Proton has unveiled that Proton Inspira will be the official name for its Proton Waja replacement model, which has until now been only referred to by its internal codename, the Proton P3-90A.
The Proton Inspira is developed from a Mitsubishi Lancer with the choice of a Mitsubishi’s 4B10 1.8 litre engine with a 5-speed manual, a Mitsubishi 4B10 1.8 litre engine with a 6-speed virtual ratio CVT gearbox, or a top of the range 2.0 litre 4B11 engine with the same CVT transmission with added steering column paddle shifters.
At launch, the Inspira will have about 26% local content at launch, with the aim of raising it to 40% within the next few months and straight up to 65% within a year from the launch date once the local vendors have been fully prepped. It is built at Proton’s MVF plant.
Available in red, white, black or silver, the new Proton Inspira is now open for booking at any Proton dealer with a deposit of RM1,000. As an appreciation to early birds, Proton will be offering a 2 year (50,000km) free service package worth RM1,658 including parts and labor to those who take delivery of their brand new Proton Inspira for bookings made by the 15th of November 2010 that are delivered before the 31st of December 2010.
The tentative pricing starts from RM79,888 OTR for the 1.8 manual up to not more than RM95k for the top of the line. The 1.8 CVT will be somewhere in the middle. The official pricing will be unveiled at the official launch by the 10th of November 2010.
The photos above and after the jump provided by Proton is the only thing we can show you for now as there is an embargo that we must respect and official images will only be provided closer to the launch date in early November 2010.
Has anyone booked the Inspira yet? Be sure to read our first drive impressions!
Man, the Mitsu Lancer GT owners are fcuked big time!!!
I think most people who own this car will convert to original mitsu lanevo x, 100% sure..
yea, and after 2 years down the road, if you still convert to evo 10, it makes you look foolish.
dun worry bro after 2 year mitsubishi evo 10, 11,12 still look the same only minor changes eg bumpers, skirting, spoiler and abit in the engine….they will change evo car every 3 version….eg evo 1,2,3 (same) 4, 5,6 (same) 7,8,9 (same) 10,11?,12?( maybe same) Evo 13 (now diff shell)…so from evo 10 to 13 maybe take 10 years to total change….thats y i like mitsui..they never change every 2 or 3 years..so my car still new version until 10 years hahahaha..not like honda…after 3-4 years then new model…and my car value will drop and cant enjoy as the latest model…huhuhu
it is quit fast to change 2-3yrs….normal for car life cycle 5-8yrs
do you know that mitsu lancer quality as not as best as you think? it yes if it evo, but lancer quality is bad.
For your information, Mitsubishi is among the lowest quality car in Japan and among most unpopular brand in Japan and those who doesnt have enuf money will buy it (in japan). The japanese dun like this brand coz of it poor of quality. So i wonder why u guys so happy to compare it to Honda City or even Civic. This Inspira use 2005 techno, but next year Honda will launch new Civic and for sure it will be the best competitor for Altis.
But i do agreed that 80k is affordable for kaki kereta to buy a hot car like Inspira. Credit to proton coz they success bring in this car to malaysian but i’m still hope Persona R will evolve better than Lancer. More power, more quality! thats the thing proton shuld aim in future!
yeah i agree with u and after that there will be the inspiralution look like the evo 10 police car huahahaha…….
exactly like me!
buy the proton inspira…..remove all proton logo and replace with mitsu one….
Even though you replace the proton logo, you still missed mitsu trademark front. It’s a smart move by proton, to ensure what ever inspira owner do on their car, it will never get closer to mitsu. Proton grill was there. Bad looking but still nice and affordable to Malaysian.
Existing Mit owners like me have to beware as our logo’s may go missing now!!!!
maybe not only your mit logo missing… becarefull coz your car will be HOT CAR for inspire owner… the must try to fill up their inspira with ori part from mit….
only dumb people replace only the proton logo with mits…smart people replace the bumper all together with mits logo…and beware lancer owner, u may wake up in the morning notice ur lancer without ur bumper, ur sport rim and ur spoiler…hahaha
so sad but quite possibly true : (
I 110% agreed with that. As a customer, u can do any modification on your car as it belong to u. If u wanted to removed the Proton’s logo & paste Mitsubishi logo also can. Alang-alang u wanted to removed Proton’s logo, u place with Brabus logo lagi baik, agar hatimu puas!!!
Anyhow, I think government should increased foreigner car tax to maximum level, says Civic 1.8cc now RM114K to RM150K ka… Vios J RM68K to RM98K. By increasing the tax, rakyat tend to switch to Proton Inspira and boleh bantu kereta nasional utk berkembang pesat dan bukan sahaja jadi kebanggaan Negara tetapi menjadi kebanggaan Rakyat jua…..
Kalau kita selalu bersifat negatif terhadap Proton (anak kita) maka proton tidak mampu banggit mengecapi zaman gemilang sebagaimana zaman WIRAnya… Kalau marahkan Proton aje, tak adillah, sedangkan adiknya Perodua dan Naza pun sama aje…..
Harapan saya agar TAX yg amat tinggi akan dikenakan ke atas Vios, City, Altis, Civic, Accord dan Camry agar tidak mampu dimiliki dan rakyat akan beralih kpd INSPIRA.
Korea dan Jepun 1 masa lalupun mengeluarkan produk low grade berbanding US tapi rakyatnya sokong syarikat tempatan dan akhirnya mereka mampu menembusi dunia….
Bukalah mata korang semua, sokonglah Proton dan banggalah kita dengan anak kita (Proton) sebab negera2 jiran kita semuanya MANDUL.. Singapura dan Thailand yg majupun tak beranak, sekadar anak tiri aje yg dipelihara.. berjayakah mereka?
Harapan I agar TAX dinaikkan dalam RM30K-RM80K bagi kereta Vios, City, Altis dan Civic. Bayangkan Vios J RM105K, siapa akan beli?
bro,pernahkah u memiliki kereta dari negara lain selain proton?saya pernah 2xmemiliki kerata nasional. rasalah qualitynya selepas 2 tahun! tahukah anda harga kereta nasional yg kita banggakan diluar negara dan quality yg mereka dapat(murah dan berquality berbanding model pasaran tempatan)-selepas melihat kawan saya beli Pro W.ra recon dari UK thn 2000 KENAPA? .sampai bila Rakyat Malaysia sendiri SUBSIDI anak negara lain.Kesimpulannya Banyak rakyat Malasyia masih SETIA pada produk sendiri DGN SYARAT QUALITY BERSERTA TEKNOLOGI TERKINI DAN HARGA NAYA.
U are so narrow minded, why do u still wanna support the fuck up proton.
They either produce low quality cars, even after consumers feedback, they still
ignore the problem and continue to provide inferior quality parts such as the
power window. They simply useless and always depend on the government.
Look at Korea’s Hyundai which started almost the same time as Proton.
They can be independent, come out many models and now even the Jap
are worried about them as they are eat up much of the market share. Proton is
always seeking for partnership, copy or use other people’s product such as the
inspira. Why need to show partially of this car and do u think we all are dumb
without knowing how the car looks like… The lancer had been around for years
now and nothing special about it.
If we continue to protect proton by thinking of increasing taxes to foreign cars,
proton will continue to be the same.
salam to all..bkan xnak sokong buatan tmpatan bro..sya sndiri mnat gile dgan persona elegan pnye design..tpi pngalaman sya sndiri,abah sya diantara yg prtama membeli persona elegan..mleleh gak air liur tgok keelegancenannyerr…tpi smpai skrg msalah msih blum slesai…hari ptama dpat kreta,saya check bumper dpan bracket patah..kne tkar di kose proton(mcmane bleh miss inspec???)pkai dlam sminggu sya detech ada msalah pda engine,slalu knocking n bnyi cengkerik ble nk start jlan…ala,mcam kete lame2 timing lari tu…lpastu rear drum brake ader noisy ble dtekan..mmang sya agak brpngalaman sbab sya dlam industri automotif hmpir 10thun jge,cme skgje dh btukar profesyen,ble sya bwa ke kose s.alam,formentu sndiri akui skgni elegan mmang ade msalah sbab proton tukar wiring n computer box made in taiwan utk cut cose..sya dberitahu sbab sy ade hbung kait gak dgan proton dulu,sbabtu die bgitau,klau org luar die xkan citernye..die kate klau wiring same dah tntu2 die tkarkan kete abah saya dgan com. box ori blik,tpi xbleh sbab wire harness xsame …last month akhirnya proton tkar gak com. box yg lain,tpi still taiwan made gak la,msalah ttap same…brbaloike bpak sya beli kreta smpai 50k tpi mngalahkan kete 2nd???…inila msalahnye,ble jualan mdeltu mletop spatutnya phak proton pkir mcmane nk bgi kualiti trbaik pada planggan setianya,bkan dok pkir nk cut cose utk mngaut keuntungan bgande..harap pihak proton kaji blik bndani…jual kete diluar hnya dpat nameje,xde untungpon,wat inspection bepuloh kali..malah rugi ader..ble jual dlam ngara sndiri dpat buat untung,jdi makesure bgi kuailiti trbaik utk planggan setia..maaf klau bahasa agak kasar..tpi itula realitinya..abah sya mbayar rm600 sebulan slama 9tahun utk dpat kualiti yg begini…..fikir2kan….salammmmmmmmmm
maybe the rims look smallm in pic, actually it;s not that small… It has the same size with what we can see in Perdana V6.. And its more comfortable compare to 17 and 18 rims… Big engine have no problem with small rims, only small engine have a problem with bigger rims.. i think only 20-30 % of the inspira owner will change the rims, and the rest is satisfied and like the 16 rims cos its more comfortable and the tyre is cheaper… Proton do something based on their research and survey…. But for me, if i buy this car, i will change the rims.. But i will still used 16inch rims, from diff brands and just a diff tyre size.. i like bigger tyre…
Duit rakyat, biarlah rakyat yg decide nak pakai apa. Sampai bila kita kena subsidise proton. Proton sepatutnye menbekalkan kereta ikut kemampuan rakyat. Bukan ikut sedap dan menharapkan perlindungan duti import dll.
Cukuplah tu,dari saga, iswara sampai wira aku kena beli. Kena pakai kete Jepun/Korea lepas nie. Biar proton bungkus. Untung2 duti import dimansuhkan lepas proton berkubur.
Baru dapat pakai keta import yg baru.
My advise is to get used Wira (Old Lancer) rather than nanggung utang for x no of years.
I am here to reply toFunny fellow that has givien shallow opinion on top.
Naik tax to about RM30 k to Civic and Vios just because you want the sales of Proton to grow up????What kind of stupid suggestion is this?
The problem for Malaysian buying foreign cars is because the quality is there!
You should be asking Proton to improve in its technology and quality so that consumer will be confident of it! Not to cheat your own and forcing the people to buy local made car by increasing the tax!
Koeran fellow buying their own product is because their automobile industry has become one of the fastest growing field! They are buying their own product because they see improvement!
Boss..org kita ni “Kaya2 belaka”..Puja2 keta luar negara..tu la dari dulu la Sy ckp..”Different People, Different Perception”..Tp, ingat la org2 luar sana..Keta ni Sampai bila kita nak kejar2 model nya…?Kita ni dah kena exploit, asyik2 nak kejar2 model baru..Nah…RASAKAN la duit kamuorg habis…haha..YG PENTING SEKARANG…PAKAI ‘IKUT BAJU UKURAN BADAN SENDIRI’..pakai keta, ikut kmampuan..Ada klebihan, pakai la apa yg kamuorg suka..Sini Sy tanya kamu semua org2 pembaca blog ni….Semua keta sama ada mahal atau murah, apa “purpose” yang paling utama….?utk bawa kita dr satu tempat ke temapt yg kita mau tuju kan…yg mewah atau canggih apa pun..tu “Value Added” utk ssiapa yg mampu…
Proton is a useless bunch of fools. They will never learn but to copy, just like the new inspira. Just look at the Koreans where they had improved so much on their Hyundai but for proton, I am sad to say it keeps on begging others car manufacturer to join venture, always proud of owning lotus and now using Lancer as their new model…
Why must the new inspira be hidden partially before the official launch? Stupid right… I don’t have to see it as Lancer had been around for more than 2 years now…
If u put Inspira & Lancer
U can see lancer imitate Inspira
Lancer look STUPID but Inspira look Smart
Agree?
proton fan will be 1 of those changing to evo body : P
rilex la…dont u worry…if the lancerians are arrogant bout their car…i bet the inspri owner [should we call the inspired =)] will feel the same…with a cheaper price…after the warranty is over…i bet people will modified this car way better than the original one in terms of the look (performance…i dont know)…malaysians are creative….MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!hehehe
No matter how ppl convert it bcom like Mitsu… Evo or wat ever.. monster car..
If stopping at the traffic light side by side wit a ori Mitsu Lancer GT 2.0…!!!
So call Proton Lancer 1.8… better fold it up at one corner…. shame !!!!
Buy Inspira & Buy Lancer, all profits will goes to Mitshubishi, why?
Formula
Proton buy all parts, components & design from Mitshubshi
So it’s not a BIG deal, why u people is making noise?
Don’t expect to get lower price from this, because the cost of making the imitation (Inspira) is high
If u still don’t get it, please follow this formula
Inspira = inPIRATE
Inspira look Smart but Lancer look Silly
Today’s part has got short lifespan, everyone know
So, this can generate economy & Biz
Agree?
Buy Inspira, u are helping Malaysia’s economy but buy Lancer, U kill Malaysia nasional car
Do U Love Malaysia?
Dont ask what country can do for u
but just ask
what u can do for the countery
remember?
Never mind…..look like mitsu..but not same…long time ago japan copy their technolgy from europe…ha…ha… ha read the history book ….today they get great technology how 2 build car…we also like that….we not build trishaw or bicycle…u know?
Yeah, if i buy one, i would definitely change the rims. I think Proton could have done better. Other than that, it looks great.
hopefully they have 3 diff rims for 3 diff models
Yeah Virosh! Yet to see anybody anywhere ( other threads also, i mean) commending the design of the rims.
if real dusty brake pads are given, torture la to clean off the dusts from the 15 spokes. 4 rims means 60 spokes to wipe clean! Haiya.
Well Imran, looks like only you and i think that the rims need improving. Lets just hope that we don’t get dusty brake pads.
Absolutely…
And if proton is creating an R3 version, it would be wonderful if they make it a little more exclusive. Maybe a turbocharged 2.0 engine, a wide bodykit. That would be nice. Get those lancer owners jealous.
How about converting it to old Waja look???
Think Forward,Not Backward..Waja is a decade ago design
changing engine is ok
but not the badge
because there’s no LOTUS DNA WITHOUT PROTON
go PROTON!!
I think, Inspira should remain CAMPRO engine…………..
CAMPRO reflect Lotus & Lotus own by Malaysian
Everyone proud, except STUPID
So, why MIVEC?
CAMPROOOOOOOOOOOOOO……………………… By Lotus
Better performance
How is a campro better than a MIVEC??!! Campro has 110 bhp. CPS has 125 bhp. Mivec 148 bhp.
proton fan, pardon me….Lotus own by Malaysian???u double check before u put out this statement….
car lover,
Yes, Lotus owned by Proton, is there any problem? It is a British car manufacturer, however it is owned by Proton. To make this simple, Lotus is owned by Malaysia.
Yes… lotus own by malaysian…we buy their tecnology la….we buy the share in their company….so we own la… the malaysians. Better u check ur knowledge about lotus.
That ll be a good sign for Malaysian. Actually by introducing this local car (P1) can help so many local entrepreneur to be rich. Imagine how many thousand of the part & components inside Proton? If u are the vendor to supply a plate number with Proton’s sign, your cost only at RM10 but u can charge the consumer RM80, is good isn’t it?
P1 (Wira), turn how many entrepreneur to be millionaire by supply the Mitshubishi sticker?
Congratulation Proton for your Inspira, because it will create an extremely high demands for imitation Lancer bumper, butt and mitshubishi logo. I am now searching for the opportunities to supply all those parts to new Inspira owner. Not only the paint seller can get extra biz but my buddy (painter) also can get extra biz by spraying the bumper.
Sometimes I feel pity to the Lancer user + Lancer Evo owner because people might ask him “How much he/she spend to convert Inspira to Lancer/Evo where he/she paid for RM100k-RM300k for the original Lancer/Evo”
Anyhow, Malaysian is not rugi, because we pay RM79K + convert to Lancer RM5K (below RM85K) we’ll get something cost RM120K=RM300K…. This is really a Smart Guy!!!
Only STUPID will buy Mitshubishi Lancer/Evo!!!
Malaysia Boleh
Millionaire entrepreneur or should i say cronies? Blood sucking mother lovers who monopolise the market while supplying low quality parts with 9-th heaven sky high cost. Rakyats are still the biggest losers.
Just because you do not get the share of the pie, don’t butthurt please. Opportunities are there you just have to grab it. No one is stopping you in getting the share of the pie.
Instead of blaming other, if you can supply high quality parts with 9th hell deep down cost by any means please submit.
Smart people adapt. Loser will always complaint and be at the bottom of the food chain.
That’s all Proton can do. In another twenty years times ( if it is not bankrupt) we all will see the same thing and tha’s all proton can do. Do what ? do nothing but copying others technology and design, relying on fund and policy from government and continued to be a kampung car.
proton just put nice name to new car but not its quality, after bought and used within a year got engine problem . r&d and quality not good . not like proton saga first model is good. imagine after warantty ended.for new car, this problem comes again. sure burden the driver . its not to condemn but its fact . if proton using win-win concept its never happen.surely customer satisfy. but this is really unfair. its seems like pampers, wear and throw ,like china toys. last time i drove proton saga car and its good in maintenance but not new proton, beatiful name and car . i;m afraid to swicth starts its engine because another engine headache. better use proton saga. if proton use new technology and its friendly to user and its okay but if low quality spare part , its a heartache
there’s always a different between panasonic and pensonic
Yea in how it spelled only…
fuyo…really smart la u….notice….
looks like this kids did’t used pensonic or panasonic brands b4 XD
Nowadays more electrical appliance are made from same factory. Then brand label are sticked according thier customer request. U also can put ur name as ur refrigerator brand if u hv lot of money…label only different..
agree mjoe..now my company are make same product but 3 difference name.. and this name are huge…not cikai brand..its all japanese known name..
totally agree if you only talk about fan or other electrical appliances. never heard before about pensonic rebadging panasonic fan. copying, yes maybe.
rebadging /= copying
agreed. no matter how, the QC of Proton cars is big question mark here
Never buy an Inspira (or any Proton/Perodua vehicle) that is assembled during the fasting month. Ask the guys in their supply chain.. they’ll tell you that unfortunately, the quality does drop during the fasting month because there is less focus and concentration at the production floor.
huh? now still august ka?
i wonder how the quality when it reach 65% local part..sure power window cannot naik, central lock kong after a few month..proton will tarnish mitsu good name…poor mitsu..
great..!!! dis is wat proton famous in..
Central lock kong.. no problem …then use key lor… but hv u ever seen d whole key lock drop inside d door when trying to open by car key…!!! only proton car does….. may b dis is one of anti-theft feature guar.. hahaha…
and yet there are also some similarity… spelling about the same & the design also about the same
usage is 100% same
good example!!
Wonder if Satria Neo Gti rally car is gonna be replace by Inspira
Don’t think so, but by using the 4B11 in mass production means Proton can take advantage to use engines based on that for competition. Right now they base on the Renault 1.8 engine once sold for Waja.
its just a lancer, not an EVO…no way can replace satria s2000
of course they cannot. mitsu don’t allow proton to tweak their ECU… If they allow, then an Inspira can even tapau Evo anytime…
proton already upgrade handling… so it should be better than GT.
its nonsense…….change ECU than can tapau evo? haha..joker, u better go work as P1 engineer la..sure after dis P1 car can tapau bugatti or lambor..
take my words, there are privateers out there who are already planning to floor this baby in the felda rally…
hahahaha aggre with you
Hope proton will standardized the quality of proton inspira. So that the buyer of the car is satisfied and feel worth it to pay for it. Hope proton will learn from the previous product like savvy, gen-2, waja that the quality is so bad. I support proton car because of it carried Malaysia name to around the world. also hopped the management of the proton read this comment.
Carries a bad name for Malaysia around the world.
Have you seen Top Gear’s review of Malaysian made cars by Jeremy Clarkson?
He said that our cars are worst than junk itself.
If it weren’t for Proton and its taxes, i can easily buy a Ferrari by now. Wake up please!
wake up please, I doubt you can keep up with the maintenance of ferrari even after tax reduced.. you thought it’s easy to keep? Even without tax, I doubt you can buy it, not that I imply you do not have the financial to back you up, but the waiting list for their car
It’s an example!!! Maybe not Ferrari, but an Mseries BMW or Porsche almost any model……. the list goes on. I agree with Puton…. my M5 I bought in Canada for RM250k..BRAND NEW, costs almost RM1million here!!! I also had a 1997 Boxster I bought for weekend summer fun in Canada….in 2005 paid RM40,000….. that car right now in Malaysia even it is very old already still over RM200,000…… here now so depressed with cars in this country I just buy Myvi and still cost more than my Boxster!!!
the bad comment are for perodua kelisa ler…
proton so-so je.. and i think we should really support proton. look at ferrari, they build nice car, and people around the world now think italian people are very good at designing car..
wake up la..support malaysia la sikit
v already support p1 25 years..look at Hyundai..how they grow??build car for korean, cheaper than other car, that how hyundai make the korean proud to use Hyundai brand..at least Hyundai is far infront of P1..P1 need very magic improvement and Inspira is the 1st step..v need major step!
Ya…. in your dream… That another Malaysian made “CAR”, not proton…
JC also has made junk jap car also, US car included….i wonder y org putih, the japanese, the yank still buy honda, toyota, hyundai, renault etc since they do not hav NAP..r they stupid..bcoz a guy in malaysia easily buy ferrari if no NAP, or they hav no class and this malaysian guy has very high class
Will you be afraid of Jeremy Clarkson until you die? Cay you still apply tested result for few years ago for the current build car? Jeremy Clarkson had made a big effect to your live.
JC is an idiot! he only drives super cars. knows nothing about the economics in automotive industries…
Aiyooo Jeremy pun you percaya bulat-bulat ka?
Yes can buy if you follow American prices, but can you pay American Labour charges. It costs more to maintain a car than buying one. You want to put the blame on Proton for your poor income? Can you afford a seven room house at your present salary like in the US? That’s unregulated pricing. The root cause is greed and opportunist. So why not complain for 200 plus K that all you get is 1000 sq ft of house which is too small for a family of four? Whose fault is that? You want to blame the goverment also? Ha ha ha…
Ferrari 458 got fire around the world laa… ferrari call all 458 back…every car builder have pro n con…i luv n will support proton…n tapi to all proton worker…kami yg beli kete kasi korang makan tau…jadi korang pon jangan asyik nak pakai kete import je…berbulu mata aku tgk byk pekerja proton pakai kete import kat shah alam ni…korang yg kene support barang sendiri dulu jgn asyik nak memekak suruh org lain support barang korang…kalu korang sendiri tak mo pakai…lu pikir lah sendiri….
Agreed, banyak beza between Proton and Perodua, Proton masih lagi belong to malaysians, perodua has been sold off to Toyota / Daihatsu lock stock and barrel and now jadi assembler aja.
Proton’s build quality has improved, but there is always room for improvements. I had Perodua, Proton, Suzuki, Chevrolet, BMW and semua ada masalah after you drive them off the show room. Btw all those cars are in my driveway. The big difference is macam mana you look at the problem.
Essentially ada dua, the human element, meaning perangai the owner masa kat Service Centre and how he uses the car and addresses all the problems.
Even when kereta import drop sub 100K, you think you can afford to maintain and keep them? The only so far cheap car to own nak deny ke x is still a Proton. Selagi u makan gaji regardless how much, that is still the best and easiest car to maintain.
The only reason why I have to go around in a big car is because I need to give confidence to the people outside that I have good cash flow. Cars to me is a tool to generate income. Other than that, I’d be happy to drive around in a kelisa since its so easy to park.
Right Royale = mentality problem
Wait a second RIGHT ROYALE……….
who tell u that Perodua sold to TOYOTA?
The major share holder by 30% is holding by UMW, so that the company is control by UMW
Do U know what is UMW?
UMW is NOT Toyota as UMW only a distributor of Toyota ONLY in Malaysia.
UMW is belong to Malaysian, that is why Perodua is our nasional car & enjoy lower tax
NAZA is not KIA (Kill In Accident) but Naza is own by Malaysian & distribute so many car like KIA, Peugeot and many more, including BRABUS
1 smart think of NAZA is that, they spend 0 cents in R&D building the cars but their R&D in building the LOGO
Meaning every cars bring in by NAZA will be removed their original name like KIA to be replace by NAZA. As well as Peugeot 207 change to Bestari.
By doing so, I believe your grand father who studied in sekolah pondok usang also will know how to pronoun the car name.
Else, your great grand father will “PATAH LIDAH” in pronoun the PEUGEOT name.. nanti bunyinya PEE-GEE-OOKKK pulak
Hahahaha…
I pun tak tahu pronoun Peugeout till now, still practising, hehehe
Right Royale = MLM people? CIMB Wealth Advisor?
whos Jeremy?
The great car not came from his country either..
talk cock only…
Right Royale…waaa…so many cars you have…so many cash you have…so damn rich you are…hehehe…
Well Puton, think like business man. Jeremy who? He’s making money out of that. He could say this and that, because that what TV & mag love to. Speculation & stipulation. He used to insult Porsche.
Y u people always talk non-sense about Proton, where the international people appreciate & admire Lotus so much!!
U should be proud of national car, because only Malaysia can produce local car where by our neighbor only assemble “other” people products!!!
Malaysia Boleh!!!!!
Inspira design is better then Lancer Evo
Is it wrong that I’m actually having “fun” when reading all the posts at Lancer’s Owner Forum?
Haha, Poor “original” owner…
What the hell.. Proton never learn.. how could them selling just the front end for RM80K? so we need a kereta lembu as the car body to attach to this front end.. hehe :P
I still waiting for Exora turbo. after that i will decide which 1 i will get…
Prismo,
Go and read the previous post ler (http://paultan.org/2010/10/13/proton-p3-90a-based-on-mitsubishi-lancer-preview-drive) before commenting. Just made a fool of your self…pitty you.
Paul answered most of the bashers short minded comments there.
Perhaps some Mitsu Lancer GT owners might feel a bit irk, but most will cynically smile knowing that they own the real breed than posers.
Look at it this way, if Lotus has a hand in retuning the suspenison, the Proton drives better. Proton also has addressed the CVT’s failure to engage at prolong high speed by redesinging the nose/intake and making an AT cooler which is unavailable in the Lancer. These technical improvements alone addresses some of the issues that the current Lancer has.
INSPIRA vs LANCER
Sincere Comparison
They are the same
1) Design 99% (except bumper, grill & logo)
2) Engine (same type but Inspira 2nd grade) Japanese never honest in Biz
They are difference
1) Build up quality as QC done by Donkey
2) Vendors are totally difference as they are expert in supplying defective parts, proven in WAJA (all power window problem).
3. Others components, all supply by the same LOW GRADE supplier & fix in Inspira.
Conclusion
If u are Smart Guy, I will never buy an imitation products ” name as Smart Guy” because it’s just a word that telling u are smart but actually STUPID is be actual word to represent this
U buy Lancer, u ll need to pay high price but u ll get a high quality, but if u buy Lancer, low price and do u expect high quality?
If YES, then Malaysia can make money by exporting to Thailand
there will be more “lancer” after Nov 2010… “lancer” = inspira = a joke…
After Nov 2010, so many poor & stupid man will go on the road drive a stupid car name “Smart Guy”. Orang gilapun marah dikatakan gila tetapi akan gembira bila mereka dipanggil orang cerdik. Rite?
Actually, those people who targeting to buy a car name Smart Guy are those people who are poor in RINGGIT.
Simple question to ask, if u are a millionaire, will u buy Inspira or Lancer?
So, don;t blame they are stupid but just say they are poor.
If u understand this, then u’ll understand everything.
Formula
Proton buy design & pay royalty to Mitshubishi (including the royalti from their vendors to produce imitation part with great low quality to fix in Inspira.
The MoU not allowed the Proton’s vendors to touch Mitshibushi, in the sence Not allowed Proton’s vendors to supplier to Lancer & Evo
So, don’t complain that Inspira is expensive, because BUAYA still Mitshubishi.
Don’t complain parts & component in Inspira is not lasting, because U need to support the poor vendors to generate high profits to make them to be EZ millionaire.
If you or your father or your grand father being given a license as P1 vendors, u must say Insipra is better then jaguar or Lamboghini
Wowwww…..kudos to P1, they manage to produce a car of same level as Mitsu Lancer…..kah kah kah…..
P1 can export the car to our neighbour country like SIngapore, Thailand, Brunei, Indo, Vietnam & many more country because the design is about the same as well as the engine but lower price.
If Mat Salleh prefer Air Asia rather then MAS, Do u think our neighbour prefer Inspira rather then Lancer?
Air Asia… you get what you pay for….. which is Mitsubishi
MAS, you pay for a service that you seldom get.. which is Proton
Sorry Man….. that is a bad example…. the price comparison is accurate but the product comparison is not.
I wud not say that since u knw malaysian cars have a really good reputation in giving problem.. plus, its so sad to see that proton cant even come up with their own design for the car.. They just love copying other people.
Actually, P1 has came out with their own design, such as Gen2, Waja (Tidak Wajar Beli Waja) & Also Gen 2.5 (Personal- Gen 2 ditarik ekor sikit). Do u appreciate & do u support? I guess Not, that is Y P1 fail.
If P1 came out with their own design + their own engine, u people never appreciate but when P1 be a copycat, u people get mad.
So, tell us what should P1 do?
Gulung Tikar is it?
Do u noticed, almost all P1 car has got the unique features.. U know what?
When reach the toll counter, almost all the P1 car will open the door to collect the toll ticket, unlike other car, they will open the window instead of the door. This is because they power window is working well.
My friend, he own Satria & the door only can open from out side because the inside holder is spoil.
He is always act like Mr. Bean, every time wanna go out, he need to open the window & then open the door from outside, after all the closed the window. I finally advise him send the car to P1 for the repair. Imagines cost him RM1k +++, after all he wanted to sell & get Vios J
The loan is RM30K but the value for his donkey satria is RM23K, meaning he need to loss RM7K + another RM7K for his Vios J. Total RM14k and again he has got no money.. so he remain his donkey as a donkey la….
Funny or Pity?
Aku cadangakan rakyat malaysia hantar memorandum tukar pengurusan tertinggi Proton. tukar jurutera Proton dan tukar ahli-ahli R&D Proton.
Aku dengar cerita orang atasan Proton ni ada rasa dengki tengok orang lain pakai kereta murah yang hebat, dengan lain maksud rakyat malaysia pakai kereta proton yang sehebat kereta import yang depa pakai. Bukan tiada tekabentuk dan teknologi hebat yang dicadangkan, tapi depa berbisik.. Kalau canggih dan murah, rugilah kita. Sebab depa beli kereta import tu dapat support dari siapa?? Haaa… jangan tak tau…
Itu pasailah.. depa tak kasi keluar produk bagus. Cuba hlangkan subsidi dan kurangkan taxs kereta import, baru depa insaf nak lawan product mana baik.
Kat koreapun cukai keter importnya tinggi, tapi kereta tempatannya bersaing hebat menjaga kualiti dan kehendak pelanggan.
We reached independant since 1957
All malaysian should Thanks to Proton Master Mind (4th PM), because of his idea.. Today we have Proton and how proud that we Malaysian to have a local car.
Unlike our neighbour country that too depend on foreigner car
Again, Thank You Dr.M
If all of us support Proton, Malaysia will be such a great country
In view of this, we should BAR foreigner Car via impose high TAX
What say U?
thank god i din’nt buy the misu lancer…. if not people would say its inspira… damn it!
good job proton, at least we got a nice looking proton car eventhough its similar to mitsubitshi lancer.. who cares!
Oh…my….
Been dreamed to have Lancer GT since its prelaunch…
Finally, thanks to Proton, the price is getting cheaper…
and Lotus DNAed!
But RM80K++ still to high for me to get this jerung mitsu…
Need to wait extra months to collect more money..
Lucky to thos who gets the first 1000 Inspira..
why lucky to get the first 1000 units of Inspira?
yeahh.. 74% imported and 2 yr warranty.. free labor ag..
u really trust p1 eh? u really trust mitsu part are okay ek?
are really trust on your civic? Before this, is it honda didnt have an any problem with thier part?
I don’t TRUST “Honda”, because this is a chicken brand in Japan but because of the successful advertisement by Honda Malaysia, turn this chicken to be special. By the way I don’t like Honda but Proton!!!
Malaysia Boleh!!!
RM131K for Civic 2.0
I think Japanese people will laugh at U people half dead
RM95K for 2.0 Inspira, really a Smar
@proton fan: u are so narrow-minded, i wonder myself why even people like u even dare to share comments here. do u even realize why the price of civic burst up like that…its because of EXTREME TAX u moron. What if the gvt take off d tax and the price of civic will gonna go under 90k, are u still go to proton or civic?? Frankly speaking, its not like i myself dont want to spport proton, but come on…we are speaking about QUALITY here.
@Foward Japan has MORE EXTREME TAX than Malaysia.
chicken or no chicken, inspira still eat smoke by my caldy, next year plan to buy civic too.. i tink tat can pose thread to inspira tooooo!!!
the one who laugh is not the japanese, but the government, they are the one who got the tax.. do people get benefit from the tax? keep daydreaming mate..
I heard that the first 2000 unit had been bought by Malaysian Gov…
Proton got Lancer
Mitsu got Exora….
Deal done…
If Mitshubshi sell Exora in Japan, I think they will need to recall & spoil their own name
3rd world country people not able to buy good car will try to remove PROTON sign & replace with Mitshubishi
\They they market EXORA in Japan, people in Japan will removed Mitshibishi EXORA & replace with PROTON’s sign. This is because they know what is high grade & what is a low grade
What is a HORSE and what is a Donkey
non of Japanese guy will buy DONKEY for the horse race
Wait for recall & price will drop when the demand is drop
Launch Nov 15, 2010 but BIG offer for over trade car on Jan 1st, 2010
Discount RM10,000.00 for the early bird (the 2nd) 1,000 owner
hahaha
you wont get jerung mitsu, you only will get proton faked
Can’t they think of a better name? And it’s absolutely not inspiring at all considering this is just a rebadge Mitsu. Sigh…
well, once you buy the car, just remove all proton badges and rebadge it back to mitsubishi lancer. that sounds better right?
100% agree, all the ah beng will definitely do it when they receive the new waja !!!!!!!
i do think those designers cud do a better job at designing the air ducts on the bumper. with so many car manufacturers designing them for cooling efficiency, dwnforce, etc… they cud hav copied some random design and paste it there rather than just to have a piece of black plastic cover to cover the lower front bumper. and the rear lights are so Kedai aksesori ABANG.
why rebadge with mitsu….bmw or merc la more happening!!!!
i think it will void the warranty.
as stated by paul on previous post, the bumper is actually work as air guides for the transmission cooler, so that the CVT transmission fluid will be less likely to overheat.
if you convert back to gt mean you lost two things. first is the warranty and second is the effect of the air guides.
briliant observer
dude…just leave it laa..try to appricate our malaysian designer…(ni x, blik2 japan gak korg nk..aku tgok ok pe? up to date gak…ade ala2 merc C-class)
what, u think lancer is a nice name?
yeah..better save name for another proton real car..this one should named as proton lancar…
KIA = Kill In Accident
VIOS = Vehicle Intelligent Owner Stupid
200% agree! why can’t they keep waja as the name? look at toyota, honda,mitsu itself and other car makers, they keep their cars name but people still know their product by generation! I believe someday malaysian cars will lack of names…. hahahaha…. !
The people at proton do not understand the meaning of heritage. Most of their cars have been discontinued. There’s no generation of car model. No continuity. 10 years time there will no more Inspira. Very soon they will run out of names.
Nope…proton just wanna tell the world that they have many models under their belt so each new model must hv its own name. On their 50th anniversary i bet nobody in proton can remember all their model names…what more ordinary people like us.
yeah we will never run out of good names. we can opt for local fruit names. proton manggis, proton durian gti, proton rambutan se, proton langsat, emm proton langsat gti sounds rather appropriate for this model in synonym with ‘lancer’.
dun need to wait 10 years, I think they already ran out of names, thats why they call this car inspira. You dont call something inspiring when you have no inspiration for smtg. what sort of name is inspira when theres really no inspiration at all to be inspired about? LOL
I guess because it’s a rebadge car, proton don’t want it to associated with waja. Waja dia become proton first enginered model when it was first launch rite? for me the Gen2 was a bad name. it doesn’t reflect any heritage. why don’t just call it wira.
yup, this should continue the ‘waja’ name..it look tough like the old one..tougher!
i don’t understand why the need to come up with new name..it is intended to replace the old waja.
Gen-2 and Persona was supposed to replace Wira, so?
How about call it as “WAJAlution’? A new Proton Waja tha is evoled from the Mitsu Lancer/Evo. :-)
no no..when i thinked of waja.it remembered me of the power window problem..so not continuing the waja legacy is good though
My friend said, Thanks to Waja because demand for the power window is good, helping his biz
hahaha
yea why not call it Wa-Lan instead so that both Proton and Mitsu can have a slice
you are damm creative.
Proton LANCAR is better name imho :D
whatever name it is!!
That is not important, because the demand for Mitshubishi Logo will increase, trust me
Proton should not use pet name anymore but use code like 3 5 6 7 series, i10 i20, A B C D E or etc
Stupid idea
If Proton do so, again u people will complain here saying Proton is a copycat for Mercedes, Volvo & BMW
Y don’t U comment to BMW, Volvo & BMW to follow Proton by introduce name like
waJA
saGA
wiRA
exoRA
persoNA
perdaNA
the name it’s not an issue..it’s depend on manufacturer whatever name want to put it.
True, Look at GM, they own Suzuki, Chevy, Opel and they keep switching names between markets.
whatever name is it, that is NOT important at all
because the name & logo of Mitshubishi is in the production & ready to sell to the Inspira owner
Just convert your inspira to Lancer / Evo to increase the value
Proton INSPIRA…
Nice name by the way…
So is INPIRA SE and R3 coming too?
Who knows the INSPIRA SE might be from EVO X…haha
just dreaming
im voting for the inspira R3! absolutely!
Aiyohhh my wife already put the deposit down lah… Should consider to wait until SE or R3 coming out. But she will not get the 70% made in japan stuff & 2 yrs warranty. Anyhow, i think she made a wise decision.
Comment abit for those who says that G & P1 does not built kereta for rakyat (too expensive etc). There are variation on the models what? Those who can afford 40k car can get either savvy or saga, same goes to persona & gen2. Can you imagine the quality of the car if P1 building Waja and selling it at Sub 30k price? The fact is it’s just not true to say you get what you pay (i’m talking about cars in malaysia). If that’s the case, i just can’t bear my mind, paying rm480k for merc E300, knowing that more than half of the money go straight to G. I would rather spending that kind of money to get full spec 5 years CLS with Brabus fitted merc RECOND car, knowing that the percentage of tax is way less.
ask proton to launch Proton Inspira 2.0 turbo R3 edition or Inspira 2.0 MIvec Kompressor..price maybe around 180k kekeke or 140k…
Inspira (Proton) = Inspire (Honda)
another copycat idea from Proton.
* why not Waja II? or maintain the name Waja. aiyoh… they did the correct thing when selling the new Saga without changing the name….
Agreed with you.. call WAJA II is enough for me… make the waja as one identity.. but will have different variant, rather than keep changing name…
well, I believe if proton named this car as Waja II, everyone will shout proton is not creative for not coming with a creative names.
should be named Proton Inspirate la….
Maybe Proton Expired instead?
one thing you don’t know, proton doesn’t just rebadge the lancer model.. but, actually proton and mitsu have a deal to swap lancer with persona and savvy. that means, proton have the right to produce lancer as a proton, carrying proton’s identity…and mitsu will have the right to produce persona and savvy as a mitsu…maybe for japan market…so, there’s just more than rebadging issue…we know the relationship between proton and mitsu…right? :-)
persona n savvy for japan market? i dun think mitsu will bring in Malaysian product and rebadging it.
Do u not know that EXORA was already used on a model in the LOTUS range ?
Proton just conveniently stole it , guess they can cos they are owners of Lotus.
Curi saje la, usah jadi kreatif ….
prove it….u mean exora or evora..i also can said “do u know that kia forte already use on model in the hyundai range”
Exora name came from the public contest, they had the winner receive her Exora & everything. By coincidence the name sounds similar like the Evora.
Even something as simple as the bleeding name can be an issue? Bashers have no issues left to bash is it?
if u hear waja what is ur first thought?……………………………that y i think proton wan to get rid waja bcoz of that bad perception
Copycat happened when u copy 100%
but if it’s not 100% then it’s not a copycat lah
By the way, in the biz term, we call it as BENCHMARKING
U should understand the word “DUPLICATE” & “REPLICATE”!!!
If u don’t, then u should go to kinder garden school
I think Smart Reader is the best, u may consider
Hahaha Jangan Marah, I am just kidding
it not imposible
how can they price it so near to forte? forte is imported and with 6 airbag. the local made car cannot be cheaper than this? come on.
fyi the forte is not fully imported, ckd la deng…
FORTE ckd?….that is just a gimmick by NAZA….it is still fully imported but change logo only…u can go n see the car whether got any local parts…thers none, NAZA plant cant even assemble it yet….This protong already got 26% local content, BS…..
its CKD la bro…check ur facts…
Naza Forte is national car. put the Kia logo back, the price will go up another 15-20K.
its a CBU under cover a CKD la bro.. to avoid the tax. Latest batch of fortes all CBU. u can comfirm by the chassis number, claim as CKD can avoid tax
Forte is not full ckd. in fact very little ckd. even tyres are korean. have to know definition of ‘local assemble’ here. there’s a bit of wayang kulit due to cost factor.
current forte now i heard is half assemble at Gurun plant.
Mostly they assemble assembly part ..n then do testing…
On future, i heard forte facelift will come to Malaysia…
do u know wat is ckd and cbu not just the word but what it mean…weird la u..do that mean ckd half already pasang n half not pasang or like complete car with no door than pasang kat malaysia? i tot ckd like u pasang ur tamiya car from scratch
then why u guys went apeshit? wasn’t u guys loooove import cars?
u can report here u think NAZA tipu
Laman web : http://www.nccc.org.my/v2
Tel : 03 7877 9000
Laman web : http://eaduan.kpdnkk.gov.my
Email : [email protected]
No need to report. Dont waste time. It’s an OPEN SECRET.
yup CBU but call as CKD to avoid tax. NAZA is super cronies. so they can do whatever they want. No matter they got premium land at KL gold triangle from MITI
waa, u work at NAZA factory ka? wonder u know very much….
you are comparing KIA with Mitsubishi?
hw can u compare KIA who is nw in the top 4 car maker in the world with a nearly bankrupt Mitsubishi who r nt even in the top 10 car maker….hahaha….Forte voted for 2009 world COTY awards…Lancer any award?…hw many sales?….nw rebadge to Potong brand sure even drop the sales and the name….
So are you saying Kia is better than Porsche? They ain’t doing that well too. Toyota sales drop too. Sales doesn’t justify quality.
dude…how can u compare sedan to a sportscar? compare to it’s same category ar please…in fact it’s the bestseller in US…and yo dude, US has the second biggest population in the world if not the first…and being the best seller over there IS SIGNIFICANT for people to judge and you know how they have up their gameplay…check it out even the hyundai sonata scores 5 star in safety as well as bmw…and u know how important quality is to them when comes to imported cars…
Kia is not 4th largest in the world. Hyundai-Kia is actual 5th largest now with contribution from Hyundai plants as well.
brother largest population china den india..u should know that at least…
have u see in news tht kia forte car get accident just becoz of angin lintang at 140km/h.. LOL.. very shame..
even 2 honda city was burn when speeding n crash and kill the passanger on the spot it’s more danger n shame for honda then forte slipping with no effect to chasis and engine (not total loss)..are ur sure she drive at 140km/h or 170km/h?
it suppose hyundai rite top 4….kia is undar hyundai if i not mistaken
well~ this is PROTON not MITSUBISHI~
Forte is imported? I thought is assembly in Kedah?
Yes, Forte with 6 Air Bag and TCS,
But Forte using dated 4 speed Auto and Torsion Beam suspension, is kind of give and take la.
Anyway, I think either Forte or Inspire is a good buy compare to those 1.5 L RM 80-90k car. (Mazda 2, City, Vios).
torsion beam is not outdated. using tosion beam eliminates suspension noise. multi-links suspension is using multiple arms attached to car body. this allows noise to be transmitted into the cabin. it makes the suspension well a little bigger and reduce cabin space.
torsion beam has proven to improve noise level by reducing/eliminating the sources and more than sufficient for use in normal road cars.
yup.. torsiom beam good and have their own advantage.. but i choose and prefer multi link.. majoritiy BMW, Volvo car using multi link at rear
ya. I thk Forte, Inspira is good buy. also Chevrolet Cruze and coming Hyundai Accent
don’t u forget Avante.. also at the same price.. And it is a good car…
Forte 1.6 bro…
This One 1.8… and C-Segment car near to Civic, Altis
and the price like Vios…
Forte has 1.6L and 2.0L.. .and its a c-segment as well FYI.
so not much different in terms of size
forte is bigger in size…go n compare the dimensions…n the build quality and interior design is way better….no need even to talk of the bus load of specs and technology tht puts lancer to shame…(6 airbags, ESC,TCS,EBD,BA,CBC, Active headrest, RPAS, MDPS, Electro chromic rearview,Auto climate control with ionizer, keyless start, smart entry, USB, iPod/iPhone port, Aux port n the list goes on….)
Lancers CVT is proven to be lousy as well, go read in lancer forums…n wait til it fails and stomach turns over when u read on the cost of changing CVT….even Honda gave up on CVT….
I THINK THAT IS A FACT THAT WE MUST ADMIT KOREAN CAR HYUNDAI AND KIA NOWSDAY ARE WELL BUILT AND GOOD IN QUALITY. PLEASE CHECK THE LATEST KIA K5,K7,EQUUS AND SO ON. I READ AN REPORT HONDA JAPAN CEO DID MENTION BEWARE OF HYUNDAI AND HER SISTER. I AM USING HYUNDAI SONATA 2.4 2003. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT. DON’T TALK ABOUT PROTON INSPIRA EVEN MITSUBISHI AND SUZUKI UNABLE TO COMPETE WITH THEM. IN MALAYSIA CAR TAX STRUCTURE FRANKLY SPEAKING I THINK KIA, HYUNDAI.PEUGEOT AND MAZDA ARE WORTH BUYING CARS. FORD NEED TO DO A LOT OF IMPROVEMENT IN THEIR MARKETING. I ONLY SAW ONCE LATEST FORD MONDEO ON THE ROAD.
i AGREED THAT MITSUBISHI LANCER IS NOT A GOOD QUALITY CAR.
WE NEED TO CHANGE OUR MINDSET NOT ALL JAPANESE CAR ARE GOOD IN QUALITY. PLEASE THINK HOW GOOD THE CAR IN SAFETY FEATURES THAT THEY ARE WILLING TO OFFER. EURONCAP RATING.
DON’T ALWAY THINK ABOUT THE SECOND HAND VALUE AND PETROL COMSUMPTION. A LOT OF PEOPLE ALWAY SAID HYUNDAI SONATA 2.4 PETROL COMSUMPTION VERY HIGH. ACTUALLY IT ALMOST THE SAME AS HONDA 2.4 LATEST VERSION. BECAUSE MY FRIEND IS DRIVING THAT CAR.
Korean recall their car in US due to air bag not functioning well
Who care how many air bag?
By the way, Don’t ask to test drive from the KIA salesman
but just ask, to test their Air Bag to ensure all 6 are functioning well
if they got 100 air bag, ask for all
OK?
Perdana Don’t Need an Air Bag!!! sorry to say so
Forte assemble in GURUN (Kedah Maju 2010)
but INSPIRA assemble in Shah Alam
If u compare 2.0cc segment
Both local car produce but P1 able to offer lower price & latest model
Forte old model lah but Inspira fresh
6 air bags ye?
Go & ask them to test air bag when u test drive
U better drive Kancil by putting the helmet on your head, because helmet function better then air bag
Air bags sometimes can kill
But air bag life span is 3 years
warranty over, air bag sebagai perhiasan sahaja
how often u use air bag?
Smart Guy don’t need air bag because they are always hati2 di jalan raya
they got belt and drive slowly + carefully
if i ever gonna buy this car..surely go for 1.8 manual!!
it’s been a while since satria gti,putra and wira 1.8 manual gone…now we can get 1.8 manual from inspira..nyumm… but the 2.0 price more than 2.0 forte..i was hoping that its cheaper a bit.
Well, Inspira comes with a CVT gearbox, thats better than that fuel-sucking 4-speeder
wait till the CVT fails….go read Lancer forums on how ‘lovely’ is the CVT….amateur!!!….
CVT is not for harsh driving, which i dono y dey provide peddle shift. Anyways, CVT all the while has reliability problem. That’s why u dun see EVO uses CVT, EVO uses Dual Clutch.
duhh..proton engineers solve the problem ady..go read back the article la bro..
for sure la they also read comments and problems regarding the lancer..
as for the cvt problem, after the 1st batch of lancer gts the problem was spotted and solved by mistu and not proton engineers as claimed.
those failure was wit people who retuned their engine to higher HP.. CVT is reliable for certain HP.. if u cross the border, then even a conventional gearbox will not be reliable..
mat-racing revived !
I think hybrid is better
Guess I can ask my dad one..hehe
seriously, its the Lancer Evolution car maker cannot tune the car better? lol
this is truly unbelievable.
but then, hey ,i heard lotus bankrupted several times, wonder why?
I fed your comment through Google Translate.
I still can’t understand it.
you need a boast in IQ. Google cant help you.
Lotus is a multiplier. If your car is good, they help it to be better. If your car is bad quality, they will amplify it.
use a bad quality car to sapu corner? die earlier. If you have a GTR, good handling make it better
remember, lotus itself is a failed story. related everything to 2 failed companies did not help, mitsu and lotus both are failed stories. Go google Pakcik.
Warrgh.. above my price range…
Not a bad deal for 80K..
all cars in our beloved 1malaysia r overpriced….we r being cruelly deprived of our rights to own decently priced superior quality cars. People first remember…meaning we work like slaves n ‘they’ are reaping our hard-earned RM!!!!
all of ASEAN country similar price to malaysia except maybe thai n brunei
hopefully one day governor will reduce the highest tax
In that case, u try to get a job in Langkawi or Labuan, also still 1 Malaysia apa?
Jangan marah Bro!!!
we must support Proton, if we are not, who else?
1st…he..he…Looks cool man!!!
no cool (T_T)
not cool..but hot!!
thank you Maxs for the joke of the day!! Hillarious!!
1st?
Proton should have kept the Waja brand.
yeap..actually they should do that. look like corolla, civic and saga..they retain the name.
…waja crisis identity perhaps.Yesterday im a cat, today im a washing machine
ya.. next day the will be some bunch of Donkey..
Dah book 4 biji…… utk bini 1 hingga 4 ….. baikpunya….
tq proton….
Agreed. Don’t quite like this new name for every model system. It works if every car that comes out is iconic, like Ferrari or Lambo.
However, if you are just replacing and updating the car before, within the same segment, better to stick to the same model name no?
This way in the future, we could still have a Satria, Waja, Saga. We haven’t even gone that far, and we are already running out of ideas for great names, while eventually losing the very iconic ones.
I hope that Proton can do something radical like another company they own ie Lotus. Re-launch the brand, and revive the iconic models. Get a great design team, to work on the Saga, Satria, Waja, and Perdana all with a common design element.
One can only hope. I hope to see an updated Proton Saga in 30-40 years. For all intents and purposes, it is our own VW Beetle.
What design team? Does Peroton have a design team. I thought all this while all they did was take old Mitsu’s and rebadge them. I’d rather buy old continental cars any day than waste paying for a piece of junk for the next 8-9 years.
I also agree wit you. hopefully it will be better sooner or later. I also love that Proton will use all the iconic name such as Perdana,Putra, Satria, Saga even for next Exora mpv,just maintaine that name.
I also hope that the name still in Bahasa Malaysia term,for example if Proton want to make their new on SUV segment just search good malay words for it.
Please do not put some modern word on it..for example Desire, Globalisasi, Transformasi etc…
Hopefully Proton Brand will be more respectful with good design,good quality and good aftersale service.
i don’t agree.
Even though the waja, wira and satria are household names for proton, but it doesn’t sound global enough to have an international presence. Names like Saga is good for proton and it is still being used. Satria will continue to be used because this car is well known for its drive.
In the other note, that’s why new names such as Exora and Persona is used in my opinion, where these new cars are sold in the international market.
I think Proton is still searching for a more “internationally acceptable” name. If I’m not mistaken, Waja is not named as Waja in some export market.. Instead it was named as Impian. Also their Saga also named as S16 in Australia Market. Maybe they are trying to rid off the “so-so” name and slowly replacing it with the new one.. Anyway, OK what INSPIRA.. Not so bad what. But I believe, if Proton use the name Waja also still got someone else criticize it.. no one could satisfy everyone.. :-)
Actually got to give them credit apart from selection of names for the car… they did a good job as Proton has always been a value buy car. i.e. value for money. Personally I’ve been using Proton cars & has given us many miles of trouble free service… Got to be fair too that you cannot expect it to perform like a Rolls Royce or BMW when you’re only paying RM60K to RM70K. U get what u pay for… So looking from that angle it’s a good car. The Waja is roomy & tough. The Persona had quite good looks, the Exora a value buy & now the Inspira has made it possible for us working class ppl to own something similar to Lancer but a much cheaper price.
My only wish is for Proton to include a genuinely more powerful engine for all it’s cars e.g. turbo / super charge / compressor rather than just fitting sports exhaust, sports air filter or wider rims which actually adds very little performance to a car.
They should introduce CVVT to reduce fuel consumption… which is important to us users….
Good job proton … hope u may consider
hi ah beng, what credit proton deserved if they just rebadge the car and change the bumper and suspension… any ah beng (not you) shop can do a better job lah…
for the next pheonix project there will be a cvvt as an upgrade to campro
Proton company really do not have talented employees.!
All are sleeping:- CopyCat, Expensive rakyat car, Fugly rims, powerless power windows, any add-on?
Bro, don’t la compare Proton with Rolls Royce or BMW. Compare la with Japs car like Vios. Quality and reliability is way better than Proton.If not for tax , i believe Vios would cost less than 55K. Compare with Rolls Royce is just impossible.
it got nothing to with race you imbecile
Only salesmen will said RM95k is cheap for Malaysian….. bcos not their money…..
100% agree with you kc…..i spent 80k to get my mechanical engineering degree for 4 years. I am making above 10k at the age of 26 with a petrochemical company. Rather invest your money in education but not a car !
this is about hoby or ur dreams not bout education (diff story) if u can buy good or nice car i’m sure u are already educated or success in ur life and maybe got paid more than 5k d….
smart guys get EDUCATED! smart guys also NEVER EVER BUY PROTON!
ye, 95k is expensive compare to lancer price w/o tax
he must be the lancer’s owner..pity. :p
a car in the class of the lancer can never be sold for RM45k anywhere in the world. which planet are you from?
the 1.8 lancer in the UK is already selling at around 17,000 GBP.
What so sad about that? Do you pay for the downpayment? If not, don’t bother. Your mentality is really below average. Grow up bro.
well, the MIVEC mechanism used in the Inspira’s 4B11 engine is actually a CVVT. thats why new Lancers don’t have engine power surge like previous MIVECs or VTECs.
but Proton need to introduce their own CVVT lah :|
mivec tech now is same like old one….y all new car start fr 2005 onward less power? bcoz they need to follow straight regulation from uk, america etc…..to make this car more greeny but still maintain 155-160hp they must up to 2.0 mivec….if still use 1.6 mivec wth straight regulation i think old mivec maybe 125 hp only
Proton have CAMPRO CPS, may be we still need an i-CPS :)
i tot proton cps is one kind of variable valve timing/lifting technology….. so proton already introduce their own so-called cvvt
Bro Ah Beng, they technically cannot introduce CVVT in Proton because “CVVT” is owned by Toyota (unless they rebadge Toyota or getting license to use the name or to use the CVVT itself). FYI, Perodua uses “DVVT” instead of “CVVT”…….
Bro, don’t get confused between vvt,vvti, dvvt….CVVT is a gear tech, not engine.
I think for gear, it call CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission)
CVVT = Continuous Variable Valve Timing, which is refer to engine (like V-TEC, VVTI, DVVT or even MIVEC)? all are Valve Timing Control system, Proton CPS also something similar. (Not 100% same, but all are similar thing?)
good job YYBB…
i think they stand for valve system…
lol
CVVT is variable valve tech la. while the gear tech is CVT.. pity u.
perodua just rebadge and assemble from daihatsu who made DVVT ,they rebadge car like mira=kancil, sirion/passo=myvi, mira 5th generation=kelisa, mira 7th generation=viva
yeah…sound like impreza… just modified from english word…
Proton NO-NAME sound better right?
Dont insult VW Beetle name wif P1… Beetle until now still can get spare parts & after market around the world but how about those 8V P1 Saga parts, especially Tiara?!?
Even Beetle engine can run without water (air-cooled). The only drawback is lack of high hp which the modern day car can do and still is the current world record holder of the most popular car in history if not mistaken.
Metaphorically speaking la bro..
agree with you. should retain the waja name
maybe waja inspira
ahaha..now it’s officially opened for booking…hmmm wonder if its true 1000 ‘early birds’ will get the original mitsubishi part as rumoured….
oh launch today?
CONGRAT FOR THOSE WHO BOOKING TODAY!!!!!
i dont know you have 4 thumbs down on your comment. theres nothing wrong or bad about it. anyway congrats !
lets be supportive to proton. they hv done a good job in improving the lancer and reducing its price!
eeerr don’t mean to be a basher …but the more i think about it ….
Firstly , if it wasn’t for P1 and if they never existed, the original Lancer would have been sold at this price IN THE FIRST PLACE.
Now after years of selling the car at a higher taxed price, they just rebadged the car and sell it back to you under their own brand …
How can u say they have done a good job then ??
And do you really think without heavy machine(automotive) industry in Malaysia driving the economy, that you can afford that price?
Dream on la brader. You can’t afford this price either. pooorahhh
Finally something interesting from proton… worth considering since Mitsu DNA…..
I have to say this is the best looking Proton ever and at only 26% local content, it should be a great car too.
wira is also best looking when it launched. Only after 10 years in showroom, it showed its age. lol.
wira time launched in 93, same lancer launched in japan 92.
inspira launched in 2010. the samel lancer launched in 2007.
so we must bring lastest model every 3-4 years or do some minor facelift every 2 years
of cos it is good looking, it is a lancer afterall.
If rebadge Lambo, lagi good looking!
i’ll bought this bro…for sure… but hopefully price is 150k below laa.. i dont care if people laugh, hahaha lambo protong…
Yeah apek, I will rebadge one lambo for you but with 1.8 lit engine…150K ..
when is the launch at proton’s Centre of ‘Excellence’, by TDM?
suggest also to do it as part of proton’s 25th anniversary celebrations..
After so many years, we go back to rebadging Mitsubishis. Tragic :(
dude…i suggest you read paul’s previous post on the rationale behind this rebadging exercise…
proton started rebadge since day 1 = proton saga
and at their hey day = wira
now at their turning piint= lancer, ok wat….
very OK
u are a smart guy.. smart girl instead
Rebadge is a rebadge there is no denying in that. they just came up with some excuses to back their decision.
from economic standpoint, their decision and rationale is correct. What’s your excuse for your statement? If rebadge without alteration to the car then u can call it a crappy rebadge, but they improved it and put on a cheaper price tag.
Please, look at the world outside and start standing on your own before you talks about how others should/shouldn’t do
it is cheap by virtue of its protected status, not by any great effort on proton’s part.
proton can take loan for their new lotus 5 model but for malaysian they gave us rebadge. That how they value their proton customer because here they were protected. Open our car market then they start appreciate their customer.
You really didn’t read the previous article, did you….
who the fxxx cares what the reason are? After years of R&D, syphoning Malaysian tax payers money, this is the best Proton can give the rakyat.
What ever the reason still doesn’t justify their very existence.
You Proton fanboys and UMNO cronies who makes up the list of Proton vendors are really sad.
After 25 years, still operating like kedai potong. DSZ, resign and jaga cucu la, you didn’t bring changes as promised.
@Ash Menon: lolwut, u’re starting to comment :) Good to see u in this blog, classmate ;)
@Joseph: ya sure, he resign, u replace him. Okay? Let’s see if u can do better.
can u afford to buy lotus then?
yeah..that right Leseid Obrut sayed!
adoiii…. did u read the article or not?
some ppl dont understand what is business and automotive industry all about. u only need wiki to explain it all..no need rocket science to understand the best way to save money from r&d. p1 use so much money for gen2 and savvy..not worth it…so paham2 je la..yang penting consumer puas hati ;)
Business is not about saving cost only. Business is also about innovation. Nothing wrong with re-badging, but if Proton only did re-badging, do you think it will ever establish itself as a serious car brand?
That kind of thinking is why we are not industry leaders. Think also of the long term. If Proton loses market share, thousands of jobs are affected, that is why Proton is so important to Malaysia in particular.
Kalau setakat ‘ala kadaq’ punya approach macam ni, sampai bila2 pun macam tu gak. Automotive industry is killer competitive. Move or die.
If Proton doesn’t innovate, it is only a matter of time before we wake up one day and Proton is a car company that exists in only in our history books.
yea ala kadaq, korok mu.. berapa byk model baru?.. br nk rebadge semula utk cr modal pusingan ko dah byi.. bopa byk peniaga yang jual barang bt sendiri? kebanyakan semua jual barang amek tempat lain.
example kedai makan, x tanam sendiri syur dye msk tu.. kedai ekon x buat sendiri ekon tu.. kedai runcit.. x bungkus sendiri pon keropok dye jual..
apela.. bajet bijak tulis bi agy.. otak kecik..
Lol rileks bro. Ni bukan kedai runcit, this is a NATIONAL CAR company. If they have a solid plan, Malaysian government will back, modal tu not really a problem. Ingat sikit, this company owns Lotus, and Lotus pun did exactly what I suggested, total relaunch of Elite, Elise, Esprit, Elan and intro model baru lagi, Eterne. First model coming 2013. Mana dapat duit R&D tu?
Kalau ikut your logic, baik tak yah bagi jobs kat Malaysians, buat je Proton kat China lagi murah. Jangan guna pekerja sendiri. Before tuduh otak kecik, tengok cermin dulu.
Dah la tu, bukannya I against 100% pun. Re-badging takde hal, tapi I said tak boleh la forever kan? “Nothing wrong with re-badging” baca balik comment tu.
Tak kisah if you disagree with me, you can even say I 100% wrong, tapi at least baca dulu apa orang tulis, otherwise STFU lol
that y la they only re-badge 1 car not the whole range…DSZ hav stated that this just filing the gap n the future model will be par or better than this re-badge…if u not remember p1 produce its own car persona, saga, exora, neo, waja..they r not fully re-badge company
General Electric tidak buat sendiri air cond nya but LG, still No 1 brand in the world
General Motor brand US tapi all Korean car
Both GE & GM are ranking no 1 in US
any Americano ketawa?
Fikir2kanlah ye
Read Paul’s previous article will you? “rebadge only”? Read what proton has done to this lancer before you reply
A lot of people on this site maybe read the article, however I fear that Malaysians at large will not. Which leads to a problem of… perception.
There is nothing wrong with the plan. In fact, it is a good plan, and I can see the benefits of it. However, when the most exciting news coming out from Proton is a re-badged car, and not anything from their core models, that leads to a perception of laziness by the general public.
Whatever the truth is, if this perception takes hold, it can do damage to Proton’s reputation. Proton must take steps to inform the public and increase its goodwill.
Lotus has done this, with their launch. The cars are not even available, with the first car being available in 2013! Yet, already, I am excited for Lotus. This is an example of the goodwill and intangible good perception working in Lotus’s favour. Of course, at the end of the day, they have to back up their promises, but that’s another story.
The problem isn’t the re-badging, the this or that. The problem is, Proton is still not out of the woods, and we who love Proton sometimes feel frustrated.
I love Proton, I remember as a kid, when I saw my first Proton Saga ever. It was somebody’s parent, picking up a kid in my school. He had to wait for half an hour, because a huge crowd gathered round, to admire the car, including me. Jakun is an understatement, I felt super proud. That was an amazing feeling.
One thing that makes me happy is that, despite all the differences in opinion here, I notice that the underlying feeling is that everyone wants the best for Proton. tell me of any other car company in Malaysia that can do this. If this isn’t muhibah, I don’t know what is.
Hebat Proton!
aim… pls la jgn poyo aka perasan bgus sgt… study history proton baru comment…k…
u talk about plan, about proton direction n bla…bla…bla…
but u know what? if you can read, please google urself about proton…
tak payah susah2 sgt, in paultan here also have lots of news or post about proton new model coming in few years, turbo, green tech, persona R, new saga summore…
pls la… read or browse through proton history or journey b4 commenting…
annoying la….
Conservative calculation..
They get subsidies for 25 years, 300,000 cars per yr avg, 40% of this volume is charged with AP, we pay RM40,000/- per AP.. = RM120 billion over 25 years.
They still losing money..
Every time you buy a car, you pay like crazy… our money! Your life insurance, your kids future education, your retirement.. or pay for AP to subsidize Proton and Perodua.
They are still re-badge a car.. !? Perodua – re-badge Daihatsu..???!!?
not logic at all…….did u know in the 80’s that amount u can buy 2-3 cars n in the early 90’s u can buy 1-2 cars….the value of money is not same..RM40k today MAYBE in the 80’s it is equivalent to RM200k today (that i don wan to elobarate i hav limited knowledge bout money value) roughly like that la maybe other people can explain better
yup.. agree.. waja-inspira project for collect more money to build better car in the future.. i thk it is good practice but the price if be lower, it can sell like hot cake
I agreed with the price as we need to give competitors cari makan sikit
If Hot cake, nanti QC tak lepas, banyak re-call pulak
Memadai 200K units setahun
Who’s cares. While proton produce Wira a lot of them volunteer rebadge to Mitsu Lancer. That’s our culture rebadging product. At least the sales volume increase. More important thing Proton focus on SAGA & EXORA. Thumb up Proton. Don’t forget to study the CVT for other models!!
..and here come the basher.
Oh man, this is getting old already. Many car manufacturers all over the UNIVERSE are doing the same thing. But I guess you and so many other won’t bother to understand. So, just let it be.
Yea like GM? See how well they have done.
Re-badge is a common practice you know for the time being. Pevgeot also re-badged Mitsubishi car….so what? It is not because Proton have no technology to build a car: Proton have prove its strength in developing Gen-2, persona and Exora, This what you called ‘Tragic’ is actually just a marketing strategy.
no advance technology !!!!!!!!! Even buying in LOTUS and yet no advance technology being developed. WHY ???????? Years of mismanagement and cronies !!!!!!! PROTON and all local car industries need wake up and work together to be able to be competitive. Study the KOREAN car success (KIA and HYUNDAI) !!!!!!!!!!!!
but malaysians still wont buy Malaysian made product. how?
how can Proton improve without the support / with all the bashing..
kalau kita tak tolong sesama kita, sapa lagi nak tolong..
AGREEDD!!! Malaysian keep bashing their own products. How come? I still support PROTON even though i drive H car.
i can’t drive my merc like my waja
because the LOTUS DNA can scream like crazy
and you think you have studied enough? Do you really understand how they become “successful”?
Korea is even worse than Malaysia. No import cars last time, they were practically forced to buy Kia / Hyundai. and even until now, Korea is still protecting Kia / Hyundai. can you find Honda City / Civic or Toyota cars in Korea…?
support u mofaz
yes, we are lucky becoz although we have our own national car but still govt still good enuf to let foreign brand coming to malaysia. and also not forget recond car, which i believe u cant find in korea, japan, and in germany (those are car manufacturers).
if u have more money, buy foreign car
if u dont have much money, but malaysian car or u can buy 2nd hand foreign car
we have so much options to go, why bother?
in terms of technology, tell me how many malaysian professionals want to work inside malaysia? all of them working outside because of money, but u wont find in korea or japan becoz they are patriotic to their country.
its not about stupid policy or about UMNO and govt, its about OUR MINDSET.
please be a thinking society, not bashing society
pity malaysian coz have a lot of narrow minded people, thats why we cannot move on.
Although to be fair, Mofaz , the Koreans at least have seen a PROGRESSION in their car making business and has even moved up in the GLOBAL front as an established car maker nowadays….
But after so many years, Proton is still the way it is , still UNDERACHIEVING and still UNABLE to compete GLOBALLY, still relying on an unleveled playing field domestically … not to mention having internal issues of cronism and nepotism etc.
tapi di jerman kalau tak silap harga kereta lain pun murah jugak. faktor ramai guna kereta mereka sendiri di jerman sbb jenama kereta jerman memang dah top dengan kualiti, perfomance dll. cuba check harga Audi, BMW, Mercedesz di sana. Jangan terkejut beruk jika Merc, Porsche pun jadi teksi
I Think Malaysia should practice the same, we are not BAR them from enter Malaysia’s market but apply high tax, example Vios J no longer RM69K++ But RM169K++
Hidup Proton
KIA almost bankrupt before being save by Hyundai n Hyundai run by family who own many company that can giv Hyundai motor money for R&D…..i think we should find better example
aku xpenah sekali pon rse kete korea tu cantik walaupun tgk 40 ribu kali..
Cuba tengok untuk 40,001 kali, pasti cantik
Kalau masih tak cantik, cuba menonggengkan kepala ke bawah, tengok melalui celah2 kaki dari belakang, kot2 jadi cantik bila mata ditebalikkan..hehehe
When proton rebadge,everyone make noise but perodua copycat nobody complaint. good car ..lah , can open door 90 degree ..lah.
Bcoz Proton already 25 years and our Govt. spending a lottttt…… of money to make it EXIST until now.Govt money is our money.We understand proton ‘borrow’ this car from Mitsu bcoz C class car have a lot of competitors and small margin.They wont investing too much money to develop a new model.Proton was caught in a middle, between struggling to make profit and malaysian demand for cheap car.Perodua is different story.We are looking for 25 years of Proton experience.
@Vee, Mr PaulTan already mention in detail regarding this matter but still we can see this same question/post asked on and on…(and Mr Paul keep answer it in previous post)..And, the most important thing, we still have our Campro engine (they still keep improving this engine) and its own model (Persona, Saga) . This model (Inspira) doesnt mean Proton will only re badged Mitsu car after this. Chill bro :)
I want to thank Proton coz give us a chance to have our dream car in a reasonable price. 1.8 Manual is a good choice for most of us, a GreaseMonkey .
Congratulation to those book this improved Lancer today :)
Note : On top of mod list, re-badged it back to Mitsu..Hehe.
bashers gonna bash just as haters gonna hate
Totally agree with u!
Hahaha….and I assume churning out similar versions of the Vios, Altis is awesomely awesome? I sense a Jap fan here….
Mr Ejoy, please read this:
“As an appreciation to early birds, Proton will be offering a 2 year (50,000km) free service package worth RM1,658 including parts and labor to those who take delivery of their brand new Proton Inspira before the 31/12/2010”
not just 1000 early bird..the bird after that olso can..
even if u are the cuckoo bird?
Free service package for delivery before 31/12/10… sounds like a trade off for year end car
the question is….
if i booked today, can they do “delivery of their brand new Proton Inspira before the 31/12/2010”?
im sure many people will buy this. does this means if i booked today but if the car is delivered after 31/12/2010, then do i still get the “2 year (50,000km) free service package worth RM1,658 including parts and labor”
we will see more ah beng Inspiralution on the road. Proton logo will be replace with 3 diamond logo
Alang2 u wanna replace with 3 diamond logo, Y don’t u replace with 3 star logo (merc), I believe all imitation logo will be the same price
By the way, who is ah Beng?
Ah Beng=’rojak’ car owner
Is it the launch of INSPIRA means NO Lancer CBU anymore?
By the way, Proton have done a good marketing job by considering the needs of younger generation. This INSPIRA will sell as hot as ‘pisang goreng panas’. The price is quite competitive also since it has Mitsu engine and Lotus DNA handling. Hope local banks can give special low loan interest rate for this car. Based on the current interest rate, ones need to forked out RM800++ monthly to own this car (which is too high for a boy).
BANKS = culprits… makes the car more expensive…
Whats wif this thing about Lotus DNA? lotus is just an overrated brand and dont u realise proton is just a looser that likes to use Lotus to brag about the engineering….
think carefully…who are the people that works on these so called engineering, handling? its still the same bunch of looser at proton…
the Lotus name is just a marketing powertool …. see what happened in F1 now? its the same case…i even thought Lotus racing is really Lotus but at the end is just a name…
This is different to the M division in BMW and the AMG for Merc that is so much more than just a name…
sick of it..
go and drive one
you will know
If Lotus is loser overrated brand, then why did Nissan consulted them to develop the GT-R?
As for the Lotus F1 debacle, your statement reinforces Proton’s case for retaking the Lotus name back!
lotus got involved in gtr development meh? wow..thats cool..
i saw jeremy clarkson said lotus is good but pathetically it is owned by proton. my fren from america call proton maker of bicycle..haih…sad case proton..when you gonna grow up..or u will always b overshadowed by …. ‘tuned by lotus’ ..wake up !
if u still didnt know anything, lotus is famously known for being a master in handling..
poor dude, dont know anything, speak too much
ya say agree lotus is a master in handling..but thats lotus la ahbang…bukan proton…proton hanya guna lotus as marketing campaign la….mana satu kerata proton punya handling good? semua teruk la …. saya juga proton owner tak da duit beli imprt punya kereta
well..proton owns lotus=they owns lotus technology..so diowg boleh la tmbah2 ciri2 handling best skit kat proton..adoi..cube la bandingkan proton dgn perodua bab handling…jauh beza brader..handling perodua x best
Rm800 for 9 years? then forget about it~
very soon, we can’t recognize which is real LANCER GT, EVO X, or INSPIRA on the roads! totally confused! xD
hopefully more evoX lookalikes..
smart guys get it huh? but buy mitsubishi is even smarter
A) RM120K is smart
or
B) spend RM79K + 3K for modification to turn it to be the same brand?
Answer is B
WE LOVE PROTON INSPIRA.
I LOVE PROTON INSPIRA
GOOD JOB PROTON.
they have done nothing but just buy the right to manufacture or assemble the car……..perhaps sometimes, by doing nothing….you already doing something great…by not s****ing up
You didn’t read the article? Heck Proton HAVE done something to improve the car. They manage to solve problem with lack of airflow into the CVT gearbox that Mitsu Lancer have. Plus they injected Lotus handling into the car. Who say they do nothing?
u dun read properly aren’t you boy?
they did do the lotus ride and handling adjustment to the lancer…
oh my..
He oredi read it super properly.. But he don’t understand the article.. Pity him..
Don’t say but Buy
That is the support
Just wondering,
Is current problem face by mitsu lancer owner has been fix by proton at this model? if not the same problem will be repeating after this.
check at mitsu lancer forum..
Regarding CVT heating prob, yup. Proton take action on that matter already :)
dont read eh? proton redesign bumper for cooling cvt gearbox… lancer owner can change to inspira bumper and enjoy unheated cvt gearbox now !
According to what Paul said in his comments: “Proton engineers are not allowed to tune the engine and transmission”. So how Proton engineers can actually resolved the CVT heating problem since they can not touch the original transmission?
I’ve already explained in my previous story. But I’ll repeat it again here. The air guides in Proton’s own front end design provides better airflow for the transmission cooler.
good one there…some ppl just admire foreign…it takes many hrs to deisgn a bumper…+ more manhrs + win tunnel testing to design a bumper with better internal airflow… u think like those sunway meh…aduhai… do ur research lah….
Paul.. bashers just cant keep it to themselves…
kalau macam tu tukar bumper krg ok la.. hehe.. patut diwar2 kan ni
Its about the better airflow to the transmission cooler, NOT the Transmission it self.
without no doubt, i’m going to book this car today…
Good for you! I’m sure u will enjoy driving it & modding it!
without no doubt? that means u book the car with doubt? :-P
Inspira is not bad.. u should ask protonians what were the other names mgt asked them to vote for.
Better book the car first, 26% local parts means 26% chances of sub-standard quality arising from proton’s problematic vendors.
Current lancer gt owners…. i really pity u guys… everyone seems mum over at their forum.
not necessary, people who bought the real lancer, bought quality product, CBU from japan and should be proud of it. It’s my dream to get the real lancer, but can’t afford it. I strongly believe the proton lancer, has the same quality built. They might have the same engine and transmission, but interior quality i’m not so sure off. The price also a bit high, might as well get forte. But that is my opinion only
Even though I know that Proton is coming up with Inspira months ago, I did buy the CBU. Even if it’s a Mercedes with a Proton’s logo, I won’t buy it. Had tough 12years with the Wira. Just wait for all the dramas few months after Inspira hit the roads. End of next year 65% local parts? Proton can fly kite. The price is somewhere near high end for most of Malaysians. Calculate the interest, changes done by Ah Bengs. It worth to buy the CBU. 2 Months ago the forum was full of happy peoples who wanted the Inspira but upon realizing the price most of them are very unhappy. Please take note that GOOD THINGS ARE NOT CHEAP AND CHEAP THINGS ARE NOT GOOD. If you get something cheap but having a good look, that means something is wrong.
Actually, if you get something cheap but having a good look, that means it’s a Kia.
Totally agree with you Mr. Anand! Thumbs up!
It’s like having a ‘bohsia’ as your wife. Looks good, cheap but… you know the rest ;)
Fully support you. Only proton owner who had many problems with their car will understand this. We don’t have many 10 years……give other car a chance or risk another 10 years for proton car again?
I had little problems with all the Proton cars i owned, including the Saga 1.5, Wira 1.5, Wira 1.6, Satria 1.5/1.6 and Persona. Oh yeah, i have also used other cars like Alfasud, VW golf, Beetle, Suzuki Swift, Toyota Landcruiser, etc, etc..
You must be one unlucky owner or just very poor at maintaining your cars.
You must be one lucky owner cum salesman or just very great at maintaining your cArSSSS
Whoa!!! u so rich la. U have used more than 10 model of car. I’m impressed~
yeah CBU japan but part still come from china, taiwan, thailand….maybe not all part some part
definitely…i’ll book one :)
kt tgk apa yg proton provided tuk rakyat malaysia dengan harga RM80k……
mitsubishi lancer….
I thought someone ‘smart’ will say it’s a Hyundai designed engine again….lol
good thing paul point it out at previous post…
not like some basher who don’t read and give all the credits to Hyundai while Mitsubishi is the one who did the main design….as in ppl saying lancer is designed by proton….
Paul, I want to ask about audio unit include in this Inspira.
I was told that Clarion would be the supplier. Is it USB port included?
Or only for 2.0 L. How bout 1.8L. Wondering for the price at 80k, the audio unit still not very updated.
No USB unfortunately.
oh no..need to change..this is so frustrating..even myvi premium they easily can give audio with USB. oh proton
why no usb? even persona elegence got usb port what..huhu. wait persona R 2012, real proton design rite?
wait mitsu rebadge persona la..then persona guy will convert into mitsu style…hehehhehehe
USB for kids, this car targeting uncles …………..( matured/masak) one
i still think that all the price of any type of ‘malaysia’ car should be less than 30k. it is worthless. what stupid are those who throw their 80k for garbage. sigh….
u go buy honda ex5 la, end of the story
already buy 10 months ago..
Trolling failed
Bummer. I guess the release models will not have USB. Few years down the road & several updates later it will come with LED lights, USB audio. signal indicators, new grille etc etc. But by then maybe the new Civic will be launched…
I am not sure about you, I actually rather prefer to have a lower class new car with USB audio system built-in to it rather than an second hand executive car with no USB in it. But that maybe me
If u buy the car now, your car will be considered 1 year old by 1 Jan 2011. Thats why they offering u a free servicing package to push off the current stock. But overall when u sell the car in 5 yrs, your value will be about 5K lower.
Better to wait for the 2011 manufactured models even if there is no free service package.
totally agreed.
2.0 cvt proton inspira RM95K (up to 65% local parts, eg dashboard made in malaysia)
2.0 cvt ORIGINAL mitsu lancer GT @ RM120K ( 100% made in japan)
I really dun mind paying the extra for a GT lolz..
for example, Original Louiss Vetton handbag RM12K, Pasarmalam re-badge Louiss Vetton RM9,500, which one u prefer ? LOLz
there wont be rm9500 louiss vetton handbag at pasar malam. It will be only rm120 the most. In fact, your example doesnt play well.
actually riceGirl was trying to point out using the example of LV that IF you all also think Pasarmalam LV should Cost ALOT lesser, then, why settle for a 95K proton Inspira 2.0 ?? It’s equivalent to a Pasarmalam LV @ RM9.5K. RiceGirl i vote for you!
owh. get it.. ricegirl is trying to mean that Proton inspira doesnt worth that rm95k?
hmm.. no.. i think Proton Inspira worth that rm95k… for a good 2.0 cvt + lotus handling and ride.. smooth ride all the way with that smooth CVT compare to normal auto transmission.
but I thk if price can be lower, it is good to tackle most of waja user