Porsche to produce cars in China and North America?

Porsche seems to be doing well these days. The sports car brand is now looking to extend its manufacturing to the outside of Germany and the whole of Europe to be exact. Porsche’s CEO Matthias Mueller has revealed to Germany’s Focus magazine that the company may set up production in North America and China to help the company double up its annual global sales to 200,000 units. “We will consider this year whether to start production in Asia or North America,” were his exact words.

The company is also expected to use the former Karmann factory in Osnabrueck, Germany to manufacture the Boxster and Cayman models. This plant was taken over by Volkswagen on January 1st. Up to now, Porsches have been built in Germany, at the Zuffenhausen and Leipzig plants. The out-of-Germany production could also be done in existing Volkswagen factories. In fact, the upcoming Cajun SUV could be built in Volkswagen’s Chinese factory where the Audi Q5 is also being rolled out.

Porsche is also confident that producing its cars outside of Germany would not hurt the company’s image as the production of the Boxster was once outsourced to contract manufacturers in Finland. “We are OK as long as we can say our cars are engineered by Porsche,” he told to another magazine, WirtschaftsWoche.

It makes sense to start producing Porsches in North America as the United States is one of the brand’s most important market. China is of course another important market for the company. Porsche also plans to establish a new customer centre as well as a test track in Shanghai while the number of dealers are expected to rise in China, from 35 to 85, then probably to 100 outlets.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• kimi's fan on Jan 20, 2011 at 8:32 pm

asia…does Malaysia include in their consideration ?

• Goproton on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:09 pm

bro forget bout it….
      Singapore maybe…

• Since when Singapore is preferred over Malaysia (or Thailand) when it comes to automobile?

• nebula87 on Jan 20, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Singapore enough place to build for another factory or not? Porsche factory leh, not other small small one leh..

• Southeastasia on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:14 am

They can reclaim land to build factories to assemble cars. Assembling like wad bolehland and Thailand is doing isn’t it?
          Anyway QC at Singapore, Msia and Thailand is much trusted as compared to Cheena land.

But we guess than Cheenaland will get it own cheena made branded goods. Hope they will not get deflated airbags and sponge brakes. :x

• Stephen on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:02 am

They choose China since the market there is good for them. If you ever come to China…you get shocked how many Posh SUV here. Normally at Malaysia…you see those SUV only parked in high end condo or bungalow with guard.

china…you see a normal apartment owner have one and it just part along the run.

• alalala on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:13 am

u shud cme to kk..where all the high-end car park at rumah pangsa and setinggan..belive me

• nebula87 on Jan 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Oh no…Porsche quality sure drop…they must increase their QC if they select China…>.<

• laluan sehala on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:26 am

i don’t think so. the germans will most probably place their key people there and why all is this prejudice against china?

• Diablo on Jan 21, 2011 at 1:08 pm

I don’t see VW who has a factory there for some time now, having quality issues. And VW has one the best manufacturing quality in the world..

• Stephen on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:04 am

I believe many read..china last year shipped 18million automobile and its likely to grow even some cities like beijing is putting control to reduce traffic problem.

Malaysia is only looking for a 600 thousand market for 2011.

that’s show why all want to go to China.

• China is the next Future-World-Market.
    it is good that their are slowly opening up the trade doors to the world…

• Stephen on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:07 am

many reason dude…partly due to their huge market.
      but another problem I believe is their policy that favor car maker that manufacture their car at china…instead of direct import.

not mistaken it will have high tax if import…just like Malaysia…but of course they don’t really have a very tough tax to protect their national car as many national car company is having JV with foreign maker beside making their own brand.

• Patriot on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:02 am

No thanks to our National Automotive Policy.

If the government wants them to invest here the government should just open up the market
    instead of trying to regulate this or that.

• Black Dog on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

They are successful bcos they dare to venture into the SUV market where a lot of skeptics espiecially here condemn them. ‘Ugly, fugly, fuel wastage etc’ is often the comment but the reality is more and more people are buying them.

Stay in your ‘burung dibawah tempurung’!

And dare I suggest Lotus having an SUV?

• modesto_hann on Jan 21, 2011 at 5:28 pm

now china car manufacturers can plan their replica of porsche models based on real physical porsche models, not on pictures / papers anymore. congratulations.

• bobdbilder on Jan 21, 2011 at 6:13 pm

They are successful coz they exploit people’s inherent greed for self gratification with no regard for the environment. By doing so they increased their profits year on year. Well done Porsche. If they want to write their history through this, so be it. Just don’t give us the corporate BS about being green. Its just them trying to shove their diesel USP to us.

• Black Dog on Jan 21, 2011 at 7:42 pm

If you really care about the environment, go ride a bicycle!

Believe me, if you have lots of money and you’ve been through a lot of things, your mind changes. Then only you comment again. Hatred is bad for health.