Great Wall Motors ASEAN CKD plans include Malaysia?

Great Wall Coolbear

Various sources on the internet point to Great Wall Motor Co having an assembly plant here in Malaysia. It seems that Malaysia has been identified as one of the countries where the Chinese carmaker wants to set up a plant, together with Vietnam and Philippines.

Great Wall Wingle

These three countries will make passenger cars, while separate Great Wall Motor Co plants in Indonesia and Thailand will make pick-up up trucks such as the Great Wall Wingle. Given that they want plants in so many countries, they’ll most likely be in partnership with local partners.

Great Wall Hover

Earlier this year we heard news of the government receiving applications from five foreign carmakers to setup assembly plants here in Malaysia. The government did not reveal which companies these were, only saying that they were European and Asian companies, which is really quite general.

Great Wall Voleex C30

Great Wall could most likely be one of the 5 companies, and MITI had better give the green light fast because although we’ve seen Great Wall cars on test in Malaysia before, the Chinese company is already selling cars in the Philippines and has already identified that it will work with local dealer Philippine National Motor to setup a plant there with an annual capacity of 10,000 units. Great Wall also already has CKD plants in Vietnam in partnership with the locals.

Great Wall Cowry

Models that Great Wall Motor seem to be focusing on exporting are the Florid, the Peri, the Wingle, the Cowry, the Coolbear and the Hover SUV. They also have the Voleex C30 and Voleex C70 sedans. The Hover SUV was recently granted a 4 star score in the Australian NCAP crash test. The only model that we’ve seen on test in Malaysia before is the Wingle.

[polldaddy poll=3189662]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Goproton on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:55 pm

copycat design….

• drgn86 on Dec 25, 2010 at 3:43 am

moving faster than proton…

• campro on Dec 25, 2010 at 7:47 pm

more successful than proton…not only this GREAT WALL chinese automaker but all china automaker growth rapidly & their market & sales huge. even some is starting Makan westerner automaker brands such as Geely buy Volvo…

• Alpha on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:06 am

the coolbear looks rather awesome~~

• Goproton on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:08 am

you’ll need to go japan then…this is a serious Copied-from-Honda+Nissan product….

• Baffled on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:44 am

That awesome ‘Coolbear’ that you are referring to looks like a Toyota BB clone! So much for awesome.

• PakAbu on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:09 am

Will Per0dua replace their Kenari with this?

That’ll be nice. I’ll get one if the price is right.

• Kevin Lee on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:34 am

wingle is safest but most hideous, lol

• wahhh… i see a brand thats going to surpass toyota and honda and nissan and hyudai. maybe mercs and bmw one day? audi too… who knows right? i like the design, looks modern and sophisticated. unlike mitsubishi that looks like ikan masin kering! thums up if you guys agree >.< v

• toyuta on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:43 am

Only a handful of smart people can predict the future, to bad most of ordinary people will not.

• Critique on Dec 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Of course its “modern and sophisticated”.

They are copies of modern and sophisticated vehicles !

HAHAHAHA!

• All very hideous looking. Get lost

• i don’t trust China automotive companies.

and unlike unbacked sources, i owned a LMG (totally china rebranded) before. unfortunately. don’t ask how it got to my hands, i don’t wanna remember.

the car was terrible and abysmal. it was slow, it was noisy, it was bouncy, panel gaps between doors could fit my finger in. Absoulute trash.

and what kind of a name is that?

until they improve their design and quality, i won’t touch china cars with a 20 foot pole.

• Sagua on Dec 26, 2010 at 7:05 pm

lol.

like someone married a woman, and said all women are bad, and they would rather go gay than marrying another women again. lol.

well, even ferrari owner will complain, no car is perfect. but if your taste makes you own a whatever LMG car, then, well…i do not trust a word from you. lol.

• Hahah…unknown.. Still looks more impressive than Chery

• nabill on Dec 25, 2010 at 2:07 am

hopefully for export market ONLY , we dowant to see those cars on our roads plzzz…

• orangulu on Jul 15, 2011 at 9:13 am

bro…
      untuk makluman Great Wall Haval H5 dah pun buat test drive kat sekitar Hulu Selangor malam tadi
      memang mantap bro tapi kalau itu produk Malaysia lagi mantap bro

• Gajen on Dec 25, 2010 at 2:13 am

coolbear=toyota Bb
    voolex=kia optima
    cowry=mitsu dion

• toyotapriuslover on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:42 am

actualy the cowry looks very much like a pre-facelift toyota voxy ( JDM market only )

• 5 companies? that’s nice..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 25, 2010 at 7:25 am

What’s with those names?! I can just see those asinine remarks already, as Candy Coolbear hovers around like a lovesick caniform, waiting to wingle her way towards that cowry-like object of her affection. Oh dear!

• squawk on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:45 am

LOL! I just can’t get over the names – Coolbear and Wingle. :-D

• Retaurant Lotus on Dec 25, 2010 at 1:32 pm

someone must have a laugh at their corporate naming HQ. :D

• Nissan@Datsun Bluebird was ridiculed and laughed at when they first arrived in the State.

Kia & Hyundai was laughed at and 2nd hand dealers referred to them as “kereta sejuk” i.e difficult to sell, few years ago.

Laugh at the Chinese car if you’ll but soon enough they’ll have the last laugh!

• abe mu ni.. on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:02 am

The coolbear only one thing interesting me…^0^
    other like crap….*_*

• abe mu ni.. on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

only coolbear interesting me….^0^
    other like crap…..*_*

• rosdi on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:22 am

The more the merrier. More jobs, more choices, more healthy competitions.

• rageaccel2 on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:43 am

great wall coolbeer?

• rakyat on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:00 am

i think China made quality will improve from time to time, a very successful example, lenovo notebook…

Geely bought volvo… soon they will start moving and transfer the technology from volvo to their own brand car…

Is time issues, maybe not now.

• Henry on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:20 am

The Chinese are on a very steep learning curve.

Korean and Japanese brands, beware.

• William on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:04 pm

coolbear-toyota bB + toyota F3R
    wingle-isuzu D-max
    hover-isuzu axiom
    voleex c30-toyota vios
    cowry-toyota voxy

• l3ryan on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:17 pm

cant they come out with some better names for their cars???
    cool bear?!? wingle!?? voleex???

• zanggief on Dec 25, 2010 at 2:54 pm

looks like rebadge toyota black box, isuzu dmax, toyota fortuner…

• yc.low on Dec 25, 2010 at 3:46 pm

You better watch out; you better not be too cocky Toyota, Honda and Hundyai; the Chinese car is coming to town!

• icetea on Dec 25, 2010 at 4:41 pm

the videos of the cars …..very fake lor…..why must put angmoh in commercial leh?

• Alex Khoo on Dec 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Coolbear looks like it has a Toyota bB body, Honda Elysion-style front headlights and a Chrysler Grand Voyager front grill. Haha. Dubious styling there

• transformer on Dec 25, 2010 at 5:40 pm

maybe should use digit to depict model offered rather than names which seem funny…
    digit are easier to read and remember…

looking at those picture, seem like Hover and that MPV looks can sell…. others quite pathethic… GWM since 1976 making Trucks, 2008 start intro its 1st sedan…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Wall_Motor

• rossi46 on Dec 25, 2010 at 7:05 pm

in 70s & early 80s ppl make fun of japs car. . . Then its korean car, . . .now chinese cars. . . .in 10 yrs time, ppl will worship these just like t&h,

• Jimmy on Dec 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm

China carsss, need another 30 years to become popular in Malaysia, estimation ya.
    Mark my words.

• Joseph on Dec 25, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Fugly, China has money, but no taste.
    Look at their people.

• toyuta on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Wake up lah bro. They beat us in almost every aspect. From football to badminton. From track and field to swimming pool. From university ranking to space technology.
      So surprise somepeople can talk and shiok sendiri.

• bryan.jones on Dec 26, 2010 at 1:43 am

Wake up lah bro. Malaysia beat Singapore in almost every aspect. From football to badminton. From track and field to swimming pool. From automotive to space technology.but are we better than Singapore
        So surprise somepeople can talk and shiok sendiri and at the same time bash others.

don’t understand some who know nothing and never do any research before commenting……
        all these design were copied from japanese,american and korean…..direct copy with ppl prove it by listing the original model….however to you the world best automotive is from china….sometimes korea….and japanese is the worst…..correct?
        haih 3rd world mentality who trying to act like the smartest…..

• dont underestimate China.

1) fastest commercial bullet train are made by china and at China at speed 486 km/ j
          2) China will have longest bullet train rail in the world next 5 years. Its a China own technology after collebration with Siemen AG and well successful bullet train maker
          3) to show to the world about China productivity, a 12 storey hotel only take 24 hour or 2 day to complete from sub structure to furnishing
          4) they build their own space ship
          5) LENOVO, HUAWEI, FOTON is a solid brand today in the world
          6) Foton is no 2 largest producer commercial vehicle
          7) they surplass US and Japan as largest automotive producer in the world
          8) they also surplass US and Japan as largest automotive market in the world
          9) Arnold, Gabenor of California planning to build bullet train infra and coach using China expertise
          10) They successfully (BYD etc) making electric bus
          11) They successfully (BYD, Chery, SAIC etc) making EV, PHEV, electric vehicle and hybrid car
          12) They build their own army equipment and vehicle
          13) SINOPEC, China Petroleum etc is multiple tme biggest than our proud Petronas
          14) China has more than 4 bank in top 10 largest bank ranking in the world
          15) Chery, one of China automative company produce almost 700, 000 car this year. Amount of export for 2010 almost half to total 2010 Proton production. And its younger than Proton. Proton good but they also good. So give them chance
          16) beijing olympic is the best olympic organizing in olympic history
          17) guangzhou asian games is the best in asian game history
          18) shanghai megalopolis citizen is more than 1/2 total malaysia citizen. imagine how big city like Shanghai, Beijing, Guangzhou, Shenzen and etc

so I thk we should give them 5-10 years to surplass Korean and next time maybe China and USA

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Dec 26, 2010 at 2:32 pm

yet they have a long way to go to catch up with the koreans

look at hyundai-kia

• nabill on Dec 26, 2010 at 2:49 pm

ur clearly in luv with that place…

• dickybird on Dec 26, 2010 at 8:47 am

we beat spore in every aspect and yet they have a 1st world per capita income, while we are still a developing country in spite of our resources. yes, sporeans are sombong but they have things to be sombong about. we malaysians are also sombong but without anything to be really proud hence bodoh sombong. come on even china can beat us at sepak takraw, so beating the tidak apa car industry should not be so hard sadly.

• toyuta on Dec 26, 2010 at 9:17 am

Hahaha …Are you sure we beat Singapore in swimming pool? Singapore beat us from swimming to table tennis, from airport to public transportation, from university ranking to money currency, you name it…….
          When I was in USA, most of normal people there have no idea where is Malaysia and I always have to mention ‘somewhere near Singapore’
          Come on I love Malaysia, but we need to be realistic about where we are before we are laughing at others. Jangan jadi ‘KEPALA BESAR’.

And you say it best ‘ 3rd world mentality who trying to act like the smartest…’

• Hahaha no thanks.. please just keep your car in China ok…

• Anti H & T on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:01 pm

No point, Malaysians will buy H & T, nothing else.

• rexis on Dec 25, 2010 at 11:17 pm

If Korean can make their spare parts cheap and readily available without giving up quality, they will pwn Japs.

China car… seriously, why must they make their cars look like wall?

And the ads is lame, I really couldn’t stand 1:43mins or 5.01mins of lame ads playing on TV over and over and over again.

• rickyll on Dec 26, 2010 at 6:36 am

Yes, yes, many may have laughed at the Chinese for being copy cat or producing inferior quality products especially in the automobile industries. Give them another 10 years, you may give their products another look simply because they keep on improving. In the survival of the fittest, let’s see who will emerge as the winner.

• nabill on Dec 26, 2010 at 2:47 pm

the fact that their cars only sells in china market tells the whole story…why wd i want to give them another 10yrs ??and in10 yrs….thy will be 5yrs behind technologically…
      and the perception of aweful quality thy have , it takes another 50yrs to corect that perception…

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 26, 2010 at 6:24 pm

well your iphone is made in china, i bet you must be gutted that you paid 2k plus for a low quality “made in china” iphone right?

• Sagua on Dec 26, 2010 at 7:02 pm

China stuff are all low quality. lol

Thats why whole USA is full of Made in China stuff.

Apparently, ppl love to fill their home with stuff made in China. And soon, they will fill their garage with stuff made in china too.

Their quality is so low, that evil Steve job decides that, only they can produce the almighty Apple Product.

• squawk on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:38 am

Many Chinese companies never expand to overseas markets because the local market is more than sufficient to max out their production capacity. Once their market starts maturing or they’ve grown in size and resources, then you’ll see them venture out.

On another note, Americans in the late 80s and early 90s had everything in their homes from TV to furniture to clothing that had the label “Made In Malaysia”.

• clement on Dec 26, 2010 at 9:27 am

no matter how it looks, Malaysia need FDI to be injected into our economy. Without them, we would not be able to compete with others. Look, Indonesia and Vietnam has been building their economy silently and we see a lot of FDI injected directly to thier country.

Wake up Malaysia. It no time for us to be contented and be protective…..

• squawk on Dec 27, 2010 at 9:40 am

Yeah, just pay Ho Chi Minh City a visit and see how much they’ve progressed. Extrapolate that growth trend over the next 5-10 years and you won’t be laughing anymore.

• we didnt need below par quality cars in malaysia,we already have proton and perodua to fill the vacuum.

• Maserati on Dec 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

You know what? I rather buy one of these than buy some Korean Junk.Seriously,if I were to get a car,I would fancy the coolbear!

But Korean cars? No way

• ciput on Dec 26, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Their domestic market will support their existence. ANYWAYS @ 9.25PM, M’SIA LEAD BY 2 – O AGAINST INA.

• fantausy on Dec 27, 2010 at 4:35 am

I like coolbear, now malaysia dont have such car

• biggie on Dec 27, 2010 at 7:00 am

Well I don’t think Proton can ever get that rapid increase in technology as China brand.

Imported cars (CBU) cars to China have high tax (as also Japan).

To set-up a factory in China for CKD or parts mfr you need to accept that the majority shareholder is a Chinese company (a subsidiary of Cherry/Great Wall). After 3-4 yrs then you will see a copy of your car on the road. What do you expect?

some company try to sue GM etc, but no company can ignore 1bil population market.

There are no other country in the world that can implement such policy, ignoring completely any IP laws in existence.

• essam on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:19 pm

i would like to know the kind of repar to airondation of the great wall coolbear car