Is this the new Proton Tuah-based Persona R (P3-21A)?

I think the picture pretty much speaks for itself – a very nice and revealing shot of the new Proton P3-21A sedan that has been making its way around the internet this week. Done in a sporty yellow, we can spot projector headlamps, and a nice sporty bumper with a prominent center air intake and big fog lamp inserts.

There have been a few revisions to the front end of the P3-21A compared to when it was previewed at last year’s KLIMS motorshow as the Proton Tuah concept. We’ve uploaded one picture of the Tuah above for easy comparison. For one, the headlamps have a different internal lens configuration now, and the lower edge of the headlamps now joins the grille. The daytime running lights at the fog lamp area has also been replaced by a regular fog lamp, but it appears that Proton has kept some form of LED daytime running lamp running along the lower edge of the headlamp.

Do you like what you see?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sexyandiknowit on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:54 am

i instantly thought of this yellow car…….

http://paultan.org/2010/08/18/skoda-superb-and-skoda-octavia-vrs-in-bermaz-glenmarie/

• Tankado on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:27 am

I have a feeling that this is a B Line model as H Line model might have Daylight running LED at the fog lamp section there!

• thinking buying new car on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:50 am

i’m totally agree with you…. this car may be my first proton ever

• HirumaKecil on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:07 am

I prefer fog lamp.. And why u need 2 daylight LED? Look funny.. The one with fog lamp look better.. And fog lamp in more practical than Daylight LED… Why want 2 lLED if u can have both fog and daylight LED???

• Prismo on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:28 am

i’d prefer fog lamp and daytime running light at any time… oh boy… this will made me hard to choose between Exora turbo or this P3-21A…. hope it will use Campro CFE turbo + CVT tranny under the hood…

• oligopoli on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm

different segmen la exora vs this. heard this persona will be the first model using campro turbo. not sure about the cvt though.

• Prismo on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Hati muda cakap “pilih” ini… but my wife said, it’s time to choose MPV for our next vehicle….

• Ajaib on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Pelik betul. Aku tak faham apasal Proton ni bodoh sangat. Dah terang lagi bersuluh yang kereta concept tu lagi cantik dari kereta kuning tu. Apasal tak kekalkan je ciri2 yang ada kat concept tu? Lampu cantik, side mirror cantik, grille cantik. Last2 pegi buat jugak kasi hodoh.

• mahluk on Feb 05, 2012 at 4:06 pm

bongok.,name pon konsep.,lau bwat blat2 serupe cam konsep bek dy tros kua kn tros kete tu.,

• MAT NISSAN on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:47 am

I DON’T LIKE PROTON

• ntah.. on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:06 pm

there are daytime running LED light at the headlamp.. awesome

• harris murad on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:16 am

cheittt mana ada daaaa bro…

• when i saw this i thought of the new Myvi Extreme.

• RON97 on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:27 am

no. this car for those who can’t afford forte..(lower income forte wannabe)

• Why Forte if you love it so much don’t come go to Naza Kia what a disturbance

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:10 am

Dont insult people laaa, pity them. If thats the one people can afford so why not? Lu kaya mandi, minum sume pakai ron97 lu mana rasa

• Forte on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:04 am

This car prices is on par with Forte.Even will give you lower spare part and maintainence cost.

• Han!h on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:58 am

duh…just because of the yellow?aiyo…

• akina on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:35 pm

y dont u say, miyabi extreme is like neo s2000?

• Hamster on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:15 pm

When i google miyabi, they show me pornstar instead of car… you pervert

• akina on Nov 20, 2011 at 1:48 pm

why la u so slow?????

• bendul betul la mamat nih. miyabi tu myvi la ngok. knp myvi dipanggil miyabi..sbb myvi kereta pondan..

• Miskin Malaysian on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm

bendul jugak la labu ni.miyabi tu sexy dowhh!

• The concept one is for facelift !

• huiyoo on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:52 am

nice. i like it. black color should be better

• gunigugu on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:28 am

Is it just me or is there a hint of Kia Forte to it? looks not too bad though..

• blue-traveler on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:30 am

naaaa, not skoda, not even close, expect for color. But if you use your hand and block out 1/5 of the pic from right , you will see Honda city and the up coming civic genie. i.e. the front slopping kind-of sharp head lamp. Still….Like it, thumb ups for this one. However, I personally Like the ” Proton Tuah concept”. It looks more original, as in “design by us, built by us, take that you @#$%” and more aggressive. Guess P1 wants to take the safer way, tried and true, family style; ie; bigger sales.

• proton has confirm this is not the car will continue as persona..it diff car not persona…DSZ said in tv interview in china 4-5 days ago if u watch tv tv3 auto news…this model n exora will be assemble by hawtai in china….that news oso mention 1 3-wheeler motocycle name spyder(if not mistaken) assemble in malaysia very big bike(not proton) but no paultan coverage

• c’mon this car is nothing and ugly as hell !why u guys complaining about the design and keep saying they are copy from City or Forte…?! relax this model will be our new Taxi :)

• Thomstho on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:56 am

Proton is heading to the ride direction. Good job and well done!

• ride direction.. PUN intended??

• cynical on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:20 am

I don’t think Malaysians has quite grasped the concept of pun, that’s why this got so many thumbs down.

• yup…american use pun a lot…but not us Malaysian…even sarcasm sentences are new to us…

• grammarnazi on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:05 pm

except that knowing malaysians, this might represent a genuine vocab mistake instead of a so-so pun

• random.kaizer on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:28 am

to the heaven?

• Nissan on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:41 am

suit the company logo well , Copy Copy Copy Cat. looks just like City, many H fans will like it.
      let’s wait for the official launch, i do hope Proton can surprise us Malaysian by offering sth. worth buying.

• wendy on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:27 am

i dont think its copy cat at all..how to design a car who doesnt look like any other car in the nowadays?? can u just scratch any car of ur dream in a piece of paper and i can simply point my finger in any other car that already existed, people like you are so cheap talker, for your info i was involved with the process of designing this car, and when we started scratching, honda city was not existed yet.

• Gebang on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Hahahahah…..no wonder look so ugly…..u have a good time to browse paultan….

• Fitipaldi on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:52 pm

….What a load of bull crap..!..ur part of d design…no wonder it looks shitty!

• p_amr on Feb 08, 2012 at 4:35 pm

betul 2bro..diorg pndai ckp je..n yg bnyak menghina maybe diorg x mmpu nk bli or pemikiran msh cetek lg…cube blajar menerime skit..

• Han!h on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:00 pm

what’s wrong with you, look like City? This one doesn’t look Transformers-ish at all…

• PakAbu on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Copy cat?

Well….. for someone who’s using a nickname copied from a famous car company…. :mrgreen:

• The same goes to Toyota and Honda Copy cat everybody copy somebody else that what we call learning

• Faiz EZ Motorsport on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:54 pm

agree, when malaysian car copy, its a disgrace. when japanese car copy, they are inspired! huhu…wake up malaysian! be positive. minda maju baru negara maju. mari menuju wawasan 2020. hehe

• copying is such a disgraceful word… i prefer the word inspired?

c’mon every car surely has something of a similarity one way or another now when i look at so many cars they have very similar front bumper and grills of a lancer gt do i say they copied? no… the designer was inspired by the design and thus came up with something similar..

• some how the front look like the honda city, that’s very disappointing

• critic_A on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:18 am

i dont think it look like any other car out there~ ur face look like every buddy else too and thats make me very d disappointing as well

• Actually it does look a little honda city. the concept is like the forte. anyway it’s a nice design, a little safe but will appeal to the general public. i still prefer the light and grill treatment of the concept car. the yellow ones looks a little generic. will need to see the whole car in detail though.

• This is you look at somebody you see somebody else please grow up a bit have your own self esteem

• oh pls look at the pix and don’t tell me there is no similarity. loving proton is one thing but be objective. i have plenty of self esteem – thank you but i think you need to grow up a bit and be more objective.

• Han!h on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:57 am

hahaha…well-played! like!

• littlefire on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:42 am

HONDA CR-Z LIGHTS?!?

• clutch basah on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:46 am

It look more like this actually;

http://paultan.org/2008/07/03/kia-lotze-innovation-facelifted-optima-in-korea/

• that korean car looks much better

• Whatever better is it is not your company that produce the car buy that Korean company than you can be proud of it, if not you nobody

• LatukBandar on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:07 am

The BMW projector headlamps and the Audi LED eyebrow things are two big NO!

• Han!h on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:06 pm

weyh…BMW, Merc tu siapa, Proton siapa…duh…sow, what say you on Lexus having BMW strap-boot styling? Want to bash Lexus also hah?…

• i hope they use back the wing mirrors from the concept

• mangata on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:12 am

somehow it looks like honda city minus te grille

• VoidDance on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:39 am

City is quite a good looking car so there is nothing wrong to imitate it a little bit. Cars nowadays tend to look almost the same unless you put some wings, sail, girdle roof or something…

Quit comparing design. It is getting lame.

• i also think it does looks like the city minus the grill/forte. look at the way the a-pillar merge the bonnet cover, the shoulder design above the headlights, the way the headlights wrap the front lights. omg camry bumper!

BUT i think it is nicely done …….this will not have any styling issue with general public :-)

• totenke[f on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:13 am

looks better than the new honda civic

• Han!h on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:08 pm

yup…me agree on that as well…want to see the pic of the rear so bad.

• Nazrul on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:17 am

I pretty much love it, but the grill ruins it because its just too simple. I know it has to be like that because it symbol the PROTON’s identity, for me, it doesn’t have to be that way, really. I dunno bout you, but imagine if the grill been replaced by the Waja CPS’s grill, that’s more like it, for me at least. I hope the interior would be attractive as it does on the exterior. Anyway, good job, PROTON! Triple tumbs up!

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:17 am

Triple thumb up? Where comes your 3rd thumb?

• cynical on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:23 am

The ‘third’ thumb that only comes up when you’re seeing huge ‘headlights’.

• Concept one better..!!!

• izzat on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:18 am

the “tuah” front grille more nicer from the P3-21A..whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy :(

• Either is because
      1) An accountant was running the company and feel that the gain in looks is not worth the extra cents
      2) Crowny supplier does not have the capability to produce the parts

Yea, the “Tuah” was nice, some nice part wasnt carried to the P3-21A. I’ll hold my initial disappointment for now until i see the whole car.

• PakAbu on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:07 pm

:mrgreen: There’s a nice article by Jeremy Clarkson in a local paper recently about how nice/good/fantastic concept cars were transformed into not-so-nice production due to bean counters etc.

• to bring production costs lower. normally manufacturers change the concept when it comes to production to ensure ease of manufacturing and to keep costs low (less complex angles, designs make for easier moulds and stamping processes). thankfully, the changes from concept to production is really minimal. there are some cars out there that really change a whole lot when they make it from concept to production.

• Peter on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:14 pm

I share your disappointment ………….. Instead of calling it Proton Tuah, I call it Potong Steam. The prototype design is so elegant compared to the ‘reality’. I agreed with others the reason is due to higher cost (b’cse of incapability & immature tech of local supplier). We shall wait & see how the real car looks like.

• Type f on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:19 am

More interested on the rear view of this car

• Imeanitwheni on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:29 am

1st impression…. H, city + malaysian bumble bee.. Bwy,.. Fresh gud start for P1.

• … honda city and honda civic euro front face lookalike…. shame…….

• taboogen on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:17 am

haiyo… if you have twins in your family with same face.. do u feel shame…. what the hack…

• Hafiz on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:45 am

The yellow colour is for crash test. And yes this is the new model for proton. N one more thing, proton will come out with DIY car next year: target market, the proton basher lol

• Nice!! But still i prefer the Tuah Concept… Proton should stick to that design..

• Crazee on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:00 am

Worried if they keep to the concept people can’t afford the car lolsy

• Jimi73 on Nov 19, 2011 at 8:16 am

Maybe proton should come up with 2 model: use the concept’s design for tuah sport model and This one for the normal model.

• normal_user on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:23 am

Yeah. This design is quite bland, where are the curves that flank the bumper’s each side? (similiar to inspira bumper)

The headlamps and grill are much smaller & less agressive than the concept. The grille also got that Gen.2’s ‘inverted wau’ design… so its quite boring actually.

Hopeful that Proton can adjust the design according to customers’ taste.

• ojaykb on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:59 am

new engine anyone?

• Loneranger on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:44 am

engine wise based on what i read from the internet will be 1.6 (128hp) and 2.0 (148hp) i Campro CPS . 6 manual transmission & 6 auto CVT transmission….

bundled with 2 airbags, intergrated GPS, ABS & EBD, 6 speaker audio system and puas start button…

correct me if i’m wrong..:)

• taboogen on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:20 am

yup you are wrong.. there is 2 varient… iafm plus with 6speed CVT and turbo with 7 speed CVT.. it has 4 airbags (this one not sure how u counted the airbags by position or actual airbags)… and all the gadgets that you might need

• Nizam80 on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Since Proton are beginning to get transmissions from Getrag, are there any signs of a 6-speed manual version?

• Nizam80 on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Err… one more thing, bro? IAFM plus?? You mean the current 110hp one? You serious? I mean this new car should be heavier than the current Persona, right? Or, you mean CPS?

• audier on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:15 pm

may i know d website ur referring to?

• Engine CFE + CVT Around 140hp, not for 2.0 engine 148hp Proton didnt have 2.0 so far.

• hopefully they using campro CFE…1.6 turbo yeay!!!

• My name is on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:09 am

Ok la.. Better than ‘lagi best’ … :)

• Patriot Negara on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:35 am

Hope price comparable to Myvi Lagi Busuk with good spec…Different segment (C/B segment), good spec and same price, the choice should be this car for those who have forward thinking…berbaloi-baloi

What name should be? Proton Impiana? Proton Perwaja? Proton Pesona Remake? Proton Rosmah?

• VoidDance on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:43 am

It is suppose to be Persona Replacement Model.

• Artnanz on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:55 am

“Proton Rosmah”? Hahahaha you made my day!!! :-)

• Proton Rosmah ? no good laa

Proton Permata (Diamond) is better *Rosmah kan suka beli diamond…

“Proton Permata Hatiku”..it’s nice slogan don’t you?

• RadzLee on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:47 pm

yeah proton rosmah will be selling like hot cakes! lol

• Ha Gnih on Nov 19, 2011 at 10:21 am

Make sure the interior is BLING encrusted courtesy of Jacob & Co. Hahahahahahahahaha

• Ash Menon on Nov 20, 2011 at 3:24 am

Proton Rosmah cannot la, you put a 3.0L engine oso won’t be able to move if such a heavy body.

• Maybe better than “lagi best”… But wait till we see the interior.. I hope there’s cheap plastic no more…

• woi sapa amik gamba ni…musti budak prototype….

• GengProton on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:29 am

Kasi saman itu budak… tak ada intergriti.. tangan pun gigil ambik gambar..

• Loneranger on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:02 am

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/320765_1620604052568_1760431363_877948_2023541413_n.jpg

• Mega/Liverpool on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:50 am

This could be MEGA for Proton!
    With oil rocketting & money tight here in England there would a lot of demand for an inexpensive B/C sized car. The only snag is what engine will it get?

Ford are in production with a 993 cc 3 cyinder Turbo, GM are not far behind…..Nissan already have one in the Micra…………..The BIG question for me is “What engines?”
    Mike/Liverpool

• taboogen on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:22 am

its 1.6 turbo with CVT 7speed…. 150hp and 205NM tork…

• Mega/Liverpool on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:32 pm

That could fun, if Lotus have done the handling!
        Protons are not very expensive here, hmmmmmm

• pizek on Nov 18, 2011 at 7:46 pm

mega,
          i think for sure proton will use lotus aka proton superb handling..
          good luck proton!

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:01 am

hibrid please and yellow for Bersih 3 just to make sure mat sabu tak langgar POLIS.

• wahedenator on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:06 am

Side mirror like Persona. Sharing common parts maybe

• drMpower on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:26 am

i like to see the leds back on.
    sure projectors still appeal but led is the in thing
    althoughni am pretty sure proton is kinda a bit late but nevermind

the other i want to see is the engine in this
    i am hoping for 1.6 turbocharge.
    i know its kinda impossible but this web asked what i wanna see
    so i wanna see turbocharged engine

ps-the horizontal grill is better to be replace by the honeycomb grill

• GengProton on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:31 am

Yup honeycomb is better.. go for andriod honeycomb also.. hehe

• Protonmahai on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:46 am

Headlamp kuning dah lain dari yang putih. Tak lawa dah jadi. Huduh. Tak berkenan dah.

• elite on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:00 am

this kind of design also need to buy from Giugiaro?

• Ha Gnih on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

If you know how to design better than this, then please go up to Proton and ‘teach’ them how to design.

• YEP….Agreed the “Tuah” concept front looks better. Why change it ?? Anyways good job proton & make sure quality, reliability and safety is priority. Please put more airbag..dual clutch and 7 speed ….yea maintain the ‘Tuah’ wing mirror…..and please give us force induction engine .or hybrid engine ……………

• Paint on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:23 am

When is the EMAS coming out? It’s long overdue. We want hybrid with REEV. That should beat ‘lagi best’ any time of the day.

• All proton has to do in order to complete with the others is to take each value for money and quality model to compare it. If u looking at global cars, u have to have all the goodies what hyundai and kia is giving plus quality of a honda or toyota.

• protonlover on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:40 am

this car just a prototype modelling for test drive, i’m pretty sure the infront grill for this model is more pretty and stylish.. to me this model look just naza FORTE… this model mybe using a new engines campro turbo.. bt we still dont know.. bt for sure went this model launch it will look diffrent then this picture.. trust me :)

• Sweet looking car. I reckon the hood looks a bit like that of the forte’s.

It does have that VW Jetta look…. Not city.. cause that’s just rubbish. XD

• yuhuu on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:51 am

what ever people said either -ve or +ve review, i’ll booked it one for the next year… bcoz i see the ‘different’ proton on this car..

• Grille buruk! Concept much better

• Tahniah in advance to Proton Saudi Arabia this new Waja price around RM34,790.12 with full safety spec! Bonus free equipment is the ancient Crampro!

Ha ha! Yet again another answer to Asian BMW 3-Series!

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:54 am

long time story la… basi already…

• littlefire on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:26 am

Then why the hack we Malaysian have to pay premium price? Dont we as Malaysian deserved the same or better spec & price compare to overseas market?!?

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:57 pm

coz KSA dun have tax on imported cars……thts y they get it cheap compared to us…is it hard to use ur common sense and a lil reading perhaps?

if u want to get Proton cheap then buy taxi la starting from 2012 no more tax on national car taxi….

• autojohndoe on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:57 pm

for me is simple… if you keep mumbling, about other country system and hoping the country you stayed adopt the same system…

better you move there than wait here…

or better, rather than complaining here, better you join the politics or join related govt agency to make the change…

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:53 am

Forte killer ! Naza salesman r wetting their pants.

• good car lover on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:59 am

wow really nice

• RedBeanBun on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:06 am

if the Tuah concept still remain dont come out, it will be come Tua….see how to world wide car style changes…

the yellow car looks like Transformer….

• nanashisan on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:11 am

somehow if the proton badge is ignored, the front view remind me of the new kia sportage in yellow.
    looking forward on the final looks and other angle pictures.

• mr.proton on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:17 am

Please Datuk Seri Syed Zainal…. dont dissapoint rakyat malaysia.. prove the the critics wrong with this new model.. make sure the interior more elegant and stylish.. dont make simple one like neo, persona etc.. please…… because my car starts to aging and i have put this upcoming model into my list.. so please datuk seri quality, design… and important things that proton always lacked…. AFTERSALES SERVICE.. recently i went to proton edar servis mesra at damansara jaya and i asked them to replace my absorber and they only give excuse no spareparts and take time too much.. and they dont even care about complaints that i’ve been made.. thats really irritatiing….. just because proton only affordable car besides perodua..doesnt mean we deserve this type of treatment.. so please Datuk seri syed zainal..i’ve tried to email u .. but seems that ur email is disfunctional i dont even think u care about small people like me.. i hope can be “wakil rakyat” or piem.. maybe u will listen to me… ahahaha… just my dua posen thoughts..huhuhuh

• Najib bin Tun Rojak on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:17 am

Why still care about this brand? just shift to japanese brand. If ur affordable lar…………

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:57 am

why japanese brand?

just shift to conti la… if you can afford la…

• awimbawe on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:25 am

Why care about japanese brand? Just shift to continental brand. If u can afford….Haha

• sLayer on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:56 am

ye..lar, tukar brand lain..

• ultrajo on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Why japanese…look east to China please…where japanese soul and conti body join together…

• kereta_usang on Nov 22, 2011 at 12:16 pm

japanese brand assembled in thailand / indonesia?

• swoosh3553 on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:38 am

bro… or you can come to Al-Falah mosque (in Taipan USJ) every Friday during the Friday prayers to get him in person. He stays in USJ and goes to that Mosque every Friday. U can grab hold of him and talk about your experience live to him… Good luck bro.

• TheInsider on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Yeap..you’re right..and please go to the ‘top 5 front row @ saf’. or you can write a letter and pass to him later after pray.

• layman on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:53 am

Go find another CS. I experienced that to, but after change to another CS i get good aftersales service event for minor complain. leave the bad CS because that CS will not long last. Nothing wrong to proton itself. It just a lazy CS franchisee.

• clement on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:27 am

One word to describe : Awesome!

• gjohn on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:35 am

looks like Forte also…

• UGLY la…aiiyooooo

• Honda Freak on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:40 am

hope that the H-line 1.6 Turbo engine is reliable…
    will be a good base to toy with…proton’s first own turbo engine

• BadBET on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:44 am

tuah seems better. the headlamp, front grill and wing mirrors is killing the beauty design of tuah. Did some black hand interfere again?

• littlefire on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:46 am

I only wish that P1 can come out something more better in term of safety & engine spec.. Please add is ESC ( Electronic Stability Control) & also the rumoured Turbo Campro in it. Then maybe the sales would be better…

• jky xxxx on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm

boleh bawak laju2 time hujan :P

• DavidB on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Here’s littlefire with his ESC talk again. Not boring ka? Or nothing else in your vocabulary.

Everyone go Google: “littlefire ESC” and you’ll get lots of results of this guy talking about nothing but this… cukup bosan!

Even Toyota Vios don’t have ok… and idiots are paying 70+k for that!

• littlefire on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm

So why not? I like to Bash P1 coz i want P1 to improve in term of their safety & engine development. If without basher like us, do you think ur power window got ‘lifetime warranty’ (10 years), standard 2 air-bags for newer cars?!?

I believe that ur life are cheap, as you dont even know the importance of ESC. If ESC is nothing, why Japan, Europe, US & even Australia is getting it as safety standart in their cars?!? Please google what is the function & importance of ESC before commenting, u make others felt u r really “katak di bawah tempurung”

• DavidB on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:59 pm

I have nothing to argue here, until we all see you say the same things on threads involving Toyota, Honda and Perodua. You ARE a Proton basher, and thus, we’re not listening to you. Or maybe a zombie ate your brain, and that’s not your fault.

Bye.

Educational tidbit for everyone else:
          Even the 2.0 Camry and 2.0 Accord don’t have ESC, and they are what? RM150k? Why should Proton that makes sub 50k be expected to have it?

Or maybe bigger cars are more stable so they don’t need? I dunno, ask littlefire, he can explain better XD

• littlefire on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:51 am

Only in Boleh land we dont have ESC due to our sub-par standart on implementing safety regulation. I not only bash P1, but also P2 for not getting better safety standart also!

Just go to any Japanese car website and find it urself! Even Toyota Passo(rebadge myvi/boob) in Japan also have ESP (VSC & TRC) in it!!!

http://toyota.jp/passo/safety/active/index.html

Vios/Betta

http://toyota.jp/belta/safety/active/index.html

Somemore newer Camry already using S-VSC?Steering-assisted Vehicle Stability Control

http://toyota.jp/camry/007_p_001/safety/active/index.html

Still u believe that ur G really care for the people!!! Stop blinding urself!!! If mention about cost & effectiveness, here read it:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

“he retail price of ESC varies; as a stand-alone option it retails for as little as $250 USD”

Even the Honda insight/CR-Z for 1.5L also got VSA so why not?

By the way, Our Camry 2.0 & Accord 2.0 is not even worth RM150k in real time thx to tax & they have to cut this & that features thx to our people have to save that this money just to drive 1 bigger car.. That why i sometime pity them for buying a low par standart & overprice car just to cater for them. So that P1 & P2 can enjoy more cheaper price & market..

Anyway do u think i like UMW Toyota a lot? I prefer Honda more, at least they are bringing new cars like hybrid at a cheaper rate compare to the bloody UMW toyota who think all the Malaysian ppl will buy becoz of Toyota logo!

We have seen P1 testing the new Exora in Europe using ESP, why not give us the same here as standard?!? Are our life cheaper compare to foreigners?!? Think about it! When u have a family!

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 6:12 pm

we are about 15 years behind Jap in term of tch…tht shld explain all

in fact if
            proton have it as std in their car but the price will be a lil high, u will shout saying Proton is cheating but do u know how much a car maker have to pay for something new like that?

and in terms of production how many car does the Japs produce compare to us? tht will explain y they can have it and not us…if u don’t get it…it is because of the COST

• d_buccaneer on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:47 am

the design is nice and hopefully same goes to nvh level.

• Miwqa on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:52 am

hopefully it has big dashboard, not a short one as in perdana.

• GreenFuel on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:56 am

Look great as a sedan, P1, keep the good job. If possible, put a new engine

• eh, it look better than potong sawi mah…….. :-D

• noname on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:09 am

Macam Honda City :)

• QUATTRO on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:16 am

lampu depan dah mcm honda city baru..terbaekkk…..
    bla dijangka akan lancar dan brapa kapasiti enjin…very excited for new year 2012

• lihwoei on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

another cost saving from proton…???? different alot from concept…head light missing alot of LED….

• From Audi-ish design to Waja-ish design. They should retain Civic FD style separate body stand mirrors. I do not see any relevant issue why they can’t simply take their original concept headlights design though the bumper of the concept maybe too tricky to execute for mass production. Proton must banking on design to attract pessimistic buyers.

I concern over the powertrain too.

• faisal on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:33 am

Congrat………………… Proton. Tabik Spring……….

• QUATTRO on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:33 am

hope the campro engine is using timing chain instead of timing belt > kasi panjang sikit masa x perlu tukar timing belt…save cost maa

• whitefox on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:35 am

reserve my comments till I see the full picture cause sometimes picture and real car really have different due to shooting angle.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:36 am

Great effort from Proton, they even kept the LED running DRL on the head lamp from the concept. However the wing mirrors are a bit off, that should have stuck with the one from the concept. Pls give it good engines as well, 140bhp from the 1.6 Campro CFE turbo would do just nice, and remember dont price it same as inspira.

At last Proton has design bordering the germans and koreans, not like some stupid Japanese car who always has flamboyant concepts but dull productions.

• Derrick C on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:36 am

Don’t really like the design… a bit old fashion as compared to other car makers’ these days.

• kerelbort on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:45 am

why ppl want that wing mirror? too small.. ends up like old gen2 mirror.. look good but not practical. attract more basher later.. hehehe

anyhoo, this does look big. at first i tot the size of honda stream.

wagon version? ;)

• Anonymoust on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:46 am

yeah,should stick to the original design, barula berbaloi beli.

• putra_rider on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:46 am

wow!

• supersona on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

keep it up, P1.. as a current Persona owner, I envy this replacement model..

• ismail on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:13 am

larr…da sebijik mcm honda city…cuma tukar logo jer….ambik original design kn ok…

• Whatever it is you can’t afford to produce it, if you can be better you won’t be here. Here for positive thinking if not just get some rehabilitation session and you be ok

• makanhati on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:13 am

thumb up! proton P3-21A is now just a few steps behind their main competitor..Lambo Aventador!

• They have the better design and now what they need right now is QUALITY…

• Good Job Malaysia!

• mizzuddin on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:26 am

supercharge or turbocharge actually..?

• steward on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:31 am

nice but still prefer the prototype whitel model headlamp where’s the headlamp bottom a little slide up to the gril area….
    anyway hope proton get everthing in perfect before launching it, also price more be affordable to all malaysian….

• Looks Lil bit like Kia Forte…anyway good effort to replace the aging persona

• still prefer the original proton tuah look. this one looks cheaper version. if only price reasonable then worth a thought.

• Honda Power on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:47 am

Front head lights and grille are inspired from present Honda City. No originality at all. Only people who cannot afford to buy Honda City may buy this crappy copycat sedan. Anyway, if the price is right, it may affect Forte sales. It won’t affect Honda City sales because there’s no comparison between Proton and Honda. Cannot compare Proton with Honda because we cannot compare an apple with an orange.

• Mr Funny on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Your statement is funny la sir..

• Nizam80 on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Honda can only be compared with Great Wall.

• Honda Power on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:14 am

Then Proton can only be compared with Hawtai. Even my Hwa Tai biscuits are delicious to eat when I dunk them in my hot Milo!

• autojohndoe on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:01 pm

just say you are are Honda Supporter is enough…

and you want all to be like you… Simple…

No need to justify in a very long text….

• sfssd on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Would you say the same thing if you were to know that Italdesign Giugaro designed this car?

Thought so. Fikir nak hantam saja.

*cough*moron*cough*

• porknik ajis on Dec 14, 2011 at 10:47 am

hondass saless mann la katakan

• jaybond on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

The front end on the original concept is much better, and whether it’s tricky or not for mass production, the real reason for the change could be to lower the cost of mass production (simplify the tooling the design). And that’s quite a shame..

• kalau keluar nih ramai yang mencemburui hahaha tp pls kalau dah beli jgn rebadge ke Mitusbishi lak banggalah dgn logo proton k. apa pun nice this car might make other ower turn their head plus myvian haha

• mustafa on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:02 am

I heard 1 truck load of the P3-21A were sent to Putrajaya…most probably to JPJ Putrajaya

• Sent many for JPJ conformation… but still come out with thing such as fog lights that blind oncomings. The JPJs might have said these item are illegal sir! But than come a somebody and said… I’m the one who personally choose these…

• this car is prepared to send to idiada spain, actually bundles of them, for crash testing purposes. That is why is in yellow color. For the moment,there is no yellow color scheme for this car. Can u spot the diff between inspira 2.0 n 1.8 on the grill side? Its the chrome lining. The premium specs will have that. For the moment, the premium will equip with minimum 4 airbags or maybe 6. Esp, multimedia/gps on board,reverse camera, multi info display n etc. The price will be between current h-line persona n 1.8mt inspira. Of course 2 engine variant offered, but i must say that cfe is the safe bet n even in cvt,it has manual overide.
    Material selection will be better since this is first global car for proton. Hatchback will follow suit if there is big demand for it, hint,its already ready in drawing board,just waiting for green light to test n produce. It will be the nicest hatch created by prtn by far.
    For sedan, size wise, forte@civic. This one is b/c segment car.

• memancho-manchor on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:53 pm

why premium always get those xtra safety features?
      wanna let the poor go and die ah?

• MoFaz on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm

because people who buy premium are paying more. you think can simply call premium or high-line without additional features?

• DewaSemut on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:36 pm

You sounded like DSZ himself lerr…

• lllll on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:24 pm

tu dia konfem engineer proton ni haha

• Xde nya Engineer PROTON..klau ko dh lama ikut cerita PROTON,ko tau la sapa dia,ko taula apa yg dia cakap tu betoi,ushar sama blog sebelah sana……Ko jgn ckp aku ni pun Engineer PROTON jugak..hahahha.

• Vincent on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:07 am

Emm… looking good… potentially the look can taupau Vios…

One serious concern here, I see in Mudah that Inspira is discount up to 9500 for 2011 2.0P sepec. Is the Inspira clear stock to give way to Tuah? RM82K for 2.o rebadge Lancer is value for money… We should see more INspira on the road…

THe problem now is, Proton say: Smart one get it… but those who buy it initially when Inspira lunch look ready not so smart after all…

• The Enthusiast on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:16 am

Looks venerable enough. Would choose this over Myvi anytime! Then a sudden realization of Proton’s reliability, which is still a questionable issue. Still, glad to see Proton’s designers stepping it up a notch. Now bring in a good looking hot hatch. Satria Neo needs a due replacement.

• ahmadfaris93 on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:19 am

This car over Forte anytime !

• DRLonProton on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:20 am

DRL on Proton? WT …makes me to remove my original DRL on my AUdi immediately.

• Johndeep on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm

F**k**g arrogant u, what to shout about yr drl. Who care u have one in yr audi.

• protonneo on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:34 am

Agreed that Proton doesn’t req DRL as it is not make any impact on MY whether that bright the most on daytime. Hence Audi had it installed as standard where European has more significant impact on four seasonal whether, and more is appliying like his parent VW too.

But dont’ u think it is nicer as part of the car accesories? Support abut our local car la bro…

• foxis on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:24 am

Anyone knows about the engine spec. ?

• Jimmy on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:34 am

Original Hang Tuah is much more beautiful than this cheap-looking car (from the limited front view).

• ae101 on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:36 am

Enuffff of protonggg!!. Really bad experience from previous waja. Parts mahal gila than some of the japanese!! More eager to get 2nd hand japan rather than new look but taklak quality punya!!

• jim_tuck on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:41 am

copy honda city head lamp design…another copy cat design…
    shall have endless problem like the others proton model…lousy crap car maker.

• Anoynymous on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Yellow Cab ?

• Anoynymous on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Yellow Cab ??

• JeremyNg90 on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Firstly when Proton show this car , most of the people keep F proton said they copy Forte …….. After get bored with Forte topic , den change to Honda City !!! Den why don u guy said that Forte copy City or City copy Forte ??!! Proton didnt improve u all also F , they started to improve u all also F …. LAME !!!! Why don u all said that FREED look extremely urgly ??? (it’s the fact) why don u guys debate about the “famous” vios look like dugong ??!!

• as usual lah on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:44 pm

forte & city huduh giler…design tak ckup resing utk org muda cm sy..hehe
      hidup proton!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Old wine in new bottle – still use dinasour Cam-Tak-Pro engine?

• old wine makes fine wine…

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Thats a good one. (Expatriate VN) <—– backfired

• I-effed-your-mother on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

blablabla…. Honda civic type R Fd2r still using the K20A engine produced more than a decade ago. Mitsubishi Evo, still using the same engine since the first to the Evo 9. Ej20 still running in impreza since the very first model. And yes? What is your Problem?

• Kruel on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Good engine why change? VS Lousy engine but no skill to change

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

better new engine with new tech than old engine with old shld be scarapped parts, expensive spare parts, hard to find spare parts…..

does means if u rgood u dun want to be better?

• gyrox on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Looks like Forte and it is a good thing coz Forte itself is a good looker…too bad i can’t afford the Forte rm80k ++ price..hopefully this Proton will priced around rm60k lower

• Fluid on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Its a Forte with a Savvy face… so maybe called Forvvy

• rookie on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:48 am

if u want to put it that way..
      i think it should be SaTe..?
      haha~

• Bongcs on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Here goes the never ending debate again !!!!!

• Proton fanboys on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:34 pm

damn many proton fanboys here. we can safely say malaysia car industry is dead. they can produce all sorts of crap cars but people will buy them anyway

• Hi why so many half cut Honda and Toyota because after 200 km the engine is no good anymore but for Proton 200 km is for one year done by taxi but the engine is still ok . There is no crap but you

• awg1031 on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:27 pm

really? which statistic says so? or you just BS’ing..

• eggman01 on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Kinda reminds me of the USDM Civic..

• oligopoli on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm

say all what u want, i still think this car design is very good. an proton is heading to the right direction. now, lets wait for the campro turbo (or this car already has it?).

• I wish Proton Tuah is exactly the concept design.. now the deadlight get smaller.. not cool….

• Raja Ahmad on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:49 pm

wow! I like. a two door version would be better looking. Neo Putra Turbo!

• carlove on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Hope proton will revise the engine….please use timing chain instead of timing belt…

• I have Mercedes with timing change it snap after 3 years and damage the engine the goes to myvi it snap after 3 week so everywhere got error it so perfect as you think.

• Gebang on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Senang cakap ko ada keta mahal…..kat sini bleh la gebang…..

• Quattro on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:23 pm

org yg pakai merc xde masa nak komen kat sini..dia buat bisness lg baik maa

• yippi33 on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:09 pm

this guy probably took this pic with his camera flash on.thats why looks dull espcially the grill..need to see it in flesh then can conclude.looks promising.hopefully the interior is as exciting as the exterior..gudluck proton!

• Nizam80 on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Since this is Proton’s first global car, I can see Proton coming out with hatchback version of this model for the UK market. They love hatchbacks!!

• Johndeep on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:07 pm

We love hatchback too, see how many p2 hatch on the road.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:06 pm

and hopefully a diesel variant too…. The europeans love diesel.

• Yellow colour getting famous nowadays first Lamborghini, Chevrolet, Suzuki Swift Sport and now Proton Tuah. Hope Proton Tuah brings it name together when it launch. Good design love it.

• malaysians on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:18 pm

The yellow color is for testing purposes. Crash test.
    The saleable car would be in 5 different colors.
    Silver, Black, White, Blue Lagoon, and Fire Red.

This car will undergo so many testing as it will be the 1st Proton car to enter Europe.
    Biasalah..Euro N-Cap, you know..6 air bags lah, even the cabin sound proof should be uder 60db..So, Proton has to meet the global std requirement.

Gud luck Proton. Keep up the gud work.

• the yellow does not suit this car.

• Area51LE on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Is it just me or u all can see it, it kinda look like a combination of Honda City & Kia Forte

• rupa semakin menarik,tak kisah la nak cakap apa pun,proton pun ada belajar juga,ingat senang ke nak buat,mungkin lepas ni proton revised jadi macam concept car Tuah,mana tau kan?

• walao on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:02 pm

well, I can see that proton is doing well by introducing some new models. I hope the govt. can consider to lower the import tax for conti cars since proton is doing great day-by-day.
    I hope the power window issue can also be solved in this new model.

• i dont mind the looks. what i hope is:-

i) it has a much stronger integrity than the current material used in the line up (save for inspira since its a mitsu)
    ii) better crush zone and impact absorbent properties
    iii) ABS, EBD, 4 Airbags (at least 2), ESP, rear disc brakes, above average sport rims ALL AS STANDARD and not part of some stupid marketing agenda like b-line, m-line, h-line bullcrap

• wendy on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:24 pm

for the iii) u will get better than that..it has 6airbags plus what u just mentioned

• soundsfishy on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:00 pm

just look at the design.. tis is just typical design of many cars on d roads now. P1 should introduce tis 4/5 years ago. tis design is outdated when time to launch. Boring….

• soundsfishy on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:04 pm

mmm BTW, i think d daytime led is just gimmick.. not having this is not a major cause of road accident in bolehland.

• Pricelift on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:15 pm

I still love my 93′ Proton Saga Liftback. The sound of the closing doors are great!

• Sonic Boomz on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Wow.. look so nice..

Dare to compete on equal grounds with other companies?

Remove the taxes on non-national cars.

Dare a not Proton? Proton fanboys?

Didn’t think so..

• Loneranger on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:22 pm

dude,

be rational as this is P1’s 1st so called global car. It is going to be on par with the other brand but for now stop nagging about tax issue here.

if G doesn’t collect taxes from imported car, do you think economically we can afford to have all what we have now? taxes are meant to build the nation and IF the G follow ur request, from where will G got income to develop our country? maybe from removing subsidy for gas and petrol but then u will shout like hell saying that we are oil producing country but still charging high on petrol. there…..u’ll find another issue to blame the G again…

taxes implemented in developing countries even develop countries except Middle Eastern countries as they got lot of income from oil alone. high or low tax on automotive industry depending on how strong the economy of that particular country. as what has mentioned a lot of time before, maybe US, UK and other country do put low tax on car but have u look at how high is the insurance, toll, oil price, road tax, congestion tax (if u don;t know what is congestion charges, it is a charge to enter ie : city centre to avoid traffic jam). will u be ready if G reduce the car tax but implement the rocket high charge on other things related to car? i bet u won’t dude.

at the moment income from so called HIGH TAX has helped us a lot indirectly. build schools for our children, free books, cheap univ fee (IPTA), PTPTN, petrol subsidy, among other which we use it daily without knowing or too arrogant to admit that it is come from so called HIGH TAX for non-national cars.

let see how the feedback from this car as what i heard that P1 is preparing to enter Europe market aggressively. once Proton is ready and Najib’s target to be high income nation achieved, i believe G will consider to lower the tax as what they did on 0% tax for hybrid car.

juz my 2 cents……no offence ya dude….

• Sonic Boomz on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Taxes deducts funds from the market economy and piles it into government coffers. Without taxes, the funds would be naturally allocated to the most efficient and desirable areas of the economy through the law of demand and supply. However, when these funds are forced into government hands, the natural flow of funds is damaged. So now it is up to the government to allocate the funds. Should we trust that our government can allocate the money to give the people the maximum benefit? From all the PKFZ, NFC, 100-storey tower scandals that has happened. Do you think the government is working for our interest? Billions and billions not accounted for. The PLUS highways you drive on. Built with RM 6 billion. PLUS had already collected 5 times that amount, and what’s the latest news? 17-year extension on toll collection.

• izack04 on Nov 18, 2011 at 7:56 am

If you doing business, didnt you want profit? If i invest 6 billion, i also want 60 billion of profit for as long that i could…..

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm

u got ur point dude but we still have other things that we manage to enjoy rite? what u looking at is a big screen which u know the funds was used for inappropriate projects. but look at smaller picture which u don’t even care to know how they used the money collected from taxes. let me list it down for u:

1) schools
          2) public universities
          3) LRT
          4) Monorail
          5) soon to build MRT
          6) flyovers to reduce congestion
          7) JPA scholarships / PTPTN
          8) low road tax
          9) build better road in urban area
          10) provide clean water supply for urbanites
          11) build low cost houses for lower income families
          12) subsidy on petrol and gas
          13) tax-free item as declared in 2011 Budget
          14) monthly allowance for under privileged citizens, poor, single mothers
          15) upgrade health facilities esp for poorr and urbanites
          16) SOCSO scheme which u only pay very liyyle frpm ur mthly earning but if sumthing happen to you, they will fund u till ur last day
          and the list will go on and on and on….

i know tht u r not benefited from almost 1/2 of the items I’ve mentioned but u r not the only citizen of Msia. so please look at bigger picture in a smaller scale how G spend the fund and u’ll be grateful for all what we have now.

though by lowering the tax for non-national car, how many of Msians can afford conti cars for example. and bear in mind that national car also got tax maaaa…

a country is a big corporation with millions of employee…with good income and of course good financial mgmt, the employee will be benefited. more business means more benefit…..

so if u want to talk about mismanagement of money, maybe u shld look at our neighbouring countries like Indo, Thailand, The Philipines, and India. then only u will hav sense of gratefulness being Msian. let me give u 1 example, Indonesia, a country with lots and lots of resources but did they enjoy what we Msians have? mismanagemt of money happens anywhere but what makes it different here in Msia is we still got tonnes of facilities till we don’t even care to be thankful.

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:15 pm

People are more concern about the money being managed by G. In my opinion most Malaysians nowadays understand the need of taxes in our life. But PLEASE, stop listing out things such as provide low-cost homes, water-supply, better road, subsidies, LRT, etc which people have already known some time ago. Its becoming outdated. Malaysians especially who lived in the city are tired of these old reasons and excuses by G.

And stop comparing with other third world countries and say that Malaysians are ungrateful. Its becoming lame now. Take other developed countries such as Japan or Korea as an example for us to become developed. Then we can compare how much we have achieved and how much we still need to progress.

Last but not least, good job Proton. Nice car indeed. After a good experience with persona, I am eager to visit their showroom when this model comes out. Well, seeing is believing.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 19, 2011 at 1:30 am

By comparing us to countries like Indon, is seriously lame and silly. The concerns of any average Malaysians regarding funds management and mismanagement is something we all must have at some point in this life. Why do we pay taxes ? why do we contribute so epf and socso ? Who do we get taxed on this and that ? Yes, I agree we are not thankful enough and yes, we have every right to do so. Why ? Because what we have contributed does not even reflect in the progress of things around us. We pay more, we expect more. Blame it on human nature or whatever there is to blame I don’t care. But the truth is, our G has the penchant to do things which are usually redundant or projects which costs waaaaaaaaaaay more than when they were first calculated and no, I don’t buy excuses such as rise of raw materials and what not. It’s the obvious truth that, what we get from the G now is not even up to par to what we as tax payers have contributed. Ask those who get income tax deductions of 7% or more, they will know what I’m talking about here

• hoochiez on Nov 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Damn this P1 cybertrooper thrash… Still wanna talk rubbish and claim that high import taxes and excise duties for imported cars are meant to provide for all the subsidies… Let me say it once again ! From 2007 – 2010, the tax and duties collected averages 300mil – 400mil per year. Our annual subsidies budget allocated is 30billion !!! You still dare claim such taxes and duties are meant for provision of subsidies and NOT for the protection of P1 ??? Again, let me repeat, there is NOTHING WRONG with protecting the industry, BUT, it needs to produce RESULTS.. To date, P1 has NOT delivered any tangible results worth shouting about, and that’s the brutal truth ! Why ? Corruption ! Crony-ism ! Just face it !

Be thankful to the G ? Gosh… U sound like BN-trooper as well !!! Why should we tax payers be grateful ? For all the years of plundering and corruption ? Don’t talk rubbish la… Every G and G-servants are suppose to serve the rakyat… Eh fren, who do you think pay for the G-servants’ pension after they retire, which continues to be given to his\her spouse even after death ? The tax paying RAKYAT !!! We should be grateful ? And not the other way around ??

Your 2cents really is worthless !!!! Period !!!

• William on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Hope they improve the interior material…. they already successfully improve waja interior on the waja cps hope they can make it on this persona R too

• maaajeeedaaa on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:23 pm

whatever the spec..my greatest concern is still the aftersales service and spareparts….if the prices are too high, it means no improvement to proton….ciao…oh ya..Perodua still way too far behind Proton with this design muahahahahaha

• hisham on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Have no probs with the car, but why do they have to introduce a new name?? Tuah sound just nice, but why don’t they named it as Wira or any other previous proton’s car names…i’m not really a Honda’s fan, but they have stick to their brands by keeping names like.civics, accord, integra, etc…despite it has been in the market for years…dont know about the rest of u, its just me i guess..

• Ha Gnih on Nov 19, 2011 at 2:06 am

I have the same view as you bro. Why name it something else when they had their best selling models like the Wira. Honestly, when the Satria Neo was launched that time, I was slightly disappointed because Satria was launched after the Wira and why suddenly no Wira, but straight away jumped to Satria ? haha.

With the Satria’s ‘slightly’ muscular looking body, I bet if there’s ever gonna be a Wira Neo, it’s going to look awesome !!! But of course, only when paired with a Mitsu engine. But thing that baffles me. Waja replacement is the current Inspira ain’t it ? Hmmmm…..comparison wise, I think Proton had done a major mixed up. As we all know, the Wira has always been the Lancer inspired model. Why couldn’t they just let the Inspira be a Wira replacement model ? Utter weirdness *speechless*

• PokokCerryMechanic on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:35 pm

let hope its has nice engine(no more timing belt pls)…and most important it does not hurt my wallet…GO proton

• student on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:23 pm

black color with a plain grill should be a bad ass looker!

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Forte ! My Foot !!

Clearly this car resemble pre facelifted Honda Euro Accord R.

• Julian Lee on Nov 17, 2011 at 6:57 pm

BMW Better

• Absolute Rider on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm

BMW better!!!! Buggati better!!! Porsche better!!! Mercedes Benz better!!!! Lamborghini better….. EVEN FROM A – Z!!!!!

wait!!! wait!!! wait!!! ALL THESE CARS DID BURNED INTO FLAMES TOO!!!

Now we are talking about P3-21A as Proton real first global car….. The image as the first impression.

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:32 am

Yup I agree. It can carries more passenger than any other car could. Err…. do u mean the Bas Mini Wilayah yg dulu2 tu ke?

• twskola on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:02 pm

u guys say copycat look at the new crv copy sorento,sportage you guys never talk pulak how can this country develop when the rakyat look up at foreign products thats why I respect koreans

• Hunny Bunny on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Kia Forte is a joke car why anyone wants to follow Forte design, more resemble Ford Focus 2011 at the side view. Kia Forte got sluggish handling, underpowered for 1.6, cheap design…More worthy to get Ford Fiesta if the Proton Tuah price above RM75k

• steam_man on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:39 pm

bullshit, forte 1.6 is faster than 1.6 fiesta, the dual clutch so jerky.

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:36 pm

maybe u dont know how to drive dual-clutch car?

• misbun sidek on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:14 pm

mcm savvy je design luar nya….kalo model nih la yg keluar..memang big mistake la proton coz the proto-design is far more better lorrr. however in the end, tetap akan ada org yg akan beli this model..especially those ‘forte wannabe’ who can’t afford.. =p

• The concept looks better. Still a nice car though. Better than any other car in their lineup.

• There seems to be a hint of Kia Forte to this design…its quite prominent from this angle..the front fender design seems exactly the same to give the car a lower and a more planted look at the front.

• Absolute Rider on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Paul, I’m still wondering what type of suspension setup for rear. Anyway, the grill, head lamps and wing mirror really not looking nice…..

Hopefully, it’s Multi link as its handle road better!!!

Proton, hopefully you will launches the R3 edition within 6 months time when this model still looking fresh… waiting a year or two will bring the car to 1/5 – 2/5 of it’s life cycle and near to it’s first facelifted model launched.

• as usual lah on Nov 18, 2011 at 2:39 am

bro..jgn risau..mmg multilink..persona r dlm kategori C segment..
      torsion beam plg byk dlm kategori B segment spt vios,myvi,saga,fiesta,city,latio?…

• Absolute Rider on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Kia Forte using torsion beam and many others as torsion beam is cheaper, safe internal space but kinda lack with its performance on handling road compare to multi link.

we are talking about pros and cons for both. multi link is complex, more expensive to build and using more internal space because of the location of coil springs / dampers. however, road handling is much better than torsion beam, as multi link is independent and torsion beam uses torsion bar across the chassis of the car. can get info about these both through the internet… no need to explain to much here… hehehe…

• Let’s do a quick survey:

Since this new Waja P3-21A really Proton Global Car then should prove it give buyers whole car LifeTime Warranty plus LifeTime FREE Servicing (parts+labour). Now that’s worth the money paid?

A) Absolutely Yes!
    B) Bring it on why not!
    C) Couldn’t agree more!
    D) Damn right!

• DewaSemut on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:10 am

E) If Proton is a company belongs to you, would you offer these?

• M Bee on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

You ask Honda & Toyota to give all that and then I say do it Proton.

If not STFU

• The headlight actually looks like older version of Audi TT to me…. Nice! but the grille spoilt the nice look!

• sabah on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:48 pm

this is very nice! cayalah!

• the ugliest creature i’ve ever seen on earth!

• let’s see, I heard Perodua is going to release new models next year.
    Alza facelift and replacement for ViVa.
    I could say that I like sedan, but for me who living in city (Penang), I prefer Perodua cars due to better fuel consumption.
    MyVi lagi best (extreme) is amazing!
    I love it.

I do hope Perodua and Proton will make a good collaboration soon.
    urban people prefer compact car, look at Ford Fiesta, VW Polo, New Insight (hatchback).

• chis, nyesal aku beli BMW

• jimbo on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Its time for Proton people to develop own DSG transmission…coupled with turbo campro engine..i bet it will be fun car to drive…

• fitriariff on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:36 pm

emm..aiyark..front grille..xnice la..

• sabah on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:39 pm

kia forte sucks..

• samad on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm

tak mahu pakai janganlah kutuk. kalau merasakan diri terlalu bagus, bijak buatlah sendiri dan kemudian cuba jual manalah tahu ramai yang nak beli. walaupun saya pemilik civic, saya tetap hormati proton dan produknya kerana mereka telah buat apa yang saya tak mampu buat.

• inderaloka on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Hello Proton, dah kekeringan idea ke? Kenapa ubah design headlamp tu? Design asal (konsep) dah ok apa. Bukan masalah tak suka sebab design headlamp tu sama dengan Honda City, tapi kalau terus macam ni, sampai bila Proton Design nak berkembang maju dan hasilkan reka bentuk kereta Proton yang tersendiri? Pleaselah Proton/Proton Design, tolong sedar dari lamunan! Be creative and come out with new ideas!!

• inderaloka on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Paul asked: “Do you like what you see?”

My answer is: No, i don’t.

• hommedaffaire on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Look alike Honda City..

• Unforgiven on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm

You’ll feel more peaceful and the heart will be clean when the business is, please remove the protectionism and sell it with a fair price in M’sia. P1 is ready to have a fair flight and 1 on 1 with Jap/Korean. Please do that so that those in Proton will feel clean and not doing those dirty business. Please be good, not just to yourself but for the future generation as well.

• Bryan Ng on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Okay, honestly, my 1st impression was, it looked like a city, just very much less appealing.

• disappointed on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:31 pm

first glance, the yellow color is outstanding, but not the car.. sorry to say.
    if this is the best potong can give, tuhan please help them.
    headlight is outdated… add LED daytime running to distract the headlight design? good try.
    please note that LED daytime is for continental car! not for cheap car who want to be continental car! it is a branded signature to differenciate what is elegant and what is not!
    even japanese car don’t have LED daytime light because they know which car and what car that comes with LED light.
    i dont wish our road filled up with potong car with LED daytime running light.. i wish to see LED from audi, volkwagen, mercz, bmw.. that willl keep our roads more pleasant.

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 1:37 am

dude,

what Proton doing is fulfilling what the bashers wanted. basher all over have been yelling at Proton to do the LED daytime light. it is what MOST of Proton bashers wanted.

conti car manufacturer never claim that LED daytime light is theirs. so any car manufacturers have option to have it as part of their car. unless Audi, MB, BWM, etc…etc patent it only then the other car maker can’t use it.

please, people always bash Proton for not being up to date with current design but t least they are trying to cater Malaysians needs though it is a bit behind compared to conti car maker. we are about 30 years behind in terms of technology to developed countries but what Proton did is putting the gap narrower than before.

cheap car? wasn;t that the aim of having Proton on our road? u think most Malaysians can afford conti car? same goes to what China car maker is doing and even worse. they copy cat every single inch of their competitors design. what Proton did is to take what they think will satisfy us Malaysian and incorporate it with their own design i would say. i know u will talk about G is protecting Proton. come on dude, as a father won;t u protect ur child? as i mentioned earlier pertaining the HIGH TAX on non-national car, it is more on economy benefits to us rather than protecting 1 single entity. at least Proton is not as bad as MAS in terms of revenue wise and funds.

juz look at how Korean car manage to achieve what they have now is becoz their people proud if their on product and correct me if I’m wrong, Korean G did once blocked importation of imported car juz to protect their industry.

please don’t compare 26 y.o company with company that have been in the field for more than 50 or 100 years. and from where do we learn bout life if not from the elder. that is what Proton is doing. we also so called copy cat what the elders is doing ( the good part of course) and is it wrong for Proton to do the same plus later stage will improve what they learn from old timer car makes and be better or at least on par with them.

juz my 2 cents…..

• littlefire on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:24 am

Dude, China car manufacturer is younger then us, have more competition but still in front of us in term of engine technology & safety.. how to explain? By saying their daddy is more richer then us ah? If we still go like this turtle pace, how we going to survive internationally?

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:15 pm

yes….true.

did u know in terms of economy China is far ahead from us? which makes their father is richer lor……

and 1 more thing, how big is China market compare to us?

plus they are buying their local made product with pride though the quality is not as good as imported products….*thts why they are copy cat almost every product and sell it cheap. including cars……

u know y they got good tech? coz they are like Proton when it started 26 years ago. collaborate with foreign company.

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:58 pm

You are right. Collaboration with other car manufacturers will help to innovate technologies and improved current ones we have. Learn from the experts and avoid failures to cut research time and resources.

• Loneranger on Nov 19, 2011 at 1:09 pm

before accepting any collaboration, Proton is particuler bout who will they work with…

reason :

1) will the company share their knowlegde and tech or juz want Proton to rebagde their car ie : Perodua case.

2) is there any intention of buying over Proton as Proton belongs to us. if thts the case better of Proton stand alone than we Msian have no right for whar we have created….

juz my 2 cents

• Basher want G to liberalise the car market la….not Potong cars….aiyooo

• Loneranger on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:23 pm

2015 @ 2016 dude (correct me if i’m wrong)…they will liberalize the automotive industry…….haven’t u read..

i bet u dun even know that G has liberalize the banking industry….but not at once…they are doing it in stages. same goes to automotive industry…..so be patient and ur wish will be fulfilled….

• nila,kang kata stupid kang mrh.
      Len kali,nk ckp,check dl. Bila masa plak drl ni utk kete mewah ajek? Badigol betullah. Maaf byk plak nyumpah ko. Drl tuh dah jadi wajib bg kete nk masuk euro coz dianggap slh satu safety function,bukan nak melawo. Dah jd regulation nk enter market europe. Bkn utk kete conti ajer.
      Bukan lampu led after market yg ko tgk org beli kat ahbeng tuh. Ni lampu, walupun siang ari,xpasang lampu,dia nyala. Mcm undang2 motosikal kat masia, start enjin,lampu nyala,xda suis off. Ada phm? Tp bleh jer nk buat overide punya suis,tp dh nama utk safety,so,baik xyah.
      Len kali, kalu tau diri tu kurang ilmu,jgn tunjuk sgt kekurangan tuh,coverline ckit. K,maaf lg skali.

• Sonic Boomz on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:47 am

What language are you talking sir??

• mbmbi on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:51 am

sila martabatkan bahasa malaysia anda.

• baiklah encik mbm mbi. Saya cakap guna bahasa harian sahaja. Jarang jarang kita tulis dalam forum perbincangan kereta guna bahasa penulisan formal kecuali untuk penulisan artikel. Banyak yang guna kata kependekan, dan macam macam lagi. Kalau macam itu, perkataan ‘sorry’ pun salah.
          Mungkin saudara mbm mbi bertutur menggunakan bahasa melayu formal setiap hari. Jadi saya pasti yang biasa sebut ‘side mirror’, mesti saudara mbm mbi sebut cermin pandang sisi kan. Selamat datang ke laman sesawang paultan yang membicarakan perihal kenderaan di malaysia. Maaf, biasa menaip menggunakan telefon bimbit, mungkin ada yang tersilap.

By the way, i’m not one of proton engineer, just a passerby who is lucky to get loads of information from those in proton and lucky enough to see bundle of p n c photos of upcoming cars, but forgive me because cannot copy the photos, so cannot share, but only can share information in term of writing. I believe that there are other blogs that have a lot of informations about proton, just need to google it.
          Happy surfing. Selamat berlayar.

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Dey, too proud to let other car manufacturers put LED on their cars aa? I can put LED on my bicycle so whats the fuss. Whatlaa this people

• aero_solitude on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:17 pm

you really are a disappointment , mr disappointed. do put your feet where your mouth is

• Absolute Rider on Nov 20, 2011 at 7:53 am

to disappointed:

LED daytime running lights it’s not for branded car. it is the CHEAP way of added safety feature of car. as LED is energy saving and it can give motorist and road user a clearer view as many road user don’t border to switch on their car lights during rainy days or very dark or cloudy day.

• Nizam80 on Nov 24, 2011 at 3:17 pm

You look like an obvious attention seeker. Btw, those factory-equipped DRLs on those Benzes, Beemers, Audis, etc really looks good…. But they are not just for show you know. Relax, I know you’re jealous as Proton are starting to fit them straight out of the factory.

• this car is being prepared for crash test la….that’s why it’s in yellow..

• nice car. hopefully price range around 40-50k

• one more think, there is no branded term used in english for product mr dissapointed coz every product has a brand even cap ayam @ ayam brand :-). But u can use iconic brand, popular brand, top marques, well known brand, established brand n etc but not branded.
    Unless u buy product that has no name or brand. So u can call others as branded coz this one doesnt have a name@brand. Just food for thought mr dissapointed.

• sorry, typo, mr disappointed.

• Regina on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:45 am

I like what I see but I think that the original headlights design was much better than the one on the car currently – it’s bigger, which suits the bigger car, and also it had a much nicer shape to it.

I wonder why they decided to change the lights :(

• keep it simple, got room for mods !

• i just dont like the front grille.its too…common. others looks fine by me.wait till the rear spyshot reveals!

• mr.proton on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:18 am

like it or hate it… every topic relate to proton will attract a lot of attentions.. so proton… again…… pls dont dissapoint us.. proof it.. other wise.. beli honda city la gamaknye… tengah tunggu lagi ni… tapi tangan dah gatal nak pergi sign cheque.. hihihi

• farizY on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:00 am

The comments posted in Paul Tan have never failed to make my day!! LOL!!

Proton moving forward, that’s good…hopefully it’ll be on par (or by any chance, better than) with whatever we currently have on the market (similar class, of course), I’ve always been excited when there’s a new Proton model coming out..nice…

• cantik je kereta ni. takde masalah pun. yang dok kutuk2 Proton tu kenapa ye agaknye? ada bad history dengan Proton or sekadar jadik ‘anjing menyalak bukit’?

Proud owner of Proton Waja.

• Quattro on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:42 pm

yang mana yak suka pergilah main jauh2..takpayah komen kat sini daaa…buang masa anda saja…bagi laluan utk komen membina

• Kenapa perlu warna kuning ???

• Saga R3 Biru on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:27 pm

This is not finalize design. Bentuk body jer will remain the same. Proton learn how people is so excited about their new car. See for the Exora case. Spyshot everywhere.

Proton purposely make this car look ugly so people will appreciate this car when it is launch. Blood can come out from your nose if you see it later. Especially the white one..

• Quattro on Nov 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm

proton >>>please bring white color like new city se..banyak laku maaaa…laris di pasaran

• at lease proton make something nicer now~ whatever it u guys keep coment the look like from whom or copy from whom.. dont care! at lease we can enjoy the car with better price and enjoy same standard like those expensive car!

and yet the main point! is HOW MUCH its gonna be like!!

• i hope proton will install new engine in the new model…then i probably buy it..

• Highway Star 82 on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Something is really wrong with this car. The Tuah concept(although Clay) looks alot better. The headlamp that i was amazed about when i saw the Tuah looks very cheap and boring in this car. Why is the DRLED segmented in 3 parts like that? haiz.. save cost?

I don’t see any improvement made to this car. it looks like a Myvi 1.5 or a Saga flx. Right, nothing special.

Proton finally had a cool concept that can rival forte and other C segment cars but just ruined it. what a disappointment this has been. I loved the Tuah’s design and was hoping this will be the turning point for Proton.

The engine is nothing special also. Anyone can mod a turbo. Wonder how much they’re gonna sell it. if its about 70k. surely wont laku one.

I wont recommend this “Global” car to anyone unless the NCAP rating can prove me wrong.

• Absolute Rider on Nov 20, 2011 at 7:57 am

global car is not about NCAP. It’s about the car can be accept by all markets around the world. what the manufacturer does is to change left or right hand drive.

• Highway Star 82 on Nov 21, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Well, what differs Malaysian cars and others is actually the safety. They did a pretty good job with Exora. Wish it can be replicated here since the chasis is similar.

Looking at the grille and lights… doesn’t give me confidence ady.

Its like .. trailer cantik…. but movie sucks. *disappointed*

• buy persona R hline and you will get:

1. Turbocharged engine
    2. 6 speed auto cvt
    3. Paddle shift
    4. 6 airbags
    5. Lighter weight
    6. Cheaper service
    7. 5 years warranty
    8. under 10s sprint
    9. Cruise Control
    10. Multi link suspension – LOTUS ride and handling
    11. DRL
    12. Conti-design by Guigiaro
    13. More fuel economic
    14. Lower roadtax than 2.0l car but same power
    16. Lesser depreciation than most conti and jap car due to much cheaper price and…

can smoke all big but weaker 2.0l cars anytime anyday!

• johndoe on Nov 19, 2011 at 3:51 pm

the lousy maCampro turbocharged???…gonna see a lot of broken engine parts on the roads soon with the new persona on road side with smoke from the engine….totally not worht buying Potongs and spend half the time to and fro workshop and service centre….small collison will cause car bcome roti canai….can smoke 2.0 cars on straight dry roads….come to wet and winding road, the higher build quality and stable foreign cars can outrun this junk safely……

• turbo on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:49 pm

don’t be stupid , lotus rnh do have excellent handling during wet and winding roads, better than jap cars and on par with contis. now already many users turbo charge their campro engine users already , if you don’t know just look at camproturbo.com. google and read more puuhhhleeeeeaaaaaaaaaase

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:52 am

Haiyaaaa… orang beli kereta Proton yang dia pi beli kereta Potong buat apa? memang padan laa asyik masuk bengkel je. Cite gebang x gune, bile dh ade kt showroom nanti pi tengok n test drive, pastu baru komen

• sharon on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm

i think u need to check with your lousy thinking brain. audi R8 also did burned too!!!

• mizzuddin945 on Nov 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

i do drive persona on karak wet winding curves at 120km/h leisurely… strictly without any need to change lanes

• Aleck on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:15 pm

10. Multi link suspension – Lotus Ride and handling

Only 10% true. As 90% of the work was done inhouse by Malaysians for Malaysians.

I would say ‘Proton’s Ride and Handling’ as we have matured in this area to have our own local touch.

The public should be the judge on how it performs when the car hits the roads. Im optimistic this will be a proof that we can do it on our own.

• query on Nov 20, 2011 at 8:53 pm

i dun care, what i know is proton has excellent ride and handling

• taboogen on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:38 pm

2. 6 speed auto cvt
      3. Paddle shift

hermmm wrong info dude… its 7virtual speed cvt and it does not come with paddle shift.. just imagine you’ve got 7 gears to change and i doubt people will use it… just asked all the lancer gt or inspira 2.0 owner do they use the paddle shift everyday.. even my boss say he use it on the first day only… later boring already want to change manually

• luqman hakim on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:51 pm

nice one…huhu

• Mum and sister are waiting for this car. Mum wants to part exchange her reliable gen2 while sis her first car.

• lady drift on Nov 19, 2011 at 12:20 pm

sexy..especially the white one..glass roof hah..i like..

• cloudz on Nov 19, 2011 at 2:22 pm

i see a ‘Malaysia’s Mustang’!!
    woohoo….way to go Proton!

• Peloton on Nov 19, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Yellow everybody! Aiyaa..grill tanduk macam myvi jugak kaa?

• SuperDify on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:52 pm

WHAT LA U!!!!!????
      D grill thing does exist during d 1st Persona la bang……..

• SWee Swee on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:26 pm

How’s the rear side look like???

• SuperDify on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:56 pm

I bet d promo slogan 4 this P3-21A will be:

“EXCITEMENT EXPECTED”!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Like this model, well done PROTON!!!

• SuperDify on Nov 19, 2011 at 7:59 pm

i BET D PROMO SLOGAN 4 THIS MODEL WOULD BE:

” ExCITEMENT Expected”!!!!!!!!!
    Like it, GO PROTON KEEP UP D GOOD WORK!!!!
    Beat P2!!!!

• safari on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:14 am

similar to new civic front end

• 0rganica on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:08 am

yes..its similar..here i show your the picture that I hv edited..
      http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/309565_2484627209481_1666650204_2459146_1005046526_n.jpg

• wheeler on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Oh, for goodness sake, it’s persona design cues + savvy’s lah, you *%^$#@*!

• I’m looking forward to the car, hopefully with the global spec, it comes with greater reliability. I’m a bit disappointed though with the headlight, was hoping it will be the same as the Proton Tuah concept car, the concept car headlight looks stunning. Anyway, this is my next to buy car, can’t wait for it to be launch. No more disappointment, finger crossed. ;)

• wheeler on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Proton never fail to hype up the persona-R but whoever took this photo should be penalized or sacked by proton!

• Mr Funny on Nov 21, 2011 at 8:42 pm

This is just one of their marketing strategy. Purposely leak out some photos to entice the buyers..

• Highway Star 82 on Nov 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Hope it will my first car too.. hahaa

• r u sure tax collected every year is around 400 millions per year? Even for car, tax is minimum around 10k, annual sales around 500k unit, thats counted around 10 billions. Thats the minimum figure. Its more than that coz it can be up to may be 400k per car for the high end.
    For pensioner, they used up the annual allocation which gov has to allocate for epf around 12 percent permonth if he@she decide to opt for epf, but since opt for pension scheme, the gov dont pay it, but the allocation is there. Yup, 30 years of service, doesnt mean can receive another 30 years of pension even for spouse. Life is short nowadays.
    when u mention tax payers money, yes, it is true, but need also to remember, they the gov servant also pay tax. Everybody pay tax. If u dont like the current G, just vote for others. Not supporting current G, but i’m not sure whether the others wil discard the tax coz it is country’s income.
    R u period? :-)

• Miskin Malaysian on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Huihh!!Lawa kereta ni,macam Forte letak badge proton.Sure selamat bawak laju dalam hujan ni.Bodoh betul siapa cakap kereta Proton tak bagus.Enjin power,body keras,interior moden,harga murah,design lagi lawa dari kereta Jepun.
    Sure laku kaw-kaw punyalah!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:27 am

Ha ha ha! Wah, bro, u really like Proton? Cannot afford to buy H, T or N? Kesian! I really pity those people who own Proton and Perodua coz they have no choice but to but these crappy cars. Why? Tak mampu belilah. Never mind, work harder and earn more money so that you can drive a good Japanese car.

• veryw on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:16 pm

i can afford to buy japanese car but it doesn’t suit my ‘taste’

• T & H user on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:26 pm

currently use T and H,but i still like new generation of Proton cars,lately they are getting better and better. esp in terms of design.price also can be consider as competetive.
        after driving and buying cars for 40years, for the first time i feel like to order Tuah, not one,but two!for me and my child..
        can u guys imaging,how far they have develop from 1983 with first generation of saga..

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2011 at 9:46 pm

max i can afford is golf , comfortably, but now still a proton. H? nahh… soooooooo effing boring man the honda city , dah la tayar kurus tapi 16″, rase nk lempang2, bontot buruk. T? nah…… dont like the unclish styling.

still looking for a new car. maybe nex year june i ll replace my proton with something else. upgrading mahhh… but not T&H for sure

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:28 am

Lagi lawa dari kereta Jepun? U mimpikah, bro? Ha ha X1000.

• veryw on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:14 pm

mmg lawa dari keta jepun yg buruk-buruk contoh vios yang mcm dugong, city yg mcm transformer dan alphard yg mcm buku roti

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:24 am

City macam transformer memang cantik tetapi Vios macan dugong memang hodoh.

• Annoynimouse on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:56 pm

I like… Looks a bit “gemuk” from some angle don’t you guys think?

• Its like handphone, just changed the body casing.

Internal still ‘tin milo quality’.

So sad, so sad.

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2011 at 9:26 pm

what is milo tin? put some source from wehre u got that fact and material code used for the chasis la if u really KNOW or SYOH AWAY FAST FAST

• Faiz EZ Motorsport on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Eh, why so difficult. Buy Proton if you feel want to. Do not buy if you don’t want lor.

• razordous on Dec 03, 2011 at 10:49 pm

If you want to buy it, just buy it. If not, don’t buy it. Negative thinking means that you are negative thinker. Always negative and that is why. Talk cheap and do nothing is just what you are.

• Mokmeng on Dec 06, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Bumper depan tak sama dgn tuah..bumper tuah ada iras2 inspira sikit..

• Carlzen on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:03 pm

the yellow one looks like bumblebee LoL.

• fraz006 on Dec 16, 2011 at 9:13 pm

everything looks good. but dont like the small wheel arch bulge. like saga BLM, fierce head and body but legs look small.

myvi, viva, fiesta are examples of good size wheel arch bulge. even though the wheels are shit small, but still look nicely proportionate from far.

just my eyes i guess

• well i saw a lot of critic and argue here,
    critic is good to produce a better car,
    arguement i dont think so,
    there’s no such a perfect card in the world!!!
    every car has what you like or dislike.
    if i was you,
    i will only buy a car that pass ncap and nhtsa crash test for 4 or 5 star overalll
    so you know the car is safe, and not just that.
    when the car itself able to withstand the crash that’s mean the car can
    handle much more pressure in any condition, maybe when u make turning in high speed. in other word the car is stable.
    so my advice dont just buy a car,
    do a research 1st, regarding crash test, handling, fuel consumption, then u make a choice.
    my opinion proton never pass ncap and nhtsa crash test over 3 star overall.

• cerewet on Jan 12, 2012 at 5:45 pm

I’m wonder it comes with retractable side mirror? Even the little things that make big impact. fyi, KL is become more packed

• AlteredChord on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Sorry to disagree! I don’t think Proton have what it takes to compete against the best in the world if they keep on producing poorly, awkward designed cars like this. I think they live in their own world without realizing what are happening in the outside. They failed miserably to realize what is the latest trend presently and in the not too distant future of amongst the competitors in motoring trend of designs. I suspect the chief designer of Proton must be somebody in his late 60s/70s, who have a very poor taste of what a good and a savvy designed car is all about. Worst of all, after for more than a couple of decades, Proton still fail to establish its own distinctive image and marque. Somebody out there have tons of ideas of it, yet not a single model from Proton ever met that criterias.

• Wilson on Jan 23, 2012 at 2:03 am

Nice design, but proton still have a long way to go to build an impression on their quality, needless to say about performance and fuel consumption – which is until to-date have nothing to brag about.

What good does it make, having just the look?

• gagakhitam on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:47 pm

terbaek la…kereta mampu milik,beli la jenama malaysia.lau rase x mampu pakai kete import pakai la kereta jenama malaysia..spare part senang dapat,x pening kepala,service pon murah..rileks2 sudah.

• gagakhitam on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:54 pm

terbaekkkk….kereta cantek,spare part senang dapat,service banyak tempat..lau setakat pakai kete import duit dalam kocek tinggal seringgit malu oooo nak bawak family jalan.pakai la kereta mampu milik.lau setakat pakai kete import second nak wat pe.malu wei.kahkahkahkah lu fikir la sendiri..

• gagakberantai on Jan 31, 2012 at 3:06 pm

kereta mampu milik,spare part senang dapat,murah,kereta baru,terbaekkkk
    lau setakat pakai kereta import second x payah la.kahkahkah.itu nme nya x mampu beli kereta jenama malaysia…..

• komplen pun tak guna.. yang komplen tu hanya 0.01 percent of rakyat malaysia..
    after production.. tgk la kat jalanraya.. melambak orang pakai… yang komplen tu suma sacarstic…

• yang komplen tu hanya sebesar kuman jer.. tak der kesan pun … proton keep up the good work…!!!!

• teramat amatlah cantiknya ko, mcm virgin gtuh. dari banyak sudut proton tetap berbaloi dimiliki.. hanya jauhari sahaja yang kenal akan manikam. cuma bagi aku kualiti jangka hayat secara keseluruhan perlu dipertingkatkan sedikit.. mungkin dgn cara itu proton dapat mengekalkan value product walaupun tak setanding dengan jenama dari luar negara, sekurang-kurangnya harga tak drop bila masuk ke use car.

• Ajaib u dumb…
    there is a production factor tht u need to consider lor…
    moulding, machine etc..
    othrwse the price will be RM1 million…who wanna buy?u?

• Maveriqx on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:34 am

I think this could be the deal breaker which Proton needs to turn around the company!
    Sure hope the interior finishing will not be a dissapointment…..

• akupeduliapa on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:54 pm

I tot it was forte… ha… ha…

• ChickenShop on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Proton need to sell car at cheaper price then others. That is why they use part that are already there in the market. If the stick to the concept design, the vendor need to produce it from A to Z which will cost more. At least we all can own a decent car here in Malaysia.

• ChickenShop on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Design is one thing….production is one thing. Proton sell car cheap so that Malaysian can buy. So they have to make do with part which is already in the market produced by vendor. So it is a business decision not design decision….same like building here in Malaysia…not many with good design..most are squareish…easily build and cheap easy to get material.