Nissan and Mitsubishi have announced that the current generation Nissan Navara one-tonne pickup truck will be manufactured at Mitsubishi Motors’ Laem Chabang plant in Chonburi, Thailand. This means that both the Navara and rival Mitsubishi Triton will roll off the same factory. Production under this deal is scheduled to commence in 2012.
We’re not surprised by this, as it was already spelled out last December as part of a wider agreement to expand the scope of cooperation between the two companies. In the longer term, the two companies are looking at a manufacturing and engineering collaboration for a new generation one-tonne pickup truck. In other words, the next Triton and Navara will be sisters.
This follows an announcement in June about the establishment of a joint venture company to develop minicars for both brands. This, and the pickup deal, is expected to reduce costs and enhance the competitiveness of both companies.
Nissan-Renault-Proton-Mitsubihi Alliance?? Wow..
I want the Navara engine for my Triton.
The updated 2.5 Triton engine in Thailand nearly matches the Navara’s. It’ll be great if they introduce it here to replace the 3.2. As it is, I’m loving my 2.5 bold.
Still, no kick compared to the Navara engine. The current 4D56 is outdated already. 20 over years to be exact and mostly found on Fuso lorries but without common rail technology.
Mitsubishi & Nissan joint forces “hentam” Hilux!!! cause Toyota Hilux to tough to put down haha!!!
No choice. Old People support them! Hilux is going to introduce new “evolution” to hentam them back. But it is hard as technically Hilux is almost outdated. For the new one, just the body change only but the engine and gearbox remains the same.
For sure Triton & Navara was beat those Hilux gau gau, old folk hilux, new generation triton & navara.
was beat? wat r u talking dude?
Good for competition, let Hilux come with totally new model with new engine, not the crap never ending facelift, cosmetic change or the likes.
Hilux? Waiting for their major upgrade already Hailat. Hated all those facelifts. Same crap at higher prices.
This alliance & sharing of mfg facilty will probably prepared both to challange the Hilux in TLand but not so much effect on our Bolehland….Here the Hilux still rule despite being technically handicap.
But I still respect so much about Hilux durability and toughness, even Arab Spring like in Libya, we witness Hilux being utilized to transport fighters or small arm mounted at the back.
Anyway, if I decided to buy, wait for likely 2013, they will come out with new model.
Why don’t have 2 and half cab. It is very useful.