Detroit 2011: Hyundai Veloster gets 3 doors, 2 clutches

At NAIAS 2011, Hyundai wheeled out its unique Veloster coupe that brings with it many firsts for the marque. The affordable coupe has three doors and comes with Hyundai’s first dual-clutch transmission, for instance.

Like the VW Scirocco and Renault Megane Coupe, the Veloster is a two-door hatchback/coupe type of car with a rear hatch. But the much touted “third door” isn’t the rear hatch, but a conventionally hinged door on the passenger side, which Hyundai says provide safe and ready access to the rear seats.

Unlike in the Mazda RX-8, the Veloster’s rear door is only on the passenger side, and can open independently without first opening the front door. The handle is hidden Alfa 147-style.

In terms of size, the Veloster is 4,218 mm long and 1,790 mm wide, which is 138 mm longer and 50 mm wider than the Honda CR-Z. It has quite a long wheelbase of 2,649 mm. Hyundai says that the Veloster has more cabin volume than the CR-Z, Scion tC and Mini Clubman. Weight is 1,172 kg.

Apparently, the cabin is sport bike inspired. The center stack is supposed to resemble the fuel tank, the air vents are tailpipes, while the floor console mirrors the seats of a bike. I can’t really see that link, but it’s a funky dashboard nevertheless. All the lines seem to point to the push button starter, which isn’t hidden in some dark corner, but proudly placed in the centre stack – Ultraman style.

Powering the Veloster is a 1.6 Gamma engine with direct injection, the smallest Hyundai engine to use GDI. Equipped with Dual-CVVT, it produces a strong 138 hp at 6,300 rpm and 167 Nm at 4,850 rpm. That’s 86.3 horsepower per litre, which Hyundai says is best in class. Another figure they’re proud of is 40 mpg, or 14.2 km/l economy on the highway.

The Gamma’s drivetrain accomplices are six-speed transmissions, manual or dual-clutch. The all new DCT is developed by Hyundai and gains 5-6% improvement in fuel efficiency as well as 3-7% improvement in acceleration compared to a torque converter auto. The Veloster has an Active Eco mode which modifies engine and transmission control for “more than a seven percent improvement in real-world fuel economy”.

Suspension wise, it’s a McPherson strut front suspension and a light-weight V-torsion beam for the rear, the latter with an integrated 23 mm stabilizer bar to allow bracing of the arms for greater stiffness. Steering is EPS, and turning circle is best in class. The standard tyres are 215/45 R17s, but 18-inch alloys (with painted inserts) are available with 215/40 performance rubber.

Gallery and a video is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1862]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• donno on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Out of topic for a while…

There is a dangerous act being discussed in the parliment (amendments to the Road Transport Act 1987) that will give the JPJ unlimited powers to take action on any cars anywhere regardless that it is off the road.

Please Paul do a petition to STOP this nonsense!

JPJ have no right to book a car/bike that is off the road. Imagine JPJ officers booking a car at the track, at the back of your house, or heaven forbid, in the middle of the forest while you are doing 4×4 expeditions! The law is for cars on the road, and NOT off it!

• y r u so takut?? do u have many kesalahan that make u so takut-takutan?..not like they will saman u if u have not langgar peraturan

• hangtuaha on Jan 11, 2011 at 1:55 pm

KZM And mofaz are cyber trooper . Proven.

From which party, we all know.

burn. you rotten soul.

• i only said the truth…some peopl tend to mislead people with false info..n people tend to believe false info…i give u 1Q..do u believe that singapore is bigger oil exporter than malaysia?……..the ans is yes..they r oil exporter but they r net importer..they buy they sell back…we oil producer,net oil exporter but not as big as singapore export…

• actually im with per*asa still consider to join them…wanna join u**o first but they to slow for me n i do work in the company in which my owner n bosses r from rocket party..but i do support their national plan

• Why give too much credit to these arse*oles and the rest of their species with bombastic term; CyberTroopers? We should call them blind supporters, ignorant, hypocrite and then lastly you call should them cyberporntroopers. The rest are self explanatory.

• which part that make me consider to be blind supporter..coz i tell the truth?

• not a lowya on Jan 11, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Law should be enforced everywhere track, back of my house and middle of the forest for the safety of the masses.

– on the track; no dangerous modification which make the vehicle unstable and causing accident / death to other law abiding racer and spectator
      – at the back of our house; no dangerous vehicle should be keep bcos it cause danger to other when it is use. e.g mat rempit speeding with unfit bike/car then wack your kids dead
      – in the middle of forest; no toxic/dangerous 4×4 should be roamed freely in our heritage valuable jungle and endangering and destroying the jungle in the name of FUN.

• bobdbilder on Jan 11, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Don’t forget the Sibu gangstas ferrying flesh trade from Kalimantan through the myriads of Jalan Tikus.

• donno on Jan 12, 2011 at 11:04 pm

What? have you even read the Road Transport Act 1987? Is there anything paragraphs about race cars? 4×4 expedition cars?

It is a law for the ROAD! How can road laws apply on cars OFF the road? So now they can book a car doing rallys in estates cause it has extra spotlights on the bonnet?? They can book a drag car in Sepang as it has different engine from original?? They can book a buggy in the forest cause it is not registered?? This is insane!!

• the JPJ is not that stupid, what is the hack of disturbing race cars and 4wd?

come on, common sense applies here too. so, you are only happy when you oppose everything?

• LALAZAi on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:02 pm

that shall not happen. no way.

• MoFaz on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:16 pm

the car looks good, but the their 3 door style is a bit weird… why don’t they just make it 4? hopefully Neo replacement would be this good, packed with all the tech and safety features as well. the interior is very modern, and i like it :)

• i do like their car..if our national car has that big money n resources like hyundai kan bagus…hyundai parent company hyundai group so big jaebeol..they have business from textile to shipping

• thepil0t on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:49 pm

hyundai group is big.. but proton’s back even bigger.. its the gov.. do u see hyundai involved in world most expensive supersport F1?? proton did.. dis is the difference how certain parties manage things..

• idlebrain on Jan 11, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Hyundai motors is not in the Hyundai group. They are all separated when the founder of Hyundai died and that’s about the decade ago….

• rally_fan on Jan 12, 2011 at 11:18 am

hyundai kia motors is the 2nd largest car company in asia after toyota, and the 5th largest in the world. so its expected that a company of this size comes up with good competitive products. proton can not be compared to them, not even one little bit.

• uuuhh.. Proton even have bigger money supporter from the behind, the whole nation, Malaysia.. hehehe…
        Other automobil company doing R&D by their own cost, Proton release a new car and get the “R&D cost” from G, how nice isit?

• only small amount….their loan to bank even bigger than grant from gov…if u not believe read their annual report

• even gov back how many that gov give them..im term of cash our gov is defisit gov how much can they give money…R&D grant all sector who involve R&D can applied..even i use it before..proton get RM162million(2009) R&D grant

• thepil0t on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

after the gov dumb in the money to setup a company called Proton, n of couse some initial fund to run the automotive business. then u use the profit of ur sales to make progress for u upcoming project. not every year wait money from gov.
            u think Hyundai Motor everyear rely the money from mother company to make seccess?? if Hyundai Motor not making profit, its mother company will rather shut it down n invest in other industry.

• prove it

• thepil0t on Jan 11, 2011 at 5:04 pm

prove wat?? y not u prove Hyundai Motor is recieving big fund from Hyundai group?? gov owned Proton, supposingly gov should have recieving dividen from Proton, not how much money need to give in each year.
            every division of a big company need to make profit, if either one not making profit for certain year, it would have to declare bankcruptcy or sell it off.

• hangtuaha on Jan 11, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Can proton pls rebadge cars from Hyundai and Kia?

Mitsu car are so lousy and ugly, both exterior and interior.

Mitsu is only famous becos of EVO. -_-.

Proton pls rebadge hyundai car…!!!

• bobdbilder on Jan 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Hyundai was built around Mitsubishi Engines. I’ve got a Trajet which has the Hyundai OEM 2.0 4G63. Yep the one without the Turbo. It looks exactly the same from Throttle body, sensor placement. And if you park it next to a Mitsubishi Chariot, it looks very much similar.

Come to think of it, Mitsubishi sold a lot more engines than they sold cars when you take all the Marques that used them.

• hangtuaha on Jan 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm

LOOK again, who talk about engine.

common ppl talks about interior and exterior only.

you wants a great engine, go buy those evo, STi, M3. not the funny 2 liter NA car pls.

90% ppl in msia is not looking at that one.

we want good looking cars

• Phillip Zak on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Now it’s the other way round …. Mitsubishi and Proton inspira engines are Hyundai Engines.

• rally_fan on Jan 12, 2011 at 10:50 am

sorry philip, but you’re wrong about that. the engines mitsu and hyundai used were from a collaboration for a ‘global engine’ called the gema engine project, which also included chrysler. All 3 companies contribute in some way to the project.

• Kazuhito on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:54 am

I loled at this. Do u know about GEMA engines?

• wolfsburg on Jan 11, 2011 at 4:33 pm

LHD car is 3-door but RHD car will have 4 doors so we may get the 4 doors Veloster!

• yellowbus on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm

OMG! HAWT!!! NEW CIVIC?! NEW SCIROCCO?! WHATTTT?!!!! HYUNDAI?!!!!! WHAAAT?!!! WHAAATTTTT???!!!! wth is going on….even hyundai is making jaw-dropping cars nowadays……

* disappointed hardcore japanese car fan* =,(

• Now.. Thats a car..

• 3 door…? New stail.

• 4G63TDSM on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Looks like after all these years, Hyundai is begining to release production cars much closer to thier original HCD concepts.

I think the first to come up with these rear doors was Saturn, and its SC coupe. Accept on that car, the rear door was on the Driver’s side…This one being on the passenger side made a whole lot more sense….since on a LHD car, curbside is on the right….and the other plus is that you don’t need to open the front door first as the Saturn SC/Quad coupe and the RX8.

The other benefit is that the passenger door is much shorter so its easier in ingress/egress without whacking the car next door.

I wonder what the insurance company would think about this….. its silly (just as our cc dependent road tax is silly), but 4 door cars, the Rx8 included, typically have insurance premiums almost 1/2 that of 2 door cars.

• nyan46 on Jan 11, 2011 at 1:00 pm

LOVE IT

• vincent on Jan 11, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Wow, without looking at the brand, you might tot it is coming from Renault… very nice!

• Amazingly impressive design! Have our national car being taking a nap?

• lazyf on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm

this car looks weird…but I LIKE IT!

• mknace on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:26 pm

:) :) :) terbaeekkk!!!!

• Sabahan1M on Jan 11, 2011 at 3:30 pm

This car can drift!!! Nice…

• joe jungle on Jan 11, 2011 at 3:46 pm

wow so nice…higher hp for 1.6 NA car so far…..

• Tan Tee Lim on Jan 11, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Nice… wish they would drop in an engine that matches it “go fast” looks (and also to have similar performance to the cars it has been compared to)

• Cool!i hope our national car Proton and Perodua like Kia and Hyundai getting better and better :( but not gonna happen T.T never never!

• budleee on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:17 pm

interesting concept for a 3 door hatchback… the interior is quite nice

• greasemonkey on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:03 pm

dunno if avaiable,how much,very nice car.p1 should DEsiGN cars like this.

• ohh our proton being smoked far away behind…… When I look so many new car manufacturers improving and surpasses the older Proton, my heart feels pain and sour…. I suggest proton better keeps re-badge car like Perodua at affordable price. As my father told me, if wanna do, do it seriously, and be faithful. If dun wanna do it pro-actively, better go for something else, don’t waste time.

• shawal on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:24 pm

The car is awesome!!!!!!! I hope the 4-door rumor is true…., i see 370z in its lines…

• linear_system on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:48 pm

why sometimes my comment didnt appear in this page..i didnt put any bad comment or bad language…sigh..

• Han!h on Jan 11, 2011 at 11:59 pm

nice. upper front part, a-pillars, look like a 370z though…

• Ash Menon on Jan 12, 2011 at 12:27 am

The butt reminds me of a slightly less hardcore Megane :)

And omg, that Ultraman button! Danny, on behalf of all Malaysian motorists, tell Hyundai to come up with a action-packed theme song that plays when you press that button :)

• SoMeOnE on Jan 12, 2011 at 5:53 am

actually hyundai have a deal wit mitsu and chrysler on a line of engines called GEMA engines..each of them share the load of designing,tuning and manufacturing the engines to keep costs low and earn more profit…its hard to believe but the kia forte and lancer are running the exact same engine with diffrent codenames and states of tune..lol….and yea..now proton’s using em as well ..,plus loads of other models by the three members of the venture…. as for thus hyundai..if this costs between 100 to 130..its gonna be a riot…i dun see it being any more then that coz the mito with all the bells and whistles sells here for around 140…..

• Paul Tan on Jan 12, 2011 at 6:58 am

GEMA engine shares the block. But the head is developed independently by each company.

• Rhys Millen on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:04 am

But the block was designed by Hyundai

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

• haidir on Jan 12, 2011 at 8:15 am

i ‘ll call this 4 door hothatched

• _xXx_ on Jan 12, 2011 at 9:33 am

One word…NICE!

• Whynot on Jan 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm

For what I know Hyundai is spending very large ( I mean really huge sum) in more new designs including a readiness in producing hybird and full EV cars. They are ever ready to take any world brand with their commitments. I believe they are the strongest techno minded people in terms of automobiles in the future. This is because in S. Korea, they loves cars, its cheap. Although roadtax is around RM2K for 2.0 litres car is high but as car gets older it tax gradually drops by a huge percentage. Repair is cheap n almost every car in Korean made.

• Good news for those who like this car, It will launch in Malaysia Nov this year, CBU. I heard this from HSD. Don’t know about the price but they said it’s “an affordable coupe”.