VW gives workers respite from Blackberry messages

VW gives workers respite from Blackberry messagesIn a move that should hopefully unshackle the idea that work has to follow one home, Volkswagen has agreed to stop sending emails through Blackberry devices to its workers in Germany after working hours.

According to reports, an agreement was reached between the company and its labour representatives that will see the email function being deactivated at night for the 1,154 pay-scale employees at VW’s six plants in Germany who have a smartphone device furnished by the company.

These workers will only receive e-mails from half an hour before the start of flex-time working hours until half an hour after they end, but will still be able to receive and make phone calls. Board level execs will however continue to receive emails via their Blackberry devices.

The move came about following complaints from employees that being reachable all the time blurred the lines between work and home life as well as heighten the risk of burnout. Needless to say, the response to the decision to deactivate e-mails at night has been very positive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• DavidB on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:18 am

blackberry free moments… :P

• Joe Radzif on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:39 am

Bestnya…
    dapat BB…

• limaunipis on Dec 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm

clearly, one person failed to understand the article.

kesian.

• tokmoh on Dec 27, 2011 at 8:54 pm

LOLZ

It seems he has yet to understand the crackberry syndrome, and why it’s known as a “crack”.

• Joe Radzif on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:31 am

bro…
        akoo tak comment pasal artikel tu la..
        akoo cakap best kerja kat sana dapat bb free
        akoo kerja kilang je bro…
        kena pakai duit sendiri nak beli hp
        tu pun malam-malam security guard call sebab ada orang kena histeria…

• limaunipis on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm

bro…

aku pun kerja kilang jugak
          maaf banyak2 kalau terasa
          tapi VW bagi BB bukan untuk staff diaorang enjoy send/receive email atau tayang kat member2
          kalaulah ko tau betapa seksanya “dipaksa” guna BB, ko kan tak nak punya kemudian

peace…

• Lim Kopi on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:48 am

Human Rights ….

Only available in the Western World….

• High time to implement this in our country!

• adiia3 on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:55 am

here? just switch off phone la.

• PakAbu on Dec 27, 2011 at 1:11 pm

If you switch off your phone, of course your boss can’t directly talk to you. But with BB, he just email you at 8 pm and… because it’s pushed email, the email must arrive to you. No matter if the phone is off or not, for the boss, the email is guaranteed to arrive to you …. and he expects you finish the tasks by the next morning.

Then how?

That’s why the VW workers want that practice to stop. If the email is sent late evening, it should only arrive tomorrow morning. The boss can’t expect you to burn midnight oil just because the boss himself is tardy.

:mrgreen:

• MoFaz on Dec 27, 2011 at 4:36 pm

then how?
        tomorrow i will not submit the work, but resignation letter! haha.

• No need to switch off the phone. Just turn off the data service and you won’t be able to receive/send emails…or browse the internet for that matter. :)

• confused on Dec 27, 2011 at 11:41 am

Hopefully be implemented here as well in my company I’m working…

• VW’s employees are lazy bunch.

• Hadi75 on Dec 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm

How do you know they’re lazy bunch???if they’re lazy, VW wouldn’t be one of the biggest carmaker in the world…

• What are you? A stupid machine? Human need to rest too! Not working all the time like machine..

• tokmoh on Dec 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm

They’re just being efficient.

Just read the article in my comment below. We Malaysians work so much more, even very high percentage bring home their work. Is our country better than Germany? Hohohohoho

• tokmoh on Dec 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Work-life balance level: Germans

Meanwhile in Malaysia:

http://thestar.com.my/columnists/story.asp?file=/2011/11/14/columnists/mondaystarters/9897309&sec=mondaystarters

Asians.

• Gavin on Dec 27, 2011 at 2:23 pm

I receive but i don’t reply unless supreme urgent.

But in Malaysia, the stupids like to go ‘see i got berakberry from my company, i big manyzer’

hahaha

• No wonder VW service is poor.

• Kumar san on Dec 27, 2011 at 4:15 pm

This will never happen here that’s for sure,i personally don’t practice/don’t believe in sending e mails to my staff via our company issued Blackberry’s,unless of course it’s extremely urgent.

As it is,we have a stressful working atmosphere,therefore,i firmly believe that my staff should have their quality time with their family and friends after working hours.It’s basic human rights i reckon.I’m the only one who practices this for my company/dept as i was abroad in a western country for a good 15 years before coming back here recently.

I also believe that work related matters should be kept at the office and not brought home,then you won’t have a life.That’s being selfish and unfair to your employees,you should value/appreciate/reward them accordingly for an honest and good job done,not burn them to the point their health deteriorates.Then again,this is what i do personally for my employees,it’s a mindset thingy over here,and it’s ardous task to change.Asians in general are like this.

Just my 2 cents.Cheers.

• rally_fan on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:54 am

the 1 guy who put thumbs down for you is probably a manager in some local company who loves to torture his staff with BB messages and email after work hours and on weekends. ;)

• The 5 guys who put thumbs down for you are probably a very competitive and capable managers in some reputable company who loves to serve their customer well.
      The 15 guys who put thumbs up for you are surely a very irresponsible worker.

• Kumar san on Dec 30, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Thank you for your thoughts Sir,i know how to serve my customers exceptionally well despite doing the very opposite what you said above.

All my employees value their work and manage their responsibility exceedingly well,this is exactly why they are very well paid and they love what they do for a living,i am no different Sir.If i’m irresponsible,would my company give me the huge responsibility of handling 2 different regions in the automotive sector?

I just choose to value my employees in a different way,that’s all,no harm in that.

You have a nice day.Cheers.

• dukenborg on Jan 03, 2012 at 8:28 am

Meed, do you even know the meaning of the word “irresponsible”? I don’t get the impression that you understood what Kumar san said in his original statement. Kumar san, you are are model for the rest of us to follow. Well done sir, & keep it up!

• Meed,

Working after hours doesn’t prove that you’re responsible or dedicated. It could also mean that you’re inefficient hence having to stay back late. :D

Not sure why people here always assume that if you’re working late = hardworking, deserve a promotion, pay rise etc.

Dude, work smart.

• squawk on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:09 am

The work culture is very different in developed countries. If you look at it, we are just highly inefficient as there’s just no logic that we can’t get our work done between 9am and 6pm. In at least 1 of the western countries, they leave sharp at 6pm. Hardly anyone stays back yet the company still functions well and is profitable.

That’s because from 9am-6pm (except for lunch), they’re focused on work. There’s no forwarding mass emails, checking fb, posting on twitter, calling other half, remisier, best friend, checking out holiday packages, reading paultan :-) etc. But to many of us here, that’s all part of the working day.

• Stupid reasoning!!! Why don’t you ask a doctor to focus on his work and stop all work after 6pm, and suddently you have a heart attack at 6.01pm and the doctor refuses to attend to you, imagine what will happen?

• Meed,

Certain jobs require their employees to work on shift basis. Doctors also have house-calls for emergency cases. Hope you know what that means.

• Would love to see this here in Boleh-land.

Sadly though it’ll probably be tough to implement here since human rights/labour laws here r not as ‘supportive’ compared to most Western or European countries. Even many local superiors of such ’employee-friendly’ companies with branches here tend to keep the nooze tight probably to keep themselves competitive or ‘kia-su’

• swoosh3553 on Dec 28, 2011 at 1:15 pm

I think Malaysia has always been practicing this all the while…. in the governmental industry. No work after 4pm until 10am (the next day). Contact2 pun tak dapat2… hehe..

• pelams on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:57 am

doctors on-call hv no problem with this…