CCTV traffic summonses to come with photo from May 1

CCTV traffic summonses to come with photo from May 1New Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar has been making some positive announcements lately. Last week, the second highest ranking policeman said that his men will no longer ambush motorists from behind trees or in drains, and they are to aim their (speed) guns out in the open.

Today, he announced that motorists caught doing wrong by cameras will be provided a photo as proof, along with the saman ekor, starting from May.

This is an improvement from the current situation, where motorists are expected to take PDRM’s word for it, and cough up the cash without question. Like the previous “get out of the bushes” directive, this is a positive move towards more transparency.

The Deputy IGP expects this new procedure to reduce the chance of mistaken identity. “But if there are still people who claim that police have got the wrong vehicle (even with a picture attached to the summons), they should produce evidence of the mistake at any traffic counter,” he told reporters.

But in areas without CCTV surveillance, the regular way of serving summonses will continue to apply.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• adrian on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:01 am

no longer ambush ? i just see them doing it along jalan puchong to kesas highway.. as soon as you run the red lights there (our beloved cop is hiding behind the bushes talking away in the walkie tokie, further ahead another battalion waiting for you :)

• lolol on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:24 am

aiyo start from 1 may la why u so dumb

• LatukBandar on Apr 29, 2011 at 1:45 am

for speeding lah, not run red light.

• civicEK on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:23 am

hahaha bongok.

• carazy on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:49 am

for those who always “disrespect” the redlight, u are jeopardizing other motorist as well, cops & JPJs should give more summon to this ppls

• pffttttt,so dont break the rule la.run the red light?r u facking idiot?u put other people in danger. mentality like this caused so many accident in malaysia. then easily blamed proton car crap la. kene saman because run red light also want to blame police?what if u run into other motorist and killed somebody?i see lots of idiot like this in kl. be responsible to your action. double line overtaking, disobey trafic light, u know what u doing, so dont just blame police when get saman. berani buat berani tanggung la.dun use lawyer defence: mana bukti?

• hantu on May 01, 2011 at 3:31 am

I rather beat traffic light rather doesn’t give the signal.
        Its so dangerous!

• danny, what do you mean by “But in areas without CCTV surveillance, the regular way of serving summonses will continue to apply. ” ? what is the regular way of serving summonses?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:02 am

“Encik, bawak laju mau pergi mana?” :)

• LatukBandar on Apr 29, 2011 at 2:23 am

Police: “Encik, bawak laju mau pergi mana?”
        Rakyat: “Balik.”
        Police: “Tak nampak papan speed limit?”
        Rakyat: “Ada.”
        Police: “Habis tu, kenapa pandu laju sangat?”
        Rakyat: “nampak signboard, tapi tak nampak u.”

• Is it even possible to avoid being summoned by saying they don’t have proof that we drive fast (in areas w/o CCTV)?

• “u tengok machang mana??”
        “Nak settle sini kah atau balai???”

• MouMouRen on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:15 am

“Tuan, saya sakit perutlah, tidak tahan sudah. Nanti saya parking tepi jln, tuan saman saya pula.”

• Cucukman on Apr 29, 2011 at 7:35 am

Itu aa.. common Roadblock loh…

Itu laju tarak guna ooo..you bawa laju, then at traffic light we meet again…u bawa laju, then at hentian R&R we meet again… so what kind of purpose to Drive too fast?

*unless u mau pegi berak ooo.. cannot wait lorr..

• cando on Apr 29, 2011 at 6:55 am

Really annoyed with so many ‘operasi’ here and there. One question, do they require some sort of approval or directive from their respective station to carry out each ‘operasi’ ? If they do, can we demand them to show to us to verify that their ‘operasi’ is genuine?

• Hafidz on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:51 pm

they are allowed to do that 24-7-365 days ..no need paper work to verify..

• Cucukman on Apr 29, 2011 at 7:31 am

from my EXPERIENCE…

BEWARE when u drive towards to the flyover, if you try to find the CCTV, u will see a small HD hidden near the lamp of the flyover.. especially Plus highway..

Then if u see “Perangkap laju di hadapan” there are few cctv also, but i think it is not valid since real police will take over the job..

Others? hehehehe.. can Drive with top speed.. aso can cucuk Myvi syiok sendiri hehehhe.. but also beware with PDRM Lancer Evo..

• The thing is Paul, the way things are going in this country, even somebody who was involved in a video clip also denied his involvement in the video. The point is, everyone can deny that they might be in the picture. Look like me, sound like me, my belly is smaller than the fella in the picture, but still not me, don’t believe me, ask my wife.

Who knows? A traffic offender too can deny that he was in the picture. Excuses like “somebody used my plate number with exactly the same car model and the same color” can also be used to get around the ruling.

• Hafidz on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:53 pm

the new camera even can zoom in to catch face of the driver..saw it d..or else you wear sunglasses :)

• Or they might give excuse that their “perut” size is different,, how?

• sukasuki on May 01, 2011 at 4:23 pm

cannot see perut meh time driving. but sapa2 ada skandal boleh jadi saksi maaa. bawak mistress pg jalan2, cakap sama bini ada meeting. mana meeting? genting highland.

• droll on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:15 am

so where are the places with CCTV?

• littlefire on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:35 am

Should have started earlier.. I tot last time when the speed trap camera came out they do sent u the saman ekor wif picture.. then suddenly no more & ask us to pay to get the picture.. WTF!!!

• Jolo Father on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:45 am

Yea i remembered tat! Color picture RM120, Black n White picture RM50. I requested the color version, the white balance totally out i tell ya!

• Creative Mind on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:51 am

the boys in blue r going in the right direction, that’s a big improvement. we would like to c more friendly approach towards uphold n prevention of traffic offences, such as presence of the police whether in cars or manpower patrolling the streets. their presence can be a deterance to would be offenders. not only that, snatch thieves, burglars would also be less too. we dun need pregnant women losing their unborn child life to the snatch thieves and old folks bungeon to death to house break-ins. since every able person is working earning a decent living, the boys in blue presence in doing actual patrol, duty can help contribute to the betterment of society. afterall, they r the guys entrusted to protect society. the G can continue to encourage more youths to join the force. i wasn’t able to cause color blind n can’t meet the minimum height category, that was 20 years back. now with a bit spare tyre n a job requiring travel the length of peninsular, the boys in blue can certainly help keep my family safe as their presence in the field is there.

• ah beng on Apr 29, 2011 at 8:58 am

they didnt mention about the cari makan issue from May 1 :-D

• Tu Lan Putrajaya on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:25 am

About 9 months ago, I received a registered letter from JPJ on Sat that said must go to JPJ for chit chat on Friday (the day before I received letter). So went to JPJ on Mon and was shown a photo of me going from one lane to another lane. Not double line no law broken and confirmed by JPJ. But still kena fine RM140 because someone in Putrajaya who drives a Porche Cayenne SUV decided I was late for chit chat. In my case, the photo showed no law was broken but Putrajaya Porche Cayenne driver decided otherwise. Anyway I found out it was the Putrajaya Porche Cayenne driver who took the photo and happily made a “aduan” to JPJ. So I always wonder why JPJ didn’t issue ticket to this Putrajaya Porche Cayenne driver for using handphone while driving. It shows JPJ also must bow to Putrajaya Porche Cayenne driver.

• There are many in-car video recorders these days…… Thinking of installing one.

• angrybirds on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:25 am

pfft ambush still happens at non-cctv area …

• make sure you smile when speeding.. cheezzz!

• another great way to celebrate labour day

• Anti Corruption Road User on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:35 am

A big thank you to the DEputy IGP for the excellent proposals he has made the past few days. They are not only contructive but also in progress with global traffic laws.

However, what is the Deputy IGP doing about traffic police officers asking for money in exchange not to give a saman? When the police officer says, “You bagi lah dengan ikhlas,” during his drama of pretending writing the offence in his book.

Everyone has experienced this. Every single road user. So, if that is the case, corruption is a big problem amongst traffic officers.

Paul Tan and Danny why don’t you come up with a poll survey asking whether people have experienced the police officer asking for money?
    This will be a good survey for the nation and also the Deputy IGP to decipher whether traffic police officers like to ask money.

The survey poll can go like this, “Has any traffic police office asked you for money in exchange for not issuing a summons to you?”

A – YES
    B – NO
    C – No way, all traffic officers are clean to the core.

Then at least, the Deputy IGP can further improve the force.

• deGonggok on Apr 29, 2011 at 9:59 am

‘Everyone has experienced this. Every single road user’

Not a good statement, generalizing people. A study sometimes ago found that more than 70% of the people in the world are honest.

• Corruption is deemed bad… but if u think of it, their salary is lower than most people in the private sector… and inflation is high… they also need to feed their family… most cops in better countries have higher salary compared to the general population…

Another point is we are mostly not rich people… RM300 is a lot of money… that is the problem already… if its RM100, i believe more people would happily pay to the govt rather than breed corruption… this scenario is exactly same as illegal cigarrettes, the higher the price, the higher the smuggling is…

• Jolo Father on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:04 am

we all noe practically, this kacang putih corruption is a win-win situation for both party concerned. Differently story though if the police officer purposely accuse u for traffic offense u din committ. Effective way to avoid traffic corruption? behave ourselves first, obey the traffic laws.

• seancorr on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:16 am

A welcome improvement from the PDRM. They still got a lot of area for improvements though like the queue to report accidents, theft, etc AND their attitude towards the public!

• Caterher on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:31 am

I wouldn’t solely blame the police for bribes. We got a choice whether to pay the full amount of saman, or pay the duit kopi which is less…IMHO, if you want to abolish bribery so much, just ask the cop to saman you la.

• Hafidz on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Some traffic offenders were actually warmly expect a question to settle on the spot when they kena saman..even police dont ask,they also ask..”tak boleh settle ke encik?” ..kalau police tu baru niat taknak bribe,the driver pulak ajak bribe..

• MCdog on Apr 29, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Reality view

Give bribe is to support underpaid police and less money go to potential corrupted government officials but both party feel guilty and it is not good to break “law”. End of the day, who is the one that create some of those unreasonable low speed limit anyway?

• Sure big traffic jam if everybody reach 110KM/H haha

• Naughty on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:01 am

Coming out with survey if been asked for bribes?….looking for trouble more likely. Years ago, one of the radio station were discussing bout police taking bribes, in the end the guy got removed from the show.

Yet, i still see it is way to improve ways of issuing summons instead of hiding and sending summons without pictures that we as the driver committed the traffic violation and there are still lots of room for improvement. Syabas for now at least…..

• Marsha on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:15 am

Naughty, you officer in PDRM scared of survey findings? Why trying to scare people?

• Barium on Apr 29, 2011 at 11:14 am

The way I look at it, traffic ticket or bribe, either way we’re paying for our crimes. It just the matter where the money actually go; into G’s coffer, or into someone’s pocket :)

• Polis : mana encik punya “Tang Kee”? “Tang Kee mari, tausai lari”.

• Let’s start a forum to inform the drivers where the location of these speed trap cameras

• “…But in areas without CCTV surveillance, the regular way of serving summonses will continue to apply…”

Apa ni? Macam ada *bintang (asterik *) dalam statement nih? Ala-ala Terms and Conditions. Nak buat changes and transparency, jangan buat alang-alang, buatlah sepenuh hati.

It’s like one foot is still in the drain/bush and the other foot is in the open. The police better make up their mind.

• subhero on May 01, 2011 at 12:14 am

stewpid implementation. stupid PDRM.

“…But in areas without CCTV surveillance, the regular way of serving summonses will continue to apply…”

undang2 kayu zaman batu mmg suka buat mcm ni. why not implement at all area using CCTV? kan last year and early this year baru kutip juta2 saman ekor.

• terra on May 01, 2011 at 12:27 pm

manyak polis mau cari makan saja la…

• what to do, some people too chicken out to pay the real amount.

• Carl Wong on May 03, 2011 at 12:59 am

Hiding or not SO WHAT?? As long as they’re doing their job they have my support. I hate those selfish ignorant law breakers, catch them and make them pay the full amount with no acceptance of bribes. Again hiding or not is not the point, as long as they can summon/catch the right traffic offenders/law breakers.

• bugger on May 20, 2011 at 5:20 pm

hi paul, how they gona send us the picture?
    i mean can find it on MYEG site?

• Kent Tan on May 31, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Sure or not, not hiding or ambush ,under bride, still keeping doing that also because i got one speed trap summons on 18/5/2011 at NSE near taiping, us usual > sound good to listen for all the drivers, but at back still do same thing> Big Road block before toll exit.. this is become their culture> collect “easy” money as their side income

• Got a speed trap summon on the 21/7/2011 at around 1:30pm near Taiping on the NSE. Road blocks were set up on both side of the NSE, out of 10 cars at least 6 were pull over on my side. How are they suppose to take note the speed of each offenders? I asked whether photos will be provided, the Traffic police don’t bother to explain and ask me to check with the police station in Taiping instead. So, do I have to pay if no photo as evidence? Also, any venues to fight my case if there is no photo?