Bernie Ecclestone hints HD F1 broadcast as early as 2011

Bernie Ecclestone seems to be contradicting himself, but that’s in every Formula 1 fan’s favour. This is after reports stating that Formula 1 will be available in High Definition (HD) as early as 2011. We previously reported the F1 supremo as saying that the earliest they would broadcast in HD is 2012, but he said that it will be earlier than that. “I think what’s being produced at the moment is very, very good but I think we’ll be moving to High Definition, probably next year,” Bernie said speaking to the BBC.

According to sources, the 2010 Formula 1 is being recorded in HD, but this feed is not available to broadcasters. Formula 1 fans in any region, if they had the chance, would rather watch the races in HD. It could very much be the case here in Malaysia as well.

Back home, some Formula 1 races are broadcasted on Astro Beyond’s ESPN HD channel, but they are not in HD format, according to an Astro call centre executive. Nevertheless I can’t help but notice that the quality is slightly better compared to when it is shown on the Standard Definition ESPN-Star channel.

Do share your personal opinion after the jump.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• tokmoh on Sep 27, 2010 at 5:54 pm

This I have to say:

“HELL, IT’S ABOUT TIME!!”

-Tychus J. Findlay

~~~~~

“Nevertheless I can’t help but notice that the quality is slightly better compared to when it is shown on the Standard Definition ESPN-Star channel.”

Meh, I reckon it’s placebo effect.

• Samuel Schick on Sep 27, 2010 at 6:05 pm

At least it’s an upscaled widescreen version on Astro Byond, last night astro choose to show BPL matches instead of F1, sigh.

• whatsupbro on Sep 28, 2010 at 12:09 pm

took them forever to make the transition…

I always thought they had gone HD long before we get the ASTRO BYOND… but no… they remain with upscale version…