Budget 2011: BMW Malaysia dreams of cleaner fuel, government support for clean diesel technology

Budget 2011: BMW Malaysia dreams of cleaner fuel, government support for clean diesel technologyThe 2011 Budget will be tabled by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak at the Dewan Rakyat this Friday (15 Oct). Many of us working in the private sector are hoping to get some share of the goodies, and some might be relieved to hear that the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) has been postponed by the Finance Ministry, deferred to “enable the Government to engage inclusively all segments of the people on the imposition of the GST”.

As motorists, we hope for the best, which is usually translated to no increase in costs. The automotive industry has its own wishlist too – for instance, Toyota would not have been able to launch the Prius here with a competitive price if not for the tax breaks for hybrid cars announced in Budget 2009.

BMW Group Malaysia, which has been a leader in introducing the latest in diesel technology in Malaysia despite the unfriendly conditions, is hoping that the Government sees diesel tech as a main component in its green policies. BMW argues that diesel tech will be a good friend to our wallets and the environment, something that this website fully agrees with. And like the rest of us, they’re also hoping that fuel quality is improved, fast.

Geoffrey Briscoe, Managing Director of BMW Group Malaysia expertly states his views and the 2011 Budget wishlist of his company in a statement you can read after the jump. It’s good stuff and definitely an interesting read.

Statement by Geoffrey Briscoe, Managing Director of BMW Group Malaysia

For Budget 2011, we at BMW Group Malaysia would like to see that the string of positive steps towards encouraging the uptake of Green Technology, which began with Budget 2010 and further reinforced when the Tenth Malaysia Plan was outlined by the Prime Minister of Malaysia YAB Dato’ Sri Najib Abdul Razak earlier this year, continue to be brought to fruition.

The steps to introduce the mandatory use of bio-diesel by 2011 are for one, the kind of pro-active steps indicative of the government’s sincerity in promoting the use of Green Technology as a serious effort in addressing very real environmental and sustainability concerns. However we hope that the government will continue to utilise its consultative approach with the private sector in implementing such efforts so that vital market concerns, such as ensuring that the fuel specifications in Malaysia are improved to Euro IV standards in 2011 by the very least, are fully taken into account.

The speedy implementation and success of the government’s six national key result areas or NKRA’s are a testament to the things that can be achieved through determined and well considered co-operative efforts, and moving forward we hope that the government will continue to instigate such measures in tackling sensitive but economically vital issues, such as the potential gradual revision of fuel subsidies, inflative control policies such as the AP system within the automotive industry, and more.

More emphasis should also be made to develop Malaysia as a regional hub for Advanced and Environmentally Friendly Automotive Technology as Malaysia has necessary capability and infrastructure to achieve this with Clean Technology alternatives such as Diesel Technology and Hybrid Technology domestically, while spurring greater economic opportunities for the country throughout Asean and beyond.

Whilst the Malaysian budget allocation has provided for special support for emerging Clean and Green Technology such as the Hybrid Technology, we at BMW Group Malaysia feel that such support should also be extended to other forms of Clean and Green Technology such as Diesel Technology.

Through the years there have been many misconceptions about diesel fuel in Malaysia. Often mistaken as the dirtier, cruder and least performance capable option compared to petrol due to its widespread use amongst commercial vehicles, modern diesel engines actually generate 20% more horsepower, 75% more torque and consumes up to 30% less fuel compared to petrol. More significantly however is the fact that diesel engines on average produce 20% less carbon dioxide (CO2) than their equivalent petrol counterparts which significantly reduces the amount of harmful emissions being released into our environment.

For the everyday person, this means that for every six days of travel time to their work place, two days can be considered free of fuel cost as Diesel fuel give vehicle users more distance for their ringgit spent as the price for per litre of Diesel fuel is currently also the lowest in the market. More important than these facts however, is the break the environment is getting when using Diesel fuel.

A study by Vehicle Park SGP has suggested that if 50% of the car population in Malaysia were to utilize Advanced Diesel Technologies, a total of 2.7 billion litres of fuel could be saved annually. With such an amount saved, an advanced diesel vehicle could drive more than 43,000 times around the earth. Even more significantly such amounts of fuel saved would result in the reduction of harmful Carbon Dioxide (CO2) emitted into our environment by 3.98 million tons.

We at BMW Group Malaysia hope that the Malaysian government would consider providing special incentives to promote the import, production and use of Advanced Diesel passenger cars in Malaysia, as such vehicles currently cost the consumer an average of 10-20% more than petrol variants due to higher start-up and vehicle cost, investment risk and so on.

The initial allocation of RM1.5 billion through the Green Technology Financing Scheme earlier this year is a strong indication of the governments’ seriousness in addressing very real environmental and sustainability concerns and should continue to be maintained, if not improved, in the new budget.

Overcoming environmental and sustainability concerns are ambitions which are very much shared by BMW worldwide and is the fundamental reason for the introduction of BMW EfficientDynamics to Malaysia since 2009.

BMW EfficientDynamics is a continuous strategy by BMW on the creation of fuel and emission reduction technologies which at the same time enhances the performance and driving pleasure our vehicles – qualities that are very distinct to the BMW brand.

The concept of Efficient Dynamics has been at the core of the BMW Group for more than a decade and plays a significant role in our long-term strategy for corporate sustenance. Today, it is a standard offering in all BMW cars.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Arashikage on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:59 pm

We want clean diesel now!!!

• it has stated in NAP roadmap that E4M will be implemented in 2011

• campro on Oct 14, 2010 at 3:54 am

do u think there is possible for govt willing to do this upgrade to E4M??? i guess it jz a big talk, no action in the end…for SUV i really only interested in diesel version like volvo xc60….if u drive x5 diesel version for a long time, i thk it gonna hurt alot to the engine for not suitable for local current diesel grade..

• Bro,

I use BHP diesel for my Merc E270Cdi as somebody told me the get the diesel from Singapore plant.

They also advised never 3x used Petronas Diesel as the sulphur content is very2 high and could clogged you fuel injector….

• campro on Oct 14, 2010 at 2:31 pm

thx bro…dun worry about me…i never touch petronas…their fuel all are low grade…even their high rank officer knew abt this…but malay boy like it….cannot understand how they thinking….use same money what for buy low grade fuel…u hv many choice buy greater grade like v-power, techron…more power more clean to engine…nothing to do with the influence of the fuel name….
            i only use shell & caltex….so how abt shell diesel & caltex diesel quality???

• austin_cipan on Oct 13, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Hope the PM reads this article and considers the suggestion.

• Korean on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:06 pm

BMW is a true leader. Solute and respect for the effort.

• Richard on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:08 pm

But BMW also made so much of requests to the government when the 530d was launched and yet, nothing was done by the government. Nothing really has improved with the diesel quality in Malaysia since the 530d launched.

What is going to be so different now with this press statement?

Many 530d buyers suffered with so many problems because of the super high sulphur content.

Now, you want people to take the risk and buy the 320d and X1?

• drMpower on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:20 pm

one of the reason some of our policies are less accurate, is that the government seemed to be advised by non competent personals. for example in automotive industries, u cannot expect someone like Nor Md yaacop to give his hindsight about whats wrong and whats going on. the same goes about NAP or whatever.

they should listen to someone from the industry.

i wud prefer to learn from the united states. the politicians are confined to the House, yet the Secretaries are the ones running the departments. and the Secretaries are chosen based on merits and their know-how about the field. in short, they are the experts. for example Mrs Rice was first appointed to handle the State ‘portfolio’ and she knew the thing inside out because she is a professor in political science.

well of course she made blunders during her time at Oval Office, but as a matter of fact, she knows everything about organizing the State affairs.

u know..not all coming from the Yanks are bad.

if we adopt similar strategy, i think we got a very long list of persons with credibility inside the automotive industry

• arcana on Oct 14, 2010 at 12:58 am

its more like if they implement clean diesels……more non national brands/models will flood the market with diesel variants and our national cars have no way to fight back as we do not produce diesels……

diesels give more power and lower consumption compared to petrol models……our national cars will potential lose market share and lose “whoever’s” money with no ability to fight back..

those policy makers are not stupid yo…..they care bout their pocket 1st

• drMpower on Oct 14, 2010 at 1:56 am

one solution would be to appoint someone who knows very much about the level of ready-ness the manufacturers in delivering, for example clean diesels. get them in roundtable talks and tell them, lets say in 2012, all the fuels with euro 5 compliant will be made available. so they have 2 years to get ready and when the time come, just implement the thing as promise.

instead of punish the ones cannot adhere to the planned policy, the government should REWARD those who produce the goods. it may comes in reduced or restructuring the tax. made the list of companies that being rewarded, public so that people know the government already reduce the tax etc etc

usually politicians are related to the vendors, of which i dont think will be affected if we got this system going. proton is more than ready. they must.

• i tot the policies r advise by grup of expert n people like nor yakop just read wat that has been stated..just like PM read the budget….

• drMpower on Oct 14, 2010 at 1:58 am

i dont know whether its him that been giving advises to the government about automotive, i just got his name through my wild imagination. forgive me if he didnt.

my point is, seek advices from personals that are experts in those fields.

• motorist on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Let’s be realistic. Many of us can honestly afford a BMW, much less a diesel powered BMW, Mr Briscoe?

• Pickup Truck on Oct 14, 2010 at 12:00 am

Cleaner diesel,like Euro 3 please,besides BMW,please bring in Isuzu Dmax Platinum Series with VGS TURBO,like our neighbour. Malaysia,boleh ka?

• The Loner on Oct 14, 2010 at 7:13 am

For your information, D-Max with VGS turbo still a Euro 3 compliant vehicle. For those Euro 4 and above compliant diesel engine vehicles, there are BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, Mitsubishi (Pajero), Volkswagen, etc.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 14, 2010 at 12:45 am

hmmm…. this request basically came from Mr Briscoe so that BMW Malaysia can eventually push more of their Diesel variants out of the showroom, no ?

I mean, u don’t see the other German carmakers pleading the same (cos they don’t need to as they either have turbocharged petrol technology ie: CGI , TSI or TFSI)

To me this is just purely a BMW propaganda ….

• azrai on Oct 14, 2010 at 7:58 am

Keep on dreaming BMW. :-)

• longjaafar on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:39 am

For those who say diesel is only for BMW, think again. If we have EURO 4 diesel, we can have Renaults, Citroens,Fords, Toyotas, Nissans etc, on our roads, spewing less CO2, providing more torque and most of all, saving money all round. Imagine using a BMW 320i and having to fill the tank once a month! That is a real possibility, looking at it’s range on a tankful. So, let’s support Geoff Briscoe, who has been courageous enough to issue the statement, although I wonder why it is so late in coming, because the budget would have been finalised by now. But to be frank, I doubt if the govt will listen. They seldom do. They have so called ‘experts’, who go for countless study tours and come back only with their luggage full of shopping, and souvenirs, but having no clue whatsoever about the auto industry.

• stephen on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:16 am

the plan to go for Euro4 or 5 or whatever it is…not just focus on Diesel but hopefully Gov really keep to their promises.

donno…I just feel that if we able to bring or encourage better diesel….it might encourage automaker to let the country having plants that build such car….in a way technology transfer etc etc.

if anyone read the AFP news about Malaysia automotive industry…you can see a note that only 50% of the capacity being utilized at Malaysia automaker plant…. bringing new rule can be helping in bring in such car maker….well its easy for me to say but knowing the fact….it will still be tough with lots of discussion going on…hopefully the 5 automaker which gov claim are interested to come to Malaysia isn’t just focus on high capacity petrol car but also on bring in plant to build diesel car.

• stephen on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:19 am

today Ford Focus ad really caught my attention…. one full tank can go 900km….and its by theory 5.8Litre per 100km for Focus Diesel Turbo charge…..wondering is it based on Euro2 diesel….so if Euro4 diesel able to improve the efficiency on fuel consumption…then will Focus’s fuel consumption go down further? wow…that will be kinda interesting beside being a cleaner car :)

• Lim Kopi on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:21 am

Actually Efficiency does not necessarily mean Economy …

It just means things are running better …. i think

• Wonder if there’ll be any good diesel-powered sedans that are affordable (say, RM70k & below) to the average M’sian, even if Euro IV diesel is available now? A diesel Naza 207 sedan, maybe? Or something from Nissan with a Renault diesel engine?

• Nakal on Oct 14, 2010 at 1:18 pm

BMW,

I dream you can merge with proton. I want proton X6. yeah, day dreaming.

• Richard on Oct 14, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Chicken and egg story. Instead of introducing diesel cars first, make sure the diesel is clean. How can you sell something when what it depends on is not there.

Its like you sell a computer but Microsoft and Linux OS is banned in the country. Or you sell guns but there is no availability of bullets for that particular model.

Chicken and egg story.

Instead of issuing a press release, put on your website your correspondences to the government asking a change in fuel quality. Show updates for people’s benefit. At least people can make informed decisions.

Have you all wriiten to the oil companies? Show that also as your correspondences to make cleaner fuel availble.

The old 530d customers also were promised by sales agents that Malaysia was about to come out with cleaner diesel. But 7 years have passed and NOTHING!

No point I buy a 320d now when Euro 4 disel is introduced in 10 years time.

BMW should make sure clean diesel is available before they introduce diesel cars in Malaysia. Cicken and egg.

This is not small money. RM250,000 is big money to everybody and its not worth the risk to commit onto something and then 10 years later, cleaner fuel is introduced.

BMW also must give their commitment, that, after a certain number of years, they are willing to buy back the car should cleaner diesel not be introduced. And that should be at the petrol counterparts (say 320i) current value.

• Richard on Oct 14, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Geoffrey Briscoe, you are obviously reading this blog as it is the No 1 automotive blog in Malaysia. I would appreciate a reply from you on this matter.

I want to buy the X1 20d. I fancy it a lot and seriously want to purchase it.

a) Can you give me your personal commitment that BMW Malaysia will bear all the cost resulting in damage to my engine as a result of our dirty diesel the next 5 years?

b) Also, will you buy back my car at current petrol X1 prices should cleaner Euro IV or V diesel not be introuced in Malaysia the next 5 years time?

• JonLing on Oct 14, 2010 at 3:43 pm

though this may seem a bit ridiculous and a marketing tactic, i think i would still root for BMW for coming up with such a statement. Maybe they do so to increase the sales of their cars, but for me at least this is the policy that would benefit us as well. And it shows that BMW is committed to push more on EfficientDynamics concept, to give us cars with greater power but less fuel consumption and cleaner engines. Kudos BMW! High respect!

• tishaban on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Why do people complain a lot about our Euro 2 diesel but not our Euro 2 petrol?

• rexis on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:02 am

How much more green house gas produced by refineries to make cleaner fuel products? Doesn’t that tally with the pollution reduced by cars required clean fuel?

• Andrew on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:36 am

Ya. Malaysia should have better fuel quality, min euro 4

• Mr Brilliant on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:50 am

Briscoe, you should know better than do this propaganda. There is no way the government will encourage diesel usage because it wants the rakyat to use more petrol. This in turn will bring more revenue for the government in terms of taxes by the petroleum companies and of course, their Petronas will benefit big time. You should know that.

We all know by using diesel, one can half its usage of fuel. We all know that. We all know the common rail turbo engines are far better than the petrol engines as it has higher torque and lower emissions.

This is why it is always better to have a local CEO as opposed to a white man like yourself. You do not know about the politics in Malaysia. You are also desperate to see the survival of BMW in Malaysia cause in Europe, BMW is producing more diesel engines and far less petrol engines. Eventually, development of petrol engines will diminish so much and this is making you panic.

This can be seen by the F10. BMW Malaysia got screwed bad because the real F10 is a 3 litre and 3 litre engines are a big NO in Malaysia due to the high road tax. BMW Malaysia compromised by putting an old 52 engine in the F10 to keep the cc low.
    So BMW Malaysia is starting to panic big time. Mercedes on the other hand is comfy because they knew their cash cow was and is Asia. So they made sure to come out with a low cc 1.8 litre Turbocharged CGi engine.

Briscoe, instead of worrying, which you are justified to do so, ask BMW Germany to develop a low cc engine for their cash cow line up like the 3 and 5 series. But please, for heaven’s sake, don’t pretend that you care about the environment and all that. Its all about sales. At least, be honest about that.

• rossi46 on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:35 am

I’m agreeable to this Beemer guy…wt cleaner euro 4 diesel, there’s more small modern diesel car will be availble ….

i want a cheap 1.4-1.6 diesel wt 20-25km/l kind of FC but huge 240nm torque btw 1,500 – 3,500 rpm (normal useable range)…save me $$$, have fun wt the torque & being green in btw too! ; )