UK traffic offenders to face on the spot fines by the police

In a bid to clamp down on reckless driving, the British government has given the police power to issue on the spot fines, instead of cases going through the courts. Motorists will be slapped with fines of between £80 and £100 for various traffic offences, including using mobile phones while driving.

Transport Secretary Philip Hammond (not Richard) said the strategy aimed to target persistently dangerous drivers. He told MPs: “We need to rebalance road safety enforcement away from a narrow focus on camera-enforced speed policing, to address the wider range of behaviours that create risk on the roads. Where road users commit serious, deliberate and repeated offences we aim to increase the effectiveness of enforcement for this minority.”

The Department of Transport (DoT) says that this is to punish the most reckless drivers, rather than penalising those who make genuine mistakes. Besides fines, disqualified drivers will have to undergo training and possibly retake tests to reclaim their license. The courts will also be encouraged to make the most of their powers to seize vehicles for very serious offences. New drivers or those who commit less serious crimes will be sent for extra training.

“The strategy will focus on cracking down on the really reckless drivers through more efficient enforcement. By giving the police the tools to deal with those who present the greatest danger to others we can make our roads even safer. While seeking to do everything possible to tackle the most dangerous drivers, the strategy will also help the responsible majority to improve their driving,” DoT said.

According to DoT, convictions for offences related to bad driving fell from 125,000 in 1985 to 28,900 in 2006, suggesting that many cases are going unpunished.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Police, Judge and Jury all in one….

• amirzaheen on May 27, 2011 at 8:02 pm

errrr…i think if richard hammond on the wheel, it make police work more interesting..hahaha..

but then, Philip Hammond also ok..;p

• We should learn from the Brits , will make our roads a safer

• autojohndoe on May 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm

aik… i tot we already did….

but, instead of kena actual saman amount, the driver pay less “saman” to the police…

• Kevin on May 27, 2011 at 8:26 pm

if they do this over here…90% of collection will be in the officer’s pockets.

• SeriuosSAM on May 27, 2011 at 8:55 pm

then don’t break the law meh
      it is that simple..

• from that we know that Malaysian driver like to bribe police etc…but accuse police bribe without them realizing that they r oso doing bribe by bribing the police etc…lol

• TFazuin on May 29, 2011 at 9:03 pm

That’s why we need the video recorder on the patrol car, to minimise this kind of incident.

Only frequent offenders and stubborn people bribe which also shows they would do the same even in their work as it’s normal for them to give and take bribes.

Most normal folk take the ticket or admit the mistake and they will let you pass. Cops are people too, and they have a good and a bad day like everyone else. I’ve seen teenagers getting a ticket and yelling at the cops, you’re luck the police kept cool and not book the guy for behaving like a gangster. Have a little respect and it goes a long way.

• iamisiamwhatiam on May 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Eh, isn’t this just like what Malaysia police do?

• Murga on May 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Most fines here are settled “on the spot” already…

• bongek on May 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

that mean our police is more advance compare to those brit…hahah

• Keluangman on May 28, 2011 at 7:17 am

Mau settle sini or balai?

Hehe

• what u choose? i bet u choose settle sini…if i know u maybe tomoro SPRM come to ur house

• ahbeng cibeng on May 28, 2011 at 9:53 pm

dont blame the police la

we all dont like to wear seat belt, some even drive on red light. but when police got us..we hope that we can settle it on the spot..rm50, if the police dont take it then susah ma.. but some police ask rm 1st.. u want saman or give me rm50.. huhuhu

• u r the corrupter too..i choose saman..wat i do last time n report to SPRM after that..

• i rather lost money, some will say im a fool……losing money are not comparable to loss of dignity n pride

ps; when i join political conversation bout politician corruption with my fren..first thing i ask them when they kene tahan….if im hear same answer like above i just bangun and then go away or just sit only…i unable to talk bout corruption if the initiator of the conversation is a corrupter…

• günstige homepage on Aug 08, 2011 at 6:47 pm

When police fine 100$ hope people were drive better nice step to control bad drivers…good move