Workshop owners federation setup “grading system” for Malaysian automobile workshops

Federation of Automobile Workshop Owners Association Malaysia has announced that they will be introducing a profiling system where customers will be able to ascertain prices and details of a workshop online.

The online system would offer better transparency and prevent consumers from getting conned, according to federation president Kong Wai Kwong. “For a start, the system will encompass about 500 PARS (PIAM Authorised Repairers Scheme) approved workshops in the country. Eventually, it will cover all our 2,700 members nationwide,” he went on to add.

The database will start by providing information on six high selling brands in Malaysia, which are Proton, Perodua, Honda, Nissan, Kia and Toyota. This makes up about 85 percent of cars sold in Malaysia.

The Federation will also be grading each workshop according to their manpower, methodology of repair work, machinery and materials available. “The workshops have to achieve the minimum requirement of the silver level. As they attain higher standards, they will be promoted to gold and eventually platinum,” he continued.

Both a sigh of relief for consumers and a warning to unscrupulous workshop owners, the new system will eventually force all workshops to take the straight road or face being run out of business. Previously only community forums could provide this service, but unfortunately lacked uniformity and direction. This is definitely one of those things that will be highly successful, if managed properly.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• finally! goodbye to ripoff, cheats, n substandard jobs

• appetite4destructions on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:49 am

this is a good move.. now i can check first which is the best value and workmanship of auto garage in my area..

• vincent choong on Sep 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

How do we manage the scenario where some workshops just pay under table to get a Gold status?

• JK Soh on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:55 pm

an independent review party? or maybe auditor to go through the process?

Transparency may be the key for the system to work

• Daniel Loh / Fawoam on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:53 am

The system consists of two control areas, a third party firm & two bodies association (FAWOAM & PIAM)
        A third party firm plays the main role to evaluate and verify the 4M criteria at site. The evaluation result will be posted in the website portal for transparency purpose. The third party firm will also provide advice and recommendation to workshop owners in order to improve their workshop’s standard.

The two bodies association (FAWOAM & PIAM) will act as auditor to do random checking on the reports which carried out by the third party firm.

The portal will also enable the related Government departments such as KPDNKK, JPJ, POLICE to access for information and verification. If there is any complaint received by FAWOAM and it is verified to be true, the workshop will be penalized and down graded.

• Zulhimi on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Good news. Pls post the address of the website as soon as it becomes operational. This way we consumers can avoid getting cheated again and again.

• kaminski on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Very good news and an excellent report, but your last sentence hit the nail on the head…”if its managed properly”
      In the States they now have this system on an iphone app, which would also be good here. I get tired of hearing all the major players saying that they now put as much emphasis into aftercare as they do sales. Lets hope this is the beginning of something good fr Malaysian consumers.

• Totally agree with Paulie, It will be successfull if managed properly…

• mirror mirror on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:08 pm

…even Moody’s and Standard & Poor give bad ratings sometimes…

• There is no such thing as absolute system or perfect rating in this world.Even credit rating agencies can be manipulated, what more of workshops federation.

My advice, do your homework, car owners.

• consumer decide!

• tokmoh on Sep 29, 2010 at 11:49 pm

In other words… it’s something like what’s happening with all computer shops in Low Yat? Where they all post their prices at lowyat.net?

I kinda like that.

• RadzLee on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:02 am

is this going to work? i really hope it will.
    i admit that im a bit naive when it comes to repairs and maintainance. slalu kena tipu. =(

• thomanic on Sep 30, 2010 at 2:23 am

Good news for consumer….we consumer need better protection and information since our bargain power is way lesser than those supplier.way to go.

• Jessen on Sep 30, 2010 at 2:39 am

Thank you for realizing!! Aftersales, not an easy operation to handle.
    Honesty’s buckle just got abit tighter.

• T4VR-Ralph on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:21 am

Hopefully they include East Malaysia too…

• creator mind on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:52 am

Good. Something to look forward to when we send out “missues” for regular service. A good workshop should offer reasonable pricing on top of efficient problem solving and service. Special highlights should also be given to data management, such as what was repaired before, when and solution offered, plus at what milage it was done. This would be like a complete history record, which suits bz ppl like us, always on the move. Some star points could be given to those workshop who offer spare car to use which ur current one is undergoing some major service / repair, and those who offer transport to home and vice versa. Care to add anything further, anyone?

• Wannabe Sirim. Puspakom is a good example. why bother another. Waste of time and resource

• I prefer independent international regulalators. Dont trust any here.

• About time. Many workshops are there for the MONEY. Cari makan, OK tapi janganlah ketok kereta pelanggan macam-macam. No professionelism whatsoever. If you are the customer, would you like the aircon guy to “ketok” your house aircon “macam-macam”? It’s a vicious cycle…

• MangO on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Hope it doesn’t turn into a money making scheme at the end of the day.

• triple 2 on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:00 pm

yup..agreed, hopefully the additional cost for the workshop to maintain its grade will not be transfer to consumer, lastly the consumer would be the victim…

• Andrew on Oct 01, 2010 at 12:12 am

Very very fishy; this isn’t something that I would trust – it’s like paying someone to review my business.