An end to hidden speed traps, Deputy IGP says

The days of speed trap ambushes to catch unsuspecting motorists are over, according to Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar.

Yes, guile – and there certainly has been enough of that, from locating the guns in the most unimaginable places (sitting in drains just off the highways, among them) to the use of camouflage in the past – is being replaced by transparency. Simply put, motorists will be warned about impending speed traps ahead.

“We should not be hiding behind bushes. We should come out in the open and enforce the law,” Khalid said. The directive to stop the ambushes has been issued, he added, saying that signs would be set up before the speed trap or roadblocks to warn the motorists beforehand.

Of course, the big question is how it will affect generated revenue – since September 2009, the police has issued summons to more than 2.5 million motorists, primarily from speed traps and speed cameras, and from 2000 to 2008, outstanding summons added up to RM2 billion, certainly not an insignificant amount. Still, the move towards a wider scale implementation of automated speed camera systems should continue the effects of enforcement, just in a different, indirect manner.

It’s a step forward in the right direction, this direct method of enforcement sans subterfuge. Undoubtedly, public education on the perils of speeding and working towards observing the designated speed limits will still take a long while to accomplish, but the removal of the cat-and-mouse game is certainly a welcome move. What do you think this move will accomplish, if any?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tickets, is a way to gather government revenue NEVER as a tool to discipline motorist who equally irresponsible while behind steering wheel.

• malaysian is like kambing….u know what i mean….

• its true!! Malaysian r like kambing……u can read all post from top down to prove that..u know wat i mean

• rally_fan00 on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:58 pm

as long as people like you think that saman is for generating revenue.. our country will never progress.. traffic policing is not about giving samans.. its about education, enforcement and finally getting the correct response in the end. the saman is there as a final solution (the courts as well).

if the police announced tonite that there is a speed trap on jln damansara tommorow morning, chances are, you will reduce your speed once you’re in that area. that is what the desired response is.

• But when they stop you, they never educate you. They only say YOU ARE WRONG. JUST NOW YOU SPEED BEYOND… THIS IS YOUR SUMMON… bla bla bla. If really wanna to educate, they should issue another ticket that our fellows shall follow an extra day or two classes. i think that’s much better.

• Modern_English on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:41 am

abit off topic here, dear anthony, language is for communication purpose,instead of using terms like “sans subterfuge” i believe majority of readers ll prefer simpler terms/synonyms like “without trick”. no offence, u can still choose ur wording freely.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:50 am

Ha ha, yes, simple is sometimes best in some situations, agreed. Especially in straight up news. Thanks for the feedback, and will deffo be mindful of that!

• This is a good move. One more step to a civilised nation for Malaysia!

• littlefire on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:34 am

FOR THOSE WHO REALLY DONT KNOW ABOUT THE LAW BEHIND THIS…

KASE jumpa mangsa saman ekor di JPJ Wangsa Maju:

SEE THIS LINK IN YOUTUBE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLQ_BA96hhY

A few already win this kind of case in the court that why the police now are bow to the law, as a lot of saman ekor ppl have been whip in their a** by these lawyers!!!

• confused on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:15 am

good riddance..

• rally_fan00 on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:16 am

would be great.. if the police remain consistent, hopefully it would achieve what you see overseas. where people know there is a dedicated speed trap, drivers will always slow down.. and if speed traps are put up at dangerous areas, then this will help slow down drivers at the right places. IF… of course ;)

• kamal on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:16 am

then what will going to happen on those saman 2 bilion RM ‘yg belum dibayar lagi’…
    if it ….pooofff! gone….we (the police) will just delete it for the benefit of the rakyat….then it will be unfair for me and for all those ‘law abiding’ citizen…
    kitorang dah bayar saman wei…tak aci la….

Anyway, baguslah takde lagi saman2 ekor ni…merapu je….

• Ibex7 on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm

The summons issued is unlawful! should get refund or income tax slash.

• littlefire on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Funny izzit? Before the election, got discount here n there… Why after the sarawak election the cop came out to talk about this?!? Hehe… Already full the G pocket to fund the election? Later before the big GE, for sure it will got another discount again!!!

• iamisiamwhatiam on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:24 am

A move toward transparency I say? Still, if there’s visible speed trap and road block next, it will introduce another problem, traffic in the middle of highway would crawl :/

• that only accuse for Malaysian people to avoid law…if they can broke law from each religion, human law they dont bother

• pugger on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:30 am

everyone will now speed and only slow down when they see the warning sign….this will encourage speeding…

• pugger on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:31 am

everyone will now speed and only slow down when they see the warning sign…this will encourage more to speed…..

• SparC on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:34 pm

I agree. but at least, at sharp bend or dangerous zone, we can reduce speed. As typical Malaysian driver…110 km/h means they can drive at 120 km.h -130 km/h.

• droll on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:33 am

even if there are no cops where the speed trap signage is, people will still slow down. good move la. after a while, some folks learn that those places are not manned frequently. but i think if the cops randomly man those spots, it’ll work.

• P.Tinkler on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:34 am

This change is heading in the direction Australia took some time ago. The result has been a dramatic reduction of driver speed. However it has not reduced accidents as it should, as drivers now spend way too much time looking at their speedometer, checking for fixed cameras, checking for a police sign near any parked vehicle and rear vision mirror for pursuit police and not nearly enough time concentrating on the road, driving skills, their vehicle health and other motorists.

Also tempers rise to an unacceptable degree when speed signs do not agree with road type and traffic conditions, road work signs when there is no work being carried out and the totally disregard for driver safety, other cars and rules by motorcyclists who seem almost never to be caught.

Speed becomes a fixation and the maximum speed limit also becomes the minimum limit by default and there becomes total intolerance of any vehicle going below that limit. Driving becomes a chore and no longer pleasurable.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Maybe cars should be fitted with a cruise control that senses speed cameras.

• Car Driver on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

Agreed. Speed rules must also be enforced to Motorcyclists too. Most of the time dangerous motorcyclist zig-zag dangerously without concern to others and their own safety.

• Sathis on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:37 am

I’m all for transparency but seriously, speed limits on our highways are a joke. Today’s car comes with better technology and safety features but our speed limits are still ancient! Probably these limits are set by people who hardly drive themselves.

We have highways with speed limits of 80km/h. You can use a horse chariot to attain that speed!!

• jumbo on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:55 pm

with that speed limit we already have high number of accident. imagine how many accident will happen if the speed limit is increase. do not compare with autobahn, we have different attitude on the road compare to european driver.

• Plazz on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Don’t imagine silly things dude. Driving fast and accidents are not related. Its the drunks, imbeciles behind wheels, people who look at other things except the road and those who do crappy maintenance for the cars are main culprits for accidents.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

wah are u driving on the highway to heaven…………… driving fast and accident are not related…………..hahahahahahahaaha dont tell silly jokes dude

• Plazz on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm

And you are on your way to hell mmmmmmoron. Spending unnecessary time on the road is a sure way of getting an accident. Get on the road, go as fast and safe as possible and arrive at your destination. Don’t confuse driving fast with racing or rempiting.

Governments like to link accidents with speeding because going into actual details will confound simple minded buffoons like you.

• walawei must be one of those moron who live in bolehland….get on the road as fast as possible and arrive safely everybody happy2……whose the simple minded buffoons then……..or u are the one who confuse driving fast with racing and rempiting

• Rubidium on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:11 pm

@ Plazz. Lol. Speed and accidents are not related? I’d say they are most definitely correlated. Logic tells us that driving fast most definitely makes it harder to control the vehicle. Both in terms of the physical and mental aspect. When we drive fast, we have less time to react to a potential collision. Sadly, most of us arent trained to be air force pilots and you most definitely cannot assume that normal average joes have lightning fast reactions to “swerve” out of an accident.

Physically, by driving “fast”, its to a point whereby the car is being pushed almost to its limits or whereby your mind perceives the speed of the car to be increasingly difficult for you to control. Now does that sound dangerous? I would believe so.

Hahaha, according to you driving “fast” to your destination = less accidents? Lmao. With your comment it clearly says that you are the type of idiot who most likely drives a wira or vios who thinks that with a couple of kits and a big exhaust to make up for your tiny appendage would automatically render you to be able to drive “fast” when in actual reality, your driving fast equates to driving precariously on the roads and endangering the lives of others. Its ok I dont blame u, i blame the education system.

And governments all over the world link speed to accidents for a reason. Lol then what are the point of putting speed limits? According to you, driving faster to a destination = better. So to limit us with speed limits to make us go slower, the government is trying to cause more accidents and casualties?

Oh and you mentioned do not confuse driving fast to racing and rempiting. In this case i think linking driving fast to racing is a lesser evil. At least when you are racing you keep an eye on other drivers, regardless of the reason. To overtake perhaps. But when imbeciles like you drive “fast” you dont keep an eye on others, and only on your destination, which seems to be what you imply, you seem to have tunnel vision, which doesnt make u any better than a machine, or a mentally handicapped person. You do have some creative bullshit to offer. Your reason for driving “fast” is merely another excuse for you to drive like you own the roads and endanger the lives of others. People who support your statements are likely to be of the same species as you.

Perhaps your brain works linearly. Pardon me if i am dealing with a intellectually challenged person.

BTW, i did not say that driving at high speeds are solely the causes of accidents. But to disregard this factor and say that it does not link to accidents in any way is just plain stupid.

• rally_fan00 on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:00 pm

until today.. no one has been able to directly link speed to accident rates. there are a whole host of things more dangerous than speed alone.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Accidents and driving fast has no relations. Accidents only occur when something is stationary

• ooooo yeah sure everything goes round and round forever ,,,,,another citizen in perfectly balanced bolehland

• hualian on Apr 26, 2011 at 3:31 am

am confused, stationary?

that means no accident at T-junction when both cars crosses each other’s path?

Accident is not about a moving object banging another stationary object. I think u watch too many crash test liao.

• pakka on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:55 pm

it’s quite tiring to hear a Clarkson wannabe. Be original man.

• Jim Webber on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Oh yes it does. Malaysians aren’t trained to drive fast, so when something happens, they simply lose control of their vehicles. If our driving curriculum is similar to I don’t know, Finland (apparently good enough to breed racing & rally drivers), then you can say speed and accidents aren’t related.

• driving fast and accident not related………………….mmm i thought April fool is over….mmmm looks like the fool is still around……….

a drunk who drive fast get more accident than a drunk who dont
          an imbecile who drive fast get more accident than an imbercile who dont
          people who look other than the road who drive fast get more accident than who dont
          when u drive fast are less attentive to the road and ur surrounding (that’s why u dont drive fast in housing area)
          those with crappy car maintenance who drive fast get more accident than who dont
          those car which were driven fast will eventually get wear and tear faster than who dont
          when u drive fast ur body senses may not able to cope
          when u drive fast the law of kinetic and physic bcome more complex and easily perturb and bcome imbalance
          if u had an accident when driving fast the impact over your body more than if u dont
          if u drive fast ur car safety mechanism might not work as good than if u dont
          when u drive too fast to often u brain bcome numb and cant think straight just like yours….sigh

but then maybe in your planet buffoon they define fast and accident differently..sighh

• antaras on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm

So, what you suggests here is that by lowering the speed limit to even slower then what we have now will eliminate accidents? As Plazz said, driving fast may not equals to accidents. It’s the people behind the wheel. When you know we have that attitude issue then why not fix that attitude? Why fix something else and not fix the main issue?

• that y la we need speed limit you just confirm it “attitude”. that why we need law..many driver do not have a rite attitude..eg me myself (angkat bakul little bit)..i all time will give signal whenever i change lane whether there is vehicle behind or not…it look silly but that a safety precaution. same when speeding, i only speeding when overtaking..most of time my limit 60-90km/h depending on the road i use..it look silly but that my safety….one thing that bothering me is that Malaysian driver tend to give bribe to police when they kene tahan…but shout crazily when politician involve in graft/bribe..maybe they(small fry) want big fry kene tangkap not them

• mmmmmmm on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:04 pm

mmmmmm…..wake up dude…….what do u mean todays car comes with better technology and safety features………drive around and count how many cars got that…most of are kancil myvis proton, second hands, low spec japs, korean and european car…..basically a tin car with 4 wheels and maybe one or two popout balloon…….maybe one or two very expensive posh safe car but unfortunately the also drive like maniac on hurry and very uneuropean like………

• droll on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:20 pm

i disagree. i think driver skill and attitude are ancient and that is why the speedlimit should be kept ancient.

• vivadriver on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:29 am

yup..most of the cars that are use the emergency lane are always the big cars ..count them and you will find majority are from this group..again ..no respect for the law..no respect for other and only think of their self interest (no wonder this people can buy big car.. everthing also want to cheat).

drive fast la .. so the next time you ran over to someone and make other people suffer .. the only thing that you can say is only “sorry”.. (or maybe blame the govt again ???)

no relationship between accident and driving fast? what data that you used? yes ..if you derived your conclusion from watching the whole F1 season (true…drive very fast but very less accident).

Have you ask the family member who have the son/daugher killed by some maniac who drive fast ? Not many you say ? is avoiding one death is not justifiable for us to be a law abiding and drive within the speed limit? you need how many people to die before we say ..”yes driving fast can kill… there is a direct relationship”

Majority of us are lucky as we are not in the statistics .. well i guess if you are one .. would you comment the same way?

• kocat on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:35 am

Speed limits at mex hi-way to klia is 90/kmh..Penang bridge speed limits at 80/kmh.They have their reason to limit the speed at that area.Wanna swim into the open pool?

• Speed limit is design according to road condition and their level of service (LOS) not according to car.. If want to increase speed limit, we need to improve road conditions, number of lanes, cut down number of exit from highway etc…

• Radz Lee on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:40 am

its better bcause atleast ppl WILL SLOW DOWN knowing that the police placed speed trap particularly at dangerous areas. Previously saman ekor due to hidden speed traps looks bad and has little effect on reducing motorist’s speed

• I would think it had little positive impact because the enforcement was terrible. Whether a speed trap is visible or not is immaterial. It is supposed to produce proof that a driver committed a crime/fault. And the driver has to be punished, like having points deducted. When a crime/fault can be settled with a 100 MYR fine, at a time when the amount is close to nothing for many people, the punishment cannot be effective. So, the reason many people continue to speed and break traffic rules is because there was no way to punish them, or the punishment has been extremely light. For example, just 50 MYR coffee money will settle it without any record of rule breaking, or even in the court, 100-300 MYR of fine without any demerit point. Most importantly, the police was not given any money to buy sufficient equipment to enforce the demerit point system.

• kete prang on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:51 am

this can make people happier a bit

• Longhitter on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:54 am

After driving many years in Malaysia, I do not think driving slightly over the speed limit (121kph in the highway and 71 at the trunk road in the middle of the night) is the cause of danger or accident. Few of the Malaysian dangerous driving behaviors are;
    1) Tailgating (especially bus and lorry), 2) Excessive speed (>160 kph at highway), 3) Driving fast at the crowded area (school area, pekan), Changing lane dangerously. I would suggest our polis look into these areas and gives proper punishment to the offender.

• pakka on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:00 pm

and i don’t think anyone bother to flip the signal stalk. Maybe they thought it was some sort of telepathic antenna. Hear me, hear me I’m changing lane.

• maybe their car didn’t come with signal…hehe

• rookie on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:39 pm

i’m so with u on this..
        dunno why la, ppl pls use ur signals..n use it wisely..
        some ppl do giv signal, but they only flip it 2seconds upon turning into the junction n expect ppl behind to acknowledge where they are going?

n some big cars owners oso didnt know how to use their signal la..
        dunno how they can afford the big cars in the 1st place..
        feels like they havent got the brains to figure out the use of the signals..

• Longhitter on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:56 am

After driving many years in Malaysia, I do not think driving slightly over the speed limit (121kph in the highway and 71 at the trunk road in the middle of the night) is the cause of danger or accident. Few of the Malaysian dangerous driving behaviors are;
    1) Tailgating (especially bus and lorry), 2) Excessive speed (>160 kph at highway), 3) Driving fast at the crowded area (school area, pekan), 4) Changing lane dangerously. I would suggest our polis look into these areas and gives proper punishment to the offender.

• speed on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:57 am

haha..
    Bullshits..
    my gps show speed trap is ahead before this kind of shits signboard appear…

• hahaha….that good rite that mean u have to slow earlier than anyone else..that mean gps has teach you to slowdown..hahaha frak..

• paparadzi on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:34 am

Funny that there are still people that believe that GPS can detect speed traps….

• rookie on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:43 pm

if u really depend on ur gps, i think every 2-5kms there got warning about speed traps laa..
      then u really shouldnt drive fast la..when u were about to accelerate, the gps oredi tells u there’s a speed trap area..

u shouldnt trust ur gps on that..it never detects any speed traps cam..
      it only tells u speed traps prone area la dude..

• this will make police work more easy. the objective is to get road user to abide to the speed limit. so they going to start with open operations with warning sign board ahead to warn drivers. after sometimes, when public getting used to the sign board, all they need to do is just put the sign board, driver will slow down to the speed limit thinking there are police ahead…

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:08 pm

At last they’ve come to their senses! With summons issued in the billions, the previous method obviously was a method which has not worked to prevent ppl from speeding. This more trasparent method will better enforce speed limits in needed areas.

• It is good for them also. They can just put the sign board everywhere and not all of them must have active speed traps all the time. It is the same as you put a dog sign board outside your house gate while you only have a nice pussy cat in the house.

• Dak's Quacks on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Good move indeed, but will it says when will be the end of speed trap zone? (-_^)

• zerouzer on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:43 pm

the speed trap zone ends when you actually see the camera just at side of the road

• hualian on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:26 pm

maybe they will compensate the possible drop in revenue with even more ‘open’ speed traps. One speed traps followed by another.

Speed trap is there to punish the poor, not the rich. What is RM300 for a person who drives a Ferrari? A fine should be based on the value of the car, just like car insurance and road tax.

Imagine 0.5% fine of the value of the car for someone who drives a Mercedes benz, they will think twice before they speed.

• Plazz on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Don’t talk like a moron. Speed trap is to punish those who go over the limit, doesn’t matter if you are rich or poor.

• hualian on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:15 pm

am talking about fairness in punishing. What is 300 for a rich datuk? you can fine him 10 times and it is still nothing to him, he will continue to speed and drives like a mad man.

But if u were to fine him according to the value of his car, then he might think twice.

Don’t think like a moron. I bet u are one of these speed freaks, using ur daddy money to pay off ur fine.

• antaras on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:20 pm

dude… you are missing the point here la. Only a rich man will speed? Poor man will never go over the speed limit? Or in this case, the amount will only go according to car? Or worst, you want police to check ppl’s annual income every time they pull someone over.

If my memory serves me right, there should be something called demerit points. Don’t ask me how those ppl with over 30 summons can still have their driving license. That is called “enforcement”, which is another totally different issue.

• hualian on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:03 am

1. I never say only rich people will speed, read carefully, i said the fine must be fair. Why must a poor family with a kancil pays RM300 for speeding when a rich datuk with a BMW pays RM300 too?

2. I never say pay according to annual income, I say pay according to the value of the car. Read carefully again and go for an eye checkup.

3. Demerit points? Enforcement failed…

• antaras on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Again, why a different set of rule for ppl driving different cars? What’s the difference between a Lambo and a Kancil owner driving 130km/h at a 80km/h limit road? You punish the rich guy more just because he can pay more? What logic is this? You want a rich guy to pay RM50 for a pack of nasi lemak as well?

• hualian on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Not different set of rules. it is the %. say fine is 0.5% of the value of the car instead of RM300 flat regardless of the car.

You go Google Khairy speeding ticket, see how fast he drives and how many ticket he accumulated… what is that to him? I bet he will continue to speed after paying all those fines.

You can google for Jeffrey Chiah on an interview with thestar, he mentioned that he speed at 200km/h on his lamborghini, what is a RM300 speeding ticket for him?

• if u drive ferrari…u have 30 summon per month each rm300 (u take same road to work with 30 speed trap zone)..u will consider to or not to broke the law…gov will be hepi, u give them revenue…u have to pay high road tax+high income tax+high endless summon.u must be hepi also and u will proudly say “that my tax and summon money so dont spend without my approval”..haha

• BeemerFreak on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Not true, I was driving down south with my old Wira some time ago, was doing above limit when i came across a speed trap. Most caught were Singaporean cars and some Benz and Bimmers

• I think a better way would be to follow the Scandinavians where the summon is based on your salary. Once, an executive from Nokia was caught speeding and issued a summons up to 10% of his salary.

Maybe our govt can amend the summon to RM 300 or percentage of salary, whichever is higher?

• hualian on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Not gonna make much difference for them coz most of these rich people don’t pay much income tax, they hide behind corporate tax. Usually they pay themselves, 8K per month, depending on the size of their company. Or they pay their wife (wives) and children and then channel the money back to them to minimize the income tax.

Tax based on car value is the best. If you can afford the car, surely u can afford the fine.

• Kevin Lee on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:32 pm

no more sudden suprises and fake police lookalike cut out cards in the middle of the highway, under flyovers!

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:36 pm

I think the police got tired of hiding around so decided to show themselves. No doubt a good move, at least we’re aware of it.

• selamat on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Good news to motorist but bad news for JPJ and
    PDRM cos now cannot “settle” on the spot !!
    (there goes their duit kopi !!)
    This admission by dep IGB clearly states that
    all this while the use of speed cameras
    were illegal and not according to law.
    Wonder if motorist who paid their summons
    esp the millions collected during ops sikap would demand
    that the govt give then a refund ?

• Ibex7 on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:52 pm

demand income tax slash of 200% now we pau the gov..hehehe…

• that show some(or many) Malaysian driver(small fry) are involve in bribe/rasuah/corrupt not just politician(big fry)..than shout transpiransi n gov r corrupt..my ass

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:34 pm

so, you’re saying it’s illegal to catch those who drive illegally over the speed limit? you’re those who bending the law to suit yourself.

• you like giving bribe eh selamat?i hope some sprm officer read this and catch you…

• Alifz on Apr 24, 2011 at 12:47 pm

At last, they know ‘main sorok-sorok’ is offensive and they can be charged lol..

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

I agree. “Main srok-sorok” only shows that the cops are not transparent when performing their duties. That’s why most of those saman ekors can actually be challenged at the court for proof.

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:36 pm

yes you may challenge the summon. but it takes time and money for court procedure. you can’t drive if you’re blacklisted, and pay more to the lawyer compared to the summon.

• littlefire on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:53 pm

From what i know.. After the speed trap sign can be seen.. The police can only enforce between 500m of range to capture ur wrong doing…

Besides that, by law u can only be blacklisted after u were found guilty after court case.. So all the blacklisted case in Malaysia for not settling saman are not following the law.. Ask those who study law n there will tell u!

• BEST MOVE! Put at dangerous spot, People will finally reduce speed, reduce accident rate.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:28 pm

A great move by the cops to discipline the public. However, the most important is that the drivers should fear God rather than the cops. Many drivers tend to be a very polite drivers and become as shy as a cat when they see cops. But when the cops are gone, then they become highway devils again, as if God never see them to penalize them in the otherworld. We can hide from the cops, but we can never hide our sins from God.

• Plazz on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:05 pm

How does God come into this picture? Nobody is committing any crime by speeding.

• Jim Webber on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:19 pm

They do when they crash into others and kills innocent parties!

• by killing other person when accident coz of speeding..killing is crime whether human law, god law or my law

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Speeding itself is not a sin, but not following rules and orders is the real sin. And the even bigger sin is being hypocrites of course – playing angels in front of the cops and then reverting back to the devilish faces when the cops are out of pictures. That’s not just cheating the cops but also a useless attempt to cheat God as well.

• you’ve provided an interesting perspective. but allow me to disagree; religion is too broad a picture. this change has a practical and economical focus to it so bringing in a religious argument is not going to do much.

• hahaha..judging from this plaz guy comment he sound very angry when mention something about slowdown and everybody is a moron…………..let me guess he is the god of speedddddddddd from hell……….NOTTTTTTT maybe just some speed moron from planet bafoon..hahahaha

• hualian on Apr 26, 2011 at 3:33 am

yeah lo, all his comments starts or ends with ‘moron’ and he must be a speed freak.

• khairulx19a on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:23 pm

i think you want to say with should have a high level discipline in our selves, we must obey law whether in front or back of the police, to be more precise we must obey the rules no matter where we are

• hualian on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:17 pm

So, the solution to everything is religion and god? More religion = less accidents?

• SparC on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Is similar system should be follow like in UK, Germany and even in Qatar.

Those speed camera are visible, Big warning sign remind the driver of the of speed limit.

Warning sign at dangerous section.

Should also make sure lorries, heavy vehicle remain at slow lane.

Impose minimum speed limit e.g. 80 Km/h to maximum 110 km/h along the motorway.

• junaidi on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Can they also saman those who drive too slowly?
    70kmph on a 110kmph highway? Malaysia is a joke.

• thats y there is slow lane and fast lane..moron

• swoosh3553 on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:49 am

By Malaysian transportation law, there is NO MENTION of any segregation of lanes on a road… There is NO FAST LANE or SLOW LANE. There is only the law on overtaking (from right side, by law). Therefore, the outest most right lane is “automatically” becomes an OVERTAKING lane, defaulting it to be always “faster” than the other lanes on the left. It is just science of logic and obeying the law (only can overtake on right). Bro… please do not simply brand people as “moron”. It is rude. No anybody is better than another in all aspect. We have our plus and minus. -peace-

• raybrig on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:53 pm

i know what u mean and some of the driver should drive in a reasonable speed in the highway…i almost caught in an accident where the driver drove on 70km/h in the highway..it is dangerous…it is not only the driver who drive fast but driver who drive slow also we should consider dangerous…..

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:39 pm

i have no problem for slow driver. maybe they’re old. i’m more interested to ensure that those who misuse emergency lane got double or triple summons!

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:50 pm

The real thing is that there is no such rule about the minimum speed limit on expressways, and not all countries have that as well. Certain countries like Japan and even Indonesia do have a minimum speed limit law, which is normally about 60 km/h in Japan and 20 km/h below maximum speed limit in Indonesia.

• Albert on Apr 24, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Good for both the traffice police and the motorists. Motorists will now appreciate the actual work of the traffice police and drive in a legal manner. Educate and not punish. Remember when you are at school, which teacher would like most? The one who punish you or the one who advise you? Needless to say, it is the one who give you advices on your how to improve your study or behaviour but not the one who will scold you on a slightest excuse.

• school nowaday student will punish teacher not other way around….and the teacher that they most remember discipline teacher guarded by police which they have dendam

• That’s a great move as there will be no more blatant ‘summon’ given by surprise, something that usually requires starbucks money to clear.

• Plazz on Apr 24, 2011 at 2:11 pm

I think the police have no choice because the automatic speed cameras will come into operation soon and will be more efficient since it is supposed to be running 24hrs non-stop.

But the police can still stop reckless and crazy drivers during their patrol.

• there should be high resolution hd camera 360degree inside the polis/police/polisi/policia car as well..so that when they need to justify to shoot to stop or to shoot to kill the police able to defend themselves in court and tangkap briber malaysian driver or policemen….

• and train police car driver the “pit maneuver” use by american police and special or modified police car to do that maneuver

• the police are already trigger happy with their pistol………..u dont want them to pit maneuver happy as well……..

• YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
    No hiding in the drain. or behind the tree.

by right this is the way. no ekor ekor. all this time we feel we were being fooled. by those system.

anyway i congratulate the authority for being rational this time.

• khairulx19a on Apr 24, 2011 at 3:28 pm

at the end of the day,it is up to ourself, if we want to obey the rules, just obey and vice versa, no matter how many rules will be enforce if people dont want to follow it there no point…that my two cent :-)

• Gavin on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:03 pm

I think the big picture here is we are moving towards something like in the western world.

Why i say that is, JPJ are slowly making vehicle inspections covering more vehicles, banning second hand parts, hence making cars safer and more roadworthy, eventually i think there will be a compulsory inspection for roadworthiness.

What this means is cars can travel much faster and are also safer and in better working condition. As it is cars are already driven at much much higher speeds than the limit allows which i think are way outdated already.

So the police are now only going to enforce what i believe areas where it’s identified as a hazardous area and where motorists should slow down, such as a steep hill or sharp bend. So the idea is to slow motorists down and not earn revenue

• Kenneth on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:25 pm

This afternoon around 12.30pm, I saw 2 policemen manning a speed camera at the bush along MRR2 towards Metropolitan Kepong beside bulatan Batu Caves.

Where are the signboards ?

• atan senget on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Aiyoo…makes me very scare to driving now..there is an area 80km/h especially at hiking/climbing zone, more and more jam after this since everyone going to slow down…

Layan~~

• shiro on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Sounds like a good move, I’ve usually been getting tickets for going slightly more than in 60km/h zones. It’s good if the speed limit is reasonable at those spots at the CORRECT time of day when people are busy crossing the roads, but the speed zone is also located between 90km/h zones, which means if I forget about that zone due to the road being clear/off-peak hour, I get a ticket when they set up a speed trap. Doesn’t happen often though, in my driving lifetime, I think I have 5-6 tickets like that.. which amounts to 1-2 ticket per 4 years.

I’m guessing the police cam/speed trap doesn’t work when there’s bumper to bumper traffic/cars following together closely at speed. That’s why they hide/ambush the speed trap at off peak hours so they can get good clear picture of the plate number, where the plate is not obscured by another car.

And our speed limits are NOT too low. They’re definitely made for our local cars with ‘exceptional performance’ that can ‘reasonably’ maintain 100km/h and below easily. Try doing maintaining 60km/h in a 200hp+ car. I have to use 3-4th gear in order to be able to maintain the speed with minimal throttle. Even with minimal throttle at 5th gear, I’d be crusing at 75-80km/h easily. So I definitely have to say that our speed limits are HIGH ENOUGH for our local cars, so if you’re driving a non-local make, use 3-4th gear even when cruising.. that’s Malaysian automotive life, dude.

• pugger on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:12 pm

who says so? I can go 60kmh in 6th gear in my 320hp car….

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:50 am

hehe..its actually the other way around.

I can comfortably (although mindnumbingly boring) cruise at 50-60kmh on 5th about 1800-2200rpm. Its only the weaker cars that need more RPM and lower gears to be able to accelerate from cruising speed.

Unless you have a car geared to well over 320km/h I don’t see how one can not cruise comfortably at 80-100 on overdrive.

Besides… 6-7 tickets….?! not much.. I have 1 in my entire driving life….and considering I’m not a slow driver….just careful.

• niceone on Apr 24, 2011 at 5:37 pm

revenue collecting-oriented to motorists’ safety-oriented! i’ll say a good move. put the cameras on the right spot (dangerous curves, downhill etc.) and hopefully no. of accidents can be reduced..

• sadakochin on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Sounds great!

• Thumbs up.

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Steps to reduce fatal accident on highways.

1. Heavy vehicles (buses, lorry, trailers…) on leftmost lane only.
    2. Ban bikes below 250cc from using highway.
    3. Implement minimum speed, say 100 kph on rightmost lane.
    4. Raise center divider and block view of opposite traffic. You know whenever there’s accident on opposite side, we have busy bodies slowing down just to watch.
    5. Ban bulldozers!

• squall_shinoda on Apr 24, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Ban bikes…? You must be joking. Did you know one reason why Samy Vellu has lost his value because he had once trying to enforce a ban for motorcyclists from using the expressways just because his car had been tapaued by a group of superbikers? If banning the bikes that are slow and not powerful enough to use highways like the Honda Cub, then it is still reasonable.

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2011 at 8:31 pm

haha I think I said ban bikes below 250cc, not all bikes…

anyway, in Taiwan, only bikes >550cc are allowed to use highways whereas it’s 125cc in Japan

• bongek on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:01 pm

-we should increase speed limit for certain highway route…. out of city or KL should be 125kph +with minimum speed too…
      – construction zone should have low speed limit…90kph for example…
      – danger zone should low speed limit too…

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 24, 2011 at 11:25 pm

they should ban lorries and buses from overtaking in two lane highways. The most annoying thing is lorries swinging out into the fast lane overtaking another lorry with a speed difference of 1km/h, jamming up the whole highway.

• greasemonkey on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Hope it reduce accident and saman.

• stanley on Apr 24, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Sigh..if u notice carefully, there are so many these kind of signs everywhere on the highway currently. the strangest thing is the police never set up their camera where the signs are and ambush below flyover or beside the drain. next time when this come into force, i think perhaps only 10% of the sign is really having speed camera there. currently is 0%. i don’t think it will change anything also next time cause will u speed when the whole stretch of highway also have this sign??

• roaduser on Mar 07, 2012 at 6:13 pm

tell me about it its these compromising pee heads that make driving dangerous for eg lories and busses overtaking on the over taking lane at 50, pungent duds that seem to forget that their cars are equipped with rearview mirrors and signal lights and hog the overtking lane 80, and worse still idiots with a total lack of knowledge in terms of judgement and distance,If I wanna go on I can go on and on on how ill equipped our fellow malaysian drivers areIt all boils down to getting kopi o licences without even going for the exams, using learner cars that would make no difference compared to a shoppng cart and so on.So if we wanna change our road system it would require a severe reconstruction on education and so on. Speeding is not necessary an evil..its people that dont know how to judge, dont know the limits of their cars and idiots that think wet roads have the same livel of grip as dry roads that cause accidents.Yes should an unfortunate event such as a tyre bursting when your speednig crop up, the chances of fatality would be higher.But these things cvan be prevented by regular maintanance, and alert driving. When your behind the wheel you are responsible for the lives of everyone around you..So if you are driving, speeding or not..you need 150percent concentration. So Plazz your not wrong but your not right too..saying if everyone goes fast is not too promising as there are alot of ill equipped drivers out there.All in all if you know what your doing, do it.Every one is born with rasionalism.Oh and instead of the enforcement stresing on speeders and summoning people, they should start by using the revenue from summons to improve the heavy vehicle sector,(no 40 year old merc lorries carrying 50 tonnes of wood driving at 10 kmh and
      emmiting enough smoke to move the globe) and focus on changing the driving school systems.Come on wtf is a bukit, 3point turn and side parking test gotta do with proper driving in the real world? defensive driving, aleart tests and so on should be held to make our roads a safer place. stay safe on the roads.cheers

• Interesting…. It is somehow lower down someone part time income, lets brainstorm what could be the possible trick to ask for kopi fees in the future

• Roocarroll on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:03 pm

If you want to eliminate accidents just shoot all taxi drivers and women who are day dreaming about Bung Mokhtak.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 24, 2011 at 10:35 pm

New technologies in automotive bring us faster and faster cars. But the speed limit remains maximum 110km/h on highway. The what is the point of automotive technologies (I mean in term of improving the speed and handling) if we don’t even have any need for the improvements other than on racetracks. Otherwise what we really need are just simple technologies to produce cars which can go only up to 110km/h. But in reality even a simple cheap car got speedometer up to 180km, which means it can go up to probably around 160km, while putting aside the safety issues. So, if the authorities really want to limit the speed, just make sure that only cars which can only go up to 110km/h be sold in Malaysia. Otherwise this problem won’t be solved forever la. Just keep on putting limit on limitless cars… Oh I forgot probably some vip would need the extra speed, so cannot la.

So what? I have a good handling car that can go up to 240km/h safely on an empty triple lanes highway and I’m told not to drive more that 110km/h. And in the future if they can come up with good safe car which can go up to 1000km/h then should I drive at 110km/h even though its safe to do so? That’s crap. Only kept on blaming those so called speeding, but never blame those who drive at snail pace on the rightmost lane, those found talking on the phone while driving, those found texting behind the wheel, incompetent lorry drivers who won’t let you overtake, the crappy road conditions, poorly designed road safety measures, the list goes on… So I “believe” the only factor in this world that contributes to motor vehicle accidents is speeding…

• Cowabunga! on Apr 25, 2011 at 12:06 am

wow…no more bollywood hiding behind trees/pillars/billboards/flyovers ?…

finally got this to pass DR Jan 2011….and all those “illegal” summons….well,..it should not be even paid! since it was not “legit” by law to do saman ekor….and so goes a case won in High Court in Kuching.

citizen didn’t even know their rights….sigh.

they should put them on traffic lights too you know?….

• Ha Gnih on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:26 am

in late february, I kena speed trap 3 times within a week. Gosh. Caught doing 90 at a flyover and the limit was a SAD SAD SAD 70 kmh. LAME !!!

• Cadangkan pada PDRM untuk sediakan “unlimited speed” untuk sesuatu highway. Pengalaman saya LPT, LEKAS, KASEH bagi sesuatu jarak. Kerana hiway ini tidak padat. Bagi sesiapa yang mahu uji machine mereka bolehlah menggunakan hiway ini. Tetapi bagi machine yang dalam kategori modify sepenuhnya seperti proton di turbokan perlu di halang (prohibited) lain2 machine yang di reka untuk turbo tetapi tidak di jual bersama turbo boleh di benarkan.

Kita perlu melahirkan jagoh2 speeding, ambil contoh German! MIROS,JKJR,JPJ perlu berubah, speedbukan faktor utama kemalangan tetapi machine dan atitude. PDRM&JPJ perlu berubah roadblok bukan venue untuk chek RoadTax & Lesen tetapi memerhati apa2 modify, lampu brek (ada yg tekan brek plan2 bila ada rodblok sbb lampu kong),lampu ketiga, lampu malam, tayar botak, lebih penumpang dsb.

BERUBAH!

• Cucukman on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:23 am

Sometimes, we can see a police hidden in piers on the bridge and bush… luckily others driver(opposite direction) on our right side give us hi-beam few times. right?

As usual, if there is a roadblock/speed traps, the driver on the others side that already pass the roadblock/speed traps give a high beam few times to the others incoming car (usually on the fast lane) that is going to face with the roadblock/speed traps.

So, we help each other to reduce our speed before the police shot with their speed gun..

I THINK THIS IS THE BEST WAY THAT WE CAN DO…!

• Speeding is not really a major contributed to accident:
    Below are few example tat cause accident tat v driver should aware:
    1) road condition(eg pothole) – yeah drive fast will damage ur vehicle and sometime may effect ur steering control
    2) sleepy driver – they still force themselves even tired. Pls rest b4 continue journey for ur love one
    3) drunk driver – no matter fast or slow drunk is drunk still dangerous
    4) sikap tidak timbang rasa driver – even some driver drive slow but still drive fast lane and make other ppl who drive fast try to overtake it
    5) driver who just drive their own way especially motorcycle – they just come out fr junction without see left and right.
    6) car maintenance – there r still ppl drive with tyre botak and not change brake oil in time and this may cause accident when emergency. Less europen got in accident due to they well maintain their vehicle.

• mmmmmmm on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:52 pm

dude…. if u put speed factor in all ur example 1 to 6 it will contribute to a lot more accident…..speeding sleepy driver, speeding drunk driver, speeding kirang ajar driver, speeding come out from junction, speeding crap car…….

• Speed not related on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:45 am

See so many speed summon vs accident
    V still can see so big gap and v can actually say speed not really can fully blame to be related to accident

• Saya Nanti Rasuah on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:00 am

One day my wife and I were travelling from PJ to Penang. In Perak’s PLUS Highway, we were stopped by 3 times by highwaymen. These highwaymen insisted I was speeding. I explained it is not possible cos I complied with speed limit knowing Perak’s PLUS highway was very notorious for ambushes by highwaymen. Highwaymen insisted I pay them or balik balai. Highwaymen refused to give me summon. I paid RM50 + RM50 for first 2 ambushes. Then being very angry cos being victimised I decided to drive very slow at 60km/hour. On the 3rd ambush by highwaymen that I was “speeding”, I really have no more money to pay them. I showed them my wallet, only enough money to pay for toll. After pleading and begging, the highwaymen let me go.

Who are these highwaymen? Some people call them Polis Di Raja Malaysia. I call them Polis Raja Di Malaysia.

• With that many incidents, did you manage to record at least one for people to view on the Internet?

• swifty on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:31 am

Intention is Good but the Enforcement is always the let-down.

• izhar on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:52 am

normally people know highway speed limits is 110km/h and federal road 90km/h…just summon the people that drive obviously fast..example..speed limits at highway usually 110km/h..but in 90km/h speed area..summons only give at driver who drive more than 110km/h..sometimes people are not really look at the signboard…same like on non highway roads…the maximum speed is 90km/h..so when came to 60km/h area, summons only given to driver who drive more than 90km/h….my mom get ticket at 70km/h speed limit area..and the data shown she drive 81km/h…sometimes we need to pay attention on driving and this will make we less attention on our car speed…

• put kancil engine in inspira, merc, bmw etc…. surely hard to pass 110km/j…. no more summons.

problem solve. Ha Ha Ha.

Urge to change government.

• go green on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:58 am

i think policemen should patrol more often on the road rather than hiding behind the bushes. they should talk to the people more and more friendly. Policemen should help people in trouble during traveling while they are patrolling. Inilah imej bagus bagi polis di malaysia.

• paran on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:10 pm

police men in malaysia are heroes in their own world, and they do not have a reason to be afraid or to respect u, most of the police men neva gives u a smile at all, they will stare at you as if you just robbed a bank and walking loose on the road. less psycho in malaysia lar, compare to country like US, the police men are much more cautious as they do not know if the person mite just shoot u with a gun..pow pow….

• an armed citizenry is society’s last line of defense against tyranny from their own government….

• Jerry on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:59 am

I’m hoping the speed trap warning signs will be posted in English alongside the national language.

• Car Driver on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:32 am

Good Move. At least no more surprises and this will bring back some enjoyment in driving in highways.

• Speed trap off, now can catch those with white head light can “tahan” the car immediately and summon at the same time.

• if there are signboard, people will (err…most of people) slow down. if I was the G, I will put signboard everywhere, regardless camera available or not (or put dummy camera), so people slow down. just afraid that one day people will take the G to court for giving false warning…;-)

• car driver on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:28 pm

i just driven through a police road block together with JAS just now coming to Kangar. roughly at 11.15am.
    it’s at the usual ‘hotspot’ along Jalan Alor Setar-Kangar at the border of Kedah & Perlis. i presume the speedcamera is put up at the usual place at the 70km/h stretch just before the Kampung Sanglang junction (because after that stretch it’s 90km/h all the way to Kangar).

the same place everytime. camera at that 70km/h stretch and roadblock about 700 meters away. and because it’s at the same place everytime, I KNOW FOR SURE THERE’S NO SPEEDTRAP ALERT SIGNBOARD IS AT THAT STRETCH TO ALERT ROAD USERS.

i presume they’re still hiding the camera in front of the old man’s house behind the banana trees. they’re still hiding all right. i can’t see any policeman beside the road. they’re not in the open. and as usual a lot of cars get stopped and summoned.

maybe the Kedah KP didn’t get he memo.

• how about singapore plate number that driving like hell on our highway, giving high beams… sakit hati jugak beb..

• junaidi on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:22 pm

If the Malaysian police really wanted to enforce, its very simple.
      The car can be photographed, no. plate, driver face etc etc

Then once it reaches Tuas or Causeway, it can be stopped by Malaysian officials IF they bother to check. No pay, no going back to Singapore.

• think on Apr 25, 2011 at 8:27 pm

stop selling cars above rm40k…generally cars above that price can go faster than 110km/h…i do not no what are others are thinking about this issue…for me it’s 1 answer…when a car is driven fast but with correct manner and attitude ,,there is no way of a accident…i do not like at all the attitude of goverment saying that speeding,,is the main cause of accidents…pls at our road condition….worst and getting worst…i can show many of this kind of roads to them…accidents occur due to :::

50% driver error = 50% road condition

nw the goverment will issue summons to those who are speeding….but can we summon the goverment,, with the same amount if an accident happen at a place with bad road condition

think……….

• Who cares?

• paran on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm

fix cameras in every police patrol car, make sure they will not be able to temper them, and only can stop behind the suspects car, like that which policeman will dare to take bribe? they said say no to rasuah, and theyr advert is as if were the one doing wrong? but isnt it theyr fault for accepting it as well? so there must be a silly rule as such “the person who bribe you can go ahead and complaint against you” and action will be taken against “you” only!!!! hahaha name the campaign “Bribe em n Get em”

increase the saman to rm1000!!

• Zie'man on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:19 am

Despite all the claims, I’m still encountering roadblocks at the infamous Perak stretch of the North South Highway as recent as yesterday. Better still in what seems like a desperate measure, for the first time in my life there are two roadblocks! yup, both side of the lanes for North and South bound motorists side by side parallel to one another!

You would have thought there’re some major operations going on until as usual when you wind down the window only to realize business as usual.

I lamented “tuan, siapa la yg berani nak speed pasal orang dah start flashing dari Rawang tadi! ” The reality was despite the flashing cues there were people who still speed given the friendly warnings.

To be fair, I’ve never have qualms on the enforcers needing to perform their duties. It was the manner on how things are being conducted especially profiling of the vehicle despite genuine claims that indeed we never speed at all. Hence you can’t help the feeling of daylight robbery. Which indeed is very frustrating because the only way to get out by not bribing is to meet the on-site chief of operations. (forget about driving away thinking you’ve negotiated successfully without bribing because the previous time I did that I still receive saman layang). By the way, in case you wonder how you can prove your innocent, in most cases you will find out the officers will have conflicting answers to where exactly you have commit the offense and the speed you’re driving once you cross checked (but always remember to be courteous and polite throughout the exercise).

Unfortunately I was tired of doing the same routine again yesterday hence finger crossed I wont receive another saman layang. Not withstanding the risk and danger posed when you step out from the vehicle due to the oncoming traffics which are things our traffic enforcers will face everyday on top of sun, rains and mosquito bites when manning such operations. Kesian them, is time to bring on technology and camera automation system and let these guys focus on more urgent tasks such as taking on the crooks.

But first, the public funds needs to be channel properly as give incentive to the forces. Do you know that the SDU police force in HK will receive millions as compensation when they retire…

• sting on Apr 26, 2011 at 10:43 am

1) Increase speed limit in straight road and reduce speed limit in corners. Some places (kesas) has speed limit of 90km/h but it is obvious people can drive safely at speed higher than that.
    2) Impose a minimum speed limit too. I remember driving in Australia, you can get fined if you are below the speed limit by certain% on the fast lane.

• carazy on Apr 26, 2011 at 11:52 am

This is my first hand experience. yesterday i was caught by speed trap camera driving over 120kmh at LPT Highway, and JPJ/Polis stop me after that (i was terrifying to death to be summon by JPJ). BUT instead of summoning me, the JPJ jz give me this words, “En. bawak laju ni, tolong slow sikit boleh?”

After that i was so insaf and jz did 120kmh all the way to my home at kuantan. and I thing this method works and it can educate motoris to drive save in the road.

my 2 cent

• Driving at 120 kph in Malaysia has definitely broken some rules. By giving a kind advice, you continued to break rules all the way to Kuantan………… I guess this means the advice did not work.

• juz saw another police perdana with 2 officer hide under the tree to catch those who make illegal U-turn at Teluk Panglima Garang Klang this morning…
    if they are really issue ticket to offender, this might educate them, but if they take ”kopi-o”… haha…

*psst… hide n stop is way of taking bribe!

• waimak on Apr 26, 2011 at 4:23 pm

new generation cars are relatively safer to drive due to technology advancement and various improvements. Therefore speed limit should be revise accordingly. There is still 60km speed limit in Gua Musang Kelantan and police is waiting eagerly at the end to catch those driving above 60km/hr there – funny.
    Another thing is, many people think that their cars can go so fast, like a kancil can overtake a Merc, but many forgot to think that their cars which can go so fast, can they also stop quickly and safely?

• shazwan shukor on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:33 pm

yes of course… all speed limits need to be revised.. it’s nonsense if u drive in alor setar.. u still have a 60kmh speed limit on a wide 2 lane road.. it’s nonsense.. 10 years ago, yes..it’s just a small one lane road.. now its wide with motorcycle lane summore.. why import new cars, making a bigger engine car but with these kind of speed limit.it’s too slow nowadays… even proton have a 2 litre car..

• i just encountered one yesterday morning,siiting in the bushes on the steep downhill just after genting sempah tunnel heading towards kuantan.there’s no warning about speed traps ahead though.

• shazwan shukor on Apr 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

“Of course, the big question is how it will affect generated revenue – since September 2009, the police has issued summons to more than 2.5 million motorists, primarily from speed traps and speed cameras, and from 2000 to 2008, outstanding summons added up to RM2 billion, certainly not an insignificant amount. Still, the move towards a wider scale implementation of automated speed camera systems should continue the effects of enforcement, just in a different, indirect manner.”

wow..u summons people just to generate revenue? but not to educate people to drive within the speed limit.. to reduce risk of accidents? to protect people? wow..is this what u have been doing.. so lame…. no wonder we fall into third world country because of our own mindset.

• Raimie on May 02, 2011 at 10:08 am

Speed traps are not to generate revenue. They are there to ensure motorists drive within the speed limit for their own safety. Police force is here to ensure that law in in order for the safety of the public. It is not a private company out to make money from the public.

• Concerned on May 02, 2011 at 3:55 pm

I saw a traffic policeman with camera hiding behind a bush at Genting Sempah downslope en route to Karak from Gombak (Karak highway). Saw it Wednesday 27 April evening around 6 pm. So what is this Deputy IGP talk about ?

• no more ambush???!! just saw one this morning around 0820hrs, hiding in the bushes along Persiaran Utara, Putrajaya from Serdang Hospital towards Putrajaya/Cyberjaya. !^%$%#$$!#!%$!$%@^!…

• Confused on May 06, 2011 at 9:48 am

no more ambush???!! just saw one this morning around 0820hrs, hiding in the bushes along Persiaran Utara, Putrajaya from Serdang Hospital towards Putrajaya/Cyberjaya. !^%$%#$$!#!%$!$%@^!…

• frustrated on May 09, 2011 at 11:31 pm

no, i think it’ll take a while or i doubt if this move will accomplish. just recently i was on my way to cyberjaya using the putrajaya first exit after serdang hospital. there was a policeman hiding behind the bushes just right after the first junction to alamanda/precinct 1-16 with speed camera. i had seen them at the same place 5 times and i had exceeded the speed limit 80km/h the first time i saw them hiding but it was too late for me to reduce my speed and sadly i gotta pay for it!