Nasim-built Peugeot 207 Sedan to be exported to Thailand

Nasim will begin exporting the Peugeot 207 Sedan to Thailand with an initial batch of 44 units, with the first units to be delivered early this month and the entire order fulfilled by January next year. After Thailand, Nasim also intends to export the car to Indonesia, Brunei and Sri Lanka by Q1 2011.

“This is the first step towards expanding the Peugeot brand’s presence in the region and making Malaysia its right-hand drive production hub. We at Nasim are pleased to note that there has been encouraging response for the 207 at home and we believe it will be a success in other markets in the region as well,” said Nasim CEO SM Nasarudin.

The Thai distributor for Peugeot is European Motor Cars Co Ltd, and the new 207 Sedan will be featured at the 27th Thailand International Motor Expo from Dec 1 to Dec 12.

Peugeot 207 Sedan Malaysian Launch Report
Peugeot 207 Sedan – our first drive impressions

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Who cares? Such a lame car… Pls give us the real 207!!

• intermilan on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Nasim will took some time before they want to bring any b-segment hatchback from Peugeot again.

The bestari experience has shown to them, that sale-wise, it isn’t going to work as they wanted. Negative people perception towards European cars, preference towards sedan (for car with almost RM70K price tag) are just overwhelming. Beside, the 207 is going to be phased out in 2012, only 2 years from now, therefore there is no point to bring something that will be labeled as ‘old’ car again.

The curious thing is, many people in paul tan and other online blogs only know how to shout asking Nasim to bring the real 207 (i.e. 207 hatchback) or/and they will buy it (the ‘real 207’) if it arrive here, but majority of this very people are NATO. No action, Talk only. They wouldn’t be buying it if its ever came here. i am sure of that. These people just do it for their own fun.

Nasim should have better luck bringing in the 408 (which they will, soon).

I bet with the right advertising regime and a bit of luck, the 207 sedan will do just fine.

• Nasai on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Hmm…Naza exporting the 207 to Thailand and soon Indonesia and Brunei. In other words, they’re covering South East Asia region.

I’m curious to know why Singapore is not on the list? Is it that M’sian assembled products do not meet their quality standards requirements and Spore prefer to choose CBU from France itself?

• Paul Tan on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm

The tax brackets and customer mentality in Singapore make it pointless for regional imports… even cars like the Fiesta are straight from Germany in Singapore, despite Thailand being the ASEAN hub for the rest of the countries.

• MoFaz on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:29 pm

interesting :)
        in malaysia, we wanted foreign brands to be cheaper, so they come here to do CKD or we import from Thai. so we get lower quality car (material & built quality), except those from Mercedes and BMW.
        which means, we could demand our car to be coming directly from Japan if we show them that we want the higher grade? why Mitsubishi bring Lancer from Japan instead of Thailand for Malaysia market?

• Notakosong.com on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:21 am

Lets see, well, if they bring the lancer from thailand, then there is no point of buying lancer since we have inspira here. i believe thailand quality more or less the same as malaysia, and i do believe the japs quality far more superior.

so when the bring cbu from japans, thats their selling point.

• High5 on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:22 am

In Malaysia, there will people buy from recond cars because they cheaper but in fact because they are second hand value car which will furnish it like new. And of course new cars are more above price than that… (-:

CKD cars not all are bad because in term of TAX. If CBU the TAX will be higher and CBU otherwise. CKD not all bad because MERC, BMW and other European Cars also have problem of their self (well as you may know malaysia always hot and high on humid) but none were taken becouse were on BMW n Merc country. hehehe

Just in my opinion….

p/s who are greater the inventer or the maker?… hehehe

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

bcoz Mitsubishi sales in ASEAN + worldwide vr poor…unmatched TOYOTA & HONDA & NISSAN… huge demand & sales they need to build ckd in thailand, indonesia & malaysia….so therefore no special reason need for mitsubishi to build CKD here…LANCER sales is damn pity while Civic selling like hotcakes, now Altis take turn(dual vvt-i, 7speed s-cvt)…syphy also monthly sales far better than Lancer just a bit behind Altis…now Proton goes backwards helping them sell their car, engine & parts like old days…all auto manufacturer get improve and able to snatch the dominating japanese car but our TIGER brand goes back to the past like they 1st incorporate in the market…i quite supporting all Tiger brands in malaysia for example Maybank, Esso…haha except Proton….if more than 60k max will not take Proton…40k-55k car still ok lah…i still love TOYOTA vios for comfort still acceptable, reliable less trouble, good fuel consumption, high resale value, brand awareness & popularity…that my point of opinion…i know u, MOFAZ is a crazy Proton car maniac…may be u own some share in proton holding berhad that make u talk this way…

• MoFaz on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:23 pm

why attacking me personally?… and i didn’t even mentioned Proton there, why should you bring Proton into the equation? stupid bashers are all alike.

refer to: http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm
            for 1.8 Lancer, tax for CBU from Thai (asean) = 90%
            tax for CBU from Jap = 120%

Lancer price = RM120k, assume that RM54k is the price without tax (after minus 120% tax, and that’s the price in UAE too). if the same car is coming from Thai, the price will be RM102k (RM18k cheaper). my point is, with the price of about RM100k, Lancer could have beaten Civic and Altis in term of sales here. why they bring CBU from Japan?

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:38 pm

i’m actually a proton lover but only for old saga model that i bought in 1992 still in great condition…i still drive it sometime once in a week…i well maintenance & care it with love…bcoz it is my 1st car…during early 1990an proton car quality is good 100% high quality like the lancer… until today my old saga fuel consumption is the extra the same as the new saga (owned by my bro) for same distant & speed in highway…Dah berumur 2 puluh lebih masih hebat same dengan new generation saga…after own a Toyota camry, Toyota still be the best and less trouble plus good resale value…my opinion Honda car not enough good when compare to Toyota

• west meets east on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:49 am

The Peugeot 207 sedan is a fake car based on 206 SD. Why not tell NASIM locally assemble the real 207 hatchback, wagon or convertible instead? Will American cars like Ford Fiesta sedan to be imported from Mexico to Singapore?

• Tiadaid on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:30 pm

People always said hatchback market in Malaysia’s not that good, likewise wagons. As for convertibles, ask yourself this, how many 206CC did Peugeot sell in Malaysia. Peugeot need a sedan B-segment car to sell to replace the Bestari, and the only sedan B-segment car in it’s line up is the 206 Sedan, so they gussied it up and rename it the 207.

What’s the point of reengineering another car to add a boot if the market’s small like here in Malaysia?

• the real 207 hatchback, as pointed out many times before, will be almost equal in price to the 308vti and peugeot will not allow a situation for both cars to cancel each other out in the market. this is called cannibalisation and they want to avoid it.

• Peugeot Malingsia on Jan 10, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Indonesia also already have 207 hatchback and CC… so the 207 sedan will not go to there for reasons:
        *Indonesians hate Malaysia and call them ‘MALINGSIA’.
        *Indonesians like hatchback and real cars as the sedan 207 is a fake one.
        *The government rebates hatchbacks, add tax to sedans.
        *Good building quality from Europe (especially France) to Singapore and Indonesia
        * Singapore and Indonesia are only two ASEAN country to receive real 207.

Don’t know? Go to website: http://www.peugeotindo.com

• ASEAN on Jan 12, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Fuel prices too expensive in Indonesia let those people choosing hatchback, copycat-ing from Europeans, causes the Toyota Yaris hatchback has oversell its sedan (Yaris sedan/Vios) versions. If Malaysians want to copycat, just wait only for fuel prices raised to RM2.00 or above.

• Ekaf Laer on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Singapore already have the real Peugeot 207.

Why would they want the fake one?

• ur lying bro..just search at their car website oneshift, sgcarmart n pug singapore there is no ori 207 sedan..they have only hatchback n cc only

• Smart Not! on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:45 am

Hey Einstein, you do know the Peugeot 207 sedan is essentially a 206 right?

You just proved the point by stating that they have the hatchback and the coupe cabriolet, which are real 207.

• nighttrain on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

KZM, ur not very smart, are you?
          ‘207 sedan’ is a 12 year old hatch disguised as a new sedan. ‘207 hatch’ is the actual new car. That’s why people question why Nasim is taking two steps back with this model.
          The Peugeot 206 is a supermini (subcompact car), manufactured by the French automaker Peugeot from 1998 to 2010.- Wikipedia
          In Europe, it’s stopped production already…

• aiyoo…that 1 i know la..i do read from ur source n other multiple sources also before commenting.i just response to the commenter above bout 207 sedan in lion city..do am correct or not….i am not very smart but not stupid

• hmmm, the 207 or 206+ is not a fake car. a fake car is when it is built by a manufacturer and made to look like another brand. something like what chinese brands do like making look-alike fiat pandas, look-alike smart for 2s etc. without permission. those are fake cars.

the 207 or 206+ is a product produced and endorsed by peugeot and eventhough they have a 207 hatch built on another platform, they chose to extend the 207 model range to not only the hatch, the cc, the sw but also add in this 207 sedan… which was formerly a 206 sedan. so, in actual fact, it is not a fake. merely an extension of a model variant. in countries like south america and the middle east where they don’t have the 207 hatch due to the taxation making it equal to the 308 in price, the 206 based 207 allows peugeot to maintain their presence in the segment as in malaysia.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:46 am

There’s no such thing as Malaysian quality, French quality, etc., hence no way cars produced in Malaysia don’t meet Singaporean “quality standards requirements”, whether real or imagined.

There are only Peugeot global quality standards. They’ve got French team members stationed permanently in Gurun to make sure of this.

NAM get double audited by Kia Motors AND Automobiles Peugeot. There’s a CMM (Coordinate Measuring Machine) which measures one welded bodyshells in every batch to ensure compliance with reference dimensions.

• shawal on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:02 pm

It doesn’t look like a proper sedan nor a hatchback , should appeal to the lady boys up north there…

• laluan sehala on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:59 pm

it does look like a proper sedan. it is just that you are too used to looking at its hatchback sibling. maybe you should look and stare at the car a little longer to get used to it.

• Yes, they will never use ‘low class’ cars from neigbours…

• E Bear on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm

This is the way Proton should have taken a long time ago………..

Although not the latest offering by Peugeot, it isn’t such a bad total package with really comfy seats even Camry doesn’t come close…..go n try first then comment.

Modern headlights and Isofix mounts………auto wiper for this class of car? ….quite unexpected.

• manU supporter on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

actually the car was not the bad, the problem with us is the concern of after sales services, spare parts availability, spare parts costings, ah beng requirement good pick up !!!, services. I kind like the front design n the interior (feel comfy) but the rear seat is sorry to said totally out for me (170cm tall) !!!!!!!!!

• how many car can have rear seat comfortably for 170cm ppl?

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:21 pm

well, not in the ‘b’ segment anyway

• laluan sehala on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:58 pm

aisay, check the fiesta out as well, they are both at mid valley today and tomorrow. both can’t fit a height of 170cm without needing the person to crouch or slouch a little. btw, the fiesta does not have grab handles at the back. this is not good as i normally carry lots of clothes that need hanging at the back.

• SoMeOnE on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:50 am

until a certain extent i agree with brother inter milan’s comments..our market is very ‘unique’ in a sense we tend not to judge the popular makes (e.g toyota,honda) but when some new player comes around with a ‘asean’ product..we get upset. for example…the toyota rush and hilux(before it got the new engine very recently) are very very underwhelming products..( the former is using suspensions tech from the 90s people!..and the latter … 100 hp.for a truck..seriously??) and because there was a big T in the front..it sold like those roti boys buns use to sell a few years back!…well i have tested this car our or sheer curiosity and its obvious its a region engineered product…the good news is…we can expect Peugeot to produce better cars locally as they gel further wit naza and one day who knows?..we may be able to get the latest tech that they can offer(prince engines, top notch interiors) for prices of the competing jap car..its not a bad product by any means beacause they are just providin us wit tech what the popular makes provide us with for the segment..

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:54 pm

What would make or break Peugeot is Naza.

If they can back thier products up with good aftersales and resonable parts, they have made it. (Listen there Naza Kia).

Technology isn’t an issue. Naza Kia has shown that they have access to Kia’s latest models, even if they are just bumper CKDs.

Good things should come from Peugeot if Naza can play its cards right.

With people keeping cars at least 10 years or more “depreciation” itself isn’t really an issue with these conti anymore….but cost of maintenance will.

What causes the poor resale value isn’t really just depreciation outright, but the cost of maintenance. If Naza gets the maintenance part resonably well, depreciation should level off.

I mean, in the same boat, the problems with Volvo isn’t that the car is bad. Its because Federal Auto made (and still is making) a complete mess of the brand.

• well, the first few services are quite cheap as i found out. service intervals are 10,000km so this means less visits to the car doctor.

10,000km at rm170
        20,000km at rm225
        30,000km at rm225
        40,000km at about rm580 (can’t remember this exactly)

if 1 year = 20,000km, then it works out to being a pretty affordable first 2 years. this is easily lower than their higher end models and no where close to them.

dare not ask more or the service guy may think i am competitor checking out the service prices! :D

• laluan sehala on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:55 pm

AE,

those prices are for the 206. i believe the 207 should be slightly higher due to it being a 1.6 instead of 1.4. in any case, i doubt it will be tragically high. perhaps 5% – 10% more than the 206? just speculating here.

• azrai on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:08 am

Good for the economy actually. bring more tomyam money into Malaysia. The GDp of Thailand already shrinking for two years in a row now. Yesterday’s economic report. Paul, please cover the story of Porsche reducing their whole range of cars prices from RM30k-Rm120k due to strenghtening of our Ringgit against other currencies. It should open our eyes and other car manufacturer should emulate this.

• Tiadaid on Nov 25, 2010 at 5:52 am

Really? Porsches already have big profit margins I supposed, which is why they are able to do so.

• nighttrain on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:31 am

basically it’s 12 year old technology. why? with this car, we’re thrown back to 1998. reminds me of proton mentality.

• yseng on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:57 am

12 yrs old technology still can compete with new Honda City and Toyota Vios. Interesting :P

• John Deep on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Exactly, I am driving a 12 years old french car, cum with airbags and ABS, price is slightly expensive than vios or city. So vios and city is a 12 years old technology?

• nolan on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:13 am

its a weird looking car…….look nice if uncle MoFaz driving it……

• stigosaurus on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

One touch of the door handle you can feel how flimsy it is. Not to mention the cheap looking boot facade. What a disappointment and misleading campaign by NAZA..

• so, what you’re saying is the campaign led you to believe that the car was more than what you actually saw?

• bobdbilder on Nov 25, 2010 at 2:07 am

Personally. It is a disappointment. The French have sold out. They sold out to get better market share. More money, They butchered a car, slapped it with fat and wants to sell these beasts to us. Its not art. Its not culture. It is a piece of meat. Cold.

You look at a Citroen C3. A C5.. A Picasso. A 406. A 407. Then look at this.

They want to sell to us practical sedans without making a whole hearted effort. So be it. I hope they are proud of themselves.

• Ah Fook on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:16 am

It’s fooking ugly!!!

Not worth the money.

• on the road, it is not fooking uglylah. it is just bad in pictures. really unphotogenic.

• This is a fantastic car. I am going to buy it next month. What other choice do I have?? City or Vios are more expensive and offer less equipment.

• The new Ford Fiesta is also more expensive and offers less equipment. Moreover, fiesta would not sell in Malaysia as much as Peugeot, as they dont have a base. peugeot has a base which is expanding, news service centres and more 3S dealership is coming up. I see a good future for Peugeot, thats why I am buying it.

• vw beetle on Jan 06, 2011 at 6:09 pm

This Peugeot is ugly, the Ford Fiesta beats it for style and global marketing. Very ugly-ish car, I don’t buy it.