BREAKING: Group Lotus is sole owner of “Lotus” name in F1, but Team Lotus can still race under its present name

The verdict is out. Justice Peter Smith has given his verdict at the British High Court and declared that Group Lotus has the right to use the name “Lotus” on its own within Formula 1. Group Lotus, which is title sponsor of Lotus Renault GP, is entitled to race in the historic black and gold livery, which is currently used by LRGP.

The judge found that the Proton subsidiary has goodwill associated with the name “Lotus” in Formula 1 and is free to compete in the sport under that name using the Lotus roundel. Also, Group Lotus trade mark registrations are unaffected and Group Lotus has the right to use the Lotus marque on cars for road use.

The judge also decided that 1Malaysia Racing Team Sdn Bhd, the owners of Team Lotus, is in breach of the Licence granted to them by Group Lotus to race in F1 under the name Lotus Racing (the name it used last year) and has awarded Group Lotus damages in respect of that breach.

However, the above concerns the name “Lotus”. Team Lotus has the right to continue to race in Formula 1 under the name “Team Lotus” with the “Team” in it. Basically, things go on as they are. The entire transcript of the decision can be read here.

Group Lotus’ response is that they’re concerned that this aspect of the Judgment will cause confusion in the eyes of spectators and the wider public. Group Lotus is seeking leave to appeal so that the right to use the Lotus brand in Formula 1 is clarified once and for all in the interests of the sport and the fans. Group Lotus and Proton are confident of success on appeal.

Sarah Price, Head of Legal at Group Lotus said: “Group Lotus is pleased that its right to race under the Lotus name in F1 has been upheld and that the Defendants’ attempts to stop that have failed.

“The on-going dispute with Team Lotus and associated companies has been a cause for concern for all at Group Lotus. Despite the detailed judgment there are issues which still require clarification and we remain committed to obtaining this much needed clarity for the many fans of the Lotus marque – we are extremely grateful for their continued support. The decision to appeal has not been taken lightly.”

Team Lotus, on the other hand, is naturally delighted at the Judgement. Team Principal Tony Fernandes declared on behalf of fellow shareholders Kamarudin Meranun and SM Nasarudin. “We are all pleased that it has been clarified that we are the rightful owners of Team Lotus. We have always been confident that the factual evidence we presented would lead to this decision and today’s judgment confirms that belief,” he said

“We are of course disappointed about the decision that Group Lotus was entitled to end the our licence agreement in 2010. We entered into that contract on the basis that we were beginning a long-term partnership with Group Lotus but unfortunately they then used technical breaches of the merchandising pre-notification process to bring the licence and our partnership to an end.

“However, my fellow shareholders and I are firm believers that when one door closes another door opens. In the early days of our agreement we realised its termination was inevitable and as events have unfolded the end of the licence has proved positive for us, with many new avenues being opened up as a result.

“We wanted to develop a long-term relationship with Group Lotus and help them sell more cars around the world but that door closed and now we are delighted that we can turn our attention to ensuring success for Caterham Cars on the road and Team Lotus on track. These are two very exciting brands and their future development, bringing these two iconic brands together under the Caterham Team Lotus umbrella, will see us introduce new Caterham cars and a range of new Team Lotus brands into the global marketplace.

“Now our main aim is to build on the solid foundations that has made Caterham Cars the model for how to run a profitable contemporary car company and add more history to the incredible story of Team Lotus over the coming months and years and with the people, spirit, passion and determination we have in both businesses we know that marks the next stage in our incredible story,” the statement read.

However, there’s one statement that we don’t fully understand. It was mentioned in Group Lotus’ press statement that “Team Lotus Ventures Limited’s trade mark registrations in the name of Team Lotus are cancelled as a result of non-use”. Could this mean that they can race under the name, but not market/commercialise it?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• “However, there’s one statement that we don’t fully understand. It was mentioned in Group Lotus’ press statement that “Team Lotus Ventures Limited’s trade mark registrations in the name of Team Lotus are cancelled as a result of non-use”. Could this mean that they can race under the name, but not market/commercialise it?”

I’m wondering about this too… but they already open the merchandise shop as soon as they heard the news…

• a lawsuit is coming

• lotus9 on May 27, 2011 at 11:58 pm

So now it means that TF can use ‘Team Lotus’ name in F1 but TF cannot use ‘Lotus’ insignia in the logo or trademark or paint the F1 or Caterham cars like the historic Lotus cars.

That is to say, Group Lotus will keep sueing TF until Proton owns AirAsia and NAZA one day!

• redboy on May 28, 2011 at 12:20 am

i believe NAZA owns Protong most likely in current political situation, unless Dr M become PM again :)

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 12:29 am

…until Proton owns AirAsia and NAZA???

That will be a disaster.

• din2x on May 28, 2011 at 11:40 am

No matter what… most people will still call LRGT as Renault and Team Lotus as Lotus. because Lotus Renault GP is too long to be call by commentator and spectator. The stronger word for LRGP is still Renault.

• Alan Wong on May 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm

No need to fight in court laaa…. Fight on the track!! That is what F1 is supposed to be…

• ahbeng cibeng on May 27, 2011 at 10:46 pm

haiyya..
    so confusing maa…

• teamsleepnine on May 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm

lotus win pretty much all the case…except the “team lotus” name….
    ….wonder how much tony have to pay for breach pf trademark thingy over the merchandise?….

• padan muka ko Tony! hahahahahahaha

• SeriuosSAM on May 28, 2011 at 1:45 am

http://www.motorsport.com/#/F1/article/?id=405783

what if that is true

LoL

• jay8393 on May 28, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Would be good news to me if it is true. Might celebrate it even.

• keyboard.rosak on May 31, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Hmm…

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/91910

“It is very funny how stories can blow up like this and constantly come back,” said Boullier. “It is maybe not a coincidence, but there is some old guard from Renault here [in Monaco] so maybe they keep spreading rumours on their own.

• SeriuosSAM on May 27, 2011 at 10:59 pm

both side win some lose some

maybe if we throw bahar and tony out only then we can find harmony back between Group Lotus and Team Lotus

• teamsleepnine on May 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm

“• Group Lotus has the right to use the name “Lotus” on its own within Formula 1
    • Group Lotus entitled to race in the historic black and gold livery
    • 1Malaysia Racing Team (1MRT) ruled to be in breach of licence agreement, Group Lotus awarded damages
    • Team Lotus Ventures Limited trademarks revoked for non-use
    • Group Lotus trade marks unaffected
    • Group Lotus has the right to use the Lotus marque on cars for road use”

• teamsleepnine on May 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

i forget to add that team lotus can still race as “team lotus” despite
      “Group Lotus has the right to use the name “Lotus” on its own within Formula 1″

one word!

TROLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!!!!

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 12:44 am

Errr… you do know that Group Lotus and Team Lotus logo is a little bit different. Plus, they now both can legally race in F1 using their own marque.

• racefan on May 27, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Too much headache. I’ll just support Red Bull. Talk on track

• lightning mcqueen on May 27, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Tony… go and concentrate towards winning front row la… stop mumbling couse next year you can use caterham marque as your F1 team…. Furthermore how many people realize the existance of caterham on Malaysian road?
    And stop BS that you can sell Lotus cars more if you work with Lotus in F1… enough is enough
    We are not stupid…

• letstorque on May 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

There goes the spin doctor……..

• teamsleepnine on May 27, 2011 at 11:58 pm

i might also add.

group lotus have the right to use the logo but only on road cars.

• racefan on May 28, 2011 at 12:21 am

Group Lotus have the right to use the LOTUS logo roundel on their roadcars and in F1. They cannot use the TEAM LOTUS name or logo roundel in F1 or on road cars.

Be aware that the TEAM LOTUS logo roundel as used by Tony’s team and LOTUS logo roundel as used by LRGP are not the same. This distinction in logo design between TEAM LOTUS and GROUP LOTUS goes back decades.

The trial was not about the LOTUS branding. It was about the TEAM LOTUS branding.

• redboy on May 28, 2011 at 12:19 am

There is a different of retain the rights to use “Lotus” then saying it is sole.

There is also differences in saying “Team Lotus can continue to operate under the name, Group Lotus got the rights to use it”

Where is the “sole” word come from? your own interpretation?

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/27/nation/20110527230126&sec=nation

• Open your eyes on May 28, 2011 at 12:23 am

Read paragraph number 296 onwards. Seriously funny. Look how Tony’s own henchmen are frustrated with him and sending sarcastic emails.

http://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Ch/2011/1366.html

Anyone who still supports Tony, open your eyes.

• tronny on May 28, 2011 at 12:28 am

why not? i just bought 10sen airfare to anywhere in Malaysia~ LOL

• tokmoh on May 28, 2011 at 1:12 am

Supporting his airline biz is a different matter. We’re talkin abt support for his F1 venture.

Bt now u brought up abt airline matter, I kinda hate his reaction when SIA announce they want to make low-cost long-haul subsidiary. Friggin arrogant n hypocrite. Always talks abt liking competitors, competition makes industry better, customers win etcetc, bt when he himself gets competitors from SIA, he mocks them as if SIA is made of cikai ppl. He underestimates SIA too much.

Ok, now back to topic, God, he n his mulut laser again. Even accusing GL as spin doctors on twitter, n going on abt “good guys do always win” shit n stuffs. Just u wait, GL will be back to protect their brand, and eliminate all who may pose as a threat. Wipe that smirk off ur face TF, it aint over until it’s over!!!

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 1:44 am

I think you should read the whole twitter posting he did before that. It has something to do about how SIA failed once before with Tiger Airways and now trying to fight AirAsia X. I do agreed with TF on this. Maybe SIA should just concentrate on what they do best, full service airlines.

Oh… off topic already. I blamed tronny for this. LoL

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 12:39 am

Is he in a political party you don’t like that I have to choose whether to support him or not?

Same with tronny, if I can go somewhere via an airplane just by paying 10 sen, heck, I’ll hug him for that.

• Fazzurri on May 29, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Please don’t hug.. Geli aa.. hehehehe

• TallPan on May 29, 2011 at 11:50 pm

yeah man wtf VoidDance?… a lot of macho men at Paultan.org la wei…

but just think… if u hug him close enough, ur cockpit and his cockpit will share the same airspace

• teamsleepnine on May 28, 2011 at 12:44 am

1MRT admitted breaches of the merchandising provisions. It broke the provisions about merchandising comprehensively as early as 14th December 2009 and the subsequent production of shirts by 23rd February 2010 and the conclusion of an agreement by 10th March 2010 with the chief executive of Mouawad Jewelry Group for production of a limited edition Lotus Racing brooch. On 6th May 2010 1MRT issued a press release announcing the launch of new Lotus Racing merchandise for the Barcelona Grand Prix. That range included replica team shirts and polo shirts, Lotus Racing t-shirts and a number of accessories including lanyards, earplugs, umbrellas and a team flag. It launched its online merchandise in shops the next day and transactions were completed on that day.

None of the merchandise was submitted to GL for approval contrary to clause 4.5 of the License Agreement.

1MRT’s senior executives were clearly aware of the obligations at a very early stage. On 23rd January 2010 Sir Harry Nuttall sent and email to Riad Asmat (1MRT’s CEO):-

“Mate. Do we have to send visuals of every item (cars thru caps) to GL for sign off, and, in the case of merchandise, pre-sales examples also?
      I worry to some small degree GL will not approve the new Team Logo as the shape is just a tad similar to ……..etc
      or do we just wing it? ”
      No reply to that email has been produced. However it is clear that Mr Asmat, Sir Harry Nuttall and the ultimate owner of 1MRT Mr Fernandes decided not to comply with the obligations under the License Agreement and decided to “wing it”. No evidence was adduced to challenge this inevitable conclusion. This non compliance is shown by the refusal to provide a copy of the License Agreement without explanation to Mr Choy. He at that time was employed by 1MRT from January 2010 to set up the marketing division of which he was the director. He left 1MRT in July 2010. He was therefore deprived of access to the documents which governed the relationship between 1MRT and GL. Mr Asmat in an email of 12th May 2010 to Mr Choy said:-

“As I discussed with you earlier almost everything we produce will need to go through GL for consent. Yes they themselves have legal issues on some products or merchandise but best to avoid them.”
      Mr Choy’s email requesting a copy of the License Agreement reflected his undoubted frustration “this is what I mean by no transparency by the CEO. As Tho’ I will pass this agreement to a competitor……Sad. We live to live another day in oblivion…I asked [Asme bin Maulud] to see the contract between [GL] and [1MRT] because, supposedly there are things we cannot do without [GL’s] consent…..what are they???? God knows. Add to the Book Birth of Lotus Car Racing – chapter 11 entitled Frustrations”

He had been curtly denied access to the Agreement by the CEO the same day.

When he finally saw the Agreement in June 2010 he sent an email to Nik Faruk on 18th June 2010 stating:-

“We have breached every clause in this Agreement there is to be breached”.
      In that he is correct.

None of the senior people namely Sir Harry Nuttall, Mr Asmat or Mr Fernandes have given evidence on this issue to explain their conduct and whether they decided to wing it or not. Again no explanation is given for this absence (save apparently an attendance by Mr Fernandes to obtain a CBE at Buckingham Palace on one day of the trial). Ultimately Mr Fernandes’ attitude is summarised in his email of 4th August 2010 that he sent to Ms Bauer (GL’s Director of Merchandise):-

“Stop treating us as lepers and stop harassing my staff. We have been so supportive of Group Lotus but quite the opposite from you guys. We will continue with this bag which is similar to the Classic but with a different logo. If you are unhappy sue us”.

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 1:13 am

What the heck? We can go directly to the link provided by Paul. Why the need to copy paste it here?

• teamsleepnine on May 28, 2011 at 2:27 am

i “highlight”the subject…you know how many paragraph there is?shitloads…

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 2:57 am

I did read the first 100 lines, well, skipped some. But what you did is just pointing something bad about Tony, which have nothing to do with the judgement.

Why don’t you paste what Mosley said about Group Lotus, Lotus and Team Lotus. It is more related to the issue than pointing out someone’s flaw.

• Open your eyes on May 28, 2011 at 1:35 am

If you read further you can see that Darren Choy resigned the month after he was finally allowed access to the agreement

• Paul Tan on May 28, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Did he really resign I wonder. Because he is now the CEO of EQ8 energy drink, which I am assuming is a renamed LR8 energy drink. Both EQ8 and then LR8 brands are featured on the Team Lotus livery. Is EQ8 is own thing or is he working for Tony?

• jay8393 on May 29, 2011 at 11:17 am

I thought it was mentioned before that EQ8 is under the Team Lotus umbrella?

• Ferruccio on May 28, 2011 at 1:24 am

To ‘Open your eyes’,

You need to open your eyes wider. The staff’s frustration is directed at the CEO. Figure out who the CEO of Lotus Racing is. It is not Tony. Please criticize ‘accurately’

• Open your eyes on May 28, 2011 at 1:40 am

You are right, my mistake. CEO is the ex Proton man. But I wonder on whose orders did he not release the agreement.

• alfie60 on May 28, 2011 at 1:09 am

I think Tony will have greater success with the ‘Lotus’ name than the Proton boyz. His success in the airline business is the talk in the industry compared to the salary men of Proton in the automotive industry!!!

Good for you Tony Esq. ;-)

• teamsleepnine on May 28, 2011 at 2:30 am

you make no sense….airines business and automotive business……even is he found success…its a nich market…not mass produce bread and butter cars…

• alfie60 on May 28, 2011 at 9:13 am

What cock are you talking? Proton is a niche market,special protection by government to ensure everybody else is force to sale more expensive than them.

In the airline you must have critical mass in ticket sales to survive in the industry,bad enuf the government is trying to handicap him by not giving the Sydney route.

• Eyesore on May 29, 2011 at 9:40 am

he has taken a lot of route from MAS already…. Plus how many waiver he gets for taxes? what kind of handicap you are talking abt? just because he cannot get 1 route thus it’s a handicap for him? Bullshit!

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 1:12 am

This is what I picked up from BBC Sport

“Formula 1’s Team Lotus has been told by a judge they can continue to operate and race under that name.

The decision in the High Court confirms the team headed by Tony Fernandes as the owner of the iconic badge.

Group Lotus, which sponsors the Renault team, retains the right to use the “Lotus” name on its own.

But the judge ruled it cannot enter F1 using the name Lotus for a team, a decision Group Lotus has announced its intention to appeal.”

So,

1. Group Lotus can race in F1 on its own but cannot use the name Lotus. GL will appeal. Or they may not as currently, there are only a title sponsor, not race team owner or have a race team.
    2. TF is the owner of TL and TL can operate and race in F1 using TL name and Lotus chassis name.
    3. Not written here, yes, TF breached some agreement with GL.

• VoidDance on May 28, 2011 at 1:45 am

Oh and.. read point 36 of the written judgement.

Interesting indeed.

• PETER on May 28, 2011 at 1:56 am

PETER SMITH IS A JOKE…

• SoMeOnE on May 28, 2011 at 2:01 am

if im not mistaken the the last part of this reports means that team lotus cannot ride on any other trademark that the team lotus ventured have secured during thier custody of the brand such as a line of merchandise that the latter may or may not have produced during thier ownership..this stuff does not belong to them..only the name….

• macam Obama vs Osama. There is no such thing as a winnable war.

• alfie60 on May 28, 2011 at 2:59 am

Government wants to entice all our clever oversea graduates to come back and work in Malaysia and yet they offer is not sincere.

For Tony a local boy who was working oversea and came back and work here,instead of being proud local boy done good globally the Patriotic Proton Boyz think and treat him like a national traitor.

Gua pun malay,cut him some slack!
    Jangan lah dengki sangat!!

The only unpatriotic and undemocratic are the Proton Boyz,for making us drive overprice shitty quality proton cars and not allowing us to voice our opinoin and not listening to the public outcry.

• lotus9 on May 28, 2011 at 9:29 am

Are you blind or stupid? TF only want to milk the Lotus brand using the government and 1Malaysia F1 team.

When it was first proposed, Najid said: “This is the Malaysian team. The car was designed at the SIC, manufactured at the SIC, tested at the SIC and the car is Malaysian-made. Even the pit-stop team consists of Malaysians,”

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/9/15/nation/20090915181208&sec=nation

But now we know there is no Malaysian driver, headquarted in UK, designed by Mike Gascoyne with NO INPUT from Lotus. 1Malaysia F1 team bullshit!

• alfie60 on May 28, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Relak la bro. Proton rally team also use whiteman to drive their car eventhough got malaysian Karam singh but dont use,
        Even the rally car parts are made overseas not by our shitty 300+ vendors who is making about $7+billion annually.

The Inspira was design oversea. Typical of these hard core cult followers of Proton brand. Anything they do is OK but other people cannot do the SAME!!!
        They act and think for us to accept Proton as the DIVINE car for all Malaysians!!! Just like the PAS fanatics. ;-)

• TallPan on May 29, 2011 at 11:45 pm

@alfie60 eh luckily overseas vendor! can u imagine driving a rally car halfway, the petrol or temp gauge rosak? LOL… send for service… rosak again? how not to bash la, tell me?

• AFAIK, the car is malaysian made, maybe not whole but malaysians did take part as engineers… dont believe me??? go dig some few months back article in here… interviews with malaysian engineers… Malaysian driver??? who did makes Fairuz Fauzy worth the license??

If I were TF, I would place my HQ in UK too considering another Lotus is trying to whack me here…

bullshit or not, at least I see they are going up and down unlike Virgin and HRT, always backmarkers no matter what happened…

• evolva on May 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

i find your comment a bit naive, no offense to our own home soil engineers but do u seriously think that we have the capabilities from designing, constructing to fully establishing a proper formula 1 team from scratch when we never had the expertise to do so?Do we even have the most crucial and basic machinery to construct an F1 car in SIC?Do we even have a wind tunnel to run analysis on the aero package of the car?SIC got?i think your a bit too optimistic. If Tony’s team after recruiting all those expertise personnel that has been in f1 for quite some time and still admits it takes few years to get to the top, what makes u think a team fully operated by non-experience Malaysian can do?

• Medusa on May 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

UTM in Skudai, Johore have a wind tunnel. They also have professor who once work for British Aerospace doing some stuff related to aerodynamics.

• letstorque on May 28, 2011 at 10:04 am

so what if you’re malay?Carry extra weight?Mean extra attention must be paid?
      Why drag the Gov,NAP along?
      this is F1 court case,not airline industry nor automotive industry.

• corolla_KE70 on May 28, 2011 at 11:54 am

ini la masalah dengan budak-budak hingusan zaman sekarang, tak tahu hujung pangkal cerita, terus mahu tunjuk pandai… dik, pergi study dulu bab topic ni yea..

• Bro how long you been in car manufacturing, marketing, designing, selling spare part or anything related or become financer for any car brand in the world. How much you have experience or know about car business if not dont just condenm what proton has done. If you compare Exora with Avanza in term of absorber, space, top speed, comfort you can try it by your self if you know how to evaluat. If yo compare Persona and city in term of space Persona better. In term of power of course Persona DOCH New City SOCH (old technology) with eight spark that is two for each piston that cost RM 80 each what is this wasting money. In term of top speed Persona 200km/h City 180km/h so what. People who buy Honda are those who never changed their mind set in 80’s not in new milinium.

Please wake up and look properly if you really have a good heart/brain otherwise you are blind with your eyes open. At first reluctan to buy proton along with my BMW, Mazda, Produa, Hondas and Nissan but it proven Proton is better than Japanese car( compare with the same engine range please) but not Gurmany or italian car If you never drive proton at 200km/h try first and talk. Please understand about engine and how to take care it. Thanks

• Vijay Mallya on May 28, 2011 at 7:11 am

I am so upset.

I cant believe Team Lotus has won something.

hahahahahaha

• keep to the facts la.

this is about GL and TL…why bring proton, gomen, rakyat etc into this. unfair this and that..

then what about me taking that airline and losing hours++ stranded in kk airport and lost a ton of $$ that also changed my biz partner’s life? not blaming TF, but ultimately he had a hand right?

so lets move on. TF not doing this if he cannot make $$. thats why he always talk about ‘brands’; not winning races…

brands is the lubricant that make people part with their money; thats why TF is big on brands..

• alfie60 on May 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Bro you should have taken MAS government airline and pay 10 times the price of Air Asia ticket than you arrive on time.

Funny la you,when it comes to cars we all must support and buy goverment Proton cars eventhough its has shitty quality and over price but you travel you use private cheap airline to save money and not gor-man airline. ;-)

• dont generalise la bro,

i take all airline as long as it suits my schedule, not $$ punya pasal.

you seem to be a proton basher, apa kata you beli satu and take a hammer and get it all out? puaskan hati..

• alfie60 on May 29, 2011 at 1:46 am

Bro i may be a basher but respect lah sikit gua bukan bodoh. Why should i waste RM46k of my hard earned money !!!!
          Give me a free proton to bash,now we are talking………. ;-)

• Hey Bro if you think your father has produced a better car than proton I respect you if you great great grandfather never know how to do it so give some appreciation for what Malaysian goverment has done to make sure we Malaysian one day can be some where you when you came to this world you cannot just walk but laying for some time but then start to stand so you never have experince in running a car manufactoring company so respect who do. I drive a proton and BMW both of them reach 200km/h at top speed leaving all car like Harrier, Estima, Vios, City Civic you tell me not at one time but all the time, take a conner at 180km/h on the highway. And say Proton got no power you don;t have the gut for it. Japanese introduce Dvvt on 2003 and Proton introduced CPS actually the technology with different name so what can’t you see we are not left behind. Why look at all the weakness look at the good too unless you hate it so if you hate and can do better show to we all or just quiet and be more nice to our country police and figh for the better.

• evolva on May 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

seems like good news keep coming in for tony this week.he’s gp2 team just won monaco gp on their first attempt on that track

• stephen on May 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

its interesting 1Malaysia name also get drag into the lawsuit……something I believe the gov won’t be proud of…as their latest slogan get drag into all this mess.

• drmuzi on May 28, 2011 at 11:37 am

Syabas Lotus.

Proton owned the name lotus

Tony has to paid damages to Lotus for breach

I think opnly in a matter of time Proton plead to solely used the name Lotus in F1 will be garnted by the court.

• corolla_KE70 on May 28, 2011 at 11:50 am

LOTUS mamak beware !! TF got his eyen on you too, he will see u at the court !! lol….

• MBX Boy on May 28, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Team Lotus claims victory after court ruling
    http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/27/nation/20110527230126&sec=nation

Something missing?

• Who cares how TL makes money in F1? As long as he din use Rakyat money enuf la. the question on how credible he is in F1, is not up to ur judgement, is his shareholders and his staffs. Why u all talk like pro? At least he is doing a business and get him along. Who are u all to criticize him? he dun even knw u all but do you know him? in other words HE IS SUCCESSFUL… why?

becuz of Air Asia… why complaining about his airline that cud provide me 2 flights, JAPAN & INDIA that costs me less than RM650? Why complaning flight delay while u getting low fares?

he’s UNPATRIOTIC? hell no, your Government & Proton or “Proton” Lotus? UNPATRIOTIC, UNETHICAL, UNRELIABLE, UNTRUSTABLE, Corruption = RAKYAT MONEY

• Hey if you so reliable how many car have you produced. If you can manage money better how many have you tech to make more people like you ? What are your car brand that more reliable than proton or Lotus in the market come from your company.

If you know how to manage money better and more reliable why dont you set up a traning center and manage your company properly. How can you goverment unpatriotic , are you druk ? When other people doing you said they corrupted it means you have a bad impression about them. This is my experience if people said they are not corrupted and can do better that a lie and based on the writing there is anger inside and lack of understanding about reality. Please be nice have experiences first and get the ability to understand other people mind and make dicision. Appreciate what we have. If we depend on your expertise and way of thinking there is no car produced by Malaysian

• teamsleepnine on May 28, 2011 at 4:21 pm

It’s funny how tony fan thinks of him as saint like patriot,uncorrupted,reliable,ethical,trustable…. lol….oh welll…..

• Ferruccio on May 28, 2011 at 8:31 pm

I don’t think they see him as a saint. I think they are just grateful that thanks to him they can fly to Kuching to KUL for only 70 ringgit. They have saved so much money since Air Asia started operating that they are bound to show some form of gratitude for this Devil in a Red Hat

• theking on May 28, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Without stupid pak lah badawi u think tony can survive ka hahaha

• evolva on May 28, 2011 at 9:22 pm

it’s even funnier how u interpreted what tth says, in which part of his sentence did he even mentioned tony have all this qualities?

• teamsleepnine on May 28, 2011 at 8:21 pm

according to bernie.

Ecclestone suggested that Team Lotus might have to undergo a slight identity switch next year.His comments tie in with a reference by Team Lotus in its first press statement on Friday to “the Caterham Team Lotus umbrella”; a reference to Fernandes’ recent acquisition of the specialty British sports car maker.Ecclestone told Blick: “Fernandes can keep the name Team Lotus. However, his cars may not be called Lotus.”In the registration for the world championship, the team (name) comes first, then the car.”Strictly speaking Fernandes would have to sign up as Team Lotus and something,” added the F1 chief executive to the Swiss newspaper.

• sazzrazz on May 28, 2011 at 8:58 pm

lucky all happens in court of british….if not maybe delayed until 3 or 4 years!

• yourdadisangry on May 28, 2011 at 11:28 pm

I don’t understand it to be honest with you. I don’t know why anybody can be bothered with that kind of stuff. How do you find the time to do that? There are a million things you can do in your life without that. Get yourself down to the library and read a book. Seriously. It is a waste of time. It seems to have a certain momentum at the moment. Everyone seems to want to do it.

• aidid rizal on May 30, 2011 at 12:57 am

fernandez is fail. told ya guys.

• leonardo on May 30, 2011 at 4:00 pm

The INSPIRA was designed by Malaysian design team who went to Japan and did the work there.

• evolva on May 30, 2011 at 6:46 pm

yaya, our engineers went there and gave alot of input to Mitsubishi engineers on few modification to make it a better car such as different bumper, steering wheel and etc.