My Proton Makeover – 1996 Iswara Aeroback is third up

The next recipient of Proton’s “Very Important Proton” Makeover programme is a 1996 Iswara Aeroback, owned by software test engineer Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri. The 35-year-old from Muar, Johor received a year-end surprise when the company called him to announce that his car was to be the third makeover project vehicle.

“In his submission, Norzamzarini waxed lyrical about his love for his car. Its uniqueness really stood out,” said Proton’s director of group marketing, branding and motorsports, John D. Chacko. “We were quite taken by his expressiveness, ending his submission with what would best be described as him loving the car ‘till death do they part!’”

The red Proton Iswara Aeroback 1.3 that will receive special treatment from Proton’s R3 unit was a second-hand purchase by Norzamzarini in 1998. A keen Formula One follower and an avid Schumacher fan, he described a proud moment when he brought his then-girlfriend to meet his parents. That poignant moment, as he described it, was akin to that of him being a prince astride his red stallion with his prized maiden.

“I am feeling really blessed, having been informed that the car I love will be getting a new lease of life,” said the father of four. “Coincidentally, just last week, my wife and I were blessed with our fourth child, a lovely baby girl who we named Nur Mawaddah, which means ‘a ray of love’. Having the two events happening so close to each other, I cannot help but feel that I have received a double blessing,” he enthused.

Though excited, Norzamzarini was feeling a little hesitant when handing over the car to the R3 unit at the Proton Center of Excellence in Subang Jaya. Later expressing some slight embarrassment because of the wear and tear of the car’s body work, he was set at ease after receiving a compliment about the pristine condition of the car’s engine.

Proton’s head of engineering of the R3 unit, Tengku Djan Ley, expressed the team’s anticipation of working on yet another different vehicle. “After reading Norzamzarini’s submission, and meeting him in person and hearing of him and his family and their new daughter, we are really looking forward to working on this car and giving them a gift for the new year,” he added. The Iswara Aeroback is scheduled to be returned in January 2012.

Norzamzarini’s selection announcement comes off the back of the handing over of the second completed Makeover car, a 17-year-old Wira belonging to Sashideran Radha Krishnan from Klang. Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga was of course the first to be reworked. Three more Proton car owners will be rewarded with a complete makeover of their car, courtesy of the My Proton Makeover contest, which ends today.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• izzat on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:07 pm

oOOOOoooO..ok..

• We all know the result already…R3 sticker on the Engine cover with SE body kits and R3 sport rims…and cheap leather interior that’s all.

• exJAVANESE on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:09 pm

sounds like somebody jealous….lol

• Jealous what for?!for free maybe but i’m so happy with my new car and i just add simple body kit for my car and no need to makeover :) anyway people can do by their own cars if spend a little bit money… not free but at least we have move choices and not too expensive!!!

• caprico on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:57 am

another dugong owner perhaps.. just add a TRD logo and wala.. lol

This is not about freebies.. but being the chosen one…

• Lolx own a VW above 100k and just add the RIEGER body kit and cost only 2k :) TRD is not bad what~but i prefer VW logo on the grille !

• exJAVANESE on Dec 31, 2011 at 12:36 pm

ooo..orang kaya hang ni? hang mampu, dok diam2 la…

• I said on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:20 am

And VIP sticker under side turn signal..hehehhe..

• turboEvo on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:05 am

Pls laaa..ur totally wrong. Not just that. Pls calculate the total RM for these items urself for a 15 years old car makeover. Of course these are the items that I can spot on from those 2 makeover. Again, this is an OLD CAR…not like ur NEW CAR…indeed ur so jealous…sorry 4 that…..

-full overhaul(+ replacement of worse condition items)
        – new metallic paint
        – new R3 sport rim
        – new tyres
        – washable air filter
        – new chrome extractor
        – new muffler
        – new interior (dashboard,panel, gear knob, leather interior, etc)
        – Momo steering(power steering???)
        – door seals
        – windscreen
        – APM suspension + new spring…

The winners was indeed felt very happy..their car got a new life what?
        But I’m also hoping that the outer look of the car would be better/sportier/fiercer like what R3 suppose to do…come on guys..u can do it…

• mnazri.tan on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:22 pm

arghh…jealous…new paint., new interior, rework engine, new R3 rim….i want all those….i have tried many time …no luck still……sad

• thunder cats on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:31 pm

lets hope it won’t be as dissapointing as the wira

• Nissan on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm

What ever it turn out or how ugly it look, it’s for FREE ! How i wish my family 1986 Saga got this offer.

• looking-good on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:35 pm

? what for ? all these make over….~~

• critic_A on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:05 pm

non of ur business actualy

• at least proton is doing something that benefit their customers for publicity, unlike perutdua…do some nonsense and make it a big hoohaa.

• clement on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Is proton trying to clear off their inventory by introducing this programme? Those cars coming in to be refurbished is losing its story steam to follow…….

• confused on Dec 28, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Now, who said the next one is Chinese?

• dunno abt this one, not too excited…the recovery might become the usual LMST..but meh, good for you norzam, congrat!

• rick astley on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:03 pm

why the fuck the 2 guys holding hands like that?

• critic_A on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:04 pm

y the fuck u post so many fucking times asshole

• niceone on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm

handing over the key la of course. you think what? secret society handshake symbol?

btw, i’m more attracted to the red r3 neo at the back and the 180hp supercharged neo at the right side of the pix..wonder if it’s ever going into production, hmm

• why the fuck do you post this 3 times?!

• hahaha looks funny… but when i zoomed in, actually he handing over the keys to Tengku Djan.. it just the keys not really obvious from far..

• rick astley on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm

why are they holding hands like that?

• rick astley on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:05 pm

the fuck the 2 guys holding hands like that?

• Pak Abu on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Proton keta tak guna. Vote for Avanza…..

• kenapa ni pak abu? susah nk jual avanza ye? orang ramai semua beli exora bold ye? kasihan..tabahkan hati ye pak abu

p/s – guys, don’t bash him. he is just a salesman selling avanza for his family living

• spongebob on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:34 pm

i hope they will using rotary engine tis time..

• spongebob2 on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:40 pm

such a good gay..

• Seow wei tang on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:45 pm

They will probably be even happier getting a new saga. Cheaper for Proton as well rather than go through all the time and effort to restore the old car. Why not ask the car owners and see them get really excited.

• Lucifer on Dec 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Look at proton and sigh, then look at Kia Optima K5 with a holy grin.

• He handed up the car key.

• BBery on Dec 28, 2011 at 5:42 pm

why proton doing all this Sh**t? its just wasting the money. lagi bagus duit tu bg staff pergi umrah or haji.

the problem is. proton is still proton. then semuanya model lama tukun stock. WTF

• Pak Abu on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Hang ni staff proton yg takde duit nak gi haji ker? Laa….. Jadi staff proton dah 1 kebodohan. Suruh proton sponsor gi haji, bodoh lama tak abis lagi datang bodoh baru. Haji diwajibkan pada yg mampu. Ni mesti tak pernah belajar agama. Ada hati nak gi haji. Bro, tau tak niat mandi wajib? Tak tahu kot…. yang tahu WTF je. Pthuiii…

• spongebob on Dec 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm

butthurt..

• bbery dengan pak abu, dua2 busuk hati. boleh geng.

• Loneranger on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm

apa hal lu nak hina org keje Proton..at least diaorg cari rezki halal tanggung family diaorg…

lu xsuka Proton, gua mmg xpernah kesah [un sbb lain org lain citarasa keter yg dia nak guna….tp klau lu nak hina org keje Proton tu agak2 ar beb.

please la..ptt la Malaysia ni xmaju2 sb mentality masih lagi mcm org kampung.

FYI, dlm keluarga gua or gua sendiri xkeje Proton tp gua cukup anti dgn org yg menghina keje orang lain…mcm la lu bgs sgt….lu pikir la sendiri bro…

nama Pak Abu tu…mcm dah tua jer bunyinya tp cara komen dlm ni mcm budak mentah yg baru nak kenal idop……

u r such a jerk dude……

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 29, 2011 at 6:54 pm

apa la pak abu ni komen macam tu. segan la ramai orang baca…

• noname on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:00 pm

jelousy?

• jolly_idiot on Dec 28, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Huh? Tot it’ll be a chinese winner for 1Malaysia.

Btw, please do this better than what the previous Wira. It’s just too normal to say it’s from R3

• Serious Fast Donkey on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm

What will happen to my Levin seats, VR4 brakes if I my Iswara were selected for transformation?

• seriusSAM on Dec 28, 2011 at 8:58 pm

same makeover… same barang brothers all over

put something serious under the hood that will define “MAKEOVER” in proper way..
    not just throw away old stuff and put in same thing only this time it’s shining new..

• RedBeanBun on Dec 28, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Do it a YELLOW or GREEN!

I think they just choose whatever color is the ugliest and left over! :)

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:18 pm

..hope the color selection will be perfect not like the earlier wira blue impreza wannabe, still remember the silver color limited edition iswara, that is best iswara i can see so far, so for R3 the expectation is much higher!

• ae101 on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:59 pm

R3 please la dont put those cheapo lmst saga interior as replacement. Take out all the ori interior and refurbish it!!

• Daniel on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Maybe chinese wont keep their proton for more than 5 years

• _xXx_ on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:48 am

In the 1st place, can it last 5 years?

• Loneranger on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:32 pm

yes…coz my sis still driving 15 yo Proton on top of her new Honda City, Honda Accord and Alphard……

or are u saying that besides Proton, other car brand u can drive till the end of time? without any single problem at all?

• my Saga already entering 22nd birthday this year. U problem?

• Daniel on Dec 28, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Chinese dun keep their proton more than 5 years

• caprico on Dec 30, 2011 at 11:46 am

i have seen many apek drives old saga and iswara..
      is apek refers to malay? NO!

• Mou Mou Ren on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:53 am

From the picture above, the car still looking good. Proton should help those onwer with very broken car till bumper are missing n leaking inside. Those ppl are really need MAKEOVER for their PROTON…..

• turboEvo on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:43 am

I saw some dent on the side of the driver’s door… can u spot it Mou Mou Ren ? I think every Proton owner madly want their car to be make over…I guess it’s all about ur luck. This guy is one of them.

• Jernson on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:43 am

Hei !! Come on!!! Try on Proton Tiara la !!! Failure product please !!! we want see some different things la. I think those being make over car is R3 relatives car. Maybe this year no bonus,[ you orang ambil spare parts yang ada sekarang as bonus pergi tukar kereta anda.Tapi kena suruh R3 modify.] Save cost and R3 team got work to do.

• Maybe Proton should relaunch this old Saga again…seriuosly the turning circle was much much better compared ro Wira i actually prefer drving the Saga..maybe in 100 years time Proton still doing this event haha…

• xavier lert on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:55 am

this is cheaper that hire a stunt, prop, actor and whatnot. this is the real life ads.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:51 pm

please don’t disappoint us again proton

• turboEvo on Dec 29, 2011 at 3:34 pm

When it comes to aeroback, sporty look is the way to go. Pls la Proton, turn this car into something that looks fierce on d road like Satria Neo R3. This guy is an F1 follower, sure no prob with the sporty looks. Not an LMST look at d end

• Viper5119 on Dec 29, 2011 at 4:56 pm

For the person,i believe is something better then nothing…..its free…whats there to loose…

• Sometimes i think some off market product and tuned are better than what R3 done. After i view the 2 of previous makeover.
    Engine wise, should be overhaul or transplant with new tech engine, i didn’t mean to create a monster, but at least an improvement.
    Interior wise, please dont replace it with those platics feel interior. At least add more fabric.

• Put some sporty stripe laa..sure nampak cun

• makeitmine on Jan 15, 2012 at 10:10 pm

What is this challenge about?

The better choice may be buying a new car altogether. Drivers should use the latest engine technology to save the Earth!

Proton should have a ‘refurbish’ program instead. Owners should be able to refurbish their old vehicles with Proton or partners after a multistep inspection (110 to 300+ inspection points); and Proton provide an extension of the new-car warranty.

With this ‘refurbish’ program, Proton should be able to clear old inventories where there are better substitutes and provide confidence to the owners on the worthiness of their vehicles on the road.

• that’s my cousin’s husband. Dia mmg sayang that car.
    i have a1989 proton knight..still in a good condition.. it was my sister’s car. (i do have another car that is not proton).. congrats. drpd masuk 1milliom money drop yg sah2 judi.. baik yg ni..murah2 pun murah.. rezeki allah bg. tak suka kenapa suka maki2..cursing is not a good thing regardless of ur attention. TQ.