Citroen DS4 at Brooklands Sungai Besi – launching soon?

Reader Theyson snapped some pics of this Citroen DS4 at Brooklands Motors’ Sungai Besi HQ in KL. We can’t confirm, but according to him, this sole unit is brought in for JPJ testing purposes, which could mean that Brooklands is looking to introduce this model in Malaysia soon?

Unveiled at Paris 2010, the DS4 is the second model in Citroen’s DS range after the DS3. It is based on the Citroen C4, but with difference is styling as well as a higher grade interior. It’s available with a choice of five engines in Europe – two HDi diesels and three petrol engines. The most powerful of the latter is a 200 hp THP, joined by a THP 155 and a VTi 120. All three are variants of the 1.6-litre BMW-PSA Prince engine that also feature in Peugeots and MINIs.

But while sister brand Peugeot mates the engines with a six-speed automatic, Citroen prefers its EGS transmission, which is an AMT-style automated clutch manual. The good old stick shift is the preferred choice in Europe.

With the path opened by Peugeot and VW, there has never been a better time than now to bring in European hatchbacks. The DS4 won’t have the backing of a huge support network, but the few who buy it will surely stand out in a sea of 308s and Golfs.

Read all about the DS4 and view the official gallery here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Oct 10, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Conti makes r making its way back to our shores ….. good to see those nice cars coming in…

Opel, when can you come here? Insignia & Vectra ……. i liked so much

• K-Man on Oct 10, 2011 at 5:03 pm

gm’s brand policy is where there is chevy, there will not be opel… with the exception of singapore. hv no idea why. forgot to ask the last time i had the chance.

• blackjkx on Oct 11, 2011 at 11:09 am

after this, get yourself used with why why analysis

• K-Man on Oct 11, 2011 at 5:28 pm

sorry, what i meant was why singapore was allowed to have both brands in competition. i understand the avoidance of a chevy/opel fight in the market.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm

if gm gave us opel instead of chevrolet more sales could have been made….

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Not entirely true. Germany has Opel and Chevrolet, with Chevrolet mostly being rebranded Daewoos.

Also the Vectra is history, it was replaced by the Insignia.

• It’s quite good looking car!

• looking-good on Oct 10, 2011 at 9:21 pm

does this car jerk, and lost power like the 308 Turbo too?

thumbs up for those who know the pain of being a 308T owner!!

• wow.. DS4 in white.. so sexy!!!

• jalan54 on Oct 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm

I think the price of the car will be expensive like hell.

• treblecase on Oct 11, 2011 at 4:10 pm

actually if you believe in heaven/hell..hell is quite cheap to go to. :P

• Jaybond on Oct 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm

This should be launched together with the DS3.

• nice car! i want 1, if the price is reasonable

• nice car!

• aha..here come da French revolution…….

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 10, 2011 at 4:55 pm

bolehlah.as usual, too pricey for malaysian after tax, unless ur a politician. as usual lah.

• peyno on Oct 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

lol

• In Malaysia, the tax for the hatchbacks is higher than saloons.

• Simon Ng on Oct 10, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Borther I hear you. But KL has more and more European cars. This means there is a market for this kind of cars. Except that we are just not part of the market.

On the bright side, no need to worry about car jacks, car theft or expensive car parts.

• the 200hp version should be priced around the same as the Golf GTI. The GTI may be more capable but this one looks so much more striking!

• nice car….but citroen distributor in Msia….they refer them as Berukland.and the sungai besi showroom is the sole show room in whole of msia

• stupid BM, not everyone think as low grade as you

• Great car but lousy distributor. Their presence is almost non existent in Malaysia.

The Citroen brand in Malaysia has gone to oblivion since Directional days. Still remember what a great car the ZX was.

• Syafz on Oct 10, 2011 at 6:08 pm

wow! nice car!

• Looks fabulous! Pricing shud be lightly slightly higher than the pug308ti. One funny item tho, the back windows can’t be rolled down.

• The Enthusiast on Oct 10, 2011 at 8:44 pm

OMG! OMG! OMG!

• intermilan on Oct 10, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Brooklands are doing the brand a justice and more importantly, giving themselves a potent fighting chances by bringing in the DS4.

Lovely lovely car.

One of the critical issue is that the petrol engine only come with the EGS semi-auto gearbox.Heard it is rather clunky and thus not a silky-smooth operator, but not sure about this in DS4. Have to test drive first .. to be fair.

Manual gearbox should be sweet but sales won’t be there. If only it comes with the Aisin 6-speed auto gearbox.. (like 308T.. sure good for sales).

Most likely than not, it is to be priced quite high, out of reach.
    Hopefully, they won’t do this. Better have this sold in big numbers to rejuvenate the brand. Imagine Citroen sell 40-50 units per month. Currently, that’s just impossible.

Brooklands have a life saver / get out of jail card in hand now…. they just need to price it right to get the sales going.

Which variants do they bring? Petrol obviously.. So THP200, THP155 or VTi120?

From the above pictures, those should be the DStyle variant, which only come with THP155 or VTi120 engine.

THP200 reserved for DSport trim levels. THP200 only comes with 6-speed manual. Yummy.

Back to DStyle..

DStyle with VTi120 only come with 5-speed manual. So highly unlikely Brooklands would go for that.
    Choosing the THP155 is the only viable choice, as only this can be specified with a non-manual gearbox, i.e. the EGS semi-auto gearbox.

Possible colours: Pearl White, Babylon Red (like 308T), Hickory Brown, Nera Black and a few others usual suspects (silver /grey).

Possible interior trims: 4 different leather + 1 leather/cloth options.
    My vote goes to Mistral & Red ‘Claudia’ (Black & Red) leather. Very sporty. Habana leather (brown) looks nice too. All of the leather options are very nice.
    Sporty semi-bucket seats too!

Other optional possible with DS Style are:
    1. Vision Pack (Xenon directional headlights + blind spot)
    2. Emyway Hi-Fi signature (Denon Hi-Fi, Sat Nav)
    3. Side rubbing strips with chrome insert
    4. Security signature (TPMS +blind spot)
    5. 18″ alloys

Standard spec is too long to type here. but expect the normal ones and more!

Can’t wait for the launch.

For your own good, price it right Brooklands.

• Gavin on Oct 10, 2011 at 9:55 pm

This car looks really cool and chic, i;ve seen a few on the road, Totally unique factor and sure to be a chick magnet

• contishallrule on Oct 10, 2011 at 10:44 pm

very easy on the eyes this car innit? certainly would liven up our roads and highways if this goes on sale!

cant help but notice…all the thumbsdown probably came from T/H salesman scared to bits over the “continvasion”!

-contishallrule-

• sammo on Oct 11, 2011 at 9:11 am

yeah baby! bring ds3 too

• Samurai Malaya on Oct 11, 2011 at 10:49 am

If only Citroen would have better sales & after sales support here…

• Danny, a typo? “With the path opened by Peugeot and VW, there has never been a better time than now to being [bring] in European hatchbacks”

• when is this AFTA thingy gonna be lifted????

• rally_fan on Oct 11, 2011 at 4:22 pm

i’ve sat in this car before. the interior is really sporty, unique and feels very high quality.

would be interesting to see if buyers can get past the brand image in Malaysia.

• the design remind me to Peugeot 3008.. Look like same.. with a facelift front n rear..

• ajzdr on Oct 12, 2011 at 1:24 pm

As a long term Citroenet, i hope Brookland would price the DS4 and DS 3 right….i heard in the UK the DS3 managed to lure first time Citroen car buyers in droves, the fact that the DS3 won the TopGear Car of the Year 2010 helps.

I wait with baited breath for the 200 hp DSport version……….

• intermilan on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:42 pm

It’s been almost 2 months and still no news of the DS4 launch….
    pricing will surely be on the high side, as with almost Citroen sold in M’sia.
    the semi-automatic gearbox might be the show stopper for the lovely DS4, apart from the price. things should improve if it comes with the 6-speed auto g/box as in 308 Turbo.

• ajdar on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

I have the DS4 thp 155..what a cracker!
      The EGS is superb, its a manual without the hassle of a clutch pedal and without the power loss of a fully auto.

The trick is to know when to lift off and depress during gear changes…..and i never drive in auto mode but use the paddle shifters instead to exploit the manual gearbox.

• Chris Teh on Mar 27, 2012 at 3:12 pm

I’m so proud to have chosen DS4 as my dream car !! Just got this “French Beauty” few days back and it’s the 1st in Malaysia. This car, I would say it’s mind boggling to have been a premium class,top notch quality from inside out yet with a reasonable price.
    I would personally recommend this car for those who want prestige and dynamism and not too much of practicality due to its constraint in the back space. Nonetheless, it has no problem sitting 3 comfortably. Go for a test drive and you will be dreaming of this “Goddess” ever since. By the way, DS means Goddess in French and it truely is.

• ajdar on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm

chris,

are you a Citroen first timer?
      if yes or no…congrats…i think the DS4 beat the socks off many cars costing much more in many aspects especially its looks and engineering….

• Chris on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Although I’m a 1st timer on the Citroen brand, I’ve no doubt of their technologies and many features offered by Citroen. Especially compared with Japanese models, I reckon! In fact, I booked this car even before I test drive and view the real car and only by basing on my Internet research and YouTube viewing. And I’m glad that my choice is spot on.