DRIVEN: Volkswagen Cross Touran 1.4 TSI – first drive

Finally, we come to the last of the Volkswagen trio – after the previous day spent going up in the Jetta and Passat, the return trip from Penang was made in the Cross Touran. The compact MPV sits on a PQ35 platform that the Golf Mk VI wears (the Jetta does too, but in modified form), but still offers seating for seven.

The RM166,888 vehicle, which is assembled in Wolfsburg, gets wider wheel arches and longer suspension springs than the standard Touran in its Cross form here, and the last means that it has 20 mm more ground clearance than the normal Touran. The Cross package also gives it Funplay 17-inch alloys in 6.5J front and 8J rear form, to accommodate the staggered 215/50 front and 235/45 rear tyres it wears.

It’s also equipped with a 1.4 TSI twincharger mill, though in this case in its 140 PS at 5,600 rpm and 220 Nm at 1,250 to 4,500 rpm output derivative form, a positioning choice made to keep fuel consumption low. Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h time of 9.8 seconds and a top speed of 193 km/h, as well as a combined fuel consumption of 7.1 litres per 100 km.

On the equipment list are bi-Xenon headlamps with dynamic bending lights and daytime running lights, an electronic panoramic tilt/slide glass sunroof, cruise control, ‘Fey’ fabric seats (in natural brown or anthracite options), a leather-covered three-spoke steering wheel, the same RCD 310 audio system as found in the Jetta, park distance control, Iridium decorative inserts for the dash and door panels as well as interior chrome trim, among others.

Like the other two, the Cross Touran comes with six airbags, as well as ABS, EBD, ESP, ASR and engine drag torque control (EDTC). And there are eleven colours to pick from for this one – eight metallic (Pepper Grey, Night Blue, Titanium Beige, Acapulco Blue, Reflex Silver, Silver Leaf, Toffee Brown and Wild Cherry Red), two pearl effect (Venetian Green and Deep Black) and a single solid shade, this being Candy White.

The company shouts it up that the vehicle offers plenty of interior comfort and convenience options, despite its size – there are 40 storage bins of all sorts to be found inside, and the Cross Touran offers up to 1,989 litres of cargo carrying space. Mention was made that there are 500 different possible configurations to be had with it in terms of folding, removing or tweaking the cabin layout. Which is a bit, really.

Certainly, there was more than enough space to carry a load of three people and a comprehensive amount of bags and kit. I was originally supposed to drive back to KL on my own, my drive partner having left earlier in the morning with another journo. The inclusion of the event cameraman and videographer as passengers meant that the Cross Touran made the return trip fairly filled up, with the rearmost seats folded to handle baggage duty.

Coming in from the sedans, the dashboard feels the most bare, but though the general presentation remains typical VW, all orderly and functional, the Cross Touran’s interior felt the breeziest – in this regard, the panoramic roof lends the cabin an airier and roomier feel and the suggestion that it was bigger than it was. For its intended role and its size, the presentation and functionality it offers scores high marks.

From a driving perspective, the 140 PS output from the 1.4 TSI mill – and 1,587 kg kerb weight – does take the edge of things somewhat, giving the Cross a more propulsive quality as opposed to it being tagged sprightly. Once you get going, it’s pretty capable of chugging along merrily, and there’s a decent spread of usable midband energy, but by and large this is very much a vehicle in which you ought to go along in unhurried fashion.

Which is where I can’t quite make out the suspension’s workings, or rather the intent. The Cross Touran is the firmest riding vehicle of the three. It’s not jarring, but firm enough for the rear passengers to feel a continuous attenuation at mid-level speeds, especially on poor roads, and for all occupants to discern that stiff is the operative word for this one at national highway speed limits is notable.

Certainly, the amplitude all but disappeared as the vehicle went faster along and, at the top end of the speed scale, is certainly very impressive. Barreling along at maximum speed for most of the second half of the drive, tagged behind the pace-setting Eos, the Cross’ poise and composure was downright exemplary, the vehicle planted and unwavering, even if the engine had effectively run out of puff short off the double century mark, as advertised.

Perhaps it has all been geared up to carry a full load of seven and a fair amount of baggage in mind without turning into a soggy sponge, especially when pushed, it could well be. Whatever it is though, if you decide to fit your entire litter into it and charge along at 160-180 km/h, this one will shuffle along happily without inducing any girly screams from your occupants, that much can be said. It’ll drink like a fish too, if you do so. Still, not many compact MPVs can do what this one does, if it’s such thrills that amuse you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• How does it compare to the S-Max and 5008? Please run a comparo on these 3.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:53 am

My money goes to the 5008. Just more comprehensive people carrier.

Vw does have better switch gear quality.

• 5008 pwned it with 2 LCD screen for back seater and a panaromic moon roof.

go for a test drive, and you wont ask for a comparo, unless you’re a keyboard warrior.

• But the Cross Touran also comes with a panaromic sunroof which, although not as impressive as the one in the 5008, can OPEN :D

The screens I can always add on after I buy the car. Not a big issue for me.

• Wirawan on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Vee….Try to integrate 2 separate LCD players and throw in 2 bluetooth headset + manufacturer warranty…you cant add that on…

Winner is 5008 hand down..

• chuakz on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:31 pm

s-max > cross touran….looks, practicality, power, handling….s-max wins…this VW just too expensive for the specs

• The Enthusiast on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:45 pm

You have to add another RM 20k though. But yeah, would rather go for an S-Max.

• Look carefully at the prices of both the Cross Touran and the S-Max. You’ll realise that the price differential is only around RM10k (assuming that the 60k km servicing thrown in by SDAC costs RM5k).

• Amustapha on Nov 04, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Sorry to say this..the rear looks ugly!

• The Enthusiast on Nov 04, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Spare the discretion. The whole car is ugly.

• kadajawi on Nov 20, 2011 at 4:08 pm

It is practical though, and ugly is a bit strong perhaps. The predecessor is a much better looking car.

• 9.8sec for 0-100kmh look quite ambitious for 1.6 tonne and 140ps? Ford Fiesta does 9.9sec with weight less than 1.2 tonne and 120ps . 11sec would be agreeable

• Since when was 0-100 times determined by power figures?

You should be looking at the torque figures.

• Masked ryder on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:34 pm

:-) :-D :-P
    I give up !

No Commments ! Terus Pengsan !!______

• Nurman on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:34 pm

paul, just want to clarify that this vw is a 1.4l engine 7-seater mpv? the kerb weight is1587kg and the gross is 2160kg. underpowered? how is it compared to other similar weight mpv? seems that the trend now is smaller cc engine which can churn more power and torque which i believe vw realy made it. it is just that ppl keep saying exora with 1.6l engine of kerb weight 1450kg is underpower because of 1.6l engine. this one is 1.4l engine which is even lower cc but with higher power. wikipedia stated that 1.6l turbocharged engine will produce 198PS and 220Nm tourque. you have driven both vw and p1 engine, same underpower? (minus the equipments and top speed). Thanks

• 1malaysia2020 on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:40 pm

I think given the small difference, the power to weight ratio for both Exora CPS and Touran 1.4 TSI should be nearly the same. If Exora is underpowered then Touran should be the same. But I think compare to CPS (150N.m @ 4500 rpm), the TSI give better power delivery across rpm range since its a twin turbo (210 N·m @ 1750–4000 rpm).

• rally_fan on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:44 am

most people also forget that 7 speed DSG gearbox.. that goes to help somewhat i believe.

• Mastermind on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:36 pm

wait Exora turbo version…..n than compare…1.6 proton turbo version engine vs Volks1.4Tsi engine
    1.either exora turbo breakthrough tecnology…..or outdated????
    2.Tork/PS/HP
    3.Fuel Consumption…
    4.Realibility…
    5.quality
    7.maintenance cost…

Technology : Malaysia vs German……

• Well in that case torque to weight 131.3nm(fiesta) n 138.6nm(touran), power to weight 102bhp(fiesta) n 87hp(touran). in this case torque has little effect on performance as horse power has biggest diferrent in term of weight. 10++sec should ok but not below 10sec mark. What a noob la u(vee)

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 05, 2011 at 7:49 am

B4 resorting to call someone a n00b, perhaps there are some other points u need to consider. Modern turbo charged engines make all thier torque way down the rpm range while to get power you.d got to rev the hell out of a naturally aspirated car.

Dont forget the vw has one cog up in its gearbox.

Torque is what shifts weight. Hp is just a calculated figure so blokes like you can understand and equate to.

Stop being a keyboard warrior and get out and drive these things.

• Pickup is determined by torque and top speed is determined by horsepower. It’s simple physics.

I think it is best that you stop typing now lest you embarass yourself even more.

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Is the front row centre armrest too low?

• All VW armrests can be adjusted for height. You probably caught it when it was on its lowest setting (which IS too low for most people).

• Victor on Nov 04, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Frankly I wasn’t impressed by it.

I felt the build quality was hard plastic.

My wife test drove it. I was the passenger.

She burst out laughing after 2 minutes. I asked why? She said “feels like our old Nabira except more powerful”.

I wished it had a separate A/C in the 3rd row. Nabira had one.

My 8 year old wants it – maybe because felt like the Nabira. LOL

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2011 at 7:33 pm

Did your wife kick down? The gas pedal is very uncle friendly… won’t make passengers feel sea sick with a driver who accelerates hard, lets go, accelerates hard, … all within 2 seconds. But when you kick down it does move properly.

• brlis23 on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:04 am

hideous!!! typical european car seen on european road! but the technology maybe the best in it’s class….

• kadajawi on Nov 20, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Europe has the prettier cars. Just look at all those hideous Vios and City etc. that are everywhere in Malaysia. They look totally outdated, probably because they are, even when new. (MyVi looks rather ok though, but I wouldn’t call it sporty. Some Protons too.) VW is rather conservative, that is true, but what about Ford, Opel, Merc, BMW, Seat, Volvo, …

• droll on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:20 am

one thing i can’t stand – when u’re sitting at the front the dashboard looks almost identical across all the VW cars. no identity lah.

if it does 0-100 in 9.8s, i wonder what the 0-100 times would be with a full load. afterall, people buy these vehicles to ferry a big family around.

• Norman on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Its a compact MPV 1.5 plus tons with lower boost turbo/supercharge engine what do you expect?6s?The force induction 40% is to haul the heavyweight without the need of using bigger cc engine..Go and read fact of automotive before even commenting..There is a reason why some turbo cars using CVT too..Doesnt meant its turbo you have to high revv it all the time to get monster power..If you want then buy the WRX or EVo

• nanashisan on Nov 05, 2011 at 1:25 am

im curious why the rear tyres are wider than front tyre??
    rwd??

• The rear makes it look like a van to me, and that common van white paint job is not helping either.

Even a higher riding MPV is stable at speeds of up to 200kph (which majority rarely drives such speed) is very impressive indeed. Could be due to the fact it was built in Germany.

Really interested to see how the CKD version compare with the CBUs. Please do a CKD vs CBU comparison when they start assembling it here!

• adrian on Nov 05, 2011 at 10:05 am

Cross Touran will be CBU all the while, no CKD version available. Jetta and Passat will start CKD on dec2012

• If the third row seats are up, both this and Perodua Alza….the luggage space is similar…yea yea I know different price range…but people buy MPV as a second car…who needs an expensive people mover with the luggage space of a cheaper one?? Brand concious people maybe

• rally_fan on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:48 am

its not just the different price range.. specs.. features.. technology..etc. etc. the list goes on for quite a long time

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Why would you buy a MPV as second car? I’m driving a MPV as my only car. Works well for me…

The Touran is in an entirely different league… it’s a MPV shaped German almost premium car… think BMW, Mercedes, Audi (not completely, but heading in that direction). The interior isn’t that good, but the tech is almost there.

• JeremyNg on Nov 05, 2011 at 2:40 am

Sorry that I don think the 2 VW look nice except Jetta ……… other 2 jz look _____ I think *weird* is the word to describe………

• fir@fird on Nov 05, 2011 at 8:57 am

Honda Freed Mugen is better looking with auto sliding door some more

• damn another one,4G63T DSM let compare with santa fe 2.2 diesel engine. santa fe give roughly massive 238.38nm torq/weight n all of the torque readily at 2000rpm and yet claim performance is 10.2sec. and dont even mention about power yet. as well as the size of the wheel. More radius the greater distance cover mean faster.Yes touran got 1 more gear but those gear is for overdrive function. 6th n 7th use to achieve 100kmh at 2000rpm. if u care 6th gear take on after approximate 200++kmh on max acceleration. so 7th gear meaningless for performance but economy good. So learn more u beginner. know little talk to much already

• Also if u mind compare yourself bmw 320i n hyundai tucson. bmw take 9.7sec and tucson 10.6sec. both almost have similar weight, both 6 speed,both have nearly same torque, both non turbo engine, how can bmw much more faster?

• Have you considered the different gearboxes used (some shift faster than others)? Most importantly, have you considered the shape of the car? The Tucson has a much higher CD than the 3-series.

• Dsg bro..that’s what makes all the difference
      The shifting speed of the dsg is super fast
      That’s one of the reasons the touran’s acceleration is faster

• well i not calculating only 4G63T DSM, i also understanding concept too. torque only cant make car faster but power needed as well. their is one top gear malaysia issue explaining about torque with james may in cartoon. Their is a question, what a car needed for acceleration power or torque? He answer that a car need both for good acceleration, which mean torque n power cant be separate. simply a car with low power but high torque didnt mean it has good acceleration n vise versa. For the extra gear in touran is not used for performane but efficiency meaning it didnt help for acceleration. 6th n 7th gear in dsg is for overdrive only

• Oh u mind how about comparison with bmw m3 n bmw 135i. both has 400nm where m3 produced torque high rpm while 135i across the rpm. Then why m3 is faster? both has 6 speed manual

• That’s because BMW cannot have the M3’s figures look poor against a mere 135i.

Do a bit of research and you will find tonnes of videos and test drives reporting that the 135i comes very, very close to the M3 in the performance stakes. M3 performance for 1/2 the price.

• Why must they bring a cross touran, can vw just bring in the normal touran instead? which can be sold at cheaper price. Make it the diesel preferably but if vw cannot take our diesel than bring in the normal touran wt both 1.2tsi and 1.4tsi option. More option = more sales = more ppl expose to vw,….which can bring more future sales when the owner need to trade up, they’ll buy the sharan for their expanding family.

Again, why the cross toucan…its low profile & big rim = stiff drive, not what most want from a ppl carrier!

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2011 at 7:40 pm

I agree. I don’t mind the Cross (except for the price tag), but those wheels are absolutely ridiculous. In Germany it rides on 185 or 195 15 inchers. Much more sensible, this one will bankrupt you when you have to change the tyres. And on those wheels it already feels relatively stiff (but not too stiff… a decent balance), the Malaysian one however is borderline murderous.

I doubt VW is allowed to sell the Touran for less than 160k though… to not hurt P1 and P2…

• ttooyyoottt on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:02 am

damn singapore get a sport touran 170 bhp TSI engine,,…. zzzzzzz

• 1.4 for a seven seater i still can’t accept … sorry i’m dinosaur

• hi t-rex, looks at the numbers….its torque is more or less same as the Japs normal aspirated 2.4liter (estima/alphard/grandis) and achieved from a low 1,500rpm onwards compared to those japs’s torque achieved at high rev above 3,000-4,000rpm.

Lower rev = better fc … ; )

• of course close, but m3 is still faster than 135i. even a bit, still it faster and need to mind m3 is more heavier than 135i. Look how horsepower also coming to play not just torque! also take a considering between evo x n m3. evo got 422nm(uk spec) n easily reachable than m3 then evo x still slower than m3. Think a while!

• Medic on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:50 am

U r retarded,missing the points.Torque is for acceleration,that’s y prime movers have high torque,but to maintain that high speed u need hp.Both are important in the general performance of a car.This is just a MPV…get a life!

• actually it looks decent. it has looks like the opel zafira/chevy nabira which is a good thing as those cars were also german designed and till today, those zafira/nabira still look good. maybe the interior is a bit boring but isn’t vw all about uniformity? meaning, one look fits all? it is after all their brand signature. those who like the zafira/nabira mpv will probably like this.

• JonLing on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:33 am

great writing, just that errr……i think the “dunno” in the last paragraph should be “don’t know” right?? “dunno” is not really a proper English word…….or even Malay word…..hehehehe…..

• cardreamer on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:45 am

Hi, been waiting for this one for years. At last i got myself a new wish..don’t know whether i should regret or not…anyone here want to give comparison between this VW Touran and new 2010 Wish?

Thanks.

• supersona on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:59 pm

tried Peug 5008, sempit.. would love to try this Cross to compare..

• cardreamer on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:43 am

yeap, also tried the pug5008. Like the engine but not the seat technicalities..too complicated and too cramp at the 3rd row..even the show unit has malfunction seats already!..love to try this one..if it is okay..then who wants my WISH 2010? haha..

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2011 at 7:42 pm

The seat stuff was rather simple in the 2009 Touran… I doubt they have worsened it. One person can easily remove and install the seats. :)

• moha774 on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Compared to normal turbo engine, TSI is a combination of Turbocharger and Supercharger to overcome turbo lag in turbo engine, so theoritically and practically, it is much faster off the line than turbo engine

• rally_fan on Nov 14, 2011 at 12:55 am

cant beat VW’s 5 year unlimited mileage warranty.. was quite surprised.. covers practically everything. and i dont work for them.. but thinking of getting a vw.. and did try this cross touran.. drives well, except for the slightly firmer ride as anthony mentioned. but acceleration is quite brisk.. feels a lot quicker than the advertised 10.2 secs actually. and that 7 spd dsg is to die for.

• cardreamer on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:28 am

Rally_fan, between the Touran and Wish, which has a firmer ride?..Thx.

• 7 spd dsg is to die for

Statement of the year,hahahahha…Yup, the dsg 7 always die one….

• kadajawi on Nov 20, 2011 at 4:07 pm

I drove a 6 speed manual Touran with I believe the 1.9 liter entry level diesel, to help a friend move, in Germany. We fully loaded the car with all sorts of stuff like a Sofa, bed, computer etc., it was really fully loaded (couldn’t see the rear window). Still rather easily did 180 in fifth, silly me forgot that there was another gear left. FC was rather low too, IIRC (maybe 7-8 liter). Handled nicely, even when fully loaded. The typical VW satnav/media center thing is good too, though I must say I slightly prefer the unit available for some Ford models.

• Zaki Amani on Jun 11, 2012 at 12:54 am

i just test drive Cross Touran, the response is good, it’s like similar to my Accord 2.4…but the shape is not encouraging compare to Japanese model,…ACR50.

• kak mah on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:05 am

the car itself is great, but no spare tyre.. biggest mistake of all.. imagined got ur tyre ripped off due to something sharp, etc.. how?

• The car is good but the price too expensive for 1.4 Rm:166k without insurance & other fee.in europe selling how much can know?

• firas on Nov 01, 2012 at 3:41 pm

proton is not a challenger 4 vw . vw has a big challenger like a bmw and mercs. :)

• i bought pre-own cross touran with great discounted.
    its super car then those recon japanese car mpv just the 3rd row seat cramp.

• Rahul on Dec 16, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Sum: how much is your pre-own vw cross touran? 5 years warranty plus service? Mileage? Year? Which 3S? Thanks

• granpa on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:38 pm

huh…! terpikat! love it..! body, pattern, cutting…totally garang… insyAllah akan dapat hujung tahun ni..

• rahul,

got 27k discount, the car condition not perfect, but its easy to rectifie. no regret.

• Sum, could u let us know, your model is 2011 or 2012? and what is the different btw 2011 n 2012 model. hope to get ur respond

• hi all,
    my CT is 2011 model , recalled for mechatronic unit replacement. and later change new clutch too.
    now driving like flying carpet.

• Edwin Ho on Sep 01, 2013 at 11:14 pm

I am thinking to upgrade my sedan car to MPV due to family members has incresing.
    Madza 5 or VW CT, looking for 2~3 years used car…new car is out of my budget.

• hiedwin ho,
      go to show room test drive and nego with the sales agent, you may get good price on pre-own better then used car with discount that you can not believe.

• CT Owner on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:43 am

I am a CT 2012 owner, previously was considering between CT and recon Toyota Wish. Once i hv tested both cars, Wish was out of the list. Performance and reliability hv outwitted the Japanese Car.

Recently my CT hv a serious breakdown due to the engine pistons. The car will jerk when u switch to N,when accelerate it won’t speed up and the EPC signal keeps Alerting. I saw a post on FB that the VW owner suffered the same. Left there for a month to wait for the parts from oversea. Luckily its still under warranty but i still hv to fork out 600++ for the service.

For new owner, pls do aware of these issues and the gear box as well. Found out its a very common failure for all the models with DSG’s engine.

• stsum on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:22 am

CT owner,
    indeed, if CT free from the brake down ,its’ a perfect car.

• stsum on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:35 am

We call this first class customer service, why offer only to America and China, you think Malaysian don’t deserve the same, or you think we are merely a 3rd world nation and deserve 3rd class treatment? Pls comment.
    http://image.slidesharecdn.com/volkswagenofamericainc-120603214330-phpapp01/95/slide-1-728.jpg?cb=1338777844