Honda Brio spotted on flat bed tow truck in Malaysia

Since Honda will be making available the Honda Brio in both Thailand (already on sale) and Indonesia (today’s previous story), perhaps eventually the Honda Brio will be made available in Malaysia as well, as Honda’s ASEAN offerings seem to be quite consistent from country to country.

In fact, reader Prem has already spotted one unit of the Honda Brio being transported on a trailer in Malaysia. Curiously, whoever was transporting the Brio made no real attempts to disguise the identity of the car other than just some protective taping on the badges, which makes us wonder if this particular Brio even has anything to do with Honda Malaysia. It might be competitors conducting market research.

The production center for the Brio in the region is currently located in Thailand, and even Indonesia imports the subcompact in CBU form from our northern neighbors. If it is ever launched here, I am guessing the Brio will end up being a Thai CBU here as well.

If launched in Malaysia, the Brio will take over the Honda City S’s spot as the most affordable Honda in Malaysia. Given the City S is priced at RM85,480, how much would you pay for a 1.2 litre engined Honda Brio in Malaysia?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RM 62k

• carazy on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:56 pm

yes approx 60++K is reasonable price for this mini honda car.

btw Honda, pls “UPDATE” this car before you sell it to Malaysian market though

• wowww…what a niceeee design by honda~~~hahahahahaa

• Nissan on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:01 pm

No more than 50K

• Chilavert on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:01 pm

the trailer was heading to Rawang/Tg Malim and since the car has no disguise whatsoever, im pretty sure it is belong to Proton or Perodua or maybe Tan Chong (less likely) for study/testing purposes. hehe dah start takut ke?

• huiyoo on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:36 pm

no disguise coz it is already launched in other country

• klguy on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:43 pm

which car manufacturer on earth is goin to b afraid with a piece of shit like this?

• cheng on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Tunku Troll on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Looks gay. Wont sell. Too small. ITS SHIT :D

• Unimpressed on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:37 pm

won’t sell? you’d be surprised how many people will buy this. honda maa!

• Tunku Troll on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:05 pm

i wont pay more than 20 cents for it……

• dirtyoldmen on Sep 07, 2011 at 7:09 am

which means….you’re willing to pay 19 cents because its too small, its shit and it makes you look gay? :P

• Unforgiven on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:06 pm

Do you think Perodua will allow this car to come and sell it at the same price segment?

RM55 – 60k?

• perodua tokey automotive industry malaysia ke smpai boleh tak bagi honda jual harga tu?
      taiko besar?

• sukasuki on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:02 pm

perodua tu abang long kwsn rawang. hahaha. taiko besar punya. tp proton tu ayahanda satu malaysia. lagi ganas.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:41 am

Wait a sec… bukan ke title ayahanda tu lagi seswai untuk mahathir ke? Sebab dia la yg akan bising kalau banyak sangat kereta import yang murah.

• lazyf on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:02 am

lol…

• Kevin Lee on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:09 pm

50k, real myvi competitor

• buloh on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:43 pm

With that price I rather get a secondhand XV30 Toyota Camry or 2004 Honda Civic or Nissan X-Trail

• Sodfer on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:10 pm

• same here.wont pay more than 35k for this shit.
      ..and that’s after considering there’s no other car available in the world.

• if it’s shit to you then i dont think you will buy even ppl selling you @ 20cents price right?you wont want ppl saying you driving a 20cents shit right….
        then again why do you still wasting your time considering it?

• PakAbu on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:11 pm

“How much would you pay for a Honda Brio in Malaysia?”

RM49,000 max

;-)

• Matchy on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:14 pm

I think 60-70k would be reasonable… but I doubt it will priced that level! (Probably 80k+?)

• ong chin aun on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Am quite sure, price above rm50k., to protect M’sia auto . If less than that , hem…will sale like hot cake and affect M’sian auto esp. P2 Myvi And with the Brio Sedan follow, well, P. S. FLX Saga will be a big challenge.

• Nasai on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Willing to pay only if it’s priced between Proton Saga’s and Perodua Myvi’s price. But doubt it will priced that cheap. Probably RM70k for a premium 1.2 A-segment Honda.
    Then this Brio will replace Honda City’s title of ‘The Cheapest Honda Vehicle in Malaysia’

• zaman on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:20 pm

ugly, i hate this…

• insperut on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:10 am

i don’t understand why 1 reader did not agree its ugly :P

• taboogen on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:47 am

even honda put their badge on tata nano malaysian still will buy it lah.. dun worry

• i’d rather walk

• For me, if the price set around RM60k, then it may under consideration..

• wolfsburg on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:23 pm

RM60-70k

• ABTguy on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Should be slightly premium than MYVI top specs car, but should not be more expensive than Alza, else no market.

• XeusZabraska on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:32 pm

With its look & all..it should carry the same price tag as Suzuki Alto

• huiyoo on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:35 pm

if the price same like i10, i’ll buy

• donadoni on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:38 pm

what a rip-off! honda city grade e is at 84k? then this brio is gonna sell at 65k-75k i guess. i’m gonna migrate to somalia soon. pfft

• Griffin on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Nobody’s stopping you. I heard Somalia got great food there.

• acura wannabe on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:40 pm

In Indonesia, the Honda City is an overpriced bug compared to Malaysian market!!!

• insperut on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:39 pm

great!
    another honda’s new product update campaign!!!

lol

• It could hardly sell, unless it is equipped with full specs and techs. Let me guess the price would be around RM 60K .Will it comes with 5 speed auto with paddle shifters, ABS,EBD,BA, VSA, front airbag with side airbags, auto air conditioner, auto headlights , auto wiper, HAC, DHAC, and etc.. . ? Definitely NO. Later we will even hear Update Campaign AKA RECALL for this model again. Sorry no HONDA anymore unless they are capable of being the one like their Korean or European counterparts .

• nighttrain on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:42 pm

price? whatever price they’re selling in Thailand, you just add RM20k to it. That’s about 64k.. ridiculously pornographic profit.

• VoidDance on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:53 pm

I’ve seen this car on flat bed a few months back near Kamunting. I don’t have any camera to snap the picture. It was on the way to Penang. It did not have any taping at all and since I’m color blind, I’m going to say the color of the car was Gold (you know, the same color as the launch one).

• takin on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:02 pm

GILA! 1.2 for 85k ?
    since it is a Honda brand..
    i would only pay 55-60k!

• good as a mini hearse….

• Jack Leong on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:20 pm

It’s super fugly @.@

• BN=barang naik on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:22 pm

I’ll pay 50k max!..more than that is just not worth it for this ugly car!

• correction, 85k should be City S, not City E

btw if this car is priced at rm40 – 50k, i believe many would rather buy this than myvi/saga

• Bob Vettel on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Only a fool would buy an A-segment small car over a B-segment car just because of the badge.

But then again, typical Malaysians have been proven me wrong before.

• willpower on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:01 pm

True, Malaysian even readly to fork out in excess of RM108,000 for the basic version of 1.4 Polo..so no surprise that Malaysian ready and lovely to pay higher for this fugly car…

• ABTguy on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:55 am

Govt will not allow Honda to sell at MYVI price, be relistic this is Malaysia. The Boleh land for Govt, not ppl.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:46 am

RM40k for a Proton Savvy-sized Honda car? Yes it can be… in our dreams of course. That’s the real rakyat’s Power of Dreams, as there’s no way the government will allow that to happen.

• if 30k I will buy … shit p2 and p1

• 39k for manual , so 39+20=59k , gov eat you kao kao

• bien335 on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:48 pm

not more than 60k of my hard earnt kepala agong.

• yeah..uglier than naza sutera

• seperlinky on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Not paying a single cent for it ;)

• Horrible lolx

• Unforgiven on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:27 pm

If the price is below RM55k, then I believe it’ll eat into the share of Myvi SE, i10 and Alto…

Go go go… must come!

• ericmaxman on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:30 pm

The people who will buy this are the same ones who thinks the Honda Freed is actually a nice looking car.

• sam witwicky on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:41 pm

tubik! i dont want this….

• Maserati on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:41 pm

This is gonna sell between RM 60k-70k

And its gonna be one hell of a hot cake…Still want to think about i10? Forget about that piece of junk and get this!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Hmm last i heard Hyundai i10 was rank the best budget supermini by Autocar, Britains oldest car magazine http://www.autocar.co.uk/hyundai/i10/.

It was also ironice that they did not have something called Honda Brio there. Come one get a grip, the Honda should be good, but the Hyundai is no junk, just as good.

• PakAbu on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:18 am

The Brio was designed/built for “emerging” economies like ASEAN, India and China. The i10’s target is more global, to cater even Europe. It’s probably safe to say that the i10 is better designed/built because of this. But it does not have the brand name to satisfy the badge snobs.

With a “Honda” badge, and the “right” price, the Brio can sell more here, even *if* it’s worse than the i10. Or MyVi. Or even Viva.

• This is also another junk just like Suzuki Alto..

• MoFaz on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:30 am

Maserati is Honda salesman maa.. he’s active in Honda topics, praising Honda as godsend when Honda is doing product update aka “recall” to almost a million cars world wide due to faulty / hazardous power window switch and under-spec rubber hose.

• loveit on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:43 pm

honda worshipper will buy this shit for sure…honda maa resale value high

• insperut on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:44 am

… and thinks korean/malaysian cars are just piece of crap… :D

• paparazi on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:47 pm

if price below 60K below could be consider…
    just forget the design.

• jpteo on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:49 pm

60k++

• jackson on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Dont people get it. The high price of cars in malaysia is not so much the govt forcing them bcos of taxes,duty but more of the brands pricing it that way. If can fleece ‘unsuspecting’ malaysians, why should they stop? More profit for their companies.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Not sure about honda but a salesmen from Mercedes once showed me the dealer invoicing of a brand new CBU B-class. Cost to import from Germany RM75k, GOVERNMENT SALES TAX (pls read this properly) RM125k, dealer markup RM 15k (don’t come and tell me dealers are going to sell at cost price), total price is RM215k. So if you think the tax doesn’t dictate the price please use common sense and think again.

• MoFaz on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:16 am

try compare that german CBU car with Thai price. Malaysia price is far cheaper than Thai. here are some other example:

Hyundai Tucson: RM139k in MY, RM177k in Thai
        Hyundai Sonata 2.0: RM136-144k in MY, RM153-178k in Thai
        Jaguar XF: RM488k in MY, RM616 in Thai
        BMW 730Li: RM648k in MY, RM727k in Thai

and, people always forget that due to our small market size, they usually put higher profit margin per each car compared to bigger market such as US and China. Open Market Value (OMV) for B-Class as listed in SG custom is about RM60k, but do you get that price in Langkawi even without ANY TAX at all? OMV for Vios E Auto is about RM28k, but Toyota sold it RM60k in Langkawi!

• yalah yalah.. for you Malaysia everything is better and perfect than other country…

Majulah Malaysia!

• insperut on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:40 am

people will like it IF
      – design is brilliant
      – specs are good
      – great quality

even the price is sky high… (its a HONDA maaa)

• Type F on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Shitty design surely with premium price tag around rm60k++

• Simon Sez on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Not more than 55k seems realistic. the back window reminds me the old civic mayat.

• DtG4207 on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:51 pm

If Hyundai and Suzuki can price the i10 and the Alto below 60k, Honda should be able to follow suit. Please stop extorting Malaysians of their money already…

• speedyyoko on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:03 pm

if honda malaysia selling this BRIO around 50-60k then BYE BYE MYVi…lagi best!

• J@CK LIM on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:50 pm

I thought it was eco- car, cant exempt from taxes? Huh!?
    If same price with Myvi, Myvi~ U’re OUT!

• twskola on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:03 pm

this is the size of a freakin viva and the wheels are so tiny it scared me compare with saga flx or myvi for 60k its like paying another 10k or more for nothing….

• the same concept on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:14 pm

new myvi = frog……
    new brio also = frog…..

the different is.. one like ori frog, one like the crazy frog….weeeee

• Jimmy on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Upto 20% higher than standard spec i10; Brio most likely will be basic spec.

• carlito on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:31 pm

i think this must be the work of honda’s competitor trying to embarrass honda by showing this monstrosity! and i thought the freed was ugly. honda you have outdone yourself.

• deftones on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:01 am

hope some accessories shop will imitate the rear lamp to a better led design.. this rear lamp is too cheapskate..

waja’s led lamp looks very2 nice

• Car Driver on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:33 am

Real small car. Expensive if above 55K. Honda may ‘recall’ after 5 years.

• Sorry but i’ll choose the lagi best Myvi!looks better!

• drMpower on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:51 am

they screwed up big time with civic n jazz pricing last time
    i hope they learn on that and anything more than 60k it would be a disaster

• karthil on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:21 am

I am sure its going 2b less than 50K…Its 5,00,000 INR and 399990 Thai bhat…

• T4VR-Ralph on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:40 am

50 grand at most

• samkhairul on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:16 am

pls recall honda civic 1.8 2010 as well….it seem that got unusual sound from engine and as well as gearbox

• rulered on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:39 am

While the Japs go on full force to exploit the relatively ‘new’ market in Asian region establishing themselfs earlier as ‘cheaper’, and more ‘reliable’ cars, the contis are sleeping and loose out, just like in Malaysia.

• beatnik on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:46 am

no lar.. contis are not sleeping.. must thank malaysian tax & duty structure for the skyrocket price of conti cars.. else polo 1.2tsi will be affordable as well..

• Redrules on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Agreed, I guess contis don’t like to sacrifice their specs as much as the Japs when their cars are marketed here.

• bclk_jax on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:23 am

better than proton savvy…(^_^)

• Honda positioning their cars a premium brand… remember , Freed??? hahahaha!! dont expect it would be less than 70k… people will still flock to buy HOnda….

• buskerhatesTnH on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:46 am

sori my fren, this honda… ‘gigit orang’…. the price will be 70k and above…

it will lawan swift punya harga…

• its doesn’t look nice but if they price it right it will sell. After all if its price the same with myvi i’ll choose the honda for sure

• The entry-level Brio Model S manual transmission is priced at 399,900 Baht (RM40,300) Manual transmission version of the V is priced at 469,500 Baht (RM47,300)
    Model V CVT transmission variant is priced at 508,500 Baht (RM51,235)

It will harm to perodua (Viva1.0 and Myvi) and proton as well (Saga and Savvy) market

My six sense says (Damn Gov.)

Brio Model S manual transmission = RM62,000.00
    Brio Model V manual transmission = RM68,000.00
    Brio Model V CVT transmission = RM72,000.00

We must change our goverment so we can afford a good and safety cars.

• bobdbilder on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:32 am

Hehe

How about increasing your competency set and get a better paid job? It seems so much easier and achievable.

• Go and check ratio car price and their salary. Please NOT compare with Indonesia, Timor leste or Singapore. Compare with same GDP, Country size and their population.

If you feel so proud can buy BMW 7 Series, think again. With same price, you can buy Porsche already.

Plus, not everybody can get same situation. Same degree but different level salary. Some don’t have “Cable” working just like others. Some have big “Cable” that richer than you and become your “Boss” only with SPM.

Moron.

• Khoikoi on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Porsche? Which model?

• tiadaid on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:17 pm

To compare apple to apple, then you also have to take into account loan period as well. Can you get 9 years loan in the UK or America, where cars are “cheap”?

Furthermore, you really can’t compare UK market or American market with Malaysian market, because in both those markets, the options available for the cars are such that it will able to bring the price down. Take for example VW Golf in America. It costs 235 bucks to install mudguards, whereas we’ve come to expect mudguards as standard accessories. So too are the rear power windows, in Malaysia if a car doesn’t have rear power windows we would scream & shout, yet in the UK rear power windows are an option!

So, to be honest, when talking about car prices, we really need to see the whole picture. Bash me all you want, but you can’t escape the truth.

• PakAbu on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:06 am

That’s too high …. over 40% – 50% more. Maybe 20% more realistic…

RM 48k, 57k & 61.5k …

We can always dream, can’t we? And sometimes, dreams do come true. :mrgreen:

• RM48k? This will totally doom the Myvi.
        No way gov will approve.

RM48k…. Maybe i will buy…as second car… haha

Well all can dreaming, just choose right gov…..

• If all these prices reduce RM7K, then it would be reasonable.

• akuGunaRon95 on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:12 am

what a design… if malaysian car maker design car like this sure kena kutuk…. Japan design takpe… WTF

• MOHA774 on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:13 am

..they are shooting the commercial for this car today, in Sg. Penchala area…and maybe they were heading north for the same reason too…

• Leonardo on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:46 am

For a 1.2 liter car, RM55K max, regardless of the brand.

• hexagon on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:01 am

its honda who set the price high or our Gov tax are sky high and jerk up the price like hell??

• MoFaz on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:54 am

people always forget that due to our small market size, they usually put higher profit margin per each car compared to bigger market such as US and China. Open Market Value (OMV) for Merc B-Class as listed in SG custom is about RM60k, but do you get that price in Langkawi even without ANY TAX at all? OMV for Vios E Auto is about RM28k, but Toyota sold it RM60k in Langkawi!

• hexagon on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:56 pm

means, those seller themselves set higher prices? wow… pity us malaysian..

• Izhar on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:05 am

1.2L..bwk dekat2 ok lah kot..wat pegi balik keje…

• Expatriate VN on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:47 am

There are too many price guessing here! The best indicators in this crap-NAP takda telor protect P1/P2 is likely the Brio will be price higher than P1 shitty Saga and P2 tissue box butt-less MyVi. So fair to say expected Brio to be priced above RM 60K.

Shame on you bodohland gov, never take care of consumers rakyat but look after P1, cronies vendors and AP King only.

• Georgie on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Hello. Welcome to “Bodohland”! I’m sure a citizen of “Bodohland” such as yourself is considered “Bodoh”, so as your parents, families and relatives.

So far Hyundai i10 & Kia Picanto is priced competitively (just a slight premium) compared to the P1 & P2 cars, yet you don’t see that stopping people from buying other brands. It’s up to the people’s choice.

• Wisdom on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:12 am

Being rational, with our auto industry culture, it would be sold as much as 70k.

• Unforgiven on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:17 am

If the Myvi badge is the original Toyota, then Toyota may still win…

If the badge is Myvi vs Honda, then Honda may win…

But still it’s 1.2 vs 1.3, so 1.3 may win…

Honda Brio will price it cheaper than Myvi, when one day we get to use the original badge of Toyota/Daihatsu… may need to change the history of year 1985…

Honda is supposed to be cheaper than Toyota anyway….

• Flat Black Fiesta on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Myvi still win la bro….
      dari perlis sampai ke sabah dari bandar hingga ke rural area we can see more myvi maa…
      trust me i hate auto 4 speed! better buy saga flx..but i still like my fiesta!rare woo…
      err…any news about VW polo?
      or ford focus? or zoom zoom ?

• 1.3 vs 1.2? depend on your pedal maa…..

• Unforgiven on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:34 am

Let’s bring in Toyota Etios Liva and price it below RM55k…

• I would deliberately crash into the back of this car for fun..really hate the way it looks..haha

• beatnik on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:43 am

RM60k to 70k at most.. whether we like it or not..

those who is planning to get myvi lagi tak best may stretch a few dollars to get this (just because it is honda).
    those who wants a new ‘cheap’ (but not cheap) honda will also consider this.

• sam witwicky on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:43 pm

meh…ford fiesta is da best..sold in worlwide…but i dont like SDAC :(
      imagine ford fiesta with flat black colours…stylo and rare!
      anyway honda can bring this brio into our shore…cos bored of mayvi…haha!

• mansory on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:07 pm

likely to be sell around RM70k for its premium badge, Honda.

• bchia on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:57 pm

it might get recalled

• it is ok recall. Proofing that their services is good. Proton? Hmm…. just once if i am not mistaken. Proton lots of problems still no recall. Stupid brand.

• Rosmah on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Just like flying AA, not only you fly cheap, they make sure you feel cheap as well.

• zaifman on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Looks like paultan is full of Korean fanboys. Denouncing every Japanese model, this is a budget model that’s why it may look cheap. But thanks to the “punishment”, it will be priced exorbitantly.

• LauYiaChia on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Showed this website to my other half…Arghhhh, she said “BUY !!!”

• if (and only if) the price under rm55k, it will sell like hot cakes..myvi sales will doom.

• hmm i guess since its CBU.. rm 70k?