Japanese companies set to move big into ASEAN

Japanese companies set to move big into ASEANSoutheast Asia is looking set to be a hive of activity, what with a host of small and midsize Japanese companies planning to move into industrial complexes in the region within the next three years, according to a report.

The Nikkei says that no less than 350 such firms are looking to make their way into the region, and on the automotive front the list is led by Toyota, which is building a second assembly plant in Indonesia it will share with Daihatsu; the latter is also opening a R&D centre there. Suzuki is also another company expanding into the Indonesian market, with a new engine plant set to begin operations next March.

All this has led to a rush to put up industrial complexes with the infrastructure to support the planned influx. Autopart suppliers Futaba Industrial and Shiroki Corporation are among the 60 or so Japanese firms set to open production facilities next spring in the Greenland International Industrial Center in the suburbs of Jakarta.

Its owners are now in the midst to expand the industrial park from the current 400 hectares to 1,300 hectares, aiming to make it the largest in the country, the report states. Elsewhere, Toyota Tsusho has bought 15 hectares at another industrial complex in the suburbs of Jakarta, and about a dozen other Toyota group parts makers are looking at opening up operations there.

Elsewhere, the likes of general intrading concern Itochu Corporation plan to lease production facilities in Indonesia by next year, while Japanese giant Sumitomo Corporation is set to do the same in Vietnam, beginning next May. Amidst all this planned movement, there’s very little mention of Malaysia in it all, so the question must be, where do we stand in the grand scheme of things?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on Sep 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

We’re the target consumers… Since we’ve been happily paying for overpriced cars

• inspirasi on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:35 am

gomen: lu tak ada suka, lu keluar la.

ppl : lu keluar sekarang jugak after GE14.

• Merc=Real Euro on Sep 19, 2011 at 1:29 pm

where do we stand?….. as usual no where !!!!…

• I think after the Japanese earthquake they don’t want to take their chances anymore. Plus the cost-cutting benefits as well. 

• stephen on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:19 pm

but indonesia have earthquake and volcanoes…. of course now everyone is praising it to be more open than Malaysia.

not being negative but this might happen….Malaysia export all their brain (engineer with automotive/ mechanical engineering knowledge) to Indonesia and Vietnam….vice versa, Malaysia import House maid and Construction worker from both country.

That will be sad. Hopefully Proton and Mitsubishi deal do have more than what we know now

• squawk on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:20 am

This may not be anything but a bunch of Indonesians (incl. maids and labourers) have told me they’d rather go back home to find work.

• kaminski on Sep 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

“Amidst all this planned movement, there’s very little mention of Malaysia in the scheme of things, so the question must be, where do we stand in the grand scheme of things?”
    One could call it a lost opportunity, maybe its about time that the national auto policy is seriously reviewed and amended or is it already to late for that? Its not just automakers who are bypassing Malaysia, what about heavy equipment manufacturers?

• Never heard of sacrifice whole forest for 1 tree? That’s how we do business here.. ptui..

Go vote for the sake of scaring the shit out of “them”. Make them contribute more to the country and not to themselves.

• stephen on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Everyone is happy Malaysia EMS company get blackberry made in MAlaysia…while indonesia press is not happy with it….. now they can say…nevermind.

• DarkAvenger on Sep 20, 2011 at 11:16 am

But blackberry is a piece of shitz going downhill….it’s market has been totally eroded by Apple in the Corporate market….last time the bosses use Blackberry….now.directors wants iPhone and iPad…not blackberry and playbook…on the consumer market, Android is dominating.

Maybe they still have market in Indo and other countries, but probably not for long.

Again, total loss for us due to our corrupted goverment with their syiok sendiri policies.

• They see Proton so good, scare to compete over here muh (sarcasm).

:P

Jokes aside, really pitiful coz it’s all thanks to the NAP or what so ever left of it.

• Stuck with P1 =.=

• satekj38 on Sep 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Thanks to our national automotive protection system, we are loosing all this investment to our neighbours, not to mention the benefits of the technologies & economy impact…

• dont worry..whenever our production worker ready to work with rm 400~500/ month, these japanese company will come set up their factory here..its about reduce cost dude..

• BeemerFreak on Sep 19, 2011 at 10:53 pm

i doubt so dude, it is about the market for the vehicles. Those listed countries has no competitive disadvantage set by a national car company and furthermore with a population of 80 million by thailand and over 200 million by indonesia, we are too small a market for invesment when local take up rate is only 100 000 cars a year for toyota while indonesia buys more than a million

• kolejeon on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:35 am

agreed. we are just too small. To become the automotive hub like Thailand we need at least 50 mil population. The automakers will still don’t invest here if there are no Proton and NAP.

• lonelyobserve on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Not only NAP that forces Japanese automobile makers to set up plants here for production hub, other policies also become resistances for Japansese to invest here.

• Ash Menon on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:15 pm

There’s no longer a point in questioning where Malaysia stands in the ASEAN automobile industry context. We’ve effectively shot ourselves in the foot with our policies and are now paying for it.

• we have enjoyed massive influx of foreign investments for past decades so our capacity to absorb new investment must have been saturated in terms of land and workforce. it makes more economical sense for these companies to invest somewhere else. though I hate to see these opportunities slip away from our home but i believe we still have other industry we can depend on such as green energy, ICT etc.

• not a car enthusiast on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:48 am

A sensible post here. We want quality investmets, not just any investment. Second, third tier automotive vendors are just manufacturers and fabricators. All they can offer is job opportunities. Nothing else. Not in manufacturing technology, not in product developmenf, not in branding, nothing.

These lowly jobs better go somewhere else than Malaysia. We do not want influx on Indonesians, Bangadeshis, Nepalese to come here, do we?

• kyoshooo on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Futaba= maker for RC Remote radio?

• Arashikage on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Lost….

• asgard on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm

indonesia experience what malaysia had during 1990s with many factory set up in very short time

• Well, Anthony. It’s a good question to a perennial THIRD WORLD mentality that Malaysia administrator is stuck with. Imagine a thing like ‘Malaysia was never a colony of Britain’? Even this thing was championed by the bone…what the screw got into some ppl heads?
    Fact is fact. Get on with life, for a change.
    I’m gonna be brave today and say this…the smug and proud will fall!
    After all, what pride is there in the first place, and how proud can it be called for something that is illusional? Maybe its a delusion!

• I could only comprehend “Fact is fact. Get on with life, for a change.” out of your whole paragraph.

You might need to do more clarification.

• Beh tahan on Sep 20, 2011 at 8:50 am

Well, that shows that is the only capability our government has. However, don’t blame the govt. as Malaysians actually voted them in ok! So let’s get on with our lives.As long as Mahathir is still alive and Proton is still yearning for its mama’s milk, don’t ever dream that Malaysia will be the destination of FDI especially from automakers.

• Tinkerer on Sep 19, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Of course there is very little mention of Malaysia. Not too long ago the rich suitors from Japan, Europe and US wanted to come to Malaysia but the local idiots jual mahal. And now already become janda tua who nobody wants.

• Malaysia's Biggest Rasuah Minister on Sep 19, 2011 at 3:15 pm

GOOD!!!! i can still make lots of money out of proton! so everybody support proton! dont buy other brand! belilah barangan malaysia

• Tubik Racer on Sep 19, 2011 at 3:40 pm

no thanks…

• Malaysia's Biggest Rasuah Minister on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:34 pm

why no bro? remember, rakyat (that means you!) didahulukan… we’re giving you cheap cheap cars with GOOD quality! and with lotus techonology some more!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 20, 2011 at 11:56 am

Haha SATU MALAYSIA, PENDAPATAN DIUTAMAKAN, RAKYAT DIKECUALIKAN.

• Hadi75 on Sep 19, 2011 at 3:43 pm

We stand and watch others bringing fdi and jobs to their country n people…then we buy what they make…

• greasemonkey on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm

WE bring ‘rubbish’ here in m’sia,(bangla,indon,african,myanmar etc),and we export all our best brain to s’pore,&other western country. That’s what our country does best.Always make a fool of themself and think we are fools!

• areos on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm

The cost of setting up factories in Malaysia comparatively high. Average wage per worker RM500 in Malaysia , RM150 in Thailand and RM90 in Indonesia. That doesnt take into account cost of land and other infrastructures. So if you formulate best of automotive policies will not necessarily attract auto companies to invest here. Other option left is to migrate there ramai-ramai. bye bye Malaysia.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:25 pm

“Amidst all this planned movement, there’s very little mention of Malaysia in it all, so the question must be, where do we stand in the grand scheme of things?”

– We are as good as jaguh kampong “deadwood” bypass by world class “green mountain”! Who want to entertain craptriotic NAP and vendors cronies plus AP Kings????

Shame on you bodohland and there are many idiots out there continue to be blind supporters of retard mind!

• I totally agree on u areos

• nadzri m yusof on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Toyota announced today it is building a USD 388 million plant in Indonesia for the ASEAN market.

What the heck, all ASEAN countries should boycott Toyotas from Indonesia.

They should insist Toyota assemble the cars in their respective countries.

Makes sense?

VS

-Indonesian government is planning to exact revenge on Research In Motion for setting up manufacturing operations in Malaysia by imposing additional tax on imported BlackBerry devices.
    -Possible reasons for RIM’s decision:
    1) availability of electronics suppliers
    2) consideration for production for markets beyond Indonesia: eg North and South Asia
    3) Malaysia’s long experience in electronics manufacturing
    4) Indonesia did not actively pursue RIM
    5) Highly competitive market (vs iPhones, Androids) means RIM does not have time or resources to nurture a pioneer manufacturing presence

• There is a reason why all those big companies rather set up factories in the Land of Tom Yam or Bakso… and I shall not mention why for the fear of being locked up under ISA… eh wait! ISA has been repealed right?? Who knows they might come up with another brand name?
    If our govt want to attract investment for the sake of being competitive and not solely because they want to pocket undertable money… we would have a lot of investment going on here in Malaysia. Red tape problem is still a very high problem in this country… even our very own Robert Kuok has moved its base to Hong Kong as he’s disappointed by the way his sugar business is handled in Malaysia. Think carefully… when Robert Kuok’s sugar business is going on here… our sugar price always remain stagnant (govt said wanna subsidise the rakyat). But when the govt bought over… read this… 20 sen increase (TWICE!!) with lame excuses given that the govt cannot afford to subsidise forever… duh!
    You want them to come in?? Abolish the stupid NEP and Automotive policy…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:47 pm

No point crying over milk that was spilled many years ago. Thailand and Indonesia are the preferred choices as ASEAN auto production hubs because our Ex Apa Nama Prime Minister wanted our National Carmaker to sell lousy, low quality cars at inflated prices to Malaysians. To do so, he made non-national cars so expensive by imposing punitive taxes so that the average income earner can’t possibly afford. Then he made no effort whatsoever to upgrade the public transportation system so that you and I need to buy a car which happens to be a Proton or a Perodua.

• MrDDR on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Good. We will have less indonesian robber

• tan ah kow on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Mahathir is the father of Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam and India automotive industry.

• HAW-LOONG on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:02 pm

We stand to be the most expensive labour & taxes compare to other country. Malaysia is no longer cheap labour manufacturing arm. We are now ahead of white collar business competing with Sinkapork.

• kamaji on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:50 pm

No surprise & wish to thks to all the wonderful policy.

• mizzuddin on Sep 19, 2011 at 6:38 pm

we should CKD more for local and export market

• Masked Ryder on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Even without P1 those auto invester r not going to choose Canland, to much political involvement, redtape, 30%, long approval for documentation, expensive wages & end up getting indon & bangla workers, low population 28.5 + 2.5 millions only.

• squawk on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:29 am

The fact that our policies (even good ones) tend to change every time there’s a new person in charge doesn’t make it any friendlier to businesses either.

• Its just ecomomies of scale. Our economy are now no 4 in asean. Automotive market only 600k per year. Not enoguh senses to do it here

• RedBeanBun on Sep 19, 2011 at 10:21 pm

as long as the jap not agreed to:

1) do not use appointed part supplier
    2) do not give xx% of share to local “you-know-who” of the company

there is no way even those car manufacturer put up any factory/r&d center here.

who in the G cares about the blue collar workers? the eco-business built around those factories? (imagine how many mamak store can build around those factories)

what they care is about $$ to their pocket. Period. We are worst than 50+ years ago when we just indepandent where the PM is doing projects for the nation. Its now using the nations to do the project for ownself. Look at the LRT land acquiring. Its unbelievable. But the same philosophy applied to Protong, the whole nation need to suffer in order to do a Protong project.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Agreed. They use tax payers money to set up and manufacture proton, and at the end of the day make us pay money for it. All malaysians should have a free Proton each as a gratitude.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 20, 2011 at 12:08 pm

This is TDM grand scheme to dupe bodohland into believing that this is canland.

This is the grand get quick rich scheme (a.k.a skm cepat kaya) @ NAP design to enrich cronies vendors & AP kings!

However, it is very unfortunate there are many retard faithful blind supporters out there still hope of P1 “crap-improvement”! Willing to defend until the cow come home for this useless jaguh kampong “deadwood” by ignoring the world class “green mountains”.

• autojohndoe on Sep 20, 2011 at 6:49 pm

what if you were born as the crony?

sure you will not yapping like this… HAHA

• yup, soon we will be sending maids to work in Indonesia and I forsee our professionals would be fished to work there as well…what goes around comes around i guess..

• do v proud to hv “national” car? this is the price v hv to pay now!

• autojohndoe on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:26 am

the japanese just looking for other country to be occupied…

why want to occupied the same country twice?

haha

• nighttrain on Sep 20, 2011 at 12:41 pm

We can always build three more rare earth processing plants, with each plant contributing 3% to the GDP, that’s an O.M.F.G good thing. Undoubtly the local population will grow an extra eye or arm, but then, how else are we going to get by without some sacrifice, eh?

Who needs automotive FDI when we have full control of the rare earth global market? That’s a world champion right there, just like Nicole, hehe…

• ezracopters on Sep 20, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Dang…..

i see a whole lotta bitter-men here. People’s money la, hurting the nation la, hahaha. just like my school time, there were 30 pupils in a class, 3 of then always talking loud, complaining, messing around etc. nevermind the class, even the whole school can hear their antics. come the assembly time, everyone stand in the line handsomely, well like it or not, those 3 marginal freaks had to follow through as well.

the moral here is :
    1. talking loud, saying a lot, being the center of attention don’t make your words true and acceptable.
    2. still, even 1 vote count, instead of everyone else, u guys whose the 1 project 3rd world mentality by arguing the majority decision. wait for election la..
    3. think before u talk..don’t be a selfish by thinking only of your own self and certain community. e.g. the boss of Lion Group, company that almost die if not because of the gov pouring cash into their share during financial crisis, now threatening that they’re gonna move to Indon if the gov insist on tariffs on imports of hot-rolled coils and continue the Kedai Rakyat 1Malaysia programme coz the budget sundry shop was hurting other small retailers. man, how many the budget sundry shop exist in Malaysia?? what about the interests of our poor multi-racial community interest?? ni yg org ckp ni, from hero to zero!!

well, Jap move in big into ASEAN except us..my opinion is :
    1. our rules and regu. are there to protect our interest and the nation.
    2. Malaysian complain about PATI etc, these companies not gonna survive in Malaysia without these labour. Foreign labour (unskilled and semi-skilled) will come in abundance and adding more problem into our land.
    3. Malaysian always had a choice in career, we don’t have unemployment issues, with all those initiatives the gov provided, it is only up to us to grab the chance, if we keep thinking like a 3rd world peoples, them we’re ####.. . unlike them countries, instead of a hunger, we had an obese issues.
    4. even if Proton & Perodua dint exist, those Jap companies still wont come into Malaysia because they are business entity, not nation building aka gov corp. they will chose countries that offer them cheap labour, lowest tax, cost of operating, less technological transferring etc. this is the price we pay for dreaming and becoming develop nation. we’re rarely hear heavy-industries come invest in develop nation, usually it’s the other way around. but all above might be irreverent for certain companies if the country offer em big market. others industries still come into Malaysia coz we had what they need, especially affordable skilled labour and technology.
    5. With or without their investment, i believe Malaysian still retain their lifestyle, still can feed their family, had home and a car, invest a little etc. auto-industries didnt make up the majority GDI contribution of our nation, so think big..

p/s : i dont felt like being fooled by the gov, yes they set an order that make my dream car expensive..but i got it back by having lower interest, longer loan tenure, cheaper gas, cheaper part, cheaper maintenance, good road etc.. all of these i’ll enjoyed it as long as my car still moving, just because the bank set the rules 9 years max, doesn’t mean my car only last up to that year. heck, what do i care, the tax we spend always comes around in various form, public facilities etc. no matter PR @ BN who’ll won PRU 13. the circle will round the same. tax went into certain individual pocket, hahaha try be a politician @ gov officer..see how easy u do it urself.. thousand eyes watching, several law opposed you, covering few division, silencing a group of greedy pig as yours..and if still u can make it.. well not so long, bye bye easy life.

• Good that you are 1 of P1’s supplier. Happy for you. Clap clap…

• aaah poton supplier..itu quality tak boleh elok sikit ke?dah la mahal, product buat mcm cincai lagi mau cerita panjang..

• dey..who want to pay car for nine years if the ave msian can afford? we got children to support..not poton..everytime i see whole family on a capcai, i hate poton and p2 even more

• Unforgiven on Sep 20, 2011 at 3:17 pm

We have a lot of M’sian that’s very proud of driving a Proton.
    Very happy driving a Waja and whole family with 5 Proton cars.
    I noticed that mainly from those Proton treats at this forum.

BMW/Mercs/Japs cars are nothing to them, so I’m guessing all this Japs company going to neighboring countries also won’t bother them too much.
    As long as Proton is still here in M’sia.

Those people also do not mind ICT moving from M’sia to India/China.
    They are pure Proton supporter and G supporter, the fix mindset is there.
    Funny but it’s true.

• autojohndoe on Sep 20, 2011 at 5:16 pm

do you know how good Indian (India Indian) is good with ICT and computer programming?

they are… very… very good…

• MoFaz on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:10 am

i know u’re talking about me. you’re the one who became quiet once you can’t argue with concrete facts. ‘tin kosong’ are all like you, just know to make noise but empty brain. i think Merc is your dream car, u haven’t got it yet but your act here even more arrogant than some people who i know driving Merc.
      i’ve never said BMW or Merc is nothing, i just said not yet. but hey, I’ve got my ASB full to the max RM200k, 2 houses worth more than RM500k. if you don’t believe me come meet me and i’ll show you all that. Waja is good enough for me, so what’s the point buying Merc if at the end of the month you can only buy karipap to fill your stomach? I’ve put my priorities on different matters. car is not no 1.

• inspirasi on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:34 am

ASB only for loser like you

real man use their own money to buy other mutual fund.

• MoFaz on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:46 pm

1 thing at a time dude.. slowly la. if i try to catch everything, i might not catch anything. ASB is my safety net, and it’s proven very SAFE as well :)

• blue-traveler on Sep 20, 2011 at 4:48 pm

I was expecting tons of shots fire all over the place with this headline by the usual people from the gov’t support group. Didn’t expect to see their new ids shouting the same stuff.
    hey guys; Expatriate VN, BeemerFreak, RedBeanBun, no need to explain too many thing to “these’ bn supporters. Just read and enjoy it as a B movie, as all facts goes out the window. Like this guy, ezracopters, just shot him or herself in the foot by talking about Lion group. Sorry to bust your bubble, things ani’t so simple, ezracopters. FYI, it is all about 2 factions of umno guys fighting it out with Lion goup caught in it, for surpportin the old guard. Nothing so grand about you me or the people. And another free FYI for you, Lion like so many malaysia grown MNC, are looking to shift their base or set up a secondry one. Why? P-O-L-I-C-I-E-S. simple as that. Our policies to do businesss here suck big time and overlap each other. Company tax is too high compare to others around the pond. Now, why do you ask some high tech co still come? Tax incentive; or rather no tax, for them 1st 5 year, renewable. Look at PG, with the “new” Gov’t cutting all the red tape and overlapping policies, they have got US$12.5BILLION this 1st half of the year, in FDI. (which was not reported by our gov’t.) And b4 all you BN guys shoot me down by saying it is the work of the last gov’t. Eh, No can do, I was there and I know which are the ones sign by the past local gov’t. only 3 took off, the rest sink. these are new ones, just broke ground or just signed. More job for us, Money to my boss ear, bounies for me.
    However at the end of the day, I do hope that our Gov’t wakes up soon and get more Companies to invest in Malaysia. Car industries too. We need the money as a nation. the lion share of our budget is still surpported by P only, and it is always not a good idea just relay on 1 income only.

• Radzuan on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm

A BIG THANK YOU to MahatHIr for his visionary and spectacular leadership for steering our natioanl automotive policy. We are today a leading global auto player raking in billion of USD dollar in profits. Folks, are the above statement true or are being conned by this apanama mamak kutty? I leave this big questions for you fellow Malaysians to ponder.

• Klbloke on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:00 pm

What ezracopters said was funny.. Especially the cheaper gas and good road part! Look at how many times RON95 has been increased. The govt said before that they won’t be increasing this subsidized fuel but hey.. Now it’s 1.90 per liter. Good road is the funniest of all – everywhere I go, I have to watch out for the pothole.. I have already lost count on how many times I have to ketuk my rims.. Even changed new rims three times in the past 3 years.
    I believe that u r the only one happy to have 9 years loan.. Bro, you are buyin something that depreciates in time. 5 years is more than enough. Unless it’s property ok? We are already burden with 30 years taken for house..

• Masked Ryder on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:42 am

I would strongly advise Blue Traveler to look at Singapore who once part of us & see how far is the distance r we apart now, GDP, Currency, Quality of life, education. (Bare in mind they do not have oil, commodities nor national car like us.)
    Please too compare with South Korea who once poorer than us, n sending labourer to work in our country.
    No unemployment rate ? Tell that to those local U Grads.
    Singapore, Taiwan, South Korea wages r 4-5 X our, but we still see foreign invester set up more plant there, but less here, why ?
    15 yrs ago a fresh grads get RM 1.5 – 1.8 k / mth, a Manager RM 4-5 K / mth & a 2 storey terres hse cost RM 180-250k in KL, Today a fresh grads get RM 2 -2.5K /mth, a Mgr earn RM 5-6K/mth, a 2 storey terres hse cost RM 600K easily, so our net income & purchasing power have actually srunked.
    How’s that for a thinker.

• AutoMan on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:38 am

Dont think they will want to come to Malaysia in a big way since our auto industry is protected and giving the huge market like Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam we will likely lose out to them. Malaysia is no longer “cheap” destination to have labor intensive industry here where are we going to find the “cheap” labor ? There are already more than 2 million foreign labor here ! Malaysia should go for other investment rather than labor intensive industry. Let the others produce the auto and let us buy cheaper cars which help the rakyat more.

• mizzuddin on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:37 am

i just don’t want to hurt the P1 engineers no more… hence no more blind bashing…

• It is ok for our neighbours to get investments from Japan. We have too many illegal workers already. When our neighbours are richer they could buy our other manufactured goods. China and Singapore buy a lot of our high quality goods. There would be more inter ASEAN trade.