Lotus wants Renault engines, Cosworth contract in the way

The word linking Lotus Racing and Renault engines for next season isn’t new, but Autosport now reports that a deal has been agreed in principle between the two parties, which could see the Malaysian owned team use the same Renault customer engines as Red Bull. Lotus and Renault last worked together in 1986.

While Lotus is close to finalising the deal on this end, a major hurdle remains. It all hinges on whether Lotus can end its contract with Cosworth two years earlier than stated. When it entered F1, Lotus signed a fixed three-year contract with Cosworth that is believed to have no break clause, unless the Northampton-based engine maker was willing to exit the marriage. Nothing a handsome financial settlement can’t do, right?

How did this come about? It is said that Lotus originally sought out a new supplier of gearboxes and transmissions for next year (one of the major reliability issues so far) and Renault, who are willing to supply Lotus with that, upsold their engine to the rookie team. It’s a bit like when you order your fast food lunch, and they somehow convince you to take a large set plus dessert, when all you wanted was a regular meal.

However, both Lotus and Cosworth have denied any change in relationship. “As with the other new teams, Lotus has a fixed term three-year contract with Cosworth and we are very pleased it is happy with our engines and the job we have done for it during its first season in Formula 1,” Cosworth GM of F1 operations Mark Gallagher said.

When pressed, Lotus tech chief Mike Gascoyne said: “We’ve got a contract with Cosworth and there is no further comment to make.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Chilavert on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:37 am

cmon lotus just pick the faster engine. red bull is doing well so pick renault.

• 3008_bought on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:41 pm

use Campro CPS la….

• campro on Sep 09, 2010 at 4:02 am

use campro Turbo…next yr new Proton engine…haha…fix in the satria neo can beat vw golf gti….(impossible)

• mfahd_88 on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:44 am

i hope that they can boost their position if they get the new renault engine in the next season

• Pay Air Asia price for engines, you will get lousy engines. Pay first class price, you get first class results.

• than nnti come “my tax money”, “waste rakyat money”, “ur tax money”…..from u know who

• Ramunik on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Yes Cosworth need to produce better engine or else- bye bye. Very good progress for Lotus but to exit earlier than stipulated in contract might be really painful. Wish u best of luck!

• chaku on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:39 pm

renault FTW!

• tot they will use Reno’s hydraulics as well?

• budzer on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:21 pm

I really hope Lotus can get the Renault engine. Renault engine is proven to be very reliable and efficient.

Come on Tony Fernandes, work on that please!! Lotus need to compete with the top 6 team next year.

• Satekj38 on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:39 pm

getting tired of looking at Lotus lapped over and over again by other teams, eventhough Lotus is the best performing new team. Should get this Renault engine and race more competitively.

• ReactiX on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:59 pm

who is the idiot making the 3 yrs contract deal with cosworth. cosworth powered engined dominating the front runners is history.

• campro on Sep 08, 2010 at 3:20 pm

FIA…the most basic terms & conditions for enter F1 new team…due to the budget cap…at same time F1 hv lost 3 manufacturer team…bmw, toyota & honda…
      Pay more to get Renault engine….next year can challenge scuderia toro rosso, sauber, william & force india….better chances for better position…it mean ur income for F1 sport also increase….come on F1 is a business game…Renault engine really proven more reliable than Ferrari (of coz often see toro rosso & sauber alway facing this engine problems) & mercedes (seldom lah but sometime hv engine problems)..
      Renault engine is the best solution….hope cosworth let Lotus off from the contract…since no clause is broken…

• i don think ferrari engine is the prob……ferrari team most prob is come from their aerodynamic package..eg most alonso problem come frm either accident or misfortune….if u look bet redbull, force india n renault team..all use same engine but diff aero

• trav_da_man on Sep 08, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Wow i guess tony and the naza brothers are pouring more money into this. They taking it to the next level of seriousness!

Apart of engines, they need good supplier for gearbox and hydraulics which has been a concern to Lotus team.

• LOL!! on Sep 08, 2010 at 3:09 pm

dont worri malaysians got shitloadz of cash to burn for lotus

• campro on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:57 am

yaya…our govt vr rich….still hv few petroleum reserve….cash burn not the matters…promise can give excitement for 1 M’sian citizen…and can show off to Lotus hv M’sia govt stand behind….gogogo….red bull racing boleh….Sure Lotus racing also Boleh if with renault engine…..

• 1Malaysia on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:59 pm

ya, our govt still not yet bankrupt before year 2019, so stillcan burn many for rew more years

• dukeKTM on Sep 08, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Yeah.. c’mon Team lotus… put in that Renault power in the car…. then Jarno can get competitive again… and maybe do something on the aerodynamics.. We suppport u Team lotus..

• squawk on Sep 08, 2010 at 3:57 pm

When Mike quotes like that you know they’ll be trying to find ways to exit the contract.

But I’m still rooting for Sauber. :)

• scanzew on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:21 pm

renault isn’t the best engine overall..even RedBull is dying for getting mercedes.. i think easier for lotus to get merc engine,furthermore petronas is main sponsor for mercedesgp…..

• If renault engine’s good…. Why is proton savvy’s engine such bad? But anyway it’s just an engine. Lotus can tune it to their style and make it even better. =D

• im not stupid on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:11 am

renault f1 and renault cars have no connection. they only share the same name. besides, why do you compare with savvy’s engine. it’s an old engine. a 1.2 SOHC. there are other better renaults out there. Take Megane R26 for instance. Or the old Clio V6. don’t be so narrow…

• yipi33 on Sep 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

ure serious are’nt u??the engine is decent!!..bet you never drove one..savvy has a continental feel to it ..the suspension and handling are great..low fuel consumption.what more do you want?a ferrari like speed?buy a ferrari then..

• mata katak on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Our RMAF lost 2 jet engines. Better take back the engine and install to Lotus F1 car….

• Petronas and Mercedes have nothing to do with Lotus team.

The main reason why Lotus eager to have the Renault engine is because they comes with packages – transmission and possible hydraulics too. Noted that Lotus had reliability issues mainly on transmission and the hydraulics. Also noted that Adrian Newey (Red Bull chief designer) had design the RB6 around Renault engine because the engine have the best fuel consumption suitable for this years rule (no refueling) so he could design the tank smaller and putting better aero to their car.

This, I think the main reason why Mike Gazza wants the Renault. If he wants the Merc, he will said it already…

• Tiadaid on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:32 am

Plus, don’t forget Mike Gascoyne was the designer at Renault for a while, so he’s experienced with the way Renault works.

• supplier? on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:27 am

who’s currently supplying the gearboxes to Team Lotus right now anyways ???

but cosworth is definitely keeping their performance of their engines low in favour of more engine reliability…. at least lotus is not blowing engines every few races just so they can touch the likes of force india etc… at least they wont be seeing more DNFs..

• Ferruccio on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:44 am

All the new teams are running the cosworth engine + Xtrac gearbox combo. So is Williams but they chose to design their own gearbox casing around the Xtrax internals.

The hydraulics with the gearbox is an issue for the new teams. Lotus wants to change supplier and its likely they will but now engine offers have been thrown into the equation as well. Renault engine isn’t the only offer apparently but Lotus primary concern was to solve the gearbox issues and move away from Xtrac. Engine is secondary but nice to consider.

The Cosworth CA2010 ain’t a terrible unit but it’s not a championship winning engine and Lotus is not trying to win the championship just yet.. It’s also what they could afford like the other new teams

• Manbo on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:02 am

baru la pergi mcm ne

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Kekuatan sebenar kita terletak pada hati,
    bukan injin.
    blek..

• If they wants the Reno’s better act now so the car will be designed around the engines and be competitve and stun the midfield teams straight away!

• Mata2 on Sep 10, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Everybody wants to be a champion no metter new or well established team, eg 2009 champion. Lotus engine is the cheapest and i don’t think any team will sacrify position over reliability by trailing behind all the times.