Petronas PRIMAX 95 Xtra launched – F1 tech-inspired fuel promises improved fuel consumption and performance

Petronas Dagangan has launched the mystery fuel teased some time back – the PRIMAX 95 Xtra was officially introduced last night in a short launch ceremony during the Twin Towers @Live 2011 open air concert at KLCC Park.

The RON 95 fuel was unveiled at the event – in conjunction with the unveiling of the “All The Way” brand tagline – by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

The new gasoline, which the company says is inspired by Formula One technology and is proven to deliver superior power as well as greater kilometres per litre, replaces the existing PRIMAX 95 at the pump and is now available at over 950 Petronas service stations nationwide.

“Today’s launch of the PRIMAX 95 Xtra showcases the importance of continuing research and improvement to the PRIMAX line of products in growing our retail business, as we believe that growth cannot only be in terms of the number of Petronas service stations we have, but also in continuously improving the quality of our fuel,” Petronas Dagangan’s managing director and chief executive officer Amir Hamzah Aziz said.

A quick trivia aside: Ford Fiesta owners should be chuffed – the car features in the ad campaign to usher in the new fuel.

Two years in the making, the Euro 2M-rated fuel features an advanced multifunctional additive package, headed by a robust mix of advanced combustion improvers and friction modifiers to deliver efficient combustion and reduce internal friction, resulting in maximum work achieved for every drop of fuel burned.

Besides the usual demulsifier and anti-corrosion bits, there’s a new synthetic detergent as part of the package to provide a superior cleaning edge and maintain engine cleanliness for optimum performance. Which makes the Xtra great value for the consumer, given the higher costs in having such a comprehensive additive package in the product (the additive package offers around 10% improvement in fuel economy over a base fuel).

On the whole, the promise with this one is that it delivers more power, offers better acceleration and enhanced fuel economy compared to the typical Malaysian commercial gasoline, so it goes.

In use, a sampling run with a full tank of PRIMAX 95 Xtra ahead of the official launch proved that the claims are pretty much nailed. Previously referred to as the Mystery Fuel (with a different pre-launch Experience to Believe tagline), several blind tests were conducted among the public, media as well as Petronas Dagangan’s employees ahead of Xtra’s introduction.

As part of that exercise, I was given a tankful of the fuel to try out, though I had to wait for the second fueling weekend for that to happen, since I had coincidentally tanked up with the now-replaced PRIMAX 95 a couple of days before the first session.

Despite no reference to the octane number grading at point of test, it wasn’t too hard to figure out the new fuel was very much a 95, albeit a very well masked one. Having been persistent in my use of RON 97 even with the introduction of 95 into the market and despite the ever increasing rates, there’s a definite sensitivity to changes brought about in certain aspects of performance (and for sure, fuel consumption) on my Ford Focus 1.8 Zetec manual that makes it easy to spot the characteristics of how 97 and 95 differ.

That I had just switched to 95 the fill before the sampling on the ride after six years of running 97 on it – with the odd 95 fill to keep abreast of things – had a reason; the car is being sold (alright, no disparaging comments now). So, it was rather timely and helpful that the control fuel for comparison was PRIMAX 95 Xtra’s predecessor.

Now, the reason I don’t run 95 is because there’s a certain roughness about its behaviour that doesn’t appeal, as well as working on the basis that more is more (where the higher the octane rating, the more energy is required to ignite a substance, but with the increased energy required for ignition there is also the product of more energy being released).

Going with 97 isn’t an issue cost-wise for me because it takes about two to three weeks to finish a tank cycle. I figure that when the new ride arrives soon that I still wouldn’t use 95, and PRIMAX 95 in outgoing form wouldn’t have convinced me otherwise in any case.

PRIMAX 95 Xtra, on the other hand, is a different kettle of fish. It’s intrinsically smoother than the old one, though still not quite into 97 territory. Standouts include a decent upswing in acceleration, especially in the low to midband area, though what’s most impressive about the new Xtra is its linearity when the car is pushed hard.

Throttle response is also a fair bit better, and about the only downside to having the increased performance is that the engine does get more raucous when you hammer it along, a by-product I think most will have little to complain about.

Equally impressive too are the consumption returns, at least with this single fill calculation to work on. I do however have to bite my lip about whether the 12.7 km per litre consumption obtained is a consistently repeatable achievement (my average with a competitor’s 97 hovers between 11.7 to 12.2 km per litre per fill, which translates to around 600 km or so per 50 litre fill, daily urban cycle; I’ve been logging every tankful for six years now!), but am intrigued enough to see if it is (provided the Focus stays long enough to do so!).

So, better than your average 95 in terms of performance and as good as any fuel in the market in terms of fuel consumption, if the sampling is any indication, PRIMAX 95 Xtra looks like a significant step forward, one that promises motorists more returns for every Ringgit and establishes a new benchmark for the industry. X, in this case, does mark the spot.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on Apr 10, 2011 at 3:57 pm

aiya…same old petrol, we nvr knw…>.<'''

• REbranding only… How good a Ron95 can be? bully rakyat.

• Pi la cuba dulu. Asyik nak condem je … apa la!

• Bob Vettel on Apr 10, 2011 at 4:24 pm

You’ve tested it already? If not, don’t talk.

And stop using the word “rakyat”. It’s been misused to the death by politicians!

• karpal_singh on Apr 10, 2011 at 5:45 pm

100% agree..
        rakyat this.. rakyat that..
        bunch of bullshit from the politicians

• I think he’s correct. So far, I dun feel any oomp with Primax95 Extra with full tank filled with it.
      Mileage cannot be better ba? Feel the same compare to the old one.

aiy.. nvm la.. since all my Petronas fuel is subsidized by company.

• pity u..... on Apr 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm

u’ve test it? if not ,don’t talk like u know everything maa.negetive mind person like you will never satisfied even if u got the petroll free.trust me…hahaha.

• The Dentist on Apr 10, 2011 at 5:36 pm

i wonder why my fellow Malaysians complaining about RON 95 fuel. in Indonesia (i live in jakarta for about 3 years now), the people here trust their RON95 fuel. Maybe it is because that is one of the high octane fuel they have (here Pertamina offer Premium(RON88), Pertamax(RON 95) n Pertamax plus(RON 96)).

but nowadays, they r forced to used Premium(RON 88) as the Pertamax(RON 95) has it priced increase to Rp 8000+ equivalent to about RM3 per liter.

I think we Malaysian have to learn to be grateful to be n live in Malaysia.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Not all RON95 are the same.The RON95 in Europe is very clean and has very low sulphur content. On the other hand, our RON95 is very dirty and contains a lot of sulphur. That’s why our RON95 is very lousy. But anyway I have to admit that only after the subsidy is removed then the fuel quality improves, like the current RON97.

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 10, 2011 at 9:21 pm

The sulfur bit refers to our diesel…

• squall_shinoda on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Of course we do have A LOT of sulphur in our diesel, but don’t forget that the content of sulphur in our petrol is still high, just cukup makan for Euro 2 standard. That’s why many new car models with GDI are not being brought in Malaysia because it requires ultra low sulphur fuel – in other words, Euro 4 petrol. Even though we are now using fuels claimed to be so-called Euro 2M compliant, we are actually lagging behind our neighbours in terms of quality fuels.

• zorro on Apr 10, 2011 at 6:19 pm

prepare semua…harga minyak Ron95 akan naik tidak lama lagi.. all this marketing strategy..

• huh? kalau syarikat minyak yang lain keluarkan minyak Ron95 baru, ko tak cakap mcm tu lak?

• niceone on Apr 10, 2011 at 10:47 pm

waaaaahh people from the future visits paultan blog! let’s celebrate his arrival!

• So, isi la Petronas banyak2, all of this subsidy comes from Petronas…

• kington on Apr 10, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Have yet to try this, but as far as RON95 fuels are concerned, i’m so far very happy with BHP on the current Altis, pre facelift without Dual VVT-i.

On the MArk 1 Vios with K&N filter, S-flow exhasut and those Pivot gadgets, Ron 97 is a must.

• syazwan on Apr 10, 2011 at 6:52 pm

i have tested the new advanced fuel technology by petronas and it seems my car’s acceleration is better than before…now i am testing the kilometres…nak compare with shell…before this i filled up 30 ringgit it can go about 2 to 3 days (lebih kurang 50 kilometeres la) but now tatau with xtra95 ni…my kilomoteres now is 19384km…so mau kasi tengok berapa 30 ringgit boleh pigi….hahah

• redboy on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:43 pm

if RM30 RON95 can last u 3days, i will pay RM45 for RON97…RM30 is 15 Liters..

• Tested on my mum’s manual picanto with 15 litres on a trip to Malacca.
    Consumes only 1 bar according to the fuel gauge.

• u go melaka from where? I go melaka with vios from termerloh can only 1bar lo.

• Sambal Belacan on Apr 10, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Just filled up the Primax 95 extra. The car feel smoother( i won’t say more powerful coz u need something rather than the new fuel to increase ur car performance) than before. it just feel like filling up the primax 97 lo.
    Fc, mileage? not sure.Will calculate it after filling up several tanks.

• Rakyat on Apr 10, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Calculate KM/Litre please.
      And type of driving: heavy or light footed.
      And type of road: highway or city.
      and compared to your old fuel FC.

Thks.
      *ignores all the “i feel”, “i think”, “only uses x bar” , “full tank RMxx less than last month” comments.*

• Rohazam on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Last night… i tried this new Primax 95 Xtra with my kenari… after my tank almost empty… i pour RM30… and until just now… my car engine did feel smoother… still calculating the km/l yet…

• Naz@AE111 on Apr 10, 2011 at 9:54 pm

my car run about 415km on a full tank using RON 95.. but currrently i always use the Esso Synergy 5000 since i started use my AE111 3 years ago.. i haven’t tried the Primax 95 yet until now.. but maybe after this i will try it la.. hopefully it gives more promising to the mileage..

• dont know about the new fuel but how do they change every station’s 95 to 95 xtra all at the same time?

• lanwm on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:34 am

good question! a

• se7en on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

all Petronas petrol kiosk had already been supplied the fuel a few days prior of the launch, its just a matter of notiicing the little difference or not..

I’ve heard mostly good review about the fuel, and u do have to fill up a few times as there’s would still be some traces of ur old fuel left in ur tank…mixing fuel does affect a bit on the fuel performance…

• Rakyat on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Easy 2-step process.
      Change Sticker on the pump
      Employ Bangla to wave checked flags when you past.

• B33MER on Apr 10, 2011 at 10:13 pm

So far am a believer in Esso95 and Primax95 was the worst … But i will try the new Primax95 and hopefully it will be equal if not better than Esso95.

• B33MER on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:30 pm

I have to say after trying Petrona95 Xtra i can noticeably feel the difference compared to the old petronas95. Mileage, power was much better and also engine was a lot smoother during hot days. But i still think esso95 is slightly better.

• Fair_2011 on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Belum cuba belum tau maa… PETRONAS Prixam95 Xtra memang power lah…. i drove long distance maa today with the new fuel memang power. Jimat duit aku tak perlu isi fuel 97 lagi

• Adnan on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Just fill up my rides…been using primax 95 previously ,with occasional tank full of other brands too.

• BUT ANYWAY FOR ME…PRICE DOES MATTER…..!!!A KAMPUNG BOY LIKE ME…PRICE REALLY MATTER!!!!NOTHING ELSE MATTER THAN THE OIL PRICE….

• The Dentist on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:22 pm

sabor apih sabor… kito bako je… hehe…

yep, it matters… but what to do…
      like i said, we r still pretty blessed that our fuel price is not as pricey like the one offered in Jakarta.

• BHP 95 infinity vs this new Primax, which is better? any comments? for my Car, all the way i am using BHP. Return me between 650 to 700 KM per full tank (city driving but less traffic light)

• mark wu on May 04, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i’m using honda city idsi. previously bhp ron 95 is the best. but now compare with primax 95xtra, primax is better in term of smooth acceleration, bhp 2nd n shell is the worst.

FC – bhp still win but not more then 1km/l difference.
      1full tank from red (about rm70)- Bhp 630km, Primax 600km- all hiway driving

old primax i only manage to clock around 550km per full tank

• heisenberg on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:58 am

u cant test same car with different petrol!

u need two cars with same model with different fuel..than only then you know the different. Plus the car load,the driving situations either city center or long distant driving must be same to test. Not all people know this fact of fuel analysis.

• altecs on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:07 am

I was a sceptic, but last weekend when I filled up with the new fuel I was totally impressed.. I dare say there is a feel of extra power (v-power-ish feeling) but lacks somewhat of fuel economy because with extra power you tend to drive with a heavy foot. :)

• Berza on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:19 am

BHP Primax Extra? I thought the Shell V Power 95 is a better thing….it does smell fishy there might be a hike of petrol with the consolation of promising so called more powerful and better mileage with the Xtra….Let’s see after the successful winning of national by election…the previous track record/trick of them was very bad and disappointing we simply inspired from there…That’s the reason why….

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:24 am

berza , what are you tokong about ? if nothing good to say shut up !

• honestly ..shell 95 better than primax 97, dont think new primax95 is any better than old one.

• shell 95 better than primax 97? from my experience Shell is the worst. accept the one with VPower tag. even Caltex 92 is far better than Shell Super 97 before.

• Vincent Ang on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Get ready folks. The price of RON95 will be going up like a rocket very soon.

• Emmett on Apr 11, 2011 at 12:37 pm

hurm.. nobdy comment about the use of this new primax95xtra for bike.. haha. today i will filled my lagenda z tummy with this oil. muahahahaha

• firdaro on Apr 11, 2011 at 1:27 pm

prices of fuel are set by the govt. but we should heed the advice given by The Dentist on the price of fuel across our borders. everywhere else in the world, people are complaining of high fuel prices. but our pump prices are cheaper compared to theirs. i think we need to give this new fuel a chance and see what our fortune500 company can deliver. they promised “it delivers more power, offers better acceleration and enhanced fuel economy compared to the typical Malaysian commercial gasoline” at regulated price. lets take petronas to the test.

• Ris-Fortezen on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

All i can say this fuel is very very good and it make my car become light..
    Honestly i said i dont like to fill up with petronas before this fuel came on the market. But honestly after i try it.. its really better than shell v-power :)

• April on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm

yea kinda a agree with u. been filling up shell but tried this yesterday memang can feel the difference…better power and engine sounds smoother…but dunno la maybe its a psychological thing…with the new ad…new fuel makes me think that its better

• The Dentist on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:15 pm

oops… i have given a wrong info.
    Pertamax is actrually a RON 92 petrol, no wonder it runs smoothly. :D sorry guys.. but yeah, the current price for Pertamax (RON92) in Jakarta is Rp 8600 equivalent to about RM3.++ per liter…

• Rakyat on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:15 pm

After using Primax95 & new fuel, below is the results.

Engine feels lighter, smoother, and more power.
    Exhaust is less and smell cleaner.
    Car feels faster. more agile and less vibrations.
    Air-con colder and heal my sinus problem.
    Tyre less wear and tear, and need less air top-up.
    Seat more comfortable and solve my back-ache problem.
    Horn sounds louder and clearer.
    In whole of Jan, i paid RM350 for fuel. This month with new fuel, only RM60.
    What a great experience after I just came back from my 1 month holiday to Italy and immediately went to pump the new fuel.

I guarantee BN won’t increase RON95 price after election, because I am their supporter. And why bully your supporter right?

/s

• Nissan lover on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:32 pm

already try with my livina last night..from tapah to taiping, filled up with RM20, feel much like ron97 and better acceleration than caltex(used caltex before)..but consump bit high than caltex..taking ipoh hill easily with smooth engine sound..pickup is good compared to previous primax95..

• not same la… they got cheaper car la wei…

• andywwc on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:58 pm

I pumped half tank with 95xtra on my Livina, I felt the car lighter and slightly more powerful and smoother, but yet to test the FC…I will do it after few rounds of pumping with the 95xtra to ensure my tank is fully filled with 95xtra rather than mixture of different fuel.

• subhero on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:03 pm

lagi satu cerita mem”bungak” dari GOV. try to pujuk rakyat coz after this another sen incured for ron95.

• i’ve fueled my volvo with this new petrol….normally rm 30 of petrol 95 can only last 2 days but now…it lasted for 3 or so…..the engine is smoother and sounds better …..

benda baik kita puji…..benda x baik kita sama2 maki….

• Orang Biasa Aje on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:08 am

i compared shell n petronas fuel (ron95) on my honda city n confirm petronas is much better n this is the old primax95!!

• yeah,primax95 xtra must probably better than before..just hope the price dont get jack highly than before..indon fuel are high?really dentist?well,how much honda jazz,toyota corolla sell overthere?is it rm100k above?oh..and dont forget ask thai’s bout fuel price and the car price too..then we can compare how much money needed to own a car between our country and others~~

• kkrazer on Apr 13, 2011 at 1:19 pm

About the subsidy of the petrol and says our petrol is cheaper than our neighbor, just check our cars and motor price than theirs. We pay double for import cars than our neighbor due to tax. This go to gomen. Proton just abit pricey for local manufacture cars (do not need to say about the quality).
    So when I hear how so much cheaper our petrol & want to increase it or floating, I really mad. Just float it but abolish the import duty and excise tax.
    You can check the price of Proton car in Turkey and Malaysia and you see that we paying more here eventhou not much transport cost.

As for petrol, I have tried BHP, Shell, Petronas, Esso & Caltex. I found that Esso abit more good than the rest. Not sure this new Xtra as do not try it yet. But to test, try it for a month to see if you have any different.

• MIRA L512 on Apr 14, 2011 at 2:21 pm

I PUMPED RM30 OF RON95. MY CAR CAN ONLY REACHED 130KM/H..BUT THEN I TRIED RON97 WITH SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY,MY CAR ALSO HIT THE SAME SPEED…AFTER THINK WHY COULD THIS HAPPEN FOR 3 DAYS NOW I REALIZED..MY CAR IS 660CC KANCIL!!!!!!ATOI YAI!!!!!!PATUTLAH XLAJU…IGATKAN SALAH MINYAK RON INI!!!!!HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• Have anyone try the RON96?

• wow..shall try the new ron95 xtra :D

• BMWCM on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:17 am

Some comments from BMW owners:

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?41424-Petronas-RON95-extra-can-be-used-pls-share-your-experience

• I’ve filled my tank with this primax eXtra without knowing it is new or not because I am a noob in fuel thing. Been using old 95 previously and notice difference on acceleration, speed and smoother run. Only to notice It’s new when I filled the second time that there’s actually the word ‘extra’ on the pump station.

To those who are pro in fuel thingy, what is the best fuel available in Malaysia market today? for 95 standard and 97 standard. I would like to gain some knowledge from my fellow Malaysian who are very good in this matter. :)

• i’m driving kelisa… with old primax95 for rm30 my car can go about 310km but now with primax95 extra with same amount it can go 389km….. the speed on highway, take a corner during climbing the hill through menora tunnel is great…. even it easily speed off the new toyota altis at 120kmh… hehehehe

• kak mah on Jul 10, 2011 at 3:16 pm

i think BH Petrol is better,it using AAC from Jerman

• rider on Jul 12, 2011 at 12:43 am

i used to fill shell 95 and i feel the engine is a a bit rough when i accelerate..recently i tried the primax xtra95 and i can tell you theres a slight different in terms of aceleration, smoother compared to shell and i been using it since then
    p/s; i also used to be skeptic towards petronas but the new primaxxtra95 clearly changed my perception

• Old Man on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:34 pm

i have been using petronas all my life, but i started trying BHP becos of the “Inspira contest” … and i found the BHP95 is very smooth & my engine doesnt jerk on sudden uphill acceleration. I really enjoy driving now as the engine feels so smooth compared to before.

so now the inspira contest is over, but i will remain with BHP lah.

(FYI i drive Merc C180k 2006, Proton Satria Neo 2010 and Mazda MX3-V6 1992.)

• NeutronSpeed on Mar 18, 2012 at 7:49 pm

In my opinion, it doesnt matter which company produce the fuel nowadays whether they are by shell, petronas, caltex, bhp, exxonmobil or any other typical companies. The only thing that matters is the ‘PROVEN TECHNOLOGY on the track’ that had given birth to the said fuel. Carry out performance and mileage test on the fuel personally and thoroughly then you can make fair comparisons among them. Don’t just criticize and underestimate the company reputation without scrutinizing the performance results of the fuel. I had used shell RON 97 before on my wira 1.5m (70% city 30% highway) and had just refuel with primax 95 xtra. Feel glad as I could notice a better acceleration and torque, doesnt make much different if compare to pricier shell ron97. Previously drove fuel tank rm100 with shell ron97 and had clocked 515km. For primax 95 xtra haven’t clock for mileage and any other extensive test yet. Still under test run and will be glad to share the results.