VW to invest 51.6 bil euros in next five years – the aim is to be the No1 automaker in the world by 2018

VW to invest 51.6 bil euros in next five years – the aim is to be the No1 automaker in the world by 2018Volkswagen is planning to invest around 51.6 billion euros in its automotive division over the next five years. More than half of this investment will be in Germany, with primary spending to be on property, plants and equipment, it said in a statement.

It’s no secret that the VW is aiming at surpassing Toyota as the top carmaker globally by 2018, and as such, the Strategy 2018 programme it has set out will see the company investing around 27.7 billion euros to modernise and extend the product range of all its brands, these being VW, Audi, Skoda, Seat, Bentley, Porsche and Lamborghini.

The focus will of course be on new vehicles, derivatives and replacement models in all product classes, and the aim is to achieve a systematic model rollout with a view to tapping new markets and segments. This will be supplemented with the launching of new generations of engines with enhanced performance, fuel consumption and emission levels. In particular, it will drive forward the development of hybrid and electric motors.

Additionally, a 13.6 billion euro has been set aside for cross-product investments over the next five years. The company’s new assembly plant in the US – in Chattanooga, Tennessee – will begin operating in 2011, and production capacity in Russia is also being increased. It has also announced plans to open two more plants in China.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• xavier lert on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:26 am

what about asmbly plant in m’sia?

• banko on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:37 am

25million citizen only,,,not worth it at all…. leave it to P1 aa

• campro on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:40 am

leave it to Perodua better (Perodua untung & Toyota pun also untung)… keep best selling & top selling model Myvi, viva & Alza anytime also in front of P1 & less problems than P1…Proton pi tinggal kat KAMPUNG cukup lah…low confident on Proton lah…

• The Loner on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

Whoa, big ambition.

• proton also aim to be number1, in their dream

• Even with all the government money,no way. Their pocket is more important.

• RON97 on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:05 pm

proton = No 1 for layman

• yamseng on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

everything starts with dream, except babies, that one stated with sex.

• Jimmy on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

‘number 1’ in what? Sales figure/quality/from the bottom?
      You sound like a typical Proton hater. How do we know that Proton has a dream of becoming number 1? Is it the murmur from the Chairman or is it the dream of its shareholders/Government?
      So we will have ‘number 1’ Inspira, instead of Proton Inspira. Is this what you mean?
      BTW, this article and its comment is for VW, ya.

• RON97 on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:26 pm

woooo…how much proton pay u per comment? 20 cent? get real la, mate. proton only good for yourself, your farther, your friend, your auntie, your neighbour, your proton’s SA etc..step ahead & see what kia/hyundai have got today. shame on you

• handsome*dude on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:55 pm

jimmy zai… u talk too much rubbish

• Franco Baresi on Nov 22, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Those aims,are unattainable.the reality is P1 will never be numero UNO.never.If they can’t even beat KIA motors and its sister company worlwide,then JALAN lah….juz a Jaguh Kampung only.P1 has yet to take its baby steps,apa lg nak aim melambung tinggi.

• Jimmy boy, you should understand what he meant ‘number1’ as it’s obviously relating to number 1 largest automotive manufacture. I dont know what are you mumbling.
        Oh and BTW, no one say you can’t compare with other brand as this page is not really for VW only.

• Everyone have dream.

• Hanif on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:02 pm

First, they need to lower their price!

• Jimmy on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:12 pm

QUALITY is more important than quaNtity. Learn the lessons from Toyota and GM.

• true that, hope they dun compromise the quality, when they plan going for quantity

• handsome*dude on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:56 pm

what if those who do not have the both?

• deli27 on Nov 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Paul,how about the VW progress in msia?rumors said Polo will be CKD in msia rite?
    where?DRB?

• I think VW has the quality. Now they are looking for quantity. Usually these two cannot stay side by side, but Toyota has tried to match them as closely as possible. That is why Toyota remains the No 1 name.

• One more company which has ambitions to be high in numbers while keeping quality, is Peugeot. I think Peugeot will reach there, slow and steady.

• The models which are changing the landscape are 3008 and now the new 508. It is hell of a car. In its category, price and size, there is absolutely no rival to 508.

• Unforgiven on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:12 pm

It’s still a dream for most M’sian to own a VW… although the Polo and Jetta are jst an entry level car globally (a fresh grad and college students cars)…

One day, I hope my children will be able to buy his/her first Polo at RM40k…

• Peter on Nov 22, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Polo at RM 40K?

U opening your own shop to do CKD yourself?

Oh wait, is it even enough?

• Peter, Unforgiven already said that his hope is for his children to own a VW so by the time his children could drive, the used VW value could be below rm40k. Ps, he dint mention new VW so im guessing used vw is what he meant
        Please don’t be lame

• Unforgiven on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:43 am

I thought RM40k is an entry level car in M’sia. I also believe Polo is also an entry level car in the ANZ/UK/US/etc.

So the possibility to own an entry level brand New Polo at RM40k is always there. In 10 or 20 years time, if M’sia is able to CHANGE.

If really 0 corruption and protection for 10-20 years, do you think possible? The brand new Polo may be even below RM40k because the ringgit may be stronger too… LOL!

• lolz.. a polo car sells at about 14000 euro and it’s about rm60k..

where’s the shit is it selling at rm40k?

• jamalUKheights on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Jimmy, who you trying to impress?
    Get a life!
    Your woman left you for another guy?
    This is a forum for all.!

• eurocarnut on Nov 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

hey vw malaysia…

bring in the golf, scirocco, & tiguan once they go hybrid as in just launched Audi Q5 hybrid quattro:

Price: £35,000 (est); Top Speed: 138mph; 0-62mph: 7.1sec; Economy: 40.4mpg; CO2: 159g/km; Kerb weight: 1998kg est; Engine: 4 cyls, in line, 1984cc, turbo petrol; Power: 208bhp at 6000rpm; Torque: 258lb ft at 1500-4200rpm; Gearbox: Eight speed auto, integrated electric motor, 44bhp 156lb ft.