1,100 bookings and counting for the Proton Inspira

Proton has garnered 1,100 bookings in ten days for its Inspira sedan, which is scheduled to be officially launched on November 10. Bookings can be made at Proton dealerships with a RM1,000 deposit.

Described as “jointly-developed by Proton with Mitsubishi Motor Corporation of Japan under a new strategic alliance that is based on the global ideology and benefits of product sharing,” the Inspira comes with 1.8L and 2.0L MIVEC engines. A CVT gearbox is paired to both engines, but those who like the good old manual ‘box will be happy to hear that a five-speed stick shift is available with the 1.8. It’s a rare commodity these days, a C-segment car with a manual box.

“The enormous level of interest shown since we first announced the introduction of the new model is certainly a big sign of approval from car buyers. Proton would like to thank all those who have placed a booking for the Inspira and believe me, they will not be disappointed with the new generation of Proton cars coming their way,” said Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

“The new strategic relationship with Mitsubishi is based on the fundamentals of knowledge exchange, and one that brings Proton to a new and higher level in which we can benefit from technologically in our pursuit of evolving into a global car manufacturer. It is a win-win partnership, one that is in the true spirit of product sharing to enhance the business of both companies going forward in our respective markets,” he added.

We have driven the Inspira already! Find out what Paul Tan thinks about Proton’s latest here. Click here to see images and a video from the October 14 soft launch.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hi Paul, how about the NVH for Proton Inspira compare to Ford Fiesta?

• zimba on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Noise Vibration Harshness? Proton Inspira wont be bad.. Paul tan already drove it and didnt find any problem on it..
      ots..Inspira’s sales is amazing! like what neonda(below) says: 110cars/day.. wa~ easily more then the Proton’s expecting target~! Go Nation.. Support National Brand~!

• ibl9955 on Oct 27, 2010 at 6:21 am

sory to say…. we r support mitsubishi brand now ….. than we all tampal mitsubishi logo back to the old days…

• if proton was really genuine in wanting to help the rakyat & thank them, just sell the evora to the rakyat for the price of inspira lah………. huhu

• neonda on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:13 pm

wah..average 110cars/days booked.

• angin kelantan on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:21 pm

VERY BAD SIGN FOR A NEW MODEL !!! Look at the figure in August !!!

10 days 1100 unit; meaning that 1 month (30 days) only 3300 unit. Just slightly better than Alza which has been launched for so long !!!

Top 10 national vehicles in August

1. Perodua Myvi 7,433
      2. Perodua Viva 6,533
      3. Proton Saga 5,924
      4. Proton Persona 4,461
      5. Perodua Alza 3,210

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:03 pm

well, if u compare the price, 1 inspira can get u 2 Myvi… and if less than 1000 mercedes sold in a month, that’s mean myvi is a better car than mercedes? be rational la bro!
        they only aiming to sell 1700 unit of inspira permonth. nuff said.

• saleasmen banyak untung!!!

• kiddd on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:55 pm

For 1,100 peoples who already book for Inspira, please don’t ruin somebody dream car…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8tSSJq_O_Q

heheheh…

• lancer is lancer
        inspira is enhanced lancer
        even hitler would have admired it
        more than german marque like bmw and merc, lol

• maybe its 100x dealers with each booking 11x cars = 1100x cars booked
      hooray :-)

• Alifz on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Yeah..Proton should take this opportunity to improvise the Campro engine, and also better built for Campro replacement engine..

• Turbo on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Good sign

• revolver on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:22 pm

shit… they do it like they 100% produced this things.

• Chill man..they never claim inspira 100% their product..in fact, the whole world know this is a rebadge mitsubishi lancer :)

• unbalancer on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

aiya my friend…u know marketing or not…..u buy somebody car then rebadged it with a lot of money…of course l u want to promote it like it is the best car in the world…..business is business la…………sigh..only smart guys get it….

• nope…it’s widely known that this is the rebadged lancer…no secret there…and Proton has admitted this again and again…

• Neutral on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:50 pm

haha not ashamed of it, PROTON BOLEH but in BOLEH LAND only loh!!!!!!!!!!!!

• anjez on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:24 pm

why proton have to hide the car and reveal to the rakyat?
    show in full you damb ass malaysian crap cars.
    over priced piece of shit.

• Sukun on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:38 pm

if u said that proton inspira is an overpriced car.. think again about Myvi :)

• !!!??? on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

It is sort of like a teaser. It’ll work if it’s a brand new design or if there aren’t any Lancer on the road. So this one, FAIL big time. Only kampung boys would pay much attention to this. Hell, maybe even kampung boys already knew. I agree with you, it’s a completely overprice piece of junk! When you overprice something similar and then come up with your own at a lower price, a lot of people naturally get con into believing it’s actually cheap.

• nobody’s forcing you to buy it, so stop complaining about its price and how they do business. there are just as many over-priced piece of crap cars on the market, they’re just not proton, that’s why you don’t notice.

• aiyaa…it’s not like they force you to book & buy now….
      You wanna wait u wait la…You dont wanna wait you simply dont….
      if this car is crap, why would you even bother to ask them to show to you….?

In Malaysia , everything is over-priced and by “ALL” i mean it includes T & H….haha

• Mesut Ozil on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:28 pm

what’s ur problem, bro????

• Vincent on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Bro, marketing strategy lar…

They have make some rebaadge on the real, so want to make people anticiple mar…

Don’t simple shot proton lar…

Good thing we should say good, bad thing shall say bad…we are the boss of proton, cause KWSP do hold major share mar…

• its price is equivalent to its engine power
      cannot lesser much than that
      proton is still a company which runs business
      and business needs profit

• rosdi on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:28 pm

1,100 smart guys…

• hahaha on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:09 pm

“Smart guys get Inspira,
      Smarter guys get Lancer”

:D

• farhitech on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:33 pm

then another smarter guys buy inspira n put the mitsu badge . they got cheaper version of lancer ..

• Ongwc5 on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:00 pm

smart guys get the 1st batch! :-)

• engdau on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm

A good begining for Proton. Welcome re-badge…. consumers feel more confident to buy. Coz no difference for owning Lancer GT and Inspira 2.0 CVT.

• Tiadaid on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Anybody wanting the car soon would have to wait in line!

• champion on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:40 pm

GOOD JOB PROTON ! Proton is already ready to compete globally. It’s time to open the trade barrier for cars in this country !!!

• Hanif on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Proton & Perdoua are just excuses by Govt to rakyat’s money…

Who dun wan Billions in income of easy money (duty/tax)?…

So hard to understand meh?

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:31 pm

i always found this kind of comments everywhere… only malaysians assume their own country is the only country in this world to put this kind of barriers. try study japan & korea market.

• amoschen on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Barriers to protect local products is not wrong; and sometimes necessary. The market in Japan, Korea is totally different from Malaysia !!!! the work ethics, economy etc is a world apart lah…… for Japanese quality car; would u mind not buying imported cars in Japan??? please think and use common sense! Proton and a Japanese car brand are totally different animals in terms of quality and work ethic.

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:07 pm

and i always find this kind of ‘double standard’ comments everywhere too.
          korea banned import cars for almost 30 years.. and you think that’s ok..
          malaysia didn’t ban, but put 145% tax, u guys bising like the world gonna end.

• guest on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:16 pm

oh please, and let reality sinks in.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:11 pm

then we can buy a reasonable priced car that is not a proton! yipee!

• BuyOrignial on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm

In this country, the official is against pirated CD, pirated handbag, pirated watches…pirated ..etc but we allow to sell pirated car.

• ohh please please please plaeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaassssssseeeeee
          say that to aston martin, perodua, citroen, daewoo, volkswagen,etc too
          why?
          because they rebadge cars too

• amoschen on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:41 pm

rebadging is not wrong; yes its done by other carmakers, BUT please remember the whole car industry in Malaysia is not a free market; Proton is a failed business kept alive with rakyats money !!! When will you malaysians every learn ? every car is overpriced here in MY … all because of protecting Proton and making political cronies rich….

• hero86 on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:34 pm

i don know about u but do u know what is pirates mean? taking something that is not belong to you… cmne la leh lepas kandang neh.. SPM dpt brape dok?

• yob perak on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:19 pm

bird, pirate is not suitable word for this matter
          they do partnership with mitsubishi
          mitsubishi allowed to rebadge their car for some restrictions and conditions
          infact mmc needs the ezora for the trade
          n infact proton improve the lancer better..
          they dont simply rebadge the car 100%
          this is the perfect start for proton to improve their engine and the interior
          be honest and relevant
          you need to admit when there is a good thing
          dont let the stigma of proton from the past
          proton has improved
          i’m glad to hear this news
          and i will booked ONE! :-)

• yob perak on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:23 pm

sorry the comment above is for “BuyOrignial” not for “dickybird”

• Neutral on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm

agree, open up the market now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let see how well the local car players compete

• anjez on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Mr champion….
      are you nuts? how the F you think proton can compete globally?
      the produce crap cars from 1985,because of dr.M you and I are forced to buy quality cars at very expensive price.

• proton cars are much much better now
        at least its has been well known of its superior ride and handling
        go and test one
        it’s much different than sampan handling saga ’85
        it’s now year 2010 , not 1985

• double_t on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:00 am

Proton copy other manufacturer car, and said Proton ready to compete globally??

• hopefully with this other syok sendiri proton owners can own this and stop converting wira. saga gen2 look like a lancer.

• aroma on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Original Lancer owners are shivering now !! They ought to do something to stop this from becoming a reality !

• when you buy adidas you know you’re buying quality. People will not “shiver” when asadi comes up with something similar.

• bangku on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:40 pm

You better say that to T & H dealer.

• Consumer on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Y do Lancer owners need to shiver?
      Face facts and take it like a man !

• amoschen on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Proton and Mitsubishi management are 2 different animals; while the physical car may be the same in design; its the QA proces, service quality, that matters…when you buy a car its not just seeing it ” good” in the showroom or driving it on day one …!!! in this respect, Lancer owners need not fret … however there may be some impact on the resale value of Lancer.

• it’s already a reality. why should they shiver? why should this be a threat to lancer? just because they look the same and someone can buy an inspira and modify the bumpers?

mitsubishi wouldn’t have allowed it if it was bad for their business. you ingat bodoh sgt ke mitsubishi to make a move that will make them sell less cars?

• Basher on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:00 pm

You better say that to T & H dealer.

• Auto_crat on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:00 am

Stopping what…it’s already a reality.

• alldisc on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:45 am

its too late. the best they can do is… join the crowd.

• fadzil on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:44 pm

good sign with a bad feel of the lancer owners..huhu

• sukasuki on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm

wahla weyy, already over 1000 booking? sure dis one gonna rock d road aftr dis. well proton, extend d promotion until CNY season. sure a lot will go for it aftr dis! XD

• HirumaKecil on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

wow3…. See.. Mesti ada orang beli punya… dun wori Proton….

• HirumaKecil on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Yattaaaaaaa………………

• Spongebob on Oct 26, 2010 at 12:55 pm

but why must Proton sell so expensive, dosen make any diffrecne btw the original lencer GT . jz Rm20k diff for a national car…cant they make it cheaper and think for the nation then all the ppl will support our national car.

• Why should they sell cheaper when they can sell for more? Maybe they have royalty fees to pay – profit sharing with mitsu big brother

• wochomi on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm

That’s is SO TRUE.. “why sell cheaper when u can sell for more”… base on that concept alone, we will never ever get cheaper cars even though our govt abolishes all the taxes on cars. Simply because seller wants to make more and want to control the 2nd hand value market.

There u have it, what goes up must come down isn’t true.

• _xXx_ on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:29 pm

CBU to CKD minus 20k is OK but not CBU to locally produced!

• Sukun on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:42 pm

think again . doest it expensive? drop the price from 124k to 95k with enhancement of Lotus handling? hehe

just my 2 cent

• “The local vendor ecosystem is also supported as Proton will start off with 40% local content shortly after launch, with the aims to increase it to about 65% within a year.”

http://paultan.org/2010/10/13/proton-p3-90a-based-on-mitsubishi-lancer-preview-drive/

When 60% of the parts are sourced from Japan (possibly expensive parts like engine, gearbox, fuel injection etc.), how can they sell it cheaper? ;)

• Consumer on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Proton is still a company… Companies still need to make a profit..

• learner on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:08 pm

well i guess, that is the price of mitsu CKD without import taxes.

• savvy88 on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:22 pm

this is what we called market positioning and segmentation.. This Proton Inspira is not targeted to all citizens in Malaysia.. there r many segment based on income, status, demographic etc.. as for the lower income segment, Proton already have Saga, middle income got Persona and this Inspira for higher income segment.

The higher the income segment, price elasticity will become less and less. People who think they can afford to own higher spec car will go for it, same story goes to lower incomers..jz like ukur baju di badan sendiri. So this is all about business.. about money.. TQ – UKM marketing student.. cheers ;-)

• rafieldo on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:25 pm

For inelastic kind of demad, they will just sell it at higher price, and the demand will not decrease substantially…
        But wait, what if they sell it cheaper, let say around 60k, then it will affect the sales of Persona, which is their core business… Then persona will be just inferior…

• boyxinan on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:05 am

Then you have the read a lot about idealisme, capitalisme, communisme, socialsme, fasisme.. u are more a like ‘surviving the fittest’ like the idea of charles darwin followed by karl marx if u want to share your idea about ‘ukur baju di badan sendiri’.. what you learn in marketing is only to take people advantage from income, status, demographic etc, learn the history of other country like cambodia when pol pot gathering 6 milion town people to work at village and die..

• go and work harder
          that way you can learn more about to appreciate other hard works
          and how to make people respect you

• savvy88 on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:32 pm

My statement is based on theory of capitalism.. that’s the reality in this world nowadays especially Malaysia. That’s the basic in business world..marketing world..

If U still feel that the price is higher, go blame to Gomen la.. they r the one who charge the high tax rate to ALL product sold in Malaysia including Proton cars. And for those who don’t want (or not afford) to buy certain car, juz don’t buy it. U have the right to choose, rite?

• bonceng on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:44 am

U think like that because u are the student the had been brain wash by “prof” that to own a national car RM95K above is ok for average Malaysian. Let abolished the tax and we see if price at same level with other manufacturer, I think u also didn’t buy ‘national car’.1 second with Spongebob comm..

• y u so mad at us? ur ideology is a must be to all citizen is it?

• please go to japan and korea
          and you can find the similar protection is applied too
          enjoy, lol

• amoschen on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Japan and korea, true they have car import protection; but compare lah their quality of cars to proton!!!! Proton is a failed business….its hanging on because of rakyat money being pumped in to keep it alive and pay the fat salaries of the management; and keep the cronie car part suppliers rich …
            If proton car quality is better than Japanese import, i am sure no one would object against the import protection …

• RM20K is a LOT of difference… think of the interest, etc..

• Proton also have to pay tax….plus, royalty and other things to pay back MItsu….
      If no difference like you say, people can always buy Lancer from Mitsu la….

• Sway Cars on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm

THE 20K diff is the amount you have to spend to fix the unforeseen problems with inspira..in the near future.

• they still hav to pay excise tax with 50% discount

• 1100 bookings x rm1000..its already rm1.1 million for proton..nice!

• losantara on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Stupid fella you think Proton only make RM 1000 per car ?

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:35 pm

1100 x RM80,000 (cheapest).. means it’s already RM8.8million laa

• what is waiting queue now? How many production for month? All this 1100 can get before end of year (entitled 2 year free maintenance)?

quality?

• Yeah right, RM1.1 Million gross profit. Have you consider to minus the losses they’ve made for the past 25 years?

• alldisc on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:46 am

put in FD… imagine how much proton is earning as side income.

• deli27 on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm

1.8 car, the chepest….quality?we’ll see.yet.

• Chris on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Ya ya… I’ll wait till it’s in the showroom nearest to me then I’ll definitely to pop over for a test drive…

Will only comment after see it with own eyes, else cakap kosong saja…

• Leahlena85 on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:34 am

go for ford fiesta better…reference frm Jeremy C.

• azlan on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:01 pm

:) nice proton

• azrai on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Then ask Bung Mukhtar lor..

• lancer_admirer on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Jointly developed? Like Bung Mokhtar said, its a rebadge…Proton took the Lancer and put in their own bumpers…what was jointly developed?…the screws that fixed Proton bumpers to Mitsu chasis? Haha

New generation of Proton cars? I thought this was a place holder until Proton can come out with their own creations?…Looks like rebadging is going to continue…wonder what brand/model next?

Enhance the business of both companies going forward in our respective markets?…Lancer is still sold in Malaysia along with the Inspira…

• might wait lancer price go down.. then we can get better price for both!

• huiyoo on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm

can be called jointly developed cos this mitsu has lotus dna in it. sure got better handling than previous mitsu. proton grill+mitsu+lotus dna= jointly developed (but only grill from proton???)

• ayamxxx on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:34 pm

it’s not purely tuned by lotus, only proton engineer who has experience/ has work with lotus.

Over-hype Proton will always said it is tuned by Lotus.

• can’t help but LOTUS tuned Proton is absolutely SUPERB!

• boyxinan on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm

what the heck is this? tuned by lotus? proton engineer work with lotus? at last all proton engineer run away to other company.. i want to proud but at last I got fraud by p1..

• lotus tuned proton is undeniably superb!!!

• Tiadaid on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Hey, don’t knock the bumpers. Its design helped alleviate some of the overheating problem on the original Lancer’s CVT gearbox. Plus the suspension’s been tuned by Proton to make it a more capable car. It’s not simple rebadging exercise.

As for the new generation, why do you automatically infer that more models are going to be rebadged? The new generation that DSZ’s referring to is the Persona Replacement that’s designed by Giugiaro & the EMAS car. Forgot about those?

• waklu on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:03 pm

what bung mokhtar knows about automotive business?he only know how to tackle artist!
      u r wrong, P1 doesnt like p2 that only replace bumper..but they also tune the suspension. why p1 can’t change much..because mitsu didnt allow them..but what happen to p2?only change bumper hand head lamp!

• Their CEO is from P2 which is doing collaboration work with Toyota from day 1.

^ ^

learn from lotus la, buy everything except chassis, and develop chassis only and tuning. But this is msia, so we need to discount something, so we’ll rebadge, and do tuning only, hahahahahhahahaha

• kerelbort on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:09 pm

keep on admiring lancer.. coz the inspira is develop based on lancer and putting in the Proton DNA (both good and bad) with extra feature.
      even mitsu does not have a problem with Proton selling inspira which help them boost their sales over(in term of parts and engine and such) here competing with rival such as civic or altis.. so why should we?

plus side for lancer owner, they could get cheaper spare parts from Proton as the engine is the same, the price of part would be lower too.. unless they so very attach to the car and still wanting the mitsu badge on the spare parts box from the same company supplying parts to Proton…

• Eyesore on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:10 pm

U think rebadge activity is that simple huh? Even if only new bumpers changed.. those bumpers still need development (design & tested) to meet certain requirement… not just inject n install like those AhBeng’s bumpers n skirting.. the interior styling also a lil bit changed… those developments were done by Proton n mitsu… hence the ‘joint development.’ i believe the new generation of proton mentioned refer to an all new model currently being developed (codename: Persona R)… and it is not a rebadge car… plus a few new models already understudy namely EMAS etc…

• unbalancer on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:18 pm

after all the posting/disscussion in PaulTan blog u guys still cant get it………well what to do….it is true then ‘only smart guys get it’……

• Pls lah, Don’t quote Bung Mokhtar. He is a politician who is looking for publicity as the UMNO general assembly was near then. You should not put your postion that low.

Pls read proton business plan as explained by Paul earlier, I know that Bung Mokhtar did not as he is to busy with new wife.

• blo0d on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:45 pm

lol. u didnt read do u? didnt paul said back then that proton changes the suspension set up with lotus to give it more handling? and didnt proton redesign the air flow beneath the car to stop CVT overheating problem in current lancers? LOL. plz read b4 u post.

• blo0d on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:49 pm

furthermore, did bung mokhtar do R&D inside proton? all he know is marrying much2 younger girls. haha~ like all people said : easier talk than done.

• Jointly developed may be a bit strongly worded, but it wasn’t a complete 100% rebadge either. Proton engineers did some work on the air flow for example, if I am not mistaken.

Rebadging here is because this is not the part of the core models. R&D will be focused there. This exercise allows Proton to compete in a segment where they do not have a core model.

Mitubishi did not give away the car for free to Proton. Obviously there is some agreement between the two companies, and Mitsubishi gets something from Proton out of this deal.

• so what?
      so long it’s value for money, i dont mind

rebadge or no rebadge i dont care
      it is still a car, is it not?

• *facepalm* this is not rebadged la.. don’t you get the concept?

• Please read other posts by Paul on this rebadge thing. It’s not as simple as swap logo only la bro….

Lancer still sold along with Inspira…? Of course but Lancer Sportsback la…..

One more thing, It’s not like Lancer car will turn into Proton after Inspira comes out. A Mitsu is still a Mitsu. It’s not like Lancer owner will sell their Lancer as Inspira….Agree…?

• altimate on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Rebadge means rebadge lah.. so what ? are they doing something that no other car manufacturers are doing ?
      Although everyone expects to see Proton as a national pride, should be building cars from scratch bla bla etc. BUT dont forget they are also running a business. They need to be maximising profit for the sake of the stakeholders, especially now where the competitions are way greater in the automotive industry.

No, Im not working for Proton and I wont even buy one, but the point is rebadging makes business sense and its not a sin!

• lancer_admirer on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Rebadge or not is not my issue…read it again…my question is what part of the Inspira is jointly developed with Mitsu? I am just interested…

if Proton wants to be a car manufacturer, bumper manufacturer or a car assembler…I think that’s great…I am happy for them…

But first Proton explains the Inspira is a place holder….then Proton says its the beginning of a new generation of cars…

I am just trying to understand…

• Salamander on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Do you want us to keep on spoon feeding you on this matter? Please read the archive here. To sum up the story both mitsu and proton do a platform sharing where they exchange their model to be marketed elsewhere. Both company got new model, both save cost on RND to complement their non core segment.

• bluetravler on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:18 am

ah… Salamander, I’m sorry, I travel abroad a lot due to work, so missing some news posted here, but COULD you tell or show me which cars being sold by mitsu, is build or develop by Proton, for that’s what you’r saying right?! As far as I know, and I might be really mighty wrong here, the only car Proton developed being rebadge n’ sold was the ones in China, name was something about “star”or “success”…. in chinese. (Thai, Indo, Arad are not rebabge)
            So please humbly enlighten me and all bros/sis here if we’r mistaken. For what I have gripe about is the following :-
            { Described as “jointly-developed by Proton with Mitsubishi Motor Corporation of Japan under a new strategic alliance that is based on the global ideology and benefits of product sharing,” }
            Because as allllll car loving freaks and gouls here in asia,(hallowen time ma! (^_^) ), anything just partly related to an EVO legend is a god-loving-cherish item must know. And this current Lancer has being around the block for um years already way before Proton …er….. mention the above statement.
            SO unless other wise proven, I believe that the otherlings here have the rights to howl as a werewolf, especially this month. Pray that they don’t sniff you and all others mind controlled victims of Count Suck-Our-Wallet-Dry. Thank you for taking your precious time to read this mad dog raving. Now go and enjoy your Hallowen party weekend. (Or just put a MJ thriller song on)

• lancer_admirer on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:54 am

bro…there is a difference between joint development and joint venture…take for example the Fiesta and the Mazda 2…they share a common platform but each marque came up with totally different designs…how is the Inspira different from the Lancer?…other than the bumper which someone suggested…

if you talk about a joint development…I expect to see more than what a mod shop does…

• Hayden on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:30 pm

you got schooled! xD

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:16 pm

it is business, national pride does not come into lah. only deluded ppl would take pride in proton which they dont even shares in. they dont owe you a damn thing.

• Supporter on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:45 am

Yup, its totally business… I don’t see we as ‘rakyat’ have any benefit in what Proton is offering, except from the fact that we got to see a new car in town and its a Malaysian car with all-round Japanese Technology, and not that cheap…

I heard some guys telling us that KWSP is one of the major stakeholder in Proton… If not mistaken, our KWSP profit return each year is still 5%, which means that even if Proton make it big, we are not going to get any benefit from them.

Come to think of it, the only benefit we’ve received is actually through the dealers where we receive vouchers, full tanks, year-end discounts and free-tints for each car we purchase…

On the other hand, people here keep bragging about Lotus Ride & Handling or Lotus DNA and something ‘yang sewaktu dengannye’… Just want to ask, do Proton ever said something about this Lotus thingy being on the Inspira during their promotional ads and launching??… I don’t think so… Highlite to me if they were…

Engineering wise, there’s a lot of things that constitute to the word Ride & Handling; Track-width, wheel base, wheel size, camber angle, pitch and bounce, spring stiffness, tyre stiffness, suspension stiffness, roll-angle and bla bla bla… Maybe an Automotive Students and Enthusiast might understand them… As I was telling, if all of the above are as the same as the Lancer, I don’t see any Lotus DNA in there… Just for the sake of knowledge, the basic thing to know whether the car has good handling, I mean awesome handling is to know that the car has big wheels and the car is designed with each wheel positioned at the very end of its corner; Example: BMW Mini Cooper S, Satria Neo, Rover, Lotus family, bla bla bla… and even Savvy…

Enlighten me for any wrongness and free to comment, its just my thought…

I own a Proton Iswara by the way…

• LOL supporter on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Do you love ur Iswara????

I love my yamaha 125..
            ^_^ kih3

• what so difficult about this
            go and test drive one and you will know
            cheers

• altimate…you nailed it. proton is using national pride to maximise profits for the sake of the stakeholders only. not the nation.

in order to maximuse profits for the nation, proton needs to close down. that is business sense.

It is obvious there is no way proton can survive in the motoring industry worldwide and that is a fact. no one outside malaysia would buy the persona, neo or whichever they want to call thier core products.

• “no one outside malaysia would buy the persona, neo or whichever they want to call thier core products.”

when is the last time you read news? please la go and read more,
          proton has marketed its product all around the world

• boyxinan on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:27 pm

then why not joint volkwagen before this? if proton take that oppurtunity (joint with volks) proton wil par with SEAT or SKODA.. the point is p1 ruin everything..

• eeeriz on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm

I think this has been talked/debated in the previous thread very extensively. I have to agree with Paul eventhough this may looked going backward, but due to economies of scale, market, etc etc (ps refer the previous thread), it may be a blessing in disguise for Proton to use this route. Besides Mitsu will not sell normal Lancer here anymore, they’d go for Lancer Sportback 2.4 and other models as well.

What remained to be seen is the quality of this car. Hope it won’t turn out like Waja previously..

PS/ I’m planning to get one too ….. hehe

• SeriuosSAM on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:57 pm

pity you… can only afford to admire lancer and don’t even have penny to buy proton car

• lancer_admirer on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:06 am

huh?…bro…if you are referring to me…i gotta tell u i am driving a lancer…and i admire the line especially the current lancers…that is why i don’t have a problem with the inspira…cos it’s really mainly a lancer at the core…altho as an ex-proton user…i expect faults will be seen later…due to the proton ‘improvements’…

the problem i have is with proton…i agree with those who say proton is just using our patriotic feelings to make money…and claiming mitsu’s product as their own…

and with proton’s evolving statements to suit criticisms…e.g. jointly developed car –> rebadge –> oem collaboration…or…place-holder –> new generation of cars…

• 4x4Fan on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Boss..ramai yg kurang stuju statement ko ni..Apa ble buat..Different people..Different perception…

• the juke on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:03 pm

dude, did u read paul’s previous story on the Inspira? proton didnt just change the bumpers, they tweak the suspension too & a few other things that makes this car handles & ride better than lancer.

• lancer_admirer on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:06 pm

And tweaking the suspension makes it a joint development? come on bro…if you bought a saga BLM, changed its tyres and stuck your own logo on it…is that a joint development between Proton and Juke?

hahaha…that means all the local mod shops are joint developers too…and deserve tax incentives and other protection…

• Mancini on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:14 pm

masih nak jadikan bung mokhtar sebagai contoh. APA KES MAMAT TU, KAWIN PUN TAK MINTAK IZIN ISTERI TUA??

• amoschen on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:02 pm

whats his personal life ( kawin #2 ) got to do with his comment on proton??
        His Anti Proton stand makes sense. He is calling a spade a spade.

• Prismo on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Mr. Lancer_admire… Proton does not just change the bumper… excuse me.. they have change the whole suspension system with LOTUS RIDE… u dont know eh?

• lancer_admirer on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:07 am

It’s okaylah Prismo…I am not trying to convince you…if you think replacing the bumper and installing an off-the-shelf suspension and getting it tuned makes it a joint development car…woohoo Proton…

I am trying to find out with the Inspira, how Proton can be considered anything other than just a glorified mod shop…and getting protection for doing it…Proton is NOT selling cars cheaper to the rakyat…they are causing all other choices to be more expensive in comparison…

Haha…as I said elsewhere…the Inspira is going to be a good car mainly because its still mostly a Lancer…peace

• bonceng on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

bro, u really cheer up my day…these supporter keep defend their proton and denying other facts or these guys just another proton cybertroop

• anaconda on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Nice to hear that…..i definitely will book one if not because of the Proton reputation on after sales service…..furthermore..the service charges is aint cheap compared to others.. addoooohhhh….

• lancer_admirer on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:14 pm

1100+ people are not buying the Inspira for the Proton bumper…its the Lancer engine and chasis…and because of the price…

And the only reason that Mitsu cannot sell the Lancer at the same price and achieve the same volume for themselves is…the tax structure…

Squash the the tax structure flat…and invite global car manufacturers to build their assembly plants in Malaysia and develop local part vendors to supply them…then we will get the benefits of jobs and tech exchange…and Malaysians can get the car of their choice at affordable prices…

• freeze on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Lancer EX is RM64K in langkawi

Isnpira 2.0 Can it be priced below RM64K in Langkawi? I doubt it. Roughly based on Perodua prices in langkawi, at lowest the Inspira 2.0 will be about RM70K in Langkawi.

If it really is above RM64K. I’ll have a hard time understanding why a locally assembled unit will cost more than a fully imported unit.

The conclusion then would be if you buy an Inspira, you’re actually paying more for an inferior product.

Watch and see. Lancer EX will be cheaper than Inspira 2.0 in Langkawi. So Langkawi drivers, quickly book a Lancer. As the price will appreciate soon.

• Aaron Isaac on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:39 pm

lets wait for 1st time users and what drama pops up in forums haha. Should be very entertaining. To those poor souls, get ready to be traumatized for 7~9 years. :p

I love the idea (Inspira), but ownership experience is another thing

• Independence on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:51 pm

1100 x RM 85k – close to RM 1 billion …. wow …

anyway … what will be the interest rate for this inspira? coz national car usually higher than foreign …

• Proton has no shame to do a rebadge; no pride as well !

• blackjkx on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Lets the market decide.
    Anyway, whats the std engine oil factory fill for this Inspira?

• No matter how ppl dislike it, Product is success with this business strategy!! Good job, Proton!!

Next project rebadging Lotus for next generation Gen2, I will the one be first to book it… not one, but minimum two or more units… wahhahaa….

Think about it… my car porch full of rebadged Lotus… syokkkk!! And every 5-8 years change another new rebadged (can afford due to cheaper mah)… man this is really syokkkkkkkkkkkk!!

Btw, Proton own Lotus, that still call rebadge??

• u don’t now how to count? with 90% loan, after bank interest 3.65% for 4 years? Or 4% for 9 years that’s a lot of money!!! Example, the price u buy a RM95k Inspira, 4% for 9 years = RM30780 “Bank Interest Only”. So, total cost for Inspira is RM95k + RM30780 = RM125780 for a National Car?

• it is his own money
        let him buy whatever he wants

• aiyaa…Financing of other cars also got interest charged. For the sake of fair comparison, maybe you can tell us the financing cost for Lancer as well. How much does it cost (principal + interest for 9 years also) to own a Lancer?

• wochomi on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Hey… why not just change the ‘Badge’ (emblem) on your cars? hahahaha….. probably cheaper if you glue it on yourself!

• savvy88 on Oct 27, 2010 at 6:56 am

next generation Gen2?? then it will be called Gen3..4..5…6…infinity..

• setsuna on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:13 pm

1st batch Inspira CBU..CBU?????? Holy shit…just only change bumper..all remains the standard..where are an ENGINEER in proton..eat n sleep ka..

• squawk on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm

First thing that came to mind – how do you ‘jointly develop’ a car that’s already been developed and sold in many countries?

• chidori on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:36 pm

i want one

• wicki on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:40 pm

mitsu engine used ok la,understandable…..but they got to copy lancer design,then tats too much d la…..dont tell me they cant even design a new look themselves 4 d car…..

• zack GTR on Oct 26, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Will see the quality… Is it same with Lancer ? If yes, its good for malaysian peoples to buy.

• yamseng on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:07 pm

next one p1 goin to replace perdana. they gonna get camry, put a teh tarik hook, and call it proton kamri.

• Unforgiven on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:10 pm

As we know, the original Lancer is only selling RM69k in Langkawi.
    So without Proton, the rakyat will be buying all the new/real/original instead of the rebadged stuff.

Please see the price list on the link below:
    http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/showroom-lancer-langkawi.php

The rakyat should be buying Toyota Passo, Kia Forte and Mitsu Lancer with the right price.

I’m sure even the Myvi is more expensive than the real car (Toyota Passo).
    The Naza Forte should be more expensive than the real Kia Forte too.

I really hope that the rakyat will enjoy the real/original thing one day!

• Unforgiven on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:06 pm

Please also check out the Langkawi price for Honda.
      http://www.honda.com.my/allprices/

By right, the rakyat should be buying Honda City for RM58k.

• Ya..and we all should be earning more, a lot more and houses should be affordable as well…our car prices are bloody high, that with a national car agenda, but the prices of cars with our neighbours, who have no national car agenda, is NOT cheaper either..i think, i blame the MIDDLE INCOME Trap we are in :-)….things are more complicated and not just Black and White

• by right u wrong langkawi is free tax area even thai pricier than langkawi by far pricier than lion city…

• Auto_crat on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:11 am

Why do you keep comparing Langkawi price and the mainland price… Your taxless price is a privilege of living in a ‘confine space’. By the way…do we drive fake cars here in mainland???

• BadBET on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:17 am

type R = 123k :p

• comrade1 on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm

yeah that’s the price malaysian should buy …. if take loan max repayment 3 years only with 10% p.a int. rate.. see how many people can afford then… everything must follow as those countries that dont tax new cars…

• Tiadaid on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Proton also taxed as well. We could get Persona for RM40K if it wasn’t for tax, same goes for Inspira, only RM50+K

• BeemerFreak on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:05 am

Why should Proton be taxed? It the pride of our nation, it shall be sold as cheapest possible to benefit us rakyat. The tax is supposed to help proton gain better market share, not make more profits. Remember 1Malaysia, Pencapaian Diutamakan, Rakyat Didahulukan.

• Tiadaid on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:29 am

Ask the govt. then. I’m perplexed myself. And it’s not a small amount, but 45%!

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:39 am

correct, correct…
        asyik nak compare dengan langkawi je… go stay in Langkawi la… lepas 6-7 tahun kereta habis berkarat woo…

• Unforgiven on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:46 am

I heard the Inspira 2.0 is more expensive than original Lancer 2.0 in Langkawi, because we need to take the real/original car and change the bumpers/suspensions, so the price increases.

So I do believe the cost price for Inspira 2.0 is more expensive than the mass production Lancer 2.0. At the end of the day, the poor rakyat is still paying much more for their beloved car.

I wonder if the additional money RM51k per car is going to the right place. RM120k-69k = RM51k.

• bonceng on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:35 am

heard that also, ploton just changed emblem,tweak suspension and even more 20% local part but the price still “cheap”(ploton supporter said)..wow man they really make huge profit.

• Unforgiven on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:29 pm

For Inspira 2.0 will be RM95k-69k= RM26k. The poor rakyat is paying additional RM26k to get the Inspira instead of the real/original Lancer. The poor rakyat memang didahulukan.

• tanpanama on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:03 pm

if you can afford it, dun buy la..ukur baju bdn sendiri la…..btw, even the price quite high as you said, proton already achieved 1100 booking…

• Pelandok on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:37 pm

“Proton also taxed as well. We could get Persona for RM40K if it wasn’t for tax, same goes for Inspira, only RM50+K”

OK kalau berani Proton jual lah harga nie campur 10 pct sales tax pun cukup lah, apa nak takut open market? Juara kampong kah? Kerajaan dah untung banyak dari sales tax nie market kita 500,000 bijik kereta setahun atau RM2-3billion (purata RM4K sebijik kereta tax)

Tapi brand lain pun sama jugak – harga Langkawi campur 10 pct sales tax.

Apacam Proton fight open market? Proton Boleh kan!

• ViosUser on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:43 pm

Tiadaid,

Do you actually know how is the import duty work in this country ? :)

• Tiadaid on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:35 am

Do you know how the excise duty & sales tax works in this country? Think Proton escape from paying excise duty is it? CKD & CBU cars pay import, excise duty & sales tax. Proton too have to pay excise duty & sales tax, even if it’s discounted. But still 45% of the value of the car.

• ViosUser on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:09 am

Stop bullshiting in front of me 45% excise duty. BODOH lah you…go read your Proton invoice properly b4 you talk !

• Tiadaid on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Bullshit? Read this?

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/nep/Article/index_html

Although the article’s talking about another thing, but it clearly highlights how much excise duty Proton needs to pay. Here’s an excerpt.

“Currently, the national car status allows the holder to enjoy a 50 per cent discount of local excise tax, which is a central levy on manufactured products and in this case, locally produced passenger cars including multi-purpose vehicles, sports utility vehicles and window vans.”
            and,
            “Companies will have to pay similar engine capacity-related excise tax rate of 65-75 per cent as the likes of non-national car distributors UMW Toyota Motor, Edaran Tan Chong Motor and Honda Malaysia”

If Proton is not given the 50% discount they’d have to pay 65%-70% excise tax. Half of 65% is how much? Plus I’ve added the sales tax of 10% as well so get the 45%. Every car, no matter if it’s local or foreign are subjected to excise duty.

I’m stupid? Hardly. You’re the stupid one, being proud of your Vios!

• BadBET on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:21 pm

The G should consider to reduce tax on local car, its good to have exora full spec at 50k.

• not stupid men on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:23 pm

there still more n more people comparing car price in langkawi,,,, how that stupid…. if u buy car in langkawi..the car hanya boleh bermaustatin kat langkawi tu jer laaaaaa…. kalau nak bermasutatin kat negeri lain kat semennjung malaysia .sabah sarawak……….kenelah bayar cukai jugak….. kang nama pulau tu pulau bebas cukai.. nak sgt drive kete import tu yg boleh harga murah…bermaustatin kat langkawi lah….alahai napelah org main ckp jer…tapi tak tahu mende ape yg dickpkan…

• i am getting one, first thing i will do will to rip the badge out and put the ori Lancer badge, then will do modification on the engine and will race with anybody.

• ori lancer = so and so handling
      proton lancer = LOTUS RNH
      why should change the badge?

• nakedmind on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

*The success and the fail rebaged car*

From P2
    Success
    1) Myvi
    2) Viva
    3) Alza
    4) Kenari/ kelisa
    5) Kancil
    6) Kembara

Failure
    1) Nautika
    2) Rusa

*From P1
    Success
    1) Wira/ Satria
    2) Saga/Iswara
    3) Inspira maybe….

Failure
    1) Juara
    2) Arena
    3) Tiara

• Abdul on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:27 pm

79-90K Inspira already 1K booking… why the CBU nautika also in the same range of price can’t sell? Even though P2 built quality and reliable better than P1? Everyone…..

• Abdul on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:28 pm

79-90K Inspira already 1K booking… why the CBU nautika also in the same range of price can’t sell well? Even though P2 built quality and reliable better than P1? Everyone…..

• junaidi on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:08 pm

“Even though P2 built quality and reliable better than P1”

can you show evidence to prove this?

• casey_c on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:35 pm

“Even though P2 built quality and reliable better than P1?

“can you show evidence to prove this?”

Errr… Cannot loh. P2 is slightly better than P1. SLIGHTLY only!!

• This is the market perception, PERODUA car must sell like hotcake, and Perodua NAUTICA simply show them this is not right. How many NAUTICA u saw so far? I THINK I saw twice since lauched, compare to 1100 bookings in 10 days. :)

• Salamandar on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:25 pm

He said it in a sarcastic way.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Evidence shows that most of the malaysian cars that catch fire due to accidents on the road are mostly protons. Go look around news papers and website photos.

• Tiadaid on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:30 am

What about warped brake discs on Myvi’s then?

• Alifz on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:30 am

Haha..you forget the recent Honda City crash at Perak was also caught on fire..and don’t forget mid-year BMW crash at Seremban was also caught fire..

• zimba on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:08 pm

i dun think so.. I think it’s perodua…I only remembered Myvi and Alza keep on burning..

• I dont get it…what does it mean actually? Fire is due to Proton or due to accident?

• Last week infront of TAMAN CONOUGHT, CHERAS, a HONDA CRV caught in fire after an accident, or because of FIRE, then accident,”?

• malik on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:43 am

prove ? go drive a waja or gen2 and driva a myvi… have u even tried other cars rather than proton? they are milo tins with a lion logo in front

• sagaCampro on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:07 am

because there is another option for nautica, Toyota Rush with the cheaper price but having 7 seaters compare to nautica 5 seaters

CBU is better compare tu CKD @ build in Bolehland Country…

• Rush is CBU? may b CBU from THAILAND or INDONESIA ar? NAUTICA suppose to b CBU from JAPAN, right?

• he’s being sarcastic la bro.. lolx

• rafieldo on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Nautica in the segment of 4 WD… Why don’t they sell Altis around that price under Perodua and sell them here… He he he, I will buy that instead of Inspira..

• P2 quality good? I don’t think so, my Alza front suspension got sound “Fixed” but rear bonnet or what, got sound still cannot be fix!!! few months old only!!!

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:18 pm

lots of people said it’s crazy to buy Proton at 90k price range..
      so i guess it’s muchhhhhhh crazier to buy Perodua cars at that range. gila!

• good job proton

• Let book the 1.8 manual version, I think is worth it.

• Sekarang ni boleh kata semua blog hangat dgn isu compare mengompare model insipa ni. sy rasa proton mmg pandai main harga.. sbb diaorg cuma tukar rim, tayar, spoiler dan strutbar dapat bagi harga bwh 100K, kalau pakai rim 18?, tayar yoko, spoiler lancer gt, dgn pasang strutbar dpn blakang mcm lancer maybe harga dah lebih RM100K. saya rasa proton memang bijak mangaburi mata org ramai. diorang tahu org malaysia ni akan convert, tukar nu, tukar ni, so diaorg bagi kete yang basic je. pandai2 la korang convert pasang evo bodykit, rim dan tukar logo. :-)

Tp inspira 2.0 xleh nak compare dgn civic 2.0 (pesaing hebat) sebab byak perbezaan antara kedua2 model ni, civic punyai byk kelebihan , cthnya dari segi tayar (michelin), rim 17?, teknologi stereng (Electric power stereng), teknologi engin i-vtec (jimat minyak), kualiti interior, digital multiplex meter yang menarik, adjustable side mirror, side airbag, vehicle stability assist (vsa), side mirror turn light, lampu HID, hydrophilic door mirror dan 4 reverse sensors. last skali body lebih ringan sbb buat dan pasang kat kilang T.M, Malaysia. + kualiti cat (setiap kos cat beza harganya). dah clear ditayangkan dalam berita TV3 :-)

kalau semua ni ada pada inspira, mahu harga dekat RM120-130K. tapi proton buat semua ni untuk rakyat malaysia. rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan. :) Tapi rakyat perlulah berfikir dari segi interest bank dan second value inspira nanti.. tepuk data masing2 k. itu cuma pandangan saya.

Tapi carefull guy better hold dulu, keta baru, xtahu lagi ape problem. Inspira tu mcm tikus ujian skrg, sbb tu diaorg bg free service dan part 2thn. diaorg xpernah buat pun pada model2 sebelum ni. coz diaorg pun xtau ape2 problem lagi. benda nak cepat launch, lagi pun warranty kereta diaorg mmg 2 thn / 50,000km. so xde beza pun, dlm tempoh warranty semua brg bleh tukar ganti. semua ni sekadar mengaburi mata je. Lagi pun ini salah satu promosi diaorg untuk model keluaran tahun 2010 je (dah hujung tahun, biasala promosi2 mcm ni, pengeluar lain pun ada buat gak) semua ni just cut & paste. that why kena book before 15 NOV ni coz kete akan dpt bulan Disember… ape2 pun terpulang pada smart guy coz yang nak beli korang bknnya saya. dont be “smart guy to get it”, be “carefull guy before get it.” better tunggu selepas 1-2 tahun, tgk dan kaji komen2 org yang dah guna, mesti ada luahan dalam internet punya.. kalau ok, masa tu baru la beli. think first!!

p/s: harap 1100 org smart guy yang booking tu boleh la bagi respone dalam blog ni nanti.. sy rasa performance dan handling mungkin ok, tp inspira body besar dan nampak berat, that why mivec torque dia lebih skit dari civic untuk bawak body pada permulaan tekan minyak. unless proton tukar kualiti besi body yang ringan skit.
    mcmana pula dgn keselesaan memandu (comfort), adakah lagi bunyi2 yang tidak sedap didengari sperti bunyi angin luar, enjin dan tayar??, dan yang paling penting how much fuel consumption.. we just wait n see.. :-)

• 4agze on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:34 pm

hahaha..ketawa aku baca pjg2 tp isi satu pun tarak…either you are current lancer gt owner, civic owner who are jealous with inspira value or blind proton basher…all talk without fact n just pure speculation…

• Basher on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Pandai betul dealer Honda buat cerita.

• Dealer proton lagi bijak, terus blame dealer honda..kejam2..

• aduss on Oct 27, 2010 at 6:34 pm

enjin mitsu datang pun dalam kotak lg inport dari taiwan.. so takkan la enjin nk rosak,, kalo rosak pun terang2 bukan salah proton… inspira tak sampai la rm100k lg start dari RM76,998.. so tambah rm24k macam2 leh taruh..boleh taruh tayar (michelin), rim 20?, , lampu HID, 4 reverse sensors? 6 sensor pun lah taruh siap taruh kat depan lg sensor 2..
        org macam hang la yg membutakan rakyat…( proton tukar kualiti besi body yang ringan skit ) ? eh bukan ker mitsu tak bg proton tukar2 part body? lg pun malaysia bukan pengeluar besi, besi yg digunakan tuk gen2 pun import dari jepun, masih org kata body lembik tah la… hang sja jer comment nk buruk2 kan proton so ko leh jual honda ko 2 kan? tp cari duit dengan burukkan org laik tak berkat tau…nak bandingkan pun tak yah la nk buruk2kan org lain.. + aku bukan org proton..

• alaa Bro, tiada kereta yg betol2 perfect la. baik pakai kereta malaysia atau jepun atau korea ataupun eropah…. cume yg pakai kereta mahal2 x komplen dlm forum sbb malu kot…. dan yg komplen kereta proton tu kadang2 x pakai proton pun

Just my 2cents opinion

• parkoer on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:02 pm

zack die-hard-fans honda… so brg2 yg dia pakai sume branded..mne ade buatan gombak..haha..

• suka keta on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:04 pm

apa la yg nk dibanggakan sangat dengan Honda tu. tgk asyik recall model je sbb ada defect. bayar 120k tp qualiti yg dpt xsama dgn quality honda kt jepun pon. usah la bangga sgt dgn honda tu.

• BadBET on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:21 am

Apa motif ko cerita panjang² ni? Kalo Inspira ada problem, nanti Proton re call ja macam Honda :p

• carsut on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:28 am

aku mcm penah bace je post ko ni.. copy paste dari mane2 ke?

• rosdi on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:41 am

Abang salesman Honda branch mana bang?

• Enjin ngan chassis MItsu punya, masa dia launch Lancer takde pulak ko bagi komen cam ni…

habis Honda bagi warranty berapa tahun bro? ke bulan jer….? yela…Honda kan reliable, takyah tukar apa2 sampai tak perlukan warranty period…tu maksud ko kan….

• tacos on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:36 pm

I’ll gonna get one of this..Hmm what colour ehh..

• 1100 and counting? Wow, I guess that is how many Lancer sold in its entire run in Malaysia.

• Izhar on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:40 pm

wait & see…..hope finishing quality were good….

• informer on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:48 pm

mitsu will rebadge Gen2 and Persona.

i juat cant wait to bash!

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:20 pm

if i’m not mistaken… persona and exora lah.

• guest on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm

i think proton should rebadge Mitsu (the company) instead.

• aduss on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:07 pm

aku rasa jer la, mits rebadge Persona yang baru (persona R).. jika guna persona lama ni, sama la maksud nyer dengan rebadge waja lama.. waja, Gen2, RCR and persona guna under body yg sama.. pesona R akan guna under body exzora, tah la.. aku bukan org proton…

• is a good sight for proton but is a bad sight for lancer :(
    now i dont see any special of lancer…previously when u see a lancer wif evo kits u will fall in love wif it but soon u will see it everywhere….

• elite on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:05 pm

“jointly developed”,..”strategic alliance”

pls la…how much proton paid mitsubishi for lancer design + assembly line set up consultation?

what happened to the news about mitsubishi going to rebadge persona and exora? is it only for saving face at that time?

• MalauPun Boleh on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:08 pm

500of the 1,100 already booked for Police force and radio car ler. Another 500 booked for senior personnels at govt offices. Balance who dreamt of owning a Lancer Evo but can’t afford it are making their dreams come true….

• acerman on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Wrong! The rests are who won’t spend much on cars.

• not stupid men on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:26 pm

macam tahu jer sape yg beli dari mana erk dapat sumber tu???

• betul2 aku dgr crite macam tu gak.. sbb lancer gt polis dah tak ambil dah. dah tak keluar dah. nampaknya polis la yg dapat model CBU dulu.. bijak2.

• selamat on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:27 pm

get the fact right dude…you kerja proton kaaa? ayaa…cakap kosong..1100 booked is excluded for police force maaa..for your information it is almost 3k at this time being EXCLUDED for police force bro..

• smart on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:19 pm

rupanya ramai juga rakyat malaysia yang teringin nak pakai lancer gt a.k.a inspira yea.. hehehe. Ramai yang tak sabar nak convert ni.. :-)

• minimini on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:26 pm

this is sad to see. good deal for rakyat. but for the big picture. this is rubbish. 20years in the market and u could not come up with something better.. might as well close down the whole r&d plant. I went to shah alam proton hq. wasting their time r&d lotus cars.. wasting grandfather money. now even smarter. come out with rebadge. by far the worst step by proton. yes u r making money, but u are not making any progress. shame on proton.

• NoBrainer on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Time to buy Proton shares? Make a good profit from it and buy an Evo 10? Wonder what is Proton’s share price now….

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:34 pm

2750 units until 10 November, that is RM2,750,000 already at official launching day. Good sign..good sign

• subhero on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:47 pm

nape nak marah2?..

TUN MAHATHIR sendiri cakap “dasar pandang ke TIMUR”

rilek le. kereta je. satu local satu original.

• Maserati on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Crap.Buy this car then suffer with Proton stupid ,lousy service centres.

Proton very pandai market their cars,once sold they dont give a rats AXX whether your car rosak or need service,its your problem.

SO be prepared to service at outside workshop

• itz useless... on Oct 26, 2010 at 4:56 pm

i will rather happy if proton can joint venture with a big player else itz useless…

• Inspira on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Paul !! R u one of 1100 ? Be honest to us… Please..

• subhero on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:41 pm

bro. if i paul. ill proceed with the orginal.. bukan tak support malaysia brand. tp mampu pakai ori, beli ori. abis citer.

• Auto_crat on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:35 am

If u can afford then proceed…nuff said

• aduss on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:44 pm

aper lak yg tak ori nyer?… semua ori la.. proton pasang and upgrade Handling.. but the handling not came direct from lotus…the person is train by lotus.. tp apee bezanyer kan.. mesti lebih kurang jer kan.. A+B=AB la kan tak kan jadi A+B= BC lak… kalau tiruan mitsu dah saman proton nyer… faham?

• isra` on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:22 pm

sound like frusted owner `real lancer`….hahah

• wait till your ‘ori’ lancer smoked kao kao by this inspira, lol

• hmm..Rm80k car with a 4.6% interest rate?

• nasurudin on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Those lancers owner not only lose so much of the value but also the badge and logos. Inspira owners will steal from them. Look at the Honda Fit from Singapore whenver they drive up to KL, the logos always goes missing

• Interesting!!!

• mirror mirror on Oct 26, 2010 at 5:34 pm

It is very reassuring to hear the MD says that Proton and Mitsu have formed a working relationship based on knowledge transfer.

I attended a talk given by Kenichi Ohmae who happened to be a top Japanese adviser to our former PM. When talking on the issue of technology transfer from Mitsu, he asked the audience a question – if you have invested so much effort and money to create your own technology, would you share it with someone who may one day be your competitor? He ended the section on tech transfer by saying that if you still can’t get it then you’ll have to steal it.

Of course I am not asking Proton to steal, just get more good engineers to decipher those coded info. One just have to be very aggressive when it comes to acquiring new technology. A good example is how the Koreans acquire their technology from the Japanese by flying the Japanese engineers to Korea over the weekends to work part time.

• pingpong on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:15 pm

We can c a lot of convertion to EVO X on d road in future…!!!

• fuck toyota on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:20 pm

this car have better spec and value for money if compared to Toyota dugong for the same price range. the 1st batch have more mitsu parts on it. so, 1st batch buyer won’t get disappointing for sure. just ignore the basher.some of them not even drive the lancer. maybe they drive that fucking dugong, but get mad with the inspira spec. but for sure this inspira won’t beat my C5 interm of ride comfort..hahahhaha…

• anytime inspira can beat c5, no problem at all

• perodua no quality on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:30 pm

have u drive C5 or other citroen before??i can say that their suspension system is the most camfortable since i have drive many cars before(*borrow from friends) eg: wira,waja,savvy,myvi,honda civic latest, old murano,old vios and citroen xara. i can say that citroen is the comfort one.proton comfort??? no…but waja cps is more comfort compared to old vios and have better handling…

• orgnaktau on Oct 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm

how about the inspira’s interior?? how’s this people booked inspira now without even see the interior of the car?

• kaiyo on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0GT Langkawi price:
    On-the-road Price With Insurance 71,800.00
    In fact, the original car Mitsu lancer is RM71800 sold without tax.
    Why proton sell expensive. the quality same or not.
    malaysian built should sale with cheaper price because dont have any tax require.
    Even honda civic2.0S price are RM82,980.00 for langkawi
    its about the same price with our new proton but.
    The question is Proton Inspira ‘power’ than mitsu lancer or honda civic????

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Ini harga Inspira termasuk tax la bro…

• BadBET on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:25 pm

people buy car for various reason; power, price, interior, brand etc, some people only look at papersheet power, more hp is better bla bla bla… we will know which is better when Inspira is on the road. but still, it is subjective for every single person to judge car by their own understanding… so time will tell wheater this is going to be ‘pisang goreng’ or ‘batu jalan’

• you see ah, no need to bash there, bash here…

after all, the new Inspira sells ma…

itu bashers ha, telan air liur je la…

• Salamandar on Oct 26, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Wow. I was predicting the booking is slow due to little knowledge we have regarding the car yet. I believe the figure will sky rocket when the official launch.

Many of us still hold our horses until the launch day to check the interior quality, to test drive the car, final pricing for mid segment model and all other details.

• walao on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:10 pm

1100 orders are “forced-booked” by the distributors is it, syabas proton!

• Neutral on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:37 pm

awal2 ok la.next 6 month maybe order tinggal 300-400/month.then forever CBU + some local (<30%).harap bagi diskaun on imported parts :) opss..sorry,my bad..

• mata katak on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:54 pm

wah…..1000+ booking oredi, even before the REAL and complete physical car is made and experienced by the public.

I hope the pisang panas is really good, if not…….the dissapointment will be even more.

• good for those syok sendiri proton owners that stick mitsu logos on their protons and converting their wira n saga n waja to look like this lancers

• Ori lancer owners will be driving with a stick stuck on their backs. Everytime have to explain that their car is Ori mitsu. Did not change the proton badge. So sien. Sad…

• does anyone bother to ask is their lancer is ‘ori’ or not?
        stupid

• Abdul on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm

up to them la nak syok sendiri.. they purchase the car with their money so they can do whatever they want to do with their money ok.

• Abdul on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:18 pm

looked what ppl did with myvi converted to passo or boon… or even put BMW wanna be grille on their myvi. Were they are syok sendiri ?… ada ku kisah.

• all same same ler…
        mr abdul.. u must be one that put mitsu logo on ur proton?
        hopefully u can afford a inspira…then buy the logo stick lo…

• adrianyap on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:09 pm

The inspira aeroback model looks beautiful too.

• transformer on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:25 pm

wished cash for clunkers will be back soon……. but plz make it open for foreign makes too! P1 & P2 already had enough profit from previous Rm5K rebate, so it time to open up for foreign makes…

• ayamxxx on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:38 pm

the one who laugh with this news, surely be Mitsubishi.

They design this car 5-6 year ago, now still considered a brand new car in our country.

Suddenly Durian Runtuh to them.

• Neutral on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:18 pm

new lancer already around the corner !!!!!!!!!!

• Salamander on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Later when Mitsubishi market Exora, Proton will start laughing at them back.

• peYno on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:02 am

dont cheat ppl. this is ninth generation of lancer and start produced in 2007 until present

• bobdbilder on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:10 am

Yeah, Toyota’s not laughing becoz of the multiple Vios models they keep pushing down our throat. They are not laughing at the fact that punters keep buying it even though they make it ugly.

Neither is Pug-Citroen laughing at shoving rehashed 206ses with a butt…

Or Kia selling the Schreyer skin more than what’s worth inside…

Or Daihatsu for successfully selling women cars to us (Gawd Japs must think we’re gays)…

Or Ford for selling us auto double clutches…again…

By no means are we the joke of the whole world for swallowing slick branding exercises.

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:35 am

baru 3 tahun daa… still within the ‘life cycle’ of ongoing model. it’s not like previous saga and wira case where we get few generation back of the current model at that time.

• A lot of bookings…good but not a surprise, well people are willing to pay a lot for good tech and quality,and in this case it’s Mitsubishi not Proton’s technology…Lotus handling? Why no Proton handling if it belongs to Proton? If Lotus belongs to Proton why couldn’t they built a bigger engine,they have the tech don’t they?,well Proton will surely make Profits from this model…if the car is good people will “Sure la..Mitsubishi…Japan technology maa..”…if something goes wrong with the car “Sure laa Proton maa..local”…

• blo0d on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:22 pm

aiyoo broooo.. y no proton handling ka? if u said proton to the world they know ke? well if u said LOTUS handling of course they know. zzz. since when lotus build engine? as far as i know lotus tweaked toyota engine and do range extender for hybrid. lol. u didn’t know anything about lotus do u?

• Shaycoat on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:03 pm

LOTUS brand is one of established brand in handling. That is why we put Lotus handling badge. In addition LOTUS does not develop their own engine. i.e. EVORA uses Toyota engine

• farghmee on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:23 pm

marketing la bro.

lotus’ name seems to be more attractive.

attractive to those whose brain have been “brainwashed” that omputih’s stuffs are superior..haha

• ‘Proton handling’ name would make ppl go “i dunno hows Proton’s handling lol, nvm”.

so they used Lotus’s name, coz everyone knows how good Lotus’s handling is.

like the guy said above, it’s marketing. (but they do have good handling, right?)

• rafieldo on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:27 pm

All the problem previously related to local item such power window, door handle, etc.. Japanese part?, hardly seen any problem…

• khaix19a on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:22 am

dare to be different

• bosan on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:07 am

tak abis2 gadoh pasal inspira ni.. better we discuss bout the interest….. MBB give 3.65% for 9 years.. ade sape2 yg tau bank lain yg boleh bagi even lower than that???

• Saga campro on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:45 am

Because nautica is cbu from japan..not build in rawang..but people prefer to choose rush 7 seaters compare to nautica 7 seaters

• Saga campro on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:45 am

Because nautica is cbu from japan..not build in rawang..but people prefer to choose rush 7 seaters compare to nautica 5 seaters

• mr5zal on Oct 27, 2010 at 7:43 am

rosyam noor might want to buy it.haha

• shaif on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:06 am

Next year, my office will surely get this to replace the problematic ever after Waja. Hopefully this Inspira will be robust, reliable and can handle hundreds of user and some shitty road to JB.

• Independence on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:48 am

smart girls can’t buy?

• sagaCampro on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:10 am

Please Driven do comparison side by side betweenLancer and Inspira….which one is better…any big different with Lotus Handling?

• zimba on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:59 am

If both uses same rims size and tyre… I believe Inspira should be better then Lancer.. Ride Inspira already reviewed by Paultan stating that inspira is more comfortable.

• Same goes for the other assemblers who bring their so call new cars which already has been in the global market for many years.

• Outdoor Person on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:54 am

Someone ask me why not replace my waja wif this model..hmmff?? the questions is why shud I, Im happy wif my current waja

• aduss on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:56 pm

your waja just 3 star.. this have 5 star.. 1.8 @2.0 CVT… ok?

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Would u like to help him to pay the monthly installment then? If he happy with his ride, why must u not happy eh?

• rafieldo on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:23 pm

5 star ke, no side curtain airbag definitely…No VSC…. hmmmm, better go to forte with all this important stuff…
        CVT? For comfort yes, but safety? hmmmm hmmm hmmmm

• scgtimk1 on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:40 pm

You are traveling somewhere remote in Malaysia and suddenly someone accidentally knock your Forte side mirror and let see if you happy or not finding service center and waiting for parts

At least Proton service center is everywhere.

• rafieldo on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:12 pm

I just wish that proton should include all this important stuff vsc, curtain airbag, and price it as it is now…
            But not to let it failed miserably within 2 years… Then so, better not to equip then…

• There’s a high chance the Proton won’t even make it to that particular remote place where someone knocked the Forte’s side mirror!

• jolly_idiot on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:41 pm

You really so satisfied with your current waja? No power window problem? No door handle problem?

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:02 pm

If u ask me, my answer is.. no problem at all… All my power window still working properly.. Door handle? replacement just done at once at driver side.. are we as the current owner satisfied? of course I am in this 7 years of owning.. satisfied with my answer then? U can call me Proton salesman after this hehe :D

• rafieldo on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:25 am

Mine, power window no longer got problem, rear left power window stuck to wind down, so I just let it closed all round… But my 2001 waja still having the door handle problem, all 4 door, and minimum is once changed.. Unlucky, my rear left door handle just being changed 4 month ago for the 4th time!!!!!!!
        Inspira? Eventhough I had fully paid my waja, not going for it coz its PROTON!!! I doubt its reliability… For the moment, staying with my 9 years old waja, accumulating more wealth to buy new imported car, ha ha ha

• rafieldo on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:27 am

however, the engine section, 2 thumbs up, no problem at all, and it’s using the Mitsu engine as the Inspira, got no problem…. Except the loud sound of wind sound when travelling….

• Prismo on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:30 pm

rafieldo, wanna know how to make the door handle last longer? Here is the trick. Buy a WD-40 anti rust and spray it to all your Waja’s door lock mechanism. This is to prevent the rust and will make the mechanism clean from dust. Door handle broke bcoz lock mechanism is to tight due to rust and covered by dust.

2: Powerwindows. Go and buy “Armorall” leather and tyre wax. Spray it into windows glass rubber trim. Try it, it will smoothly winding down and up. Do it frequently and u will have the different results.

3: Powerwindows switch. U can service powerwindows switch by your own but u need a bit of skill to do this. Take off the switch from it place and try to dissemble it. Let’s try at the passenger side 1st. The switch malfunction bcoz of carbon. After u’ve dissemble it, clean up the all the carbon at the cooper inner switch and after that apply some grease on it. This will prevent the carbon created by cooper inner switch that sparked when hit each other. Try it, it easy DIY.

• Prismo on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:41 pm

After u’ve done step 3, ur malfunction powerwindows switch will working again and no need to buy a new one. U will save more than RM100 if u can do it by yourself. Sometimes the car had problem actually not by a poor built but due to human error.. A good built car will ever spoiled if we dont even know how to maintain it. Peace ya…

• rafieldo on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Thank u very much prismo for the good tip…. The power window switch has start giving problem when pressed… And I know how to take out the switch from the door, only to open the power window switch itself I’ve never tried… will try tomorrow
            One more thing, the volume button on steering wheel, when pressed to increase the volume, the channel turned up, as if pressing the volume actually pressing the channel… any idea how to service?

• garfield on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:08 am

Those who really want to own this Pseudo Lancer (aka WaLan aka Inspira) already put their booking lar…..

Those who can afford will soon put their booking coz maybe it’s a better buy then the rest being offered in the market. Toyota Vios and Honda City fans will bag to differ.

The rest of us (the ones Proton call not so smart) may just think a little bit more

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:44 am

love to see the salesman face when Lancer owner trade in their Lancer to get the Inspira…

• CherrySue on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:51 am

Does Inspira come with navigation package?

• jolly_idiot on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:11 am

Should we ask ourself, why pay more when we can get the same with lower price? Which car in the market today is problem free? Neither it’s Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda? All they have their problem which only Malaysian’s thinking that others is better than ours.

Face the fact of life, we’re living in a bolehland. Forget bout G banishing the taxes bla bla bla. The truth is we’re still going no where.

• bluetravler on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:56 am

Hey Guys and Gals you know what, after writing that comment to Salamander, my staff and I were just throwing ideals around when this come up.
    WHY don’t Proton just set up a division that just re-tune the car/engine and add add-ons or just “tweaking the suspension” as mention by others here, on all mitsu cars or any other car currently not avb here and rebagde them for sales. Just like barbous for mer, MTM for Audi and many others; Cosworth, McLaren, etc. I’m 100% (or 80%) sure that, that division will make money. To all and any proton workers here, please take this ideals to your another master, Igor, is the one I believe. As Count Suck-Our-Wallet-Dry is too mighty and busy, to attain to our, normal people, ideals.
    What do you Paul Tan blog citizens think? Can it work, do you want such cars. Assuming Proton does a good job on “tweaking the suspension”. Thanks Salamander.

• Shaycoat on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:05 pm

What the devision name should be? ….R3….hmmmmm…(they are good in bodykiting as you can see for Satria Lotus)

• Tiadaid on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Brabus (not Barbous), MTM & Cosworth etc are not divisions of car companies. They’re independent tuners.

But Proton does have the R3 division to tune its cars up. Plus Lotus Engineering does consult on other carmaker’s projects. The fabled Nissan GT-R’s suspension setup’s is a Lotus job.

• farghmee on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:20 pm

fuh..i need to read twice to understand ur comment.

proton got R3.

please correct me.

R3 is exclusive to proton, same as M Div. to BMW & AMG to Merc.

Brabus, Wald, Hamann is different story, aren’t they?

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 2:43 pm

they already have R3 department.
      such tweaks will also increase the price of the cars. R3 versions are more expensive than normal version. and remember special edition satria neo lotus racing? the price jump to RM115K!

• Maksud sebenar 3R = Repair, Reject and Rebadge.

• it’s Reduce, Reuse, Recycle lol :P

anyway i love R3. my dad always mod his car with their parts.

• lancer_admirer on Oct 27, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Agree with your idea bluetravler….a new division…maybe call it Protweak “Inspired to Mod”…but Proton may not enjoy its tax protections if it imports and tweak…can they still sell the cars at such discounts to other imports?

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:10 pm

please stop talking about tax would u? everywhere got tax la brader..

• lancer_admirer on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:06 pm

bro…do you pay taxes everywhere else? is all the taxes/duties for cars the same everywhere?…are all the cars priced the same everywhere else? no right? so lets stick to what affects us lah…

• Prismo on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Yup the tax is not the same everywhere but our tax is not the highest in the world and at India the car loan interest rate is up to 7%…. hmm…

• Freeman on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Paul, any idea how many Lancer sold in Bolehland since the announcement of Inspira? I am really curious!!

• why do pepople keep calling my country Bolehland?

• Abdul on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:02 pm

only in this forum ppl say Malaysia is bolehland. Dah jadi trend dlm paul blog.

• “Malaysia Boleh!”

lol. anyway, Bolehland name is awesome what..

• subhero , Pandang ke Timur?…..Let me see….
    The early Saga/Iswara- Timur
    Wira-Timur….Tiara-Barat…..Juara/ Arena.-Timur….Lotus-Barat……Waja-TimurBarat( 1.8’s is . renault engine…..Gen 2 Timur/Barat ( mitsu,gearbox..Lotus handling and Problematic local parts)…….Savvy-Barat(based on Renault)……….Neo- Timur-Barat(same like Gen2)……Saga/Exora-mix and match………Persona-(same as Gen2)…. Perdana-Timur………..Inspira- not sure what’s the meaning of Lotus dna? the conclusions is we have the best (or worst) of both worlds!!……Proton a global car manufacturer?…heard it many times but still still loose out to P2 locally…

• LikeProton on Oct 30, 2010 at 2:02 am

ya, P1 still loose out to P2, P2 sell all Japan Car. I want to see P2 develop their own design….

next P2 model…….don’t surprise, you can find at Japan know, booking know hahaha

• bluetravle,……..Thumbs up to you..I agree…Just like KFC”original or spicy”……The spicy ones is for local taste’….The original remains original….

• 30% of inspira will sure kena convert ni..hehehe, be it GT or Evo

• Unforgiven on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:41 pm

This is just for fun, conversation while Proton in MMC Japan.

P : MMC-san, we want to sell more Lancer in M’sia.
    MMC : P-san, how you wanna sell it?
    P : MMC-san, we can sell the Lancer in a more expensive price in M’sia, don’t you know? Trust me, we’ll get the volumes too.
    MMC : How?
    P : Just rebadged the car to P, you’ll earn more than you sell Lancer in M’sia.
    MMC : Wow, you M’sian are so stupxd for me to earn more money, let’s do it!
    P : MMC-san, it’s a win-win situation for me too, I’m still earning the money from the poor rakyat.

• learner on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm

doesn’t this sound more like P2 instead?

• Unavailable spare part... on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:35 pm

UMW toyota……..

• No no no, MMC san, you can supply me a 1.5 engine, and I change it to T or H logo, then I can sell it at RM 100k, and still have plentty of buyer, no need to give me 1.8 or 2.0 engine one.

• that sounds more like P2. you didn’t even mention about P1 sharing Exora and Persona’s platform with MMC-san.

“MMC-san”. damn that’s an awesome name.

• izack04 on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Pasni tunggu plak keta mitsubishi rebadge persona n exora…kita lihat mcmna rupanya plak……jeng jeng jeng

• Tauke on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:20 pm

I agreed with bluetravler said.

Proton should not only aim for mits lancer model, should rebardge all mits model and tweak it to have better performance. after this proton should target every brand of car which is good selling, tweak it and rebardge it. sell it cheap than them, sure got lots of people support. please expand your business to not only create our own national car but provide variety of choices to malaysian citizen.

Please go rebardge as many brand as possible. we support proton

• haidir on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0GT langkawi price = RM 71,800.00 (OTR w/ insurance)
    – aerokit, big spoiler, nice interior, bla bla… specs

Proton Inspira 2.0 CVT paddle shift Peninsular price = RM 95,000.00 (OTR – dont know)
    – cheap interior, clarion stereo, cheap head lamp, tailgate, couple of bumpers, bla bla… spec

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Move to langkawi then… Inspira RM95k is including tax…

• knoxx on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:48 pm

terima je lah hakikat, kalu murah pun kat langkawi bukan nya ko boleh bawak kereta tu kat semenanjung tanpa tax.. dalam tempoh terdekat.. nak buat komen pun biar bijak..

• lol you compared a ‘langkawi priced low-tax import car’ with a ‘usual peninsular freakin high-tax’ car. Proton also got taxed you know that?

the comparison is not fair.

imagine how cheap is an Inspira with Langkawi price.

• gen2lama on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:43 am

dont have money go buy other car la…..

hey….cheap interior, clarion stereo, cheap head lamp, tailgate…..100% local …original from proton – exora….75k! people still buy la…..1.8 inspira 80k jerrr….

• shut-up on Oct 27, 2010 at 6:00 pm

i’ve been informed that only the 1st phase (1000 unit??) will be delivered with proton grill rebatch as displayed. after that, Inspira will be re-introduced (2nd phase) with new headlamp, rear lamp, etc including interior. The engine n transmission could be remain as it is. Poor proton, seems that they wanted quick money by introducing the rebatch n grill replacement Lancer.. But, it could be a cheer for Lancer owner if the 1st phase production is limited to 1000 units.

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:37 pm

from what i read, 2nd phase is after 1 year, not after 1000 units. their target is 1700 units per month, that’s 20,400 units before 2nd phase :)
      if u want inspira with lancer look.. get it now.

• anand on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:50 pm

How sure are you dude

• Proton last user on Oct 27, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Dun buy Proton, dun buy proton, my age since young buying Wira, Iswara, and Waja till now, ever got no complaint of engine, suspension and interior sound proof and etc. I dun trust Proton product, by shaving 20k from Lancer GT and offer us 90% MItsubishi alike product, to those oled booked, listen to my advice,cancel booking and loving your current vehicle that bring u to anywhere and any place. Thanks god giving me so much chance to drive the Proton and finally i exit thier prison and decide to book my Evolution X from Naza. Fxxk proton, create so much copy cat of EVO x soldier to ctole my trully real EVO x pride. But, i pride with my engine performance, those 4B11 Inspira kaki sure suck my twin exhaust smoke. Ha ha ha ……!

• Unavailable spare part... on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:26 pm

their money let them decide which one to buy…haha

• don’t be surprised if a stock looking Inspira kicks ur ass on the road/track. its possible to put 4B11Ts with ori manual GB in it.

• Prismo on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:07 pm

“my age since young buying Wira, Iswara, and Waja till now, ever got no complaint of engine, suspension and interior sound proof and etc”

–A real bluffer… My waja do have a problem with the suspension.. but i’ve replaced the shock absorber with the other brand.. so far had no problem until now.. do u really own all the car that u’ve mention above in history?

“and finally i exit thier prison and decide to book my Evolution X from Naza. Fxxk proton, create so much copy cat of EVO x soldier to ctole my trully real EVO x pride. But, i pride with my engine performance, those 4B11 Inspira kaki sure suck my twin exhaust smoke. Ha ha ha ……!”

— When booking, u still not own the Evo X yet and u already said that Proton copies and create so much EVO X soldier and stole ur EVO X pride.. Your EVO X and Inspira still not on the road yet and u’ve come with a bold statement? Weird guy…err.. which P2 showroom that u currently working right now? hehe..:D

• y people jealous that mitsu give opportunity for proton to develope their car, again? y so sakit hati? y soooo busuk hati??? because they think it should not given to proton? because they cant buy lancer or any other japan/korean car cheeaaap???

• CopyCat on Oct 27, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Finally, 1100 owners will get original Proton design bumper. others tech & looks from Mitsubishi and handling tuned by Lotus. verdict? high quality in copycat. I’m proud of proton

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

Nop!! you wrong. Nothing can compare with original one. you knew it.. fake is fake.even you’ve converted to EvoX 100% but deep in you heart said “fake..fake”I’m cheating!!!!

• CopyCat on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:15 pm

well said…25 years of pride, passion, progress to be original copycat

• Tauke on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:19 pm

please bear in mind, this type of thinking is your personal problem, doesn’t relate to anyone…… pity u..

• wait till modified ‘fake’ lancer smokes evo X like a peanut, lol

• SY0H says: Maksud sebenar 3R = Repair, Reject and Rebadge………………..

PART 2….Rosak, ..Repair lagi,…Rugi…..

• Tauke on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm

no matter how, no matter u like or not, in future EVERY lancer on the road are all inspira…….. pity to existing owner, waste high tax $$$ to buy it… now cry also don’t know where to cry..
    Proton is very kind help mits to sell the Inspira look alike lancer…… anyhow thanks to proton….

• TallPan on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:32 pm

dream come true… but still a tad bit expensive :-P (just cos ‘local car’, imho, but still a damn good deal!)

paul… dunno if it’s been discussed, but any future plans for a 6 speed auto gearbox? do you think there will be? or is this 4-speed auto a dead end/permanent fixture? cheers

• bluetravler:

The English is plain simple:
    “Inspira is jointly developed by Proton with Mitsubisihi.”

Means:
    Evo was done by mitsu. no question about it.
    THEN proton came, and want to make inspira..
    they ask Mitsu to give the help and design etc. Not free,of course.
    So they “jointly develop” the Inspira with Mitsu..

so it means you got them wrong
    JOINTLY DEVELOP THE INSPIRA… correct.. proton did insira with mitsu..
    JOINTLY DEVELOP THE EVO…. wrong… Proton never done evo with mistu..

understand or not?…

go travel again, and get your English right this time..

• tanpanama on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:12 pm

not only bluetravel…but also for lancer_admire….know how to speak, but dun know how to think…

• lancer_admirer on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:10 pm

tanpanama…care to clarify your statement?…or u know how to think but donno how to speak?…

like someone said earlier ‘joint-development’ may too strong a word for proton to use…it may not be wrong…but is it accurate?…u can take a cake already baked by someone…then you put candles on it and claim that the cake was made jointly…to me that’s claiming too much credit…but if you like it…more power to you bro…

by the way I have not read any confirmation by Mitsu that the Inspira is their joint product or joint-development with Proton…

• forget about whether it’s joint prodpment or product or joint development or finger joint or foot joint, or join join
          it’s still a car , A CAR

• BeliOriginal on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Only one word I can say ” so proud” of your innovative and invention.
    Jangan malu, batch yg pertama tak ada power windows problem, percaya lah saya bang.

• rahman hussein on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Current buyers will get played out cos P1 will
    drop price once the local components are increased.
    So beware don’t be foolish and THINK you are smart. !!
    Don’t get screwed by P1’s fake smarts guys slogan.

• robson on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:47 am

good2 proton! for someone who couldnt afford 4 lancer could get inspira..they are all in same features, except the brand only ma..it does not matter anyway, we r malaysia should proud with our brand!

• the early birds have their advantage
    they use it erlier than those who buy later
    time period has to be counted too

proton cas are never get cheaper
    unless it is time to be at the end of line (EOL)

• reuben how on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:18 am

This is so crap. why don’t just sell out to mitsubishi, forget about national car project. who is the G really protecting. Not the rakyat, for sure.

• jimmyasmara on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Smart guys would buy the original stuff 100% imported from Japan.
    They will definately stay away from ciplak Proton/Mitsu.

• another guy who doesn’t read what’ s rebadging is all about
      plus exora will berebadged in japan as lancer will be here

• lol if you say ciplak to proton please say so to vw, peugeot , daewoo, citroen , aston martin, and many more car manufacturers
      if you get ‘ori’ lancer you won’t get lotus thingy
      in fact inspira =enhanced lancer with LOTUS dna

• Strange, have been traveling the Silk highway and most cars that have power window problems (to pay tolls) are not even Protons?

• reuben how on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:59 am

i thought the whole purpose of having a national car project was to have the pride of having our own design, manufacturing and export capability. So bullshit. So where has all of our money gone all these years Billions of dollars in taxes ? Malaysia is one of the only countries where we pay hire purchase on taxes for up to nine years!!!! all for what????

• Basher on Oct 30, 2010 at 1:02 pm

INSPIRA ( READ MYVI) no originality but people still buy maa

• “Inspira looks like a lancer, also sounds like a lancer;
    i don’t tell inspira is not a lancer, yet I can’t tell inspira is a lancer”

• Careful user on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Proton shall offer Three or more year of free maintainence selling at that prices. Bank should offe lending rate below 3%, otherwise these car wont sell as per their expect volume per months

• maximus on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:34 pm

yes…1.8L with the Manual, stick shift, clutch, pressure plates the works. Love that smell when you almost cook it. So I dread the torque converter. But I am proud to announce that after owning 6 cars over the last 14 years, never one that carried a torque converter. It’s evil, the root of all traffic jams!

• ichi24 on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:58 pm

i pity to the mindless third world crap mentality basher,

keep up your stupidity, i want to see how dumb you are,

even how many time Paul tan and co describe Proton business and their now position

you won’t stop bashing without letting your emotion overflow, and that’s the problem

after this, even some of you in secretly booking Inspira

hypocrite malaysian.

• rebadging also means retipu huhuhuhuhu!!!! who will fell victim???? those brain dead people who placed booking for it huhuhuhu

• ihateproton on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:20 pm

where else can we get cheaper cars besides proton? OEM is good… cheaper to maintain n parts also cheap. what is everybody complaining about?

• ihateproton on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:23 pm

i suggest everyone pls shut up n buy cars within ure affordability n stop criticizing… there are pros n cons to everything… its just how you look at the cup.. half full???…or half empty???

• daniel on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:49 am

2.0 proton inspira 4% inters
    2.0 mitsubishi lancer 2.6% inters

*proton car price cheap but inters high.

*mitsubishi car price high but inters low.

• Less is More ask for less on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:21 pm

proton can take mitsu lancer away and rebadge into inspira but it can never take away the heart of “Lancer” the Mitsubishi MiVeC engine the heart of LanCer

• Less is More ask for less on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:38 pm

proton can take a Lancer out from Mitsubishi and rebadge it as inspira, but proton can never take away MiVeC engine, “the heart” of the Mitsubishi LanCer