Porsche Panamera Diesel: JB to Phuket with one tank!

Porsche GB has released details of the Panamera Diesel ahead of its introduction in August. The oil burner in question is a VW Group 3.0-litre V6 turbodiesel tuned by Porsche, and the headline figure is a driving range of over 745 miles (1,192 km) on one 80-litre tank of diesel.

How far is that? Well, if you take the PLUS North South Highway from JB to Bukit Kayu Hitam, continuing on north past Hatyai on to Phuket, you’d have clocked 1,260 km when you reach Sarasin Bridge, the short bridge linking Phuket Island to mainland Thailand. All with tank of diesel!

The V6 (with variable geometry turbo, exhaust gas recirculation and stop/start) makes 250 hp and 550 Nm of torque, the latter available from 1,750 rpm to 2,750 rpm. This gives the big Porsche a 0-100 km/h time of 6.8 seconds and a top speed of 240 km/h. The car is only available with rear-wheel drive and an 8-speed Tiptronic S auto ‘box.

Combined fuel economy is rated at 14.4 km/l, rising to 15.9 km/l with optional lower rolling resistance tyres. Also on the options list is adaptive air suspension to make those 1,200 kliometres float by.

This variant can be recognised by the ‘diesel’ lettering on the front doors.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• antisocial on May 02, 2011 at 7:16 pm

POWER & fuel save!

so is the BMW 520D at RM330K worth to buy?? I’m considering that, any comment??

• Mr. Biggy on May 02, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Fuel saving is the least of my concern if I’m buying a 300k car. Look for an automotive forum, not here douchebag.

• Paul Tan on May 02, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Why not? If you’re paying back 4k a month, and you can cut your fuel bill from RM1000 a month to RM500 a month, that’s RM500 of the monthly installment “sponsored”.

• Lim Kopi on May 02, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Paul

Im sure this is “subject to driving conditions” also,

Obviously those who kept flooring it won’t get such figures?

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 12:16 am

I don’t think anyone who keeps flooring it expects to save any fuel. But I’ve tried driving a 320d like I stole it and fuel consumption was still only about 9L to 10L per 100km. Seriously, you have to really try diesel engines on an extended drive to know what they’re about… can have your cake and eat it as well.

• Longhitter on May 03, 2011 at 10:57 am

For those who has a habit of ‘kept flooring’, I think the saving will be even more, just imagine you ‘kept flooring’ a Naza Ria.

• Black Dog on May 03, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Save on fuel to pay for saman lah!

• A fuel saving car which cost a bomb, hmm… How ironic !

• Leseid Obrut on May 02, 2011 at 7:25 pm

methinks proton should consider developing turbodiesel engines – they’re torquey yet economical, hence a relaxing drive…just my 2 cents… =)

• diesel badge looks funny…overall, i really like this diesel variant. Hope other exotics also can comes out wif diesel option too

• nebula87 on May 02, 2011 at 8:32 pm

sure onot? do they have terms and conditions applied or little stars stated on top there onot?? if they test it with air-con on, radio on, 110km/h constant speed, den we can bilif it is true…XD
    dont scold me ya…XD

• Paul,
    Think should mention to everyone tat these figures are unlikely to be anywhere near as claimed with our low grade diesel.

• Paul Tan on May 02, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Is that tested facts or assumption? Because both Harve and I drive diesel cars as our daily drivers and we easily get at least 800km to well over 1000km per full tank if we do more highway without even trying hard. Our tanks are between 70 liters to 80 liters in size. Anthony just achieved over 1,300km on a Focus TDCI on a test drive. So whether our diesel or low grade or not, it somehow does not affect fuel economy. And that statement is made based on tested facts.

• this are the typical malaysia tak boleh comment.. why cant they just be proud for once on anything malaysian?

• Sorry if i sounded harsh earlier. Was comparing d figures from d 3.0 v6 in d current Touareg brochure n d web site coz its most likely to b an borrowed n improved version of d diesel burner.

http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/#/new/touareg-nf/which-model/engines/fuel-consumption/

D site figures says 6.8L/100km n 550Nm/2000rpm, so its almost d same as d Panamera’s quotation except for d higher power output (d Touareg is either 204PS/3750rpm or 240PS/4000rpm). But d brochure stated it’s fully compatible with 5% bio diesel in accordance to EN590 (Euro4/Euro5) standard compared to our Euro2M.

So I was just making a conclusion since car makers are unlike to be backward compatible especially when they r designing newer n more fuel efficient diesel burners.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Cayenne Diesel is sold here in Malaysia, btw. I know someone whose dad upgraded from 530d to Cayenne Diesel. I’ll ask him in a few months time what his average fuel consumption is.

• Mohanan Suppiah on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Did you get the average consumption details for the cayenne diesel?

• Nizam80 on May 03, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Paul, may I ask. Do you stop for fuel once the low-fuel indicator flashes?….or do you keep on driving? …800 km – 1000 km is very impressive. I’ve never driven a diesel car before btw.

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2011 at 5:28 pm

When the low fuel indicator lights up, range is usually still about 60km to 80km. I usually refuel when there’s 20km to 30km left.

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 10:16 am

our low grade fuel just make the fuel filter gets dirty faster than high grade one. one thing you have to know, diesel cars have fuel filter to filter diesel before it goes to injection such as commonrail and direct injection. my daddy have to change his fuel filter for his nissan frontier every year once. and costs about rm200 only. and for one single tank we can go up to 700km with average 120-140kmj in sarawak road condition (hilly area, lots of narrow and sharp bend corners, but least traffic). for 90’s diesel engine as pajero 2.8 intercooler turbo also own by our family, you dont have to change its fuel filter at all.because it can drink all dirts inside. performance wise, low tech engine of course slower than high tech engine. fuel consumption, just more or less, but pajero is quite sluggish because it have low torque and bhp compared to nissan frontier, and heavier than nissan frontier. just my two cents from a family member who use diesel cars as daily commuter. :)

• gunigugu on May 02, 2011 at 8:48 pm

That’s a really economical car..but being a Porsche, I doubt it will be cheap enough to justify the outlay for the car

• Leseid Obrut on May 02, 2011 at 8:55 pm

true…and i bet fuel economy is not exactly the 1st thing that comes to mind when you can afford a porsche…unless you’re a diesel freak like me… =P

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on May 02, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Cabin noise level at below 60dB when cruising at 110km/h, but I will take the Range Rover Evoque at BMW X1 price range.

• deftones on May 02, 2011 at 10:17 pm

i rented a bmw 530d and it is veryeconomical..1000+-km from a full tank..
        plus i enjoying driving at 130kmh with only 1.5 rpm..the engine is like idling
        tremendous model from bmw..way to go diesel

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on May 03, 2011 at 8:23 am

I bet you get above 1500rpm at 130kmh. 1000km indicator is not a big deal, it would probably stop for refuel at 750+km. 525D noise is worse than 530d when it is idle. High horse power diesel is targeted at niche potential customers. Bumpy ride due to hard suspension on a 2 tons car. It could be the same for the 520d with sport suspension. Not sure about the new 520d, not interested in testing it anymore. Mr Salesman.

• Udang on May 03, 2011 at 9:49 am

“I bet you”

“it would probably”

“it could be”

“not sure about”

What rubbish comment is this, full of conjecture then you accuse people of being salesman. You must either hate BMW, hate diesel, or simply dumb.

• tamiyamundi on May 03, 2011 at 10:07 am

His girl friend got cucuk by BMW’s owner, that is why.

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 10:19 am

what type of cucuk? can u tell me? :D

• deftones on May 03, 2011 at 11:47 am

do i have to lie if i only rented the car?
            if u think that at 130kmh is above 1500rpm..then u should rent it or test drive
            u’ll be surprise..then monitor the fuel gauge urself..believe me, believe me, i manged to get 1000+-km with single tank..

• Leong Junior on May 02, 2011 at 11:04 pm

y rear-wheel drive & not AWD? confuse

• less weight equals to better fuel consumption. the objective of the panamera diesel is to get good fuel economy while still driving like a true porsche. a heavy 4WD system would have affected the fuel consumption of the car negatively.

• repez on May 02, 2011 at 11:58 pm

not all people can afford that range of price, even if it saves a lot on fuel consumption

• squall_shinoda on May 03, 2011 at 12:22 am

As expected from a company linked with the largest diesel carmaker in the world. With the fuel consumption data, the diesel and petrol versions of Panamera are like the earth and the sky. That’s why it is a very wise investment for Porsche to come up with the diesel version. The only questions here will be the price and also whether it is suitable with our diesel fuel, as our diesel standard is still lagging behind from the European standards.

• bluestreak on May 03, 2011 at 7:03 am

3.0 and can save fuel.. and which gov decided to tax skyrocket high for bigger engine again? I remember Tun M said they tax high because they want to reduce fuel consumption.. oh well..

• sukasuki on May 03, 2011 at 3:31 pm

this is the problem of malaysia, our policymaker is not from the expert of certain field. how many our MP’s from BN and PR do have engineering background? most of them from economics, law, management only. they know nothing about engineering. all they know is how to get more money to fill their pockets and cronies. all same, either BN or PR. haiyaaa.

• Maserati on May 03, 2011 at 10:05 am

Lol at this, come on lah, if u can afford this kind of car like the panamera , do u even think u will bother about fuel consumption?

This will be the least of our worries if we can afford a porsche.

• 1621danny on May 03, 2011 at 2:17 pm

right ! afford to spend +/- 1M for a car , who”s care about fuel comsumption , porsche may develop full e- car , then the owner just plug & drive …he!he!