Petronas to introduce new F1 tech-inspired fuel in April

Something’s stirring in the air, and it’s an impending new fuel from Petronas. I’ve just spent the better part of the day at what was tagged an Experience to Believe event, organised by Petronas Dagangan, which teased the new fuel.

No details were revealed about the product, which the company says is inspired by F1 fuel technology. The only information that was managed was that it will offer improved acceleration and better fuel economy, and that it will be launched sometime next month (presumably, around the time the F1 Petronas Malaysian GP takes place – it’s simply the best time to shout it, no?).

The participants at today’s event were given a tankful of the mystery fuel to use in their own cars, and asked to provide feedback on what they thought about it, with a drive up to Bukit Tinggi part of the programme. As luck would have it, I’d just gassed up my ride a couple of days ago, so with almost a complete full tank there was no means to experience what the new offering was about. Yes, I know, the timing is just sucky, but happily Petronas has offered to gas up my ride next weekend, so there should be some notes about it when the fuel is launched.

Is it going to be a singular RON 95 or RON 97 product, or will the two current Primax forms be revised – and of course renamed – at point of launch? As mentioned, nothing was divulged, and though a hint was dropped that it was a RM1.90 product (which would make it a 95 fuel), the manner in which it was dropped suggests that it was likely a red herring.

What is improbable is that the new fuel will be an unregulated one like Shell’s V-Power Racing; to go down that path doesn’t make commercial sense, and 955 Petronas stations nationwide serving up the new fuel does make that one moot. In all likelihood, this will be Petronas’ version of what Shell worked with V-Power 97 – now, dare we hope for a 95 with significantly improved characteristics, while at that?

Guess we’ll find out next month!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• K3VET on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:12 pm

fight against with V-power ??? petronas dont want lose, and ron95 going increase price soon…

• ikansepat on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

while libya crisis is getting worse, the increasing fuel price after sarawak election SUDAH PASTI

• mengchoo on Mar 24, 2011 at 3:02 pm

lol
        many says fuel price wil lincrease after tenang by election.
        so what happen lor? speculate only lorr

• I DONT CARE BRAND OR MILEAGE OR ADDICTIVES USED BLA BLA BLA….

I WILL ONLY CHOOSE THE NEAREST AND MOST CONVENIENT PETROL STATION NEARBY………FULL STOP

• lightning mcqueen on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Dear K3VET.
      Government is the one who raise the price, not Petronas la bro…
      Open your mind la….
      When Proton introduce new car, ppl say new car price will be higher….
      Proton jugak kena smash…

Now you wanna bash, bash the government agency la bro… they are the policy maker

• Alifz on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Haha..at last RON97 user like me now have much better benefit from what we paid for.

• RadzLee on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:31 pm

out of all current ron95 brands, which one is the best? im a noob

• shell and esso. caltex well with cleaning agent.

• RadzLee on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:10 pm

is it true that one should not mix fuel of the same ron from different company? some says that mixing different brands in the sama tank can lead to clotting etc2 bcoz of the different additives…

• I would highly recommend BHP, try it to believe…. :)

• justice on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:40 pm

i hv tried..but shell and petronas,are better. others still havent tried in detail.

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:05 am

shell sucks big time! prefer petronas and bhp!

• ttooyyoottt on Apr 08, 2011 at 7:13 pm

stay away from Shell! Bhp, esso n petronas better.

• emmeth on Mar 23, 2011 at 7:58 pm

so far petronas has given me the furtherest mileage.

• acerman on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Sure? Why is it when I use caltex has better milage? Tried both, using caltex my engine is smoother.

• emmeth on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:57 pm

yep. the furtherest i’ve been was nearly 1100km with a single full tank.

• My personal observation, BHP and Petronas gave me the best mileage, while Shell gave me the worst for my 2.4 Estima.

However, Esso gave the best mileage for my 308Turbo and Savvy..

• lightning mcqueen on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:11 pm

It depends on your filling up time and method.. better you do like this.
            1. Fill up the tank until first click, using auto filling button (use the lowest notch).
            2. Reset your mileage.
            3. Fill up again once your car is empty, apply No.1 method of filling up.
            4. Take reading of the mileage and volume of fuel.
            5. Divide the mileage with the volume.
            6. Repeat until 4 times.
            7. Average it.

My Savvy = urban usage 13.9 km/liter, highway usage = 15.9km/liter
            Optimum fuel consumption speed at 90km~110km.

• Ed's friend on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Good god. What car are u driving?

• Yours is 100 litre tank ah?

• zainal abidin on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm

WOW !!! What car @ vehicle are you using?

• Emmeth on May 04, 2011 at 2:29 pm

a japanese saloon. it was a 40% town + 60% highway driving.

• infinity on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:20 pm

In my area, there are only Petronas and Shell. I find that Shell gives better power, but less mileage. Petronas on the other hand, gives better mileage, but less power. I use RON 95 for both Petronas and Shell.

Hopefully with this new formulation, we can get more power and more mileage!

• mmmmmmm on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:45 pm

personal small scale experiment using my honda and perodua……..for power surge definately goes for bhp………primax got both of both world…..esso and mobil felt more refine smooth but sedate power……shell 95 the power is the poorest of all…….quite addicted to bhp for its power and the confident it give but end up poor millage due to heavy foot………..for me millage not that important…i regards driving as part of relaxation therapy and enjoy every minute of it…….living in less congested state has its benefit………

• I prefer BHP or Petronas for RON95. Shell is the one I avoid cause sluggy and not so save. My prefer ranking : 1) BHP, 2)Petronas, 3)Caltex 4)Esso. Shell not in ranking. only if tank near to empty and no choice, I will go to Shell.

• B33MER on Mar 23, 2011 at 8:31 pm

Tried RON95 for a month and i’m on my 4th tankful … So far Petronas RON94 gave the worst mileage and engine feels rough, Next was Caltex95 the mileage was so-so it gave me 410km the best was a tie between Esso95 and BHP95 it gave 460-470km.
    Each fill RM100 = 52 liters

• wow.. ur car cant even go 10km/L

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:26 pm

why are u surprised?

he looks to own a heavy midsized car or continental…judging from the fill up capacity.

given the usual undersized engines of these cars sold here, i’m not surprised of the rather poor fuel numbers especially if these were more city biased driving.

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:28 pm

It should be an E46 330i SMG… :)

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:39 am

and if it was, then he hasn’t really driven it hard enough. :D

I have been getting single digit MPG (something like 6mpg – wasn’t really keeping track) when I was “sampling” an E46 M3 SMG at Mosport. Then again, my mitsu 4pot turbo wasn’t doing much better either. :p

ps. 6mpg = 2.5km/L….or 1.5L of fuel per lap on mosport…..

• i think he is using an old continental car la…..many new continental car out there surpass 1/10km..

• lightning mcqueen on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm

May be he is driving a petrol power bulldozer

• sukun on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:18 pm

they all the same. petrol in malaysia is all the same. shell n esso buy fuel from petronas and sell them with their brand. they suck ur money

• nEuRo.PsYcHo on Mar 23, 2011 at 9:41 pm

You’re so wrong..
      Shell and Esso have their own refineries and they churn out their own fuel..
      I’ve been into both refineries before..
      Both refineries are huge and they take pride in their products..

• Shaycoat on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:12 pm

I agreed with you nEURO. Yes the oil might be the same content (surely Hydrocarbon!) but what make the oil from other makers differ is the additive they formulate for their oil

• have you heard of Klang Valley Distribution Terminal? Ask anyone who works there the difference between Shell & Petronas fuel

• Jammy on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:55 am

I agreed with Ben. Being seriously involved in oil & gas industry I know the inside and out of the trade.

And YES, Shell is buying from Petronas for their fuel in Klang Valley area. Try filling up with Shell when you’re in other part of Malaysia and you’ll feel the drop in performance almost immediately. Petronas maintained their fuel quality across the country.

All company got cleaning agent in their fuel. Only dosage and quality that separates the best from the rest.

Cheers

• lightning mcqueen on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Base oil is coming from the same tank, the only thing is the additive.
          It just like making Milo, Horlick or coffee, all use the same hydrocarbon,
          the different is only the flavor…

• i work near there…its diff..i see from 8th floor from my work place

• poyolahkau on Mar 25, 2011 at 11:21 am

Well, PETRONAS has 2 refineries, in Terengganu and Melaka. Please don’t judge the efficiency of the fuel based on who has a refinery or not. It’s the additives that counts, as well as suitability of the engine with the fuel. Shell and PETRONAS share their base oil in Peninsular and also Sabah Arawak in case of supply shortage; only additives, detergents, aromatics and dyes that make them different.

• Kambing Gurun on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:34 am

I’d agree if you said that all of them sell dead dinosaurs extract…

• DokDO on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:07 am

what was sukun said is true. indeed the esso and shell have their own refinery in PD, but at east coast regional, all oil companies took their supply at the petronas refinery, same as case on PD refineries. the refineries in Malaysia have same std refining process, changing raw hydrocarbon into petrol, diesel kerosene etc., the differences is the additive (the secret recipe) put into the product during transfer into the tankers.

• tiadaid on Mar 23, 2011 at 10:45 pm

For me, doesn’t matter if I use Shell or Petronas or Caltex or Esso. I get the same mileage every time. 520km for 40L of mix urban & highway driving. Only problem is, since I live in Ampang and now work in KLIA, I travel 520 km in only 3 days!

• ezracopters on Mar 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm

hmm..

Why is it, seem that everything related to Malaysia @ Malaysian people own product, we the very own ‘Anak Malaysia’ thru words instead of giving facts, we love to babble and crooned about thus portrayed to the world almost like we enjoyed in degrading our own compatriot .. i can see why some opt to dis on Proton, but here Petronas. 500 Forbes company, world known brand… even when Chong Wei won over Lin Dan pun still we heard people around us said ‘lucky b*****d’, ‘nah, Lin Dan not 100%’… hisssssh

Anyway, all i knew is, i had no complain in using Petronas product.. it served me well, even give me a better mileage than shell & others (ron 95).. as for ron 97, Petronas drop to no 2, a little behind Shell in term of performance to my car, mileage still on par. well, im really lookin forward for this new F1 tech-inspired fuel. others brand.. hmmm either BHP @ Caltex.. tu my opinion la, org lain tak tau!!!

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:17 am

couldnt agree more

• I dont agree that……….IF Toyota and Proton produce an exactly same car and same price,

only difference is the badge, WHICH you will buy !!!!!!!!

This is POWER OF BRANDING and marketing , not related to patriotism etc

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 25, 2011 at 12:24 pm

brother.. just think,, what happen to Malaysia today without petronas? im using it 15 years edy, never let me down.

• Different in fuel brand is very marginal. The analogy goes like this, u want to buy an item which available in your sibling’s shop and in a foreigner shop. The same item with different brand or logo. Where do u go? Think about it.

• TripleA on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:16 am

Petronas ron95 better mileage than Shell ron 95 ? Are you guys sure about that ?
    Petronas ron 95 drink like water for my car, surely Shell gives better mileage.

• Shoemaker on Mar 24, 2011 at 12:26 am

I buy Petronas or BHPetrol because they are local companies, why send our hard earned money overseas? Besides, shell fuel is rubbish, they know their brand is strong and people will pump anyway thinking their car will become Ferrari.

• No, people go to Shell just to win their luck on RM30k lucky draw every week.

• TripleA on Mar 24, 2011 at 2:54 am

Strong comment for someone else that opt for ‘overseas brand’ fuel.
        Still, shell give better mileage for my car than petronas & i dont even bother about the contest whatsoever.

• vincent on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:10 am

Sorry to say that I never wanted to support Petronas anymore because they shows discrimination on giving away the petrol dealership to mostly Bumi only.

• ttooyyoottt on Mar 25, 2011 at 12:27 pm

you are wrong! my neighbour is chinese, dealer petronas station in machap highway!

• Critique on Mar 24, 2011 at 10:46 am

Aren’t these other brands reinvesting in the country? :)
        Btw, where does BHPetrol get their fuel from?
        Hehe…

• Adrian on Mar 24, 2011 at 7:39 am

From my experience, this also depends on the car you drive, your right foot, driving style, car engine/tire etc condition, road/traffic condition etc.

• lightning mcqueen on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:22 pm

TripleA,
      How sure r u?

• hexagon on Mar 25, 2011 at 6:19 pm

agreed, i’m using civic 8th, and i found that petronas ron 95, pour like water… finish just like that. lack of performance n less milage. i more prefer using caltex or bhp or at least shell to get better performance and also mileage. I think each engine reacts differently towards this fuel addictive. My i-vtec said, go for BHP!!! faster response, smooth, silent engine & better mileage.

• kilkenny1pint on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:11 am

Most Msian will opt for the company which dangles a prize ie cash or cars !!
    Competitions are a con job but it sells !!
    That’s the reality and brand loyalty only comes second

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 24, 2011 at 3:05 am

there is one sore point though. while it may help some drivers, some new cars on the road is built to run RON92 so even ron95 (let alone ron97) is overkill….so the only real benefit is the cleaning properties in the fuel.

case in point the Civic 2.0. If it was setup to run ron95 with higher compression and timing advance, it would be making at least another 8-10hp extra from the DOHC mill (the higher compression 2.0 SOHC from the accord makes more power…).

• Gavin on Mar 24, 2011 at 3:22 am

I started using Petronas after Projet because both gave same power level which above the rest of the others

• Caltex fuel gives the worst mileage! Very little additives in it now. They put a lot in during product launch to give a good impression. Not anymore though.

Shell, Petronas all WAY BETTER! just try do a comparison. I guarantee that Caltex will come up short.

• deGonggok on Mar 24, 2011 at 8:43 am

I switch to Petronas back in 1995 from Shell. But I have no qualm to buy others if it is convenient enough.

All the mileage and power thing as we can see from all the comment is in the mind.

• biggie on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:07 am

the perfomance or savings on fuel with whatever additives they use is at most marginal. therefore I fill up to the nearest station and convenience available.

• longjaafar on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:10 am

Instead of this new petrol.Petronas should give us better diesel. Or is the government not allowing oil companies to sell better diesel, say, Euro4?

• lightning mcqueen on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Ello LongJaafar,
      U still have other option instead of Petronas Diesel.
      We are discussing about majority interest here. RON95!!!!!

• they just announce it rite…i think there are article on it in paultan….but it take several year before fully use…thai start planning and invest to switch to E4 since 2009 and commercialize either end of this year or early next year..if i not mistaken….i read in bangkok post, the date i don remember..changing to E4 not just changing fuel but they have to built new refineries for that purpose..that why i think many diesel car launch in thai

• Ordinary Joe on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:22 am

Why argue about which petrol is better? Cars come from different makes, even if it was from the same make, they would be in different states of tune and condition i.e. depending on how its modded or taken care off, etc. So they all will react differently to the different formulas and mix of blends provided by different oil companies… So use the one that does it for you la… Some also are indifferent and will just pump where convenient, and some are driven by loyalty card points…

• blackjkx on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:42 am

pump 50% of ron97 and add in 50% of ron95.
    What u’ll get is ron96.

• tikus on Mar 24, 2011 at 9:53 am

Where is diesel with Euro4?

• singa on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:02 pm

pasal petrol pun gaduh…haiya…. naik basikal atau jalan kaki je…habih cerita…

• SaLeS aDViSor on Mar 24, 2011 at 1:13 pm

I’m using petronas ron95 because i can collect double point from my credit card maybank petronas & my mesra card…. and i convert it to get free fuel…. hahaha

• lancer-nation on Mar 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

I suspect it will be an improvement for 95 and 97 with no additional costs.

Don’t think there will be racing ron 98+ onwards.

More like more detergents and additives that reduce the combustion chamber tempreture, valve lubritation and etc etc which would improve idling stability, acceleration, aid engine smoothness

• n0 need to fight la.. we just discuss here ma… no one win and no one lose we here just to give our own opinion. :)

• You use Shell, the money goes to Netherlands
    You use Esso Mobil, the money goes to the US
    You use Caltex, the money also goes to the US
    You use BP the money goes to UK but now BHP the money will stay in Malaysia
    You use Petronas, no question where the money goes.

So in conclusion, use BHP and Petronas. Great fuel..great feeling.. from Malaysia for Malaysia and the world.

• i am using it now…><guess …what is the feeling ?? *.*

• My family use Petronas Ron95, no problem.

• crazyyyyy,ppl amended my comment on here !!!!!i was js saying
    having ‘new formulated cheap fuel’ from Petronas for my car not knowing what composition in it is risky…>.<

• hexagon on Mar 25, 2011 at 6:27 pm

ini paultan bro…tempat kita cari point nak belasah komen orang lain sambil2 baca pasal automotive industry…hahahhahaha

• Its just rebranding themselves. Esso came out
    with their “smart” fuel concept now its Petronas’s turn.
    As always they will claim that it will give more mileage,
    more power , more additives — everything more and better
    than the previous one.
    At the end of the day it all boils down to personal preferences
    and that “feel good” factor.
    Last and not least we will all be asking – when is the next contest ah !!
    Is a Merc up for grabs ? :)

• lastly on Mar 26, 2011 at 9:30 am

what if i say i fill rm 25 can go 200km using shell 95?using 4g91 engine…

• zainal abidin on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Let’s hope it is a ‘superior’ 100 octane petrol…Price wise? A good and more easily available alternative to V-POWER?

• Caran on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Petronas Primax95 will be replaced with this new fuel, Primax95 X-tra.. Same price..

• Caran on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Primax95X-tra to replace Primax95..

• Mpower on Apr 08, 2011 at 8:50 pm

another heavy politicized agenda?

• Memang save & power >> new fuel F1 tech . Try jgn tak try