Hyundai Elantra Coupe to get Chicago 2012 debut!

We first saw these renderings of a Hyundai Elantra Coupe by Theophilus Chin earlier this year when we reported that US Hyundai dealers had given positive feedback on the possible introduction of such a model. After all, there’s already a Kia Forte Koup, why not an Elantra Coupe as well, especially for the US market – one of the very few markets where C-segment and D-segment coupes still sell in large numbers.

Apparently the dealers are getting what they wished for – it’s reported that Hyundai would be introducing the Hyundai Elantra Coupe in February next year at the 2011 Chicago Auto Show. Some American journalists have already previewed the coupe in Michigan this month, but they have nothing to show us as photography was not allowed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wolfsburg on Nov 14, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Too bad we don’t even get the Elantra sedan yet until now…

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 14, 2011 at 7:42 pm

it’s nice but such cars almost never work in malaysia.

• yh Inc. on Nov 14, 2011 at 7:49 pm

I doubt if a 1.8m-1.9m tall guy can sit at the rear seat comfortably.

• pelams on Nov 14, 2011 at 7:58 pm

i dont like the front

• The Koreans are making inroads into the US market.

It would be interesting to see if they need a luxury brand (ala Lexus/Infinity/Acura) for the US market. Only time will tell.

PS: Cant wait for the usual gang of T&H fans to bash this article, simply because it’s a Korean car

• Audi R8 and new E class coupe looks better and class!

• tolong tukar trus the distributor from HSDM please!!! they only qualify jaga kelapa sawit je lah….pls like this comment 1000 times….

• drMpower on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:11 pm

You know what is that, dont you?
    Thats hyundai version of kia forteh coupe.

The fact that is korea brand taking advantages on combinations of happening. One is it so cheap and everyone is skint without any money, so korea sells.

But china,despite their products are ridicilously cheap, dont sell. Because there are very few willing to take risk being crippled.

Second is japan having trouble. Yen is bad, and regionally toyota, honda, mitsu, etc struggled because various reasons.

I dont know why naza getting kia and not hyundai. I thought both are co exist. Thus if u got forteh, fair chance u should be getting the hyundai..?

• Masked Ryder on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:18 pm

I can imagine how every Hyundai car going look like from now, zero supprise & zero sense of excitement.

• every car maker has its own distinct look. look at BMW, Merz, honda, mitsu lancer, asx, etc. All their design will based on similar looks. u are always in masked ryder. so you ni buta and bodoh. tutup laptop pegi study your book.

• Heard that malaysian avante going to be launch after chinese new year next year due to high demand and unable to supply on time.. Some of them had book since may.. Is this true paul?

• Aiyoh. Don’t listen to the empty rumours going around. Avante was supposed to be launched ages ago, but see what happened till now hapak pun takdah :)
      Kudos to Hyundai….

• Honda Power on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:05 am

Yeah, all these are rumours. Hyundai cars are never popular in Malaysia. I seldom see Sonata on the road and Sonata sales are declining. Korean car sales are okay after the launching but the ales will decrease as time goes by. It’s always like this in Malaysia. That’s why Korean cars don’t sell well in Malaysia unlike T, H and N. There’s no way Korean car sales can overtake Japanese car sales especially the Japanese Big 3. Cheers!

• seldom seeing Sonata on the road? haiyooo…of course la not in Teluk Intan or Batu Pahat,..but here in Klang Valley, i can see every single minutes while i’m driving

• If Honda Power went back to 1970’s, his name would be Ford Power.

40 years ago, Ford Power would have said “No way Jap cars can overtake the European car sales”.

in 1970’s, Toyota/Datsun/Honda cars were CRAP compared to Ford/Volvo/Mercs. Those that bought Jap cars were called stupid & said to be asking for trouble. Japs cars had no resale value. Lets not even talk about the after sales service.

For Mr. Ford Power, in 20 years time, your children will most probably be driving Korean cars & singing praises of Korean cars, just like you are with Jap cars.

History has much to teach us. One of them is humility.

• Rays Engineering on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:51 pm

BEng..agreed what ya said..but wait n see what happen next decade…
            i keep my trust that japs automakers still arise & rising…endless..
            japs rims still the best…all hail JDM!!

• Fufushen on Nov 15, 2011 at 2:13 am

Mazda 3 incoming, hope this Mazda wannabe will be price as same as Kia Forte. Forte could win this cause elantra more so gurly.

• Korean products are all about funky designs, but after some time you would realize that they are style over substance.

Take a look at Kia Forte. When it was launched I myself thought “Wow, nice design”. After a while it already looks dated.

• gozillaPeniz on Nov 15, 2011 at 9:43 am

Ya i think u think u r right, For example the japanese design the Toyota AE86 and 1990s Camry and Corolla still look so Modern and surely Not dated like the forte..

• Carl Wong on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:31 am

I love the Initial D series, I even have the PS3 game Initial D: Extreme Stage :)…..!!!!!!!

• date masamune on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:46 am

kereta moden xde soul…tak mcm dulu2…sama juga dgn civic ek..design ada soul kreta akan bertahan lama selama lamanya! simpan ae86 & civic ek korang jgn jual..

• For all Elantra basher, wait until u see the real one. Once u get to see it, you’ll start to see the car u love all this while looks so boxy. LOL!

• as usual lah on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:08 am

sime darby is a joke! nah ambik kawww…dush!!!! ;)

• Car Driver on Nov 15, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Anybody knows what happens to the Elantra Sedan. I initially heard from Hyundai salesman launching in Oct then later launching in Mid Nov and now already Mid November still no news..Now this rumour laucnhing after CNY is even worst..

Heard from the net that it won the most value car in US and recently “Best Interior” in US.
    Most awaited car but no news yet…Very disappointed

• Halem on Nov 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Hyundai Elantra Coupe = Female version of Kia Forte Koup.

• avante aka elantra will be launch after CNY 2012. N guess what?..its CKD made in Kulim. So now we can assuming the price….

• haiz… fully “Made In Malaysia” product oso can reach RM90k, somemore tis is CKD only, i can guess the price now… Malaysia memang boleh punya!