shop here soon, we’ll be getting their old technology. If we tell them to come back once we’re on Euro 5 or whatever standard they have then, they might’ve set up elsewhere.

So what do we do?

• anonymous on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:37 am

theres always a saying…’lu x suke, lu bole blah dr malaysia’…hehehehehe…

• rossi46 on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:32 pm

We only just moved to Euro 2 (donno what the heck our ‘M’ is for) diesel and at the rate we’re going I don’t see us at Euro 4 in the next 5 years.

——————————————————————————————————————–

“M” is for Msia Boleh…hehehehe…cannot help it ; )

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:45 am

how can a sports varioant be dirty

it may pollute more than a small car but it still prevents more than a dozen small cars to pollute the environment by scaring them off teh road by the noise and tire smoke

I have driven the fiesta and the mondeo here in India

and by god i can completely understand how sporty this car could be

• Genki on Aug 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

in other news. vw’s tfsi 2.0litre lives on.

as for rx8. as a ‘different’ type engine it is good. but you burn so much fuel for so little power. hardly makes sense. thought they claim they are cutting fuel consumption and upping the power on the new models so the question is how much.

by the way, i wouldnt pay for a honda crz. and proton is not selling well in uk so it doesnt matter.

• “The Focus ST, which sits below the Focus RS in pecking order, will get a new engine at the upcoming Paris show. It’s likely that Ford will drop in a modern direct injection four-cylinder Ecoboost in there.”

Its odd for them to drop a new engine into the outgoing Mk2 Focus ST if the new generation Focus Mk3 is just half a year away from its European launch.

• Not unless there is already a prototype/pre-production Mk3 Focus ST at the upcoming Paris Motor Show.

• Update: I read that it has been confirmed Ford will be displaying the Mk3 Focus ST with a 2.0 EcoBoost at Paris.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:10 am

give it a mustang V8