Hyundai Elantra Coupe gets thumb up from US dealers

Hyundai Elantra Coupe

Even though Hyundai already has a C-segment sports car in the form of the Hyundai Veloster, apparently it has another 2-door coupe for the C-segment planned to target those who prefer a more traditional coupe form, instead of the Scirocco-like Veloster.

It seems that Hyundai dealers in the US – the only country which still sells C-segment and D-segment coupes in a huge abundance – have already seen photos of the Elantra Coupe and they like it naturally, as anything appealing would do well to boost their sales coffers.

Hyundai Elantra Coupe

No photos or even sketches of the upcoming Elantra Coupe have been released so far, but Theophilus Chin has whipped up some renderings of what an Elantra Coupe could look like. I must say it looks pretty sexy!

Even though Naza Kia is electing to launch their 2-door Kia Forte Koup here soon, it remains to be seen whether Hyundai will make a right hand drive version of the Elantra Coupe in the first place, and only then will we be able to bug Hyundai Sime Darby Motors on whether they will offer it here in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kenariman on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Love at the first sight….

• Nice!

• shawal on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:21 pm

SCHWEET!!!

• nolan on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:45 pm

absolutely gorgeous…………..

• Jeremy Chia on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:11 pm

The dashboard is a bit weird. The centre console looks like someone kena ‘cekik’

• alan prost on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:43 pm

lol dude. there is no picture of the interior.

• squawk on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Maybe something like this? http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/artandcolour2006/Photochops/HyundaiElantraCoupeDipBeltline.jpg

I think Jeremy was referring to this interior http://cdn.nitrobahn.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/2011_Hyundai_Elantra_int.jpg

Not bad but a/c vents are too low. But at least you won’t get frosty fingers.

• Jeremy Chia on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:24 pm

I’m assuming the coupe interior is the same as the sedan interior bro :-) Google Image it. You’ll see what I mean by the ‘cekik’ part.

• bryan jones on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:12 pm

weird proportion.

• cheese on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Paul, Kia Koup is coming soon in this year?

• EW10A on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:54 pm

doesn’t look as aggressive as the forte coupe to me but then there may be those who prefer and appreciate the fluid design language of hyundai.

• biggerfire on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:26 pm

i love this fluid design… aggressive in a smooth way..

• bobdbilder on Feb 15, 2011 at 12:18 am

Its the 2011 Genesis Coupe without the kink on the rear quarter panel, with the i40/Veloster front.

• Donkey Kong on Feb 15, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Nope, it’s just the 2011 Elantra with 2 doors instead of 4.

• throwawaythejap on Feb 15, 2011 at 1:17 am

good looking car, better looking then the mazda’s…

• 2 doors making it luxurious like Toyota Soarer . . . not my cup of tea though.

• Nice one!!! Thumb up

• kuching on Feb 16, 2011 at 10:14 am

1997-1999 hyundai elantra coupe (with no bonnet spolier) looks better than this design. Just my opinion in term of exterior body design.

• kuching on Feb 16, 2011 at 10:17 am

in term of exterior body design, 1997-1999 coupe looks better (without bonnet spoiler) than this. just my opinion

• farbod on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:33 pm

this model make in korea just sell for china & india .this is accent for base model and more option gls & xle for verna .