Audi Q3 SUV revealed ahead of Shanghai world debut

First was the Q7, then the fast selling Q5, and now Audi has enlarged its successful SUV range with a compact model called Q3, revealed ahead of its motor show debut in Shanghai.

This will be Audi’s entry level SUV, and it sits on the same platform as the VW Tiguan. Size wise, the Q3 is 4.39 metres long and 1.83 metres wide, which is slightly wider but 64 mm shorter than a BMW X1, the car that it’ll take on in the market. Compared to the Q5, it’s 239 mm shorter and 50 mm narrower, so there’s a clear size gap.

Audi says that the Q3’s drag coefficient of 0.32 raises the bar in this segment and there’s an underbody fairing that facilitates optimum airflow. The boot is expandable from 460 to 1,365 litres. With high usage of tailored blanks and aluminium for the bonnet and tailgate, a front driven Q3 weighs less than 1,500 kg.

Looks wise, it’s unmistakably Audi. The front is dominated by the single-frame grille with tapered upper corners, and there are of course LED daytime running lights, but they’re in bar form here. The Q3’s profile and shape isn’t too far from big brother Q5, but I see some A1 in the more raked D-pillar here. Together with a gently sloping roofline, Audi calls it coupe-like. The wraparound tailgate follows Q norms.

Audi offers 12 different colours for the Q3, and customers can choose either a full paint finish or color-contrasting panels in anthracite gray to replace the black underbody guard and wheel arches.

The Q3 will be available three four-cylinder 2.0L engines upon market launch, two petrols and one TDI, all with direct injection, turbocharging, start-stop and energy recovery system. The 2.0 TFSI delivers either 170 hp or 211 hp, with the latter propelling the Q3 to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds on to a top speed of 230 km/h. For diesels, there’s a 177 hp 2.0 TDI from the outset, with a 140 hp version coming later.

The lower powered oil burner will be front driven, and it’s the economy champ of the range with less than 5.2 litres per 100 km consumption. The other three engines will come with quattro permanent AWD. This is a simpler and lighter Haldex multi-plate clutch arrangement in place of the Q5’s Torsen-based full-time AWD system.

The lower powered petrol and diesel variants will come with six-speed manual gearboxes, while the top end units get seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch ‘boxes. This means that should the Q3 come to Malaysia, it will be the 211 hp 2.0 TFSI.

Audi drive select is available as an option for all Q3 engines. It manipulates the accelerator and steering, and S tronic/adaptive cruise control, if specified. There are auto, dynamic and efficiency modes. In the latter, the air con and cruise control operate with the specific aim of saving fuel, and the S tronic disengages a clutch when coasting.

The Q3’s ESP integrates an electronic differential lock, which regulates the distribution of drive to the wheels via ‘barely perceptible braking’ at the limit of cornering, which aids handling. The ESP also includes trailer stabilisation. Hold assist is an option but hill hold assist isn’t available for now.

It may be entry level, but some options are high end. For example, the Bose surround sound system integrates 14 speakers and the HDD navigation system is displayed via a (manually extendable) seven-inch LCD screen. The system can also process whole-word voice input. A panoramic glass roof and a self parking system (it’ll steer for you) with twelve ultrasonic sensors are among the other options.

The Audi Q3 will roll off Seat’s under used assembly line in Martorell, Spain and will go on sale in its home market in June from 29,900 euros. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2143]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Unforgiven on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:03 am

Hmm… very nice… may give SUV a try…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

This thing look so boring, tasteless like ubi kayu. Lexus RX is way better.

• tikus on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:07 am

Front Looks like storm trooper from Starwars.

• Suren69 on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:15 am

Cant seem to appreciate their design. Looks too plain. I like the rear light tho.

Btw don’t you guys feel the wheel is slightly too huge for the car. Looks funny.

• still better looking than the X1..

• Suren69 on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:45 am

Well no doubt about that. The X1 looks el chepo & too basic. This one looks more sophisticated. However, the front end is too Audi-ish. It’s like all Audi model having the same front end with very minor tweaking.

• In my opinion, X1 looks great. Better than the ugly X3. This Audi looks boring to me. It’s just the same design as other models and change it a lil bit here and there. This is my opinion though. You don’t have to agree with me.

• Wah.. it look really neat and clean.
    The LED had change into the bar form alike the BMW concept tail light, just loving it.

The selling price only 29,900 euros, then should be RM130K++, so envy those ppl can have that good car with low price.. since once it arrive Msia, sure is around RM250k.. or more..

Besides, having 12 different color and others accesories to be choose?
    All the option sum price already able to buy another local made car already.. so sad..

Q5 Option in Msia:
    Pearl ecolour RM 4,000.00
    Bang & Olufsen sound system RM 6,000.00
    Panaromic glass roof RM 8,000.00
    MMI navigation system with reverse camera RM 19,000.00
    S line package RM 36,000.00

• Philip J. Fry on Apr 13, 2011 at 8:32 pm

VW Tiguan is about RM 250K, so this should be more than that.

• meteoraniac on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:41 am

looks great as usual from Audi, if they can price it slightly lower than the x3 would be a steal…..

• venven81 on Apr 13, 2011 at 1:19 pm

i think Q3 is competing with X1 rather. the best-selling Q5 is priced circa RM325k and this baby will go below RM300k definitely. if it’s priced around RM250k, i believe it will sell like hot cake just like it’s bigger Q5 brother. can’t wait to see it in real.

• Should be priced between a VW Tiguan and a Q5. Looks very good!

• arcadian on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:54 am

Curse of the family face—we get redundant designs

• Borderless on Apr 13, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Another boring work from the brain-dead Audi design department. Should appeal to those who demand the most boring things in life. But I like the driver centric interior design.

Audi, please hire real people to design your cars not robots.

• Unforgiven on Apr 13, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Are they gonna make the Q3 in Indonesia? That may bring the price down…

• clutch basah on Apr 13, 2011 at 1:08 pm

One word.. Boring!!

• audi always make smexy lights

• SCK 911 R on Apr 13, 2011 at 2:12 pm

lights look like mitsubishi lancer

• DewaSemut on Apr 13, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Arggghh… my dream SUV getting smaller… But sigh…even if it arrives to Malaysia… still tak mampoooo…. We’ll a cheaper (and reasonably achieveable) alternative would be the new Kia Sportage i guess … :P

• Just nice! My Q5 is abit too large I felt …

Love the orange color.

• nope, Q5 size is just nice, my Q7 is abit too large I felt …
      ..hehehe.. =P

• niuhje on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:19 pm

what new car can we buy for RM30,000 in Malaysia? exactly… NONE!!!!

• puipui on Apr 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

awesome car

the backlight looks like this ” > . < " haha

• Gemder on Apr 13, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Just don’t like the logo with 4 CONDOM RINGS.

• SoMeOnE on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:02 pm

u clearly dont know what a condom looks like……;)

• seancorr on Apr 13, 2011 at 10:29 pm

The lights of an Audi will always look good and so is this fella’s lights too. Since its going after the X1, I assume the price should be a tad bit lower or just around the X1 price.

• Adrian on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:07 am

Agreed, Audi need to put their price lower than BMW and Merc (20% lower), if not it will not sell, at the same price people will choose BMW or Merc due to prestige.

• jtiongwl78 on Apr 13, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Well done Audi! It is a very good product! However, Diesel model shall be introduce into Malaysian market as well.. At least give consumer another choice as well as making a challenge to BMW..

European Diesel Engine is designed to perform well especially in long distance travel. Those who use it for long distance travel, it will be a very good choice. It will provide a very good performance, as good as petrol unit, but it is very economical to run..

Trust me, if you really have a chance to try it.. you will definitely love it..

• Gavin on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:44 am

This car looks very girly, not suitable for man I think.

• Littleman on Apr 15, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Fit the image of a dashing lady suv. It is certainly great for your wife, mistresses or daughter. So guys it may be boring to you but an awesome status to the ladies. For the same engine as Q5, it is certainly a powerful horse to ride. Lets hope the price stay within the reach of the above average lots discounting the rich. It is just too back that the country has reprived the wage earners to own such a vehicle with the high excise
    duties.

• i love it !