Peugeot 207 launched – CKD, 1.6L, estimated RM72,888

UPDATE: The RM72,888 OTR with insurance price quoted here is an estimate pending approval. We will update you on the confirmed pricing when it’s out.

We’re reporting live from Putrajaya, where ex-PM Tun Dr Mahathir has just unwrapped the Peugeot 207 moments ago. Officially, they’re calling the car just 207 without the ‘Sedan’ in the name, although this isn’t the same car as the B-segment 207 supermini sold in Europe, but a booted version of the 206 with the marque’s family feline face. Assembled at Naza’s Gurun plant, the 207 is estimated to be priced at RM72,888 OTR including insurance.

Powered by a DOHC 16-valve 1.6-litre engine with 110 bhp and 147 Nm of torque produced from 4,000 rpm, the 207 uses a 4-speed automatic gearbox with Tiptronic. This isn’t the 1.6-litre Prince engine in found in the 308, but the figures are a big upgrade from the 206 Bestari’s 75 bhp/120 Nm. An approximate top speed of 180 km/h is possible, according to the official brochure. Claimed fuel consumption is 6.1 litres per 100 km.

Size wise, the 207 measures 4,235 mm long, 1,699 mm wide and 1,447 mm tall. To give you an idea on where these figures stand, a Toyota Vios is 65 mm longer than the Peugeot, equally as wide at 1.7 metres but sits 13 mm lower. The 207’s 2,443 mm wheelbase is unchanged from the 206 hatchback and is shorter than the Vios’. That big boot holds up to 420 litres of cargo and the rear seats split fold 60:40.

The suspension consists of MacPherson struts up front and a torsion beam at the rear, while the brakes are ventilated discs in front coupled with rear drums. ABS, EBD and Emergency Brake Assist are standard along with dual front airbags (passenger’s airbag can be deactivated). Those with young children will be happy to find two ISOFIX points in the rear seats. The wheels are 15-inch items wrapped with 185/60 Kumho tyres.

Equipment wise, this entry level Peugeot comes with things like automatic air con, auto headlights and wipers, MP3 stereo with Bluetooth, USB and AUX input, trip computer, leather steering and an “instrument panel made by luxury watchmaker Jaeger”. That’s quite a lot of kit for the price.

True to Peugeot’s promise of making Malaysia its regional right-hand drive manufacturing hub, the 207 will be exported to Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei and Sri Lanka. Domestically, Nasim aims to sell 5,000 to 6,000 units of the 207 next year.

We’ve driven the 207 already! Read the review and view the gallery here. Live gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1662]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kevin on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:07 pm

Price tag not too bad.

• the ladies not bad as well

• anonymous on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:59 am

somebody in the photo doesnt look too happy

• With the price 72k but technology and design are 12 years old, you didn’t read wiki right?
      Same dashboard, same interior, exterior.

Who want it? I didn’t support other car maker. But, Naza, are you just plain ignorance and just want to make out of money?

12 years old car man…It’s like renewing wira..hahah.

• Firdaus Rosli on Nov 05, 2010 at 2:00 pm

The Peugeot 207 is unveiled on January 2006. It is an already 5-year model, not 12 years as mentioned at the comment above. Which page of Wikipedia are you referring to?

I am referring to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peugeot_207

• check out this link. This is the car that just has a new moniker

http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/peugeot-206-sedan.aspx

Still to have this fuel consumption is not a bad point. its just the price that needs to come down some.

• Rovert on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:09 pm

I like this even thought I don’t. At first I thought this car wouldn’t sell given the competition in the price bracket. But looks like the kit on the car will help to push more sales through. Good strategy.

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:37 pm

naza is not targeting us but actually they want to be hub for peugoet for south east asia region. this model is just the beginning.

target of selling 500 units in a year is reasonable, average of 42 units a month. its not easy to achieve but this what sales & markeitng is all about. you dont set target, you dont do business at all.

in order to sell in ASEAN, first the cars must be cheap, and with economical engines. naza can assemble 1,000 units a month (LHD & RHD) and may have sold all units to to thailand, indonesia, philiphine, singapore and others. no need to bother on opinions here.

actually, naza need not worry os pitting this 207 against vios and inspira. it has its own kia forte to worry about which is head-to-head with the 207 in terms of pricing but not size wise.

• jolly_idiot on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:12 pm

I wonder who will buy this? It looks cheap! With that price tag, it just can’t compete with Vios J.

• Tiadaid on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:29 pm

You get more for that amount in the Pug than the Vios J! Your name truly fits you.

• ultraman on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:10 am

yeah !
        gotta agree with u dude…
        this car price tag n the package that it comes with pawn vios j anytime..
        i’m starting to like the way naza is taking the malaysian automotive industry for the people…and not only for their pocket..not like some japanese company..
        CKD also wanna put so high price..than blame proton for everything…pfft…

• manU supporter on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:13 am

both vios and 207 design have their own pro and con, but in temp of fuel consumption vios may be offer more better fuel consumption. But 207 offer more equipments at quite attractive price !!!!!!!!!! So let the wise end user choose which the best suit them !!!!!!!!!!!!

• gotta give you a thumb down for who you support

• How u know vios have the better FC while u not even own a 207? thumb down for u.

• Firdaus Rosli on Nov 05, 2010 at 2:10 pm

How do you know that Vios offered a better fuel consumption? For me this issue is very subjective, but the figures are showing that their FC is almost the same.

Toyota Vios: 14.3km/l

Peugeot 207 (the hatchback model): 16.1km/l

Who can tell that the Vios is more fuel-efficient? Those are plain perceptions.

• 14.3km/l is only in city lar bro,in highway can clog more than 17km/l lar,
            and that figure for Peogeot is maintaining 100km/h to achieve.
            You are not understanding the situation and you totally believe in it.Manufacuter’s claim is always higher than the actual one.

• jimpasey on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:02 am

couldn’t agree more with jolly, this pug is one serious ugly cheap looking car…. vios way better lolz…

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 2:58 am

You should get a Vios.

• normal_user on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:09 am

Even the top of the line Vios S doesn’t have automatic aircon.

Why some people dare to compare this Pug with Vios? Although its ‘old’, but its engineering and dynamics is years ahead of the Japs, even the current ones.

• handsome*dude on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:02 am

Tiadaid well said….. you are truly the jolly idiot ~

• rulered on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:58 am

Vios J is an empty car with same price tag of more than 70k, are you that brand bias dude?

• vios j is kosong car. just a shell and an engine with wheels. but if they like it, then they buy it. for those who can see past it, then they decide to buy something more substantial. and, yes, in malaysia, the majority is brand biased due to the herd instinct!

• Anoher Average Joe Malaysian on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:50 am

Hahaha….this dude is obviously being sarcastic lah…lighten up u guys. Anybody in the right mind cannot even start to compare this with a Vios J. Engine capacity & Internal accessory already beat the Vios J anytime.

Single Din CD Player, Manual Air-con and (best of all) Steel rims better than this? Hahaha….u’re having a laugh.

• mailsak on Nov 22, 2010 at 12:20 am

maybe pug 207 design look alike a 2nd dugong after vios…but pug complete with better brain n power…

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:13 pm

With this price, it’s hard to tell whether this will sell well or not…just wait and see how many this car will be on the road later on..

• Anti Proton on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:15 pm

it is even uglier than i thought. give us the real 207 please =(

• Vlakin on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:50 pm

kereta ni macam terangkat sikit.. like innova.. you can see under the car. without going under.. lol

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 2:59 am

The Euro 207 hatch would cost closer to RM100k.

• @Chuck, why not locally assemble/produce the (real) current 207?

Same way Ford builds the “current” Fiesta in Thailand.

• anggu on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:36 am

Peogeot ‘s207 designer .!!!!!!
      lol…….come out with the fantastic design ,please
      llol!!!!

• Peugeot Malingsia on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Go to Indonesia and buy 207 hatch.

• nah, add rm15-20k for inspira

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:08 pm

if you can afford it, then go ahead. nobody stopping you.

• FindBrum on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:06 pm

@spli

Lol.So when you are considering Inspira,will you say better add 10-15K for Civic?

• saki77 on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:18 pm

If they’re using the 206+ interior it will much much more better….but at least this one got the auto climate control…. :)

• p1hater on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Amazing price. good car. i love it that we are going to get choices, no more forces to choose between vios and city.
    2 cons – butt really ugly and why 4 speed only.

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:12 pm

well, sometimes, we can’t have it all. there will always be pros and cons. it is just unfortunate that it was born with a butt like j lo’s ;) but if you look past the butt, it is a really competent car with pretty high specs for the price. engine is super reliable and easy to maintain with no funny electronics. so, in the long run it will be cheaper to own than its more advanced competitors. yes, i do agree and accept that the competitors are having more advanced powerplants but there is also a big portion of the public that actually prefers something reliable and simple and more importantly, easy on the pocket.

• Desmond on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:16 am

i drive before this car, even 4 speed, becoz of the tiptronic gearbox, is have good feel and powerful… sure better thn vios… if wat i test , and wat i feel …

• endre on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:22 pm

wow… that’s cheap!

• kingkong on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Nais!

• TheForce on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Wow.The market is getting so competitive these days which is Good! This car looks cheaper than RM70K. Persona would be a better value in my opinion.

• zimba on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:58 am

yea.. one look at it people will only think it’s same price at persona only ma.. No people will ever think it’s priced at rm70k.. abit over priced for CKD la…

• I agree.The dashboard simply looks to cheap and simple design.Honestly,Viva or Saga dashboard looks better than this.You can’t even add a two din player on this dashboard. French cars are sensitive and hard to locate for spare parts.
        Only the girls are not bad. :D

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:15 pm

i’d like to add here. it is easier to manufacture a straight lined dashboard than one with curves so, more thought has been put into designing the dash of the 207 than the viva, saga, the myvi or even the polo which is straight lines all the way. but the fiesta’s dash is well designed but sadly, the material used is of poorer quality than the 207’s.

• FindBrum on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:05 pm

@laluan Sehala,

What makes you think the dashboard of Fiesta is poorer than this 207’s? I’ve seen Fiesta in the shopping mall and it was not bad at all.
            Better simple design but nice than opposite.

• @FindBrum

because i have seen both cars, test driven both of then and knocked them hard to see how they sound. hollow or solid. honestly, i agree the fiesta’s looks good but it isn;t aas solid as it should be. same for the plastics inside.

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:55 pm

both cars are good. one looks better but the other is better made. it is easy for others to think the 207’s dash looks cheap because they are familiar with it. as the fiesta’s dash is new, it is also very easy to assume that it is of better quality. have a look at both of them as i have. i have also checked out the polo’s and of the three, the polo is of the best quality and the fiesta has the best design but in terms of quality, the fiesta, imho has thinner plastics than the 207.

• 908HY4 on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

findbrum,

the fiesta that was showed at the shopping mall before the malaysian launch is a singapore spec unit that was not made in thailand but in germany. please check out the fiesta in your local ford showroom today. you will find that the soft touch dashboard is gone and in its place, one that is just hard plastic.

if you want to feel the soft touch version again, go check out the german made fiesta sold in singapore.

• Ishqal on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:32 pm

ugly car………..;p

• Protong Owner on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Dr M attending the Naza Peugeot launch!!?!?!?!?!? Where is his dream for Protong? This car is directly against the Waja-Lancer? OMG!

• triple 2 on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:43 pm

common bashers…no respect for others …again…

• Protong Owner on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:06 am

I am supporting Dr M so far, and driving my Proton from Saga to Waja, now looking to upgrade, and felt a bit confused why he is suddenly here? so my next car should be Inspira or 207? since the monthly payment gap is very little.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:29 pm

As expected,this is one example of typical basher.

• directly competitive ? :D

• anon joe on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:31 pm

proton mamak next?

• Kevin Lee on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:34 pm

id assume people would toss more money for the inspira, this 207 came a bit too late from naza, just too bad!

no one is gonna buy a rebadged 206 stretched into a sedan

• kaskas_pepper on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:37 pm

may i say naza use a cheap material?few mth ago my bestari suddenly the engine broke and need to replace for halfcut from ori peagot, 1 set of engine.. the mechanic in peagot SC said the material in naza’s engine and ori peagot’s engine is diffrent.he said, in his bengkel, few bestari model dats same with me got same problem with me..but the ori model from peagot never had that problem..
    now hard for me to trust the naza brand bcoz i already got a victim of it brand.my bestari got too much problem even it just 3yrs old..

• paragon on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:35 pm

sorry to hear that bro..that’s real bad..was it still under warranty?
      unbelieveable…yes althought it is obvious NAZA downgrade many of their peugeot parts to local parts but I thought at least they would leave the engine ori…hmmm…

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:38 pm

yeah.. i doubt what kaskas mentioned above. it doesn’t make sense. Naza only plan to sell 6000 unit next year.
        production cost for engine is not cheap, and for such a small volume, Naza will end up paying more to produce the engine here rather than importing it direct from Peugeot.
        wish that someboody in the know could clarify though…

• kaskas_pepper on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:41 am

sadly, the 3yrs waranty just for 3yrs..and that is ended on last feb, while my car engine damage on may..so it not covered by waranty and i was spend another 7K for halfcut engine..

• how can naza produce their own engine? common sense la wei.

so, naza also produce the 1.6 turbo prince engine( use in mini cooper S) ?

come on. naza put on badge and tyre only. You must be a proton salesman an a patriotic one. hahahaha

• zimba on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:56 pm

GOOD one 5555!!!
          So Naza dont build an engine~!!! PUG engine itself is sucks~!! The PUG Bengkel man is just trying to cover up~~

• Farhat n his crv on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm

No la, what he means is the engine hub is from pug, but connections, pipes and external wiring mostly are nazas to cut the cost down. It’s those things u can get off the Malaysian market easily.they would have to pay more for import. Although it’s still a rebadge, the car is assembled in msianby parts like Lego.

U can say why the transformers Lego in Denmark can withstand longer than a small Lego kit done by a kid in Malaysia..its imported but touched by different people with different skills.

• yamseng on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:10 pm

yes. their engine block made from plastic. this is true although it look like a metal. here is malaysia we have abundance of plastics since we use it daily and then throw it away. they bought in bundles from waste management company and recycle it to produce engine… but internal source said now they have shortage of supply in klang valley since saturday is no plastic bag day.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:40 am

That’s not funny.

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:16 pm

hey, chill chuck, that was a joke by yamseng! :D quite funny too.

• paragon on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:07 pm

HAHAHAHA!!! a good one yamseng.

no chuck actually i thought that’s real funny..if you get the sarcasm la.
        come on paultan.org is not only for listening to what bashers have to say and what basher’s bashers have to say.
        sometimes we could use a sarcastic joke like this to spice up the comment log.

• handsome*dude on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:05 am

always remember… NAZA sucks… but the cars they carry not ~

• u sure or not…..unlike produa they just change badge only……or u has been con by the mechanic

• Desmond on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:30 am

this is peugeot car lol… sparepart all is from peugeot not naza… naza juz take peugeot sparepart and install it at malaysia…

• ka_one2000 on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:38 pm

are they gonna bring the 206 Plus to Malaysia?

• zimba on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:41 pm

wa~ shorter yet taller then a dugong vios??

• jeneral poyo on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:42 pm

nice…. the price war begins….. bubuy vios……

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:01 pm

No, I beg to differ. It’s bye bye Pug 207. How many Bestari 206 cars do you see on the road over the last 5 years?

• le pug on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:06 am

That is because the 206 was priced to high u dimwit !!!!

• Anoher Average Joe Malaysian on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:55 am

Can’t help but agree with you Honda Power. My friend has a Naza Bestari 206. One time, she called me for help cos her batt died. To make long story short, we found out that the 206’s battery is unique to it and u cannot simply just use another battery. We almost shorted the ECU. Hehe….so yeah, i hope this doesn’t use the same type of “unique” batteries.

• retro on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:22 am

nope. mine uses a regular battery and so far, close to a year oredi. when my batt died, i called the toll free number, they quoted me a local batt of about rm240 i think. then the guy came in about 15 mins and i changed it. so far, it has been serving me well.

• kaskas_pepper on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:46 am

yes..dats true..last time i got battery prob with my bestari, when goin replace, the battery shop charge me for $2++ coz of that ‘unique’…while my new CRV’s battry just only worth $180!!

• ka_one2000 on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:04 am

What is so unique about the battery? heheheee… i thought all batteries are the same, only for continental they use DIN design and Japan they use NS design.

• wan_knox on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:53 am

hahahaha!! do not mention Naza Sutera.. it will slowly kills you

• Anoher Average Joe Malaysian on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:55 pm

I’m not sure why also but it is true. We went high and low looking for a battery to suit the car. Finally gave up and called the toll-free number and this unker came. Nice and polite guy but he “scolded” us for messing with the battery and told us to call the toll free number next time cos once u remove the batt they have to recalibrate the ECU and whatever lah.. I don’t remember cars being so difficult to maintain. Haha…

Oh, and an ex-colleague of mine also experience the same battery problem with her 206. She and her husband spent half the day just getting a battery to start the car after she left the lights on all night. Haha…didn’t ask whether it’s the same deal I experienced or not but should be along those lines lah. Haha…

• isn’t the ECU can be programmable by itself?

• bought 2 times aam batts , maintenance free rm200 per batt, ok that’s for members only

• Have to agree with Honda Power and Anoher Average Joe Malaysian… It’s not just about the price, it’s about the after sales and total cost of ownership.

This sets things apart in the Malaysian automotive market. The cheaper the spare parts (and longer lasting), the easier the maintenance, the higher the resale value, the more people would buy. Malaysians are all too familiar with low sticker price and horrendous maintenance cost.

Just my 2 cents.

Peace.

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Proton advisor launched Naza/Peugeot car. Something’s not right here.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:02 am

He wasn’t there as a Proton advisor and Nasim didn’t invite him as a Proton advisor.

• Seriouslyy.. on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:29 pm

What makes you say so? The fancy air-con?

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Vios is about 3-4000 unit per month here
      Naza only target 500 per month.

they know who they’re competing with.

• retro on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:24 am

MoFaz,

you are totally correct. they know the competition so what’s the point of going against them. no point even talking about it. 500 target is realistic.

if they say 1000 units a month then i would assume they want to compete but at 500? c’mon, it is status quo and there’s no point even talking about it.

• rosdi on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:42 pm

2 words.., fugly.

• kiddd on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Look like Vios Dugong to me..

• agogogo on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:48 pm

European Dugong Powaaah….

• Good price.Better if even cheaper.

• New old car ? sad..

• fezal on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:01 pm

like a toy car.. nothing special

• Car lover on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Nice car ,and affordable price.

• David on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:15 pm

The bad parts first. Some of the ergonomics, especially those power window switches are awful, the looks may not appeal to all, and it’s based off the old 206.

But, as we look past these shortcomings, it’s a surprisingly fun car to drive, thanks to the agile chassis, good NVH, a chock-ful of kit that would make the Vios look horrible value, and, a competitive price.

No surprises if T & H fanboys would rant about how awful this car looks, crap here, rubbish there. Well, i guess they’re missing out on what’s a pretty good car that can embarass it’s rivals on a thing or two, despite it’s age.

• Seriouslyy.. on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Wld you be getting one?

• Seriouslyy.. on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Sorry Typo L&G, meant to say: Wld u be getting one?

• David on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:43 am

No, unfortunately, as i couldn’t wait for it to come, and i needed a car already since the start of this year, so i settled for an Accent, the current MC model. Am loving the ride, handling and the comfort, but definitely not the pointless bodykit and fuel consumption, at 10km/L !!!!!

• shawal on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Better get a saga, in fact, get two Sagas while your at it…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Nah save rm 6000 and get a 1.8 Inpira Manual. That makes more sense

• umnosukapitnah on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:19 pm

good price from Naza!…with a spec that puts toyota altis 1.6 to shame!..comes with auto aircond too!

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:51 pm

it makes me wonder… is it really hard to adjust the normal aircond?
      why bother with auto aircond? it’s like those electric powered seats which you can adjust easily, but how many time do you adjust your seat? everytime?
      these features are nice to have, but may become redundant and would increase the price unnecessarily. it would be much better if they could install more safety features rather than ‘gimmicks’.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:42 am

So you’re saying you’d prefer to pay the same price but MINUS those features? Don’t get it. Safety features are already there.

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:13 pm

nope, minus the features, and minus the price. we don’t really need it

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:39 pm

no minus the features, add more safety features

• Desmond on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:43 am

yes, i agree… already very safety with this 207, front n back anti roll bar, 2 unit airbag, and 1 is cantrol airbag… body is also hard… how much safety tht u imagig?

• drMpower on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:38 pm

why hes the one doing the launching? i thought it would be a very ironic moment when someone advisor to our own automobile company of which having to withstand such great ‘assault’ from manufacturers doing CKD here, launching what may be a rival model to his company hes now advising…?

the term ‘assault’ i meant the more and more exciting models and great designs. plus the market sharing shrinking/ well maybe hes there because maybe naza want to gracefully show thank you to him.

back to the car

some things are not meant to be. for example this elongated 207. the small version was the daddy of hatchbacks or if not the one, it was one of the great guys. but this one, looks lumpy,odd, overhanged, and unattractive. all at the same time. i guess thats my summarization on this model.

they are actually at war with vios J spec of which of course a basic model. but compare this to J spec, the toyota wins.

• he doesnt even know where he is and what he is saying most of the time

• Hi drMpower,

Please use a language u r familiar with. thanks!

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:00 am

people still love him. he stepped down 7 years ago and we still see him everywhere. compared to pak lah, who disappeared just like that :)
      i believe he acted as Proton advisor for free (somebody correct me if I’m wrong), just because proton is his brainchild, and just like any parent, they also would give advice if necessary :)
      peace!

• yes. he’s the advisor for PROTON for free. true story.

looking at the pug..i wonder is that the power window switch on the floor console? so weird all 4 switch at the center..this might be a cheap car with a few extra gadgets, but i just can’t stand to look at the interiors..outdated radio, aircond switch and just look at that instrument panel..EXTRA large gear indicators!

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:45 am

Maybe the others just have extra small gear indicators? The radio I thought was pretty wild for an OE unit. Large knobs and indicators are signs of OE stuff, small stuff is very ‘aftermarket’. Having the switches at the centre means having shorter wiring looms. We must bear in mind that this is an entry level European car.

• In the old days, ALL power window switches were on the centre console because it meant less wiring in the car and lower cost because you do not need one set of switches for the driver and another one for each specific power window.

With power window switches located at the centre console, everyone can access it :)

• And yet when the Wira had the window controls at the same place nobody batted an eyelid.

And yet when the 1980s Lancer kept being shoved at us up to 2005, we all took it in.

If I look at this car objectively, you get a lot of metal for the dough. Yes its a tad old if you look at the 206 base model, but then again for the target market it doesn’t really matter. If this car doesn’t sell well it would most probably be beacuse of badge image.

Peugeots are lovely cars in Europe, but in Malaysia after Asia Motors and then bloody MBf ravaged the brand, it was always going to be uphill. But I like NAZA’s approach to business. They believe in investing.

Today they are the region’s assembler for Pugs. This can only mean better times for the Malaysian consumer as they will eventually be assembling newer models, offering continental feel at non-continental price.

That is laudable. I can’t wait for the RCZ!

• wow.. lot of choices..

• it is vry well priced considering the equipments,good job naza

but i still can’t get over the weird design especially the rear….even the vios look better

• jimmyc on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:47 pm

where is the crash test rating? 5 star NCAP like other peugeot?

• I am not actually a 207 on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:16 pm

This car isn’t sold in Europe, so no NCAP crash test rating.

• Its based on the old 206 hatchback which was sold in Europe.
        All they did was add a trunk, and to update it, they just grafted the new-style Peugeot grill to make it a “207”.

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:08 pm

The interior looks outdated…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Disappointing pricing considering this is a Extinct model revived. They should have just brought in the 207 hatch instead.

• Malaysia build car only to earn money… remember that.

• Dude, everybody sells things to make money la. What kind of idiot statement is that.

• hahahaha, i like your comment! maybe ‘Name’ goes into business to lose money!! :D

• @BeemerFreak,
      True, they should have locally assembled/produced the current 207, the same way Ford produces the current Fiesta in Thailand.

• Just remember to change the KUMHO powerstar 967 tyres (MADE IN CHINA) immediately after you get the car. The pricing $72,888 is already good in price so changing a new set of tyre shouldn’t be a prob… ;)

Now the pricing made this car worth it. :)

• I am not actually a 207 on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:17 pm

The whole car itself is made in China.

You know that right?

• drMpower on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:40 pm

aye?

made in china?

i thought it is made at Naza’ Gurun plant…?

• yup, it’s been there in China for quite sometime, same as current Fiesta. It’s been ‘laughed’ by Chinese on Chinese themselves – those driving Fiesta towards 207 Sedan…

However, as mentioned, this is CKD here.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:47 am

But it IS cheaper than a Fiesta, you’ve gotta admit.

• Nobody is not admitting it is not cheaper than fiesta in MY.

It is, and now the price justifies its ‘presence’ in M’sia B-segment market, at least not “overpriced, overrated…” that kind of comments you see in almost every post. :)

• you also know it is made in other countries as well right?

• If the tyres are also made in China, does that mean we are getting an “SKD” version of the 207 sedan? Trust Naza to do this.

• In the other thread, I’d mentioned these tyres last for only about 40K. And they easily get out-of-shape! How I know? Becoz I’ve used them before! As soon as 2 became that, I changed all 4 (+1) tyres to Malaysia made Goodyear!

• ukenakonek on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:23 pm

This is such an awkward looking car. The Ford Fiesta sedan, another awkward looking car, is better packaged. Ex-City, current Vios, Mazda 2 sedan….hmmm….looks like awkward is trendy.

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Enough said. This car is ugly and it has a weird shape. At this price, it will lose to Vios J in terms of sales because Vios J is around this price. I am sure people will prefer Vios J over this crap. Peugeot 207 is shorter, lower and narrower than Honda City. It only has 4 speed auto compared to City’s 5 speed auto with Shift Hold Control. There’s no way it can compete with mighty City. City 1.5 i-VTEC max hp is 120, Peugeot 207 1.6 max hp is only 110 This car won’t affect the sales of City in any way.

• ultraman on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:29 am

at first u compare everything to toyota then comes to gear u put honda in the comparison??
      what kind of comparison is that for a start..
      btw..
      it has more torque than the city and it achieve it at a lower rpm…also even the 110hp is less than the city yet it is achieve at a lower rpm too…thus making it better engine wise to city…most people nowadays drive in town anyways…
      it’s all about the torque and also when the power is achieve…
      that’s y vios pawn city eventho it has dugong face…

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Proton Persona H Line looks nicer and is much cheaper than this cartoon car!

• rexis on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:40 am

Ever wonder why is it much cheaper? Proton should shout big about being the cheapest same class then.

• ericten on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:43 pm

some would like the exterior.. those who hate it just hate the tail
    interior wise..i think that it’s a little outdated but at least we don’t get the “cheap” looking kind of plastics on the vios dugong and mazda2 here.. i mean it looks more solid..
    impressive for the price.. if this engine is reliable then it’ll surely beats the dugong flat

• Its not the cheapest European badged car, technically the Ford Fiesta is at rm69k. Ford Europe and Ford US are diffrent

I find the stretched 206 concept just too dated to be able to stand up to newer offerings like the Mazda 2 and Fiesta.

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Only one thing good about 207. The body is solid.

• nighttrain on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:11 pm

we can’t move forward if we keep on taking backward steps like selling old stock as if it were a modern, safe car. If it ain’t a Prince engine, what the heck is it then? Why aren’t they giving a reason for using a China made engine? Even Proton’s instrument panel is made by Tag Heuer.. and don’t get me started on tacking a boot to a 206 and calling it a 207.. Should have left this car in China and brought in the real 207 and sell it at the same price bracket as Fiesta..
    But the sedan culture of Malaysians interfere in the decision making process, innit?

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:08 am

Proton instrument panel by TAG Heuer? Whatever you’re smoking, I want some too.

• chuck, he meant FAG heuer maybe.

• anti-first on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:20 pm

hey chuck, don’t hog a good thing…pass the smoke, dude.

* quietly pondering on proton’s tag heuer ‘instrument panel’ *

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:54 pm

hahah.. I knew it, that’s the only point you were gonna retort to. C’mon Chuck, summore good comebacks on the rest of my comment.. Just love the way you’re championing the car as if it were an actual Euro machine.
          It’s actually a Euro Dugong. That’s the new namesake I’m gonna give it heh.. Laughing stock in China.. where’s my fag……

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Rolex dials, now wouldn’t THAT be something?

• Status Quo on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:16 pm

There are those out there who’re predicting this will overtake vios and city sales figures, and the good people out there will buy this instead of a Vios or a City. IMHO, it’ll be status quo. But I guess time will tell !

• fantausy on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Ok, I’m for sure the time will tell. If this can happen, then when the launch of 206, it already should overtake lor…

• definitely it will be status quo. and for a long time too. you are right that malaysians will prefer to stick with the herd instinct and go the same way. sadly, nobody appreciates the fact that peugeot is offering an alternative product and in doing so, making it a better environment for the buyer. imagine a street full of the same car. boring isn’t it? at least with this car around, the competitors can have some excitement poking fun at it.

i have said before, this car is not going to be a big number player. the main business will still centre around the 308. this is just a niche model for those who dare to take up the challenge.

• PakatanRakyat on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:22 pm

For me this is ugly car.. better buy Inspira with MIVEC engine 1.8 with 79K

• wait for the 2011 VW Jetta better ya =)

• laluan sehala on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:53 pm

the jetta is probably going to be more than 2 times the price of this car lah. what are you talking about? you don’t make sense. you are not even comparing the car to the ones in the same category.

• elite on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:44 pm

looks like it can’t sell in China so naza help to clear stock here..

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:09 am

What kind of juvenile statement is that?

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:05 pm

can we also say the fiesta cannot sell in us and europe and no choice, have to assemble in thailand and then sell here? come on, this is busines lah. maybe after your spm, take up a business management course and learn more before making juvenile statements like this.

• this car shd be here 5 yrs ago… enuff said…
    now we are waiting for the true 207 or even the next 208…

in this IT age now, many of non-car purists also know that this interior is too outdated alrdy… no fresh air or excitement when sit inside at all…

• Lim Kopi on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:56 pm

DEAR ALL ,

I may not be Jeremy Clarkson but, as far as the layman can see, for this price tag –

Spec & drivability wise, u are much better off with either a Mazda 2 or Fiesta ….

Since ALL – Pug / Ford / Mazda have terrible resale , so u might as well settle with the FIESTA ….

• MoFaz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:30 pm

agreed… fiesta is very tempting.. the real hot hatch :)

• u mean fiesta 1.4 manual steel wheel with driver airbag only or 1.6 sport auto?

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:24 pm

i think he means the hatch which is properly specced but then it is a hatch and the 207 is a sedan and the fiesta hatch is almost 10k more. the fiesta sedan well pckaged? well, it depends whether or not safety is important to the buyer.

• Yes, Fiesta would be a better choice, if 207 potential buyers can let go Automatic Climate control, auto headlight/wiper and passenger air-bag…

Booked Fiesta on its 2nd day of launching. :)

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 3:02 pm

the fiesta hatch is almost 10 grand more. so for those who can afford it, go aheadlah.

but the fiesta sedan has only one airbag. so, if you think your passenger’s safety is less important, then go ahead also. plus, just to add, the fiesta sedan does not even have grab handles behind, does not have a phone console that works (only for the hatch, and why didn’t anyone say the dummy switches are irritating?), has only 2 rear headrests, has wiring for the rear lights and number plates all exposed on the boot hinge, has interior plastics that are of questionable quality despite the “today” design, and it still costs more than the 207. the only thing it has is its six speed gear but with no manual control so what’s the point of the dsg if you can’t play with it? and a nice engine. but the engine is not quiet at all (just listen when the engine kicks down). it is on par with the 207 so it is certainly not better in terms of nvh.

• the pros of buying this car is that it has a very low risk of getting stolen. most probably because low market demand and hideous backside.

• nabill on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:21 pm

in my opinion , the price of the car is around 50k , and the remaining balance is for the equipment and accessories…..

some might say it has alot of equipment for the money , bt i think the equipment level is the one jacking up the price…

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:06 am

just like Lexus’s RM17k navigation unit? damn…
      it’s good if they make the equipments as optionals. otherwise, they might have increased the price unnecessarily and it’s a bad decision, because the low price could be their main selling point to compete with others.

• Leseid Obrut on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:30 pm

the price is very competitive but the interior resembles something from the early 90s… (T.T)

• MangO on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Malaysians are more concerned with badge than specs. I doubt this would sell.

• Deric on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Saw d car in pitrajaya juz now, front look is ok, but is ugly from back. Price tag seems reasonable

• subhero on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:54 pm

my 10’s list comment.

1) buruk
    2) mcm kereta buruk
    3) terlalu buruk
    4) sangat buruk
    5) lebih buruk dari kereta buruk
    6) jauh lebih buruk dari jangkaan yang buruk
    7) lebih baik beli besi buruk
    8) harga pun buruk
    9) rupa kereta terlalu buruk
    10) and last ~!!!!!!!!!!!!
    all of u will red flag me. and say buruk..

tq’s

• forte on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:19 pm

additional….

11) pakai lama nanti jadi berukkk….

• subhero on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:15 pm

congrat to subhero.

i thought the red is more than the green.

so then. most are agree with subhero.

tq’s

• alex cho on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:11 am

this it’s china version 206+with the tail.
    this still 206 but for china market they come out with one variant called 206+.
    so they just add in a tail to make it sedan look like.
    if you compare naza 206 bestari you will know that tail like are same with 206.
    and the c pillar with out any triangle glass like normal sedan.
    207 interior not like this,correct me if i am wrong.
    try to see the naza bestari 206 interior same with this.just only the ac,radio are change.

• Honestly, the price is very attractive for an established brand like peugeot… It will make potential local car buyers think of topping up a bit for a conti brand.. However this car is quite ugly and the interior looks cheap.. Neway cant complain, u get what u pay..

• Speak on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:22 am

207 and Fiesta? I’l add a few k and take Fiesta(latest technology-6speed auto with twin clutch). Who is with me say AYE!

• gotodmc38 on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:18 am

funny that i only clicked the pictures that have the pretty girls inside. ><

• sammy on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:31 am

Wat? No Marian Caunter Abdullah? No wonder the car looks so drab…

• seriously, the car looks cheap.

• this car looks over-lifted.. Like vios or Innova.. If Nasim can put in Bodykit.. It will definitely looks better.. at least the pussy under can be covered.. and of course a bigger tyre… should use 205 la.. The gap between the tyre and the wing is too far.. and again.. it looks over-lifted..

• Maserati on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:19 am

What a load of rubbish.Piece of junk car selling at RM 72000++.I would be surprise if this car even can sell 50 units a month.

And you guys are saying toyota n honda is cheating you guys?

Old chassis,old engine,old gearbox ,ugly as hell design,cheap looking interior,expensive spare parts,unreliable,hideous looking radio .1.6 achieving 180km/h might be possible??!So that means that they are not sure whether this car can even reach 180km/h.That just shows the TECHNOLOGY this 1.6 engine has.

!Vios 1.5 n city oso can reach 190km/h easily.

At least Vios I can mod it cheaply and it will look awesome.This piece of crap,cant mod,and if you wanna mod it will be damn EXP!

This over a Vios & city,VIOS or City anyTIME!

And I dont get it,ppl always look at specs specs specs all the time.You dont understand why JAps are priced higher.Its because you dont see the technology and the R&D put in developing a good engine UNLESS you test drive a car.

So thats why Forte can sell better than any KIA before.Cuz ppl look at PRICE must EQUAL specs.But they forgot,engine technology nobody knoes and in actual fact is CRAP! Go test drive then you knoe what I am talking about.

Same goes with this PUG.Features wise,YES it might have everything,but pls OPEN up ur eyes and look at the tech.GO do some research.

Same goes to all the Hyundais,Fords etc etc.Beef up the specs ,sell at a lower price than Japs to entice buyers.LOOK UNDER THE HOOD!

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:53 am

1) Engine technology for the Forte is ‘crap’ you’re saying? Why so?
      2) Peugeot engine technology is bad? Do some reading my friend! http://www.autoblog.com/2006/07/10/peugeot-reveals-new-207-super-2000-rally-car/
      3) Note that the engine is based on the old GTI 180 and not even the new Prince engine. You don’t see Vios and City winning rally championships do you?

• maserati bro,

may i know what is ur profession? any chance you design car engines for a living? if yes, i have plenty of questions to ask because just by looking at under the hood and stepping on the accelerator, i can’t seem to understand all that much.

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:08 pm

haha.. nick name macam guna maserati, rupanya pakai vios je ye bang?
      haishh.. kesian la this kind of people.

• nolan on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:31 am

your name is MoFaz……..do you own Mofaz too…..?
        look who’s talking……

• You are definitely nuts to say that Hyundai cars only have beefed specs over the Japanese. Ask anyone in the car industry and they will tell you that Korean cars have inherently better engineering than the Japanese. That is why car workshops do not like to work on Korean cars and Continental cars.

It is the Vios that is severely affected by cost-cutting. It is just a tin box and nothing else. Just look at its siblings in the Avanza, Innova and Rush. All rubbish cars on wheels.

• zimba on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:20 am

Seriously.. boleh compare with Proton Saga BLM saja… People.. we wait for coming BLM replacement…. the current Saga BLM design ady so much more premium compare to this PUG 207 from the exterior.. (though the spec may not be comparable) want 1.6?
    the exterior of this PUG 207 is really epic fail la..interior also so so only… U tell me.. which passenger sitting in that car can notice the superb spec hidden in this car??
    and yea~~ tyre too small..

.__.

• Maserati on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:23 am

Good things never come cheap.So if you want a good decent ,and cheap car,its got to be a JAP.

If you want a slightly better,more expensive car,its got to be GERMAN .

THe rest are just wannabes,that will take maybe another century for them to ever match their counterparts.

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:34 pm

I beg to differ. The Mitsubishi 4B1 engine is basically a rebadge of the Hyundai-Kia G4KC.

Some info on the fuel-efficient Hyundai-Kia 2.0L DOHC CVVT Theta II engine.
      Here’s the CVVT vendor – http://www.morsetec.com/ and the GEMA site –
      http://www.gemaengine.com/ which doesn’t seem to be pushed by the alliance
      any more these days.

The Hyundai-Kia Theta (G4KC) is a gasoline 4-cylinder automobile engine
      family. This is the third all-aluminum engine of Hyundai Motor Company
      debuted in the fourth-generation Hyundai Sonata sedan(codenamed NF) and Kia
      Optima (codenamed MG).

It features hollow stainless-steel DOHC with powder-metal cam lobes,
      pent-roof combustion chamber and shimless bucket tappets in the cylinder
      head. BorgWarner Morse TEC supplies the complete set of timing system that
      uses the company’s proprietary silent timing chains.
      CVVT(Continuously-variable valve timing) works on the intake side.

The aluminum alloy engine block, which is formed using high-pressure
      die-cast method, has a unique Metaldyne-supplied cassette-type balance
      shaft module with a two-stage oil pump built-in. In the lower-end, the
      block is reinforced by a ladder frame. Other notable features include
      fracture-split sinter-forged connecting rods and stainless-steel exhaust
      manifold.

Theta’s EMS(engine management system) software is EMS-II from Siemens VDO
      and the 32-bit PCM(Powertrain Control Module) calculates the amount of
      intake air by utilizing a contamination-proof hot-film type MAF(mass air
      flow) sensor.

Chrysler Corporation began production of a modified version of Theta,
      dubbed World Engine, in Dundee, Michigan in October 2005. Chrysler
      engineered their own air intake system and exhaust manifold which is made
      of gray cast iron. The World Engine also differs in the EMS as it measures
      the amount of intake air indirectly using a MAP sensor, another cost-saving
      feature of the Chrysler-modified engine.

Hyundai Motor Manufacturing Alabama (HMMA) is currently building a Theta II
      engine shop on the grounds of their Montgomery, Alabama automobile factory.
      The shop will build only the Theta II engine for both the Hyundai plant and
      the new Kia Plant in West Point, GA. It is scheduled to be completed by
      August 2008.

The engine is used in:

HYUNDAI-KIA
      Kia RONDO
      Kia OPTIMA
      Kia SOUL 2.0
      Kia FORTE 2.0
      Hyundai SONATA
      Hyundai GENESIS COUPE 2.0

MITSUBISHI (4B1)
      Mitsubishi LANCER

CHRYSLER
      Dodge Caliber
      Jeep Patriot 4×2
      Jeep Compass 4×2
      Dodge Avenger (Export)
      Chrylser Sebring (Export)

• Hukaka on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:31 am

so even china got cncap (china new car assessment program)
    but still no good this car are base on more then 10 years old design+
    a ugly tali looks like sedan.
    better stick back with bestari 206.RM 40k++.haha.
    can’t accept this lah better new inspira.or cruze.

• ohtdpg7w on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:58 am

hm, looks comparable to saga blm, but offers much more gadgets. the looks might not appeal to young generation, maybe for middle income aunties that does not care about how her car looks like. another plus is, they don’t change the logo to naza and still using the peugeot logo, which is another “important” element for those who hates local brand.

• biggie on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:17 am

so many toyota and honda salesman here; might be afraid of losing sales.

• there’s vw and ford sales people in here too! ;) i mean, if this car wasn’t a threat, it will be very quiet in here. but because they view this as a threat, that is why they talk about the butt, the dashboard, the engine, the gearbox anything else? pretty much everything about the car right? but, they don’t mention at all that this engine is one of the most reliable in the peugeot range (and is still used in peugeot racing)… even more reliable i dare say then the new ones, has an abundance of spare parts due to part sharing with the 206 and that the peugeot technicians heaved a sigh of relief when this car was launched because they will have a much easier time with this car. plus, the mechanic bawah pokok can also handle this due to its relatively simpler software.

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:24 pm

this car is not a threat to vw. the cheapest polo, even with 1.2 FSI is turbocharged and able to achieve 200kph with little problem. couple that to a 7 spd DSG gearbox and its all worth the 108K asking price.

no, i am not vw salesman. i am modenas salesman.

• i didn’t say you were. but kindly look at this within context. will those looking at an rm70k car be able to stretch to the polo at rm108k?

budget is one thing but the other question is, is it really worth it? for the money, yes, you do get 7 speeds and a tiny turbo but you do get an 8-valve SOHC lump as well. isn’t this a step backwards as well that so many are claiming the 207 to be? of course, peugeot can slap on a tiny turbo as well but i think the target market prefers a more reliable powerplant.

so, are you willing to justify this downgrade in the polo’s engine for the price? i think of it more as a compromise. vw takes away the 16V DOHC part and replaces it with a turbo. i mean for that money, shouldn’t you be getting a DOHC, 16V lump instead? what else will you say to justify the rm108k? what else does it have that makes the vast price difference so justifyable? the ride and handling are on par with the others and no big shakes… unless you take the car to its limits. but nobody does it right?

unless you are saying it is worth it simply because it is a vw? then isn’t this simply blind justification? solely based on a hallowed brand name… and of course what the foreign journalists think about it? then there’s the quality. is it really that good? i remember my friend’s golf gti mk5 which has it’s nice rubber coated interior surfaces peeling off in less than a year’s usage. will the polo be better than the golf in this aspect? perhaps even your modenas bikes have better quality than the polo.

and, no. this car is no threat to the polo. both will sell in limited numbers and to different income brackets though they are in the same segment. the best seller here (pls note i only compare the europeans) is perhaps the fiesta due to its good combination of price, specs and looks (i mean the hatchback… the sedan is just as ‘beautiful’ as the 207 and m2).

• alldisc on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:10 pm

DOHC and multi-valve engines do produce more power output but only at a higher rpm range. SOHC engines have better power delivery at low range speed range.

the turbo charger will take care of extra power at high rpm.
            if you never realised this, try ride a 125cc kapcai with SOHC and 2 valve and then another 125cc kapcai but DOHC and 4 valve (example Honda Wave 125 vs Suzuki FX125). then you can easily feel the difference.

enough said.

• well imho, if you’re going to pay rm108k for the polo, i feel you should be getting more.

enough said too.

• anti-first on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:07 pm

gotta agree with both of you.

it’s a very competitive segment right now and everybody’s out to kill their competitor – ruthlessly.

what’s amusing at this point in particular, a honda salesman seemed all out to degrade the 207 except for the fact that the salesman believed the 207 body is solid. well, good for you, buddy. can’t say the same thing about your beloved city though. :)

i honestly think that honda fear their “periuk nasi” are finally being attacked and are not confident enough that they have to resort in feeding confusion, fear and disgust to the malaysian public on the 207.

no need for that la – it just reinforces that you guys are REALLY, REALLY TAKUT about what the 207 CAN DO to your bottom line.

fyi, i’m no peugeot salesman, just a peugeot/conti owner who wants the malaysian public to reject the herd mentality in their choice of cars and FURTHER REDUCE the ugly clutter of H & T on our roads.

contis WILL soon rule the malaysian roads, starting with peugeot, then citroen and vw!

go contis!

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:09 pm

I’m just against ugly, jaded, old cars on the road. Nothing to do with other brands.. If proton tries to revive Wira I’ll be against it too.. pass the weed.

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 2:51 pm

yes, but there’ss be loads of people who will queue up to buy a rehashed wira. guaranteed. lots of spares, reliable drivetrain, lots of parts to upgrade to. mark my words. if such a car came back, proton will be laughing all the way to the bank.

• cheku77 on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:24 am

kenapa ada orang macam maserati…

saya pernah pakai vios for 2 years…. but i easily get bore with it…. it give u no better feel than kelisa and power if u fit more than 2 people inside …. then i buy 407

407 give me true experiences of great car , safety and convidences when pushing the car to limit… peugeot teach u that u can have true love to your car.

eventhought. 407 is outdated… but compare to new accord and new camry the technology are more advances…. it has been 3 years… and fall more loves to this car… it has some problem, but that what love is all about… you need to be tested

then i buy 206…. it’s like having affair with young mistress… it give u new experiences and all sweet feel of owning a car… if you realy see interior of 206 it has better quality and strandard to any japanese car… it may be small engine but it give u more than u can have from vios and city when come to climing hill and overtaking.

i’m glad 206 have only small engine 1.4, because i might push myself to far with the car at coner…

so dont worry about 207 @ 206+ being outdated… new / latest car not assured that u will have more beautiful car / new technology….

p/s: about the center power button, it’s practical cause it safe space
    p/s: bad comment on peugeot are only perception, you will see also that TOP GEAR review mostly are bias and hipocrite… to certain brand

• David on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:20 am

cheku77,
      Agreed. Maserati is ridiculously biased towards brands. If he likes it, he would praise it like mad, and if he doesn’t like the car and brand, he’ll demonise it like anything. What for? It’s not going to bring anyone any good you know.

I mean, we should just enjoy what we drive, and appreciate any car that comes out, ’cause all has their plus points and bad points. And i agree with you on the 407. After some quick test, my take is that the 407 would get smoked by an Accord or Camry any day, but when it comes to the ride, handling, stability and NVH, this car really stands on its own, and hammers both those Jap competitors, despite its age and being replaced soon. So, being old and dated isn’t a bad thing at times after all!

• Yeah, that’s a commenter that should better go off somewhere else doing his great things rather than bashing almost every cars posted in paultan.org. We do not need this kind of ppl here. :)

• JonLing on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:26 am

aside from the lower-than-expected price tag, there’s nothing to shout about the new car. and nothing shouts high quality, especially the instrument panel. “instrument panel made by luxury watchmaker Jaeger”, seriously?? THAT cheap looking instrument panel??

• Simon VW on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:40 am

This car with such outdated specs with only 4 gears which is just an old 206 will not do well in my books.

Naza should at least bring in the new 207 with 6 gears and 1.6 PSA engine definitely will give the competition a run for its money

• Suddenly ugly has got a new name. Ugly betty? No, it’s now Pug-207 betty!

• blacky on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:45 am

for me… i think vios vs city in group A and mazda 2 vs fiesta vs 207 in group B

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:26 pm

no, they are all in same group. segment A is for micro and mini cars. viva, i10 and the likes…

• cardreamer on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:54 am

Well..a good competitor to all market player…and the user will benefit from this..

Now is the time Proton to show off with their good looking cars at more competetive price…as to date, frankly said, Persona is still the best looking car in this category of car price / segment…the facelifted persona is even better looking…and its look can last even another few years, by looking at the current trend of looks by its competitors…Just hoping the coming new Persona replacement will look even better with better technology under the hood..

When will Nasim launch their much awaited Pug 5008?…am seriously looking for an MPV now…will wait till both Exora Turbo is out and make reseaonable comparison before decide…

• learner on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:02 am

nowadays, naza tends to introduce new models with the best specs in its price range. just look at forte for an example too. but the brand they licensed is not strong in malaysia. japs brands fans will any time buying japs brands even though it is priced higher and low specs-ed and even though they know the similar models they bought here is actually better specs-ed in thais, sad!!!

• tempoyak on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:24 am

hello ladies!

• redline on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:33 am

what the fuga… tada inspira utk beli ni lah…

• Look like Vios.. huhu

• reloaded on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:12 am

Picture this! The Vios owners are like the wildebeest. Lots of them. The City owners are perhaps the zebra. Fast but less numbers than the widlebeest. Then there are the Hyenas represented by the Ford owners. Fierce predators but overall, smaller in number than the other predators. And finally, the Peugeot owners represented by the lion. The lion will always be the smaller one in number (just like peugeot sales here) but remain the top predator. The wildebeest is strong (and perhaps reliable), can last long distances during their migration and likewise the zebra.

Sounds like an episode from National Geographic? It sure does doesn’t it? Anyway, it is the same as the car situation here. The herd will always remain in the herd and will never be anything else… no matter what these car’s carry; VTEC, VVT, and all the whatchamacallits, those remain cars for the herd.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 04, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Totally agree

Most people are herd follower anyway…

• That called market forces, havent heard that? Good company listen to market forces.

the lion is never a dominant car in any country…except France …these cars have very low engineering reliability and unable to bring to market good reliable products

For those Lion owners…do share your stories after the warranty is over…so do enjoy your car while u can…ex french car technology owner

• Unforgiven on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:25 am

I do not understand why our own ppl always treat our own ppl as 3rd class ppl.
    This is not the real 207 sold in Europe, but a booted old 206. We are a funny country.

• autojohndoe on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:05 am

thats why Malaysia is very difficult to become developed nation… because some Malaysians think Malaysia still a third world country, eventhough malaysia is their home…

• Seek for Ans on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:29 am

I read a lot of comments saying that this Pug 207 is base on Pug 206, but i watch some video clips at youtube, their Pug 207 compact sedan are looks almost the same as Nasim Pug 207, am i right? so i think not just the Nasim launch an extended version of Pug 206 in Malaysia.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hax78LNy1C4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0Eb_dkEo5w&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yxSuSYJW8w

• U all never satisfied do u?

• Unforgiven on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:53 am

Is this 206 sedan?

http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/Peugeot-206-sedan.aspx

• Marcus Antonio on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:53 am

Citroen Xsara vs Peugeot 207 sedan.

If only some automaker can revive the Citroen Xsara (facelift & refresh interior) market around MYR$60k-70k.

• EW10A on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:44 pm

imho rm60k to 70k is just not possible. may be around the 207’s price or slightly more due to it being a bigger car. but if citroen does recreate the xsara model, i’m pretty sure the market will bash it as well. better they bring the new c2 to fight.

• edwin on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:58 am

I like to read comments more than the review articles ! lol !! you guys are funny !

• carcraze on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:58 am

Ford Fiesta is much more sincere with its pricing, equipment level and technology.

• zimba on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:23 pm

coz it’s under sime darby,

• Because its a new current generation model. Same generation as the Fiesta in Europe and the US.
      The 207 sedan is just a facelifted old generation 206 sedan.
      Its not related to the real “current” 207 sold in Europe.

• forte on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:17 pm

WOWWWW!!!!!!

BURUK NYERRR………….

• Honda Power on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:41 pm

I agreed with Maserati’s comments 100%. OK, the Pug 207 has auto climate control, automatic headlights on when it’s dark, auto headlights levelling and rain sensor. Please tell me whether all these features are useful to the average driver. Maybe they are useful for lazy drivers. For me, all these features are useless. How often do you use them? I am sure the Pug 207 will be cheaper without all these unneeded features. I doubt this car can sell even 100 units monthly. So ugly. Now ugly has a new face in the form of Pug 207. There’s no way this car can pose a threat to City and Vios. Honda The Power Of Dreams. BTW, I am not a Honda sales advisor. I am a Honda loyalist. I own two Honda cars.

• The safety rating of Peugeot 207 is at least better than local HONDA CITY with dual airbags !!

BIG BOOO>>> to HONDA CITY

HONDA CITY ==== FUGLY……..

• zimba on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:53 pm

.__. If u got mo money to buy a Honda City… u dont need to boo Honda CIty…
        MOST people will prefer Honda City compare to this la…~ there was a wow effect when the current Honda City was introduced…
        Does this PUG created that wow effect??

or are u a PUG salesman??

• I agreed with Kwan, the safety rating for 207 is somehow better than HONDA SHITY!!

• Honda Power on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Hello, Kwan and Pato. May I know what car you are driving? If you only drive Proton and Perodua, please shut up and don’t boo Honda City. I will say the car you are driving is FUGLY too! I should say boo to Pug 207. If you like PUg 207 so much, go and buy the car now! And Pato, Honda City can pass SHIT on the car you are driving!

• Fat bear on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:46 am

City front looks ok what…i think.

Tail normal.

It’s a bread n butter model…not exactly high-end mkt.

Anyway, wrong spelling bro. SHI**Y……….ha ha ha

• autojohndoe on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:31 pm

so… what if you are Honda Loyalist… i think no buyers bother about it…

• Wisdom on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Am I a Honda loyalist? I own 2 honda cub. Haha

• EW10A on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:42 pm

i have some honda fridge magnets, a mug in my office and… some brochures! i’m the greatest fan! :D

• Honda Power on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:49 pm

I have just googled Peugeot 206 sedan and I would like to share the info which I obtained from Wikipedia. The Peugeot 206 sedan was developed in IRAN in 2006 and exported to a few 3rd World countries so the Peugeot 207 here is actually an OUTDATED PEUGEOT 206 SEDAN. Th Peugeot 206 hatchback was first launched in 1998 (12 years ago). Do you want to buy a 12 year old car with a boot for RM72,888 OTR? You decide for yourself.

• Honda Power on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:54 pm

I have just googled Peugeot 206 sedan and I would like to share the info which I obtained from Wikipedia. The Peugeot 206 sedan was developed in IRAN in 2006 and exported to a few 3rd World countries so the Peugeot 207 here is actually an OUTDATED PEUGEOT 206 SEDAN. Th Peugeot 206 hatchback was first launched in 1998 (12 years ago). Do you want to buy a 12 year old car with a boot for RM72,888 OTR? You decide for yourself.
    The REAL Peugeot 207 is a sporty hatchback launched in France in 2006. My suspicions are now confirmed. Our Pug 207 is actually a Pug 206/Bestari 206 with a boot.

• Actually, most people have already known this since the agreement between Naza/Nasim and Peugeot was signed late last year. The dimensions, technical details, performance and pictures etc of the car was widely published all this while. It is not a new car. Many people elsewhere have been driving it for several years now and have written on the web about how they felt.

• laluan sehala on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:45 pm

it is not new news bro, everybody knows about it. so what’s your agenda? to make this car look so bad that everyone will go rush out and buy a city? i understand about loyalty to a brand but your feverish attempts hint at you being more than just a loyal fan with 2 hondas in the garage. by the way, it is ok to tell everyone your agenda (or hidden agenda)… maybe they would respect your angle more. or you work with honda’s pr department? ;) then your statement that you are not a salesman certainly qualifies.

and if you have now only known about it, you have most probably been out of the car scene for some time.

• Unforgiven on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:04 am

No need to google, just go to the main Peugeot website then you’ll know. Of course it’s a different story if you go to the M’sian Peugeot website, another sad story for M’sian.

http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/Peugeot-206-sedan.aspx

vs

http://www.peugeot.com.my/

• cheku77 on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:49 pm

JUST TO ADD… 4 GEAR MAY LOOK OUTDATED… BUT MAY PERFORMANCE BETTER… AL4 GEAR BOX DOES HAVE IT OWN BRAIN… BUT WE MUST LEARN TO MASTER IT… BUT WILL BE POINTLESS TO NO BRAINER DRIVER… DOES ANYONE NOTICE 207 HAVE SAME FUEL COMPSUMPTION WITH VIOS J

• al4 is definitely fantastic. once u master it , u would fall in love with it..behaves like a manual.

sure cnt compete with dsg quick shift timing etc

.but u feel more involved. it adapts to ure driving style

• InDaKnow on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:50 pm

i’ve driven this car. its rubbish. Should be priced at 58-60k. To compare this to a Fiesta or any number of other 70-75k cars is a joke.

• laluan sehala on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:36 pm

don’t think you have driven it. you said it so that your post can have some cred. but, come on, what are you thinking? if you want to bash then bash straight away. no need to hide by saying you have test driven the car when you obviously have not.

• callenish on Nov 04, 2010 at 2:20 pm

why people keep comparing vios with any type of new launch car? when inspira revealed, some people try to say vios is better, funny eh? Now, 207 sedan, some still say vios is better, double funny eh?

even i myself drive a vios 2006 because at that point of time, there aren’t so many choice in the same segment and vios is not that superb anyway.

today’s market offer so many choice and every car have it own pros and cons. if you want to compare, be more specific.

if people ask me, which car in C-segment is the best, i’ll simply say, saga BLM, why? because it is cheap.

• Fat Bear on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:24 pm

BLM is not really cheap………..it is just more affordable.

This one already B-Segment……..Vios has more economical engine only.

• acerman on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:46 pm

At least it has a large boot compare to the champion of faceliftS….u’ll know what I mean.

• zimba on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Here’s a VIOS owner compliment on SAGA BLM.~!!

• Venos on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:27 am

Vios owncer said the BLM was cheap….sigh….I feel so sad.

Didn’t say anything wonderful about BLM…..

• osh_kosh on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:18 pm

are u sure Saga BLM is B-segment sedan??

• FUGLY….

• evoskylancer on Nov 04, 2010 at 2:48 pm

goodness gracious me…this is one ugly car…for almost the same price, i would rather get a naza forte 1.6 (A) EX….and i’m not a naza salesman by the way

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:50 pm

doesn’t matter. u buy either this peugeot or forte, naza will get the benefit also la…

• ayamterbang on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:22 pm

8)

• J@CK LIM on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Not bad … for those girls… nt for the car
    The car design exterior interior is disgusting although the price tag kind interesting~
    well… i dun think there is a big market for that =(

• acerman on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:44 pm

I really hate the intergrated in-dash radio unit. Cannot upgrade at Ah beng.

• yup. last time got integrated dash, people complain cannot upgrade. now got oem style, people say prefer integrated.

but i think this is more functional than if they give a standard integrated unit.don’t think the official unit will have all the features in this set.

• E Bear on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:54 pm

This is one of the most affordable Euro models available.

Obviously old tech but hay,….it is still Euro and sold in less numbers makes it an acquired taste,

The moment u see std Kumho tyres…u already know what the mfr thinks about the target buyers.

Tyres should be Michelin…….

The tech may be old but when u take it home, it is brand new 12 yr old tech car.

I will choose this for a bit more of exclusiveness and just want some euro comfort.

• Bertie on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:20 pm

One of the cheapest Euro models in the market today!

The Kumho tyres? weird choice unless maximise profit.

http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/peugeot-206-sedan.aspx

The only complaint will come if this model does not sell enough in the local market which means very little spares other than from Nasim……….cheap car does not equate to cheap spare parts.

For those with tight budgets….need to rethink.

• Sopa Man on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:31 pm

The Kumho tyres spoil the image.

One of the most affordable entry Euro models.

Giv it a chance, go 4 test-drive.

Buy it if u don’t care the spares will not be cheap.

The real 207 cannot be priced below RM80k and no boot…………low volumes also mean difficult to CKD.

People will always bring-up Vios, Pesona and now, Inspira simply becos these are the popular models.

Nobody compare this to BMW 1 series or Merc A…..or Alfa.

• hopefully they change the tyres to conti or michelin (french mah) or pirelli. who in his right mind would spec a so-called european car with korean tyres of all things! if peugeot wants people to believe that the car is not china made, at least mask it with some decent tyres that do not come from china or korea!! even malaysian tyres are a better choice.

• nolan on Nov 04, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Lame design…….suitable for retired teacher….

• subhero on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:15 pm

also suitable to retired pak guard. keluaq semua KWSP.

• nolan on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Retired Pak Guard not interested in buying cars…..they like to find 2nd wife….or go to Batam for holiday…..

• acerman on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Even retired teacher able to buy expensive car than this. Wanna bet?

• nolan on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:51 pm

I have to agree with you….nowadays everyone rich…..even a gorvernment clerk could afford a Caldina….

• Fat Bear on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Yup, can giv tuition mah.

• Power Of Dreams on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:15 pm

In comparison, Peugeot 207 sedan doesn’t stand a chance against Honda City.

• laluan sehala on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:33 pm

no it doesn’t. so? what’s your point? even the price is not in the same category. for those who can afford to realise their powerful dreams, then by all means go buy the city.

• UltraVentus on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:01 pm

of courselah, cannot fight with vios also lah… unless vios j lah which is more expensive and does not have any strong spec to compete. then the 207 has a chance. but the city IS sooooo expensive compared to the 207. how can the 207 owner or fan stretch to the city? cannotlah. there is no way the 207 can fight the city in numbers. honda got power of dreams mah. and the 207 is simply too irresistible at its price ;)

• Venos on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:23 am

Aiya if can venture over 70k…..this purchaser also above the survival class already loh. If drag the loan to 7 years…….suddenly City also affordable.

Unless we are talking about cash buyer…………

Vios J selling very well already………..honestly, it has enough pick-up yet u don’t have to sacrifice your teh tarik when u fill up the petrol tank.

This car…..resale value………don’t even bother to dream.

Must make sure the car lasts long enough. Malaysians are very savvy nowadays…why do u think Proton licenced the lancer with Cvt some more. All recent tech.

Apologies for sounding critical.

• Venos on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:25 am

Different market….this one aiming for P1 customer.

• why not??? on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:46 pm

I am sure this car in Thailand will be cheaper than here because of the tax. I wonder since mahathir was here, why not ask him to exempt from excise duty? just joking…u know car excise duty was created by him…

• MoFaz on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:37 pm

and you think there’s no tax in thai? if no tax, how come savvy, persona and exora are more expensive there?

• fugly!!!!!!! 207 face,donald duck rear and bestari mid section hahahaha
    only meant for the brain dead people hahahaha.

• dragster on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:05 pm

aiyooooo!!!!!! the design just look like INDON design!!!! fuglyyyy

• Venos on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:23 am

I think u have not visited the upmarkets part of Indonesia in a long time.

• possible to provide some examples of indon car design?

• osh_kosh on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:29 pm

i saw a 207 with ‘207’ number plate this evening on the road.. didn’t notice the ‘blue’ number plate on its dashboard, maybe on its way to another Pug showroom.. anyway, the car was behind me & from rear view mirror the car just look UGLY… i hate P1 but i rather buy Inspira than this old, small & ugly thing… even dugong look better… yes, i know i need to fork out more for Inspira..

• please check dongfeng peugeot!!!! this is a chinese built car.wtf!!!!! we have became the dumping grounds!!!!!!! how sad,so what to do????? use our brain,dont be caught driving a chinese car.how lame!!!!!!

• laluan sehala on Nov 05, 2010 at 2:41 pm

dino,

you should have gone extinct long ago! thie car is not only sold in china. do a bit more work and you will find that the hatch version also called 206+ is actually sold in europe. at the same time, this sedan version is also sold in the middle east as the 207i and in south america as the 207 compact and 207 passion. they also have the sw variants of this car still being sold and an offroad type version called the 207 escapade. if it were really being dumped, i doubt there would be so many versions of this car still being sold. so, i think you are wrongly mentioning that we are a dumping ground.

if it indeed were a case of dumping, the car will most probably be shipped in cbu and sold cheaply. but this is assembled here.

• But still, it’s ugly as hell.

It’s like a human did an ass plastic surgery and the surgeon said, “DID I JUST MESSED UP? OH WELL, THIS GUY WANT IT CHEAP, SO HERE IT IS!”

• nolan on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:48 pm

whoever thumbs me down get an ipod nano for free….hurry up guys….

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:04 pm

sure or not can get ipod? anyway, i give u thumbs up lah.

• intermilan on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:53 pm

WAH…. only after 2-3 days this car kena hantam kaw-kaw.. ugly, old tech etc. whatever that can go wrong, goes wrong.

After reading all the comments here, any potential buyer will not want to buy it.

But most of commenters who left negative and downright disgusting comments regarding this car are rather too extreme in in their actions. And interestingly, most probably, they don’t have one bit of interest in the car (in term of buying it). They are just happy to venting out their comments out loud, because they know there are people who going to read what they had to say. And perhaps being influence by their opinion.

I believe Nasim is aware that this is going to happen as looks and latest tech are not the strong points of this Peugeot.

However, for a European car (badge as a Peugeot now, not Naza like the Bestari), the asking price of RM72,888 OTR is very reasonable.

It should not suffer the fate of low-selling Latio sedan or SX4 sedan (all of them are in similar segment) as this Peugeot are priced very much lower that these two Japanese offerings… or other Japanese & European competitors.

Well, at that that price tag, it is cheaper than all non-national B-segment sedan car with 1.5 or 1.6L engine & automatic transmission.

From this point of view, Nasim seem like trying to counter the expected negativity by pricing it lower than the rest. It might work but it might not.

Let see what is the re-action from the real market.

For the sake of even faster expansion of Peugeot in Malaysia, I hope this car will do well.

• Off Tangent on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:03 pm

you have not said anything funny in this post so i give you a thumbs up!! :D

• Can someone enlighten me? Is this car a discontinued model in Europe or is it a new model for the asia market?

• Honda Power on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Zuzu, Pug 207 sedan is actually a 12 year old Pug 206 with a boot. It’s not found in Europe. It’s developed in Iran in 2006 for export to 3rd World countries. Source: Wikipedia. For more info; just google Peugeot 206 sedan.

• Enough Said on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Pug 207 is ugly!

• Honda Power on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:32 pm

My frank opinion is this Pug 207 sedan is value for money with the many features that come with it. Those who like to drive Conti cars can consider buying it.

• Bobot on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:05 am

Yes..I have a STREAM and will drive this 207 soon as my second car! Regardless of the ugly backside! It’s worth the money!

• Honda Power on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:55 pm

To all the readers in this forum who have been offended by my criticisms and harsh remarks plus rough words used against the Pug 207, please accept my humble apologies. I don’t want to comment anymore about the Pug 207. I believe that the final decision whether to buy it or not rests with the individual just like the saying To Each His/Her Own. I wish all of you the best in everything you do. I would like to stress that I don’t work for Honda Malaysia. I am just a regular Honda fan boy. I posted my comments in good faith but I didn’t expect to get many rebukes. All the best to those who want to buy this car. Now you can drive an affordable Conti car which will be the envy of your friends. Not many of us can afford to buy Conti cars; that’s why we buy national and Jap cars. Have a nice weekend and Sayonara!

• Engineered to be Enjoyed on Nov 06, 2010 at 7:04 pm

total respect for you man! hondas are good cars. the city did not become the best looking b segment sedan overnight and i remember the criticism leveled on it when the strange looking one was just introduced. but then, there are a few ways to post your comment. good bad and downrught ugly. well, the butt of the 207 isn’t gonna win any awards and the french who designed the car should be watching the posts in here and making a note of it. if they are, please note this! “no more ugly peugeot cars!” “it is bad for your reputation!” anyway, many comments were downright ugly and if they were made in those tones, one can of course expect a strong and severe backlash by the fans of the brand… though they may not like this model itself.

anway, thanks for the clarification, took a lot of guts to do it and have a nice weekend too. there’s still one more day to enjoy!

• Chuck Jordan on Nov 10, 2010 at 3:23 pm

But now we CAN enjoy a European make, at around the same price as a Thai origin CKD Japanese make car. Not bad eh?

• Dream On on Nov 06, 2010 at 5:01 pm

That’s the way I like Pug 207!

• EW10A on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm

looks will grow on you. after seeing it for a few weeks, people will get used to it. even the e60 was said to be ugly when launched but in time, many warmed up to it and appreciated it for its engineering. so, if people can like the e60, people may like this 207… given some time. i know, i know, some smart alec will say maybe in a hundred years lah ;)

• JFCost on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:35 am

It most certainly will grow on all of us. Put some cartoon characters on the dash or the seats, and buddaboom! This car has a lot of great accessories as well. It will go!

• xtreme on Nov 21, 2010 at 9:47 pm

the price, lower then usual PUG cars, but how about the quality? any idea?

• Chandra on Dec 04, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Dear all,

NAZA, under the the banner of which this car will be assembled & sold in M’sia, is so unprepared for putting it on the roads. The car was luanched on 4th Nov. until today or very near future it is not going to be on the roads. They are facing problems with the Customs dept. for the release of cars, according to the sales person. Looking at all these things, i doubt there is going to be a smooth journey ahead for the owners of this car, in terms of after sales servis & spares. Basically they are not professional enough to sell & service the car. I dont know why Peugeot choose Naza as their partner, which may hamper their chances of creating a niche in the market.
    I have booked for this car about more than 1 1/2 months ago, still there is no news of it coming thro’. Seriously i am considering to cancel my order.
    People out there considering to go for this car, think hundred times before you make a stupid decision.
    God save the Peugeot brand in M’sia.

• i think your post is downright unkind and has no strong basis, laced with speculation. for peugeot’s sake, i hope you cancel your order and buy a lesser car. by the way, i dug around a bit and they told me that the cars were mainly to be released in 2011 only as they were building up stock for the new year. they registered cars only for those who insisted on getting in december. and may god have mercy on you for such a malicious post!

• Dude 81 on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Dude..
    Peu 207 – high tech and affordable. Branded and much better compare to dugong.

Vios – Realibilty is a high peak, well known at Asia but it is really disappointing on the internal (interior)! better buy car with no interior inside..
    Toyota will never improve on the interior part!

• Dude 81 on Dec 17, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Come man… Asia is always Asia.. try to adpot high-tech please.
    Peu 207 is world brand and affordable.

• First batch of Pug 207 on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Think you you can get first batch of Pug 207 on DEC 2010. I will wait till 2011 to get my pug 207.

• Admiral on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:44 am

I was a potential buyer and test drove this car yesterday. Its very inferior compared to the other Peugeot cars lined up together, the back seat is cramped and the seats are not comfortable. The RPM raved up to 3.5 at a hill only 20 degrees high… i was shocked…The handeling is not as good as what its suppose to be but the turning radius is great and the booth is big. It looks like a lower grade vios and dont be deceived by the picture displayed… in real it looks really small, and dosent command a second look. more like a toy car

The door handle is a real comic – see it yourself even the Viva has a better door handle. I forsee that this car will have the same problems as the Bestari or even more… its a flimsy feeling. To be honest even if this car is sold for RM50K i would not buy it. I would put this car at a lower grade.

• test drove and even seen quite many on the roads already and it is not as bad as you described. maybe you do not know how to handle the 207 and its eccentric transmission. but it does cut an impressive figure on the road.

• Admiral on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:41 am

i am quiet sure i know how to handle cars… Perhaps you havent driven enough Peugeots to know what i mean.

• wow, i didn’t think you’d reply since this thread was active so far back… but i have had my fair share of peugeots as well to know how they are.

• Pug 207 Owner on Jan 21, 2011 at 5:22 pm

I just drove the pug 207 up hill this morning which is definitely more than 20 degrees for few times, i never need to raved it more than 3K.

• The Admiral on Jan 22, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Well as a owner i believe you need to justify it. perhaps its just the car that i test drove, the salesman’s excuse to that 3.5 rpm was that someone just drove the car so its engine is still “hot” ….. like i believe it. Now you tell me that its OK, i guess i have to sort to what some people say about “luck” on cars

Another turn off was the petrol tank entrance, Gosh you have to open it with a key and the part is stuck to your key till you put it back …. not easy especially with a key holder and all…

• the gearbox is adaptive so the person who drove the car before you could have driven aggressively and the car was stuck in aggressive mode. will need about 15 mins of driving differently for it to switch to a new transmission profile based on your driving style.

as for the petrol tank entrance, well, it is the same for all peugeot cars. only difference is those other models have an additional cover for the fuel lid.

• kl chow on Mar 19, 2011 at 11:25 pm

hi all 207 owners,,,,,,,,we have a auto study/research session tomorrow 1.00.pm @pj ss2,,,,,,topic is abt sharing your opinion in a group abt your lifestle n how u select n decide the type of cars………….interested pls call immediately chow 0178728287

• Fei Bear on Feb 06, 2011 at 10:37 am

Can’t really compare a French car with a Japanese car, they have different inclinations.

The car looks ok but they used back the old dashboard only. This makes the car look dated.

Test drive car probably needs a new oil change and a tune-up knowing how rough some people can be.

I like the car but can’t really overlook all the fears on spare parts and after sales.

• cuoreboy on Feb 15, 2011 at 3:46 pm

than y still soo many ppl buy WIRA some more use 20 years old MiItsuibishi engine :D bcoz of price

• Anita Ali on May 20, 2011 at 1:26 am

can this ran on Ron 95 petro

• Anita Ali on May 20, 2011 at 1:30 am

Can this car ran on Ron 95 petrol?

• John L on Jul 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

Anyone know whether the spare parts or after sales car maintenance would be expensive? Or should I buy Vios which is around the same price and more common car in Malaysia?

• Crystal on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm

The spare parts sure will be expensive as i think they should be all imported no oem rite? correct me if im wrong…but im also want to know how expensive….any idea?

• The 207 is basically the 206SD from Iran and known as the 207 passion in Brazil.

• malaysia peugeot 207 from ampang deceptious service no good

• watson on May 14, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Have owned a 207 since 2011 : History as below

March 2011 : Took ownership

April 2011 : Came in for first service. No problem

September 2011 : Came in for second service. No problem

November 2011 : Battery overheated and nearly exploded. Peugeot replaced under warranty.

July 2012 : Battery failed again and had to replace at own cost as it happened during a family outstation trip. Took it to Peugeot, they say battery problem.

October 2012 : Wheels wobbled badly – Peugeot replace the drive shaft and joints.

March 2013 : Gear box problem. Rattling in rear door. Peugeot try to fix it via trial and error. Not resolved

July 2013 : Gear box problem still persist.

January 2014 : Gear box problem still persist. Engine heating up. Idling not stable.

February 2014 : Gear box problem still persist. Engine heating up. Idling not stable. Also told that Peugeot forgot to change the timing belt and waterpump during the 60k service.

March 2014 : Third battery failed. Gear box problem not resolved. Idling not resolved. Overheating not resolved. Aircond noise not resolved. Car was left at Peugeot Glenmarie till 14th May, 2014

May 2014 : Was informed that all of the above problems are void warranty which expired on March 3 2014. Total cost to repair is RM 15,000.

Bear in mind the new car cost RM 72,888 in 2011. Today it is costing me RM 15,000 in repairs (two months after the warranty expired!!!!). And I had the unpleasant experience of driving a problematic car for the past three years.

THE CAR IS BAD. THE SERVICE IS BAD. THE WARRANTY IS BAD.

DON’T EVER BUY A PEUGEOT UNLESS YOU ARE WORKING FOR PEUGEOT.