Lexus gives its CT 200h hybrid the F Sport treatment

lexus ct 200 h f sport a

Lexus has given its CT 200h hybrid a bit of a bells and whistles upgrade with the introduction of the F Sport version of the vehicle. The model, which made its global debut at the Australian International Motor Show, gets a number of visual and performance enhancements in keeping with the F Sport flavour.

Exterior enhancements include front and rear styling cues as well as alloy wheels and badging, and the car is available in Lexus’ unique Flame Blue exterior shade.

lexus ct 200 h f sport b

Inside, this particular CT 200h features an optional unique interior trim, a F Sport steering wheel, sports pedals, scuff plates, instrument panel and privacy glass.

Mechanically, there are no changes to the powertrain over the standard CT 200h – the F Sport utilises the same 1.8 litre VVT-i four-cylinder petrol block and rear-mounted electric-drive motor/generator system, with an electronically-controlled CVT driving the front wheels.

lexus ct 200 h f sport c

The F Sport does however get Lexus’ unique body performance damper, designed to improve ride and handling. These contribute to increased torsional rigidity and the suppression of vibrations while contributing to added ride comfort, without any added weight penalty.

The lateral dampers, used in both front and rear, are elements in a system of additional performance measures that also includes strategic strengthening and carefully-gauged welding throughout the vehicle.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1633]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• m4xspeed on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm

I’ve to say, this model looks far more better than subaru hatchback in term of design especially the rear view. Kudos Lexus.

• mitlanevo on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:12 am

100% agree!

• this is the new CALDINA!!!!

• pomen_gtr on Oct 21, 2010 at 1:01 am

i think they just use their child company (subaru) hatchback chasis and restyle it back…

certtainly both this lexus and subaru not to my liking….

• firos on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:40 pm

i think the pop-up display isnt good looking for the dashboard design

• VW_fan on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:40 pm

i wonder if they will bring this here tax free!!!!

• shoon on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:35 pm

yeah, but still doubt the price will be affordable to majority of malaysians anyway

• drMpower on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm

that wont happen, the tax-free u were wishing for

but with tax also i dont mind spending my hard own monies on this beauty. umw should consider getting this onto our shore. price it at 120-130k, it will sell.

or do a peasant-poor people version for most of people here and price it at 100k it will sell hot cake

• mitlanevo on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:13 am

like what?

without-aircond version?

without-abs version?

or without-radio version?

• drMpower on Oct 20, 2010 at 4:34 pm

well…smaller hideous rims.

no active steering wheel

no climate control

no touch screen lcd

hideous colour scheme

old skul manual tranny

no 6/7 speed tranny

maybe peasant level audio.

keh keh keh

why not. the poor people lexus what. this way many people can enjoy lexus. in return lexus got more money

poor people realise that is a shite lexus. they will work harder. earn more. or just be like maddox or ponzie. ;p

• nighttrain on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:48 am

It’s a Lexus. There’s no cheap Lexus. Just like there’s no cheap BMWs..

• Gajen on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:07 pm

this is one hot hatchback…i love the body colour and the rims

• The exterior design looks a bit out to me. Lexus is supposed to be a premium brand for Toyota. Should have done better. Just my personal view.

• joe wi on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm

1st impression, toyota caldina facelift…

• almost similar to Mazda3 hatch… copycat? hmmm..maybe..
    if P1 do this.. sure kena hentam kowkow… hahaha..

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Although I like Toyota/UMW here, I really want to say that this car is UGLY.

• iampaultanfan on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:55 pm

you like UMW?wow….

can understand if someone like Toyota but someone who like UMW….err….maybe I’m too stupid to understand that….

• mirror mirror on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Damn! does this qualify for the recent tax and excise exemption? lovely car.

• iampaultanfan on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:57 pm

qualify I think…1.8 engine only…hopefully Lexus Malaysia will bring this in….I donwan umw to touch it…

• bryan jones on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:08 pm

sorry.. too ahbeng..

• SeriuosSAM on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:16 pm

better wait for a few months after it released..
    sure got recall meh

LOL

• somehow i think it looks similiar to the Caldina, and not that much better looking

• Sambalbelacan on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:06 am

umw should consider getting this onto our shore. price it at 120-130k, it will sell.
    In your dream only. Even if UMW does bring this babe onto our shore. it’s price tag will surely been much higher than 130k. I would say something between 200k++.

• mcm Caldina je..

• chuakz on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:28 am

with the hybrid tax free thing now….i think this car would be able to sell within 150k range…if they are smart…this would sell like hot cakes…

• mazda 3 mps is way better

• maikelskofil on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:45 am

nice

• Anti Proton on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:50 am

if cheap then worth it

• mivec on Oct 20, 2010 at 6:50 am

wow subaru impreza with lexus badge..

• Nice hot hatch. Way better than Mazda.

• zaff1984 on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:48 am

i like it… i think it will sell price range Golf GTi (RM200k) – BMW 3 Series (RM230k)….

• 4x4Fan on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm

I like this car..But I don’t like price…hahaha…

• Anti Proton on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:23 pm

hope cost less than golf gti

• skatax on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm

judging from exterior, this looks nowhere like a Lexus. should have been the new 2011 Caldina instead.

too bad Lexus. too bad. booring~

• John Doe on Nov 13, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Estimate selling price is only USD28,000 – USD30,000. With the tax free exemption for hybrid below 2.0cc, this 1.8cc hybrid Lexus CT 200h should be selling at USD30,000 x RM3.00 = RM90,000 + 10% sales tax = RM100,000.

Question is what kind of crazy profit margin that UMW will want to slap on top of the RM100,000 selling price elsewhere in the world. Even with a very healthy profit margin of 20% inclusive of miscellaneous expenses , it shouldn’t cost more than RM120,000 over here.

However, despite the Lexus tag, bear in mind this car has similar size with a Mazda 3. I wouldn’t dare to call it “roomy”.

• heard from umw staff.. will launch next aug selling at 190k…

• Frankie foo on Jan 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

How to get price info

• now in showroom. view the car itself at lexus showroom.