Slow down, and enjoy the ride

Something a little different then. Over in Oz, the Road Safety Council of Western Australia has come up with a different approach in community education in the state with regards to addressing the issue of speeding.

The initiative is called Enjoy the Ride, and its aim is to show WA drivers that there’s an alternative to speeding, both on the road as well as in life. Rather than focusing on the consequences of speeding, Enjoy the Ride looks at the lifestyle benefits of slowing down and enjoying every day.

Ultimately, it’ll take a while – and lots of repeated attempts to press it home – before a complete cultural shift and behavioural change occurs, but it’s nice to see it being tackled in a different, and rather sophisticated, manner.

The three-minute film made for the initiative is very cleverly done, though I don’t suppose a similar approach would work for us in the same way. What are your thoughts on this, and how we can go about further educating drivers on road safety?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• boss coffee on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:54 pm

I think we need a video to educate users to speed up. Going 50 on the middle lane of NKVE is not cool.

• firefox4 on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:21 am

why not jus electronically limit the car max speed to say 110km/hr like how they limit speed to 180km/hr in japan decades ago (not anymore)?

why allow the sales of car capable of 250km/hr yet limit the highway speed to 110?

• Iskandar on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:59 am

I think it is best to educate the driving instructors first.

I’m tired of seeing these instructors cut on double lanes, drive slowly on the fast lane, beat the red light, talk on the phone and so on.

And the JPJ officers are also doing the same thing. Sometimes, they are even worse than the normal public.

Our drivers are freaking dangerous because the teachers and the ones upholding the laws are the exact one who break them.

Driving instructors and JPJ officers who break the traffic law should be sent to jail.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:04 am

HOW CAN YOU ENJOY THE RIDE WHEN YOU ARE:

– DRIVING A KANCIL AND THE SUSPENSION IS LOUSIER THAN A DUMP TRUCK

– THE WEATHER IS BOILING HOT AND YOUR CAR AIRCOND IS LOUSIER THAN A RESTAURANT FUNNEL SINCE PATCO, APM ETC. IS ALLOWED TO INSTALL AIRCOND UNDER LOCALISATION SCHEME…

– THE SUN RAYS IS BLAZING BRIGHT AND THE JPJ FINES YOU FOR INSTALLING A 50% TINT FILM. REASON IS FOR HARBOURING TERRORIST IN YOUR CAR AND PREVENTING JUSTICE FROM BEING SERVED.

THIS IS MY LOVELY MALAYSIA…….LAND OF THE BONGERS, THE CORRUPTS AND THE DONKEYS.

• Thrust on Apr 01, 2011 at 4:09 pm

How to enjoy the ride when the roads have got so many potholes & cracks here & there?

• Sad Day on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:06 pm

true true. so many potholes. hey, admit it, some of the accidents happen because of the potholes, not because of driving fast .

• Prelude on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:28 pm

You need the s class from merc..

• Can’t agree with you more matey… Road hogging is more dangerous than speeding

• the only way to prevent people from speeding is to fine them according to their income. Say RM1000 speeding ticket for someone who earns RM10K per month.

Current RM300 is nothing to these millionaires, that is why they are more likely to speed. Of course, there are those jobless ah beng that speeds too.

• cdafuture on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:11 pm

OIiiiii, why put all the blame on us drivers. How about the lack of active safety equipment and the poor condition of roads???? Come on lah, how many cars have electronic stability control and ABS etc. Also, i think the government is going to use this as an excuse to raise the fines, since they already ran the safety campaign, and still so many people dying, etc etc. Y don’t the G do something about the poor safety equipment in cars first. The reason proton cannot be exported is because it doesn’t meet overseas safety standard. I hear that soon, Proton also cannot sell in Australia because the G there make curtain airbag, ABS and ESC as compulsory equipment on new cars. If u think keeping to speed limit can avoid accident, then u must be really 5 years old lah. I once totalled a car, travelling at 50km/h.

• Black Dog on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Even without this campaign, it’s rare to see Aussies speeding. (They have very expensive fines and bribing is out of the question, you’ll be thrown to jail).

Compared to Malaysians, driving 140 – 170km/h is the norm in our highways.

The stick – The only way here is very strict enforcement of the law, absolutely no corruption (It might take a few decades to achieve that).

The carrot – Increase the speed lmit to 120km/h. 110km/h or even 90km/h on certain highways (eg KESAS) is ridiculously low for us driving high powered cars.

The cops always forgot the speed limit is the MAXIMUM speed. That means if the speed limit is 90km/h, we’re suppose to drive around 70 – 80km/h which doesn’t make sense on a 6-lane highway. That’s why, the cops can ‘cari makan’ on this opportunity.

• Gavin on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:36 pm

For aussies, v8 v10s 4-6 litres, turboed and supercharged is so commonplace, of course it’s gonna take a long time to change

• I LIKE THIS!!!

Very soothing and calm. But we all know that’s almost impossible in the real world.

If you’re late, you’ll be stranded in a very ‘calm’ traffic jam (2~4 hours). :P

If you’re late, you’ll come late at the office, and there goes your salary and nice bonus and you’ll get a good ‘stare’ by your bosses.

Yes, going off to office early might help, but you’ll be reducing your night life activities, cause you’ll have to sleep very early. Good in some ways, but if you’re an outdoor person, you’ll get ‘mental’ fatigue syndrome due to overwork and no stress relieve.

I think that’s the part and parcel of living in a “fast lane” especially city folks.

It’s good to have a balance between life and work, then again, we can’t afford to drive ‘slow’ when the rest are still driving ‘fast’.

Maybe, just maybe, flexi working hours and lesser strict employers could help to improve our work-life quality. I know few firms in KL that apply that policy (flexi hours) and the workers are motivated and no less productive than any other ‘normal working hours’ companies.

Have a nice weekend!

• pomen_gtr on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:08 pm

enjoy the ride…but please give way to other ppl in hurry….

keep left unless overtaking ya!

:lol:

• klguy on Apr 01, 2011 at 8:18 pm

for malaysian, traffic offend is not serious. u break the law u hav to pay only a small amount. and most of them wint pay bcoz there will be special discounts during fetive season.
    one way that may work is to jail them for a day if caught speeding. or community service in public place (collect rubbish ka, clean toilet ka, sweep floor in KLCC ka etc) by wearing a t-shirt bearing “Saya pesalah kesalahan lalulintas”.
    Deifinitely can see reduced traffic offenders :P

• I rather beat the traffic light than doesn’t give the signal.
    It so dangerous!

• shawal on Apr 02, 2011 at 2:22 am

Government needs to build more racetracks for speed junkies to get their fix

• Thanks for bringing this to us. A breadth of fresh air. Time to slow it down.

• COME ON AUSSIE on Apr 02, 2011 at 10:05 am

if i get stuck behind any slow turtle car, i think i might get all my body dysfunctional..just need to get there smooth.. not slow not fast..100KM but not 80KM on any highways freeways ..including Sunday!

• avoid accident started by user. those alot of people never follow the undang undang actually i think i still remember the undang2 still teach us who drive slow please stick to LEFT LANE. there actually quite alot of people they dont do that. they just so called enjoy the ride! they dont bother u like they try to racing with who drive slower and steady or dont giv a dam that style. you can see on high way.. there usually 6/10 people they dont look at the mirror or side mirror cuz u need to horn them and high light to them and some they dont care.. cuz they think this is speed limit 110km/h i can drive right lane on 110km/h. ????

so for those people said mat rempit on the road or etc. well u can compare to aussies they have alot of track. so for them they think of fooling around the road. they will go to track. so this will less accident? right ?

but for goverment side is all about money. they dont care . speed trap on the corner and hiding snap or etc.

• junaidi on Apr 02, 2011 at 2:05 pm

this will never work in malaysia. as with many things, they never work.

1. no smoking. you see people smoking 5 meters away.
      2. no littering. you see rubbish close by on the ground.
      3. traffic light? dont even need to go there, its like most malaysians are cavemen.
      4. highway speed limits? my friend called me a slow driver travelling at 109kmph when he was doing 140kmph. Sorry I cant compete with lawbreakers.
      5. seatbelts. i counted in practically 2/3 cars people dont buckle up at the back.
      6. no talking on the phone while driving. oh gosh darn, gotta pick up this call while driving, the maid wants to know what the dato’ wants for dinner.
      7. choosing the right lanes at roundabouts. are you kidding me? malaysians have no idea how to use roundabouts.
      8. stop at zebra crossings to let pedestrians cross. not a chance. can you say roadkill?

I could go on all day but the reality is Malaysians will NEVER improve.

• irwan on Apr 03, 2011 at 2:16 pm

No smoking, traffic light or no littering is negative prevention(you breach the rule, you get fined), just like speed limit. In this case, the ads is actually positive encouragement, which psychologically, works differently and more at cultural level. It may takes longer to have a real impact but once it’s there, it stays there.

• Not really negative. You know how much fine in WA if you dont wear your seatbelt? AUD500. Speeding more than 20 kmh over the speed limit? your car will be impounded on the spot under the hooligans law. They take safety very seriously not like Malaysia.
          I remember once when the fatality rate are up by 50 or so deaths, people were outrage and it becomes headlines in news while politicians are being questioned.
          You know what is the highlights in Malaysian news? “Terima kasih kerana membayar saman dan kita telah berjaya mengutip saman sebanyak berjuta-juta.” Dude! More summons mean more people breaking law and you are happy with that?

• You only get your car impounded if you exceed the speed limit by over 40kph, which is classified as reckless driving.

• Well a normal nice dual carriageway road (no potholes) speed limit is 60 in WA (try drive around swan river in perth.). Go figure how many car will be compounded if Malaysians drive like they are driving here. Plus if you go down south the Kwinana freeway (like a highway) you will see there are over over than 9 speed limit zone (i think there are less now). This shows how strict they are in governing the speed. But I do find it a bit too much tho.

• i prefer smooth and steady drive,not to fast and not to slow, doesnt like driving fast

• Angra on Apr 02, 2011 at 11:20 pm

I know. Make it mandatory for all manufacturers to install speed limiter at 110 kmh only. And pass laws to force all existing car owners to do the same. Maybe centralize the installation at PUSPAKOM and JPJ. No more speeding. Problem solved. And those who support this ad, please lead by example. Install speed limiter in your car at 110, 90, 70, or whatever speed you can describe as ‘safe and calm’.

• Carl Wong on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Some cars here do have speed limiters I believe like the Honda City. But it’s set at around 190 km/h, at least they can’t reach 200 km/h lol……

• sir zoula on Apr 03, 2011 at 7:09 pm

soory… i really don’t no how to enjoy the ride in my crappy proton’s car!!!

• NeuroOne on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:17 pm

i do prefer smooth drive than speeding and i always ALWAYS try not to drive more than the max speed limit the road has. but what makes me stressed are the road-hoggers. they are dangerous!

• Carl Wong on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:08 am

I do enjoy my ride regardless of how many law breaking ignorant morons I encounter through the journey.

Guess what I actually SHOW SIGNALS (because I have FINGERS) when I change lanes or turning in/out of junctions every single time since I obtained my license. I always keep my eye on the speedometer to shift efficiently when driving manual and keep the revs low to save fuel, and most importantly be aware of the current speed, I don’t exceed the speed limit.

I’m aware of my surroundings so I can tell if a speed demon is closing fast behind, and I would already move 1 lane to the left so they can be on their speeding way.

I take it easy, keep to the left or middle, find my comfort zone and cruise my way to success-fullness. I SHOW SIGNALS when I overtake. Which is: signal to the right, change lane to the right, wait until the entire vehicle is visible in the rear view mirror, and finally signaling to the left and moving back to the left………

I drive the way I do now thanks to my instructor who was a middle aged lady, she taught me everything needed in the 10 hours of classes years ago. But some people refuse to learn in their life and think they’re champions and become more ignorant/selfish after obtaining the license, which I think is a failure.